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DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES 
AGING AND PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES 

OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
 

CHAPTER 411 
DIVISION 86 

 
NURSING FACILITIES/LICENSING – 
ADMINISTRATION AND SERVICES 

 
411-086-0040 Admission of Residents  
 
(1) Admission Conditions:  
 

(a) The facility shall not accept or retain residents whose care needs 
cannot be met by the facility;  
 
(b) No person shall be admitted to the facility except on the order of a 
physician;  
 
(c) Admission medical information shall include a statement 
concerning the diagnosis and general condition of the resident, a 
medical history and physical, or a medical summary. Other pertinent 
medical information, orders for medication, diet, and treatments shall 
also be provided;  
 
(d) No resident shall be admitted to a bed in any location other than 
those locations shown in the most recent floor plan filed with the 
Division and under which the license was issued;  
 
(e) No facility shall admit an individual who is mentally ill or mentally 
retarded unless the Division or local representative thereof has 
determined that such placement is appropriate.  
 
(f) Upon admission of a resident, the facility shall provide the resident 
with printed material supplied by the Long-Term Care Ombudsman. 
This material describes the ombudsman program and gives contact 
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information.  The facility shall document and maintain a copy of the 
resident’s receipt of this information. 
 

(2) Admission Status, Preliminary Care Plan, Preliminary Nursing 
Assessment:  
 

(a) A licensed nurse shall document the admission status of the 
resident within eight hours, including but not limited to skin condition, 
nutritional status, hydration status, mental status, vital signs, mobility, 
and ability to perform ADLs. This review of resident status shall be 
sufficient to ensure that the immediate needs of the resident are met;  
 
(b) A licensed nurse shall develop a preliminary resident care plan 
within 24 hours of admission. Staff providing care for the resident 
shall have access to, be familiar with, and follow this plan;  
 
(c) Social services shall be provided to the resident in accordance 
with the preliminary resident care plan not later than three days after 
admission;  
 
(d) A registered nurse shall complete and document a comprehensive 
nursing assessment within 14 days of admission; (e) A resident care 
plan shall be completed pursuant to OAR 411- 086-0060.  
 

(3) Directives for Medical Treatment. Each resident shall be provided the 
following information and materials in written form within five days of 
admission, but in any event before discharge:  
 

(a) A copy of "Your Right to Make Health Care Decisions in Oregon," 
copyright 1991, by the Oregon State Bar Health Law Section, which 
summarizes the rights of individuals to make health care decisions, 
including the right to accept or refuse any treatment or medication 
and the right to execute directives and powers of attorney for health 
care;  
 
(b) Information on the facility's policies with respect to implementation 
of those rights;  
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(c) A copy of the Advance Directive form set forth in ORS 127.531 
and a copy of the Power of Attorney for Health Care form set forth in 
ORS 127.610, along with a disclaimer attached to each form in at 
Page 8 least 16-point bold type stating "You do not have to fill out 
and sign this form"; and  
 
(d) The name and location of a person who can provide additional 
information concerning the forms for directives and powers of 
attorney for health care.  
 

(4) Contracts, Agreements. Contracts, agreements and all other 
documents provided to, or required to be signed by, the resident shall 
not misrepresent or be inconsistent with the requirements of Oregon 
law. See OAR 411-085- 0300 - 411-085-0350.  

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 410.070, 410.090, 441.055  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 441.055, 441.615 


