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OR-19 Annual Report of Nonresident Owner Tax Payments 5771701010000
Pass-through entity information 201 7
Pass-through entity (PTE) name PTE FEIN . Check date
Estimated payments Amount of payment (mm/dd/ )
PTE address
Payment 1 .00
City State ZIP code Contact phone
Payment 2 .00
Name of contact person
Payment 3 .00
Type of entity: [£] Partnership S corporation [JLLC [JLLP OLP [JTrust Payment 4 .00
FEIN/SSN Name and address Owner type Payment 1 Payment 2 Payment 3 Payment 4 Total for
(a (b) (c) (d) (e) (U] (9) owner (h)
1.
$ 00|$ 00|$ .00($ 00($ 00
2.
$ .00($ .00($ .00($ .00($ .00
3.
$ 00|$ 00|$ .00($ 00($ 00
4.
$ 00|$ 00|$ .00($ 00($ 00
5.
$ 00|$ 00|$ .00($ 00($ 00
6.
$ 00($ 00($ .00($ 00($ 00
Total payments
(Enter on last page only. Must match payments 1-4 listed above.) $ .00[$ .00|$ .00|$ .00
Page of Submit this form online at www.oregon.gov/dor or mail to: Oregon Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 14950 Salem, OR 97309-0950

This form is due by the end of the second month after the end of the entity’s tax year. The due date for entities using a calendar 2017 tax year is February 28, 2018.
150-101-182 (Rev. 12-16)



Oregon Affidavit

Form

Clear This Page

15231701010000

for a nonresident owner of a pass-through entity For office use only

OR-19-AF

Beginning with tax year: 2017

Date received

Nonresident owner information

Name of nonresident owner

Social Security no. or federal employer identification no. (FEIN)

Street or mailing address

City

State ZIP code

Phone

Ownership percentage Estimated Oregon-source distributive income each year

% | $

Pass-through entity information

Name of pass-through entity (PTE) FEIN
Street or mailing address
City State ZIP code Phone

This form must be resubmitted if the PTE information entered above changes or ownership changes by 10% or more. See Form OR-19 and Oregon Affidavit instructions.

Agreement to file

| agree to timely file all required Oregon income or excise tax return(s) and to make timely payments of all taxes imposed by
the state of Oregon with respect to my share of the Oregon distributive income from the pass-through entity named above. |
understand that | am subject to the jurisdiction of the state of Oregon for purposes of the collection of unpaid income
tax, together with related penalties and interest.

Signature
Taxpayer’s or authorized agent’s signature Date
X
Revocation of this affidavit
By signing below, | declare that:
O 1am an Oregon resident;
O 1 am subject to tax on the income from the above-listed PTE;
O Iam no longer an owner in the above-listed PTE; or
O lam joining in the filing of an Oregon composite return.
Signature
Taxpayer’s or authorized agent’s signature Date

X

Submit this form at www.oregon.gov/dor or mail to: Oregon Department of Revenue

150-101-175 (Rev. 12-16)

Attn: Processing Center
955 Center St NE
Salem OR 97301-2555



Important addresses Do you have questions or need help?

Mail the payment voucher, Form OR-19-V, with paymentby =~ www.oregon.gov/dor

each payment due date to: (503) 378-4988 or 1 (800) 356-4222

Oregon Department of Revenue questions.dor@oregon.gov

PO Box 14950

Salem, OR 97309-0950 Contact us for ADA accommedations or assistance in other
languages.

You can submit the Form OR-19 online at www.oregon.gov/
dor, or mail it by the end of the second month after the end
of the entity’s tax year to:

Oregon Department of Revenue

PO Box 14950

Salem, OR 97309-0950

You can submit the Oregon Affidavit online at
www.oregon.gov /dor, or mail it to:

Oregon Department of Revenue

Attn: Processing Center

955 Center Street NE

Salem, OR 97301-2555

Clear form
Visit www.oregon.gov/dor/forms to print more vouchers.

7777777777777777777777777777777777777777 ><g >

Form OR-19-V, Tax for Nonresident Owners Payment Voucher Office use only

® Tax year: )
Begins:
Ends:

o FEIN:

Contact name

Name of filer on tax return

Filer address Enter payment amount

City State ZIP code Contact phone $ . O O

150-101-185 (Rev. 12-16)



Publication

OR-19

New this year

Forms and schedules. We have changed many of our
forms and schedules to provide a more consistent format
and to include a shorthand name so they’re easier to
find. Read each form and publication carefully as other
items may have changed. For more information, visit us
at www.oregon.gov/dor.

Introduction

Purpose of form

A pass-through entity (PTE) with distributive income from
Oregon sources must withhold tax from its nonresident
owners who don't elect to join in a composite filing, Form
OR-OC, and haven't filed an affidavit unless the owner
is exempt. The payment is a prepayment of estimated
Oregon income and excise tax for nonresident owners of
pass-through entities. For composite filing information, see
Publication OR-OC.

Qualifying publicly traded partnerships, estates, and most
trusts aren’t required to withhold on their nonresident owners.

Definitions
Throughout these instructions, the following terms are used:

“Distributive income” is generally the net taxable income or
loss of a PTE. See page 2 for a complete definition.

“Electing owner” is a nonresident owner who chooses to
join in the filing of a composite return.

“FEIN” means federal employer identification number.

“Nonelecting owner” is a nonresident owner who chooses
not to join in the filing of a composite return, is required to
file an Oregon tax return, and has Oregon-source distribu-
tive income.

“Owner” is a partner of a partnership or limited liability
partnership (LLP), shareholder of an S corporation, member
of a limited liability company (LLC), or beneficiary of a trust.

“Pass-through entity (PTE)” is a partnership, S corpora-
tion, LLP, LLC, or certain trusts. Note: Single-member LLCs
owned by an individual or a corporation and grantor trusts
are disregarded for tax purposes and aren’t PTEs. For this
purpose only: Estates aren’t PTEs.

Owner payment requirements

APTE is required to pay tax to the department on behalf of
the nonelecting owner unless the owner:

® Has estimated or actual Oregon-source distributive income
from the PTE that is less than $1,000 for the PTE’s tax year;
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Pass-Through Entity Owner Payments
and Oregon Affidavit

2017

* Has made estimated tax payments the prior tax year based
on the owner’s share of Oregon-source distributive income
from the PTE and continues to make estimated tax pay-
ments for the current tax year; or

¢ Files an affidavit, Form OR-19-AF.

Don’t withhold if the owner is another PTE, except for
entities that are disregarded for tax purposes. Two common
examples of disregarded entities are:

¢ Grantor trust: A grantor trust (usually called a revocable
trust or living trust) is where the grantor has control. If
the grantor is a nonresident, withhold for the grantor the
same as any other individual. On Form OR-19, use the
name, Social Security number (SSN), and address of the
individual owner. Don’t use the name, FEIN, and address
of the grantor trust.

¢ Single member LLC: Withhold if the member is a non-
resident individual or C corporation. Withhold for the
member the same as any other individual or C corporation
owner using the individual’s or corporation’s information.

If the PTE expects the total Oregon-source distributive
income of a nonresident owner to exceed $1,000 during the
tax year, the PTE should begin submitting payments as of
the first quarter that includes Oregon-source income. Tax
payments are required on the entire nonresident owner’s
share of Oregon-source income, not just the amount exceed-
ing $1,000.

These payments are prepayments of tax by the PTE on behalf
of the owners. The requirement to submit payments isn’t
dependent on whether the PTE makes any distributions to
its owners. A PTE with distributive income that didn’t pay
any money to its owners will still submit Oregon tax pay-
ments for its nonresident owners. A PTE with no distributive
income that pays a distribution from capital or retained earn-
ings, won't submit Oregon tax payments for its nonresident
owners.

Instructions for Form OR-19-AF

The PTE must withhold tax from the nonelecting owner’s
Oregon-source distributive income unless the nonelecting
owner files an Form OR-19-AF or is an owner for which the
PTE isn’t required to withhold, such as another PTE.

To be exempt from the payment requirement, the nonelecting
owner must also file an Form OR-19-AF with the department
as soon as it’s known that the owner will receive Oregon-
source distributive income from the PTE. The nonelecting
owner must provide a copy of the completed affidavit to the
PTE so the PTE won’t withhold tax from the Oregon-source
distributive income.

The affidavit is valid until it’s replaced by a subsequent
affidavit.



Revoking or changing an affidavit

To revoke a previously filed affidavit, submit an affidavit (or
a copy of the original) with the revocation section completed
to the department and the PTE.

An affidavit should be updated if there is a change in the
entity information or if the ownership percentage of an
owner that has filed an affidavit changes by 10 percent or
more. The owner doesn’t need to send an updated affidavit
solely for address changes. Addresses are updated when
the owner files their tax return. If an affidavit is revoked or
updated, be sure the correct address is on the form. When
sending us an updated affidavit or revocation, be sure to
send a copy to the entity as well.

Oregon-source distributive income

For estimated tax purposes, distributive income is the net
amount of income, gain, deduction, or loss of a pass-through
entity for the tax year. It includes items directly related to the
PTE that are considered in determining the federal taxable
income of the nonresident owner. It also includes modifica-
tions provided in Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) Chapter 316
and other Oregon laws that directly relate to the PTE.

Examples of the modifications allowed that relate to the
PTE’s income include adjustments for depreciation, deple-
tion, gain or loss difference on the sale of depreciable prop-
erty, and U.S. government interest. Modifications don’t
include the federal tax subtraction, itemized deductions, and
the Oregon standard deduction.

Oregon marijuana business modification—Oregon-
licensed marijuana businesses are allowed a deduction for
expenses that could be claimed as federal deductions if
marijuana wasn’t a controlled substance under federal law
(IRC 280E). To calculate the deduction, you must fill out a
federal business return as if the marijuana business expenses
would have been allowed for federal purposes. You won't
submit the federal business return to the IRS. The deduc-
tion is the difference between the profit/loss on your actual
federal return and the “as if” return. Note: This deduction
can’t be used to create a net operating loss, only to reduce
your Oregon source income to zero. Don’t submit the “as-if”
return with your Form OR-19. Keep it with your tax records.
See Publication OR-17 for more information.

Oregon-source distributive income doesn’t include return
of capital, income sourced in another state, or other distri-
butions not taxable by Oregon. Oregon-source distributive
income is the portion of the entity’s modified distributive
income that is derived from or connected with Oregon
sources.

If the PTE has business activity only in Oregon, multiply the
distributive income of the PTE by the ownership percentage
of the nonresident owner.

Apportionable income

PTEs with business activity both inside and outside Oregon
during the year must calculate Oregon-source distributive
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income for nonresident owners. On the Schedule OR-AP,
complete Schedule AP-1 to figure the apportionment per-
centage. Complete Schedule AP-2 using the PTE’s modified
distributive income to apportion the income between Oregon
and other states. While most PTEs don’t complete Schedule
AP-2 for their own return, it can be useful for apportioning
distributive income flowing through to the owners.

Multiply line 11 on the Schedule AP-2 by the ownership per-
centage of each nonresident owner to get their share of Ore-
gon-source distributive income to calculate their tax payment.

Example: Charlie, an Oregon nonresident, owns 20 percent
of ACME Partnership. For the year, the partnership had
$710,000 in ordinary income, $40,000 in capital gains, and
$70,000 in domestic production activity deductions. ACME
estimated Charlie’s Oregon source income for each period
at $3,750 and withheld $371 (9.9 percent). On Charlie’s
Schedule OR-K-1, ACME reported his distributive income,
ACME’s Oregon apportionment percentage (10 percent),
and the tax paid to Oregon on his behalf ($1,484) which will
also match the Form OR-19 annual report ACME submitted.

On his Oregon Form OR-40-N, Charlie will report in the
federal column his income of $142,000 ($710,000 x 20%) from
federal Schedule E and $8,000 ($40,000 x 20%) from federal
Schedule D and deduction of $14,000 ($70,000 x 20%). In
the Oregon column, he will multiply those amounts by 10
percent ($14,200, $800, and $1,400). Since Oregon is discon-
nected from the domestic production activities deduction,
these same amounts ($14,000 in the federal column and
$1,400 in the Oregon column) will also be added back in the
additions section of Charlie’s Oregon return.

Guaranteed payments

Guaranteed payments are treated as a business income
component of the PTE’s distributive income and attributed
directly to the owner receiving the payment. See Oregon
Administrative Rule (OAR) 150-316.124(2).

Deductions
Individual tax deduction

Deductions normally allowed to individuals (itemized
deductions or the standard deduction) aren’t allowed in
determining the income amount upon which owner pay-
ments are based and remitted.

Self-employment tax deduction

Each PTE must calculate the self-employment tax deduction
for each electing member that is subject to self-employment
tax. The self-employment tax deduction that is attributable to
the Oregon-source distributive income is subtracted from the
Oregon-source distributive income to determine the amount
upon which the owner’s estimated payments are based.



Credits

Credits normally allowed on owners’ tax returns, such as
the credit for income taxes paid to another state, aren’t taken
into account in determining the income amount upon which
owner payments are based and remitted.

Form OR-19-V tax payment

instructions

Calculate the amount of tax to be withheld and remitted to
the department as follows:

¢ Individual owners: Use the highest individual tax rate on
the nonelecting owner’s share of Oregon-source distribu-
tive income. For 2017, the rate is 9.9 percent.

* C corporation owners: Use the corporate tax rates on the
nonelecting owner’s share of Oregon-source distributive
income. For 2017, the rate is 6.6 percent on the first $1 mil-
lion and 7.6 percent on the amount over $1 million.

Once you calculate the total payment for the owners, enter
the amount on voucher Form OR-19-V. Enter the PTE’s
information on the voucher and submit it with the payment.
You will reconcile how much of each payment goes to each
owner when you file the annual report at the end of the year.

Due dates for tax payments

Tax payments for the Oregon-source distributive income
of nonelecting owners must be remitted for the period in
which the distributive income is earned or estimated. Use
the entity’s tax year.

Estimated tax payments can be submitted through Revenue
Online. Visit www.oregon.gov/dor for more information.

For calendar year entities, the due dates for 2017 are:

® April 18, 2017 (1st period).
® June 15,2017 (2nd period).
® September 15, 2017 (3rd period).
® December 15, 2017 (4th period).

For fiscal-year filing entities, the due dates are the 15th day
of the fourth, sixth, ninth, and 12th months of the tax year.

Exception: Fiscal-year filing entities with only noncorporate
owners who file using a calendar tax year may elect to use
the due dates applicable to the owners instead.

For example, Beachside LLC has a 2016 fiscal tax year ending
September 30, 2017. The LLC would normally send in pay-
ments on the following due dates: January 16, 2017; March
15,2017; June 15, 2017; and September 15, 2017. Their owners
are all individuals who file using a calendar tax year, so the
LLC chooses to use the exception. Because the owners report
this income in their 2017 calendar tax year as required by IRS
and Oregon laws, the payment due dates are April 18, 2017;
June 15, 2017; September 15, 2017; and January 15, 2018.

Use Form OR-19-V to remit the payments.

150-101-282 (Rev. 12-16)

Form OR-19 instructions

Use Form OR-19 at the end of the tax year to show how
much of each payment belongs to each nonresident owner.
Complete Form OR-19, identifying the entity that paid the
tax and each nonresident owner’s information. Each line
should list only one taxpayer, so enter spouses separately.
You must complete the name, tax identification number,
and address for each owner receiving a portion of the pay-
ment. For owner type, list how the owner will file, such as
individual or C corporation.

Important:

* Don’tinclude owners that are exempt, have no Oregon
tax liability or withholding, joining a composite return,
or filed an affidavit;

e Use the individual or corporate owner’s information
for disregarded entities; and

e Use the Form OR-19 only when submitting this
information. Incomplete forms or forms submitted in
the incorrect format won'’t be processed.

Enter the date and amount of each payment sent in during
the tax year. Up to four payments can be reported on a Form
OR-19. Use whole dollars for all amounts. If you made more
than four payments, combine the last payments under Pay-
ment 4. Remember that the owners won't receive credit for
the payment made on their behalf until the PTE has submit-
ted a correct Form OR-19 annual report.

The Form OR-19 is due by the end of the second month after
the end of the entity’s tax year. For tax year 2017, the due
date for entities using a calendar year is February 28, 2018.

Important: Provide each owner with their total payments in
column (h) so they can claim the payment on their Oregon
return when they file.

Use additional Form OR-19s as needed to divide a payment
among all owners and enter the total for each column on the
last form. The total must match the payment as listed above
in the heading.

For example, Partnership ABC made only one payment of
$3,500 during the year. They have 15 nonresident owners
getting a portion of that payment. They will use three Form
OR-19s for their annual report and the total in column (d)
on the third form must be $3,500.

If the PTE wants any portion of a payment to go to its Form
OR-OC account because some or all of the owners will be
joining the composite return, enter “Form OR-OC” and the
amount from each payment.

For example, XYZ LLC sent in payments using voucher
Form OR-19-V and now determines that all the nonresident
owners will be joining the Form OR-OC. On their Form
OR-19 annual report, they will enter “Form OR-OC” in
column (b) and enter the amount of each payment to be
transferred to the Form OR-OC account.
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