Form OR-514

## 2020 Oregon Unlicensed Cigarettes Monthly Tax Report



OR-514	514 Oregon Unicensed Cigarettes					Revenue use only		
	Monthly Tax Report					Date received     Payment received		
	•	day following this reporting	•			• Fayment	eceived	
	Month ending	<ul> <li>Social Security number (SSN)</li> </ul>	or Federal employe	r identification number (FEIN)	Acco	unt number		
Amended								
Name			•					
Mailing address				City		State	ZIP code	

#### Read the instructions on the back of this form. Example of completed form:

Example:	Invoice	D. Number	E. Packs	F. Cigarettes	G. Total number	
A. Cigarette distributor	B. Number	C. Date	of cartons	per carton	per pack	of cigarettes
Example: ABC Internet Cigarette Company	8251786-394	1/28/15	2	x 10	<b>x</b> 20	= 400 (don't include in total)

List all cigarettes purchased for the month you are reporti	ing (add additional pag	ges if needed):				
	Invoice			E. Packs	F. Cigarettes	G. Total number
A. Cigarette distributor	B. Number	B. Number C. Date		per carton	per pack	of cigarettes
				х	х	=
				х	х	=
				Х	х	=
				х	х	=
				х	х	=
	1. Tota	al <b>number</b> of cigaret	ttes (add numbe	ers in column G)	1.	
		rate (per cigarette)	•	,		x 0.0665
		due (multiply line 1				
		alty and interest (s	• /			
		al due (add lines 3 a				

Declaration							
I declare under the penalties for false swearing [ORS 305.990(4)] that I have examined this document and to the best of my knowledge it is true, correct, and complete.							
Signature	Print name	Date	Phone				
			( )		-		

# Instructions

### **General information**

Any individual or business who purchased cigarettes over the internet, by phone, by mail order, or any other source, whether for personal use or resale, is responsible for paying the tax. If the distributor doesn't pay the tax, the consumer or user of the cigarettes must file a report and remit the tax due. You must file a separate Form OR-514 for each month you made purchases. The report is due on or before the 20th day of the month following receipt of the cigarettes for the preceding calendar month. If the 20th falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the report is due the next business day. The report must show the number of cigarettes received by the consumer or user in the preceding calendar month. The tax is \$0.0665 per cigarette, which calculates to \$1.33 per package of 20.

What is the applicable law? This publication isn't a complete statement of Oregon laws. For more information, refer to the laws and rules, Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 323.005 through 323.865.

#### **Reporting instructions**

- Use a separate Form OR-514 for each month you made purchases.
- Use blue or black ink when filling out this form.
- Enter information in the boxes at the top as follows:
  - **Month ending:** Enter the month when you received the cigarettes (January, February, March, etc.).
  - Identification number:
    - **SSN or FEIN.** If purchases were for personal use, enter your SSN; enter your FEIN if you're a business.
    - BIN. If you're a business, enter your BIN and account number.
- Enter your name, mailing address, city, state, and ZIP code.
- Column A. Enter distributor name from whom you purchased cigarettes.
- Column B. Enter the invoice number received with your shipment.
- Column C. Enter the invoice date.
- Column D. Enter total number of cartons ordered from distributor.
- Column E. Enter number of packs in each carton.
- Column F. Enter number of cigarettes in each pack.
- Column G. Enter the total of column D × column E × column F.

#### Example:

D. Number of cartons		E. Packs per carton		F. Cigarettes per pack		G. Total number of cigarettes
1	х	10	х	20	=	200
2	х	10	х	20	=	400
5	х	10	х	20	=	1,000

- Line 1. Enter the total number of untaxed cigarettes purchased during the reporting period (add numbers in column G).
- Line 3. Tax due. Multiply the number of cigarettes entered on line 1 by 0.0665. Example:

Total number of cigarettes		Tax per cigarette		Tax due
200	х	\$0.0665	=	\$13.30
400	х	\$0.0665	=	\$26.60
1,000	х	\$0.0665	=	\$66.50

• Line 4. Penalty and interest. A penalty is imposed if you mail your report and pay the tax after the tax due date. The report is due by the 20th day of the month following receipt of the cigarettes for the preceding calendar month. The penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid tax. If you file **more than 30 days** after the due date, add an additional penalty of 20 percent of the unpaid tax (ORS 305.992).

**Interest** is imposed on any unpaid tax from the due date until the date payment in full is received. The current interest rate as of January 1, 2019 is 6 percent annually, or 0.0164 percent (0.000164) daily. The interest rate may change once a calendar year.

- Line 5. Total due (add lines 3 and 4).
- **Declaration.** Sign and date your report, and include your phone number. Don't use red ink or staple your check or money order to this report.
- Mail this report with your check payable to:

Oregon Department of Revenue Special Programs Administration PO Box 14110 Salem OR 97309-0471

• Keep a copy of your completed form with your records.

### Do you have questions or need help?

www.oregon.gov/dor questions.dor@oregon.gov

General	2
Special Programs Administrative Unit(503) 945-8120	)
Tipline	
Toll-free tipline	

Contact us for ADA accommodations or assistance in other languages.

150-105-013 (Rev. 11-28-19)