
 

 
DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS 

Human Resources 

Title:                Vehicle Use and Reporting of Accidents DOC Policy: 20.6.10 
Supersedes:   7/15/98 
Applicability:  All employees and volunteers 
Reference:    OAR, Chapter 125, Division 155, State Vehicle Use and Access 
 
I. PURPOSE     
 
 To assure that vehicles used for Department of Corrections authorized business 

complies with the rules and policies as set forth by the State of Oregon. 
 
II. POLICY 
 

A. DOC Managers and Supervisors are responsible for ensuring that 
department employees and volunteers who drive a vehicle on authorized 
state business are properly trained and have a current valid Oregon 
operator’s license. The immediate supervisor shall make available to the 
driver “Vehicle Rules for State Drivers.”  Drivers of state vehicles must 
ensure that each vehicle has an “Accident Report Packet” in it before its 
use.  

 
B. If driving a privately-owned vehicle on authorized state business, the 

operator shall show proof of insurance and shall receive prior approval via 
the CD 1404, “Request for Approval to Use Personal Vehicle for State 
Business” (Attachment A).  This form shall be approved by the manager or 
supervisor and reviewed annually.  Drivers shall promptly report any 
change in status of insurance coverage or drivers license to their 
supervisor.  The department shall not reimburse for mileage unless 
management approval has been given prior to the vehicle being driven.  
Primary insurance coverage while using a private vehicle on state 
business will be the driver’s insurance. 

 
C. All drivers on authorized state business are required to maintain their 

assigned or personal vehicle in a safe operating condition.  Needed 
maintenance or any malfunction of state-owned vehicles shall be reported 
within 24 hours to the issuing motor pool or to the appropriate Lessor if the 
vehicle is a leased vehicle. 

 
D. All operators and riders in a state, leased, or personal vehicle shall obey 

all laws pertaining to the wearing of seat belts. 
 
 

E. All drivers shall observe defensive driving rules and obey all traffic laws.  
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F. All citations received while driving on state business (private, leased, or 
state vehicle) must be reported to the driver’s immediate or next level 
supervisor within 24 hours of receipt, and the Department’s Safety and 
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Risk Manager.  All citations received while driving on state business shall 
be reviewed by the direct supervisor and the appointing authority to 
determine if remedial and/or disciplinary action is necessary.  

 
G. Payment of parking or traffic fines, penalties, or other fees and costs 

resulting from citations shall be the responsibility of the driver of the 
vehicle. 

 
H. Passengers, in state vehicles or in privately owned vehicles on 

authorized state business (as defined by DAS Risk Management for any 
State of Oregon insurance coverage that may be applicable): 

 
1. Employee's aide: Supervisor’s permission required in writing in 

advance.  Use of any vehicle on state business.  
 

2. Employee's child: Supervisor’s permission required in writing, in 
advance and DAS Risk Management Order allowing them to be 
passengers is needed (only approved on "bring you son or 
daughter to work days").  Use of any vehicle on state business.  

 
3. Employee's spouse: May be a passenger as the driver's aide (see 

above). Use of any vehicle on state business 
 

4. Hitchhiker: It is not permitted to pick-up or transport hitchhikers 
while on state business in any vehicle. 

 
I. Family members, riding with the Department's permission or without 

and/or whether in compliance with DOC/state policy/rules or not, shall ride 
at their own risk or at the personal risk of the driver, employee, or person 
to whom they are related to. The state shall not insure or indemnify friends 
or family nor insure or indemnify the employee against any claims brought 
by friends or family.  It is also possible that state liability excess limits may 
not be applied when minors of employees are riding as passengers. 

 
J. State vehicles are to be parked only at department approved locations 

when not being used to conduct state business.  Any exception, such as 
overnight parking at another location requires prior supervisory approval.  
If an emergency occurs and approval cannot be obtained, the supervisor 
must be notified the next working day. 

 
K. If a collision or accident occurs to ANY vehicle while on state business, 

the driver shall: 
 

1. If trained and qualified render first aid to the injured; 
 

2. Call the police and appropriate emergency medical units; 
 

3. Gather information necessary for reports and shall supply similar 
information to other drivers and police when requested; 
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4. Notify the motor pool, if state vehicle is involved;  
 

5. Inform the immediate supervisor; 
 

6. Notify Department of Administrative Services (DAS), Risk 
Management Division (RMD); and 

 
7. Make no statements or sign anything as to responsibility for the 

accident. 
 

L. The driver, if able, shall complete the Accident Report packet, which 
includes the Accident Report Summary, State Driver Card and the Oregon 
Traffic Accident and Insurance Report (Form 735-0032) and give to the 
immediate supervisor.  In the event the driver is unable to complete the 
necessary forms or reports, the immediate supervisor will.  The supervisor 
shall forward the original of each report to the State Motor Pool and send 
copies to the DAS-RMD Claims Unit, the Division of Motor Vehicles as 
required, and the unit Safety Manager who will forward to the Safety 
Committee. 

 
M. Each division/unit shall set up a process to review each collision or 

accident involving any vehicle used on state business. The review shall 
determine whether the collision or accident was preventable by 
reasonable safe driving techniques and recommend action to prevent 
recurrences.  

 
N. All accidents shall be reported according to the DOC Policy 40.1.6, 

Unusual Incident Reporting Process. 
 

O. If unable to drive during inclement weather the driver must contact the 
immediate supervisor for authorization to drive or find lodging for the night.  
If transporting inmates and the trip cannot continue due to the weather, 
the driver shall notify the State Police, the local police, and the person at 
the institution responsible for approving trip stoppage and emergency 
overnight housing of inmates.  The driver must request and receive 
permission from the institution to house inmates in a local police or State 
Police facility. 

 
III. IMPLEMENTATION 
 

This policy will be adopted immediately without further modification. 
 
 
 



 

Department of Corrections     Attachment A 
 
REQUEST FOR APPROVAL TO USE A PERSONAL VEHICLE ON STATE BUSINESS 
 
To: ____________________________________ Date:  _____________________ 
  (Supervisor) 
 
From: ____________________________________ 
  (Employee) 
 
I request approval to use my personal vehicle for state business on ____________ for the 
purpose of __________________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
My reason(s) for using my own vehicle is (are) ______________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
I am [  ] am not [  ] asking for mileage payment. Insurance terms remain the same whether or 
not mileage payment is requested. 
 
When I am using my own vehicle on state business, it is my duty to carry a valid driver's license 
and auto liability insurance to protect myself.  While driving my own vehicle I will obey all traffic 
laws and drive safely.  Additionally my vehicle will be maintained in proper operation condition 
and I will carry the necessary equipment needed for driving in all weather conditions.   
 
I affirm that I have a valid driver's license and my insurance now provides all that is required be 
Oregon law (ORS Chapter 806).  I will also notify my supervisor immediately of any change in 
drives licenses or insurance status. 
 
When using my vehicle on state business, my auto insurance applies first.  In an accident, if 
liability loss exceeds my own policy limits, the state's coverage will apply to the excess over my 
policy limits.  Still, the state will not cover any liability I incur when I am not acting within the 
scope of my state employment or duties. Nor will it cover if my act or omission amounts to 
malfeasance in office or willful or wanton neglect of duty. 
 
It is up to me to carry liability, physical damage, uninsured motorist, and personal injury 
protection insurance on my car.  The state will not pay the costs of any repairs to my vehicle. 
 
If I am involved in an auto accident involving any vehicle while on state business, I will advise 
DAS Risk Management within 24 hours by calling 503-373-RISK (7475). 
 
 
Requested:     Approved: 
 
_________________________________ _________________________________ 
Employee     Supervisor 
 
_________________________________ _________________________________ 
Date      Date 
          CD 1404 (12/00) 
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