## 2021 Oregon corporation excise and income tax credits



## www.oregon.gov/dor

Check the appendices of Forms OR-20, OR-20-INC, OR-20-INS, or OR-20-S for the codes to claim any of the excise or income tax credits shown below. Taxpayers must take the full amount of a credit allowed per year. ORS 314.078.

tax credits shown below. Taxpayers must take the full amo		wed per yea	. 01	314.070.		
	nformation			- ( )	-	
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form	
Agriculture workforce housing:  Loans for construction or rehabilitation of agricultural workforce housing in Oregon. The credit is equal to 50 percent of the costs	ORS 315.164, 315.169	9 years		Yes	150-101-163	
	Date credit av	ailable	Verification required /Contact			
for projects completed in tax years after 2001; no more than 20 percent of that amount is allowed in any one year over a 10-year period. On or after January 1, 2005, eligible taxpayers may transfer all or any portion of their credit to another taxpayer. See certifying agency's website for transfer information.	For projects started and completed in tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1990 and before January 1, 2026.		Annual certification is required for projects completed after December 31, 1995. Certified by Oregon Housing and Community Services; 503-986-2000; or www.oregon.gov/ohcs.			
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form	
Biomass production or collection (for carry forward purposes only):	ORS 315.141, 315.144	4 years		Yes	None	
The credit is available to agricultural producers and biomass collec-	Date credit av	ailable	Vei	rification requi	red /Contact	
tors for the production or collection of biomass that is to be used in Oregon as biofuel or to produce biofuel. The credit is based on the amount or quantity of biomass transferred to a biofuel producer during the tax year. This credit may be transferred to an Oregon taxpayer. See <i>Transfer Notice for Certain Credits</i> , 150-101-179.	For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2007 and before January 1, 2018.		Certified by Oregon Department of Energy; 800-221-8035; www.oregon.gov/energy.			
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforward		Transfer?	Form	
Bovine manure production or collection (for carry for-	r- ORS 315.176 4 years			Yes	None	
ward purposes only):	Date credit available		Verification required /Contact			
The credit equals \$3.50 for each wet ton of bovine manure and may only be claimed once for each wet ton of bovine manure.	For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2018 and before January 1, 2022.		Certificate issued by Oregon Department of Agriculture; 503- 986-4550; www.oregon.gov/ODA.			
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form	
Business energy (for carry forward purposes only): The credit is for a facility used to process or use renewable energy resources, or to achieve energy efficiency that exceeds	ORS 315.354, 315.356, 315.357, 8 years			Yes	None	
industry or regulatory standards by 10 percent or better.	Date credit av	ailable	Verification require		red /Contact	
"Facility" includes alternative fuel fleet vehicles, telecommuting equipment, and refueling stations. Beginning January 1, 1998, "facility" includes employer-provided transit passes. Beginning January 1, 2001, eligibility is expanded to include facilities providing transit passes to students and patrons of medical facilities, and certain utilities. Beginning January 1, 2007, "facility" also includes a high-efficiency combined heat and power facility, a high-performance home, a homebuilder-installed renewable energy system, or a renewable energy resource equipment manufacturing facility. The credit allowed is based on the certified cost of the facility. This credit may be sold or transferred to another tax payer at a discounted rate. See certifying agency's website for transfer information.  The renewable energy resource equipment manufacturing facil-	or after January 1, 1980. Preliminary certification must be received from the Department of Energy before July 1, 2011; final certification by December 31, 2012. The credit must be first claimed in a tax year beginning before January 1, 2014.		of E	ified by Oregon nergy; 800-221-80 w.oregon.gov/er	035;	
ity component of the business energy tax credit transferred to the Oregon Business Development Department under HB 2523						

**Note:** This is a summary of available corporation credits for the tax year shown above. For complete information about each credit, see the applicable Oregon Revised Statute (ORS).

Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form		
Name and description Child Care Fund contributions (for carry forward pur-	ORS 315.213			No	None		
poses only):	Date credit av	4 years	1				
The credit is allowed for certified contributions made to the Office of Child Care. An addition to your Oregon income for deducted expenses may be required if you claim this credit.	For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2002, and before January 1, 2022.		Verification required /Contact Certificatied by Office of Child Care; 800-556-6616; www.oregon.gov/occ.				
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form		
Claim of right:	ORS 315.068	None	No		None		
The credit is the difference between the actual Oregon tax for the year the claim of right income was included in federal income and the Oregon tax if such income had not been included in federal income. See IRC Section 1341(a)(1) and (2).	Date credit av	ailable	Ve	Verification required /Contact			
	For tax years beging after January 1, 199			oayer must keep it verification.	records for		
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form		
Crop donation:	ORS 315.156	3 years		No	150-101-240		
The credit is 15 percent of the value of the quantity of the crop donated computed at the wholesale market price.	Date credit av	ailable	Ve	rification requi	ed /Contact		
donated computed at the wholesate market price.	For tax years begins or after January 1, 2 before January 1, 20	2014 and		Taxpayer must keep records for audit verification.			
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form		
Electronic commerce zone investment (for carry forward purposes only):	ORS 315.507, 315.508	-		No	None		
The credit is available to qualified businesses engaged in e-com-	Date credit av	ailable	Ve	rification required /Contact			
merce in an approved enterprise zone. The credit is equal to 25 percent of the investment in capital assets that are used in the designated area primarily for electronic commerce operations, limited to the lesser of \$2 million or the tax liability for a tax year.	For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2002 and before January 1, 2018.  Local enterprise zone authoriz and qualification. Contact Bus Oregon; 503-986-0123; www.oregon.gov/biz.				tact Business		
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form		
Employer scholarship:	ORS 315.237	5 years		No	None		
The credit may be claimed by an employer with at least four full-time employees. The credit equals 50 percent of scholarships funded, limited to the lesser of the tax liability or \$50,000 for a tax year.	For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2002 and Assista			rification required /Contact rtified by Oregon Student sistance Commission; 800-452- 7; www.oregonstudentaid.gov.			
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form		
Energy conservation projects (for carry forward pur-	ORS 315.331	5 years		Yes	None		
poses only):	Date credit av	ailable	Ve	rification requi	ed /Contact		
This program allows tax credits for any capital investment for which the first year energy savings yields a simple payback period of greater than three years, with listed exceptions. Cogeneration facilities are eligible beginning January 1, 2013. The Oregon Department of Energy may establish criteria and standards to choose between project applicants. Applicants may transfer this tax credit to other taxpayers in exchange for cash at a rate set by the Oregon Department of Energy, known as a pass-through.	For tax years beginning July 1, 2011 and before January 1, 2018.		Ene	tified by Oregon I rgy; 800-221-8035 w.oregon.gov/en	;		
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form		
Fish screening devices:	ORS 315.138	5 years		No	None		
The credit is available for installations of fish screening devices, bypass devices, or fishways. The credit equals 50 percent of	Date credit av	vailable	Ve	rification requi	ed /Contact		
installation costs, not to exceed \$5,000 per device.	For final certifications in tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1990 and before January 1, 2018.			Certificate issued by Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife; 800-720-6339; www.myodfw.com.			

Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form			
Individual development account (IDA Initiative Fund)	ORS 315.271	3 years		No	None			
<b>donation:</b> The credit is available for donations made on or after October	Date credit available			rification requi	red /Contact			
23, 2000, to a fiduciary organization approved by Oregon Housing and Community Services. The credit may not exceed 70% of the donation amount.  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2022 and before January 1, 2028, this credit is allowed to be claimed for the prior year if the donation is made not later than April 15 following December 31 of the tax year for which the credit is claimed. This change is effective for tax years 2022 through 2027, for dona-	Donations made on or after October 23, 2000 and before January 1, 2028.			October 23, 2000 and before audit verification. Contact				
tions made prior to April 15, 2028. See HB 2433 (2021).		I						
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw		Transfer?	Form			
Lender's credit. Energy conservation (for carry forward purposes only):  The credit is available to lenders who provide loans to improve space heating efficiency for oil- and wood-heated residences.	ORS 317.112 15 years f loans mad after Septen 28, 1991		de nber	No	150-102-125			
9	Date credit av	ailable	Ve	rification requi	red /Contact			
	For loans made on or after January 1, 1982 and before January 1, 2012.		Lender must retain details for audit verification.					
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form			
Long-term enterprise zone facilities (for carry forward purposes only):	ORS 317.124, 317.125, 285C.406	5 years		No	150-102-043			
The credit is available for constructing or operating a facility certified in a qualified rural enterprise zone eligible for long-	Date credit av	ailable Ve		Verification required /Contact				
term exemption from property taxes. Credit equals 62.5 percent of payroll, employee benefit costs, and all other employee costs of the facility. The credit is only available against the C corporation tax liability in excess of \$1 million, or lesser amount applicable to counties with population under various thresholds and meeting specified criteria. Beginning January 1, 2005, a taxpayer eligible for the credit is allowed to take other eligible credits if this credit does not offset the tax liability on the return.  Important: If you're eligible for this credit, you must submit the	t tax years beginning on or a January 1, 1998 and within three years of the facility be placed in service. For facility certified on or before June 1 2018.		tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1998 and within three years of the facility being placed in service. For facilities certified on or before June 30,		roval from the go records for aud tact Business Ore	must receive written from the governor and rds for audit verification. susiness Oregon; 503-986- w.oregon.gov/biz.		
credit form, Schedule OR-LTEZ, with your return, regardless of whether you claim the credit.								
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form			
Oregon Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association (OLHIGA) offset (available only to	ORS 734.835	None		No	None			
insurance companies):	Date credit av	ailable	Ve	Verification required /Contact				
The credit equals 20 percent of the amount paid in each of the five calendar years following the year in which the assessment is paid to OLHIGA. The credit is allowed for payments made under ORS 734.815(8) only. Property and casualty insurers do not qualify for this credit.			Taxpayer must keep records for audit verification.					
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form			
Opportunity Grant Fund (auction):	ORS 315.643	3 years		No	None			
This credit is by auction conducted by us, in cooperation with the Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC). The amount of the credit claimed may not exceed the taxpayer's Oregon tax liability for a tax year.				or after   Certified by the Oregon Higher				
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2021, and before January 1, 2024, this credit can apply toward the current tax year or the previous tax year for contributions made before April 15 if a return has not yet been filed. This change is effective for tax years 2021 through 2023, for donations made prior to April 15, 2024. See HB 2456 (2021).	January 1,2024. January 1,2024, this credit can apply toward the current tax year revious tax year for contributions made before April 15 rn has not yet been filed. This change is effective for tax 21 through 2023, for donations made prior to April 15,		Commission; 503-378-5 www.oregon.gov/high					

	I						
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form		
Oregon's affordable housing lender's credit:	ORS 317.097	5 years		No	150-102-125		
The credit is available to lending institutions who finance certified housing projects for low-income households. For credit certifications issued on or after September 27, 2007, qualifying loans include loans to develop, acquire, construct, or rehabilitate qualified housing. Qualified housing now includes manufactured dwelling parks and housing preservation projects.  Oregon statute was amended to allow a financial institution to claim the tax credit by purchasing bonds if the bond proceeds are used to finance the purchase of affordable housing. These amendments apply between January 1, 2022 and January 1, 2026. See HB 2433 (2021).	Loans made on or after January 1, 1990 and before January 1, 2026.		Verification required /Conta File annual statement with Oregon Housing and Commun Services; 503-986-2000; www.oregon.gov/ohcs.				
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form		
Oregon Cultural Trust contribution:	ORS 315.675	No		No	None		
The credit is 100 percent of contributions to the account that are	Date credit av	/ailable	Ve	rification requi	ed /Contact		
matched by an equal contribution to an Oregon cultural organization, limited to the lesser of the tax liability or \$2,500 for a tax year.				Proof of contribution must be provided if requested. Contact Oregon Cultural Trust; 503-986-0088; www.culturaltrust.org.			
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form		
Oregon low-income community jobs initiative/new markets (for carry forward purposes only):  A tax credit was allowed for qualified equity investments in low-income community businesses. The credit equals 39 percent of the purchase price of the qualified equity investment spread over seven years, beginning with the year of investment. The credit can't be more than your tax liability and can't be trans-	ORS 315.533	5 years on investment made on or after January 1, 2014 and before July 1, 2016.		No	None		
ferred or sold. The allowable tax credit is: Years 1 and 2 - 0%, Year 3 - 7%, Years 4-7 - 8% each. <b>Note:</b> For investments made	Date credit available		Verification required /Contact				
on or after July 1, 2012 and before January 1, 2014, any unused credit may be carried forward indefinitely.	For investments made on or after July 1, 2012 and before July 1, 2016.		Contact Business Oregon; 503-986-0123; www.oregon.gov/biz.				
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form		
Oregon Production Investment Fund (auction):	ORS 315.514	3 years		No	None		
Credit is available for contributions to the Oregon Production	Date credit av	/ailable	Ve	rification requi	ed /Contact		
Investment Fund. The credit equals the amount certified by the Oregon Film and Video Office, except that a contribution must equal at least 90 percent of the credit. An addition to your Oregon income for deducted expenses may be required if you claim this credit.	Tax years beginning before January 1, 2030.		Tax years beginning before January 1, 2030.		Vide	ified by the Oreg eo Office; 503-229 w.oregonfilm.org	-5832;
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2021, and before January 1, 2024, this credit can apply toward the current tax year or the previous tax year for contributions made before April 15 if a return has not yet been filed. This change is effective for tax years 2021 through 2023, for donations made prior to April 15, 2024. See HB 2456 (2021).							
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form		
Pollution control facilities (for carry forward purposes only):  The credit is available for the prevention, control or reduction of air, water, or noise pollution, nonpoint source pollution; solid or	ORS 315.304	3 years; additional 3 years if certain conditions are		3 years; additional 3 years if certain		No	None

Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form	
Qualified research activities and alternative qualified research activities (for carry forward purposes only):	- I			No	150-102-128	
Credit is available for increases in qualified research expenses	Date credit av	/ailable	Verification required /Conta			
and research payments. The credit equals 5 percent of qualified research expenses and basic research payments in excess of base amount (IRC §41), or 5 percent of qualified research expenses that exceed 10 percent of Oregon sales. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2012, the maximum credit is \$1 million. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2006 and before January 1, 2012, the maximum credit is \$2 million. For tax years prior to January 1, 2006, the maximum credit is \$500,000. Limited to research activities in Oregon. A deduction may not be taken for the expenses related to the amount being claimed as a credit.		ears beginning on or uary 1 1989 and before 1, 2018.		Taxpayer must keep records for		
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form	
Reforestation of underproductive forestlands (for carry forward purposes only):	ORS 315.104 and 315.106	3 years	3 years No			
The credit equals 50 percent of the reforestation project costs	Date credit av	ailable /	Ve	rification requi	red /Contact	
paid or incurred to reforest underproductive Oregon forest-lands. Taxpayer is allowed one-half of the credit in the tax year of preliminary certification and one-half in the tax year when the new forest is certified as established. Refer to the ORS regarding credits for tax years before 2002. See ORS 315.104(3) for cost limitations.	Preliminary certifications must have been requested before December 31, 2012.		Certified by Oregon Department of Forestry; 503-945-7200; www.oregon.gov/odf.			
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form	
Renewable energy development contributions (for	ORS 315.326	3 years		No	None	
carry forward purposes only):	Date credit av	te credit available Verification require			red /Contact	
This program allows the auction of tax credits to provide funds to award grants to renewable energy production systems. The Oregon Department of Energy may establish criteria and standards to choose between project applicants. The total credit certifications are limited to \$1.5 million per year. Information about the auction process for this credit is available on the Oregon Department of Revenue and the Oregon Department of Energy websites.  An addition to income of deducted expenses may be required if you claim this credit.	Beginning July 1, 2011 and before January 1, 2018.		of E	Department 035; nergy.		
Name and description	Oregon law	Carriforn	rard	Transfer?	Form	
·		Carryforw				
Renewable energy resource equipment manufacturing facility (for carry forward purposes only):	ORS 315.341	8 years				
The program allowed for a tax credit based upon the certified	Date credit av			Verification required /Contact		
cost of a renewable energy resource equipment manufacturing facility during the period for which the facility is certified by the Oregon Business Development Department. Applicants may transfer this tax credit to other taxpayers in exchange for cash at a rate set by the Oregon Business Development Department (known as a "pass-through").	2014.		tion must   0123; www.oregon		egon; 503-986- ov/biz.	
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form	
Repatriation credit (due to IRC 965) (for carry forward	ORS 317.716	5 years	_	No	150-102-150	
purposes only):	Date credit av	redit available		Verification required /Contact		
SB 1529 (2018) created a one-time tax credit equal to the lesser of Oregon tax attributable to the 2014-2016 ORS 317.716 addition or the 2017 one-time repatriation. See Oregon Form OR-REPAT-CR. This form must be included with your OR-20 or OR-20-INC return to claim the credit. This credit is not allowed if you took a subtraction for listed foreign jurisdiction income previously included in Oregon income. See OAR 150-317-0652 for more information.	Tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2017 and before January 1, 2018.		Use and include Oregon Form OR-REPAT-CR.			

Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form		
Reservation enterprise zone:	ORS 315.506	None	uiu	No.	150-102-046		
The credit is available to eligible businesses operating a new busi-	Date credit av		Verification required /Contact				
ness facility in a reservation enterprise zone. The credit equals the tribal property tax imposed on a new business facility that is paid or incurred by the business during the tax year, or the amount of tribal tax paid or incurred by the business during the tax year, if the business has not previously conducted business operations within the reservation enterprise zone. "Tribal tax" includes, but is not limited to, an income or excise tax, an ad valorem property tax, a gross receipts tax, or a sales and use tax.	For tax years beginning on or		Contact Business Oregon; 503-986-0123; www.oregon.gov/biz.				
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form		
Rural technology workforce development:	ORS 315.523 3 years			No	None		
The credit equals 12 percent of a taxpayer's expenses that are	Date credit av	ailable	Ve	rification requi	ed /Contact		
incurred to establish and implement an employee training program. A qualifying employee training program must be operated in collaboration with a local community college operated under ORS Chapter 341. In addition, the program must be operated in a qualifying county. The term qualifying county is defined in statute.	Tax years beginning on or after			Taxpayers must keep records for audit verification.			
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form		
Short line railroad rehabilitation:	ORS 315.593	5 years		Yes	None		
This credit is awarded for railroad rehabilitation and is calculated as the least of:	Date credit available			Verification required /Contact			
(1) \$1,000 per mile of a Tier 1 short line railroad owned by a taxpayer, (2) \$3,500 per mile of a Tier 2 short line railroad owned by a taxpayer, or (3) 50% of the short line railroad rehabilitation project costs paid or incurred by a taxpayer during the tax year in which the credit is claimed.  Name and description	before January 1, 2026.			Certified by Oregon Department of Transportation; 888-275-6368; www.oregon.gov/odot.			
•	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard		Form		
Transportation projects (for carry forward purposes only):	ORS 315.336	5 years			None		
This program allows tax credits for a public or nonprofit entity that provides transit services to members of the public and that receives state or federal funding for those services or an alternative fuel vehicle infrastructure project. Applicants may transfer this tax credit to other taxpayers in exchange for cash at a rate set by the Oregon Department of Energy (known as a "pass-through").	Transportation project credits, other than alternative fuel vehicle infrastructure project		Verification required /Conta Certified by Oregon Department of Energy; 800-221-8035; www.oregon.gov/energy.				
Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforw	ard	Transfer?	Form		
University venture development fund:	ORS 315.640 None			No	None		
The credit is available for contributions to a university venture development fund when a tax credit certificate has been issued. The credit equals 60 percent of the certified amount with limitations as to how much may be claimed yearly. The tax credit may not exceed \$600,000.  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, the university venture development fund contribution credit shall be claimed in three consecutive tax years, beginning with the year in which the credit's initially allowed.  An addition to your Oregon income for deducted expenses may be required if you claim this credit.	Tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2006 and before January 1, 2028.		Verification required /Contact Certificate issued by the Oregon university that established the fund.				

Name and description	Oregon law	Carryforward		Transfer?	Form
Weatherization lender's credit (for carry forward pur-	ORS 317.111	15 years		No	None
poses only): The credit is available to commercial lending institutions for below market rate loans made before November 1, 1981 for financing weatherization projects. The credit was equal to the difference between the amount of interest charged at a rate of 6.5 percent and the amount that would have been charged at a lesser of 12 percent or the average percent the lending institu-	Por loans made bef November 1, 1981.		Len	rification requi der must keep re fication.	
tion charged for home improvement loans.					

## Do you have questions or need help?

www.oregon.gov/dor 503-378-4988 or 800-356-4222 questions.dor@dor.oregon.gov

Contact us for ADA accommodations or assistance in other languages.