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HOW DO ABLE ACCOUNTS WORK?



WHY DOES ABLE EXIST?

 There is a $2,000 limit to the amount a person 

with a disability can save before losing vital 

state and federal benefits such as Medicaid 

and SSI benefits. 

 Money saved in ABLE does NOT count against 

this asset/resource limit.



ABLE IS BOTH STATE AND FEDERAL LAW

 The Stephen Beck, Jr. Achieving a Better 

Life Experience (ABLE) Act

Passed by Congress on December 19, 2014

 SB 777: Oregon’s ABLE Act – Senator 

Sara Gelser

Passed by Oregon Legislature on July 9, 2015

 Oregon ABLE launched Dec. 2016



ABLE WAS DESIGNED FOR SELF-EMPOWERMENT

 Beneficiary is the legal account owner

 Authorized Legal Representatives can help 
manage the account

 Parent of minor

 Guardian/Conservator

 Power of Attorney

 Account owner decides:
 What counts as an eligible expense

 Don’t need advance permission or to 
turn in receipts

 If they’re eligible

 IRS enforces the ABLE Act



WHO QUALIFIES FOR ABLE?

1. Age of Onset: Disability started 

before the age of 26

2. Severity of Disability: Meet 
disability requirements for SSI or 
SSDI

Not sure if someone qualifies?

 They can get a “disability 
certification” signed by a physician

 Keep a copy in their files



WHAT CAN YOU USE ABLE TO SAVE FOR?

Expenses help improve health, independence, and/or quality of life of the 
person with a disability:

 Education

 Housing***

 Basic Living Expenses

 Transportation

 Employment Training & Support

 Assistive Technology

 Personal Support Services

 Health, Prevention & Wellness

 Financial Management

 Legal Fees

 Funeral & Burial

 And more



HOUSING EXPENSES AND SSI

 IF you receive SSI, housing expenses 

should be spent within the same calendar 

month as withdrawn.

 Otherwise your SSI benefits could be 

reduced next month.

 Money for all other qualified expenses can 

be withdrawn and held for months without 

affecting benefits.



ACCOUNT LIMITS

 One account per person

 $15,000 limit on annual contributions

 Contributions can come from any source

 $400,000 limit on all assets

 $100,000 limit before SSI benefits

are affected



ABLE TO WORK

 If the ABLE beneficiary is employed, they 
can save more than the annual limit

 Can save additional $12,140 or the total 
of their wages, whichever is LESS

 Only the beneficiary can contribute more 
through ABLE to Work, not parents.

 Any wages added to ABLE aren’t protected 
from income limits, just resource limits



529 ROLLOVERS INTO ABLE

 Rollovers from a 529 college savings plan

into ABLE are now allowed:

 Oregon’s 529 is the Oregon College Savings

Plan

 Oregon does not charge fees for rollovers

 Does count against annual contribution limit

 ABLE beneficiary must be the same as the

529 beneficiary or a family member



OREGON ABLE PREPAID CARD
 It’s like having an ABLE account in 

your pocket.

 No credit check, no transaction fees

 Works similar to a reloadable gift card

 Sign up in online portal, load money 

onto card, shop for eligible expenses

 Includes a record of where card was

used

 $1.25 monthly fee





WHAT SHOULD YOU KNOW ABOUT 
OPENING AN ACCOUNT?



WHAT IF BENEFITS AREN’T A CONCERN?

 You can build a nest egg now for 

the future

 Tax-free growth on investments

 Growth is tax free as long as it is 

used for a qualified expense

 State tax deduction

 Beneficiary under the age of 21 

($4,865 for joint filers and $2,435 

for single filers)



SPECIAL NEEDS TRUSTS
Special Needs Trusts ABLE Account

Trustee manages the account, approves expenses Person with a disability manages the account

Limits on what can be purchased Can be used for anything that improves a person with a 

disability’s health, independence or quality of life

No limits on contributions or total funds Limits on annual contributions and lifetime total

Can be expensive to open and maintain Low annual fee and asset-based fee

Medicaid repayment or claw back does not apply for 

3rd Party Trusts

Medicaid repayment or claw back applies

Protects funds from counting toward benefits’ asset limits Protects funds from counting toward benefits’ asset limits

One person can have both accounts



DEATH OF AN ACCOUNT OWNER

1. Family provides death certificate

2. Qualified withdrawals can be used to pay:

 Outstanding Qualified Disability Expenses

 Cover funeral and burial expenses

3. The remaining funds are transferred to the estate of the beneficiary

4. Medicaid may try to reclaim some of the funds



WHAT HAPPENS WHEN A MINOR HITS 18?
 When a minor turns 18, they legally own everything in the account, and must 
decide who manages it.

1. Minor can now manage the account

2. Current Authorized Legal Representative can continue to manage the account 
(This was likely a parent.)

3. A new Authorized Legal Representative can manage the account

 ALRs will need Power of Attorney, guardianship or conservatorship

 Beneficiary can’t give Power of Attorney authorization until they turn 18

 Within 90 days of the 18th birthday: Families must make this decision, return forms.

 If not, withdrawal and automatic monthly deposits will be frozen.



WHAT ARE THE FEES?

 $35 Annual Fee

 0.30% to 0.37% Annual Asset-Based Fee



Conservative Moderate AggressiveCash Option



INVESTING BASICS

 Can choose:

 Just the cash option

 One investment option

 OR one investment option and the cash

option

 Can change your investments twice a 

year

 Families should consider their risk 
tolerance and what they’re saving for.



HOW TO SIGN UP

 Open an account online. Do NOT go to a bank.

 If an Authorized Legal Representative has 
guardianship or power of attorney, they’ll need 
to scan in copies of that paperwork.

 A traditional checking or savings account must 
be connected to the ABLE account.

 Initial deposit of $25





QUESTIONS?
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