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DECLARATION
I declare under the penalties for false swearing [ORS 305.990(4)] that I have examined this document and to the best of 
my knowledge it is true, correct, and complete.
Signature Date

/	 /
PRINT name signed above Title Telephone number

(	 )
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General information

If you purchased untaxed tobacco products, either over the 
Internet or from some other source, you are responsible for 
paying the tax. For every calendar quarter you purchase any 
untaxed tobacco products, you must file a return, including 
all schedules, by the last day of the month following each 
quarterly reporting period. Quarterly returns are due on or 
before the last day of January, April, July, and October. Pay-
ment of the tax must be made with the return.

Tobacco products do not include cigarettes. Untaxed ciga-
rettes are reported on Form 514, Oregon Cigarette Consumer’s 
Monthly Tax Report.

What is the applicable law? This publication is not a com-
plete statement of Oregon laws. For more information, refer 
to the laws and rules, Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 323.500 
through 323.995.

Oregon Tobacco Products Tax Rates

The tobacco products tax rate is 65 percent of the wholesale 
sales price on all tobacco products except moist snuff and 
cigars. The moist snuff rate is the greater of $1.78 per ounce 
or $2.14 per retail container. The cigar rate is the lower of 65 
percent of the wholesale sales price or $0.50 per single cigar.

What is moist snuff?

Moist snuff is taxed by weight. Moist snuff definition A 
includes any finely cut, ground, milled, or powdered tobacco 
product that is not intended to be smoked or placed in the 
nasal cavity. 

Moist snuff definition B includes other products containing 
tobacco that are not intended to be consumed by burning. 
[See OAR 150-323.500(9) for examples.]

Instructions

Please use blue or black ink when filling out this form.

Enter information in the boxes at the top of the form as follows:
• Quarter. Enter "1” for the first quarter, “2” for the second

quarter, etc.
• Quarter dates. Enter the month, day, and year for the be-

ginning and ending dates of the quarter you are reporting 
(i.e., 01/01/13–3/31/13).

• Due date. Enter the month, day, and year the return is due
(i.e., first quarter due date is 4/30/13).

• Social Security number. Enter if you are an individual
reporting your purchases.

• Business ID number. Enter your business identification
number (BIN) (assigned to you by the Oregon Department 
of Revenue) if you are a business reporting purchases. 

• Period. Enter “3” for the quarter January–March; enter “6”
for the quarter April–June; enter “9” for the quarter July–Sep-
tember; and enter “12” for the quarter October–December.

• Enter your name and address information.

• Enter your federal employer identification number.

• Put an “X” in the appropriate box for “You are a(n).”

Line 1. Enter the total wholesale price of all tobacco products 
purchased (except moist snuff, chewing tobacco, and cigars) 
during the reporting period from Schedule 1A, line 20.

Line 3. Enter the total number of units (retail containers) of 
moist snuff (definition A) (weighing 1.2 ounces or less) pur-
chased during the reporting period from Schedule 2A, line 20.

Line 5. Enter the total ounces of moist snuff (definition A) (for 
retail containers weighing more than 1.2 ounces) purchased 
during the reporting period from Schedule 3A, line 20.

Line 7. Enter the total number of units (retail containers) of 
moist snuff (definition B) (weighing 1.2 ounces or less) pur-
chased during the reporting period from Schedule 4A, line 20.

Line 9. Enter the total ounces of moist snuff (definition B) (for 
retail containers weighing more than 1.2 ounces) purchased 
during the reporting period from Schedule 5A, line 20.

Line 11. Enter the total number of cigars purchased during 
the reporting period that have a wholesale sales price of 77 
cents or more per cigar from Schedule 6A, line 20.

Line 13. Enter the total wholesale price of cigars purchased 
during the reporting period that have a wholesale sales price 
less than 77 cents per cigar from Schedule 7A, line 20.

Line 18. Penalty and interest. Enter a penalty amount if 
applicable. A penalty is imposed if you mail your report or 
pay the tax after the due date. The penalty is 5 percent of the 
unpaid tax. If you file more than 30 days after the due date, 
add an additional penalty of 20 percent of the unpaid tax.

Interest is imposed on any unpaid tax from the due date 
until the date payment in full is received. The interest rate as 
of January 1, 2012, is 5 percent annually, or 0.004167 (0.4167 
percent) per month, or 0.000137 (0.0137 percent) per day. The 
interest rate may change once a calendar year.

Sign and date your return. Please do not use red ink or 
staple your check or money order to this return.

Mail your return, payment, and all supporting schedules 
to the following address. Your return can not be processed 
without the schedules. Failure to include the schedules may 
result in penalties. Make your check payable to: Oregon 
Department of Revenue. Mail to: 

Tobacco Tax 
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14110
Salem OR 97309-0910

Please keep a copy of your completed return and schedules 
with your records.

Instructions for Form 531—Oregon Quarterly Tax Return  
for Tobacco Products (for non-licensed individual or business)
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Have questions? Need help?
General tax information ................  www.oregon.gov/dor
 Salem ............................................................ 503-378-4988

Toll-free from an Oregon prefi x .............1-800-356-4222

Asistencia en español:
En Salem o fuera de Oregon ..................... 503-378-4988
Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon ....................1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
Salem area or outside Oregon .................. 503-945-8617
Toll-free from an Oregon prefi x .............1-800-886-7204

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers above for information in alternative formats.

¿Preguntas?
Asistencia en español: Llame al 503-378-4988 en Salem o 
llame gratis de prefijo de Oregon al 1-800-356-4222. Envíe 
preguntas generales por correo electrónico al preguntas.
dor@state.or.us.

Para información en general:  www.oregon.gov/dor

TTY (solamente para personas afectadas con problemas 
de audición o de habla): Llame al 503-945-8617 en Salem 
o llame gratis de prefijo de Oregon al 1-800-886-7204.

ADA (en conformidad con el Acta de Americanos con In-
capacidades): Esta información está disponible en dife-
rentes formas. Llame al 503-378-4988 en Salem o llame 
gratis de prefijo de Oregon al 1-800-356-4222.

SpanishEnglish

When language is revised, see procedure for all the places that need to be updated.
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