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New Reporting Duty

e As of July 1, 2018 Referral Agents are
mandatory reporters of elder abuse.

. See HB 2661 (2017)
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Presenter
Presentation Notes
First time giving this presentation 
Still a lot of unanswered questions
Seeking your feedback on how to do this better 
If you have feedback about the new reporting duty, those comments are better directed to the legislators. We’re not here today to talk about what the law should say; here to talk about what it does say. 


Your Elder Abuse Reporting Duty

If you have:

1. Reasonable Cause to Believe;
2. Elder* Abuse Has Occurred

*Person 65 or older
Then You MUST Report

ORS 124.060
DHS e |
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Presentation Notes
We are discussing definitions and law that is effective January 1, 2015.  We are not discussing law that is currently in effect.  Additional changes were made by legislature in 2014 that are effective January 1, 2015.

Elder is person 65 years or older, who is not subject to the provisions of ORS 441.640 to 441.665.  ORS 124.050(2).

124.060. Duty of officials to report

<Text of section operative Jan. 1, 2015. See, also, section operative until Jan. 1, 2015.>

Any public or private official having reasonable cause to believe that any person 65 years of age or older with whom the official comes in contact has suffered abuse, or that any person with whom the official comes in contact has abused a person 65 years of age or older shall report or cause a report to be made in the manner required in ORS 124.065. Nothing contained in ORS 40.225 to40.295 affects the duty to report imposed by this section, except that a psychiatrist, psychologist, member of the clergy or attorney is not required to report such information communicated by a person if the communication is privileged under ORS 40.225 to40.295. An attorney is not required to make a report under this section by reason of information communicated to the attorney in the course of representing a client if disclosure of the information would be detrimental to the client.



Legislative Purpose

* “The Legislative Assembly finds that for the
purpose of preventing abuse, safeguarding
and enhancing the welfare of elderly
persons, it Is necessary and in the public
Interest to require mandatory reports and
mvestlgatlons of allegedly abused elderly
persons.”

ORS 124.055
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Lawyers are not only mandatory reporters of elder abuse, many others were added including: members of the legislative assembly, dentists, optometrists and chiropractors.  

As I mentioned earlier, the conversations are ongoing. 

Early in 2014, HB 4151 changed the definition of sexual abuse. As inadvertent result of this change is that sexual contact between a resident of a facility and the spouse of the resident could be sexual abuse if the spouse is employed by the facility. The subcommittee has recommended a legislative fix to address this. And I’ll talk about it shortly.

And just last month, in light of Steve Duin’s articles on the Marquette’s, the conversation has shifted to real estate agents, mortgage brokers, title company, etc. 



Projected Growth of Oregon’s Seniors

By 2050, the number of
Oregonians who are
65+ will almost double

(185% growth rate).

2015 2050

Source: Department of Administrative Services Demographic Forecast

Predicted number of Oregonians age 65+
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https://www.oregon.gov/das/OEA/Pages/forecastdemographic.aspx

https://www.oregon.gov/das/OEA/Documents/County_forecast_March_2013.xls




What is Abuse?
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Presentation Notes
Abuse is, essentially, causing harm or taking advantage of a person.  Our laws protect specific groups of people because they are more vulnerable than others: Children – you’ve heard a lot about children today – those who experience intellectual and developmental disabilities of all ages, people who experience mental health concerns, those with physical disabilities and seniors.   

Today we are talking about recognizing and helping prevent abuse for those who are 65 and older. They may also experience I/DD, MH concern, or physical disability. 

In Oregon, we recognize 8 types of abuse plus Self-Neglect

Let’s take a look at types of abuse and what to look for.


Types of Abuse: Physical Abuse

« Using physical force
that may cause pain
or harm

e A physical injury that
IS hot an accident
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Signs of Abuse:
Bruises
Cuts or abrasions
The story of how the person was injured doesn’t make sense
Frequent sprains, 
Repetitive hospital visits
Broken glasses


As always: the person TELLS you they are being hit or pushed or manhandled


Types of Abuse: Neglect

Not providing basic
care or health and
safety to a vulnerable
person when there is a
responsibility to do so.
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Neglect also means that in not providing the assistance the person needs has resulted in harm or a risk of serious for the individual.  For example, if a HCW leaves without doing Range of Motion activities with an individual that can result in painful muscle contractions – thus resulting in harm. 

Sometimes the responsibility, or assumption of one, is not formal. Obviously, this is true for HCWs who are hired to provide supports and services. However, sometimes people who are considered “natural supports” have created an expectation of care or support by the vulnerable person.  

For example, a family member who has come every morning for two months to help a person get up and get dressed has established an pattern of providing assistance. 

Signs of neglect:
UTI
Fragile skin
Bed sores
Malnutrition
Dirty clothes
Home is dirty, despite “caregiver”
Not getting medication as prescribed
Inappropriate clothes for the weather.


As always: the person TELLS you  they are not getting the care they expect or need




Types of Abuse: Abandonment

Deserting, or leaving
a person for whom
you have agreed to
provide care resulting
In a harm, or a risk of
serious harm.
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Abandonment is a form of neglect.  
 So do not worry too much if your are not sure if it is  abandonment or neglect.  The APSS will figure it out.

It is egregious form of neglect where the deserting or forsaking someone places them in jeopardy. 

Most often, things that feel like abandonment will be a type of neglect. 

Remember, it’s not up to YOU to know what type of abuse a person is experiencing. If it feels “not right” then call it in.




Types of Abuse: Verbal or Emotional

Written, spoken, or
gestured, directed to
the vulnerable
person causing
significant anguish
or distress
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Verbal abuse often goes hand-in-hand with another type of abuse.  Don’t shrug it off because *you* think it’s not a big deal.

Warning signs
Change in behavior when a caregiver or person in their life enters the room.
Change in friendliness – in other words, you see a change in how chatty they are
They seem afraid to talk  - in general or about specific topics
Change in appetite or weight
Stories that don’t make sense
Onset of depression or anxiety
Upset/angry easily

As always: the person TELLS you they are being yelled at or threatened!


Types of Abuse: Financial Exploitation

Taking money, things,
or property without
permission

Taking medication from
the person

Not spending the
person’s money for
their benefit
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This is one of the most common types of abuse. It can have an impact on more than the individual – it can impact the family as well.



Warning signs:
Newly unable to pay bills
Disparity between income and the way they are living (they have had, and still have adequate income, but cannot afford food)
Not open to the idea of financial assistance or assistance with managing checkbook or bills.
Interesting economic status of caregivers or family member
Not allowed to go anywhere independently (like the store or the bank)


Decreased visual acuity.
Cognitive skills including abstraction, calculation, word frequency, verbal comprehension, and inductive reasoning, show slight or gradual decline.
Short-term memory declines.
Difficulty understanding abstract content.
Speed of processing information becomes slower.




Types of Abuse: Sexual Abuse

Unwanted sexual contact

| Sexual harassment
VOLENCE |\odt

Sexual contact with a paid
provider unless the two

are Spouses

1
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Pretty much anything that you think is sexually wrong or a crime is sexual abuse. 

If done without consent.

means a voluntary agreement or concurrence of wills. Mere failure to object does not, in and of itself, constitute an expression of consent;


Accessed 5/9/2017
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_400/oar_411/411_020.html


Types of Abuse: Involuntary Seclusion

Restricting contact or
activities with family or
friends

Restricting phone, emaill,
or mail

Restricting movement by
Imiting to an area of the
nouse



Presenter
Presentation Notes
Watch for changes in typical activities. 
Not attending typical events
Telling family and friends not to come over.


As always: the person TELLS you they are being told they cannot leave their house


Types of Abuse: Physical or Chemical Restraint

Using medication to get a person to sleep
early for the convenience of the caregiver

Tying a person to a chair or bed
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Things to look for
Bruises on wrists, arms, ankles
Unusual sleepiness
Unusual slurring of words


As always: the person TELLS you 


Types of Abuse: Self-Neglect

It is a type of neglect

Self-Neglect does not
iInvolve wrongdoing

Self-Neglect does
Involve harm or risk of
harm.
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Self-Neglect is a situation where  individuals place themselves at serious risk because they lack the ability to understand the consequences of their decisions.  

Self-neglect is an odd duck as far as abuse, it is and it isn’t.   Cannot really say there is a wrong-doing or a perpetrator, yet has reported victims. 

Self-neglect has two parts, 
One part is that the person is at serious risk of harm because basic needs are not being met. 
The other is that the person does not understand the consequences.  
The person’s inability to make wise choices puts others at risk.


Generally speaking self-neglect happens when there is a need for some support or assistance, but the person is not willing to accept it. This can be due to dementia, mental health issues, or fear of allowing someone into their lives. 

Cover the importance of choice/self-determination. We don’t always make the choices others think are the “right” choice.  It’s a difficult situation…etc. 

Consider alternate lifestyles and priorities

Questions to ask:
Is the person functionally able to 
Care for themselves? (ADL/IADL)
Financially able?
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Who are the offenders/abusers ???



Often someone the person knows

Slbling

Parent

| |Acquaintance

Careglver

Child

A Spouse e
Guardian
— 10%s
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Rarely is the abuser a stranger.


Your Elder Abuse Reporting Duty

If you have:

1. Reasonable Cause to Believe;
2. Elder* Abuse Has Occurred

*Person 65 or older
Then You MUST Report

ORS 124.060
DHS e |



Presenter
Presentation Notes
We are discussing definitions and law that is effective January 1, 2015.  We are not discussing law that is currently in effect.  Additional changes were made by legislature in 2014 that are effective January 1, 2015.

Elder is person 65 years or older, who is not subject to the provisions of ORS 441.640 to 441.665.  ORS 124.050(2).

124.060. Duty of officials to report

<Text of section operative Jan. 1, 2015. See, also, section operative until Jan. 1, 2015.>

Any public or private official having reasonable cause to believe that any person 65 years of age or older with whom the official comes in contact has suffered abuse, or that any person with whom the official comes in contact has abused a person 65 years of age or older shall report or cause a report to be made in the manner required in ORS 124.065. Nothing contained in ORS 40.225 to40.295 affects the duty to report imposed by this section, except that a psychiatrist, psychologist, member of the clergy or attorney is not required to report such information communicated by a person if the communication is privileged under ORS 40.225 to40.295. An attorney is not required to make a report under this section by reason of information communicated to the attorney in the course of representing a client if disclosure of the information would be detrimental to the client.



Immunity & Anonymity

® Civil immunity if
OReport made in good
faith and

OReasonable
grounds for report
® Anonymity of
Reporter

ORS 124.075, 124.085,
124.090

Health
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McDonald v. State, 71 Or App 751 (1984)(Parents sued principal and teacher for damages allegedly caused by the erroneous reporting of child abuse. Case was dismissed because parents failed to raise issue of fact concerning the good faith or reasonable grounds to make a report of abuse. Teacher observed marks on the child’s neck and took him to be examined by the child development specialist at the school. When asked about the marks the child first said that a cat had scratched him. After further questioning, child stated that his mother had choked him, as she had done on other occasions. Teacher made report and children were subsequently removed from the home and placed in foster care. At a subsequent hearing, the report was not substantiated. In fact, the child had been scratched by kittens.)

Franson v. Radich, 84 Or App 715 (1986)(Parents of newborn who was suffering from severe birth defect brought action for intentional infliction of emotional distress and interference with custody. Trial court dismissed, but court of appeals remanded claim for interference with custody to determine whether the defendants had a good faith reasonable basis for their report to DHS, thereby making them immune. Settled.)

Warner v. Mitts, 536 NW2d 564 (Mich 1995)(When defendant heard from her husband that plaintiff had sexual intercourse with his daughter, she reported the matter to authorities. The state investigated the allegations and determined that plaintiff had not had intercourse, but had fondled her. No charges were filed. Plaintiff then sued defendant for instigating erroneous report. Held that defendant had good faith basis to believe abuse occurred. Court determined that requiring a person to know the details would be contrary to policy of the statute.)

ORS 12.117 SOL for actions based on child abuse, including knowingly allowing, permitting or encouraging child abuse. See Lourim v. Swenson, 47 OrApp 425 (1997)

HB 2183 (2011) provides that it is a Class A Violation to make a false report of child abuse.  Requires person to intend to influence a custody, parenting time, visitation or child support decision, and knowledge the report is false.  


What do | say?

e YOu can be anonymous

e You can ask to be notified
of the outcome

e Name of victim

 Address of where the event
nappened

e Describe what you saw or
neard

 Name of person you think
has been abusive
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You do NOT have to know if it is abuse!


If you have reasonable cause to
believe abuse has happened

Report without delay

1-855-503-SAFE
1-855-503-7233

Law Enforcement Agency
Or
911

In an Emergency Only




Thank youl

DAAPT '
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Office of Adult Abuse Prevention & Investigation o1 uman Services

Health
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