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– Form 40P and Form 40N
– Form 40-V

Taxes are due 
April 15, 2014

E-file to get your 
refund in 7–10 days
See page 2.

Veterans’ benefits
Find out more at 
www.oregon.gov/ODVA.

Healthy Kids program
Find out if you qualify 
for health coverage at 
www.oregonhealthykids.gov.
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Need help? See page 36.2 E-filing

•	 Your return and tax owed are due April 15, 2014. See page 33 for payment options.
•	 These instructions are not a complete statement of laws and Oregon Department of Revenue rules. 

You may need more information. See page 36.
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Electronic filing
E-file is the fastest way to file your return and receive 
your refund. The speed and accuracy of computers 
allow electronic returns to be processed faster than 
paper returns, greatly reducing errors and delays. 
E-file uses secure technology to ensure the safety of 
your personal information once it is transmitted to the 
IRS and the Department of Revenue.

Oregon participates in the IRS Federal/State E-file 
program. This program allows you to electronically 
file both your federal and Oregon returns at the same 
time. If you have already filed your federal return, you 
may still electronically file your Oregon return.

If you haven’t tried e-file yet, why not this year? Join 
more than a million other Oregon taxpayers who elec-
tronically file their Oregon returns.

You can take advantage of e-file in one of three ways:

1.	 Ask your tax preparer.

	 If your tax preparer is an authorized IRS e-file pro-
vider, your preparer can electronically file your fed-
eral and Oregon returns. Many Tax-Aide and Tax 
Counseling for the Elderly (TCE) sites set up by the 
IRS are authorized IRS e-file providers.

2.	 Online tax preparation software.

	 You can file your federal and state returns from your 
home computer, from work, or from a library using 
Oregon-approved online tax preparation products. 
Go to our website at www.oregon.gov/dor/e-filing 
for a list of tax preparation products that can assist 
in preparing your federal and Oregon returns.

3.	 You may be eligible for free e-file.

	 Several tax preparation software providers offer 
free online electronic tax filing. For free online tax 
preparation programs, go to our website at www.
oregon.gov/dor/e-filing.

For more information about e-filing, go to our website 
at www.oregon.gov/dor/e-filing.
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New information

Federal tax law
Oregon is tied to the federal definition of taxable income, 
with two exceptions:
•	Internal Revenue Code (IRC) section 139A for federal 

subsidies for prescription drug plans; and
•	IRC section 199 for income attributable to domestic 

production activities, also known as qualified pro-
duction activity income (QPAI).

Income under these sections is exempt from tax on 
the federal return. If you have either of these types of 
income, you will have an addition on your Oregon tax 
return. See page 16.

Oregon will automatically adopt any future federal 
law changes to the definition of taxable income.

Special Oregon medical deduction. The special Ore-
gon medical deduction is no longer available. The 
deduction has been replaced with a subtraction (code 
351) that is limited to a maximum of $1,800 per taxpay-
er age 62 or older on December 31, 2013, with qualify-
ing medical and dental expenses. See page 17 for more 
information.

Personal exemption credit. The personal exemption 
credit has changed. It is no longer allowed if your fed-
eral adjusted gross income exceeds the income thresh-
old for your filing status. See page 30 for more details.

Schedule WFC-N/P. The Schedule WFC-N/P and 
instructions are no longer included in this instruction 
booklet. The schedule and instructions are available 
on our website at www.oregon.gov/dor/personal.

Registered domestic partners (RDPs). At the time this 
publication was printed, we were waiting for guidance on 
the impact of the U.S. Supreme Court’s decision regarding 
the Defense of Marriage Act. For updated information on 
the impact of that decision and how to file as RDPs, visit 
our website at www.oregon.gov/dor /personal and select 

“Registered domestic partners in Oregon” under Taxpayer 
Tips.

Income tax booklets. Beginning next year, we will 
reduce the number of personalized income tax booklets 
we send to taxpayers in the mail. If you do not receive 
an income tax booklet, you can download a copy from 
our website at www.oregon.gov/dor/personal, contact 
us to order an income tax booklet, or check with your 
local post office. For contact information, see page 32. 

New subtraction. Oregon now allows a subtraction 
(code 352) for dividend payments received from a 
domestic international sales corporation (DISC). To 
claim the subtraction, the dividend payments must be 
included in your federal adjusted gross income. See 
page 25 for more details.

Charitable checkoffs. The charitable checkoffs listed 
on Form 40N and 40P have changed. See page 34 for 
details.

New charitable checkoff. You can now donate all or 
part of your refund to the Veterans Suicide Prevention 
and Outreach Program. See page 34 for more details.

General information
Should I file an Oregon return?

You must file an Oregon income tax return if your Ore-
gon source income and income received while an Ore-
gon resident is more than your standard deduction.

If your Oregon income is less than your standard 
deduction, you’re not required to file a return for 
Oregon.

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from all 
sources.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from all 
sources earned or received while you were an Oregon 
resident. Oregon also taxes your income from Oregon 
sources while you were a nonresident.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes only your income from 
Oregon sources.

Filing thresholds

You must file an Oregon income tax return if:

Your filing status is:
And your Oregon 

gross income is 
more than:

Can be claimed on another’s return $1,000*
Single $2,080
Married/registered domestic 
partners (RDP) filing joint $4,160

Married/RDP filing separate:
—If spouse/RDP claims standard 

deduction
—If spouse/RDP itemizes deductions

$2,080

$0
Head of household $3,345
Qualifying widow(er) $4,160

*	The larger of $1,000, or your earned income plus $350, up 
to the standard deduction amount for your filing status.
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How long will it take to get my refund?
Effective after February 1, 2014:
If you e-file your return 7–10 business days
If you mail your return before April 1
• With 2-D barcode 1–2 weeks
• Without 2-D barcode 4–6 weeks
If you mail your return on or after April 1
• With 2-D barcode 2–4 weeks
• Without 2-D barcode 6–8 weeks

Note: If you claim the working family child care cred-
it (WFC) or your return needs additional review for 
another reason, your return will take longer to process.

To check if your refund has been issued, go to www.
oregonrefund.com after the time frame listed above.

What does income from Oregon 
sources include?

Oregon income includes income shown on your fed-
eral return for services performed in Oregon.

If you have wages from an Oregon employer and you 
performed services for your employer in Oregon and 
another state while you were a nonresident, and your 
Oregon wages are not stated separately on your W-2, 
compute your Oregon source income using the formu-
la for line 8S (page 13).

The following are considered other income from 
Oregon sources:
•	Businesses, partnerships, limited liability companies 

taxed as partnerships, and S corporations located or 
doing business in Oregon—income (losses).

•	Unemployment compensation received because of 
an Oregon job.

•	Severance pay received because of an Oregon job.
•	Oregon farm income (losses).
•	Oregon estate and trust income (losses).
•	Oregon State Lottery winnings.
•	Sale of Oregon property income (losses).
•	Rents and royalties for use of Oregon property.
•	Community property income. If you’re a resident of 

Oregon and your spouse/RDP is a resident of a state 
with community property laws, you may be taxed 
on part of your spouse’s/RDP’s income. Commu-
nity property laws in the state where your spouse/
RDP lives determine if you’re taxed on any of your 
spouse’s/RDP’s income.

What income is not included in Oregon sources?
•	Interest and dividends. However, if they’re from an 

Oregon business you own, received during the part 
of the year you were a resident or passed through 
from an S corporation or partnership doing business 
in Oregon, you must include them in Oregon income.

•	Interstate transportation wages from an interstate rail-
road company, interstate motor carrier, air carrier, or 
motor private carrier. You must be a nonresident and 
have regularly assigned duties in more than one state.

•	Oregon retirement income received while you were 
a nonresident unless you were domiciled in Oregon. 
See “Pensions and annuities” on page 14.

•	Waterway, air carrier, or hydroelectric dam compen-
sation, if you’re a nonresident:
—	Working as crew or pilot on a vessel on a river 

between Oregon and another state;
—	Working as crew or pilot on an aircraft in Oregon; or
—	Working on a dam that spans a river between 

Oregon and another state.

• Military pay of a nonresident.
•	Winnings of a nonresident from tribal gaming cen-

ters in Oregon.

Residency
Am I a resident, nonresident, or part-year resident? 
The following will help you decide:

•	You’re a full-year Oregon resident, even if you live 
outside Oregon, if all of the following are true:
—	You think of Oregon as your permanent home, 

and
—	Oregon is the center of your financial, social, and 

family life, and
—	Oregon is the place you intend to come back to 

when you’re away.

	 You’re still a full-year resident if:

—	You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or
—	You moved back to Oregon after a temporary 

absence.

	 You may also be considered a full-year resident if you 
spent more than 200 days in Oregon during 2013 or 
you’re a nonresident alien as defined by federal law.

•	You’re a nonresident if your permanent home was 
outside Oregon all year.

•	You’re a part-year resident if you moved into or out 
of Oregon during 2013. You’re not considered a part-
year resident if:
—	You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or
—	You moved back to Oregon after a temporary absence.

Special-case Oregon residents. If you’re an Oregon 
resident and you meet all the following conditions, 
you’re considered a nonresident for tax purposes:

•	You’re an Oregon resident who maintained a perma-
nent home outside Oregon the entire year, and

•	You didn’t keep a home in Oregon during any part of 
2013, and

•	You spent less than 31 days in Oregon during 2013.

Important! A recreational vehicle (RV) is not consid-
ered a permanent home outside of Oregon.

Oregon residents living abroad. Usually, you’re con-
sidered a nonresident if you qualify for the federal 
earned income exclusion or housing exclusion for 
United States residents living abroad.
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Military personnel
Nonresidents stationed in Oregon. Oregon does not 
tax your military pay while you’re stationed in Oregon. 
File Form 40N if you had other income from Oregon 
sources or to claim a refund of Oregon tax withheld 
from your military pay.

Nonresident military spouses. Federal law does not 
allow Oregon to tax your wages if you’re in Oregon 
only to be with your spouse because your spouse is 
stationed in Oregon. File Form 40N if you had other 
income from Oregon sources or are claiming a refund 
of Oregon tax withheld.

Residents stationed outside Oregon. If you meet the 
requirements above for special-case Oregon residents 
or Oregon residents living abroad, file Form 40N. File 
Form 40 from the Full-Year Resident tax booklet if you 
don’t meet the listed requirements.

Residents stationed in Oregon. If you’re an Oregon 
resident stationed in Oregon, file Form 40 from the 
Full-Year Resident tax booklet.

For more information, go to our website or contact us.

Filing for a deceased person
You must file a final personal income tax return for a 
person who died during the calendar year if the per-
son would have been required to file. See “Should I 
file an Oregon return?” on page 3. If a return is filed, 
please check the “deceased” box on the return. If you’ve 
been appointed personal representative or you filed a 
small estate affidavit, sign the return as “personal rep-
resentative” and have the spouse/RDP sign if a joint 
return. If there is no personal representative for a joint 
return, only the surviving spouse/RDP needs to sign. 
For more information, download Survivor’s Information 
from our website or contact us to order it.

Are you filing a return and claiming a refund for some-
one who is now deceased and there is no court-appoint-
ed personal representative? If so, file Form 243, Claim to 
Refund Due a Deceased Person, with the return. This will 
allow us to issue the refund check in your name. Down-
load the form from our website or contact us to order it.

Note: Oregon has an estate transfer tax on estates val-
ued at $1 million or more. The tax is paid by the estate, 
not by the individuals receiving the inheritance. For 
more information, check our website or contact us.

What form do I use?
Use Form 40N if any ONE of the following is true:
•	You’re a nonresident, or
•	You’re a special case Oregon resident (see “Residen-

cy” section), or

•	You and your spouse/RDP are filing jointly and one 
(or both) of you is a nonresident, or

•	You meet the military personnel nonresident require-
ments explained on this page, or

•	You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad 
for the entire year.

Use Form 40P if any ONE of the following is true:
•	You’re a part-year resident, or
•	You are filing jointly and one of you is a part-year 

resident and the other is a full-year resident, or
•	You are filing jointly and both of you are part-year 

Oregon residents, or
•	You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad 

for part of the year.

Use Form 40 if any ONE of the following is true:
•	You’re a full-year resident, or
•	You and your spouse/RDP are both full-year resi-

dents filing jointly.

Form 40 is included in the Full-Year Resident booklet. 
Go to our website or contact us to order it.

When should I file my return?
The filing deadline for calendar year 2013 is April 15, 
2014. If you cannot pay all or any of your tax by the 
due date, it’s important to file your return anyway to 
avoid a late-filing penalty.

Returns for other tax periods are due by the 15th day 
of the fourth month after the close of your tax year.

What if I need more time to file?
If you need more time to file, you can request an 
extension. Complete an Oregon extension form, Form 
40-EXT, if:

•	You’re making a tax payment to Oregon and you 
cannot file your Oregon return by April 15, 2014, or

•	You’re filing an extension for Oregon only.

Extensions must be filed by the due date of the return, 
April 15, 2014.

If you requested a federal extension and you’re expect-
ing an Oregon refund, do not use Form 40-EXT. Ore-
gon will allow you the same extension. Be sure to check 
box 7b on your Oregon return. Do not include a copy of 
your federal extension with your Oregon return. Keep 
a copy of your federal extension with your records.

If you need to complete Form 40-EXT, download the 
form from our website or contact us to order it.

An extension does not mean more time to pay!

You must pay all tax you expect to owe when you file 
your extension. If you don’t pay all the tax due when 
you request an extension, you’ll owe interest on any 
unpaid tax after April 15, 2014, until the date of your 
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payment. The 2014 interest rate is 4 percent per year. If 
the tax is not paid within 60 days of the date of our bill-
ing notice, the interest rate increases to 8 percent per 
year. You may also owe a late-payment penalty.

If you cannot pay all of the tax you expect to owe, pay 
what you can.

Were you stationed in a designated combat zone?

If you were stationed in a designated combat zone 
and received additional time to file your 2013 federal 
return and pay your 2013 tax, Oregon allows the same 
amount of time to file and pay. Write “Combat zone” 
in blue or black ink at the top left corner of your 
return.

Penalties
You will owe a 5 percent late-payment penalty on any 
2013 tax not paid by April 15, 2014 even if you have 
filed an extension. See page 33.

Oregon does not allow an extension of time to pay 
even if the IRS is allowing an extension.

If you file more than three months after the due date 
(including extensions), a 20 percent late-filing penalty 
will be added, so you will owe a total penalty of 25 
percent of any unpaid tax. A 100 percent penalty is 
charged if you do not file a return for three consecu-
tive years by the due date of the third year, including 
extensions.

2014 estimated tax
Estimated tax is the amount of tax you expect to owe 
after credits and Oregon tax withheld when you file 
your 2014 Oregon individual income tax return.

Oregon estimated tax laws are not the same as federal 
estimated tax laws. Use Oregon instructions to decide 
if you need to make estimated tax payments for 2014.

Who must make estimated tax payments?

In most cases, people who expect to owe $1,000 or 
more on their 2014 Oregon income tax return after 
credits and withholding must make estimated pay-
ments. You may need to make estimated payments if:

•	You’re self-employed and don’t have Oregon tax 
withheld from your income.

•	You received Oregon Lottery single ticket winnings 
of less than $5,000. (Note: Single ticket winnings of 
$5,000 or more are subject to Oregon withholding.)

•	You receive income such as pensions, interest, or div-
idends; Oregon tax is not withheld; and you expect 
to owe tax of $1,000 or more.

•	You’re a wage earner and expect to owe tax of $1,000 
or more on your 2014 return.

When do I pay?
Estimated tax due dates for 2014 taxes are April 15, 
2014*; June 16, 2014; September 15, 2014; and January 15, 
2015.

If paying with a check or money order, send your pay-
ment with Form 40-ESV, Oregon Estimated Income Tax 
Payment Voucher. Download the form from our website 
or contact us to order it. If making an electronic pay-
ment from your checking or savings account or paying 
by credit or debit card, see page 33.

*	 Please send your 2014 estimated tax payment and Ore-
gon Form 40-ESV in a separate envelope from your 2013 
Oregon income tax return. This will help us credit your 
payment more efficiently.

Interest on underpayment of 
estimated tax

You may owe interest on underpayment of estimated 
tax if:

•	You owe $1,000 or more on your return after credits 
and withholding, or

•	You paid less than 90 percent of the tax due on each 
estimated tax payment due date.

For Form 40N or Form 40P, line 69 instructions, see 
page 33.

What if I’m self-employed?
If you’re self-employed and do business in Mult-
nomah, Clackamas, or Washington counties, you 
may need to file Form TM, TriMet Self-Employment 
Tax Return. If you’re self-employed and do business 
in Lane County, you may need to file Form LTD, Lane 
Transit District Self-Employment Tax Return. Go to our 
website to download the forms, or contact us to order 
either form.

What if I need to change my Oregon 
return after filing?

File an amended return. Use Form 40N or Form 40P 
to change (amend) your return. Check the amended 
return box in the upper left corner of the form. You 
must also complete and include the Oregon Amended 
Schedule with your amended return. If you need prior 
year tax booklets or the Oregon Amended Schedule, visit 
our website or contact us.

Bankruptcy
If you are filing a short year return due to bankrupt-
cy, write “Bankruptcy—short year return” in blue or 
black ink at the top of your return.
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Step 1: Fill out your federal form
Your Oregon tax is determined using the ratio of your 
Oregon source income to your entire federal income. 
Fill out your federal return first, then your Oregon 
return. You must include a copy (front and back) of 
your federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, or 
1040NR-EZ with your Oregon tax return. Do not 
include any federal schedules. We may ask for copies 
of schedules or additional information later.

Registered domestic partners (RDPs): To correctly 
figure your Oregon tax liability, you must complete a 
federal Form 1040 income tax return “as if” you were 
married filing jointly or married filing separately. Use 
the information you calculated on the “as if” federal 
return to complete your Oregon income tax return, 
unless otherwise indicated.

For more information on how to file as an RDP, visit our 
website at www.oregon.gov/dor/personal and select “Reg-
istered domestic partners in Oregon” under Taxpayer Tips. 

Step 2: Select the appropriate form
To decide whether to use Form 40N or 40P, see page 5.

Step 3: Fill out the Oregon form
Use blue or black ink only. Please use blue or black 
ink for easier reading and faster processing. Equip-
ment used to scan documents and checks cannot read 
gel ink or certain colors and using them will delay the 
processing of your return.

Amended return
If you are amending your 2013 return, check the box in 
the upper left corner and include the Oregon Amended 
Schedule with your amended return.

Residency
Enter the dates you were an Oregon resident dur-
ing 2013. For example, “01/01/2013 to 04/15/2013,” or 
“03/01/2013 to 12/31/2013.” Leave blank if you did not 
live in Oregon at any time during the year.

Fiscal year filers only
Write the end date of your fiscal year in the space. 
Write “Fiscal year” in blue or black ink at the top left 
corner of your return.

Name and address
Type or clearly print your name, Social Security num-
ber, date of birth, complete mailing address, and 

daytime telephone number on your return. If you 
are married/RDP filing separately do not fill in your 
spouse’s/RDP’s name and SSN here. Enter it on line 
3 instead. If the taxpayer died in 2013 or 2014, please 
check the “deceased” box next to their name.

Social Security number (SSN). The request for your 
SSN is authorized by Section 405, Title 42, of the United 
States Code. You must provide this information. It will 
be used to establish your identity for tax purposes only.

Individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN). If 
the IRS issued you an ITIN because you don’t have 
a Social Security number, enter your ITIN wherever 
your SSN is requested.

If you don’t have an ITIN, you need to request one 
from the IRS. In this case, write “Applied for” wher-
ever your SSN is requested and file your return by 
April 15, 2014. Do not include your ITIN application 
(federal Form W-7) with your Oregon tax return. For a 
copy of Form W-7, go to the IRS website at www.irs.gov 
or call the IRS toll-free at 1-800-829-1040. When the IRS 
issues you an ITIN, send a copy of your ITIN letter to 
the Oregon Department of Revenue. Refunds will not 
be issued without a valid SSN or ITIN.

Date of birth. Enter the month, day, and year you were 
born. For example, “12/23/1977.”

Check the boxes

Filing status

1 5–  Check the box next to your filing sta-
tus. You must use the same filing status 

for your Oregon and federal returns.

Exception for registered domestic partners (RDPs). As 
an RDP, you are not eligible to use the single filing sta-
tus. For Oregon, you are generally required to use one 
of the following filing statuses: registered domestic 
partners filing jointly or registered domestic partner 
filing separately. For more information, go to our web-
site or contact us.

Exceptions for married/RDP persons when each per-
son has a different residency status:

•	Full-year resident and part-year resident. You may 
file separate Oregon returns. If you file separate 
returns for Oregon, you must use the married/RDP 
filing separately status. The full-year resident will 
file Form 40, and the part-year resident will file Form 
40P. If you choose to file a joint return for Oregon, 
use Form 40P.

•	Full-year resident and nonresident. You may file 
separate Oregon returns. If you file separate returns 
for Oregon, you must use the married/RDP filing 

General instructions for Forms 40N & 40P
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separately status. The full-year resident will file Form 
40, and the nonresident will file Form 40N. If you 
choose to file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40N.

•	Part-year resident and nonresident. You may file sep-
arate Oregon returns. If you file separate returns for 
Oregon, you must use the married/RDP filing sepa-
rately status. The part-year resident will file Form 40P, 
and the nonresident will file Form 40N. If you choose 
to file a joint return for Oregon, use Form 40N.

For more information, go to our website or contact us.

If you are married/RDP filing separately, fill in your 
spouse’s/RDP’s first name, last name (first four let-
ters only), and Social Security number under box 3a or 
3b. Do not fill in your spouse’s/RDP’s name or Social 
Security number in the heading of the return.

If you are filing as head of household, fill in the name 
of a person who qualifies you for head of household 
filing status next to box 4. Please enter only one name.

How to file separate returns for Oregon
If you file separate returns for Oregon only, report 
your own share of federal adjusted gross income (AGI) 
and deductions. Also, report your share of any Oregon 
additions or subtractions using this formula to deter-
mine your percentage:

Your share of federal AGI
= Your percentage  

(not to exceed 100%)Joint federal AGI

Write “MFS/RDP for Oregon only” in blue or black 
ink at the top left corner of your return. Include the 
following with both Oregon returns:

•	A federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, or 
1040NR-EZ prepared “as if” you had filed married/
RDP filing separately, and

•	A copy of the joint Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, 
or 1040NR-EZ you actually filed with the IRS.

If possible, mail both spouses’/RDPs’ Oregon returns in 
the same envelope. Do not staple the returns together.

For more information, visit our website.

Exemptions

6a 6b&  Yourself and spouse/RDP. Check “Your-
self” and other boxes that apply. If some-

one else can claim you as a dependent (even if they 
did not), do not check “Yourself;” instead enter -0- in 
the total box on 6a unless you have a severe disability.

Severely disabled. Did you have a severe disability 
at the end of 2013? If so, you may claim an additional 
exemption. This is different from the exemption for a 
child with a disability. You may claim the severely dis-
abled exemption even if someone else can claim you 
as a dependent. You’re considered to have a severe dis-
ability if any of the following apply:

•	You permanently lost the use of one or both feet; or
•	You permanently lost the use of both hands; or

•	You’re permanently blind; or
•	You have a permanent condition that, without spe-

cial equipment or outside help, limits your ability 
to earn a living, maintain a household, or transport 
yourself; or

•	You are unable to earn a living due to a permanent 
condition or impairment of indefinite duration.

If you have a severe disability, your physician must 
write a letter describing it. Keep the letter with your 
permanent records in case we request a copy.

If you qualify, check the “Severely disabled” exemption 
box on line 6a. If your spouse/RDP qualifies, check the 
“Severely disabled” exemption box on line 6b. You and 
your spouse/RDP may also qualify for the loss of use 
of limbs credit. For more information, please contact us.

6c  All dependents. Enter the number of your depen-
dents in box 6c. Write their first names on the 

line. In most cases, you must claim the same dependents 
that are on your federal return. If all first names do not 
fit on the line, write the names on a statement instead. 
Number the statement and include it with your return. 
Write “STM” and the statement number on line 6c.

6d  Children with a disability. You may be entitled 
to an additional personal exemption for your 

dependent child who has a qualifying disability. To 
qualify, all of the following must be true:

•	Your child qualified as your dependent for 2013, and
•	Your child was eligible for “early intervention servic-

es” or received special education as defined by the 
State Board of Education of the state where the child 
attends school, and

•	Your child has a disability as of December 31, 2013 
under the federal Individuals with Disabilities Act. 
Eligible disabilities include:
—	Autism.
—	Deaf-blind.
—	Hearing impairment.
—	Mental retardation.
—	Multiple disabilities.
—	Orthopedic impairment.
—	Other health impairment.
—	Serious emotional disturbance.
—	Traumatic brain injury.
—	Visual impairment.

Note: Learning disabilities or communication disor-
ders alone do not qualify.

You must get a statement of eligibility that confirms 
one of the disabilities listed above and a cover sheet 
from one of the following:

•	The child’s Individualized Education Program (IEP), 
or

•	The child’s Individualized Family Service Plan 
(IFSP).

Continued on page 13



 8 Wages, salaries, and other pay for work. Include all Forms W-2 ........................ 8F •  8S

 9 Taxable interest income from federal Form 1040, line 8a ...................................... 9F •  9S

10  Dividend income from federal Form 1040, line 9a ................................................. 10F •10S

 11 State and local income tax refunds from federal Form 1040, line 10 .................... 11F •11S

12  Alimony received from federal Form 1040, line 11 ................................................ 12F •12S

13  Business income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 12 ..................................... 13F •13S

14  Capital gain or loss from federal Form 1040, line 13 ............................................. 14F •14S

15  Other gains or losses from federal Form 1040, line 14 .......................................... 15F •15S

16  IRA distributions from federal Form 1040, line 15b ............................................... 16F •16S

17  Pensions and annuities from federal Form 1040, line 16b ..................................... 17F •17S

18  Rents, royalties, partnerships, etc., from federal Form 1040, line 17 .................... 18F •18S

19  Farm income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 18 ........................................... 19F •19S

20  Unemployment and other income from federal Form 1040, lines 19 through 21 ... 20F •20S
21  Total income. Add lines 8 through 20 .................................................................• 21F •21S

22  IRA or SEP and SIMPLE contributions, federal Form 1040, lines 28 and 32 ......... 22F •22S

23  Education deductions from federal Form 1040, lines 23, 33, and 34 .................... 23F •23S

24  Moving expenses from federal Form 1040, line 26 ................................................ 24F •24S

25  Deduction for self-employment tax from federal Form 1040, line 27 .................... 25F •25S

26  Self-employed health insurance deduction from federal Form 1040, line 29 ........ 26F •26S

27  Alimony paid from federal Form 1040, line 31a ..................................................... 27F •27S

28  Other adjustments to income. Identify: • 28x  • 28y  $  Schedule 28z    • 28F •28S

29  Total adjustments to income. Add lines 22 through 28 ......................................• 29F •29S
30  Income after adjustments. Line 21 minus line 29 ...............................................• 30F •30S

31  Interest on state and local government bonds outside of Oregon .....................• 31F •31S

32  Federal election on interest and dividends of a minor child ...............................• 32F •32S

33  Other additions. Identify: • 33x  • 33y  $   Schedule included 33z  ......• 33F •33S

34  Total additions. Add lines 31 through 33 ............................................................• 34F •34S

35  Income after additions. Add lines 30 and 34 ......................................................• 35F •35S

36  Social Security and tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits included on line 20F ...• 36F

37  Other subtractions. Identify: • 37x  • 37y  $  Schedule included  37z   • 37F •37S

38  Income after subtractions. Line 35 minus lines 36 and 37 .................................• 38F •38S

39  Oregon percentage. Line 38S ÷ line 38F (not more than 100.0%) •39

Federal column (F)

ADDITIONS

INCOME

Include proof 
of withholding 
(W-2s, 1099s), 
payment, 
and 
payment 
voucher

AD JUST MENTS
TO INCOME

SUB TRAC TIONS

__ __ __.__%

Oregon column (S)

➤ Carry this ➤  
amount to line 40 

NOW GO TO THE BACK OF THE FORM ➛

Fiscal year endingOregon resident:
From To

mm dd yyyy mm dd yyyy

Last name First name and initial Social Security No. (SSN)

–            –

–            –

Telephone numberCurrent mailing address

City State ZIP code If you filed a return last year, and your 
name or address is different, check here

(              )

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

For office use only

Country

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

K    F    P    J

   Deceased

   Deceased

.00

.00

.00
.00
.00

FOR NONRESIDENTS

OREGON
Individual Income Tax Return

Amended Return   

150-101-048 (Rev. 12-13)

Spouse’s/RDP’s fi rst name and initial if joint returnSpouse’s/RDP’s last name if joint return Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN if joint return

•  1  Single
 2a  Married fi ling jointly
 2b  Registered domestic partners (RDP) fi ling jointly
 3a  Married fi ling separately:
   Spouse’s name _____________________________  Spouse’s SSN ___________________

 3b  Registered domestic partner fi ling separately:
   Partner’s name _____________________________  Partner’s SSN ___________________

 4  Head of household: Person who qualifi es you ________________________________

 5  Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child

Filing
Status
Check 
only 
one 
box

Exemptions

6a Yourself ...........Regular  ......Severely disabled  ....6a   

6b Spouse/RDP ...Regular  ......Severely disabled   ......b   

6c All de pen dents First names __________________________________• c

6d Disabled  First names __________________________________• d
 children only
 (see instructions)

Total

Total 6e•

••

7d    You filed 
Oregon 
Form 24

7c •    You have 
federal 
Form 8886

7b •   You 
filed an 
extension

Check all that apply ➛
7a  •  •
You were:   65 or older   Blind
Spouse/RDP was:   65 or older   Blind

2013Form

40N
H



DIRECT 
DE POS IT

Important: Include a copy of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040NR.

• Preparer license no.

Under penalty for false swearing, I declare that the information in this return is true, correct, and complete. 
Signature of preparer other than taxpayerYour signature Date

Address Telephone no.X
X

Spouse’s/RDP’s signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign) Date

X

These will
reduce

your refund

EITHER,
NOT BOTH

ADD TOGETHER

ADD TOGETHER

PAYMENTS AND 
REFUNDABLE 
CREDITS

ADD TOGETHER

DEDUCTIONS
AND 
MODIFICATIONS

OREGON
TAX

NONREFUNDABLE
CREDITS

Include Schedule 
WFC-N/P if you 
claim this credit

 40 Amount from front of form, line 38S (Oregon amount) ...................................................................................... 40 

 41 Itemized deductions from federal Schedule A, line 29 .........................................• 41

42  State income tax claimed as itemized deduction .................................................• 42

43  Net Oregon itemized deductions. Line 41 minus line 42 ......................................• 43

44  Standard deduction from page 26 ........................................................................• 44

45  2013 federal tax liability ($0–$6,250; see instructions for the correct amount) ....• 45

46  Other deductions and modifications. Identify: • 46x   • 46y  $   Schedule 46z   • 46

47  Deductions and modifications X Oregon percentage. See page 26 .....................• 47

4 8 Deductions and modifications not multiplied by the Oregon percentage. See page 29  • 48

49  Total deductions and other modifications. Add lines 47 and 48 ....................................................................• 49
50  Oregon taxable income. Line 40 minus line 49 ...............................................................................................• 50

51  Tax. See page 29 for instructions. Enter tax here ................................................• 51

  Check if tax is from:  51a     Tax charts or • 51b     Form FIA-40N or • 51c      Worksheet FCG

52  Interest on certain installment sales ......................................................................• 52
53  Total tax before credits. Add lines 51 and 52 ................................................................... OREGON TAX➛ • 53

54  Exemption credit. See instructions, page 30 ......................................................• 54

55  Credit for income taxes paid to another state. State: • 55y    Schedule 55z   • 55

56  Other credits. Identify: •  56x  • 56y   $   Schedule included  56z  • 56

57  Total non-refundable credits. Add lines 54 through 56 ..................................................................................• 57
58  Net income tax. Line 53 minus line 57. If line 57 is more than line 53, enter -0- ............................................•  58

59  Oregon income tax withheld from income. Include Forms W-2 and 1099 .........• 59

60  Estimated tax payments for 2013 and payments made with your extension .......• 60

  • 60a   Wolf depredation • 60b   Claim of right

61  Tax payments from pass-through entity and real estate transactions ..................• 61

62  Earned income credit. See instructions, page 32 .................................................• 62

63  Working family child care credit from WFC-N/P, line 21 ..................................• 63

 64  Mobile home park closure credit. Include Schedule MPC ....................................• 64

65  Total payments and refundable credits. Add lines 59 through 64 ..................................................................• 65

 66 Overpayment. Is line 58 less than line 65? If so, line 65 minus line 58  ................... OVERPAYMENT   ➛ •  66

67  Tax to pay. Is line 58 more than line 65? If so, line 58 minus line 65 ............................... TAX TO PAY➛ •  67

68  Penalty and interest for filing or paying late. See instructions, page 33 .................. 68

69  Interest on underpayment of estimated tax. Include Form 10 and check box  ...• 69

  Exception # from Form 10, line 1 •  69a   Check box if you annualized •  69b  

70  Total penalty and interest due. Add lines 68 and 69 ......................................................................................... 70

71  Amount you owe. Line 67 plus line 70 .................................................................AMOUNT YOU OWE➛ •  71

72  Refund. Is line 66 more than line 70? If so, line 66 minus line 70 ............................................ REFUND➛ •  72

73  Estimated tax. Fill in the part of line 72 you want applied to 2014 estimated tax • 73

  American Diabetes Assoc. • 74 Oregon Coast Aquarium • 75

  SMART • 76 SOLV • 77

  The Nature Conservancy • 78 St. Vincent DePaul Soc. of OR • 79

  Oregon Humane Society • 80 The Salvation Army • 81

  Doernbecher Children’s Hosp. • 82 Oregon Veteran’s Home • 83

  Charity code   • 84a  • 84b Charity code  • 85a   • 85b

86  Total Oregon 529 College Savings Plan deposits. See instructions, page 34 ......•  86

87  Total. Add lines 73 through 86. Total can’t be more than your refund on line 72 ..........................................• 87

88  NET REFUND. Line 72 minus line 87. This is your net refund .........................................NET REFUND➛ • 88

89  For direct deposit of your refund, see instructions, page 34. • Type of account:   Checking or   Savings

  Will this refund go to an account outside the United States? •   Yes
• Routing No. • Account No.

CHARITABLE 
CHECKOFF 
DONATIONS, 
PAGE 34
I want to donate 
part of my tax 
refund to the 
following fund(s)

Page 2 — 2013 Form 40N
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 8 Wages, salaries, and other pay for work. Include all Forms W-2 ........................ 8F •  8S

 9 Taxable interest income from federal Form 1040, line 8a ...................................... 9F •  9S

10  Dividend income from federal Form 1040, line 9a ................................................. 10F •10S

 11 State and local income tax refunds from federal Form 1040, line 10 .................... 11F •11S

12  Alimony received from federal Form 1040, line 11 ................................................ 12F •12S

13  Business income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 12 ..................................... 13F •13S

14  Capital gain or loss from federal Form 1040, line 13 ............................................. 14F •14S

15  Other gains or losses from federal Form 1040, line 14 .......................................... 15F •15S

16  IRA distributions from federal Form 1040, line 15b ............................................... 16F •16S

17  Pensions and annuities from federal Form 1040, line 16b ..................................... 17F •17S

18  Rents, royalties, partnerships, etc., from federal Form 1040, line 17 .................... 18F •18S

19  Farm income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 18 ........................................... 19F •19S

20  Unemployment and other income from federal Form 1040, lines 19 through 21 ... 20F •20S
21  Total income. Add lines 8 through 20 .................................................................• 21F •21S

22  IRA or SEP and SIMPLE contributions, federal Form 1040, lines 28 and 32 ......... 22F •22S

23  Education deductions from federal Form 1040, lines 23, 33, and 34 .................... 23F •23S

24  Moving expenses from federal Form 1040, line 26 ................................................ 24F •24S

25  Deduction for self-employment tax from federal Form 1040, line 27 .................... 25F •25S

26  Self-employed health insurance deduction from federal Form 1040, line 29 ........ 26F •26S

27  Alimony paid from federal Form 1040, line 31a ..................................................... 27F •27S

28  Other adjustments to income. Identify: • 28x  • 28y  $  Schedule 28z    • 28F •28S

29  Total adjustments to income. Add lines 22 through 28 ......................................• 29F •29S
30  Income after adjustments. Line 21 minus line 29 ...............................................• 30F •30S

31  Interest on state and local government bonds outside of Oregon .....................• 31F •31S

32  Federal election on interest and dividends of a minor child ...............................• 32F •32S

33  Other additions. Identify: • 33x  • 33y  $   Schedule included 33z  ......• 33F •33S

34  Total additions. Add lines 31 through 33 ............................................................• 34F •34S

35  Income after additions. Add lines 30 and 34 ......................................................• 35F •35S

36  Social Security and tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits included on line 20F ...• 36F

37  Other subtractions. Identify: • 37x  • 37y  $  Schedule included  37z   • 37F •37S

38  Income after subtractions. Line 35 minus lines 36 and 37 .................................• 38F •38S

39  Oregon percentage. Line 38S ÷ line 38F (not more than 100.0%) •39

Federal column (F)

ADDITIONS

INCOME

Include proof 
of withholding 
(W-2s, 1099s), 
payment, 
and 
payment 
voucher

AD JUST MENTS
TO INCOME

SUB TRAC TIONS

__ __ __.__%

Oregon column (S)

➤ Carry this ➤  
amount to line 40 

NOW GO TO THE BACK OF THE FORM ➛

Fiscal year endingOregon resident:
From To

mm dd yyyy mm dd yyyy

Last name First name and initial Social Security No. (SSN)

–            –

–            –

Telephone numberCurrent mailing address

City State ZIP code If you filed a return last year, and your 
name or address is different, check here

(              )

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

For office use only

Country

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

K    F    P    J

   Deceased

   Deceased

.00

.00

.00
.00
.00

FOR NONRESIDENTS

OREGON
Individual Income Tax Return

Amended Return   

150-101-048 (Rev. 12-13)

Spouse’s/RDP’s fi rst name and initial if joint returnSpouse’s/RDP’s last name if joint return Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN if joint return

•  1  Single
 2a  Married fi ling jointly
 2b  Registered domestic partners (RDP) fi ling jointly
 3a  Married fi ling separately:
   Spouse’s name _____________________________  Spouse’s SSN ___________________

 3b  Registered domestic partner fi ling separately:
   Partner’s name _____________________________  Partner’s SSN ___________________

 4  Head of household: Person who qualifi es you ________________________________

 5  Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child

Filing
Status
Check 
only 
one 
box

Exemptions

6a Yourself ...........Regular  ......Severely disabled  ....6a   

6b Spouse/RDP ...Regular  ......Severely disabled   ......b   

6c All de pen dents First names __________________________________• c

6d Disabled  First names __________________________________• d
 children only
 (see instructions)

Total

Total 6e•

••

7d    You filed 
Oregon 
Form 24

7c •    You have 
federal 
Form 8886

7b •   You 
filed an 
extension

Check all that apply ➛
7a  •  •
You were:   65 or older   Blind
Spouse/RDP was:   65 or older   Blind

2013Form

40N
H



DIRECT 
DE POS IT

Important: Include a copy of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040NR.

• Preparer license no.

Under penalty for false swearing, I declare that the information in this return is true, correct, and complete. 
Signature of preparer other than taxpayerYour signature Date

Address Telephone no.X
X

Spouse’s/RDP’s signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign) Date

X

These will
reduce

your refund

EITHER,
NOT BOTH

ADD TOGETHER

ADD TOGETHER

PAYMENTS AND 
REFUNDABLE 
CREDITS

ADD TOGETHER

DEDUCTIONS
AND 
MODIFICATIONS

OREGON
TAX

NONREFUNDABLE
CREDITS

Include Schedule 
WFC-N/P if you 
claim this credit

 40 Amount from front of form, line 38S (Oregon amount) ...................................................................................... 40 

 41 Itemized deductions from federal Schedule A, line 29 .........................................• 41

42  State income tax claimed as itemized deduction .................................................• 42

43  Net Oregon itemized deductions. Line 41 minus line 42 ......................................• 43

44  Standard deduction from page 26 ........................................................................• 44

45  2013 federal tax liability ($0–$6,250; see instructions for the correct amount) ....• 45

46  Other deductions and modifications. Identify: • 46x   • 46y  $   Schedule 46z   • 46

47  Deductions and modifications X Oregon percentage. See page 26 .....................• 47

4 8 Deductions and modifications not multiplied by the Oregon percentage. See page 29  • 48

49  Total deductions and other modifications. Add lines 47 and 48 ....................................................................• 49
50  Oregon taxable income. Line 40 minus line 49 ...............................................................................................• 50

51  Tax. See page 29 for instructions. Enter tax here ................................................• 51

  Check if tax is from:  51a     Tax charts or • 51b     Form FIA-40N or • 51c      Worksheet FCG

52  Interest on certain installment sales ......................................................................• 52
53  Total tax before credits. Add lines 51 and 52 ................................................................... OREGON TAX➛ • 53

54  Exemption credit. See instructions, page 30 ......................................................• 54

55  Credit for income taxes paid to another state. State: • 55y    Schedule 55z   • 55

56  Other credits. Identify: •  56x  • 56y   $   Schedule included  56z  • 56

57  Total non-refundable credits. Add lines 54 through 56 ..................................................................................• 57
58  Net income tax. Line 53 minus line 57. If line 57 is more than line 53, enter -0- ............................................•  58

59  Oregon income tax withheld from income. Include Forms W-2 and 1099 .........• 59

60  Estimated tax payments for 2013 and payments made with your extension .......• 60

  • 60a   Wolf depredation • 60b   Claim of right

61  Tax payments from pass-through entity and real estate transactions ..................• 61

62  Earned income credit. See instructions, page 32 .................................................• 62

63  Working family child care credit from WFC-N/P, line 21 ..................................• 63

 64  Mobile home park closure credit. Include Schedule MPC ....................................• 64

65  Total payments and refundable credits. Add lines 59 through 64 ..................................................................• 65

 66 Overpayment. Is line 58 less than line 65? If so, line 65 minus line 58  ................... OVERPAYMENT   ➛ •  66

67  Tax to pay. Is line 58 more than line 65? If so, line 58 minus line 65 ............................... TAX TO PAY➛ •  67

68  Penalty and interest for filing or paying late. See instructions, page 33 .................. 68

69  Interest on underpayment of estimated tax. Include Form 10 and check box  ...• 69

  Exception # from Form 10, line 1 •  69a   Check box if you annualized •  69b  

70  Total penalty and interest due. Add lines 68 and 69 ......................................................................................... 70

71  Amount you owe. Line 67 plus line 70 .................................................................AMOUNT YOU OWE➛ •  71

72  Refund. Is line 66 more than line 70? If so, line 66 minus line 70 ............................................ REFUND➛ •  72

73  Estimated tax. Fill in the part of line 72 you want applied to 2014 estimated tax • 73

  American Diabetes Assoc. • 74 Oregon Coast Aquarium • 75

  SMART • 76 SOLV • 77

  The Nature Conservancy • 78 St. Vincent DePaul Soc. of OR • 79

  Oregon Humane Society • 80 The Salvation Army • 81

  Doernbecher Children’s Hosp. • 82 Oregon Veteran’s Home • 83

  Charity code   • 84a  • 84b Charity code  • 85a   • 85b

86  Total Oregon 529 College Savings Plan deposits. See instructions, page 34 ......•  86

87  Total. Add lines 73 through 86. Total can’t be more than your refund on line 72 ..........................................• 87

88  NET REFUND. Line 72 minus line 87. This is your net refund .........................................NET REFUND➛ • 88

89  For direct deposit of your refund, see instructions, page 34. • Type of account:   Checking or   Savings

  Will this refund go to an account outside the United States? •   Yes
• Routing No. • Account No.

CHARITABLE 
CHECKOFF 
DONATIONS, 
PAGE 34
I want to donate 
part of my tax 
refund to the 
following fund(s)

Page 2 — 2013 Form 40N
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Visit our website at www.oregon.gov/dor. 13Line instructions

Keep the statement and cover sheet with your per-
manent records. Write your disabled child’s name on 
line 6d, “Disabled children only.” If the first names of 
your disabled children do not fit on the line, write the 
names on a statement instead. Number the statement 
and include it with your return. Write “STM” and the 
statement number on line 6d. Also be sure to include 
the same child’s name on line 6c for “All dependents.”

7a  Age 65 or older, or blind. Check the boxes on 
line 7a if you or your spouse/RDP were age 65 

or older or were blind on December 31, 2013. You’re 
entitled to a larger standard deduction on line 44.

If you or your spouse/RDP are permanently blind, you 
may also qualify for the severely disabled exemption 
credit. For box 6a and 6b instructions, see page 8.

7b  Extension. If you filed for an extension, check 
box 7b. For more information, see page 5.

7c  Federal Form 8886. Check box 7c if you filed 
federal Form 8886, Reportable Transaction Disclo-

sure Statement.

7d  Oregon Form 24. Did you file federal Form 8824 
because you’re deferring gain on exchanged 

property? If so, check the box on line 7d. Also, com-
plete and include Form 24, Oregon Like-Kind Exchanges/
Involuntary Conversions. Download the form from our 
website or contact us to order it.

Form 40N and 40P line instructions
The following instructions are for lines not fully 
explained on the forms.

Do not fill in cents. You must round off cents to the 
nearest whole dollar. For example, $99.49 becomes 
$99.00 and $99.50 becomes $100.00.

The forms have two columns for figures. These are to 
compare your total federal adjusted gross income (col-
umn F) to the portion of your federal adjusted gross 
income that Oregon taxes (column S).

Federal column (F) instructions, 
lines 8F–30F

The first column is labeled “Federal column (F).” For 
lines 8F–30F of the federal column, fill in the same 
amounts you reported on your federal return. If you 
have adjustments on your federal return that are not 
shown on lines 22–27, see page 16 for instructions on 
filling out lines 28F and 28S.

Line 30F, “Income after adjustments,” must match 
your 2013 federal adjusted gross income from federal 
Form 1040, line 37; Form 1040A, line 21; Form 1040EZ, 
line 4; Form 1040NR, line 36; or Form 1040NR-EZ, line 
10. If it does not match, check that you transferred the 
figures from your federal return correctly. If you need 
help, please contact us.

Oregon column (S) instructions,  
lines 8S–30S

The second column is labeled “Oregon column (S).” 
Use this column to list the amounts from the federal 
column that Oregon taxes.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes only your income from 
Oregon sources. To compute your Oregon source 
income, see “What does income from Oregon sources 
include?” on page 4.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from 
all sources earned or received while you were an 
Oregon resident. Oregon also taxes your income from 
Oregon sources while you were a nonresident. To 
compute your Oregon source income, see “What does 
income from Oregon sources include?” on page 4.

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from 
all sources. If you are a full-year resident filing joint 
on Form 40N or 40P, all of the income included in 
the federal column must be included in the Oregon 
column.

8S  Wages, salaries, and other pay for work. Part-
year residents—fill in amounts you earned 

while an Oregon resident and any amounts you earned 
working in Oregon while you were a nonresident.

Full-year residents—fill in all income included in the 
federal column.

Nonresidents—fill in the amount earned while work-
ing in Oregon. If that amount differs from the Oregon 
wages on your W-2 form, you must include with your 
return a signed statement from your employer verify-
ing the number of days worked in Oregon and the total 
number of days worked everywhere, and a statement 
explaining your calculations. If your Oregon wages are 
not stated separately on your W-2, compute your Ore-
gon source income using the following formula:

Days actually worked in Oregon
×

Total 
wages

(line 8F)
=

Oregon 
wages

(line 8S)Days actually worked everywhere

Do not include holidays, vacation days, and sick days 
as days actually worked. However, you must include 
sick pay, holiday pay, and vacation pay in total wages. 
See the example below. If Oregon is the only state you 
worked in, do not use this formula; all your earnings 
are taxable and should be reported in the Oregon col-
umn. If line 8S doesn’t match your W-2, include a state-
ment explaining your calculations.

Continued from page 8
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Example: Savannah lives in Idaho but works in Oregon. 
Of her 260 total days paid, she worked 138 days in Ore-
gon and 92 days from her home in Idaho. She received 
14 days vacation pay, eight days sick pay, and eight days 
holiday pay. She earned $50,000 in wages. She figured 
the amount subject to Oregon tax as follows:

	 Total days paid	 260
	 Less:	Vacation days	 (14	)
		  Sick days	 (8	)
		  Holidays	 (8	)
	 Total days worked everywhere	 230

Days actually worked in Oregon (138)
× $50,000 

(Total wages) = $30,000
Days actually worked everywhere (230)

Savannah’s compensation reported in the federal col-
umn, Form 40N, line 8F is $50,000 and in the Oregon 
column, Form 40N, line 8S is $30,000.

Exceptions:

•	If you’re a nonresident with interstate transportation 
wages, you may qualify for special treatment under 
the Amtrak Act. Visit our website for details.

•	Nonresidents who work on Bonneville, The Dalles, 
John Day, or McNary dam should exclude this 
income from the Oregon column. Write the name of 
the dam you work on at the top left corner of the 
return. Use blue or black ink.

•	Nonresidents who work as crew or pilots on a ves-
sel on the Columbia River or Snake River waterway 
should exclude this income from the Oregon col-
umn. Write “Waterway worker” at the top left cor-
ner of the return. Use blue or black ink.

•	Nonresidents who work as crew or pilots on aircraft 
in Oregon should exclude this income from the Ore-
gon column. Write “Air carrier” at the top left corner 
of your return in blue or black in.

•	Nonresident members of the U.S. Armed Forces sta-
tioned in Oregon should not enter their military pay 
in the Oregon column. Military pay of a nonresident 
is not Oregon source income. Do not report it in the 
Oregon column on line 8S. Write “Military nonresi-
dent” at the top left corner of the return. Use blue or 
black ink.

•	Nonresident military spouse’s wages are exempt 
from state tax if you are only in Oregon because 
your spouse is stationed here. File Form 40N if you 
had non-wage Oregon income or to claim a refund of 
Oregon tax withheld from wages. Write “For Oregon 
only—exempt military spouse” at the top left corner 
of the return.

	 If Oregon taxes were withheld from your exempt 
wages, you should file a new Form W-4 with your 
employer. Write “For Oregon only” at the top left 
corner of Form W-4 and write “Exempt” on line 7.

9S  Taxable interest income. Determine the amount 
of interest income you received from an Oregon 

business activity while you were a nonresident. Add 

any interest included on your federal return that you 
received during the part of the year you were an Ore-
gon resident.

10S  Dividend income. Determine the amount of divi-
dends received from an Oregon business activity 

source while you were a nonresident. This includes div-
idends passed through to you from an S corporation or 
partnership doing business in Oregon. These are divi-
dends your S corporation or partnership received on the 
stock of another corporation. Add any dividend income 
included on your federal return that you received dur-
ing the part of the year you were an Oregon resident.

11S  State and local income tax refunds. Enter the 
amount reported on your federal return that is:

•	A refund from Oregon or any other state or local-
ity for which you claimed a deduction on an Oregon 
return in a prior year, or

•	A refund received during the part of the year you 
were an Oregon resident.

12S  Alimony received. Fill in alimony you received for 
the part of the year you were an Oregon resident.

13S  Business income or loss. Determine the amount 
of income or loss from an Oregon business 

activity for the part of the year you were a nonresident. 
Add all business income or losses incurred during the 
part of the year you were a resident of Oregon. 

14S  Capital gain or loss. Determine the amount of 
gain or loss and capital gain distributions from 

Oregon sources for the part of the year you were a non-
resident. Add the amount of your capital gains received 
and losses incurred during the part of the year you 
were an Oregon resident. Limit losses to $3,000 ($1,500 
if married/RDP filing separately).

15S  Other gains or losses. Determine the amount of 
gain or loss from Oregon sources for the part of 

the year you were a nonresident. Add the gain received 
or loss incurred during the part of the year you were 
an Oregon resident.

16S  IRA distributions. Determine the amount of any 
taxable individual retirement arrangement (IRA) 

distributions you received while an Oregon resident. 
Include any amounts you converted from a regular IRA 
into a Roth IRA while you lived in Oregon. If you lived in 
another state when you made contributions to your IRA, 
you may need more information. If so, please contact us.

17S  Pensions and annuities. Enter the amount of 
taxable pensions and annuities (including fed-

eral pensions) you received while an Oregon resident. 
Do not include any Railroad Retirement Benefits (RRB-
1099-R). If you’re domiciled in Oregon, you must also 
include any Oregon source pensions you received. 
This is true even though you may qualify as a nonresi-
dent under the tests for special case Oregon residents 
or Oregon residents living abroad. See page 4.
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For example, if you lived in Oregon before you retired 
and have not changed your permanent home to 
another state, you must report the pension you earned 
while you worked in Oregon. If you get a federal pen-
sion, you may qualify for a subtraction on lines 37F and 
37S. See page 17. If you need help, please contact us.

18S  Rents, royalties, partnerships, limited liabil-
ity companies, real estate investment trusts 

(REITs), estates, trusts, etc., from federal Sched-
ule E. Determine the income you received and losses 
incurred from Oregon sources during the part of the 
year you were a nonresident. Add the amount received 
or incurred during the part of the year you were an 
Oregon resident. Partners and S corporation sharehold-
ers may need more information. If so, please contact us.

19S  Farm income or loss. Determine the amount 
of income received or loss incurred from an 

Oregon farm while you were a nonresident. Add the 
amount of farm income received or loss incurred dur-
ing the part of the year you were an Oregon resident.

20S  Unemployment compensation and all other tax-
able income. Determine the amount of unem-

ployment, lottery winnings, and any other taxable 
income from Oregon sources. Also include on line 20S 
any severance pay received because of an Oregon job, 
even if you qualify for the severance pay subtraction. 
You can subtract the qualified amount on line 37S. Also, 
any other taxable income you received during the part 
of the year you were a resident, and any other Oregon 
source income you received while you were a resident. 
Don’t include Social Security, Railroad Retirement 
Board benefits, or Railroad Retirement Board unem-
ployment benefits; Oregon doesn’t tax this income.

Include all payments received from the Oregon Lot-
tery in the Oregon column. Oregon Lottery includes 
Powerball and Mega Millions tickets you purchased in 
Oregon. To determine whether you can subtract some 
or all of this amount on lines 37F and 37S, see page 17.

Adjustments to income

22S  IRA or self-employed SEP and SIMPLE contri-
butions. Oregon follows the federal definition 

of earned income and compensation used to calculate 
your IRA and other retirement plan deductions. Deter-
mine the amount you paid during the part of the year 
you were an Oregon resident. Add the amount calcu-
lated for the time you were a nonresident.

•	 IRA. Use the following formula to determine 
your deduction for the part of the year you were a 
nonresident:

Oregon earned income  
while a nonresident

×

IRA 
contributions 
made while a 
nonresident

= Nonresident 
deductionTotal earned income 

while a nonresident

	 This deduction cannot be more than the amount of 
earned income included in the Oregon column.

•	Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans. 
Use the following formula to determine your allow-
able deduction for the part of the year you were a 
nonresident:

Oregon compensation 
while a nonresident

×
Contributions 
made while a 
nonresident

= Nonresident 
deductionTotal compensation 

while a nonresident

	 This deduction cannot be more than the amount of 
compensation included in the Oregon column.

23S  Education deductions. The following instruc-
tions will help you figure the amount you can 

claim on your Oregon return.

•	Educator expenses deduction from federal Form 
1040, line 23; or Form 1040A, line 16. For the part 
of the year you were a nonresident, determine the 
amount of qualified educator expenses you paid 
while working in an Oregon elementary or second-
ary school. Add the qualified educator expenses 
you paid during the part of the year you were an 
Oregon resident. Enter the smaller of the result or 
the amount deducted on your federal return, but no 
more than $250 (no more than $500 if you and your 
spouse/RDP are filing jointly and both of you were 
eligible educators).

•	Student loan interest deduction from federal Form 
1040, line 33; or Form 1040A, line 18.

	 Use the following formula to calculate your deduc-
tion for the part of the year you were a nonresident:

Oregon source income 
while a nonresident

×

Student loan 
interest paid 

while a 
nonresident

=
Nonresident 

deductionTotal income from all 
sources while a nonresident

	 Add all interest paid during the part of the year 
you were an Oregon resident. Enter the result or the 
amount of federal student loan interest from your 
federal return, whichever is less.

•	Tuition and fees deduction from federal Form 1040, 
line 34; or Form 1040A, line 19.

	 Use the following formula to calculate your deduc-
tion for the part of the year you were a nonresident:

Oregon source income 
while a nonresident

×

Qualified 
tuition and 

fees paid 
while a 

nonresident

=
Nonresident 

deductionTotal income from all 
sources while a nonresident

	 Add all qualified education expenses you paid dur-
ing the part of the year you were an Oregon resident. 
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Enter the result or the amount of tuition and fees 
deduction from your federal return, whichever is less.

	 Note: If you were not allowed a federal tuition and 
fees deduction because you claimed the federal 
credit, do not claim a deduction on line 23. You may 
be entitled to a subtraction on line 37. See page 25.

	 Add the Oregon amounts for your educator expens-
es deduction, student loan interest deduction, and 
tuition and fees deduction. Enter the total on line 23S.

24S  Moving expenses. Fill in moving expenses only 
if:

•	You qualified to take them on your federal return, and
•	They are connected with gaining employment in 

Oregon, or 
•	You paid the qualified moving expenses after mov-

ing to Oregon to take a job in another state.

Example 1: Sofia moved from California to Washing-
ton to take a job in Oregon. She may claim her federal 
moving expenses in both the federal and the Oregon 
columns.

Example 2: David left Oregon to take a job in another 
state. He cannot claim any of his moving expenses in 
the Oregon column. He may only claim them in the 
federal column.

Example 3: Camille moved from Michigan to Oregon 
in May 2013, to begin work in Washington. She paid 
her moving expenses in June 2013. While the expenses 
are not related to Oregon employment, Camille can 
claim them in both columns because they were paid 
after she became an Oregon resident.

25S  Deduction for self-employment tax. Use the fol-
lowing formula to determine the amount of your 

self-employment tax on earnings taxed by Oregon:

Self-employment earnings 
taxed by Oregon

×

Federal  
deduction for  

self-employment  
tax

= Oregon 
deductionTotal taxable 

self‑employment earnings

The Oregon deduction cannot be more than the federal 
deduction.

26S  Self-employed health insurance deduction. 
Oregon allows a deduction of 100 percent of your 

health insurance premiums related to your self-employ-
ment for the part of the year you were an Oregon resi-
dent. Add the health insurance premiums paid by your 
Oregon business while a nonresident. Your total Oregon 
deduction cannot be more than your federal deduction.

27S  Alimony paid. Determine if the alimony you 
paid to your former spouse or RDP is deductible 

for federal purposes. If so, use the following formula 
to calculate your Oregon deduction for the part of the 
year you were a nonresident:

Oregon source income 
while a nonresident

×
Alimony 

paid while a 
nonresident

= Nonresident 
deductionTotal income 

while a nonresident

Add to that amount the alimony you paid while you 
were a resident.

28F/S  Other adjustments to income. On line 28F (fed-
eral column), include any of the other adjust-

ments that you claimed on your federal return. On 
line 28S (Oregon column), enter the amount of other 
adjustments you’re entitled to claim for Oregon. Please 
identify the other adjustment(s) using the numeric code 
shown. If you have only one “Other adjustment,” enter 
the numeric code on line 28x and the amount on lines 
28y and 28F. For example, if you’re claiming a $500 health 
savings account deduction on your federal return, enter 
“003” on line 28x and “$500” on lines 28y and 28F. If 
you’re claiming more than one “Other adjustment,” do 
not enter a code or amount on line 28x or 28y. Instead, 
check box 28z and include Schedule OR-ASC-N/P with 
your return with the numeric codes and amounts for 
the federal column of the adjustments. Enter the total 
from Schedule OR-ASC-N/P on line 28F. Determine the 
amount for Oregon and enter it on line 28S.

“Other adjustments” claimed on federal return:
•	Certain business expenses of reservists, performing 

artists, and fee-basis government officials from fed-
eral Form 1040, line 24 [code 002].

•	Domestic production activities deduction from fed-
eral Form 1040, line 35 [code 006].

	 Note: If you claimed a domestic production activi-
ties deduction on your federal return, you will have 
an addition on your Oregon return. Oregon does not 
allow this deduction. See “Other additions” instruc-
tions on the next page.

•	Health savings account deduction from federal Form 
1040, line 25 [code 003].

•	Penalty on early withdrawal of savings from federal 
Form 1040, line 30 [code 004].

•	Any other adjustment to income reported on federal 
Form 1040, line 36 [code 005].

Additions
Generally, additions are items not taxed by the federal 
government, but taxed by Oregon. Additions increase 
the income taxed by Oregon.

31F/S  Interest and dividends on state and local gov-
ernment bonds outside Oregon.

Federal column. If you didn’t include this income in 
your federal income, fill in the amount of interest and 
dividends you received from state and local govern-
ments outside Oregon.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any 
amount. Part-year residents—if you didn’t include 
this income on line 9S or 10S, fill in the amount of 
interest and dividends you received from state and 
local governments outside Oregon while you were an 
Oregon resident.
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32F/S  Federal election on interest and dividends of 
a minor child. Did you report interest or divi-

dends of your minor child on your federal return? If 
so, you must add to Oregon income the amount subject 
to the special federal tax.

Federal column. Fill in the smaller of line 13 or 14 from 
federal Form 8814. Add to that any interest or divi-
dends your child received from state and local govern-
ments outside Oregon.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any 
amount. Part-year residents—fill in interest and divi-
dends received while the minor child was an Oregon 
resident. Include interest and dividends your child 
received while an Oregon resident from state and local 
governments other than Oregon.

33F/S  Other additions. You may need to report one or 
more other additions listed here. Please iden-

tify the addition using the numeric code shown. If you 
have only one “Other addition,” enter the numeric code 
on line 33x and the amount for the federal column on 
lines 33y and 33F. For example, if you’re reporting a 
$1,000 addition for a passive activity loss, enter “101” 
on line 33x and “$1,000” on lines 33y and 33F.

If you’re claiming more than one “Other addition,” do 
not enter a code or amount on line 33x or 33y. Instead, 
check box 33z and include Schedule OR-ASC-N/P with 
your return with the numeric codes and amounts for 
the federal column of the additions. Enter the total 
from Schedule OR-ASC-N/P on line 33F. Determine 
the amount for Oregon and enter it on line 33S. For 
more information, go to our website or contact us.

•	The following additions apply to only a few people 
and are not explained in this booklet. Make the addi-
tions in both the federal and Oregon columns as 
appropriate. For more information, please contact us.

—	529 Oregon College Savings Network Plan non-
qualified withdrawal [code 117].

—	Basis adjustments [code 101].
• Basis of business assets transferred to Oregon.
• Depletion in excess of property basis.
•	Depreciation difference for Oregon.
•	Federal depreciation disconnect.
•	Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property 

with different basis for Oregon.
•	Passive activity losses.
•	Suspended losses.

— Business credit, unused [code 122].
— Claim of right income repayments [code 103].
—	Disposition of inherited Oregon farmland or for-

estland [code 106].
—	Domestic production activities deduction [code 102].
— Fiduciary adjustments [code 100].

•	Accumulation distribution from a trust.
•	Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and 

trusts.
— Individual Development Account [code 113].

— Net operating loss, non-Oregon source [code 116].
—	Oregon deferral of reinvested capital gain [code 

118].
—	Partnership and S corporation modifications for 

Oregon [code 119].
—	Prescription drug plan subsidies [code 123].
— Specially taxed income under federal law [code 

115].
•	Lump-sum distributions from a qualified 

retirement plan.
•	Passive foreign investment income.

Subtractions
Generally, subtractions are items the federal govern-
ment taxes but Oregon does not. Subtractions reduce 
the income taxed by Oregon.

36F  Social Security and tier 1 Railroad Retirement 
Board benefits. Subtract Social Security and 

tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits only if you 
included them in the federal column on line 20F.

37F/S  Other subtractions. You may qualify for one or 
more other subtractions explained in this sec-

tion. Please identify the subtraction using the numeric 
code shown. If you have only one “Other subtraction,” 
enter the numeric code on line 37x and the amount for 
the federal column on lines 37y and 37F. For example, 
if you’re claiming a $2,000 military active duty pay 
subtraction, enter “319” on line 37x and “$2,000” on 
lines 37y and 37F.

If you’re claiming more than one “Other subtrac-
tion,” do not enter a code or amount on line 37x or 37y. 
Instead, check box 37z and include Schedule OR-ASC-
N/P with your return with the numeric codes and 
amounts for the federal column of the subtractions. 
Enter the total from Schedule OR-ASC-N/P on line 
37F. Determine the amount for Oregon and enter it on 
line 37S. For more information, go to our website or 
contact us.

•	Special Oregon medical subtraction [code 351]. If 
you or your spouse/RDP were age 62 or older on 
December 31, 2013 and have qualifying medical and/
or dental expenses, you may qualify for the special 
Oregon medical subtraction. See the 2013 IRS Publi-
cation 502 for types of qualifying medical and dental 
expenses. You cannot subtract medical and dental 
expenses:

—	For anyone under age 62;
—	For dependents, regardless of their age; or
—That have already been deducted on your return.

	 You may not claim a subtraction if your federal 
adjusted gross income is $200,000 or more ($100,000 
or more for those who file as single or married/RDP 
filing separately). Use the worksheet below to deter-
mine the amount of your subtraction.
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	 Shared expenses. Did you have medical expenses 
and/or dental expenses for more than one person? 
If so, you must determine which expenses belong to 
each qualifying taxpayer. Start by totaling all expens-
es for each qualifying taxpayer. If you have expenses 
that are for more than one person, such as insurance 
premiums, split the expense by the most reasonable 
method. For example, two qualifying taxpayers filing 
jointly that paid $4,000 in insurance premiums dur-
ing the year would split the expenses in half, or $2,000 
each. For more information on how to split shared 
expenses, see the 2013 Publication 17½ at www.ore-
gon.gov/dor/personal.

	 Special Oregon medical subtraction worksheet 
instructions

	 Line 1: Medical and dental expenses for each taxpay-
er—Enter the expenses attributable to each taxpayer. 
See “Shared expenses” above for information about 
splitting expenses, such as insurance premiums.

	 Line 1, column (A): If you were age 62 or older on 
December 31, 2013, enter your total qualifying medi-
cal and dental expenses. If your medical expenses 
were not included in your itemized deductions 
(Schedule A, line 1) or you didn’t itemize your deduc-
tions, skip lines 2–4, enter the amount from line 1 on 
line 5, and go to line 6. If you don’t have qualifying 
expenses or were not age 62 or older on December 31, 
2013—STOP—do not complete column (A). You do 
not qualify for the subtraction.

	 Line 1, column (B): If your spouse/RDP was age 62 or 
older on December 31, 2013 and you’re filing jointly, 
enter your spouse’s/RDP’s total qualifying medical 
and dental expenses. If your spouse’s/RDP’s medical 
expenses were not included in your itemized deduc-
tions (Schedule A, line 1) or you didn’t itemize your 
deductions, skip lines 2–4, enter the amount from 
line 1 on line 5, and go to line 6. If your spouse/RDP 
does not have qualifying expenses or was not age 62 
or older on December 31, 2013—STOP—do not com-
plete column (B). Your spouse/RDP does not qualify 
for the subtraction.

	 Line 2, columns (A) & (B): Total medical and den-
tal expenses—Enter the total medical and dental 
expenses you claimed as an itemized deduction 
(Schedule A, line 1). If your spouse/RDP meets the 
age requirement and has qualifying expenses, enter 
this amount on line 2, column (B).

	 Line 3, columns (A) & (B): Divide line 1 by line 2 for 
column (A) if you qualify and/or column (B) if your 
spouse/RDP qualifies and round to three decimal 
places. For example: 0.7308 is rounded to 0.731

	 Line 4, columns (A) & (B): Enter the lesser of the 
medical and dental expenses claimed on line 1 of 
your Schedule A or the amount claimed on line 3 
of your Schedule A. If your spouse/RDP qualifies, 
enter the same amount in column (B). 

	 Line 5, columns (A) & (B): Multiply line 3 and line 
4 for each column and round to whole dollars. For 
example: $101.49 is rounded to $101.

	 Line 6, columns (A) & (B): Enter the maximum 
allowable medical subtraction for your filing status 
and federal adjusted gross income from the table 
below. Do not enter more than $1,800. If your spouse/
RDP qualifies, enter the same amount in column (B). 

	 Line 7, columns (A) & (B): Enter the lesser of line 5 
or line 6 for each column.

	 Line 8: Add the amounts from line 7 column (A) and 
column (B). This is your special Oregon medical subtrac-
tion. Enter this amount as an “other subtraction” on line 
37 of your Form 40P or 40N using subtraction code 351.

	 Special Oregon medical subtraction worksheet
Column (A)

You
Column (B)
Spouse/RDP

1. Medical and 
dental expenses 
for each qualifying 
taxpayer.	

1. 1.

2. Total medical and dental 
expenses (Schedule A, 
line 1).

2. 2.

3. Divide line 1 by line 2  
and round to three 
decimal places.

3. 3.

4. Enter the lesser of the 
expenses claimed on line 
1 of your Schedule A, or 
the amount claimed on 
line 3 of your Schedule A.

4. 4.

5. Multiply line 3 by line 
4 and round to whole 
dollars.

5. 5.

6. Maximum allowable 
medical subtraction from 
the table below ($1,800 
maximum).

6. 6.

7. Enter the lesser of line 5 
or line 6.

7. 7.

8. Add line 7, columns 
(A) and (B), and enter 
the total. This is your 
special Oregon medical 
subtraction.

8.

If your filing  
status is:

And your federal adjusted 
gross income on line 30F 
of Form 40P or 40N is:

Then your  
maximum 
allowable 

medical 
subtraction 
per taxpayer 

meeting the age 
requirement is:at least—

but less 
than—

Married/RDP filing 
jointly, or Head 
of household, or 
Qualifying widow(er)

-0- $50,000 $1,800
$50,000 $100,000 $1,400

$100,000 $200,000 $1,000
$200,000 or more -0-

Single or Married/RDP  
filing separately

-0- $25,000 $1,800
$25,000 $50,000 $1,400
$50,000 $100,000 $1,000

$100,000 or more -0-

Continued on page 23



 8 Wages, salaries, and other pay for work. Include all Forms W-2 ........................  8F •  8S

 9 Taxable interest income from federal Form 1040, line 8a ......................................  9F •  9S

 10 Dividend income from federal Form 1040, line 9a .................................................  10F •10S

11  State and local income tax refunds from federal Form 1040, line 10 ....................  11F •11S

12  Alimony received from federal Form 1040, line 11 ................................................  12F •12S

13  Business income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 12 .....................................  13F •13S

14  Capital gain or loss from federal Form 1040, line 13 .............................................  14F •14S

15  Other gains or losses from federal Form 1040, line 14 ..........................................  15F •15S

16  IRA distributions from federal Form 1040, line 15b ...............................................  16F •16S

17  Pensions and annuities from federal Form 1040, line 16b .....................................  17F •17S

18  Rents, royalties, partnerships, etc., from federal Form 1040, line 17 ....................  18F •18S

19  Farm income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 18 ...........................................  19F •19S

20  Unemployment and other income from federal Form 1040, lines 19 through 21 ...  20F •20S
21  Total income. Add lines 8 through 20 ................................................................. • 21F •21S

22  IRA or SEP and SIMPLE contributions, federal Form 1040, lines 28 and 32 .........  22F •22S

23  Education deductions from federal Form 1040, lines 23, 33, and 34 ....................  23F •23S

24  Moving expenses from federal Form 1040, line 26 ................................................  24F •24S

25  Deduction for self-employment tax from federal Form 1040, line 27 ....................  25F •25S

26  Self-employed health insurance deduction from federal Form 1040, line 29 ........  26F •26S

27  Alimony paid from federal Form 1040, line 31a .....................................................  27F •27S

28  Other adjustments to income. Identify: • 28x  • 28y  $  Schedule 28z    • 28F •28S

 29 Total adjustments to income. Add lines 22 through 28 ...................................... • 29F •29S
30  Income after adjustments. Line 21 minus line 29 ............................................... • 30F •30S

31  Interest on state and local government bonds outside of Oregon ..................... • 31F •31S

32  Federal election on interest and dividends of a minor child ............................... • 32F •32S

33  Other additions. Identify: • 33x  • 33y  $   Schedule included 33z  ......• 33F •33S

34  Total additions. Add lines 31 through 33 ............................................................ • 34F •34S

35  Income after additions. Add lines 30 and 34 ...................................................... • 35F •35S

36  Social Security and tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits included on line 20F .. • 36F

37  Other subtractions. Identify: • 37x  • 37y  $  Schedule included  37z   • 37F •37S

38  Income after subtractions. Line 35 minus lines 36 and 37 ................................. • 38F •38S

39  Oregon percentage. Line 38S ÷ line 38F (not more than 100.0%) •39 
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AD JUST MENTS
TO INCOME

SUB TRAC TIONS

➤ Carry this ➤  
amount to line 40 

Include 
proof of 
withholding 
(W-2s, 
1099s),
payment, 
and payment 
voucher

NOW GO TO THE BACK OF THE FORM ➛

__ __ __.__%
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For office use only

Last name First name and initial Social Security No. (SSN)

–            –

–            –

Telephone numberCurrent mailing address

City State ZIP code If you filed a return last year, and your 
name or address is different, check here

(               )

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Country

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Fiscal year endingOregon resident:
From To

mm dd yyyy mm dd yyyy
K    F    P    J

   Deceased

   Deceased
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.00

.00

.00
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.00

.00
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.00
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.00
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.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

Spouse’s/RDP’s fi rst name and initial if joint returnSpouse’s/RDP’s last name if joint return Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN if joint return

Exemptions

6a Yourself ...........Regular  ......Severely disabled  ....6a   

6b Spouse/RDP ...Regular  ......Severely disabled   ......b   

6c All de pen dents First names __________________________________• c

6d Disabled  First names __________________________________• d
 children only
 (see instructions)

Total

Total 6e•

••
•

FOR PART-YEAR RESIDENTS

OREGON
Individual Income Tax Return

  Amended Return 

 1  Single
 2a  Married fi ling jointly
 2b  Registered domestic partners (RDP) fi ling jointly
 3a  Married fi ling separately:
   Spouse’s name _____________________________  Spouse’s SSN ___________________

 3b  Registered domestic partner fi ling separately:
   Partner’s name _____________________________  Partner’s SSN ___________________

 4  Head of household: Person who qualifi es you ________________________________

 5  Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child

Filing
Status
Check 
only 
one 
box

7d    You filed 
Oregon 
Form 24

7c •    You have 
federal 
Form 8886

7b •   You 
filed an 
extension

Check all that apply ➛
7a  •  •
You were:   65 or older   Blind
Spouse/RDP was:   65 or older   Blind

2013Form

40P
H



40  Amount from front of form, line 38F (federal amount) .......................................................................................  40

41  Item ized deductions from federal Schedule A, line 29 .........................................• 41

42  State income tax claimed as itemized deduction .................................................• 42

 43 Net Oregon itemized deductions. Line 41 minus line 42 ......................................• 43

44  Standard deduction from page 26 ........................................................................• 44

45  2013 federal tax liability ($0–$6,250; see instructions for the correct amount) ....• 45

46  Other deductions and modifications. Identify: • 46x   • 46y  $   Schedule 46z   • 46

47  Add lines 43, 45, and 46 if itemizing. Otherwise, add lines 44, 45, and 46 ...................................................  • 47
48  Taxable income. Line 40 minus line 47 ..........................................................................................................  • 48

49  Tax from tax charts. 49a    See instructions, page 29 ......• 49

50  Oregon income tax. Line 49 X Oregon percentage from line 39, or .................• 50

  Check if tax is from: • 50a     Form FIA-40P or • 50b     Worksheet FCG

51  Interest on certain installment sales ......................................................................• 51
52  Total tax before credits. Add lines 50 and 51 ................................................................... OREGON TAX➛ • 52

53  Exemption credit. See instructions, page 30 ......................................................• 53

54  Child and dependent care credit. See instructions, page 30................................• 54

55  Credit for income taxes paid to another state. State: • 55y    Schedule 55z   • 55

56  Other credits. Identify: •  56x  • 56y   $   Schedule included  56z  • 56

57  Total non-refundable credits. Add lines 53 through 56 ..................................................................................• 57

58  Net income tax. Line 52 minus line 57. If line 57 is more than line 52, enter -0-  ..........................................  •  58

59  Oregon income tax withheld from income. Include Forms W-2 and 1099  ........• 59

60  Estimated tax payments for 2013 and payments made with your extension  ......• 60

  • 60a   Wolf depredation • 60b   Claim of right

61  Tax payments from pass-through entity and real estate transactions ..................• 61

62  Earned income credit. See instructions, page 32 .................................................• 62

63  Working family child care credit from WFC-N/P, line 21 ..................................• 63

64  Mobile home park closure credit. Include Schedule MPC ....................................• 64

65  Total payments and refundable credits. Add lines 59 through 64 ..................................................................• 65

66  Overpayment. Is line 58 less than line 65? If so, line 65 minus line 58 ....................... OVERPAYMENT➛• 66

67  Tax to pay. Is line 58 more than line 65? If so, line 58 minus line 65 ................................TAX TO PAY➛ •  67

68  Penalty and interest for filing or paying late. See instructions, page 33 .................. 68

69  Interest on underpayment of estimated tax. Include Form 10 and check box  ...• 69

  Exception # from Form 10, line 1 •  69a   Check box if you annualized •  69b  

70  Total penalty and interest due. Add lines 68 and 69 ......................................................................................... 70

71  Amount you owe. Line 67 plus line 70 ................................................................ AMOUNT YOU OWE➛ •  71

72  Refund. Is line 66 more than line 70? If so, line 66 minus line 70 ............................................ REFUND➛ • 72

73  Estimated tax. Fill in the part of line 72 you want applied to 2014 estimated tax • 73

  American Diabetes Assoc. • 74 Oregon Coast Aquarium • 75

  SMART • 76 SOLV • 77

  The Nature Conservancy • 78 St. Vincent DePaul Soc. of OR • 79

  Oregon Humane Society • 80 The Salvation Army • 81

  Doernbecher Children’s Hosp. • 82 Oregon Veteran’s Home • 83

  Charity code   • 84a  • 84b Charity code  • 85a   • 85b

86  Total Oregon 529 College Savings Plan deposits. See instructions, page 34 ......•  86

87  Total. Add lines 73 through 86. Total can’t be more than your refund on line 72 ..........................................• 87

88  NET REFUND. Line 72 minus line 87. This is your net refund .........................................NET REFUND➛ •  88

89  For direct deposit of your refund, see instructions, page 34. • Type of account:   Checking or   Savings

  Will this refund go to an account outside the United States? •   Yes

EITHER,
NOT BOTH

DEDUCTIONS
AND 
MODIFICATIONS

OREGON
TAX

PAYMENTS AND 
REFUNDABLE 
CREDITS

Include Schedule 
WFC-N/P if you 

claim this credit

These will
reduce

your refund

ADD TOGETHER

• Preparer license no.Signature of preparer other than taxpayerYour signature Date

Address Telephone no.X
X

Spouse’s/RDP's signature (if fi ling jointly, BOTH must sign) Date

Important: Include a copy of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040NR.

X

Under penalty for false swearing, I declare that the information in this return is true, correct, and complete. 

DIRECT 
DE POS IT

NONREFUNDABLE 
CREDITS

ADD TOGETHER

ADD TOGETHER

• Routing No. • Account No.

Page 2 — 2013 Form 40P

CHARITABLE 
CHECKOFF 
DONATIONS, 
PAGE 34
I want to donate 
part of my tax 
refund to the 
following fund(s)

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00
.00

.00

.00

.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00
.00
.00
.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00

.00
.00

.00

150-101-055 (Rev. 12-13)



 8 Wages, salaries, and other pay for work. Include all Forms W-2 ........................  8F •  8S

 9 Taxable interest income from federal Form 1040, line 8a ......................................  9F •  9S

 10 Dividend income from federal Form 1040, line 9a .................................................  10F •10S

11  State and local income tax refunds from federal Form 1040, line 10 ....................  11F •11S

12  Alimony received from federal Form 1040, line 11 ................................................  12F •12S

13  Business income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 12 .....................................  13F •13S

14  Capital gain or loss from federal Form 1040, line 13 .............................................  14F •14S

15  Other gains or losses from federal Form 1040, line 14 ..........................................  15F •15S

16  IRA distributions from federal Form 1040, line 15b ...............................................  16F •16S

17  Pensions and annuities from federal Form 1040, line 16b .....................................  17F •17S

18  Rents, royalties, partnerships, etc., from federal Form 1040, line 17 ....................  18F •18S

19  Farm income or loss from federal Form 1040, line 18 ...........................................  19F •19S

20  Unemployment and other income from federal Form 1040, lines 19 through 21 ...  20F •20S
21  Total income. Add lines 8 through 20 ................................................................. • 21F •21S

22  IRA or SEP and SIMPLE contributions, federal Form 1040, lines 28 and 32 .........  22F •22S

23  Education deductions from federal Form 1040, lines 23, 33, and 34 ....................  23F •23S

24  Moving expenses from federal Form 1040, line 26 ................................................  24F •24S

25  Deduction for self-employment tax from federal Form 1040, line 27 ....................  25F •25S

26  Self-employed health insurance deduction from federal Form 1040, line 29 ........  26F •26S

27  Alimony paid from federal Form 1040, line 31a .....................................................  27F •27S

28  Other adjustments to income. Identify: • 28x  • 28y  $  Schedule 28z    • 28F •28S

 29 Total adjustments to income. Add lines 22 through 28 ...................................... • 29F •29S
30  Income after adjustments. Line 21 minus line 29 ............................................... • 30F •30S

31  Interest on state and local government bonds outside of Oregon ..................... • 31F •31S

32  Federal election on interest and dividends of a minor child ............................... • 32F •32S

33  Other additions. Identify: • 33x  • 33y  $   Schedule included 33z  ......• 33F •33S

34  Total additions. Add lines 31 through 33 ............................................................ • 34F •34S

35  Income after additions. Add lines 30 and 34 ...................................................... • 35F •35S

36  Social Security and tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits included on line 20F .. • 36F

37  Other subtractions. Identify: • 37x  • 37y  $  Schedule included  37z   • 37F •37S

38  Income after subtractions. Line 35 minus lines 36 and 37 ................................. • 38F •38S

39  Oregon percentage. Line 38S ÷ line 38F (not more than 100.0%) •39 

ADDITIONS

Federal column (F) Oregon column (S)

INCOME

AD JUST MENTS
TO INCOME

SUB TRAC TIONS

➤ Carry this ➤  
amount to line 40 

Include 
proof of 
withholding 
(W-2s, 
1099s),
payment, 
and payment 
voucher

NOW GO TO THE BACK OF THE FORM ➛

__ __ __.__%

150-101-055 (Rev. 12-13)

For office use only

Last name First name and initial Social Security No. (SSN)

–            –

–            –

Telephone numberCurrent mailing address

City State ZIP code If you filed a return last year, and your 
name or address is different, check here

(               )

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Country

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Fiscal year endingOregon resident:
From To

mm dd yyyy mm dd yyyy
K    F    P    J

   Deceased

   Deceased
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Spouse’s/RDP’s fi rst name and initial if joint returnSpouse’s/RDP’s last name if joint return Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN if joint return

Exemptions

6a Yourself ...........Regular  ......Severely disabled  ....6a   

6b Spouse/RDP ...Regular  ......Severely disabled   ......b   

6c All de pen dents First names __________________________________• c

6d Disabled  First names __________________________________• d
 children only
 (see instructions)

Total

Total 6e•

••
•

FOR PART-YEAR RESIDENTS

OREGON
Individual Income Tax Return

  Amended Return 

 1  Single
 2a  Married fi ling jointly
 2b  Registered domestic partners (RDP) fi ling jointly
 3a  Married fi ling separately:
   Spouse’s name _____________________________  Spouse’s SSN ___________________

 3b  Registered domestic partner fi ling separately:
   Partner’s name _____________________________  Partner’s SSN ___________________

 4  Head of household: Person who qualifi es you ________________________________

 5  Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child

Filing
Status
Check 
only 
one 
box

7d    You filed 
Oregon 
Form 24

7c •    You have 
federal 
Form 8886

7b •   You 
filed an 
extension

Check all that apply ➛
7a  •  •
You were:   65 or older   Blind
Spouse/RDP was:   65 or older   Blind

2013Form

40P
H



40  Amount from front of form, line 38F (federal amount) .......................................................................................  40

41  Item ized deductions from federal Schedule A, line 29 .........................................• 41

42  State income tax claimed as itemized deduction .................................................• 42

 43 Net Oregon itemized deductions. Line 41 minus line 42 ......................................• 43

44  Standard deduction from page 26 ........................................................................• 44

45  2013 federal tax liability ($0–$6,250; see instructions for the correct amount) ....• 45

46  Other deductions and modifications. Identify: • 46x   • 46y  $   Schedule 46z   • 46

47  Add lines 43, 45, and 46 if itemizing. Otherwise, add lines 44, 45, and 46 ...................................................  • 47
48  Taxable income. Line 40 minus line 47 ..........................................................................................................  • 48

49  Tax from tax charts. 49a    See instructions, page 29 ......• 49

50  Oregon income tax. Line 49 X Oregon percentage from line 39, or .................• 50

  Check if tax is from: • 50a     Form FIA-40P or • 50b     Worksheet FCG

51  Interest on certain installment sales ......................................................................• 51
52  Total tax before credits. Add lines 50 and 51 ................................................................... OREGON TAX➛ • 52

53  Exemption credit. See instructions, page 30 ......................................................• 53

54  Child and dependent care credit. See instructions, page 30................................• 54

55  Credit for income taxes paid to another state. State: • 55y    Schedule 55z   • 55

56  Other credits. Identify: •  56x  • 56y   $   Schedule included  56z  • 56

57  Total non-refundable credits. Add lines 53 through 56 ..................................................................................• 57

58  Net income tax. Line 52 minus line 57. If line 57 is more than line 52, enter -0-  ..........................................  •  58

59  Oregon income tax withheld from income. Include Forms W-2 and 1099  ........• 59

60  Estimated tax payments for 2013 and payments made with your extension  ......• 60

  • 60a   Wolf depredation • 60b   Claim of right

61  Tax payments from pass-through entity and real estate transactions ..................• 61

62  Earned income credit. See instructions, page 32 .................................................• 62

63  Working family child care credit from WFC-N/P, line 21 ..................................• 63

64  Mobile home park closure credit. Include Schedule MPC ....................................• 64

65  Total payments and refundable credits. Add lines 59 through 64 ..................................................................• 65

66  Overpayment. Is line 58 less than line 65? If so, line 65 minus line 58 ....................... OVERPAYMENT➛• 66

67  Tax to pay. Is line 58 more than line 65? If so, line 58 minus line 65 ................................TAX TO PAY➛ •  67

68  Penalty and interest for filing or paying late. See instructions, page 33 .................. 68

69  Interest on underpayment of estimated tax. Include Form 10 and check box  ...• 69

  Exception # from Form 10, line 1 •  69a   Check box if you annualized •  69b  

70  Total penalty and interest due. Add lines 68 and 69 ......................................................................................... 70

71  Amount you owe. Line 67 plus line 70 ................................................................ AMOUNT YOU OWE➛ •  71

72  Refund. Is line 66 more than line 70? If so, line 66 minus line 70 ............................................ REFUND➛ • 72

73  Estimated tax. Fill in the part of line 72 you want applied to 2014 estimated tax • 73

  American Diabetes Assoc. • 74 Oregon Coast Aquarium • 75

  SMART • 76 SOLV • 77

  The Nature Conservancy • 78 St. Vincent DePaul Soc. of OR • 79

  Oregon Humane Society • 80 The Salvation Army • 81

  Doernbecher Children’s Hosp. • 82 Oregon Veteran’s Home • 83

  Charity code   • 84a  • 84b Charity code  • 85a   • 85b

86  Total Oregon 529 College Savings Plan deposits. See instructions, page 34 ......•  86

87  Total. Add lines 73 through 86. Total can’t be more than your refund on line 72 ..........................................• 87

88  NET REFUND. Line 72 minus line 87. This is your net refund .........................................NET REFUND➛ •  88

89  For direct deposit of your refund, see instructions, page 34. • Type of account:   Checking or   Savings

  Will this refund go to an account outside the United States? •   Yes

EITHER,
NOT BOTH

DEDUCTIONS
AND 
MODIFICATIONS

OREGON
TAX

PAYMENTS AND 
REFUNDABLE 
CREDITS

Include Schedule 
WFC-N/P if you 

claim this credit

These will
reduce

your refund

ADD TOGETHER

• Preparer license no.Signature of preparer other than taxpayerYour signature Date

Address Telephone no.X
X

Spouse’s/RDP's signature (if fi ling jointly, BOTH must sign) Date

Important: Include a copy of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040NR.

X

Under penalty for false swearing, I declare that the information in this return is true, correct, and complete. 

DIRECT 
DE POS IT

NONREFUNDABLE 
CREDITS

ADD TOGETHER

ADD TOGETHER

• Routing No. • Account No.

Page 2 — 2013 Form 40P

CHARITABLE 
CHECKOFF 
DONATIONS, 
PAGE 34
I want to donate 
part of my tax 
refund to the 
following fund(s)

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00
.00

.00

.00

.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00
.00
.00
.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00.00

.00

.00
.00

.00

150-101-055 (Rev. 12-13)



Visit our website at www.oregon.gov/dor. 23Subtractions

	 Example: Brennan and Maggie were ages 64 and 63 
on December 31, 2013. They are filing a joint return 
with a federal adjusted gross income of $55,000 and 
are itemizing deductions for Oregon. In 2013, they 
paid $5,700 in medical expenses that they claimed 
on Schedule A. Of that, $3,500 was for Brennan’s 
expenses, $1,000 for Maggie’s expenses, and $1,200 
for Maggie’s mother who they claim as a dependent. 
Both Brennan’s and Maggie’s expenses qualify for 
the special Oregon medical subtraction. Since Mag-
gie’s mother is a dependent, her expenses do not 
qualify for the subtraction. Brennan and Maggie 
would determine their subtraction as follows. 

	 Special Oregon medical subtraction worksheet

Column (A)
You

Column (B)
Spouse/RDP

1. Medical and 
dental expenses 
for each qualifying 
taxpayer.	

1.	 $3,500 1.	 $1,000

2. Total medical and dental 
expenses (Schedule A, 
line 1).

2.	 $5,700 2.	 $5,700

3. Divide line 1 by line 2  
and round to three 
decimal places.

3.	 0.614 3.	 0.175

4. Enter the lesser of the 
expenses claimed on line 
1 of your Schedule A, or 
the amount claimed on 
line 3 of your Schedule A.

4.	 $5,500 4.	 $5,500

5. Multiply line 3 by line 
4 and round to whole 
dollars.

5.	 $3,377 5.	 $963

6. Maximum allowable 
medical subtraction from 
the table below ($1,800 
maximum).

6.	 $1,400 6.	 $1,400

7. Enter the lesser of line 5 
or line 6.

7.	 $1,400 7.	 $963

8. Add line 7, columns 
(A) and (B), and enter 
the total. This is your 
special Oregon medical 
subtraction.

8.	 $2,363

•	Federal pension income [code 307]. You may be 
able to subtract some or all of your federal pension 
included in 2013 federal income. This includes retire-
ment benefits paid to the retiree or the beneficiary. 
It does not include disability payments if you have 
not reached the minimum retirement age. The sub-
traction amount is based on the number of months 
of federal service or points earned before and after 
October 1, 1991:

—	If all your months of federal service or points 
were before October 1, 1991, subtract 100 percent 
of the taxable amount of federal pension income 
you reported on your federal return. 

—	If you have no months of service or points before 
October 1, 1991, you cannot subtract any federal 
pension.

—	If your service or points occurred both before 
and after October 1, 1991, you will subtract a 
percentage of the taxable federal pension income 
you reported on your federal return. To determine 
your percentage, divide your months of service or 
points earned before October 1, 1991, by your total 
months of service or points earned. Round to three 
places (example: .4576 = 45.8 percent). Once you 
determine the percentage, it will remain the same 
year to year. For more than one pension, figure 
the percentage and subtraction separately for each 
pension.

	 Example: Delaney began working for the U.S. Forest 
Service March 31, 1977, and retired January 7, 2012. 
She worked a total of 417 months; 174 months were 
worked before October 1, 1991. Delaney moved to 
Oregon on May 31, 2013. She can subtract 41.7 per-
cent (174 ÷ 417) of her taxable federal pension. She 
will use this percentage for both her federal column 
and her Oregon column. She will multiply the per-
centage by the amount in each column to determine 
the correct subtraction for each column.

	 On her Form 40P, line 17F, she has $14,000 and on line 
17S she has $9,000. Her federal pension subtraction 
for the federal column is $5,838 ($14,000 x 0.417). Her 
federal pension subtraction for the Oregon column 
is $3,753 ($9,000 x 0.417). Since she is only claiming 
one “Other subtraction,” Delaney will enter “307” 
on line 37x and “$5,838” on line 37y. Then she will 
enter “$5,838” on line 37F and “$3,753” on line 37S. 
She will continue to subtract 41.7 percent of her tax-
able federal pension in future years.

	 Use the following worksheet to determine your sub-
traction amount for each column:

	 Federal column

1. Federal pension included in 
federal column, Form 40N or 
Form 40P, line 17F.

1.

2. Divide months of service or 
points earned before October 1, 
1991, by total months of service or 
points earned. Enter the percent-
age here.

2.

3. Multiply line 1 by line 2. Enter 
here and on Form 40N or 
Form 40P, line 37y or Schedule 
OR-ASC-N/P. Use code “307” 
to identify this subtraction and 
remember to carry the total of all 
“Other subtractions” to line 37F.

3.

Continued from page 18



Need help? See page 36.24 Subtractions

Oregon column
4. Federal pension included in 

Oregon column, Form 40N or 
Form 40P, line 17S.

4.

5. Percentage from line 2. 5.
6. Multiply line 4 by line 5. Enter 

here and on Form 40N or Form 
40P, line 37S.

6.

	 To avoid processing delays or adjustments, make 
sure your federal pension income is on the correct 
line and include a copy of your federal return.

•	Interest and dividends on U.S. bonds and notes 
[code 315].

	 Federal column. On Form 40N or Form 40P, line 37F, fill 
in interest and dividends from the U.S. government 
that you included on lines 9F and 10F. Add U.S. gov-
ernment interest and dividends you received through 
partnerships or grantor trusts. Identify this using 
code “315” in box 37x or on Schedule OR-ASC-N/P.

	 Examples:

—	You can subtract interest from U.S. Series EE, HH, 
and I bonds and Treasury bills and notes.

—	You can subtract interest and dividends paid to 
you by organizations that invest in U.S. govern-
ment securities. Check the information on your 
Form 1099. The payer may have given the percent-
age of interest and dividends from U.S. govern-
ment securities. Visit our website for details.

—	You must reduce U.S. government interest and 
dividends by any interest expense relating to U.S. 
government obligations you deducted on your 
federal Schedule A.

—	Don’t include interest on federal tax refunds in 
either column. 

—	If you reported interest or dividends of your 
minor child on your federal return, you may sub-
tract any U.S. government interest included.

	 Oregon column. If you included interest and divi-
dends from the U.S. government on lines 9S and 10S 
of the Oregon column, enter the amount on line 37S.

	 Note: When you sell or dispose of a U.S. govern-
ment obligation, you must include any gain or loss 
in income.

•	Interest from local government bond [code 317].
	 Federal column. The U.S. government taxes certain 

types of local government bond interest such as pri-
vate activity bond interest. If you included interest 
from Oregon bonds on your federal return, enter 
“317” in box 37x and the amount in box 37y or on your 
Schedule OR-ASC-N/P. Remember to carry total sub-
tractions from your Schedule OR-ASC-N/P to line 37F.

	 Oregon column. On line 37S, enter Oregon local gov-
ernment bond interest if you included it in Oregon 
income on line 9S.

•	Military pay [code 319]. Did you report U.S. military 
pay in income on line 8F or 8S? If so, you may qualify 
for a subtraction.

	 Federal column. Nonresidents—you can subtract all 
your military pay from the wages you reported in 
the federal column on line 8F.

	 Full-year and part-year residents—you can subtract 
the following from the wages you reported in the 
federal column on line 8F:

—	All military pay received during the part of the 
year you were a nonresident, and

—	All military pay earned while stationed outside 
Oregon during the part of the year you were a 
resident, and

—	Up to $6,000 of military pay earned in Oregon 
during the part of the year you were a resident.

	 Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t enter any 
amount. Military pay of a nonresident is not Oregon 
source income and should not be reported on line 8S. 
There is nothing to subtract.

	 Full-year and part-year residents—you can subtract 
the following from the wages you reported in the 
Oregon column on line 8S:

—	All military pay earned while stationed outside 
Oregon during the part of the year you were a 
resident, and

—	Up to $6,000 of military pay earned in Oregon 
during the part of the year you were a resident.

—	Oregon National Guard and reserve pay 
subtraction.

	 Guard and reserve training, weekend drills, and 
inactive duty training are eligible for this subtraction.

•	Oregon National Guard and reserve pay [code 319].

	 You may be eligible for a military service subtraction 
if you met both of the following conditions:

—	You served as a member of the Oregon National 
Guard or reserves, and

—	You were required to be away from home over-
night (for at least three consecutive weeks).

	 If you met both the conditions above, you can sub-
tract all of the Oregon National Guard or reserve pay 
you earned while you met all of the above qualifi-
cations. You can subtract the amount from both the 
federal and Oregon columns.

	 Note: Your military pay subtractions in each column 
cannot be more than your total military pay includ-
ed in that column.

•	Oregon income tax refund included in federal 
income [code 325]. This subtraction is for Oregon 
state income tax refunds only. Do not include other 
local, county, or other states’ tax refunds.
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	 Federal column. Enter your Oregon state income tax 
refund only if you included it on line 11F of the fed-
eral column.

	 Oregon column. Enter your Oregon state income tax 
refund only if you included it on line 11S of the Ore-
gon column.

•	Oregon Lottery winnings [code 322]. Oregon does 
not tax Oregon Lottery winnings of $600 or less 
per ticket; however, the federal government does. 
Oregon Lottery includes Powerball and Mega Mil-
lions tickets you purchased in Oregon, but does not 
include winnings from tribal gaming centers in Ore-
gon for nonresidents.

	 Federal column and Oregon column. You can subtract 
the following from the winnings you reported on 
lines 20F and 20S:

—	Oregon Lottery winnings of $600 or less from 
each single ticket or play, and 

—	Oregon Lottery annual payments from tickets 
purchased prior to 1998.

	 Example: David won two prizes in 2013—$1,000 
playing Oregon Lottery video poker and $500 play-
ing an Oregon Lottery Keno game. David must 
include $1,500 on lines 20F and 20S, however, Oregon 
will not tax the $500 he won playing Keno. He can 
subtract $500 on his Oregon return in both columns 
because the winnings were from a single game and 
below the $600 limit. He cannot subtract any of the 
$1,000 he won playing video poker, because the prize 
was more than $600 and is fully taxable to Oregon.

•	Railroad Retirement Board benefits [code 330].
	 Federal column. Enter your tier 2, supplemental, 

windfall, and vested dual Railroad Retirement 
Board benefits included on line 17F. Add railroad 
unemployment benefits from line 20F.

	 Oregon column. Don’t enter any amount. Oregon 
does not tax Railroad Retirement Board benefits or 
Railroad Retirement Board unemployment benefits.

•	Tuition and fees deduction [code 308]. Did you 
claim the American opportunity or lifetime learn-
ing credit on your federal return? If so, you weren’t 
allowed a federal tuition and fees deduction because 
you claimed the federal credit. Because Oregon does 
not have credits similar to the American opportu-
nity or lifetime learning credits, you can take the 
federal tuition and fees deduction on your Oregon 
return as a subtraction up to the amount you would 
have been allowed on your federal return. You can 
claim the lesser of the federal limit ($4,000 or $2,000, 
depending on your income) or your actual expenses. 
You cannot claim the deduction if:

—	You file married/RDP filing separately;
—	You can be claimed as a dependent by another 

person; or

—	Your federal modified adjusted gross income is 
more than $80,000 ($160,000 if married/RDP fil-
ing jointly).

	 Federal column. Enter the amount of the federal tuition 
and fees deduction you would have claimed on your 
federal return if you hadn’t claimed the federal credit. 
The maximum deduction you can claim is $4,000 or 
$2,000, depending on your income.

	 Oregon column. For the part of the year you were a 
nonresident, calculate your subtraction using the fol-
lowing formula:

Oregon source income 
while a nonresident

×

Qualified 
tuition and 

fees paid while 
a nonresident

= Nonresident 
deductionTotal income 

while a nonresident

	 Add the amount of qualified education expenses you 
paid while an Oregon resident. Enter the smaller of 
the results or the amount you would have deducted 
on your federal return, but no more than $4,000.

•	The following subtractions apply to only a few peo-
ple and are not explained in this booklet. For more 
information, go to our website or contact us. Make the 
subtraction in both the federal and Oregon columns 
as needed if you included the related income in both 
columns. If you have only one “Other subtraction,” 
enter the numeric code on line 37x and the amount 
for the federal column on lines 37y and 37F. If you’re 
claiming more than one “Other subtraction,” do not 
enter a code or amount on line 37x or 37y. Instead, 
check box 37z and include Schedule OR-ASC-N/P to 
your return with the numeric codes and amounts for 
the federal column of the subtractions. Enter the total 
from Schedule OR-ASC-N/P on line 37F. Determine 
the amount for Oregon and enter it on line 37S. For 
more information, go to our website or contact us.

—	529 Oregon College Savings Plan [code 324].
—	American Indian [code 300].
—	Basis adjustments [code 304].

•	Basis of business assets transferred to Oregon.
•	Depreciation difference for Oregon.
•	Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property 

with a different basis for Oregon.
•	Passive activity losses.
•	Suspended losses.

— Capital Construction Fund (CCF) [code 339].
—	Composite return [code 341].
—	Construction worker and logger commuting 

expenses [code 303].
—	DISC dividend payments [code 352].
—	Employee retirement plans previously taxed [code 

327].
—	Federal business credits [code 340].
—	Federal gain previously taxed by Oregon [code 

306].
—	Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and 

trusts [code 310].
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—	Film production labor rebate [code 336].
—	Individual Development Account [code 314].
—	IRA conversions previously taxed [code 348].
—	Land donations to educational institutions [code 

316].
—	Mobile home park capital gain [code 338].
—	Mobile home tenant payment [code 344].
—	Net operating loss [code 321].
—	Oregon investment advantage [code 342].
—	Partnership or S corporation modifications for 

Oregon [code 323].
—	Public Safety Memorial Fund award [code 329].
—	Scholarship awards used for housing expenses 

[code 333].
—	Severance pay [code 349].
—	Taxable benefits paid for former RDPs [code 347].
—	U.S. government interest in IRA or Keogh distri-

butions [code 331].

39  Oregon percentage. Divide the amount on line 
38S by the amount on line 38F. Round the deci-

mal to three places. Write the result as a percentage 
on line 39. Don’t fill in more than 100 percent or less 
than ‑0‑.

Examples

Line 38S Line 38F
Oregon percentage 

Line 39
$8,000 ÷ $30,000 = 0.266666 Round to 0.267 (__ __ __.__%2 6 7 )
(1,000) ÷ 15,000 = -0- (0%) (__ __ __.__%0 0 )
20,000 ÷ 15,000 = 1.333 Limited to 1.000 (__ __ __.__%1 0 0 0 )

If the amount on line 38S is greater than the amount 
on line 38F, your Oregon percentage is 100 percent. 
This is true even when line 38F is a negative number.

Deductions and modifications
You can claim either net itemized deductions or Oregon’s 
standard deduction, whichever is larger, but not both.

If you claim itemized deductions fill in lines 41–43. If 
you claim the standard deduction fill in line 44 instead.

Note: If you’re married/RDP filing separately and 
one spouse/RDP itemizes, both spouses/RDPs must 
itemize deductions. Are you filing separate returns 
for Oregon only? If so, determine your share of item-
ized deductions by multiplying your total joint deduc-
tions by the percentage you figured on line 39 or you 
can separate each spouse’s/RDP’s itemized deduc-
tions if you can clearly identify your own itemized 
deductions.

41  Itemized deductions. You can claim your total 
itemized deductions after federal limitations 

shown on federal Schedule A, line 29. You can claim 
itemized deductions for Oregon even if you don’t have 
enough deductions to itemize on your federal return.

If you itemize for Oregon only, fill out a federal Sched-
ule A for Oregon purposes. Be sure to include your 
state taxes even when itemizing for Oregon only, then 

subtract your Oregon state income tax on line 42. Use 
your federal adjusted gross income to figure the Sched-
ule A limitations. Provide a copy of your Schedule A 
with your return and keep a copy with your tax records.

42  State income tax or sales tax claimed as an item-
ized deduction. Write the amount of Oregon state 

income tax or any state and local sales tax you claimed 
as an itemized deduction on federal Schedule A, line 5. 
Do not include local or county income tax amounts.

Are you claiming a credit for income taxes paid to 
another state and deducting the other state’s taxes on 
Schedule A? If so, include the other state’s 2013 net tax 
liability or the other state’s 2013 tax claimed as an item-
ized deduction, whichever is less. For instructions on 
Form 40N or Form 40P, line 55, see page 31.

Did you limit itemized deductions on your federal 
return because your adjusted gross income exceeded 
the threshold amount? If so, you may need to complete 
a worksheet to determine the correct amount of Ore-
gon income tax to subtract from itemized deductions. 
The itemized deduction limit worksheet is available 
in the 2013 Publication 17½ at www.oregon.gov/dor/
personal.

44  Standard deduction. Generally, your standard 
deduction is based on your filing status, as 

follows:

Single........................................................................ $2,080
Married/RDP filing jointly.......................................$4,160
Married/RDP filing separately
	 If spouse/RDP claims standard deduction....... $2,080	
	 If spouse/RDP claims itemized deductions............. -0-
Head of household.................................................. $3,345
Qualifying widow(er)...............................................$4,160

Did you check one or more of the boxes on line 7a, 
Form 40N or Form 40P, because you or your spouse/
RDP are age 65 or older or blind? If so, you are entitled 
to an additional deduction amount.

If you checked one or more of the boxes on line 7a, 
multiply the number of boxes checked by:

•	$1,000 if married/RDP or qualifying widow(er); or
•	$1,200 if single or head of household.

Add this amount to the standard deduction for your 
filing status from above. Fill in the total on line 44.

Standard deduction—Dependents. If someone else 
can claim you as a dependent, your standard deduc-
tion is limited to the larger of:

•	Your earned income plus $350, up to the maximum 
allowed for your filing status; or

•	$1,000.
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FORM

40-V

Enter Payment Amount

$ . 0 0

•
Fiscal Year Ending

Payment Type (check only one):
2013 Return Prior Tax Year:Amended—Tax Year:

Last name First name and initial

Spouse’s/RDP’s last name if joint payment Spouse’s/RDP’s first name and initial 

Current mailing address City

SSN

Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN if joint payment

State ZIP code

First time Oregon fi ler
New name or address

Daytime telephone number:

Check if:

150-101-172-1 (Rev. 12-13)

Mail your payment and tax return to: Oregon Dept. of Revenue, PO Box 14555, Salem OR 97309-0940

The limit applies even if you can be claimed as a depen-
dent on another person’s return, but are not claimed by 
the other person.

Use the following worksheet to figure your standard 
deduction unless you are married/RDP. If you are a 
dependent and married/RDP, please contact us.

Standard deduction worksheet for single 
dependents:

1. Enter your earned income. (See 
definition below.)

1.

2. Additional $300. 2. 350

3. Add lines 1 and 2. 3.
4. Minimum standard deduction. 4. 1,000

5. Enter the larger of line 3 or line 4. 5.
6. Basic standard deduction for single. 6. 2,080

7. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 6. 7.
8. If you’re age 65 or older, enter 

$1,200. Otherwise, enter -0-.
8.

9. If you’re blind, enter $1,200. Other-
wise, enter -0-.

9.

10. Add lines 7, 8, and 9. Enter the total 
here and on Form 40N or Form 
40P, line 44. This is your standard 
deduction.

10.

Earned income is salaries, wages, tips, professional fees, 
or other amounts received as pay for work you actually 
perform, and any part of a scholarship or fellowship grant 
that you receive that is included in your gross income.

Standard deduction—Nonresident aliens. The stan-
dard deduction for nonresident aliens (as defined by 
federal law) is -0-.

45  2013 federal tax liability. Complete the fol-
lowing worksheet to determine your federal 

tax liability subtraction for 2013. Carefully follow the 
instructions. Don’t confuse your federal tax liability on 
your federal return with the federal tax withheld on 
your Form(s) W-2. They are not the same. RDPs: Use 
amounts from your actual return(s), not your “as if” 
return.

1. Enter your federal tax liability 
from Form 1040, line 55; Form 
1040A, line 35; Form 1040EZ, line 
10, Form 1040NR, line 52; or Form 
1040NR-EZ, line 15.

1.

2. Enter your tax on qualified 
retirement plans from Form 1040, 
line 58; or Form 1040NR, line 56; 
your first-time homebuyer credit 
recapture*; any recapture taxes 
you included on the dotted line 
of Form 1040, line 60; or Form 
1040NR, line 59; and the amount 
on Form 1040NR, line 53.

2.

3. Add lines 1 and 2. 3.
4. Enter the amount reported on 

Form 1040, line 66; or Form 1040A, 
line 40.

4.

5. Enter the amount reported on 
Form 1040, line 71; and Form 
1040NR, line 67; from form 8885.

5.

6. Add lines 4 and 5. 6.

7. Subtract line 6 from line 3 (if less 
than -0-, enter -0-).

7.

8. Enter your maximum allowable 
tax liability subtraction from the 
table below. Don’t fill in less than 
-0- or more than $6,250.

8.

9. Enter the smaller of line 7 or line 8 
here and on Form 40P or 40N, line 45.

9.

✁



*Did you file federal form 5405? If you are required 
to repay your 2008, 2009, or 2010 first-time homebuyer 
credit because you disposed of your home or stopped 
using it as your main home, you may subtract your fed-
eral tax recapture. Add the amount reported on your 
federal Form 1040, line 59b, or federal Form 1040NR, 
line 58b, to the amount included on line 2 of the work-
sheet above. Do not add this amount if you are repay-
ing your 2008 credit and still live in your qualifying 
home as your main residence.

If your filing  
status is:

And your federal adjusted 
gross income is:

Then your  
maximum 
allowable 

tax liability 
subtraction is:at least—

but less 
than—

Single

-0- $125,000 $6,250
$125,000 $130,000 $5,000
$130,000 $135,000 $3,750
$135,000 $140,000 $2,500
$140,000 $145,000 $1,250

$145,000 or more -0-

Married/RDP  
filing separately

-0- $125,000 $3,125
$125,000 $130,000 $2,500
$130,000 $135,000 $1,875
$135,000 $140,000 $1,250
$140,000 $145,000 $625

$145,000 or more -0-

Married/RDP filing 
jointly, or

Head of household, or

Qualifying widow(er)

-0- $250,000 $6,250
$250,000 $260,000 $5,000
$260,000 $270,000 $3,750
$270,000 $280,000 $2,500
$280,000 $290,000 $1,250

$290,000 or more -0-

Caution: Don’t include any of the following on line 2:

•	Self-employment tax.
•	Social Security and Medicare tax on tips.
•	Advance earned income credit payments.
•	Household employment taxes.

Are you amending your 2013 return? See the Oregon 
Amended Schedule instructions to figure your subtrac-
tion for federal tax liability.

Federal tax from a prior year and foreign tax: Did you 
pay additional federal tax in 2013 because you were 
audited or filed an amended return? Did you pay taxes 
to a foreign country? If so, you may be able to subtract 
the additional tax. Go to the 2013 Publication 17½ by 
clicking on “Publications” at www.oregon.gov/dor/
personal to see if you qualify for these subtractions.

46  Other deductions and modifications. Only a 
few people have other deductions and modifica-

tions. Identify the deduction or modification using the 
numeric code. If you have only one “Other deduction or 
modification,” enter the numeric code on line 46x and 
the amount on lines 46y and 46. For example, if you’re 
reporting a foreign tax deduction, enter “603” on line 
46x and the amount on lines 46y and 46. If you have 
more than one, check box 46z and include Schedule OR-
ASC-N/P with your return with the numeric codes and 
amounts of the deductions or modifications. Modifica-
tions can be either additions or subtractions. Enter the 
total amount of these items from Schedule OR-ASC-N/P 
on line 46. If the net amount is an addition, please clearly 
place a minus sign in front of it. For example, “– 200.”

Did you limit itemized deductions on your federal return 
because your federal adjusted gross income exceeded 
the threshold amount? If so, you may need to complete 
a worksheet to determine the correct addition amount 
for itemized deduction addbacks for Oregon credits. The 
itemized deduction limit worksheet is available in the 
2013 Publication 17½ at www.oregon.gov/dor/personal.

•	Artists who make a charitable art donation (Form 40P 
filers only [code 600]). Visit our website for details. 
You may take a full deduction; do not prorate. Form 
40N filers, see Form 40N, line 48 instructions.

•	Special Oregon medical deduction. The special Ore-
gon medical deduction is no longer available. The 
deduction has been replaced with a subtraction. See 
page 17 for more details.
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•	The following deductions and modifications apply 
to only a few people and are not explained in this 
booklet. For more information, go to our website at 
www.oregon.gov/dor.

—	Federal estate tax on income in respect of a dece-
dent [code 605].

—	Federal health coverage tax credit [code 609].
—	Federal income tax refunds [code 601].
—	Federal tax from a prior year [code 602].
—	Foreign tax [code 603].
—	Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduc-

tion [code 604].
—	Itemized or business deduction addback for Ore-

gon credits [code 608].
	 •	 Contributions to Alternative Fuel Vehicle Fund.
	 •	 Contributions to Child Care Fund.
	 •	 Contributions to Oregon Cultural Trust.
	 •	 Contributions to Oregon Production Invest-

ment Fund.
	 •	 Contributions to Renewable Energy Develop-

ment Fund.
	 •	 Contributions to a university venture fund.
	 •	 Long-term care insurance premiums.
—	Mortgage interest credit [code 607].

Form
40N 47

Allowable deductions and modifica-
tions. Complete the worksheet below to 
determine the deductions and modifi-

cations you’re entitled to claim.

1. If itemizing, enter amount from 
Form 40N, line 43. Otherwise  
enter the amount from Form 40N, 
line 44.

1.

2. Enter amount from Form 40N,  
line 45.

2.

3. Enter amount from Form 40N,  
line 46.

3.

4. Add together amounts from lines 
1, 2, and 3 above. Enter result here.

4.

5. Enter your Oregon percentage 
from Form 40N, line 39, here.

5.

6. Multiply the amount from line 4 by 
the percentage on line 5. Enter result 
here and on Form 40N, line 47.

6.

Form
40N 48

Deductions and modifications not 
multiplied by Oregon percentage.

•	Artists who make a charitable art donation (Form 
40N filers only). Artists who make a charitable 
art donation may take a full deduction. Enter the 
amount on Form 40N. Visit our website for details.

Oregon tax

Form
40N 51  Form

40P 49  Tax from tax rate charts. 
Figure the tax on your tax-
able income, Form 40N, 

line 50; or Form 40P, line 48. If you use the farm income 
averaging method or the farm asset capital gain method, 
see below. If not, go to the tax rate charts below. Enter 
your tax amount on Form 40N, line 51 and check box 51a; 
or Form 40P, line 49 and check box 49a. Please double-
check that the tax you entered is correct. 

Example: A married couple’s Oregon taxable income is 
$29,500. They are filing jointly. They will use chart J for 
married filing jointly. They figure their tax like this:

Chart J
Oregon taxable income $29,500
Subtract – 16,300

13,200
Multiply by 9% × 0.09

1,188
Then add + 1,011
Their Oregon tax is 2,199

Form
40N 51  Form

40P 50  Tax from farm income 
averaging method or 
farm asset capital gain 

method. If you qualify, you can compute your Oregon 
tax using one of the following methods:

Farm income averaging method. You can use the fed-
eral farm income averaging method to compute your 
Oregon tax even if you didn’t use farm income averag-
ing on your federal return. Only Oregon source farm 
income is considered elected farm income. 

If you use Form FIA-40N, Oregon Farm Income Averag-
ing for Nonresidents, to calculate your tax, enter the tax 
amount from Form FIA-40N, line 19, on Form 40N, line 
51, and check box 51b.

2013 Tax rate charts
Chart S: For persons filing single or married/RDP filing separately—
If your taxable income is not over $3,250.............................................................................your tax is 5% of taxable income
If your taxable income is over $3,250 but not over $8,150..........................your tax is $163 plus 7% of excess over $3,250
If your taxable income is over $8,150 but not over $125,000......................your tax is $506 plus 9% of excess over $8,150
If your taxable income is over $125,000.............................................your tax is $11,022 plus 9.9% of excess over $125,000
Chart J: For persons filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er) with dependent child—
If your taxable income is not over $6,500.............................................................................your tax is 5% of taxable income
If your taxable income is over $6,500 but not over $16,300........................your tax is $325 plus 7% of excess over $6,500
If your taxable income is over $16,300 but not over $250,000...............your tax is $1,011 plus 9% of excess over $16,300
If your taxable income is over $250,000.............................................your tax is $22,044 plus 9.9% of excess over $250,000
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If you use Form FIA-40P, Oregon Farm Income Averaging 
for Part-year Residents, to calculate your tax, enter the 
tax amount from Form FIA-40P, line 18, on Form 40P, 
line 50, and check box 50a.

Include a copy of Form FIA-40N or FIA-40P with your 
return. Download the form from our website or con-
tact us to order it.

Farm asset capital gain method. Did you sell or 
exchange capital assets primarily used in farming 
because you were getting out of a farming business? 
Or, did you sell or exchange a farming business in 
which you held at least a 10 percent ownership inter-
est? If so, you may be eligible for a reduced tax rate on 
the net capital gain from the proceeds. 

Use Worksheet FCG, Farm Liquidation Long-Term Capital 
Gain Tax Rate, to calculate tax on your net farm capital 
gain and your other Oregon income. Download the 
worksheet from our website or contact us to order it. 
Do not include a copy of Worksheet FCG with your 
return. Keep a copy with your records.

Nonresidents. Enter the tax amount from Worksheet 
FCG, line 7, on Form 40N, line 51. Check box 51c labeled 
“Worksheet FCG.”

Part-year residents. Enter the tax amount from Work-
sheet FCG, line 8, on Form 40P, line 50. Check box 50b 
labeled “Worksheet FCG.”

Note: Form 40P filers using Form FIA-40P or Work-
sheet FCG do not enter an amount on Form 40P, line 49.

52  Interest on certain installment sales. Did you have 
installment sales that required you to pay interest 

on the deferred tax liability for federal purposes? If so, 
you must also compute interest for Oregon. The amount 
due for Oregon is computed the same way as for federal. 
The interest rate for 2013 is 0.3333 percent per month.

Nonresidents. Use only those installment obligations 
from dispositions of Oregon property while you were 
a nonresident of Oregon.

Credits—Non-refundable
Non-refundable credits cannot be more than your 
Oregon tax liability. Some credits have a carryforward 
provision that allows you to use the remaining balance 
in the next year. Use credits that cannot be carried for-
ward first. You must prorate some Oregon credits on 
your return as shown with an asterisk (*). This means 
you need to multiply your total credit by your Oregon 
percentage, line 39, to figure the amount you can claim 
on your Oregon return.

Form
40N 54  Form

40P 53  Exemption credit.* An 
exemption credit is not 
allowed if your federal 

adjusted gross income on line 30F of Form 40P or 40N 
exceeds:

•	$200,000 for married/RDP filing jointly, head of 
household, or qualifying widow(er) filers; or

•	$100,000 for married/RDP filing separately or single 
filers.

If your federal adjusted gross income does not exceed 
the threshold amount for your filing status, multiply 
the total number of exemptions claimed on line 6e of 
Form 40P or 40N by $188 and then multiply the total 
by your Oregon percentage from line 39. This is your 
exemption credit.

Form
40P 54  Child and dependent care credit (Form 

40P filers only).* You’re allowed an 
Oregon credit only if you qualify for 

the federal child and dependent care credit. You may 
still be able to claim the Oregon credit even if you can’t 
use all of your federal credit. You must prorate this 
credit. Note to RDPs: Use your “as if” federal return 
to see if you qualify for the Oregon credit. Use the fol-
lowing worksheet to figure your credit for Oregon:

1. Enter the amount from federal Form 
2441, line 6. Do not enter more than 
$3,000 for one qualifying child or 
$6,000 for two or more qualifying 
children.

1.

2. Enter the decimal amount from the 
following table.

2.

If your federal taxable income 
from Form 1040, line 43; or 

Form 1040A, line 27 is:

Your 
decimal 
amount 

is:
Over— But not over—

— $5,000 0.30
$5,000 10,000 0.15
10,000 15,000 0.08
15,000 25,000 0.06
25,000 35,000 0.05
35,000 45,000 0.04
45,000 — 0.00

3. Multiply the amount on line 1 by 
the decimal on line 2. Enter here.

3.

4. Multiply line 3 by the Oregon 
percentage from Form 40N or Form 
40P, line 39. Form 40P filers: Enter the 
result on Form 40P, line 54. Form 40N 
filers: Enter the result on Form 40N, 
line 56 and identify with code 745.

4.

Did you pay 2012 child care expenses in 2013? If so, 
you may be able to use that amount to increase your 
2013 Oregon child and dependent care credit. For more 
information, please contact us.

Carryforward. Your total 2013 child and dependent 
care credit can’t be more than your 2013 tax liability 
for Oregon. You can carry forward any excess over 
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the next five years. If the excess isn’t used within five 
years, you lose it. See instructions for line 56.

55  Credit for income taxes paid to another state. If 
you paid 2013 income tax to another state or U.S. 

territory on income also taxed by Oregon, you may be 
able to claim a credit.

You must claim the credit on your nonresident return 
or your part-year resident return for the part of the 
year you were a nonresident if the income is taxed by 
both Oregon and one of the following states: Arizona, 
California, Indiana, or Virginia.

This credit is only for state income tax. You can’t claim 
this credit for city or county income tax, sales tax, 
alternative minimum tax (AMT), property tax, school 
tax, or building funds.

Your credit is the smallest of the following:

•	Your other state’s 2013 net tax liability.
•	Your Oregon tax liability after all credits, except 

credits for income taxes paid to other states.
•	The amount figured using Formula 1, below.
•	The amount figured using Formula 2, below.

Formula 1: Divide your modified adjusted gross 
income (MAGI) taxed by both states by your total 
MAGI, which is your income on Form 40P or Form 
40N, line 38S. Multiply the result by your Oregon tax 
after all other credits. The result can’t be more than 
your Oregon tax after credits.

Your MAGI taxed by both states
× Your Oregon tax after 

all other creditsYour total MAGI

Formula 2: Divide your MAGI taxed by both states by 
your total income on the other state’s return. Multiply 
the result by the other state’s tax after all other credits. 
“Total income” means income before subtracting item-
ized deductions and exemptions. The result can’t be 
more than the other state’s tax after credits.

Your MAGI taxed by both states
× Your other state’s tax 

after all other creditsYour total income on the other 
state’s return

If you have only one credit for income taxes paid to 
another state, enter the two-letter state abbreviation on 
Form 40N or Form 40P, line 55y, and the credit amount on 
Form 40N or Form 40P, line 55. If you’re claiming more 
than one credit for income taxes paid to another state, do 
not enter a state abbreviation on line 55y. Instead check 
box 55z and include Schedule OR-ASC-N/P with your 
return identifying the states and the credit amounts for 
each state. Enter the total for all states from Schedule 
OR-ASC-N/P on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 55.

Caution: You can’t claim this credit and also benefit 
from the itemized deduction for the tax paid to the 
other state. If you claim the tax as an itemized deduc-
tion, include the other state’s 2013 net tax liability or 
the 2013 tax claimed as an itemized deduction, which-
ever is less, on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 42.

If the credit for income taxes paid to another state is 
based on a tax liability that is paid in two different tax 
years, you may be required to restore the deduction 
to Oregon income in two different tax years. For more 
information, please contact us.

You may be allowed to use this credit even if Oregon 
and another state tax the same income in different 
years. For more information, please contact us.

56  Other credits. You may qualify for other 
non‑refundable credits. Please identify the cred-

it using the numeric code. If you have only one “Other 
credit,” enter the numeric code on Form 40N or Form 
40P, line 56x and the amount on Form 40N or Form 
40P, lines 56y and 56. For example, if you’re a nonresi-
dent claiming a $50 political contribution credit, enter 
“723” on Form 40N, line 56x and enter “$50” on Form 
40N, lines 56y and 56. If you’re claiming more than one 
“Other credit,” do not enter a code or amount on line 
56x or 56y. Instead, check box 56z and include Sched-
ule OR-ASC-N/P with your return with the numeric 
codes and the dollar amounts of the credits. Enter the 
total amount of “Other credits” from Schedule OR-
ASC-N/P on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 56.

•	Child and dependent care (Form 40N filers only) 
[code 745].* Read the information and fill out the 
worksheet for Form 40P, line 54 on page 30. If this is 
your only other credit, enter code 745 on Form 40N, 
line 56x and the amount from the worksheet on Form 
40N, line 56y. Otherwise enter the code and amount 
on Schedule OR-ASC-N/P. Form 40P filers, enter your 
child and dependent care credit on Form 40P, line 54.

•	Child and dependent care carryforward [code 704]. 
Enter the amount of unused credit from a prior 
year on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 56 or Schedule 
OR-ASC-N/P. Do not include prior year child care 
expenses. The prior year carryforward plus your cur-
rent year’s credit can’t be more than your Oregon tax 
liability. You can carry forward this unused credit for 
five years from the year the credit was claimed. If the 
carryforward isn’t used within five years, it’s lost.

•	Elderly or the disabled [code 709].* The Oregon 
credit is 40 percent of your federal credit. You can 
claim an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the 
federal credit. Multiply the amount from federal 
Form 1040, Schedule R, line 20, by 40 percent (0.40). 
Then multiply the result by the Oregon percentage 
on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 39. You can claim this 
credit or the retirement income credit, but not both. 
Note to RDPs: Use your “as if” federal return to see 
if you qualify for the Oregon credit.

•	Political contribution [code 723]. Fill in your total 
political contributions, up to $100 on a joint return 
or up to $50 on all others. You must have contributed 
money during 2013 to any of the following:

—	A qualified political party.
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—	A qualified candidate (or the candidate’s prin-
cipal campaign committee) for federal, state, or 
local office to be voted for in Oregon.

—	A political action committee (PAC) certified in 
Oregon.

	 Contact the Oregon Secretary of State’s Office to see 
if a political party, candidate, or PAC qualifies.

•	Retirement income [code 730]. If you were age 62 or 
older on December 31, 2013, and receiving retirement 
income, you may qualify for a credit. You qualify for 
this credit if:
—	Your household income is less than $22,500 

($45,000 if married filing jointly), and
— Your Social Security benefits and/or tier 1 Rail-

road Retirement Board benefits are less than 
$7,500 ($15,000 if married filing jointly), and

— Your household income plus your Social Security 
and/or tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits is 
less than $22,500 ($45,000 if married filing jointly).

	 If you think you qualify, contact us for more 
information.

•	The following credits apply to only a few people. For 
more information, go to our website or contact us.

—	Agricultural workforce housing [code 712].*
—	Alternative Fuel Vehicle Fund [code 753].
—	Biomass production/collection [code 743].*
—	Business energy [code 703].
—	Business tax credits from flow-through entity 

[code 736].
—	Child Care Fund contributions [code 705].
—	Claim of right income repayments [code 706].
—	Crop donation carryforward [code 708].*
—	Diesel engine repower or retrofit [code 734].*
—	Electronic commerce zone investment [code 710].
—	Employer-provided dependent care assistance 

[code 707].
—	Employer scholarship [code 711].*
—	Energy conservation project [code 750].
—	Fish screening devices [code 714].*
—	Individual Development Account (IDA) donation 

[code 715].
—	IDA withdrawal for home purchase [code 738].
— Long-term care insurance premiums [code 716].*
—	Loss of use of limbs [code 717].
—	Low-income caregiver credit [code 718].
—	Mutually taxed gain on the sale of residential 

property [code 720].
—	Oregon Cultural Trust [code 722].*
—	Oregon Production Investment Fund [code 737].
—	Oregon Veterans’ Home physicians [code 747].*
—	Pollution control facilities [code 724].
—	Reforestation of underproductive forestlands car-

ryforward [code 727].
—	Renewable energy development contributions 

[code 749].
—	Renewable energy resource equipment manufac-

turing facility [code 748].

—	Reservation enterprise zone [code 728].*
—	Residential energy [code 729].*
—	Riparian land carryforward [code 735].*
—	Rural EMTs [code 742].*
—	Rural medical practitioners [code 731].*
—	Transportation projects [code 751].
—	University venture fund [code 739].*

*Prorated credit (multiplied by Oregon percentage).

Tax payments and refundable credits

59  Oregon income tax withheld from income. Fill 
in the total Oregon tax withheld from your 

wages and other income shown on your Form(s) W‑2 
or 1099. Don’t use the FICA (Social Security) tax with-
held from your pay. Don’t use tax withheld from your 
wages by other states. Include a readable and unal-
tered copy of your Form W‑2 from each job and any 
Form(s) 1099 showing Oregon income tax withheld.

If you don’t have a Form W‑2 or 1099, you must provide 
other proof of Oregon tax withheld. Proof may include 
a copy of a final paycheck stub or a letter from your 
employer.

60  Estimated tax payments for 2013 and payments 
made with your extension. Fill in the total Ore-

gon estimated tax payments you made before filing 
your 2013 Oregon return. Include any payments made 
with your Oregon extension. Also include any refund 
you applied to your 2013 estimated tax. If the depart-
ment adjusted your applied refund, be sure to use the 
adjusted amount. If you need to verify your estimated 
payment amounts, please contact us.

Are you claiming a wolf depredation credit or claim 
of right credit? If so, check box 60a or 60b and include 
the credit amount on line 60. Note: the wolf depreda-
tion credit is limited to your Oregon percentage. Mul-
tiply the total credit by your percentage from line 39 
on Form 40P or Form 40N before entering on line 60. 
For more information on these credits, go to the 2013 
Publication 17½ by clicking on “Publications” at www.
oregon.gov/dor/personal.

61  Nonresidents—Tax payments from pass-
through entity and real estate transactions. If 

you are an owner in a pass-through entity and you did 
not join in the filing of a composite return to report 
that income, enter the amount of tax payments by the 
pass-through entity on your behalf. Also include any 
tax payments from real estate transactions.

62  Earned income credit (refundable). You’re 
allowed an Oregon earned income credit only if 

you qualify for the earned income credit on your fed-
eral return (“as if” returns for RDPs). You must prorate 
this credit. Your Oregon credit is 6 percent of your fed-
eral credit multiplied by your Oregon percentage. For 
example, if your federal credit is $2,500, your Oregon 
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credit is $150 ($2,500 × 0.06) multiplied by your Oregon 
percentage from Form 40N or Form 40P, line 39.

Use the following formula to compute your credit:
1. Enter your federal earned  

income credit from Form 1040, 
line 64a; Form 1040A, line 38a; or 
Form 1040EZ, line 8a.

1.

2. Multiply the amount on line 1 by 
6% (0.06). Enter the result here.

2.

3. Multiply line 2 by the Oregon 
percentage (Form 40N or Form 40P, 
line 39). Enter the result here and 
on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 62.

3.

The Oregon earned income credit is refundable. If the 
credit is more than your tax liability, the difference 
will be refunded to you.

63  Working family child care credit (refundable). 
This credit is available to low-income working 

families with qualifying child care expenses. To see 
if you qualify, check the Schedule WFC-N/P instruc-
tions by clicking on “Forms” at www.oregon.gov/dor/
personal.

64  Mobile home park closure credit (refundable). 
Enter the amount from Schedule MPC, line 5. 

Include Schedule MPC with your return. For more 
information download the publication from our web-
site or contact us to order it.

Penalties and interest

68  Penalty and interest for filing or paying late. 
Your tax is due April 15, 2014. Your return is 

also due April 15, 2014, unless you file for an extension 
by that date.

Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you:
•	Mail your tax payment after April 15 (even if you 

have an extension to file), or
•	File your return showing tax to pay after the due 

date or extension due date.

The late-payment penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid 
balance of your tax.

If you file more than three months after the due date 
or extension due date, a 20 percent late-filing penalty 
will be added; that is, you will owe a total penalty of 25 
percent of any unpaid tax.

Interest. If you’re paying your tax after April 15, 2014, 
include interest on any unpaid tax. An interest period 
is each full month starting with the day after the due 
date. For example, April 16 through May 15 is a full 
month interest period. The 2014 interest rate is 4 per-
cent per year (0.3333 percent per month).

Interest is figured daily for periods of less than a 
month. Here’s how to figure daily interest:

Tax  ×  0.000110 × number of days

If the tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the 
interest rate increases to 8 percent per year.

Note: Do not calculate interest if you file late and expect 
a refund. It may delay processing of your refund.

69  Interest on underpayment of estimated tax. 
For 2013, you’ll have an underpayment if you 

paid less than 90 percent of the tax due on each esti-
mated tax payment due date.

Use Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon Estimated Tax, to 
determine if you have an underpayment. Download 
the form from our website or contact us to order it. 
If you have an underpayment, you must file Form 10 
with your return. Check the box and enter the amount 
of interest due from Form 10, line 34 on Form 40N or 
Form 40P, line 69.

If you meet an exception, simply enter the exception 
number on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 69a and do not 
include Form 10. If you used the Annualized Income Work-
sheet, check box 69b and file the form with your return.

71  Amount you owe. You can pay your tax with 
a check, money order, electronic payment, or 

credit card.

Electronic payment from your checking or  
savings account

You can pay your current year income taxes, 2014 
estimated income taxes, any prior year tax due, and 
amended return taxes directly from your checking 
or savings account. There is no fee to use this service. 
This option is available only through our website.

Credit or debit card payments

You can also pay with your American Express, Dis-
cover, MasterCard, or Visa credit card. The provider 
will charge you a convenience fee. The service pro-
vider will tell you what the fee is during the transac-
tion; you will have the option to continue or cancel the 
transaction before entering your credit card informa-
tion. If you complete the credit card transaction, you 
will receive a confirmation number. Please keep this 
confirmation number as proof of payment—do not 
send with your return.

Credit card service provider:

	 Value Payment Systems, Inc., 1-888-972-9673
	 www.payortax.com

For additional information on credit card payments, 
go to our website or contact us.

Don’t use Form 40-V if using an electronic payment 
option. Use the voucher only if paying by check or 
money order.

Check or money order

•	Make your check or money order payable to “Ore-
gon Department of Revenue.”
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•	Write your daytime telephone number and “2013 
Oregon Form 40N” or “2013 Oregon Form 40P” on 
your check. 

•	Please use blue or black ballpoint ink. Do not use gel 
ink or the colors red or purple. 

•	Do not send cash or a postdated check. 
•	Include your payment and the Form 40-V payment 

voucher (see page 27) with your Form(s) W-2 and 1099.

Payment plan. If you cannot pay in full now, pay what 
you can. Use the payment voucher, Form 40-V, on page 
27. We will work with you to set up a payment plan for 
the amount you do not pay with your return.

Special instructions. Do you owe interest on Form 40N 
or Form 40P, line 69 and have an overpayment on Form 
40N or Form 40P, line 66? If the interest you owe is more 
than your overpayment, you have an amount due. Sub-
tract line 66 from line 69 and enter the result on line 71.

To finish your return, go to the signature block section 
on this page.

72  Refund. You must have a refund on Form 40N or 
Form 40P, line 72 to apply money to next year’s 

estimated tax or to donate all or part of your refund to 
the charities listed.

73  Estimated tax. If you have a refund on Form 
40N or Form 40P, line 72, you may apply part or 

all of it to your 2014 estimated income tax. Fill in the 
amount you want to apply. Do not fill in more than the 
amount on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 72.

Charitable checkoff donations

74
 
–  83  You may donate all or a portion of your 

refund shown on line 72 to the chari-
ties listed on lines 74–83. Donations will reduce your 
refund. You can also donate to two of the charities list-
ed under the instructions for lines 84 and 85. Please do 
not mail your donation to the Department of Revenue.

84 & 85   
Other charity. You may donate all or 
part of your refund to two of the fol-

lowing charities.

Enter the charity code on Form 40N or Form 40P, line 
86a or 87a. Enter only one code in each box. Write the 
amount you want to donate next to the code on Form 
40N or Form 40P, line 86b or 87b. If you want to donate 
to more than two of the charities listed below, you can 
mail your donations directly to the charities.

•	Oregon Non-Game Wildlife [code 19].
•	Prevent Child Abuse [code 20].
•	Alzheimer’s Disease Research [code 21].
•	Stop Domestic and Sexual Violence [code 22].
•	Habitat for Humanity [code 1].
•	Oregon Head Start Association [code 2].
•	Planned Parenthood of Oregon [code 13].
•	Oregon Lions Sight & Hearing Foundation [code 14].
•	Shriners Hospitals for Children—Portland [code 15].

•	Special Olympics for Oregon [code 16].
•	Susan G. Komen for the Cure [code 17].
•	Oregon Military Financial Emergency Assistance 

[code 24].
•	Oregon Historical Society [code 18].
•	Oregon Food Bank [code 25].
•	Albertina Kerr Kid’s Crisis Care [code 26].
•	American Red Cross [code 27].
•	Cascade AIDS Project [code 28].
•	Veterans Suicide Prevention and Outreach Program 

[code 23].

86  Oregon 529 College Savings Plan. You can 
deposit all or a portion of your refund into an 

Oregon 529 College Savings Plan account. To make 
this choice, there must be an open account and depos-
its must be a minimum of $25 per account. For more 
information, see Schedule OR-529-N/P on our website.

88  Net refund. You must reduce your refund by 
any amounts applied to 2014 estimated tax, 

charitable checkoff donations, and Oregon 529 College 
Savings Plan deposits. The department cannot issue a 
refund if your return is filed more than three years 
after the due date of the return (excluding extensions).

Direct deposit

89  Follow these instructions if you want us to 
deposit your refund directly into your bank 

account instead of mailing you a check.
1.	 Contact your bank to make sure your deposit will 

be accepted and to get your correct routing and 
account numbers.

2.	 Check the appropriate box, either checking or sav-
ings, but not both.

3.	 Enter your nine-digit routing number. The routing 
number must begin with 01 through 12, 21 through 
32, or 61 through 72.

4.	 Enter the account number into which you want your 
refund deposited. The account number can be up to 17 
characters (both numbers and letters). Do not include 
hyphens, spaces, or special symbols. Enter the number 
left to right and leave any unused boxes blank.

5.	 Check yes only if your refund will go to an account 
outside the United States. Note: If you check yes, 
you will be issued a paper check.

6.	 Double-check the account and routing numbers. These 
numbers can’t be changed after the return is filed.

Signature block
Signature(s). Be sure to sign and date your return. If 
you’re filing a joint return, both taxpayers must sign.

Minor child’s return. If your child must file a tax return, 
you may sign the child’s name as his or her legal agent. 
Sign the child’s name, then write “By [your signature], 
parent (or other legal guardian) of minor child.”

Preparer signature. Anyone who prepares, advises, 
or assists in preparing personal income tax returns in 
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exchange for compensation of any kind must be licensed 
and must sign the return. Contact the following agen-
cies to check the status of your Oregon tax practitioner:

•	State Board of Tax Practitioners at 503-378-4034 
(Salem) for licensed tax consultants or preparers, or 
go to www.oregon.gov/OBTP.

•	State Board of Accountancy at 503-378-4181 (Salem) 
for public accountants and certified public accoun-
tants, or go to www.oregon.gov/BOA.

Preparer license number. Licensed tax consultants 
and tax preparers: enter your license number. CPAs: 
enter your certificate number. Tax-Aide volunteers: 
enter your TCE site number. All others: leave blank. 
Do not enter your driver’s license number.

Before you file
To speed processing, put your Oregon return together 
as follows (Important! Do not use staples, paper clips, 
or tape to assemble your return.):

1.	 Start with Form 40N or Form 40P.
2.	 If applicable, place these items in the following 

order behind your Form 40N or Form 40P:
	 •	Form(s) W-2 and any Form(s) 1099 showing Ore-

gon tax withheld.
	 •	Oregon Amended Schedule.
	 •	Schedule OR-ASC-N/P, Oregon Adjustments for 

Form 40N and Form 40P Filers.
	 •	Schedule OR-529-N/P, Oregon 529 College Savings 

Plan Direct Deposit for Form 40N and Form 40P Filers.
3.	 Include a copy (front and back) of your federal 

Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040NR, or 1040NR-EZ. 
If you are filing as an RDP, include the federal “as 
if” return. Write “RDP for Oregon Only” in blue 
or black ink on the top left corner of your “as if” 
return. Also include copies of the federal returns 
you and your RDP actually filed.

4.	 Include your check or money order and completed 
Form 40-V payment voucher (page 27). If paying by 
electronic payment or credit card, do not use Form 
40-V.

5.	 If applicable, place these items in the following 
order behind the federal form:
•	Schedule WFC-N/P, Oregon Working Family Child 

Care Credit for Form 40N and Form 40P filers.
•	Oregon Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon Estimat-

ed Tax.
•	Form 243, Claim to Refund Due a Deceased Person.
•	Oregon Form 24, Like-Kind Exchanges/Involuntary 

Conversions.
•	Form FIA-40N, Oregon Farm Income Averaging for 

Nonresidents, or Form FIA-40P, Oregon Farm Income 
Averaging for Part-Year Residents.

•	Exempt Income Schedule for Enrolled Members of a 
Federally Recognized American Indian Tribe.

•	Schedule MPC, Mobile Home Park Closure.
•	Transfer Notice for Certain Credits.

• Statements for lines that need explanation.

Be sure the second page of your return is the same 
form as the first page. Example: If you file Form 40N, be 
sure that “Page 2—2013 Form 40N” is printed at the top 
of the second page.

Do not include extension requests, or any federal 
schedules. Keep these with your records. We receive 
some federal information from the IRS. We may ask you 
for copies of schedules or additional information later.

How long do I have to file my return and get a refund?
You have three years from the due date of the return to 
file a claim for a refund. By law, the Department of Rev-
enue cannot issue a refund if your return is filed more 
than three years after the due date (excluding extensions).

To avoid processing delays, remember
Type or clearly print your name, Social Security num-
ber, date of birth, complete mailing address, and day-
time telephone number on your return.

Double‑check your math calculations and other fig-
ures, including your Social Security number. The most 
common mistakes are math errors and the amount 
claimed for the federal tax subtraction. Please double-
check the tax you figured. Errors will delay processing.

If you have tax to pay, read Form 40N or Form 40P, line 
71 instructions on page 33.

Identify other additions, other subtractions, and other 
credits as instructed.

Verify your bank account information if you’re request-
ing direct deposit.

Sign your return (both spouses or RDPs must sign a 
joint return).

Include readable copies of Form(s) W-2 and 1099 show-
ing Oregon tax withheld with your return.

Include a copy of your federal return (front and back 
only) with your Oregon return. Do not include federal 
schedules.

Include Form 40-V, the payment voucher, with your 
check or money order with your return. If paying by 
credit card or electronic payment, do not use Form 40-V.

Mail your return in a stamped envelope. Use a busi-
ness envelope (4 × 9½ inches) or larger and use enough 
postage. Please do not use a smaller envelope—it 
delays processing.

Tax return mailing addresses

Mail refund returns or  
no-tax-due returns to:
REFUND  
PO Box 14700 
Salem OR 97309‑0930

Mail tax-to-pay  
returns to:
Oregon Department of Revenue 
PO Box 14555 
Salem OR 97309‑0940
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Oregon Department of Revenue
955 Center Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2555
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Have questions? Need help?
Internet

  www.oregon.gov/dor
• Download forms, instructions, and publications.
• Check your refund status.
• Make payments.
• Find out how much you owe.

Twitter: ORrevenue

Email or write
 questions.dor@state.or.us
Oregon Department of Revenue
955 Center St NE
Salem OR 97301-2555

• Include your name and daytime phone number.
• Include the last four digits of your SSN or ITIN.

Printed forms or publications:
Forms
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14999
Salem OR 97309-0990

Español:  preguntas.dor@state.or.us

Phone
Salem area or outside Oregon .................... 503-378-4988
Toll-free from an Oregon prefix ............... 1-800-356-4222

• Check your refund status.
• Order forms, instructions, and publications.
• Listen to recorded information.
• Speak with a representative:

 Monday–Friday ......................................7:30 a.m.– 5 p.m.
 Closed Thursdays from 9–11 a.m. Closed holidays. Extended 

hours during tax season; wait times may vary.

Asistencia en español:
 En Salem o fuera de Oregon ...................... 503-378-4988
 Gratis de prefi jo de Oregon .....................1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
 Salem area or outside Oregon ................... 503-945-8617
 Toll-free from an Oregon prefi x ..............1-800-886-7204

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the help 
numbers above for information in alternative formats.

In person
Find directions and hours on our website.


