

Opportunity to Recycle Act Fact Sheet

A shortage of landfill space encouraged the Oregon legislature to pass the Opportunity to Recycle Act in 1983. The law established solid waste management policies that recognized the environmental benefits of waste prevention, reuse and recycling. The law also requires permitted disposal sites to have recycling depots and cities with populations over 4,000 to provide monthly curbside recycling collection service to all garbage service customers. Counties are responsible for the area between the city limits and urban growth boundaries.

The 1991 Oregon Recycling Act (Senate Bill 66) strengthened and broadened recycling requirements and set requirements for recycling rigid plastic containers to promote market development by: setting a statewide recovery goal of 50 percent by 2000; requiring the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality to conduct regular waste composition studies and develop a solid waste management plan; and, by creating the first eight recycling program elements which the legislature later increased to 13. In 1997 the Oregon Legislature changed some of those elements and added a ninth, and in 2015 increased it to thirteen.

Today, local governments can meet the requirements in one of two ways: using standard program elements established by DEQ or applying for alternative programs as defined in <u>OAR 340-090-0080</u>.

Cities with over 4,000 people are required to choose from the following list of 13 recycling program elements. The number of programs required for implementation is determined by population size and the distance to markets.

- 1. Provide curbside recycling container.
- 2. Provide weekly curbside recycling.
- 3. Expanded education and promotion program.
- 4. Multi-Family recycling.
- 5. Yard debris collection and composting.
- 6. Commercial recycling.
- 7. Expanded recycling depots.
- 8. Weight-based garbage collection rates.

- 9. Institutional and commercial food waste collection and composting.
- 10. Mandatory commercial recycling program.
- 11. A food waste collection program for residential customers.
- 12. Mandatory recovery program for construction and demolition debris.
- 13. Required commercial food waste collection program.

Cities with over 10,000 people and with a county population of over 100,000 are required to choose from the following list of seven waste prevention program elements. Counties are responsible for the area between the city limits and Urban Growth Boundary.

1. City or county-wide education and promotion program (plan is required)

2. Residential waste prevention campaign focused on a toxic, energy intensive material

- or purchasing practice (campaign plan is required)
- Commercial waste prevention campaign focused on a toxic, energy intensive material or purchasing practice (campaign plan is required)
- 4. A waste prevention and reuse education program in schools(plan is required)
- 5. Funding or infrastructure support program for reuse, repair, leasing or sharing activities.
- 6. Technical assistance program to promote for reuse, repair, leasing or sharing activities
- 7. Support for local food rescue program

Where to find more information?

General Requirements - <u>340-090-0030</u> (all wastesheds)

Local Government Recycling Program Elements – <u>340-090-0040</u> (cities over 4,000)

Waste Prevention and Reuse Program Elements – <u>340-090-0042</u> (cities over 10,000)

Have questions?

For information on how the OTR act pertains to your local community, contact a DEQ Regional Specialist.

- Northwest Region
 - Clatsop County
 - Lexi Meek, 503-229-5790, <u>Lexi.Meek@deg.oregon.gov</u>
 - Columbia and Tillamook Counties
 - Gretchen Sandau, 503-915-6786, <u>Gretchen.Sandau@deq.oregon.gov</u>
- Western Region
 - o Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson, Josephine and Lane Counties
 - Cathy Brown, 541-687-7325, <u>Cathy.Brown@deq.oregon.gov</u>
 - o Benton, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Polk and Yamhill Counties
 - Cat Rhoades, 503-378-5089, Cathie.Rhoades@deg.oregon.gov
- Eastern Region
 - Baker, Crook, Deschutes, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Hood River, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur,
 Milton-Freewater, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco and Wheeler Counties
 - Laurie Gordon, 541-633-2029, <u>Laurie.Gordon@deg.oregon.gov</u>

Announcements and updates

Sign up for DEQ's GovDelivery email list.

Alternate formats

DEQ can provide documents in an alternate format or in a language other than English upon request. Call DEQ at 800-452-4011 or email deqinfo@deq.oregon.gov.

El DEQ puede proporcionar los documentos en un formato alternativo o en un idioma distinto al inglés si así lo solicita. Llame al DEQ al 800-452-4011 o envíe un correo electrónico a deq.oregon.gov

DEQ 可以根據要求提供另一種格式的文件或英語和西班牙語以外的語言。請致電 DEQ:800-452-4011 或發送電子 郵件至: deginfo@deg.oregon.gov.

ДЭК может предоставить документы в другом формате или на другом языке, помимо английского и испанского, по запросу. Позвоните в ДЭК по телефону 800-452-4011 или свяжитесь по электронной почте deginfo@deg.oregon.gov.

Tùy theo yêu cầu, cơ quan DEQ có thể cung cấp các tài liệu ở định dạng thay thế hoặc bằng ngôn ngữ khác ngoài tiếng Anh và tiếng Tây Ban Nha. Liên hệ với DEQ theo số 800-452-4011 hoặc gửi email đến deqinfo@deq.oregon.gov

