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Instructions for 2015 Annual Certification for  
Oregon Natural Resource or Commercial Fishing Business Credit

Filing requirement
This form will be filed by the recipients of inherited 
property for which the Oregon Natural Resource 
Credit or the Oregon Commercial Fishing Business 
Credit was claimed on the decedent’s Form OR706, 
Oregon Estate Transfer Tax Return, 150-104-001. As the 
recipient of the natural resource credit (NRC) prop-
erty, you are required by Oregon Revised Statute 
(ORS) 118.140 to complete this certification form each 
year to report the continued qualified use of the NRC 
property. 

Due date
Submit this completed annual certification form by April 
15 of each year, even if you haven’t yet used the qualified 
property for a complete 12 month period.

Qualified use period
The use period start date will be the date the property 
continued to be used as qualified natural resource prop-
erty or qualified commercial fishing business property 
after the decedent’s death. 

Example: You inherited the decedent’s natural resource 
property and began qualified use of the property on 
February 16, 2012. Your ending period would be the date 
the asset is not being used in the natural resource opera-
tion or  December 31, 2012. This is the first of five years 
of operation. 

Natural resource asset—part 2, column D

Categorize each natural resource asset as one of the fol-
lowing and enter a, b, or c, in part 2, column D:

a.	 The asset is still used in the operation of a farm, for-
estry, or fishing business.

b.	 The asset has been replaced with property that meets 
the requirements of ORS 118.140(9)(d).

c.	 The asset has been subject to a disposition under ORS 
118.140(9).

d. The asset was not used in the operation of a farm, 
forestry, or fishing business for period listed above. 

Five out of 8 years of qualified use period 
requirement

The property is required to be used as natural resource 
property for five out of eight years following the decedent’s 
death. If you don’t use the natural resource property for 
five out of eight years following the decedent’s death, or 
you dispose of the property before this requirement is met, 
part of the tax credit must be repaid. (ORS 118.140)

File Form OR706-A, Oregon Additional Estate Transfer Tax 
Return, 150-104-007; and pay additional taxes due within 
six months after you disposed of the property or ended 
the qualifying use.

Download Form OR706-A at www.oregon.gov/dor.
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As the owner of inherited natural resource property or commercial fishing business property, on which the decedent’s estate elected and 
claimed the Oregon Natural Resource Credit (NRC), you’re required to complete this certification form each year to maintain your eligibility 
for the natural resource credit.

Property owner’s Social Security number (SSN)Name of property owner (first name, middle initial, and last name) or trust

Part 1—Taxpayer information

Annual Certification for  
Oregon Natural Resource or  

Commercial Fishing Business Credit 
For use with Form OR706

Name of trustee (if applicable) Federal employer identification number (FEIN) for trust

Part 2—Description of property (see instructions)

A. Description of the natural resource property or commercial 

fishing business property (include a copy of Schedule NRC, Oregon 

Natural Resource or Commercial Fishing Business Property Credit for 

Form OR706, 150-104-003).

B. Value of natural resource 

property on which the 

credit was claimed (see 

Schedule NRC, column D).

C. Natural resource 

credit (NRC) related 

to the value in 

column B.

D. Enter the 

natural resource 

asset code. See 

instructions.

Totals

B. C.

For Revenue use only
Date received

Qualified use period starting	 ending
Date (MM/DD/YYYY) Date (MM/DD/YYYY)

Decedent’s Social Security number (SSN)Decedent’s date of deathName of decedent

Current mailing address Phone

Signature of property owner

X

To the best of my knowledge and belief, the information contained on this form is true, correct, and complete. In accordance with Oregon 
Revised Statute (ORS) 118.140, I certify all natural resource or commercial fishing business property identified in part 2, remains in 
qualified use for the natural resource credit. 

Date

Part 3—Signature

Oregon Department of Revenue, PO Box 14110, Salem OR 97309-0910
This form is due on April 15th each year. E-file or mail this form to:

If you stopped using the property for qualified natural resource use before you met the 5 out of 8 year requirement,  
see instructions to file Form OR706-A.

•

•

•

•••

•

•

•

••••

• •

••

2015
•

17551501010000


	Clear Form: 
	Date1: 
	Date MMDDYYYY_2: 
	Name of property owner first name middle initial and last name or trust: 
	Property owners Social Security number: 
	Name of Trustee if applicable: 
	Federal employer identification number FEIN for trust: 
	Current mailing address: 
	Telephone number: 
	Name of decedent: 
	Decedents date of death: 
	Decedents Social Security number: 
	A Description of the disqualified natural resource property or commercial fishing business property attach copy of Oregon Natural Resource or Commercial Fishing Business Property Credit for Form OR706 150104003Row1: 
	B Value of natural resource property on which the credit was claimed see Schedule NRC column DRow1: 
	C Natural Resource Credit NRC related to the value in column BRow1: 
	D Enter the Natural Resource Asset code See instructionsRow1: 
	B: 
	C: 
	 Natural Resource Credit: 

	Date: 


