About Employment Related Day Care
Expanded Eligibility for ERDC
Students no longer need to work to qualify for child care assistance. Plus, all students will receive additional child care hours each week for study time. Many families will qualify for more child care hours due to a change in the way part-time and full-time coverage is calculated. Families with night shift jobs, caretakers on medical leave, and people caring for someone outside their household may also qualify for expanded ERDC benefits. Learn more at the links below:
繁體中文 / Chinese (Traditional) |
Русский / Russian |
Español / Spanish |
Tiếng Việt / Vietnamese
Working families or students may qualify for help with child care costs, including registration fees.
Employment Related Day Care (ERDC) is a subsidy program. This means some families may still pay part of the child care cost. This is called a copayment (copay).
What ODHS pays
- ODHS pays a portion of the child care bill, paid directly to the provider.
- There is a
maximum amount ODHS will pay a child care provider.
What families pay
- The copay amount depends on family size and
- Families make a copay each month, paid directly to the provider. Copays range from $0-130 per month.
- Note: If the provider charges more than the maximum amount ODHS pays, families must cover the additional cost.
To get ERDC benefits:
- You must be an Oregon resident.
- You must be employed or attending school.
- In a two-parent family, both parents must be working or attending school. There may be exceptions if a non-working parent can't provide child care because of a medical or mental health condition, or if supervised contact is required by Child Welfare.
- When you first apply, your income can't be above 200% of the federal poverty level.
- You must have a qualifying child or children.
Qualifying children are:
- Under 13 years old who need care
- 13 to 17 years old who need care because of special circumstances
- U.S. citizens or qualifying non-citizens
- You must need child care to stay employed or attend school. For a two-parent family, this means both parents must have all or part of their work or school hours overlap.
- Your child care provider must be listed and approved by ODHS.
How to apply
There are several ways to apply for child care assistance.
After you apply, you will have an interview with an eligibility worker.
ERDC income limits
Initial income limits
These are the income limits for when you
first apply for ERDC.
Effective 3/1/2023 (200% of federal poverty level)
|8 or more||$8,427|
Ongoing and exit income limits
These are the income limits
after you apply and when you
renew your ERDC. You must earn under these amounts to be eligible for ERDC.
Effective 3/1/2023 (250% of federal poverty level or 85% of state median income, whichever is higher)
|8 or above||$10,534|
Billing and payments
The ODHS Direct Pay Unit (DPU) coordinates billing and payments. They also process billing and listing forms. Please reach out with concerns or questions.
Hours: Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
By phone: 800-699-9074
Setting up Child Care for information on making payments.
Materials for families
Early Learning Tools:
Vroom – Brain Building
Vroom is an early learning plan. It provides tips and tools for parents with young children through age 5. These resources help you build a strong foundation and stimulate your child's brain so they are ready to learn.
Child care licensing
Oregon's Early Learning Division
Office of Child Care (OCC) is the agency that licenses child care programs. They do background checks on licensed providers, handle complaints, check for compliance, provide training and more.
Visit their website to learn more about licensed child care.
Some types of providers are
not required to be licensed by the Early Learning Division. They are called
license exempt providers. ODHS requires training, site visits, background checks and drinking water lead testing for license exempt providers, with some exceptions.
Visit the Provider Information page for more information.
All providers must be
listed and approved by ODHS in order to receive payment.