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This publication supplements the Oregon income tax instruction booklet and the  
Internal Revenue Service Tax Guide: Publication 17, Your Federal Income Tax For Individuals.

This is a guide, not a complete statement of Oregon laws and rules. Law or rules may have 
changed after printing. Refer to the Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) and Oregon Administra-

tive Rules (OAR), available at www.oregon.gov/dor.

Forms and publications
For tax forms and publications go to www.oregon.gov/dor/forms or write:

Forms 
Oregon Department of Revenue 
PO Box 14999 
Salem OR 97309-0990

Do you have questions or need help?
www.oregon.gov/dor
(503) 378-4988 or (800) 356-4222
questions.dor@​oregon.gov

Contact us for ADA accommodations or assistance in other languages.

Tax professionals
Questions. If you're a tax professional, you can email us for assistance. Please research your question. We can 
assist you with Oregon income tax law and policy questions, but we can't provide or discuss specific taxpayer 
information, prepare returns, or make calculations for you. You can include .txt files in your email, but we are 
unable to open any other type of attachments. 

In the email, include your question with your name, business name, and phone (with area code). We'll get back 
to you within three business days. 

•	Personal and partnership income tax: prac.revenue@oregon.gov. 
•	Corporate income or excise tax: corp.help.dor@oregon.gov.
•	Corporate minimum tax: minimum.tax.help@oregon.gov.
•	Payroll and business tax: payroll.help.dor@oregon.gov. 
•	Inheritance/estate tax: estate.help.dor@oregon.gov.

Revenews. To receive emailed information from us, subscribe to Revenews, at  
 www.oregon.gov/dor/preparers and navigate to Revenews. 
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Federal tax law
No extension to pay. Oregon doesn’t allow an exten-
sion of time to pay your tax, even if the IRS is allowing 
an extension. Your 2017 Oregon tax is due April 17, 
2018.

Federal law connection. Oregon is tied to December 
31, 2016 federal income tax laws. Oregon has a rolling 
tie to federal changes made to the definition of taxable 
income, with two exceptions:

•	Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 139A for fed-
eral subsidies for employer prescription drug plans. 

•	IRC Section 199 for income attributable to domestic 
production activities, also known as qualified pro-
duction activity income (QPAI).

Income under these sections is specifically exempt 
from tax on the federal return. If you have any of 
these types of income, you will have an addition on 
your Oregon tax return. 

New information
Kicker refund. Oregon’s surplus credit, known as the 
“kicker,” will be claimed as a credit on your 2017 tax 
return. The credit is a percentage of your 2016 tax 
liability. You may donate your kicker credit to the 
Oregon State School Fund. Our instruction booklets 
contain more information and instructions for calcu-
lating your credit.

Earned income credit. For most qualified taxpayers, 
the Oregon earned income credit (EIC) is 8 percent of 
your federal earned income tax credit (EITC). 

Beginning in 2017, Oregon's EIC is 11 percent of the 
federal credit if you have a qualifying dependent 
under age 3 at the end of the tax year. See “Refund-
able credits” for more information. 

Federal tax liability subtraction. The federal tax sub-
traction limit is $6,550 for 2017 and may be limited 
further based on adjusted gross income (AGI). For 
more information, see “Federal income tax liability” 
in “Subtractions.” 

Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Accounts 
addition requirement for nonqualified withdrawals. 
Oregon requires an addition if  contributions made 
to an ABLE account, for the benefit of a person with 
a disability, were subtracted from taxable income in 
an earlier year and withdrawn in a later year for an 
unqualified purpose. For more information, see this 
topic under “Additions.”

Oregon 529 College Savings Network and ABLE 
Account limits. Contribution limits have increased to 
$4,660 for taxpayers filing joint returns and $2,330 for 

all others. See these topics under “Subtractions” for 
more information. 

Credit change. There is a new tax credit available for 
the 2017 tax year for Oregon employers who estab-
lish employee training programs in certain rural 
areas of the state. See “Rural technology workforce 
development“ in “Carryforward credits“ for more 
information. 

Publication OR-CODES.  See the appendix for a com-
plete list of our standard numeric codes for identify-
ing credits,  additions, subtractions, adjustments, and 
modifications. 

Tuition and fees deduction and subtraction. As of the 
date this publication was printed, Congress had not 
renewed the federal tuition and fees deduction. As a 
result, the deduction and the related Oregon subtrac-
tion are not available for tax years beginning January 
1, 2017. If Congress has renewed the deduction for tax 
year 2017, refer to a prior edition of this publication 
or our website to learn how to claim the deduction or 
subtraction on your Oregon return.

Important reminders
Administrative rule renumbering. In order to comply 
with changes required by the Oregon Secretary of 
State, the Department of Revenue has renumbered all 
administrative rules that begin with 150. Adminis-
trative rules will continue to be searchable by the old 
number. Visit sos.oregon.gov for more information.

Charitable donation add back.  Charitable donations 
to organizations that fail to spend at least 30 percent 
of their annual functional expenses for program ser-
vices aren’t deductible on your Oregon return. See 
“Disqualified charitable donations” in “Additions“ 
for more information about the add back requirement. 

Revenue Online. Revenue Online provides conve-
nient, secure access to tools for managing your Ore-
gon tax account—completely free! With Revenue 
Online, you may:

•	View your tax account.
•	Make payments.
•	View correspondence we sent you.
•	Request changes to your tax account.
•	Check the status of this year's refund.
•	View and print Form 1099-G.

For more information and instructions on setting 
up your personal Revenue Online account, visit our 
website.

Military pay. Oregon doesn’t tax your military pay if 
you aren’t an Oregon resident. Also, if you performed 
active military service in 2017, and your Defense 
Finance and Accounting System payroll address was 
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outside Oregon, Oregon considers you to be a non-
resident and won’t tax your military pay. If you are an 
Oregon resident, you may continue to subtract feder-
ally taxable military pay from your Oregon income 
if you earned it outside Oregon from August 1, 1990, 
through the date the president sets as the end of com-
bat activities in the Persian Gulf. The president had 
not declared an end to combat activities when this 
publication was printed. For more information about 
residency and the Oregon military pay subtractions, 
see “Military personnel.” 

Payment options. We accept tax payments by check, 
money order, debit card, and credit card,. See “Pay-
ment options” in “Payments and refunds” for infor-
mation and instructions.

Direct deposit. Instead of receiving your refund 
check in the mail, you may have your refund depos-
ited directly into your account at a bank, credit union, 
or other financial institution. See “Direct deposit of 
refund” in “Payments and refunds.” You can also 
have your refund deposited directly into an Oregon 
529 college savings network account. You may choose 
up to four accounts. See our full-year and part-year/
nonresident booklets for more information. 

Minimum refund. Under Oregon law, the minimum 
refund that can be issued is $1.

Minor child’s return and signature. If your child must 
file a tax return, you may sign the child’s name as 
his or her legal agent. Sign the child’s name and then 
write “By [your signature], parent (or legal guardian) 
for minor child.”

Deceased person’s return. A final return for a person 
who died during the calendar year must be filed if a 
return would normally be required. If a return must 
be filed, check the “Deceased” box after the person’s 
name on the return. 

If you filed a final return with a refund and are unable 
to cash the refund check, you will need to return the 
check to us along with Form OR-243, Claim to Refund 

Due a Deceased Person. Go to our website to download 
the form or contact us to order it.

If you are a court appointed personal representative 
or have filed a small estate affidavit and you need 
more information about trusts or estates, contact our 
Estate Unit at estate.help.dor@oregon.gov.

Additional exemption credits. Additional exemption 
credits for severely disabled taxpayers and for dis-
abled children aren’t available for taxpayers whose 
AGI is more than $100,000, regardless of filing sta-
tus. For more information, see “Exemption credit” in 
“Standard credits.“

Oregon tax credits. Most Oregon tax credits are 
limited to your tax liability. However, report the 
full amount of each credit on Schedule OR-ASC or 
OR-ASC-NP, even if you can’t use all of the credit 
this year. Some credits allow a carryforward of any 
unused amount. When you prepare this year’s return, 
refer to last year’s Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP 
to see if you have any unused credit to carry forward. 
See “Carryforward credits“ to find out which credits 
you can carry forward to future years.

Special Oregon medical subtraction. You or your 
spouse must be age 64 or older on December 31, 2017 
to qualify for the subtraction. See “Special Oregon 
medical subtraction” for more details.

Registered domestic partners (RDPs). For Oregon 
tax purposes, same-sex RDPs are treated the same as 
married couples. References to “spouse” within this 
publication include RDPs.

Disaster relief.  You don’t need to file a return if you 
worked in Oregon solely to provide relief during a 
declared disaster or emergency. See “General infor-
mation” for more details. 

No more amended schedules. Oregon no longer 
accepts the Oregon Amended Schedule when you file 
an amended return. If you are amending an Oregon 
return, see “Amended returns.”
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General information
Do I have to file an Oregon income 
tax return?

Use the following charts and examples to determine 
whether you are required to file an Oregon personal 
income tax return. See the explanations in this publi-
cation if you are unsure about:

•	Residency status – see “Residency.“
•	Filing status – see “Filing Status.“
•	Taxable income – see “What income is taxable in 

Oregon?”
•	Deductions – see “Deductions and modifications.”

You must file a return to claim a refund if you had 
Oregon income tax withheld or to claim a kicker 
credit, even if you aren’t otherwise required to file 
a return.

Note: You don’t have to file an Oregon return if you 
are an out-of-state employee or the operator of an 
out-of-state business  and you were in Oregon solely 
for purposes of performing disaster or emergency-
related work (ORS 401.690).  

Full-year residents
Note: The amounts on this chart apply to gross 
income from all taxable sources.

You must file an Oregon return if:

Your filing status is:

Number of 
boxes checked 
below line 19 

of Form OR‑40:

And your 
gross income 
is more than:

Single, can be claimed 
on another’s return Any See 

“Dependents” 

Single

-0- $5,965

1 $7,165

2 $8,365 

Married filing jointly

-0- $11,925

1 $12,925

2 $13,925

3 $14,925 

4 $15,925

Married filing
separately

-0- $5,965 

1 $6,965

2 $7,965

Head of household

-0- $7,440

1 $8,640 

2 $9,840

Qualifying widow(er)

-0- $8,290

1 $9,290

2 $10,290

In addition, file a return if:
•	You’re required to file a federal return.
•	You had $1 or more of Oregon income tax 

withheld from your wages.

Dependents. If you can be claimed as a dependent 
on another person’s return, you must file your own 
return if your income is more than the lesser of:

•	The standard deduction allowed on your federal 
return, or

•	The Oregon standard deduction for a single filer.

You can use this worksheet, which has the federal 
amounts, to help you figure out if you need to file 
your own return.
1. Enter gross income from all taxable 

sources.
1. $ 

2. Earned income $___ plus $350. 
Enter total.

2.

3. Set federal amount. 3. 1,050

4. Enter the larger of line 2 or 3. 4.

5. Enter the Oregon standard deduc-
tion for a single person:
•	Basic standard deduction: $2,175.
•	Over age 65 or blind: $3,375.
•	Over age 65 and blind: $4,575.

5.

6. Enter the smaller of line 4 or 5. 6. $

If line 1 is more than line 6, you must file an Ore-
gon return. If line 6 is more than line 1, you aren’t 
required to file an Oregon return.

Example 1: Emily is single, age 20, and a full-time 
college student. Her parents claim her as a depen-
dent. Emily has earned income of $800 from her job. 
She also has $29 of interest income from her savings 
account. 
1. Enter gross income from all taxable 

sources: $800 plus $29.
1. $ 829

2. Earned income $800 plus $350. 
Enter total.

2. 1,150

3. Set federal amount. 3. 1,050
4. Enter the larger of line 2 or 3. 4. 1,150

General information
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5. Enter the Oregon standard  
deduction for a single person:
•	Basic standard deduction: $2,175.
•	Over age 65 or blind: $3,375.
•	Over age 65 and blind: $4,575.

5. 2,175

6. Enter the smaller of line 4 or 5. 6. $   1,150

Because line 6 ($1,150) is more than line 1 ($829), Emily 
isn’t required to file an Oregon return. 

Note: If Emily had any Oregon income tax withheld 
from her income, she must file an Oregon return to 
claim a refund.

Example 2: Norman, age 77, is claimed as a depen-
dent by his son. Norman has income of $3,015 from a 
pension and interest. He doesn’t have any other tax-
able income.

1. Enter gross income from all taxable 
sources.

1. $3,015

2. Earned income plus $350. Enter 
total.

2. 350

3. Set federal amount. 3. 1,050
4. Enter the larger of line 2 or 3. 4. 1,050
5. Enter the Oregon standard deduc-

tion for a single person:
•	Basic standard deduction: $2,175.
•	Over age 65 or blind: $3,375.
•	Over age 65 and blind: $4,575.

5. 3,375

6. Enter the smaller of line 4 or 5. 6. $1,050   

Because line 1 ($3,015) is more than line 6 ($1,050), 
Norman is required to file an Oregon return. 

Example 3: Katrina is single, age 19, a full-time stu-
dent, and claimed as a dependent by her mother. 
Katrina didn’t work but had $1,057 of unearned interest 
income from her certificate of deposit.

1. Enter gross income from all taxable 
sources.

1. $1,057

2. Earned income $0 plus $350. Enter 
total.

2. 350

3. Set federal amount. 3. 1,050
4. Enter the larger of line 2 or 3. 4. 1,050
5. Enter the standard deduction for a 

single person:
•	Basic standard deduction: $2,175.
•	Over age 65 or blind: $3,375.
•	Over age 65 and blind: $4,575.

5. 2,175

6. Enter the smaller of line 4 or 5. 6. $1,050 

Because line 1 ($1,057) is more than line 6 ($1,050), 
Katrina is required to file an Oregon return.

Part-year residents and nonresidents
Note: The amounts on the following chart apply 
to gross income from Oregon taxable sources 

while a nonresident and gross income from 
all taxable sources while an Oregon resident.  
You must file an Oregon return if: 

Your filing status is:

And your 
Oregon gross 

income is 
more than:

Single, can be claimed on 
another’s return $1,050*

Single $2,175
Married filing jointly $4,350

Married filing separately
If spouse claims standard 
deduction $2,175

If spouse itemizes 
deductions -0-

Head of household $3,500
Qualifying widow(er) $4,350

*The larger of $1,050 or your earned 
income plus $350, up to your standard 
deduction amount.

If your Oregon income is less than the amount in this 
chart, you aren’t required to file a return.

Nonresidents with rental property in 
Oregon
You don’t have to file an Oregon return if:  

•	Your only Oregon-source income is from rental 
property, and 

•	You have a loss from the rental activity for the 
year. However, you must file Oregon returns for all 
applicable loss years if:

—— You later sell the rental property in a fully-tax-
able transaction;

—— The sale results in gain that would otherwise be 
taxed by Oregon; 

—— You have suspended passive activity losses 
from the rental activity; and 

—— You are deducting your suspended losses from 
that gain on your federal return. 

Electronic filing for Oregon
Electronic filing is a fast, efficient, and accurate way to 
file an Oregon income tax return. Returns filed elec-
tronically require fewer manual steps to process com-
pared to paper returns.

Practitioners are automatically approved for Oregon 
electronic filing after the IRS acceptance of Form 8633, 
Application to Participate in the Electronic Filing Program. 
There is no separate registration required for Oregon.

Paid preparers who meet the requirements of the fed-
eral e-file mandate must also e-file Oregon personal 
income tax returns. For information on waivers of this 

General information
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requirement, see the information for tax profession-
als on our website.

The copy of a tax return provided to a client must be 
an exact copy of the tax return submitted to us.

2-D barcode filing for Oregon
2-D barcode filing is an alternative way to file a paper 
Oregon return. Oregon-approved tax software pack-
ages are required to print a 2-D barcode on Forms 
OR-40, OR-40-N, and OR-40-P. The 2-D barcode on 
the tax return is a “picture” of the information on the 
return, which is printed on the top right-hand cor-
ner of the return’s front page. A machine reads the 
barcode information so it doesn’t have to be entered 
manually into our computer system.

If changes are made to the return after it has been 
printed, the entire return must be re-printed so that 
the barcode will reflect the correct information.

The copy of a 2-D barcode return provided to a tax-
payer must be an exact copy of the tax return you 
submit to us.

Why Oregon needs a federal return
Most information to support the amounts on your 
Oregon return comes from your federal return. Even 
when Oregon law differs from federal law (such as 
additions, subtractions, and credits), we still need 
information from your federal return (ORS 314.380).

If you file an electronic return, we will receive your 
federal return with your Oregon return. If you are fil-
ing a paper return, you must include a copy of the front 
and back of federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, 1040X, 
1040NR, or 1040NR-EZ, including any “as if” returns. 
If you’re not filing a federal return, include a “substi-
tute” federal return with your Oregon return; fill out 
the return as if it were an actual federal return. Don’t 
send copies of your federal schedules. Keep them with 
your tax records. We may ask for copies later. 

Record-keeping requirements

Why is record keeping important?
•	Keeping records of your income and deductions 

will help you prepare an accurate tax return and 
pay the correct tax.

•	You must be able to prove all items on your return 
with adequate records and sufficient evidence. 
Keep records that verify the income, deductions, 
credits, and other items reported on your tax 

return. Estimates or approximations don’t qualify 
as proof.

•	Accurate records will help you if we select your 
tax return for audit. Usually, an audit will occur 
one to three years after a return is filed (or later if 
you have had a federal audit). If you’ve kept good 
records, you can clear up any questionable items 
and easily arrive at the correct tax. If you haven’t, 
you may have to spend time getting statements and 
receipts from various sources. You may also have 
to pay more tax if you can’t prove the figures you 
used.

How should I keep my records?
You must keep accurate records, but no particular 
system is required for keeping them. Your records 
should contain all the information you used to fig-
ure your income, deductions, credits, and other items 
shown on your income tax return.

What records should I keep?
If you report an item on your tax return, you must 
have adequate records to verify it. Here’s a partial list 
of records you should keep:

•	Receipts and sales documents for deductible 
expenses on Schedule A, self-employment, farm, 
rentals, sale of assets, etc.

•	Dated and signed receipts for any cash payments 
that might be deductible.

•	Income statements, including Form W‑2 for your 
wages and Form 1099 for interest, dividends, rents, 
and nonemployee compensation.

•	All payroll records including copies of W‑2s and 
1099s issued.

•	Pay statements if you have deductible expenses 
withheld from your paycheck.

•	Receipts and certificates to verify Oregon tax cred-
its claimed.

•	Copies of your tax returns, including complete fed-
eral returns with all federal schedules.

•	Copies of your “as if” returns if you were required 
to prepare them to claim a special filing status.

•	Worksheets, summary statements, calendars, log 
books, journals, etc.

•	Cancelled checks, substitute checks or carbon cop-
ies of checks, bank deposit slips, and receipts.

•	Checking and savings account statements for both 
personal and business accounts.

•	If you deduct alimony payments, keep copies of 
canceled checks and the written separation agree-
ment or the divorce, separate maintenance, or sup-
port decree.

•	For property you own, keep the purchase price, any 
purchase expenses, the cost of any improvements, 
and any other basis adjustments, such as deprecia-
tion and deductible casualty losses. If you received 

General information
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property as a gift, you must have records that show 
the donor’s adjusted basis just before the property 
was given to you, its fair market value on the date 
of the gift, and any gift tax paid on it.

•	The sale of a capital asset (and certain other assets). 
This type of sale is reported as a capital gain or 
loss. Your records must show when and how the 
asset was acquired, how it was used, and when and 
how it was disposed of. Records must also show 
your cost or other basis, the gross selling price, and 
the expenses of the sale.

•	Year-end statements showing total interest paid on 
loans, mortgages, or notes.

•	Statements and canceled checks, mortgage state-
ments, and other documents for your real estate 
and personal property taxes paid.

•	Proof of payment to your care provider if you are 
claiming the Oregon Working Family Household 
and Dependent Care credit.

How do I document deductible expenses?
A receipt is the best evidence to prove the amount 
of an expense. A canceled check, together with a bill 
or invoice from the payee, ordinarily establishes the 
cost. A canceled check might not prove a business 
expense without other evidence to show that it was 
for a business purpose. All records should show:

•	The date,
•	The amount, and
•	The purpose of the expense.

To be deductible, a business expense must be both 
ordinary and necessary.

How do I document car or truck expenses?
You must have written records to verify vehicle 
expenses. To deduct car or truck expenses, you must 
be able to prove:

•	The amount of each separate expense for a vehicle, 
such as the cost of purchase, capital improvements, 
lease payments, maintenance, and repairs.

•	The mileage for each business or investment use of 
the vehicle and the total miles for the tax year.

•	The date of the expense or use. Keep a trip log at 
the time of use, showing the date and mileage for 
each business use, including odometer readings.

•	The business or investment reason for the expense 
or use of the vehicle.

Keep the proof you need for these items in an account 
book, diary, log, statement of expense, trip sheet, etc. 
Include all documents needed to verify the item. 

How long should I save my records?
Keep records that support an item of income or a 
deduction on your return at least until the statute of 
limitations expires for that return. A statute of limita-
tions is the period of time after which no legal action 
can be brought. Usually this is three years from the 
date the return was filed, or two years from the date 
the tax was paid, whichever is later. Returns filed 
before the due date are treated as if they were filed 
on the due date.

Exceptions: There are times you should keep records 
longer, including the following:

•	Keep records that support your basis in property 
for at least four years after you sell or dispose of 
the property (including all capital improvements).

•	If your return was audited by the federal govern-
ment, Oregon has two years from the date we 
receive the federal audit report to review your Ore-
gon return for adjustments.

•	If you have employees, we recommend you keep 
all of your employment tax records for at least five 
years after the date the tax becomes due or is paid, 
whichever is later. This includes copies of a Wage 
and Tax Statement (Form W‑2) for each employee, 
and all payroll records.

•	If you didn’t report some income and it is more than 
25 percent of the income shown on your return, the 
return may be audited within five years after it was 
filed. If a return is false or fraudulent or if no return 
is filed, there is no time limit.

What if I don’t have all of my records?
If records have been destroyed and your return is 
selected for review, the auditor will advise you about 
reconstructing your records. 
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Filing an Oregon return
In order to correctly file an Oregon personal income 
tax return, you must know:

•	Your residency status.
•	Which form to file.
•	Your filing status.

Residency (ORS 316.027)
General rule. Oregon taxes residents on all sources of 
income. Oregon taxes nonresidents on income from 
Oregon sources.

Residents
An Oregon resident is someone who is domiciled in 
this state. 

Domicile. Domicile is a tax-law concept. It is the place 
you consider to be your home and where you plan 
to return after an absence. Domicile isn’t the same 
as home, abode, or residence. Intent is the deciding 
factor when you determine your domicile. The law 
assumes you have a domicile somewhere. It also 
assumes you have only one domicile.

Home. If you have one home, your domicile is gen-
erally where that home is located. If you have two 
homes, your domicile follows your center of activity.

To determine your center of activity and your domi-
cile, consider:

•	Physical characteristics of the place.
•	Time you spend there.
•	Things you do there.
•	People and property there.
•	Your attitude toward the place.
•	Your intent to return to the place when you are 

away.

Family relations. Generally, spouses living together 
have the same domicile. The domicile of minor chil-
dren is determined by the domicile of the person 
who has legal custody of them.

When living apart, spouses each may establish their 
own domicile if they meet the requirements for a 
change of domicile.

Change of domicile. Intent is the most important fac-
tor in determining a change of domicile. If intent 
relies on uncertain events, you haven’t changed your 
domicile. Once domicile is established, it is never lost 
until all of the following happen:

•	You intend to abandon the old domicile, and
•	You intend to acquire a specific new domicile, and
•	You are physically present in the new domicile.

The important points are physical presence at a new 
dwelling and the intent to make the new dwelling a 
home.

Non-domiciled residents. An Oregon resident may 
also be someone who isn’t domiciled in Oregon, but:

•	Maintains a residence in Oregon, and
•	Spends a total of more than 200 days in Oregon 

during the taxable year.

A fraction of a day is considered to be a whole day 
when figuring the 200 days. We won’t consider you 
to be a resident if you are in Oregon for a temporary 
purpose. The burden of proof is on you to show your 
stay here is only temporary.

Consider both your domicile and the place where you 
live to determine how you are taxed.

Special-case Oregon residents (Oregon residents liv-
ing in another US state). Even if you are domiciled 
in Oregon, you will be taxed as a nonresident if you 
meet all of the following requirements:

•	You don’t maintain a permanent residence in Ore-
gon for yourself or your family during any part of 
the year, and

•	You maintain a permanent residence outside Ore-
gon during the entire year, and

•	You spend less than 31 days of the year in Oregon.

Oregon residents living in a foreign country. Certain 
Oregon residents living in a foreign country may be 
taxed as foreign nonresidents.

In general, you’re considered to be a foreign non-
resident if you qualify for foreign earned income or 
housing exclusion under federal law. To qualify as a 
foreign nonresident, you must meet one of these two 
federal tests:

•	The “physical presence” test; or
•	The “bona fide residence” test.

Note: you may be treated as an Oregon nonresident 
for tax purposes if you are in the civil service or mili-
tary serving in a foreign country, even if you can’t 
claim the federal exclusions. See “Military personnel 
filing information” for more details.

Physical presence test. To meet the requirements of 
the physical presence test:

•	Your tax home must be in a foreign country, and
•	You must be present in a foreign country or coun-

tries for 330 full days out of any consecutive 
12-month period.

“Tax home” is generally your regular place of busi-
ness, the location where you work, regardless of 
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where you live. For more information on tax home, 
refer to Internal Revenue Service Publication 17, Your 
Federal Income Tax for Individuals.

A “full day” means a period of 24 consecutive hours 
beginning at midnight. The 12-month period may 
begin on any date in the calendar year. The period 
ends the day before that same date, one year later. For 
example, a 12-month period beginning October 10 
would end October 9 of the following year.

The 330 full days must fall within that 12-month 
period.

Example 1: Juan arrives in England on April 24, 2016, 
at noon. He establishes his tax home in England and 
remains there until 2 p.m. on March 21, 2018, when 
he leaves England to return to the United States. Juan 
is physically present in a foreign country for 330 full 
days during at least one 12-month period:

•	One 12-month period starts on his first full day in 
England, April 25, 2016, and ends April 24, 2017.

•	Another 12-month period starts on March 21, 
2017, and ends March 20, 2018, his last full day in 
England.

Juan may use any 12-month period that begins after 
his arrival in England and ends before he returned to 
the United States to meet the physical presence test.

Juan qualifies for nonresident treatment for the 
months he was out of the country during 2016, 2017, 
and 2018. He should file Oregon part-year returns for 
2016 and 2018, and a nonresident return for 2017.

Example 2: Use the facts in Example 1, but change 
Juan’s arrival date to June 23, 2017. In this case, Juan 
won’t qualify for nonresident treatment because he 
was not physically present in a foreign country for 
330 days. He must file a full-year resident return for 
2017 and 2018.

Bona fide residence test. To meet the requirements of 
the bona fide residence test, you must:

•	Establish, to the satisfaction of the Secretary of 
the U.S. Treasury, bona fide residence in a foreign 
country, and

•	Maintain a bona fide residence for an uninter-
rupted period that includes a full tax year.

Example 3: Sandra is a calendar-year taxpayer. 
She establishes a bona fide residence in Russia on 
August 12, 2016. On June 10, 2017, she moves out out 
of her residence and spends six weeks at a hotel in 
Alaska. On July 22, 2017, she establishes a bona fide 
residence in South Korea. She is transferred back  to 
the United States on May 8, 2018. She doesn’t meet the 
requirements of the bona fide residence test  because 
she doesn’t maintain a bona fide residence for an 
uninterrupted period that includes a full tax year.  

She also doesn’t qualify for the physical presence test 
because she isn’t physically present in a foreign coun-
try for 330 full days out of a consecutive 12-month 
period.

Example 4: Use Example 3, but instead of going to 
South Korea, Sandra continues to work in Russia 
until February 2018. She would now qualify under 
the bona fide residence test. Her residence was estab-
lished for a full tax year. Sandra should file a non-
resident return for 2017. Sandra also qualifies for non-
resident treatment for the months in 2016 and 2018 
that she maintained the bona fide foreign residence. 
She should file Oregon part-year returns for 2016 and 
2018.

For more information about physical presence or 
bona fide residence, see federal Publication 54, A Tax 
Guide for U.S. Citizens and Resident Aliens Abroad.

Tax treaties. If a United States tax treaty changes the 
meaning of terms used in determining federal tax-
able income, Oregon accepts the changed meaning 
as it applies to affected taxpayers. We may ask you 
to provide records showing how a particular treaty 
affects your taxable income.

Nonresidents
If you were domiciled outside Oregon and lived out-
side Oregon for the entire year, you were a nonresi-
dent of Oregon. If you are a nonresident, Oregon taxes 
only income you earned in Oregon and received from 
Oregon sources. In some cases, however, a taxpayer 
domiciled in Oregon can be treated as a nonresident. 
See “Special-case Oregon residents.“

Example 1: Misha was a permanent California resi-
dent in 2017. She temporarily worked in Medford as a 
computer consultant for two months in 2017. Misha is 
a nonresident of Oregon. She will pay Oregon tax on 
the income she earned in Oregon. California will also 
tax Misha’s income because she is a resident of that 
state. Because both Oregon and California will tax 
her income, Misha may claim a credit for taxes paid 
to another state. For information about this credit, see 
“Income taxes paid to another state.”

Example 2: Nash is a permanent Nevada resident. He 
has rental property in Oregon. Nash is a nonresident 
of Oregon. He will pay Oregon tax on the income 
from his Oregon rental property.

Part-year residents
If you were domiciled in Oregon for part of the year 
and in another state for part of the year, you were a 
part-year Oregon resident. Oregon taxes all of your 
income for the part of the year you were an Oregon 
resident. Oregon also taxes any income earned in 
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Oregon or received from Oregon sources for the part 
of the year you were a nonresident.

Example 1: Gustav was a resident of Minnesota 
through July 21. On July 22, he moved to Oregon and 
established a new domicile here. Gustav is considered 
to be a part-year Oregon resident for the tax year.

Example 2: Tiffany is a resident of Oregon, but works 
in Alaska six months of the year. She returns to her 
home in Oregon when the job is complete. Tiffany 
isn’t considered a part-year Oregon resident because 
she doesn’t abandon her Oregon domicile when she 
works in Alaska.

Extensions of time to file
If you can’t file your Oregon return by the due date, 
you  may be able to get a six-month extension of time 
to file. For 2017 returns, this means you have until 
October 15, 2018 to file. 

An extension of time to file your return 
doesn’t mean  you have more time to pay 
your taxes.
You must pay any tax you expect to owe by April 
17, 2018. If you don’t pay all of the tax due with your 
extension, you will owe interest on the unpaid balance 
from April 18, 2018, until the date it is paid, and will 
be subject to a minimum penalty of five percent of 
the unpaid tax. To avoid penalty and interest charges, 
include enough payment with your extension to 
cover your tax liability. Once you file your return, 
if you have overpaid, you will receive a refund. See 
“Interest and Penalties” for more information.

Were you stationed in a designated combat 
zone?
If you were in the military and stationed in a desig-
nated  combat zone, you may qualify for an automatic 
extension of time to file your return. See “Military 
personnel filing information.”

Was your home or business located in a 
presidentially-declared disaster area?
Did you receive additional time to file your federal 
tax return and pay your federal tax? If so, you may 
qualify for additional time to file your Oregon return 
and pay your Oregon tax. Contact us for information 
and instructions on filing your return.

Extension for filing returns
Oregon accepts your federal extension. If you didn’t 
file for a federal extension, but you need more time 
to file your Oregon return and you owe tax, sub-
mit a payment by check or money order using Form 

OR‑40-V and check the “Extension payment” box on 
the form. You don't need to submit Form OR-40-V if 
you aren't paying by check or money order. However, 
when you make your payment, indicate that you are 
making an extension payment. Your extension pay-
ment must be received by April 17, 2018 to avoid pen-
alties and interest on the amount paid. 

Whether you owe tax or are expecting a refund, mark 
the “Extension filed” box on your Oregon return and 
file your return by October 15, 2018. 

Which form do I file?
Oregon has three types of personal income tax forms. 
The form you use depends on your residency status. 

Resident—Form OR-40
Use Form OR-40 if you are a full-year Oregon resident.

Part-year resident—Form OR-40-P
Use Form OR-40-P if any one of the following is true:

•	You are a part-year resident, or
•	You are filing jointly and one spouse is a full-year 

Oregon resident and one is a part-year resident, or
•	You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad 

for part of the year.

Nonresident—Form OR-40-N
Use Form OR-40-N if any one of the following is true:

•	You are a nonresident, or
•	You are a special-case Oregon resident (see “Resi-

dency”), or
•	You and your spouse are filing jointly and one (or 

both) of you is a nonresident, or
•	You meet the military personnel nonresident 

requirements (see “Military personnel filing infor-
mation”), or

•	You qualified as an Oregon resident living in a for-
eign country for the entire year (see “Residency”).

You may need to file other forms, depending on your 
circumstances.

Sales of Oregon real property by 
nonresidents. 
Withholding on real property sales. Authorized 
escrow agents may be required to withhold taxes due 
when a nonresident sells real property located in Ore-
gon. Unless an exception applies, once escrow closes, 
the agent must withhold and remit the lesser of:

•	Four percent of the consideration;
•	The net proceeds from the sale; or
•	Eight percent of the gain includible in Oregon tax-

able income.
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For more information about this requirement and 
its exceptions, see the instructions for Form OR-18, 
available on our website. The escrow agent will sub-
mit this form to the Department of Revenue along 
with the amount withheld. The agent should ask you 
to complete Form OR-WC to determine whether an 
exception to the withholding requirement applies. 
Form OR-WC is for the escrow agent’s use in prepar-
ing Form OR-18, but you should keep a copy for your 
own records. 

Pass-through entities (PTEs)

Reduced tax rate (ORS 316.043).  Did you receive non-
passive distributive income from a partnership or S 
corporation? If so, your PTE income may qualify for 
the PTE reduced tax rate. See “Other items“ for more 
information. 

Partnerships. Except for publicly-traded partnerships 
taxed as corporations, every partnership with one or 
more Oregon resident partners, and every partner-
ship having income or loss derived from or connected 
with Oregon sources, must file Form OR-65. See the 
Form OR-65 instructions for further details. Note: 
Oregon follows federal filing guidelines including 
the due date for filing a partnership return. If you 
aren’t required to file a federal partnership return, 
you do not need to file one for Oregon. 

S Corporations. S corporations doing business in 
Oregon or receiving income from Oregon sources are 
required to file Form OR-20-S. S corporation income is 
generally taxable to the shareholders rather than the 
corporation. However, S corporations do pay Oregon 
tax on certain kinds of income. For more information, 
see the instructions for Form OR-20-S on our website. 

LLCs. Oregon LLCs and foreign LLCs doing business 
in Oregon are taxed and classified the same as for 
federal income tax purposes. Oregon follows federal 
tax treatment.

•	LLCs that choose to be taxed as corporations file 
the same forms as corporations (Form OR-20 or 
Form OR-20-I).

•	LLCs with two or more members who choose to be 
taxed as partnerships file using the same form as 
partnerships (Form OR-65).

•	A single-member LLC that chooses to be taxed as a 
sole proprietorship files federal Schedule C, Sched-
ule E, or Schedule F with their individual income 
tax return.

PTEs with nonresident owners  
(ORS 314.778, 314.784)
Composite tax return. A  PTE  must file Form OR-OC 
on behalf of nonresident owners who elect to be 
included on the return. For forms and instructions, 
see our website. 

Nonresident withholding. A PTE must withhold tax 
on a nonresident owner’s share of Oregon-source 
income if the nonresident owner elects not to be 
included on Form OR-OC, unless the nonresident 
owner’s share of Oregon-source income is less than 
$1,000 or other exceptions listed in ORS 314.784 apply. 
For more information, see Form OR-19 instructions 
on our website.

Filing status

General rule
The filing status on your Oregon return must be the 
same as your filing status on your federal return, 
with one exception.

Example 1: Minerva filed her federal return using the 
filing status of single. She must use the single filing 
status on her Oregon return.

Example 2: Peter and Della are married and both are 
full-year Oregon residents. They filed a joint federal 
return. Peter and Della must use the married filing 
jointly filing status on their Oregon return.

Example 3: Tia and Colin are married and choose the 
married filing separately filing status on their federal 
returns. They must use the married filing separately 
filing status on each of their separate Oregon returns.

Exception: Filing status for married 
taxpayers with different residency status
If you and your spouse file a joint federal return but 
each of you has a different residency status, you have 
a choice of two different filing statuses to use for 
Oregon:

•	You and your spouse may file one Oregon return 
using the married filing jointly status, or

•	You and your spouse may each file a separate 
Oregon return using the married filing separately 
status.

You may not file as head of household (ORS 316.122).

Note: This exception doesn’t apply to RDPs or mar-
ried nonresident aliens because these taxpayers may
not file joint federal returns. For information on RDP 
filing, see “Registered domestic partners.”
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Which forms do we file?
•	Full-year resident and part-year resident. If you file 

separate Oregon returns, the full-year resident files 
Form OR-40 and the part-year resident files Form 
OR-40-P.  If you choose to file a joint return for 
Oregon, file Form OR-40-P. The full-year resident 
reports all income from all sources  for the year. 
The part-year resident reports all income  while 
a resident and all Oregon-source income while  a 
nonresident.

•	Full-year resident and nonresident. If you file sep-
arate Oregon returns, the full-year resident files 
Form OR-40 and the nonresident files Form OR-
40-N. If you choose to file a  joint return for Oregon, 
file Form OR-40-N. The full-year  resident reports 
all income from all sources for the year. The non-
resident reports only Oregon-source income.

•	Nonresident and part-year resident. If you file sep-
arate Oregon returns, the nonresident files Form 
OR-40-N and the part-year resident files Form OR-
40-P. If you choose to file a joint return for Oregon, 
file Form OR-40-N. The nonresident reports only 
Oregon-source income. The part-year resident 
reports all income while a resident and Oregon-
source income while a nonresident. 

Note: If you file separate federal returns, you must 
file separate Oregon returns. If you are a nonresident 
spouse without Oregon income, and you are filing 
separately for Oregon, you aren’t required to file an 
Oregon return. If you and your spouse are both non-
residents of Oregon and you are filing a joint federal 
return, you must file a joint Oregon return as well.

What information goes on each return?
On each spouse’s separate Oregon return, enter the 
filer’s name and Social Security number first, then 
the spouse’s name and Social Security number. Mark 
the “Married filing separately” box.

“As if” federal returns. You must include an “as if” 
federal Form 1040 or Form 1040A showing how the 
return would have appeared if you had filed a sepa-
rate federal return, along with a copy of the joint fed-
eral Form 1040 or 1040A that you actually filed. Mark 
the “Calculated using ‘as if’ federal return” box on 
each Oregon return. If you are filing paper returns, 
mail both Oregon returns, the “as if” federal returns, 
and the actual federal return in the same envelope, 
but don’t staple them together.

Income and deductions. You and your spouse each 
report your own share of income and deductions.
Also, report your share of any Oregon additions, sub-
tractions, modifications, or adjustments,  including 
the federal tax subtraction. 

Use the following guidelines when preparing your 
return:

Your percentage. Use this formula to compute your 
share of certain deductions:

Your share of federal AGI
= Your percentage 

(not to exceed 100%)Joint federal AGI

If your share is less than -0-, your percentage is -0-.

Federal tax subtraction. Each spouse may subtract a 
portion of his or her joint federal tax liability. Mul-
tiply the joint federal tax liability (after all credits 
except the EIC by your percentage to determine your 
federal tax subtraction. 

Itemized deductions. Multiply the itemized deduc-
tions by your percentage to compute your share. Or, 
you may itemize separately if you can clearly deter-
mine each spouse’s deductions. Remember to use 
“Net Oregon itemized deductions.” For more infor-
mation about itemized deductions, see “Limit on 
itemized deductions.”

•	Standard deduction. The Oregon standard deduc-
tion is $2,175 for each spouse.

•	Age 65 or older, or blind. Each taxpayer is entitled 
to an additional deduction if he or she is age 65 or 
older, or if he or she is blind. The additional deduc-
tion is $1,000 for married taxpayers filing sepa-
rately. A taxpayer who is both age 65 or older and 
blind may claim two additional deductions, plus 
the regular $2,175 standard deduction.

•	Exception: If one spouse claims itemized deduc-
tions, the other spouse can’t claim the standard 
deduction. The other spouse may only claim item-
ized deductions.

Exemption credits. You can’t prorate exemptions. You 
may claim exemptions for yourself and any depen-
dents allowed on your federal return. You can’t claim 
an exemption for the same dependent claimed on 
your spouse’s return.

Example: Jim worked and lived in Oregon all year. 
Mary moved from Idaho to Oregon in July and mar-
ried Jim. They filed a joint federal return and are fil-
ing separate returns for Oregon. Mary earned $30,000 
in Oregon and $22,000 in Idaho. Jim earned $41,000 in 
Oregon. Their total federal AGI was $93,000. Jim and 
Mary claimed $12,200 itemized deductions, including 
$4,900 Oregon withholding tax, on their joint federal 
return. Mary’s Oregon withholding tax was $2,200. 
Jim’s Oregon withholding tax was $2,700. Their joint 
federal income tax liability was $14,400. Jim, a full-
year Oregon resident, files Form OR-40 and reports 
his income of $41,000. On the return, he enters his 
own name and Social Security number (SSN) first, 
then enters Mary’s information, and marks the “Mar-
ried filing separately” box. He creates his separate “as 
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if” federal return, marks the “Calculated using ‘as if’ 
federal return” box on the Oregon return, and claims 
the following federal tax liability and deductions:

His share:  $41,000 ÷ $93,000 = 0.44 (44%)

Federal tax:  0.44 × $14,400 = $6,336

(His subtraction is limited to $3,275)

Total 
itemized 
deductions: 0.44 × $12,200 = $5,368

Deduction 
for Oregon 
tax: 0.44 × $4,900 = $2,156

Jim will have net Oregon itemized deductions of 
$3,212 ($5,368 – $2,156). He will claim his own Oregon 
withholding of $2,700 on his separate Oregon return. 
Jim follows the line instructions for Oregon Form 
OR-40 to complete his return.

Mary, a part-year resident, files Form OR-40-P and 
reports $52,000 federal AGI ($30,000 from Oregon 
sources). On her return, she enters her own name and 
SSN first, then enters Jim’s information, and marks 
the “Married filing separately” box. She creates her 
separate “as if” federal return, marks the ”Calcu-
lated using 'as if'  federal return” box on the Oregon 
return, and claims the following federal tax liability 
and deductions:

Her share:  $52,000 ÷ $93,000 = 0.56 (56%)

Federal tax:   0.56 × $14,400 = $8,064

(Her subtraction is also limited to $3,275)

Total 
itemized 
deductions: 0.56 × $12,200 = $6,832

Deduction 
for Oregon 
tax: 0.56 × $4,900 = $2,744

Mary will have net Oregon itemized deductions of 
$4,088 ($6,832 – $2,744). She will claim her own Ore-
gon withholding of $2,200 on her separate Oregon 
return. Mary follows the line instructions for Form 
OR-40-P to complete her return.

Married filing separately with community 
property income
An Oregon resident whose spouse lives in a commu-
nity property state may have community property 
income that is taxable by Oregon. There are nine com-
munity property states: Arizona, California, Idaho, 
Louisiana, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Washington, 
and Wisconsin.

Some residents of community property states aren’t 
subject to community property laws for various rea-
sons. You will need to check with your community 
property state for details. Federal Publication 555, 
Community Property, also contains information that 
may be helpful to you. 

Here are examples of how to file for Oregon:

Example 1: Paul and Marie are married, but they are 
legally separated. Paul is an Oregon resident. Marie is 
a resident of California, a community property state. 
They maintain separate households, don’t combine 
funds, and have no plans to get back together. They 
file a joint return with the IRS. When Paul files his 
separate return for Oregon on Form OR-40, he doesn’t 
have to include any community property income 
because California’s community property laws don’t 
apply to him and Marie.

Example 2: Renton is an Idaho resident. His wife, 
Julie, lives in Oregon. Julie plans to move to Idaho 
next year, but for now they will live separately. Julie’s 
income for the year is $40,000 in wages, $3,000 in cap-
ital gain, and $100 in interest. 

Because Renton is domiciled in Idaho, he and Julie 
are subject to Idaho’s community property laws. His 
income for the year is $60,000 in wages and $500 in 
interest. They plan to file a joint return with the IRS, 
but aren’t sure whether they want to file jointly for 
Oregon.

If they file a joint return for Oregon, they will file 
on Form OR-40-N. The Oregon column will contain 
all of Julie’s income, because Oregon taxes all of her 
income from all sources. In addition to Julie’s sepa-
rate income, she has $30,250 of community property 
income for the year—half of Renton’s wages and 
bank interest. Line 34F (federal column) of their joint 
Form OR-40-N is $103,600, which is equal to their 
federal AGI. Line 34S (Oregon column) is $73,350—
Julie’s wages, capital gain, interest, and community 
property income ($40,000 + $3,000 +$100 + $30,250). 
They are also eligible for a credit for taxes paid to 
Idaho on Julie’s mutually-taxed income of $30,250. 
(See “Credit for income taxes paid to another state,“ 
for more information on this credit.)

If they file separate returns for Oregon, Julie will file 
using Form OR-40. Julie will fill out a federal return 
as if she had filed separately. She will include $73,350 
in separate income and community property income. 
This amount flows through to Line 7 of her Oregon 
Form OR-40. She is eligible for a credit for taxes 
paid to Idaho, because she must also file a nonresi-
dent Idaho return to report her community property 
income of $30,250.
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Example 3: Kevin lives and works in California and 
is subject to California’s community property laws. 
Lori, his wife, moved to Oregon with their kids two 
years ago. Kevin supports them and will be ready to 
transfer to Oregon within the next two years. Kevin 
has $110,000 in wages. Kevin and Lori have joint 
income of $2,000 in interest and $4,000 in capital gain. 
Lori has separate income of $5,000 from her business. 
They decide to file separate federal returns. Lori’s 
federal AGI is $63,000: half of Kevin’s wages, half of 
their joint income, and all of her business income. 
Kevin’s federal AGI is $58,000; half of his wages and 
half of their joint income. Lori must file using the 
married filing separately filing status for Oregon on 
Form OR-40 because she did so on her federal return. 
She is eligible for a credit for taxes paid to another 
state, but must claim it on her California nonresident 
return. Kevin isn’t required to file for Oregon. 

Important: You must check the laws of the commu-
nity property state to see if you, or your spouse, are 
subject to those laws even if your situation is similar 
to one of the examples.

Registered domestic partners 
(RDPs) (ORS 314.023)

Filing your Oregon income tax return
The following section applies only to Oregon same-sex 
RDPs who haven’t been legally married. If you were legally 
married at the end of the tax year, you are considered mar-
ried for federal and Oregon purposes. You don’t need to 
complete an “as-if” federal return. Instead, attach your 
actual federal return to your Oregon return and follow the 
instructions for married individuals.

In Oregon, a domestic partnership is a civil contract 
entered into between two individuals of the same sex, 
where at least one of the individuals is an Oregon res-
ident. RDPs  are subject to the same tax statutes and 
regulations that  apply to married filers. As an RDP, 
you are no longer eligible to use the single filing sta-
tus on your Oregon return; generally, you must use 
the married filing jointly or married filing separately 
status. See federal Publication 17, Your Federal Income 
Tax for Individuals, for information about other filing 
status requirements. To correctly figure your Oregon 
tax liability, you need to complete a federal income 
tax return “as if” you are filing as married filing 
jointly or married filing separately for federal pur-
poses. Use the information you calculated on the “as 
if” federal return to complete your Oregon income 
tax return. You won't submit your “as if” return to the 
IRS, but you must include a copy with your Oregon 
tax return. Mark the “Calculated using ‘as if’ federal 
return” box on the Oregon return.

General filing instructions for RDPs

If you were an Oregon RDP on December 31, or if you 
were an RDP during the year and your partner died 
and you didn’t enter into a new registered domestic 
partnership or marry before the end of the year, fol-
low these directions for filing your income tax return:

1. Complete your federal forms (1040, 1040A, 1040EZ) 
for each partner, using the appropriate federal fil-
ing status, such as single or head of household. File 
these returns with the IRS. 

2. Use another federal form to complete a return that 
assumes you were allowed to file a joint or separate 
federal return. Use all the same IRS rules and pro-
cedures that apply to married couples, except for 
the federal tax liability. This is called the “as if” fed-
eral return. Important! Don’t file this “as if” form 
with the IRS. Note: If your wage statement includes 
the imputed value of health or education benefits 
you received from your employer for your  part-
ner or qualifying dependents, subtract the amount 
included in your wages on the ‘other income’ line 
of your “as if” federal return.

3. Complete your Oregon return using the same fil-
ing status you used on the “as if” federal return. 
Information used to fill out the Oregon return 
must be taken from the “as if” federal return and 
not the individual federal return that you actually 
filed with the IRS, except for the federal income tax 
liability subtraction. Use the amount each partner 
actually paid in federal tax to compute the correct 
federal tax subtraction.

4.	Submit your actual federal return, your “as if” fed-
eral return, and your Oregon return to us. If you 
and your partner file separate Oregon returns, 
send the returns in the same envelope, but don’t 
staple your separate returns together. 

It is very important to keep copies of all “as if” 
returns with your tax records for future reference. 
For more information on filing your tax return as an 
Oregon RDP, visit our website and search for RDP 
information.

Individual Taxpayer Identification 
Number

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) issues individual 
taxpayer identification numbers (ITINs) to taxpayers 
and their dependents who don’t have SSNs. If you 
have your own SSN, do not apply for an ITIN; use 
your SSN. If you already have an ITIN, enter your 
ITIN wherever your SSN is requested.
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Requesting an ITIN from the IRS
You must file your federal return and attach Form 
W-7, Application for IRS Individual Taxpayer Identifica-
tion Number. The IRS will issue an ITIN, associate the 
ITIN with your return, and process your return. For 
Form W-7, go to the IRS website at www.irs.gov or 
call 1-800-829-1040.

Filing your Oregon return before receiving 
your ITIN
You may file your Oregon return without an SSN or 
ITIN. Follow these instructions if you, your spouse, 
or your dependents don’t have an ITIN when you file 
your Oregon return:

1.	Complete and file each ITIN application (federal 
Form W-7) according to IRS instructions.

2.	On your Oregon tax return, mark the “Applied for 
ITIN” box wherever the SSN is required for you 
or your family members who have applied for an 
ITIN. You don’t need the ITIN(s) to file your Oregon 
tax return. Don’t attach your ITIN application to 
your Oregon tax return.

3.	File your 2017 Oregon tax return by April 17, 2018.
4.	The IRS will send you a letter with your ITIN infor-

mation. We need this information to issue your 
refund and correctly apply your future tax pay-
ments to your account. Refunds won’t be issued 
without a valid SSN or ITIN. Send us your: 

•	Name (and the name of your spouse and depen-
dents if they applied for an ITIN).

•	Current address.
•	Previous SSNs or ITINs used when filing an Ore-

gon return (if any); and
•	A copy of each of the letters you receive from the 

IRS with the ITINs for you, your spouse, or your 
dependents.

Send this information to:

Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14999
Salem OR 97309-0990

Military personnel filing 
information

Oregon follows federal law, including the Service-
member’s Civil Relief Act (SCRA). Under the SCRA, 
military pay of a nonresident for service within 
Oregon isn’t considered to be income from Oregon 
sources. As a member of the military, if you are sta-
tioned in Oregon, but you aren’t domiciled in Ore-
gon, your military pay isn’t taxed by Oregon. 

If you are domiciled in Oregon, but stationed outside 
of the state, you could be treated as a nonresident for 

tax purposes if you meet the “special-case nonresi-
dent” exception requirements. If you are domiciled 
in Oregon, and performing military service in Ore-
gon, your military pay is subject to tax, although the 
pay could qualify for certain subtractions. 

Military personnel performing active service within 
Oregon are treated as nonresidents for tax purposes, 
if their address in the payroll records of the Defense 
Finance and Accounting System (DFAS) is outside 
Oregon, no matter where they are domiciled (ORS 
316.027). 

If you performed active service in Oregon in 2014 
or later, but had an address outside of Oregon in 
the DFAS payroll records during that time, file an 
amended return to claim a refund of the tax paid 
on your military pay and income from non-Oregon 
sources, along with a refund of any penalties and 
interest you paid on that tax. File an amended return 
using that year’s nonresident form, following these 
instructions to claim the refund. 

Note: Are you the spouse of a military member? See 
“Military spouses.“

Residency of military personnel
Domicile. Generally, you are considered to be an Ore-
gon resident if your domicile is in Oregon. Your domi-
cile is the place that you consider to be your home. It 
is the place where you are from, and where you plan 
to return when you are away. Your domicile doesn’t 
change if you are assigned to perform military ser-
vice in another state, unless you take other actions 
to establish a new domicile there. Domicile and resi-
dency are explained in more detail in “Residency.“

Exceptions to Oregon residency 
Even if you are domiciled in Oregon, you may be 
treated as a nonresident for tax purposes if you meet 
the requirements listed in A or B:

A.	 Special-case nonresident. You are treated as a 
“special-case” nonresident of Oregon if you are sta-
tioned outside of Oregon and all three of the fol-
lowing are true:

1.	You didn’t have a permanent residence in Ore-
gon for yourself or your family during any part 
of the tax year, and

2.	Your permanent residence was outside Oregon 
during the entire tax year, and

3.	You spent less than 31 days in Oregon during 
the tax year.

B.	 DFAS address outside of Oregon. You are treated 
as a nonresident of Oregon, no matter where you 
are stationed, if both of the following are true:
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1.	You are performing “active service,” as defined 
in 10 United States Code (U.S.C.) Section 101(d)
(3), other than annual training duty or inactive-
duty training, and

2.	You are a resident of another state according to 
DFAS payroll records.

If you meet the requirements in either A or B above, 
you are treated as a nonresident for Oregon tax pur-
poses and Oregon won’t tax your military pay. You 
will owe Oregon tax only if you had income from 
another Oregon source. This income may be from an 
Oregon property sale, a business, or rental property 
located in Oregon. If you have had Oregon income 
tax withheld from your military pay, you should file 
an Oregon nonresident tax return to get a refund of 
the withheld tax. If you continue to be a nonresident, 
file an Oregon-only Form W-4 with your pay clerk as 
described in “Withholding exemption.”

Oregon residents 
Stationed in Oregon. If you are domiciled in Oregon 
and stationed in Oregon, you are taxed on income 
from all sources, both inside and outside Oregon. 
This includes your military pay for service in Oregon 
if either of the following is true for you:

•	Your address in the DFAS payroll records is in Ore-
gon, or 

•	Your military pay is from annual training duty, 
inactive-duty training, or other service in Oregon 
that isn’t “active service” as defined in 10 U.S.C. 
Section 101(d)(3).

If neither of these are true, see the Exceptions to Ore-
gon residency, above, to see if you qualify for treat-
ment as a nonresident for tax purposes. 

Stationed outside Oregon. If you are domiciled in 
Oregon, but you are stationed outside of the state, see 
the Exceptions to Oregon residency, above, to find 
out whether you can be treated as a nonresident of 
Oregon for tax purposes. If you don’t qualify as a 
nonresident, you will be taxed as a resident on your 
income from all sources, both inside and outside 
Oregon. 

Military pay subtractions
You may qualify for more than one subtraction for 
military pay. To be eligible for the subtractions, the 
military pay must be included in federal AGI. Mili-
tary pay includes active duty pay, reenlistment 
bonuses, and pay for guard and reserve annual train-
ing, weekend drills, and inactive duty training.

The Oregon military pay subtractions are:

•	Stationed outside Oregon. As of August 1, 1990, 
you can subtract military pay earned while 

stationed anywhere outside Oregon until the date 
the president sets as the end of combat zone activi-
ties in the Persian Gulf Desert Shield area. The date 
was not set when this material was printed. You 
aren’t required to be stationed in a designated com-
bat zone to be eligible for this subtraction.

•	Guard and reserve away from home. National 
Guard members and reservists assigned away 
from home for 21 days or longer can subtract their 
military pay earned during this time.

•	Other military pay. You can subtract any remain-
ing taxable military pay after taking the above sub-
tractions, up to $6,000.

Total subtraction. You may qualify for more than 
one military pay subtraction. However, your total 
subtraction can’t be more than the total military pay 
included in federal AGI. 

Note: Certain forms of military pay that aren’t 
included in federal AGI, such as combat pay, aren’t 
taxed in Oregon. They aren’t subtracted on your 
return because they aren’t included in your federal 
taxable income. 

The following examples show the military pay sub-
tractions described above.

Example 1: Seth, an Oregon resident, enlisted in the 
Navy. He earned $10,000 of active duty pay in Spain 
and $8,000 of military pay inside Oregon during the 
year. His address in the DFAS payroll records is in 
Oregon. He included the $18,000 in his federal AGI. 
Seth’s total military pay subtraction is $16,000. Seth 
can subtract the $10,000 earned outside Oregon, and 
$6,000 of his military pay earned in Oregon. Seth files 
Oregon Form OR-40 and claims his military pay sub-
traction on Schedule OR-ASC using subtraction code 
319.

Example 2: Brett is an Oregon resident and files 
jointly with his wife, who lives and maintains a resi-
dence in Oregon. Brett served in a designated combat 
zone for five months this year and earned $8,000 in 
combat pay. He served in Germany for the rest of the 
year and earned $15,000 of military pay. The presi-
dent didn’t declare an end to combat zone activities 
this year. Because Brett excluded his combat pay on 
his federal return, he doesn’t have to subtract it on his 
Oregon return. Therefore, Brett’s Oregon subtraction 
is the $15,000 of military pay earned outside Oregon 
and included in federal AGI. Brett and his wife will 
file Oregon Form OR-40 and claim the subtraction on 
Schedule OR-ASC using subtraction code 319.

Example 3: Gertrude and Merlin are married, filing 
a joint return. Both are Oregon residents, and their 
address in the DFAS payroll records is in Oregon. 
Gertrude was on active duty overseas (not in a com-
bat zone) this year. She had $21,000 active duty pay. 
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Merlin served in the Oregon National Guard and 
was away from home overnight from April to July 
and again for two weeks in November. He served in 
Oregon when away from home. Merlin earned $1,500 
military pay for his weekend drills. He also earned 
$8,000 while away from home from April to July and 
$1,000 for the two weeks in November. Gertrude and 
Merlin will include $31,500 of military pay in their 
federal AGI. Then they will determine their Oregon 
subtraction.

•	Stationed outside Oregon: All $21,000 of Ger-
trude’s active duty pay is eligible for this subtrac-
tion because she was stationed outside Oregon.

•	Guard and reserve away from home: $8,000 of 
Merlin’s pay is eligible for this subtraction because 
he was away from home for more than 21 consecu-
tive days from April to July. The pay he received for 
the two weeks he was away from home in Novem-
ber doesn’t qualify.

•	Other military pay: Gertrude doesn’t have any 
other military pay not already eligible for the other 
subtractions. Merlin’s remaining military pay is the 
$1,500 he earned for weekend drills and the $1,000 
he earned for two weeks in November. The total for 
the remaining pay is $2,500, which is less than the 
$6,000 maximum allowed per military member, so 
he is allowed to subtract the entire $2,500.

Combined, Gertrude and Merlin have a military pay 
subtraction of $31,500, because all of their military 
pay is eligible for at least one of Oregon’s military 
pay subtractions. They will file Oregon Form OR-40 
and claim the subtraction on Schedule OR-ASC using 
subtraction code 319.

Nonresidents stationed in Oregon  
Oregon doesn’t tax your military pay if you are domi-
ciled in another state. You don’t need to file an Oregon 
return unless you had other income from an Oregon 
source or had Oregon tax withheld from your pay. 
Examples of Oregon-source income include:

•	Wages from a job held on off-duty hours.
•	Earnings from an Oregon business or rental 

property.

Note: Nonresidents’ interest income from an Oregon 
bank account generally isn’t taxable by Oregon.

If you had Oregon tax withheld from your military 
pay, you should file a return to claim a refund. You 
should also contact your payroll clerk to stop with-
holding Oregon taxes if Oregon isn’t your state of 
domicile.

Example 1: Selina is a nonresident of Oregon in the 
U.S. Navy stationed in Portland. She has no other 
Oregon-source income and doesn’t have Oregon 

income tax withheld from her military pay. Selina 
isn’t required to file an Oregon return.

Example 2: Jared is a nonresident of Oregon in the 
U.S. Coast Guard stationed in Astoria. In his off-duty 
hours he works part-time for an Oregon employer. 
Because Jared has Oregon income other than his mil-
itary wages, he will file Oregon Form OR-40-N for a 
nonresident. 

Example 3: Caitlyn was domiciled in Oregon when 
she joined the US Army in 2010, and she hasn’t estab-
lished a new domicile in another state. Since July 2016 
she has been stationed at the Army’s chemical depot 
in Umatilla, and she lives in an apartment in Ken-
newick, Washington. Along with her military pay, in 
2017 she earned interest from a savings account in an 
Oregon bank and has wages from an off-duty job in 
Kennewick. Since Caitlyn is treated as a nonresident 
for tax purposes, her military pay isn’t taxed by Ore-
gon. The interest she earned from the Oregon bank 
isn't taxed because she is considered to be a nonresi-
dent. She also isn't taxed on the wages from her Ken-
newick job. Caitlyn isn’t required to file an Oregon 
return for 2017 unless Oregon tax was withheld from 
her military pay. 

Filing your nonresident return 
If you have other income from Oregon sources, use 
Form OR-40-N. Enter your military income on line 
7 in the federal column only. Don’t enter your mili-
tary pay in the Oregon column. Report other income 
taxable by Oregon in the Oregon column. On Sched-
ule OR-ASC-NP, enter the military wage income you 
reported in the federal column on line 7, but only in 
the federal column. In the Oregon column, enter -0-. 
Use  subtraction code 319.  It is important to enter your 
military pay this way because it affects the amount of 
deductions and credits you’re entitled to claim. Mark 
the “Military” box on the return. 

If you and your spouse file a joint federal return, and 
you are both nonresidents of Oregon, you must file 
a joint Oregon return as well. Use Form OR-40-N. 
If your spouse is an Oregon resident, you have the 
option of filing married filing separate returns in 
Oregon. Your spouse would file Form OR-40, or 
Form OR-40-P if a part-year Oregon resident, and you 
would file Form OR-40-N. If you file a joint return, 
use Form OR-40-N.

Filing and payment date
The due date for filing a calendar year return and 
payment of the tax is April 15. If the 15th falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date is 
the next working day of the month. If you are out-
side the United States for military duty on the due 
date, the due date is extended by two months. Mark 
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the “Extension filed” box on your return. See “Exten-
sions of time to file” for more information.

If you owe tax on your Oregon income tax return, you 
must pay the entire amount by the due date. Interest 
and penalty will be added to all unpaid balances.

Extension for filing your return
You can get an extension to file your return, but you 
can’t get an extension to pay your tax. More informa-
tion can be found under “Extensions of time to file.”

Combat Zone/Contingency Area. Were you stationed 
in a combat zone or contingency area? Did you 
receive additional time from the IRS to file your fed-
eral return and pay your tax? If so, Oregon allows 
the same additional time to file and pay your Oregon 
tax. Mark the “Extension filed” and “Military” boxes 
on your return. Keep your payroll records or other 
proof of your combat zone/contingency area service 
and the IRS extension with your tax records; we may 
request a copy at a later date. 

Interest and collections
If your active duty service (Title 10) has materially 
affected your ability to pay your Oregon tax debt, 
you may qualify for relief of interest and collection 
activity while on active duty and up to 180 days 
thereafter. The interest rate on tax debt owed by mili-
tary members is limited to 6 percent annually. File a 
claim for relief by writing to us within 180 days after 
your active duty service has ended. Relief may not 
be available for the period prior to receiving your 
request. Include a copy of orders showing your active 
duty status and dates.

You may qualify for relief of interest and collection 
activity under Oregon law if you meet all of the fol-
lowing requirements:

•	You have a tax liability that came due while on 
active duty under Title 10,

•	You have been on active duty for more than 90 con-
secutive days,

•	Your active duty service (Title 10) occurred on or 
after September 11, 2001, and

•	You notify us within 180 days after your active 
duty service has ended.

Guard members called into active state service by the 
governor under Title 32 may qualify for relief of inter-
est and collection activities on any tax owed prior to 
active state service. Send a written request for relief 
to us within 180 days after the active state service has 
ended. Include a copy of your orders.

To get relief, you have to notify us that you are on 
active duty or send a written request. Relief may not 

be available for the period prior to receiving your 
notification.

Withholding exemption
You have the option to stop Oregon withholding 
from your military pay if all of the following are true:

•	You had a right to a refund of all 2017 Oregon 
income tax withheld because you had no tax liabil-
ity, and

•	You expect a refund of all 2018 Oregon income tax 
withheld because you reasonably believe you won’t 
have any tax liability, and

•	You expect to be stationed outside of Oregon all of 
2018, or you expect to be on active service within 
Oregon but will continue to have an address out-
side of Oregon in the DFAS payroll records for all 
of 2018.

If all of the above are true and you don’t want Ore-
gon tax withheld from your military pay, you must 
file another Form W-4 with your payroll office. This 
Form W-4 is for Oregon tax purposes only and is in 
addition to your federal Form W-4. When complet-
ing a Form W-4 for Oregon only, write “Exempt” 
on line 7. At the top, write “For Oregon Only—Sta-
tioned Outside Oregon” or “For Oregon Only—DFAS 
Address Outside Oregon” in blue or black ink. Give 
this Form W-4 to your pay clerk.

Military spouses
If you’re a military spouse, the state where you live 
may be different from the state where you are domi-
ciled. See “Residency” for more information about 
determining your domicile.

Oregon follows federal law, including the Mili-
tary Spouse Residency Relief Act (MSRRA). Under 
MSRRA, your income may not be taxable to Oregon 
if your spouse is stationed in Oregon, you are living 
in Oregon to be with your spouse, and you and your 
spouse are domiciled outside of Oregon.

In addition, your income may not be taxable if you are 
domiciled in Oregon, but you are living in another 
state where your spouse is stationed. See “Special-
case Oregon residents” in “Residency” for details.

Nonresident spouse of military member 
stationed in Oregon
MSRRA prevents Oregon from taxing your Oregon 
wages if you meet certain criteria. If you moved to 
Oregon only to be with your spouse who is stationed 
here, and you both are domiciled outside of Oregon, 
your Oregon wages are exempt from Oregon tax and 
aren’t considered to be Oregon-source income. Note: 
This exemption doesn’t apply to spouses who are 
also members of the military.
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You aren’t required to file an Oregon return unless 
you had other income from an Oregon source or 
Oregon taxes withheld from your pay. Examples of 
Oregon-source income include:

•	Non-military wages earned by your spouse (the 
military member) in Oregon.

•	Income from a business you operate in Oregon.
•	Rental income from Oregon property.

If you file an Oregon return, use Form OR-40-N. 
Include all of your wages on line 7 in the federal col-
umn only. Don’t include your exempt income (or your 
spouse’s military pay) in the Oregon column. There 
is no further adjustment for your exempt wages. For 
information about the subtraction for your spouse’s 
military pay, see Filing your nonresident return, 
above.

If Oregon taxes were withheld from your exempt 
wages, you should file another Form W-4 with your 
employer. At the top, write “For Oregon Only—
Exempt Military Spouse” and write “Exempt” on line 
7. This Form W-4 is in addition to the one you file for 
federal purposes. Your employer may require proof 
that you qualify for the exemption.

Oregon resident spouse of military member 
stationed outside Oregon
If your spouse is stationed outside of Oregon, but 
you are an Oregon resident living in Oregon, your 
income is taxable for Oregon purposes. If you file a 
joint return with your spouse, use Form OR-40-N, 
and include all of your income in the Oregon column. 
If you and your spouse file a joint federal return, and 
your spouse isn’t a resident of Oregon, you have the 
option to file joint or separate returns. If you file a 

joint return, use Form OR-40-N; if you file married 
filing separate returns, you will use Form OR-40 (or 
Form OR-40-P if you are a part-year resident of Ore-
gon) and your spouse with income taxable to Oregon 
will use Form OR-40-N. If your spouse doesn’t have 
income taxable to Oregon, they aren’t required to file 
a separate Oregon return. Use the general instruc-
tions for all taxpayers.

Do you qualify to be treated as a nonresident because 
you meet the “special-case resident” requirements? If 
so, you aren’t taxed on your out-of-state wages or self-
employment income. This is the case even if the other 
state can’t tax you because of MSRRA. You don’t have 
to file an Oregon return unless you had Oregon tax 
withheld or other Oregon source income, such as 
rental income or retirement pay. See “Special-case 
Oregon residents” in “Residency” for details. If you 
file an Oregon return, use Form OR-40-N.
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Payments and refunds
Payment options

Payment is due on April 17, 2018, regardless of any 
extension you may have to file your return. If pay-
ment isn’t made by the due date, interest and penal-
ties may be charged. See “Interest and penalties” for 
more information. 

Electronic payments from your checking or 
savings account
If you have filed a return with us, you can pay your 
prior year income taxes, current year income taxes, 
and 2018 estimated income taxes directly from 
your checking or savings account. You also have 
the option to pay by direct debit when you file your 
return. There is no fee for this. Visit our website for 
more information.

Credit card payments
You can pay your current-year balance due, make 
estimated tax payments for 2018, and pay prior year 
taxes with your Discover, MasterCard, or Visa credit 
card. 

To pay online by credit card, you must have filed a 
return with us. To make an online payment, go to 
Revenue Online on our website. A convenience fee 
may be charged for this service. Keep the payment 
confirmation number for your records.

Payment by check or money order
•	Make your check or money order payable to 

Oregon Department of Revenue.
•	Write your daytime phone and the tax year to apply 

the payment on your check.
•	Use blue or black ballpoint pen. Don’t use red or 

purple ink or gel pens.
•	Don’t send cash or a postdated check.
•	Include the payment voucher, Form OR-40-V with 

your payment. Form OR-40-V is available in our 
tax booklets, and is available for download on our 
website.

Direct deposit of refund
Your income tax refund can be deposited directly 
into your account at a bank or other financial institu-
tion, including credit unions.

If you are filing a joint return, both you and your 
spouse must sign the tax return. Without both signa-
tures, we can’t deposit the refund directly into your 
account.

Note: Some banks may not accept direct deposits 
into accounts that are payable through another bank. 
Also, some banks don’t permit the deposit of a joint 
refund into an individual account. In addition, we 
can’t direct deposit a refund if the final destination is 
a foreign bank account.

Contact your bank to make sure your deposit will be 
accepted. Make sure you have your correct routing 
number (from a check, not from a deposit slip) and 
account number. See the sample check on the next 
page for help in identifying these numbers.

•	Routing numbers are nine digits and must begin 
with 01 through 12, 21 through 32, or 61 through 72.

•	Account numbers can be up to 17 characters, both 
numbers and letters. Include hyphens, but don’t 
include spaces or special symbols. If your account 
number is fewer than 17 characters, leave the 
unused boxes (on your return) blank.

It is your responsibility to make sure your bank 
information is correct. The department can’t correct 
deposits made to an incorrect bank account approved 
by you. 

We aren’t responsible when a bank rejects a direct 
deposit. If the direct deposit is rejected, we will issue 
a check and send it to the mailing address shown on 
your return.

Application of refund
If you are due a refund of taxes paid on your Form 
OR-40, OR-40-N, or OR-40-P, you may apply some or 
all of your refund to any of the following:

•	Your open estimated tax account.
•	A charitable contribution.
•	An Oregon 529 College Savings Plan.

Estimated tax payment. If you choose to apply some 
or all of your refund as an estimated tax payment to 
a later tax year, you may only apply your refund to 
an open estimated tax account. The election to apply 
your refund to an open estimated tax account is irre-
vocable. An open estimated tax account is an account 
that is set up prior to the due date of your personal 
income tax return, for which no return has been filed. 
The account closes when your return is filed, or if no 
return is filed, by the due date of the return.

Example 1: Beth filed her 2017 Form OR-40 on 
April 5, 2018 claiming a refund of $500 that she elected 
to apply to her estimated tax account. The $500 pay-
ment will be applied as an estimated tax payment to 
Beth’s 2018 estimated tax account.
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Example 2: Ray filed his 2016 return on May 12, 2018. 
Ray claimed a $2,500 refund on his 2016 return and 
elected to apply $2,000 of the refund as an estimated 
tax payment. Ray’s estimated tax account for 2017 
closed on April 17, 2018, the due date of his 2017 tax 
return. Ray’s estimated tax payment of $2,000 must 
be applied to his 2018 estimated tax account. Ray will 
claim the $2,000 as an estimated payment when he 
files his 2018 return.

Example 3: Sally filed her original 2016 Oregon 
return, showing a $650 refund, in February 2017. She 
elected to apply the entire amount as an estimated 
tax payment of 2017 tax. In March 2018, before she 
filed her 2017 return, Sally filed an amended 2016 
Oregon return showing an additional $1,500 refund. 
She elected to apply $500 of this refund as an esti-
mated tax payment. 

On her amended return, Sally enters the total of 
$1,150 ($650 + $500) as the amount she wants to apply 
as an estimated tax payment. At that time, Sally 
had two estimated tax accounts open: tax year 2017  
(January 1, 2017 through April 17, 2018) and tax 
year 2018 (January 1, 2018 through April 15, 2019). 
Unless Sally contacts us to let us know she wants 
the refund applied to her 2017 tax, we will apply the 
$500 overpayment to her 2018 estimated tax account. 
Sally will claim the $500 payment when she files her 
2018 return. 

Example 4: Use the same facts as Example 3, except 
that Sally files her amended 2016 return in May 2018. 
She still enters $1,150 on her amended return as the 
amount she wants to apply as an estimated tax pay-
ment. The $500 will be applied to her 2018 tax, even if 
she hasn't yet filed her 2017 return, because her only 
open estimated tax account at that time is for 2018

Charitable contribution or 529 College Savings Plan 
account deposit. See the form instructions for filing 
your return for details on using your refund to make 
a charitable contribution or deposit to an Oregon 529 
College Savings Plan  account.

Refund processing

How long will it take to get my refund?

Return processing times vary depending on many 
factors, including complexity of the return and our 
verification processes. Electronically filed returns 
process faster. Paper returns must have all support-
ing documentation included to ensure smooth pro-
cessing. Paper returns can also take longer as the due 
date approaches, when the largest number of returns 
are received.  

To check the status of your refund, go to our web-
site and click on Revenue Online.
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Payments and refunds
Payment options

Payment is due on April 18, 2016, regardless of any 
extension you may have to file your return. If pay-
ment is not made by the due date, interest and penal-
ties may be charged. See page 33 for more informa-
tion about penalties and interest. 

Electronic payments from your checking or 
savings account

You can pay your prior year income taxes, current 
year income taxes, and 2016 estimated income taxes 
directly from your checking or savings account. 
There is no fee for this. Visit  www.oregon.gov/dor for 
more information.

Credit card payments

You can pay your current-year balance due, make 
estimated tax payments for 2016, and pay prior year 
taxes with your American Express, Discover, Master-
Card, or Visa credit card. 

To pay your taxes by credit card, contact Value Pay-
ment Systems, Inc. Call toll free 1-888-972-9673 or 
visit their website at  www.payortax.com. A conve-
nience fee may be charged for this service. Keep the 
payment confirmation number for your records.

Payment by check or money order
• Make your check or money order payable to 

Oregon Department of Revenue.
• Write your daytime telephone number and the tax 

year to apply the payment on your check.
• Use blue or black ballpoint pen. Do not use red or 

purple ink or gel pens.
• Do not send cash or a postdated check.
• Include the payment voucher, Form 40-V with your 

payment. Form 40V is available in our tax booklets, 
and both forms are available for download on our 
website.

Direct deposit of refund
Your income tax refund can be deposited directly 
into your account at a bank or other financial institu-
tion, including credit unions.

If you are filing a joint return, both you and your 
spouse must sign the tax return. Without both sig-
natures, we cannot deposit the refund directly into 
your account.

Note: Some banks may not accept direct deposits 
into accounts that are payable through another bank. 
Also, some banks do not permit the deposit of a joint 
refund into an individual account. In addition, the 
department cannot direct deposit a refund if the final 
destination is a foreign bank account.

Direct deposit—necessary numbers
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Refund delays
Several things might delay processing of your tax 
return or your refund:
•	Change in name. If you have a different name in 

our records from a previous filing, special han-
dling will be required.

•	If you notified us about identity theft, special han-
dling will be required.

•	Change in SSN.
•	Application for an ITIN.
•	Failure to attach Forms W-2, 1099, or a similar form 

as proof of Oregon withholding.
•	Failure to attach a copy of your federal return.
•	Claiming the Working Family Household and 

Dependent Care Credit. These refundable tax credit 
claims are reviewed manually and take additional 
time to process.

•	Claiming a manufactured home park closure credit.
•	Failure to identify additions, subtractions, adjust-

ments, modifications, or credits. Numeric codes are 
shown in the appendix.

•	Debt to other agencies. If you or your spouse owe 
money to other agencies (for such things as student 
loans, unpaid parking tickets, or back child sup-
port), your refund might be delayed or used to off-
set your debt.

•	Incorrect bank account information. Verify your 
bank account information for direct deposit 
refunds. If your bank information is incorrect, we 
must wait for the bank to return the funds before 
issuing a refund check.

Injured spouse refund claims 
[ORS 314.415(7)]

Are you filing a joint return with a spouse who 
is separately liable for a debt to a state or federal 
agency? If so, you may request that your joint refund 
be apportioned.
When your return is processed, we will notify you 
of our intent to apply the joint refund to any debts 
owed. Within 30 days of the date of our notice, send 
us your request to apportion the refund.
You may use federal Form 8379, Injured Spouse Alloca-
tion, and fill in the Oregon refund numbers, or create 
your own worksheet. Separate your withholding, tax 
payments, and items of income. Income from jointly 
held property must be split evenly, including interest 
earned on joint bank accounts.
Send your refund claim to this address:

Attention: Accounts Resolution Team
Oregon Department of Revenue
955 Center Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2555

For additional information, visit our website.

Oregon statute of limitations  
on refunds 

Oregon law limits the time you have to claim a refund 
of Oregon tax. The allowable time depends on your 
circumstances. 

Withholding and estimated tax refunds

You must file your original return within three years 
of the due date to claim a refund of tax withheld or 
estimated tax payments. The due date doesn’t include 
extensions. If you file more than three years after the 
due date, the excess tax withheld or estimated tax 
payments can’t be refunded or reduce tax you owe 
for another year.

Amended returns

If your original return was filed within three years 
of the due date, you may amend (change) your return 
and file for a refund of an overpayment of tax within:

•	Three years of the due date of your original return, or
•	Three years of the date you filed your original 

return, or
•	Two years of the date you paid your tax or paid any 

part of your tax, whichever is latest.

If you file your amended return after three years, 
but within two years of the date you paid tax, your 
refund can’t be more than the amount of tax you paid 
during that two-year period.

Note: If we adjusted items on your return and your 
right to appeal has expired, you can’t use the above 
rules. You cannot claim a refund for those items.

Example 1: Bob filed his 2014 Oregon return and paid 
$300 tax due on time. In March 2017, he discovered 
he had forgotten to report some interest income. He 
amended his return. He paid $220 additional tax 
on April 1, 2017. On August 4, 2018, Bob discovers 
he failed to claim a large charitable contribution he 
made in 2014. Bob must amend his 2014 return by 
April 1, 2019. His refund will be limited to $220, the 
additional tax he paid within the last two years.

Federal or other state corrections to  
tax returns

Sometimes when the IRS or another state corrects 
your return, the changes will affect your Oregon 
return, resulting in a refund. You have two years 
from the date of the correction to amend your Oregon 
return and claim a refund, even if the three-year stat-
ute of limitations has expired.
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Amended returns 
Reasons to file an amended return
•	An IRS audit (or other state audit) resulted in a 

change to your original return that affects your 
Oregon return.

•	You amended your federal (or other state) return 
and the changes you made affect your Oregon 
return.

•	You have a net operating loss (NOL) and will carry 
back the NOL to a prior year.

•	You need to correct the income or deductions you 
originally reported.

How do I amend my Oregon return?
You will need the following items:

•	The tax form and instruction booklet for the year 
that you are amending. This will usually be the 
same form type as your original return, unless:

—— You filed Form 40S, but can no longer use that 
form. Use that year’s Form 40 instead; or

—— You filed the incorrect form for your residency 
status. Use the correct form type to amend.

•	A copy of the Oregon tax return that you originally 
filed for the year being amended.

•	A copy of any previously amended returns you 
filed for the year being amended.

•	A copy of all notices from us, another state, or the 
IRS for the tax year being amended.

Follow these steps to amend your return:

1.	Read through these instructions before filling out 
your form.

2.	Mark the “Amended” box on the return.
3.	If we sent you a notice with corrections to your 

return, use the figures from that notice when 
amending your return.

4.	Use the worksheet for amended returns in the 
instruction booklet. Fill out the entire worksheet 
using the corrected information. Note: You can’t 
elect to donate your amended refund to a chari-
table checkoff or political party or deposit your 
amended refund to an Oregon 529 College Savings 
Plan account.

5.	Enter the total amount of overpaid tax for the year 
being amended that you would like to apply to an 
open estimated tax account, including any refund 
amount that you already asked us to apply to an 
open estimated tax account. For more informa-
tion about applying refunds to open estimated tax 
accounts, see “Application of refund“ in “Payments 
and refunds.“.

How long do I have to file for a refund?
In most cases, you must file for a refund within three 
years from the due date of your original return, or 
the date you filed your original return, whichever is 
later. 

For more information about time limits for filing a 
return to claim a refund, see “Oregon statute of limi-
tations on refunds.”

When should I file and pay if I owe 
additional tax?
File your amended return as soon as you know that a 
change needs to be made. Interest is calculated from 
the day after the due date of the original return up to 
the date the tax is paid. Pay any tax and interest due 
as soon as possible to avoid additional interest. There 
may also be a penalty.

How do I file a protective claim for refund?
You can file a protective claim for refund when 
the outcome of a court case or legislative action is 
expected to be known after the time for request-
ing a refund has expired. Use Form OR-PCR when 
your claim to a refund is contingent on a pending 
court decision or legislative action. Notify us every 
six months on the status of the claim. If the court 
decision or legislative action changes your Oregon 
income tax, file an amended return within 90 days of 
the determination. 

How long will it take to process my 
amended return?
Processing time for amended returns varies. It may 
take six months or longer to process your amended 
return.

How do I amend for an NOL?
You may claim a refund from an NOL carryback 
within three years after the due date (including 
extensions) of the return that showed the NOL. Mark 
the “Amended return” box and enter the year of the 
NOL. See “NOLs for Oregon” in “Other items“ for 
more instructions.

Do I change my federal tax liability on my 
amended return?
Usually not, but there are a few exceptions. Follow 
these guidelines to see if the federal tax liability 
amount should be changed on your amended return:

•	Did we correct the federal tax subtraction on your 
original return? If so, change the amount on your 
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amended return. Use the corrected amount from 
our notice.

•	Did you amend your federal return before the 
due date (not including extensions) of the original 
return? If so, change the amount on your amended 
return. The federal tax on your amended federal 
return is the amount you will use for your amended 
Oregon return.

•	Did you pay additional federal tax because you 
were audited or filed an amended return after the 
due date of the original return? If so, do not change 
the amount on your amended return. Claim the 
additional federal tax as a subtraction on your Ore-
gon return in the year you paid the additional tax.

•	Did you get a refund of federal tax because you 
were audited or filed an amended return after the 
due date of the original return? If so, do not change 
the amount on your amended return. Show the 
federal tax refund as an addition on your Oregon 
return in the year you received the refund, but only 
if you received a tax benefit. See “Federal income 
tax refunds“ in “Additions” for more information 
about the tax benefit doctrine. 

•	The amount of federal tax liability you may 
subtract on your return is limited if your AGI 
is within a certain range. A table showing these 
ranges and limitation amounts can be found 
under “Federal income tax liability“ in “Sub-
tractions.“ Is your amended AGI now within a 
different range? If so, change the amount on 
your amended return only if the taxes you are 

deducting were paid or accrued during the tax 
year you are amending. Increase or decrease the 
subtraction to match the limitation amount that 
applies to your amended AGI.

Example 1: Sergei received a notice from us in May 
and is filling out an amended return in July. The notice 
stated that his federal tax subtraction was reduced 
from $3,500 to $3,000. He will use the corrected fed-
eral tax subtraction of $3,000 on his amended return.

Example 2: Alicia paid additional federal tax in 2017 
for an audit adjustment on her 2014 federal tax return. 
She will include the adjusted items when she com-
pletes her amended 2014 Oregon tax return, but won’t 
change the 2014 federal tax subtraction. Because she 
paid the additional tax in 2017, she will subtract this 
amount, up to the annual limit, on her 2017 Oregon 
return. See “Federal income tax liability” in “Subtrac-
tions“ for the federal tax subtraction limits. 

Example 3: Tonya, a single taxpayer, timely filed her 
original 2016 return, with an AGI of $138,000. She 
paid $35,000 in federal taxes during 2016. Her federal 
tax subtraction was limited to $2,600 because of her 
AGI. In 2017, she amended her federal return to claim 
expenses she had left off of her original return. Her 
amended AGI is now $133,000. Tonya may change her 
federal tax liability on her amended return to $3,900, 
the amount she could have claimed on her original 
return, because her limitation amount has changed.
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Interest and penalties
Interest

Interest rates are the same for taxes owed and 
refunds. Interest is charged on tax only and is paid 
on tax only. Interest isn’t charged on penalty. We 
don’t charge compound interest. The following table 
shows interest rates since 2005. For interest rates 
before 2005, contact us. The dates listed are when the 
interest rates were adjusted each year.

Interest
percentage rates

Interest dates Annual Monthly Daily

January 1, 2005 5% 0.4167% 0.0137%

January 1, 2006 7% 0.5833% 0.0192%

January 1, 2007 9% 0.75% 0.0247%

January 1, 2009 6% 0.5% 0.0164%

January 1, 2010 5% 0.4167% 0.0137%

January 1, 2013 4% 0.3333% 0.0110%

January 1, 2017 5% 0.4167% 0.0137%

January 1, 2018 5% N/A 0.0137%

The annual interest rate is 5 percent beginning Janu-
ary 1, 2017. The interest rate may be changed once 
per calendar year. Prior to January 1, 2018, an inter-
est period was one full month (for example, April 16 
through May 15 was one interest period). Interest 
was figured daily for a fraction of a month, based 
on a 365-day year. Beginning January 1, 2018, inter-
est is figured daily, based on a 365-day year. Addi-
tional interest of 4 percent per year is charged as 
described under “Two-tiered interest on deficiencies 
and delinquencies.“

How to figure interest on tax you owe
You must figure interest on the amount of tax not 
paid by the due date of your return. Interest owed on 
income tax starts the day after the original return’s 
due date and goes to the date of your payment. Even 
if you get an extension to file, you still owe interest 
if you pay after the return’s original due date. An 
extension to file isn’t an extension to pay.

If you file an amended return, or if your taxable 
income changed because of a federal or state audit, 
and you have tax to pay, you will be charged inter-
est starting the day after the due date of the original 
return until the date of your payment.

Example:  Nick filed an amended income tax return 
for tax year 2015 on March 12, 2018. His original 2015 
return was due on April 18, 2016. He paid additional 
tax of $500 with his amended return. Here is how 
Nick figures the interest that he owes: 

April 19, 2016 to December 18, 2016

8 full months = 8 interest periods at 0.3333%

0.003333 x $500 x 8 months ....................................=$13.33

December 19, 2016 to December 31, 2016

13 days at a daily rate of 0.0110%

0.000110 x $500 x 13 days ...................................=$  0.72

January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017
1 full year = 1 annual interest period at 5%
0.05 x $500 x 1 year .............................................=$25.00

January 1, 2018 to March 12, 2018

71 days at a daily rate of 0.0137%

0.000137 x $500 x 71 days ......................................  =$ 4.86

Total interest                                                           $43.91

Two-tiered interest on deficiencies and 
delinquencies
Additional interest of 4 percent per year will be 
charged on deficiencies or delinquencies if:
•	You have filed a return showing tax due (a self-

assessed tax liability) and don’t pay the tax due 
within 60 days after the date of our Notice of Assess-
ment, or

•	We have assessed an existing deficiency, and you 
don’t pay the assessment within 60 days after the 
date on the Notice of Assessment.

If you appeal to us (or, in a hardship situation, to 
the Oregon Tax Court) without paying the tax, the 
increased interest rate will start 61 days after:
•	The date of our written objection decision, or
•	The date of our conference decision letter (CDL), or
•	The date the Magistrate Division enters its final 

decision, or
•	The date the Tax Court or the Oregon Supreme 

Court enters its final judgment.

How to figure interest on refunds of 
personal income tax
Interest is paid on refunds due to you if we don’t 
issue your refund by the 45th day after receiving 
your original return or the due date if the return was 
filed early. If you amend your return after the origi-
nal due date, interest will be paid on refunds after the 
45th day following the due date of the original return 
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or the date the original was received, whichever is 
later. If you file your return before the due date, it 
is considered received on the due date. If we issue 
your refund before the 45th day after receiving your 
return, you won’t be paid interest.

Interest on NOL carrybacks is computed starting on 
the 45th day after the filing date or due date of the 
return for the loss year, whichever is later.

Example 1: Irina filed her original 2016 income tax 
return on February 14, 2018 to claim a refund of tax 
paid in the amount of $1,895. The return was due 
on April 18, 2017. We issued the refund on May 7, 
2018, more than 45 days after Irina filed the return.  
The interest on the refund is calculated as follows:

February 15, 2018 to March 31, 2018
     45 days, no interest paid

April 1, 2018 to May 7, 2018 
0.000137 x $1,895 x 37 days	 $9.61

Example 2: Jean filed her original 2015 return on 
April 18, 2016. She then filed an amended 2015 return 
on April 23, 2018, which shows a $1,000 refund. Here 
is how we figure the interest due on Jean’s refund, as 
of the date she filed the amended return:

April 19, 2016 to June 2, 2016 
45 days, no interest paid

June 3, 2016 to December 2, 2016

0.003333 x $1,000 x 6 months.............................=$20.00

December 3, 2016 to December 31, 2016

0.000110 x $1,000 x 29 days.................................=$  3.19

January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017

0.05 x $1,000 x 1 year...........................................=$50.00

January 1, 2018 to April 23, 2018

0.000137 x $1,000 x 113 days ..................................=$ 15.48

Total interest                                                           $88.67

 
Note: Interest is calculated on the amount that is a 
refund of tax paid, including any refund amount 
that you choose to donate by charitable check-off 
or deposit into an Oregon 529 College Savings Plan 
account. 

Interest isn’t paid on the portion of a refund resulting 
from an increase in the Earned Income Credit. Also, 
interest doesn’t accrue on refunds applied as an esti-
mated payment to a later year’s tax. See “Application 
of refund” in “Payments and refunds.“	   

Two-tiered interest on refunds
The interest rate will increase if we are unable to issue 
a refund within 60 days from the date of a Tax Court 
or Supreme Court judgment. The rate will increase 
from 5 percent to 9 percent yearly beginning 61 days 
after the date the final judgment is entered.

Penalties

5 percent failure-to-pay penalty
You must pay a penalty if you don’t pay your tax by 
the original due date of the return, even if you have 
an extension of time to file. The failure-to-pay pen-
alty is 5 percent of the tax (after standard and car-
ryforward credits you reported on your return) that 
wasn't paid by the original due date.

You won’t be charged the 5 percent failure-to-pay 
penalty if you meet all of the following requirements:

•	You file federal Form 4868, Extension of Time to 
File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return (the auto-
matic extension of time to file), or sent us a pay-
ment according to the instructions in Publication 
OR‑EXT; and

•	You pay at least 90 percent of your tax after credits 
by the original due date; and

•	You file your return within the extension period; 
and

•	You pay the balance of tax due when you file your 
return; and

•	You pay the interest on the balance of tax due when 
you file your return or within 30 days of the date of 
the bill you receive from us.

If you file with a valid extension but didn’t pay 90 
percent of your tax by the original due date, you will 
be charged the 5 percent failure-to-pay penalty.

20 percent failure-to-file penalty
You must pay a penalty if you don’t file your return 
within three months after the due date (including 
extensions). The penalty is 20 percent of the unpaid 
tax. The failure-to-file penalty is in addition to the 5 
percent failure-to-pay penalty.

Example: Rosa filed her 2017 return on August 3, 
2018. Her return was due April 17, 2018. She didn’t 
have an extension. She paid the tax due of $2,000 with 
the return. Here is how she figures her penalty:

Penalty (failure-to-pay) 
0.05 × $2,000 tax.................................................=$100

Penalty (failure-to-file) 
0.20 × $2,000 tax ............................................... =$400

Total penalties	 $500
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Note: Rosa will also owe interest for late payment of 
tax. 

You won’t be charged the 20 percent failure-to-file 
penalty if you:

•	File federal Form 4868, Extension of Time to File U.S. 
Individual Income Tax Return (the automatic exten-
sion of time to file), or

•	Make a payment according to the instructions in 
Publication OR-EXT, and

•	File the return within three months after the due 
date (including extensions).

Additional 25 percent failure-to-file penalty
If you fail to file a return within three months of the 
due date (including extensions), we may send you a 
notice with a demand that you file. If you don't file a 
return within 30 days of the date the demand letter 
was mailed, an additional penalty of 25 percent of the 
unpaid tax will be assessed.

100 percent failure-to-file penalty
If you don’t file returns for three consecutive years 
by the due date of the third year’s return, including 
extensions, you must pay a 100 percent failure-to-file 
penalty on the tax due for each year.

100 percent intent to evade penalty
Filing a falsely prepared return with the intent to 
avoid tax will result in a penalty equal to 100 percent 
of the tax deficiency determined by the Department 
of Revenue. In addition, you could be charged with 
tax evasion, a class C felony. You could be fined up to 
$125,000, serve a jail sentence, or both.

Total penalties
The total of these penalties can’t be more than 100 
percent of the tax due. Exceptions: Penalties for sub-
stantial understatement of net tax, filing a frivolous 
return, and abusive tax avoidance transactions may 
be imposed in addition to other penalties.

20 percent substantial understatement of 
net tax penalty
If we determine that you have substantially under-
stated your net tax on your return, you must pay a 
penalty equal to 20 percent of the understated tax.  A 
penalty will be assessed if net tax has been under-
stated by more than $2,400 for all taxpayers (other 
than C corporations) or $3,500 for a C corporation. 
Substantially understated net tax includes net tax on 
income attributable to an abusive tax shelter, even if 
fully disclosed.

This penalty is in addition to all other penalties pro-
vided by law.

$250 frivolous return penalty
If you file a frivolous return that is meant to deliber-
ately delay or block the administration of tax laws, 
you must pay a $250 penalty. “Frivolous” includes, 
but isn’t limited to:

•	An argument, without any good basis, that there 
has been a violation of your constitutional rights.

•	Reliance on a “gold standard” or “war tax” 
deduction.

•	An argument that wages or salary aren’t taxable 
income.

•	An argument that the 16th Amendment to the U.S. 
Constitution was not properly adopted.

•	An argument that “unenfranchised, sovereign, 
freemen, or natural persons” aren’t subject to tax 
laws.

Abusive Tax Avoidance Transaction (ATAT) 
penalties
Penalties can be imposed on income items identified 
by the IRS as ATATs, including listed transactions, 
reportable transactions, and promotion of tax shel-
ters, as follows:

•	A penalty of 60 percent of the understated net 
income from a listed transaction understatement. 
This penalty is in addition to and not in lieu of any 
other penalties.

•	Failure to report a reportable transaction will result 
in a penalty of $3,300 for an individual taxpayer or 
$16,700 for a corporation.

•	If the reportable transaction is also a listed transac-
tion, the penalty is $33,000 for an individual tax-
payer, and $66,000 for a corporation.

•	A promoter of tax shelters will be assessed a pen-
alty of 100 percent of the gross income derived from 
promoting the shelter. This penalty is in addition to 
and not in lieu of any other penalties.

In addition to these penalties, if we find there is a 
deficiency in tax paid as a result of the use of a listed 
transaction reported or reflected by the return, the 
statute of limitations for issuing a notice of that defi-
ciency is increased from three years to nine years 
after the return was filed.
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Audits and appeals
What to do if your return is audited

General information
We audit returns for several reasons. Many audits 
are based on adjustments already made by the IRS, 
with whom we share information. Other returns are 
selected because there are sections of tax law that 
require additional focus due to difficulties in tax law 
application.

An audit is the process of reviewing a return to make 
sure it was prepared correctly. If your return is cho-
sen for an audit, it doesn’t mean you made an error or 
are dishonest.

By law, we must keep your tax information private. 
People who prepare your return or represent you 
must also keep your information confidential. You 
have the right to know why we are asking for infor-
mation, exactly how we will use any information you 
provide, and what might happen if you don’t provide 
the information.

Our goal is to treat taxpayers fairly. We strive to be 
responsive to the issues and reasonable in our deci-
sions and actions. We will explain any changes we 
make to your return. We encourage you to ask about 
anything you don’t understand.

For more information, read our publication Your 
Rights as an Oregon Taxpayer. You can find the publica-
tion on our website or call us to order a copy.

Types of reviews
Processing adjustments. Processing adjustments are 
corrections we make to a return while we process it.

Federal audits. These audits are based on informa-
tion from the IRS. This information includes the IRS' 
CP2000 program and federal Revenue Agent Reports. 
The CP2000 program matches W-2 and Form 1099 
information reported by payers to what is shown on 
a return. A Revenue Agent Report is a federal audit 
report showing adjustments the IRS made to a return. 
If you received either of these reports from the IRS, 
you need to determine if the changes made by the 
IRS affect your Oregon return. If they do, you should 
amend your Oregon return as soon as possible. Inter-
est charges accrue until all tax is paid. If you don’t 
amend your Oregon return, you may receive a notice 
from us showing adjustments we have made to your 
return.

Correspondence audits. These are written requests 
asking you to confirm items on a return. The let-
ter will explain what items are being reviewed and 
what we need to verify them. You will be asked to 
send copies of the documents to the auditor who will 
review the information and notify you of the results. 
Correspondence audits usually don’t require a meet-
ing with the auditor.

Field audits. These audits are more in-depth. They 
include the review of income and expenses from 
businesses, farms, partnerships, corporations, or 
rentals. Field audits usually require a meeting with 
the auditor. The time and place of the meeting will be 
arranged between you and the auditor.

What records will I need for the audit?
You’ll get a letter from us asking questions and 
requesting copies of specific documents. Answer 
the questions completely and send copies of the 
requested documents by the deadline in the let-
ter. It’s important that you provide a complete copy 
of your state and federal tax records. See “Record-
keeping requirements” in “General information” for 
additional tips. You should also keep a copy of your 
response to the audit letter.

If you get a letter asking you to make an appoint-
ment, contact the auditor who sent the letter. We try 
to schedule audit appointments at your convenience. 
It may be held at your home or office, at your repre-
sentative’s office, or at one of our field offices.

The letter will explain the records needed for the 
audit. Organize the information for the appoint-
ment. The auditor may ask you to leave the records 
while the audit is being conducted. You may ask for a 
receipt for the records you leave.

Generally, your return is examined in the district 
where you live. If your return can be examined more 
quickly and easily in another district (such as where 
the books and records are located), you may ask to 
have the audit transferred.

Who can represent me?
Throughout any audit, you can represent yourself, 
have someone accompany you, or designate some-
one to represent you. You may represent yourself 
in all stages of your audit and appeal. However, if 
your case is hard to understand or involves many 
issues, you may want someone to help you. Also, if 
someone else prepared the return, you may want 
their help. You may authorize someone to receive 
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your confidential information, or you may desig-
nate someone to represent you, who would be able 
to make decisions for you. People who can represent 
you are Oregon-licensed:

•	Lawyers.
•	Public accountants or certified public accountants.
•	Tax consultants.
•	Enrolled agents.

Out-of-state CPAs may practice in Oregon if they 
meet the substantial equivalency requirements (ORS 
673.010):

1.	 Licensed in another state; and
2.	 Have an accredited baccalaureate degree with at 

least 150 semester hours; and
3.	 Passed the Uniform CPA exam; and
4.	 Have a minimum of one year of experience.

If you own a business and have an employee who 
regularly does your tax work, that employee can also 
represent you. 

You must give written authorization to a person you 
want to represent you. Use our Tax Information Autho-
rization and Power of Attorney for Representation form. 
The auditor handling the case can provide a copy of 
this form, or you can download it from our website or 
call us to order a copy.

What if I disagree with the audit results?
When we propose changes to your return, we will 
explain the reasons for them. It’s important that you 
understand why we propose changes. Ask about 
anything that is unclear to you.

If you disagree with our action, you can appeal. 
Appeal rights will be included with the notice you 
receive. 

What if the IRS or another state has audited 
my return?
We have an agreement with the IRS to exchange tax 
return information. If the IRS audits an Oregon tax-
payer's return, we may receive a copy of that infor-
mation. If your federal return or the return you filed 
with another state is adjusted, you should amend 
your Oregon tax return if that adjustment also affects 
your Oregon return.

If your return was previously audited by the IRS and 
the notice you receive from us has a different adjust-
ment, send a copy of the final audit adjustments or 
cancellation from the IRS to us.

If you filed an appeal with the IRS or the other state 
and you get a notice from us, send a copy of the IRS or 
other state appeal notification. We will suspend fur-
ther action until your IRS or other state case is resolved.

You have two years from the date of the correction 
to claim a refund of Oregon tax as a result of the 
audit adjustment. See “Oregon statute of limitations 
for refunds” in “Payments and refunds” for more 
information.

Appeals
If you disagree with an action we've taken, you have 
the right to appeal. Follow the appeal procedures out-
lined here if you have a disagreement with:

•	A Notice of Deficiency or Notice of Proposed Refund 
Adjustment.

•	Our notice based on a federal audit report or an 
audit by another state.

•	Penalties or interest charges shown on our notice.
•	Interest charged on underpayment of estimated 

tax.
•	A Notice of Assessment.

You may be able to resolve certain issues without a 
formal appeal process. Contact us if your disagree-
ment concerns:

•	The date or amount of payments made to your 
account.

•	A withholding adjustment.

Appealing a Notice of Deficiency or Notice of 
Proposed Refund Adjustment within 30 days
If you disagree with a Notice of Deficiency or a Notice 
of Proposed Refund Adjustment, you may submit an 
appeal online by logging in to Revenue Online and 
following the instructions on your notice. Or, you 
may submit an appeal in writing within 30 days from 
the date on our notice. Choose just one of these two 
options: written objection or conference request.

Written objection. Write to us explaining why you 
disagree with the Notice of Deficiency or Notice of Pro-
posed Refund Adjustment. Include any new informa-
tion you have. We will review your explanation, try 
to resolve the matter, and send you a written deci-
sion. If an auditor adjusted your return, that auditor 
will review your explanation, along with any infor-
mation you provide, and send you a written decision. 

Conference. Request a conference by sending us an 
explanation of why you disagree with our Notice of 
Deficiency or Notice of Proposed Refund Adjustment. 
Include any new information you have. Be sure 
to indicate that you are requesting a conference. A 
conference officer will discuss the matter with you 
or with someone you choose to represent you, usu-
ally by phone. The conference officer will send you a 
written decision. You may choose to receive the deci-
sion by either regular or certified mail. 
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If you disagree with the auditor’s or conference offi-
cer’s decision, you may continue your appeal and 
will receive new appeal instructions.

Appealing a Notice of Proposed Refund 
Adjustment after 30 days have passed 
If you don’t send us a written objection or conference 
request, but you still want to appeal a Notice of Pro-
posed Refund Adjustment, you must file a complaint 
with the Magistrate Division of the Oregon Tax Court 
no later than 120 days from the date of the notice. 
If you don’t file a complaint within 120 days, your 
appeal rights will expire and the adjustment can’t be 
changed.

See “Appealing to the Oregon Tax Court” for more 
information. 

Appealing a deficiency based on federal 
audit reports or audit reports of other states
Do you have an appeal in progress with the IRS or 
another state? If so, you may have extra time to file 
an appeal with the Magistrate Division of the Oregon 
Tax Court. To see if the appeal rights apply to you, 
answer the following questions:

1. Did you receive an Oregon notice of a deficiency on 
	 the same item billed by the IRS or another state?
2. Did you file a timely appeal with the IRS or another 
	 state?

If you answered “no” to either question, use the 
appeal procedures included with your Oregon notice. 
If you answered “yes” to both questions, you need to 
send us proof of your appeal to the IRS or other state. 
This should include a copy of the notice from the 
IRS or other state, plus a copy of your written appeal 
request. 

The time allowed for filing your proof of federal or 
other state’s appeal varies:

•	Did you receive a Notice of Deficiency from us? If 
so, send us proof of your IRS or other state appeal 
within 30 days of the date on the Notice of Deficiency. 
Your account will be assessed without penalty and 
held until the appeal with the IRS or other state is 
resolved. 

•	Did you receive a Notice of Assessment from us 
before sending us proof of the appeal? If so, send 
us proof of your IRS or other state appeal as soon 
as possible. After you file proof of your appeal, we 
will delay any further action on your account until 
the appeal process is completed. 

Note: Interest will continue to accrue on any unpaid 
tax.

You must notify us within 30 days of the final resolu-
tion of your appeal with the IRS or the other state. We 

will review the information and determine whether 
any adjustments need to be made to your Oregon tax 
return. You will receive written notification of our 
determination. If you disagree with our determina-
tion, you may appeal within 90 days to the Magis-
trate Division of the Oregon Tax Court. Your com-
plete appeal rights will be explained with the written 
determination. 

Appealing penalty or interest
Do you believe there is reasonable cause for a reduc-
tion of penalties or interest? If so, you may ask for a 
waiver or reduction of part or all of the penalty and 
interest charges. However, we generally won’t waive 
interest charges.

Waiver criteria are outlined in the Oregon Admin-
istrative Rules (OAR) (OAR 150-305-0060). You must 
explain how your situation meets any of the criteria. 
We will review your waiver request and let you know 
our decision in writing. If you disagree with the deci-
sion, you will receive further appeal instructions.

How to start the appeal process
All appeals must be submitted through Revenue 
Online or sent to us in writing. If you are sending us 
a written appeal, you may submit it by regular mail, 
fax, or email. 

Your written appeal must include:

•	Your full name.
•	Your current mailing address.
•	Your SSN or ITIN.
•	The tax year(s) involved.
•	A detailed explanation of why you are appealing.
•	Proof of your IRS or other state appeal, if applicable.
•	The waiver criteria if you are requesting a reduc-

tion of penalty or interest (OAR 150-305-0060).
•	Any new information you want us to consider; and
•	A phone where you can be reached during the day.

Be sure to indicate whether you are making a writ-
ten objection, requesting a conference, or requesting 
a waiver or reduction of penalties or interest. Keep us 
informed of any changes to your address or phone.

Regular mail. Send your written appeal to:

Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14725
Salem OR 97309-5018

If you are appealing interest on underpayment of 
estimated tax (UND), include “Attention: UND 
Team” with the mailing address.

Email. If you are appealing a determination made 
by an auditor, you may send a written objection or 
request for a conference to that auditor by email. The 
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auditor’s email address should be included in the 
contact information of the notice you received. We 
can’t guarantee the security of information sent by 
email.

Fax: You may fax your written appeal to 503-945-8738. 

Revenue Online: You may submit your appeal using 
your Revenue Online account. After logging in, sim-
ply click on the “Appeals” link and follow the instruc-
tions. Be sure that the type of appeal you select is the 
one you intend to choose. Go to our website for more 
information about setting up your Revenue Online 
account. 

Appealing to the Oregon Tax Court
If you disagree with a Notice of Assessment or a writ-
ten determination following your written objection 
or conference, you have the right to appeal. You must 
appeal to the Magistrate Division of the Oregon Tax 
Court within 90 days of the date of the Notice of 
Assessment or our written determination. Complaint 
forms for appealing to the Magistrate Division are 
available from the Tax Court’s website, www.courts.
oregon.gov/tax, or you may contact the Oregon Tax 
Court by mail or phone:

Oregon Tax Court
Magistrate Division
1163 State Street
Salem OR 97301-2563
(503) 986-5650
TTY (503) 986-5651

Mail the signed complaint form along with the fil-
ing fee and a copy of the Notice of Assessment or other 
written determination to the above address.

Note: You can’t appeal tax that you said you owed 
when you filed your return.

Further appeal rights
Tax paid in full. If you pay the tax due in the Notice 
of Deficiency in full, your deficiency is considered to 
be assessed either on the date of your payment or 30 
days from the date of the notice, whichever is later.

If you don’t file a timely appeal, you have two years 
from the date your liability is paid in full to appeal 
the assessment. Appeal to the Magistrate Division of 
the Oregon Tax Court as outlined above.

Doubtful liability. In certain situations, we may con-
sider your case even if you didn’t file a timely appeal. 
Visit our website or contact us to see if you meet the 
conditions for “doubtful liability” relief. 

Interest charges
Appealing a deficiency or an assessment won’t stop 
interest from accruing on the taxes owed. Interest 
is computed from the day after the due date of the 
original return, without extensions, to the date of 
payment. Interest is charged even if you have a valid 
extension. If your appeal results in a reduction of the 
tax due, the interest charges will also be reduced.

Paying your taxes during the appeal
You may pay your balance due at any step of the 
appeal process. Payment doesn’t mean you agree 
with the notice. Payment stops interest charges from 
accruing on your liability. 

If you don’t pay before the tax is assessed, a 5 percent 
failure-to-pay penalty will be added to your balance 
due. If your appeal is successful, you will receive a 
refund of any overpayment, including interest.

See “Payments and refunds“ for payment options, 
and “Interest and penalties“ for more information 
about the failure-to-pay penalty.
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Failure to file an Oregon income tax return
For information about penalties for failing to file an 
Oregon income tax return, see “Penalties.”

Filing a return after tax is assessed
When you don’t file a tax return but were required to 
file, we will “assess” your tax. This means we com-
pute how much tax you owe based on information 
we have available. You will then receive a Notice of 
Assessment.

Even if we have assessed your tax for one or more 
years, you may still file returns for those years.

Why you should file
We compute your tax assessment using the infor-
mation available to us about your income, filing sta-
tus, exemptions, and withholding or estimated tax 
payments.

Because we don’t have all your tax information, we 
may not be able to give you all the deductions or 
credits you may be entitled to. Once you file a tax 
return, we may be able to change the tax we assessed.

You may receive a refund
If your withholding and/or estimated tax payments 
add up to more than the tax due, we may be able to 
refund the excess to you. However, there are time 
limits. If you paid more tax than you should have, 
a refund will be allowed only if you file your return 
within three years of the due date of the original 
return, not including extensions.

For example, the return for 2015 was due April  18, 
2016. Three years after that date is April 18, 2019. To 
receive a refund of excess tax payments for 2015, your 
return must be postmarked within three years or by 
April 18, 2019.

Where to mail your return after tax is 
assessed
Send paper returns, with a copy of your federal Form 
1040, 1040A, or 1040EZ, to:

Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14600
Salem OR 97309-5049

Reviewing your return
After reviewing your return, if we agree with the 
tax you show, we will change the tax assessed. If the 
income, deductions, credits, or payments shown on 
your return don’t match our information, we will 

notify you. The notice we send will explain our 
adjustments and what to do if you disagree.

Your return must include information about filing 
status, exemptions, income, deductions, credits, tax, 
and payments. It must be signed and include a state-
ment that, to the best of your knowledge and belief, 
is true, correct, and complete. The full statement is 
printed on the forms provided by us and appears 
directly above the signature lines. If you change 
this statement on the form, your return may not be 
accepted. Your return also may not be accepted if:

•	It contains a frivolous argument concerning the 
payment of taxes, or

•	You file a return you know isn’t true or correct.

You will receive a Notice of Rejection if your return 
isn’t accepted. This notice can be appealed to the 
Magistrate Division of the Oregon Tax Court within 
90 days of the date of the notice, but only if your 
return was sent to us within 90 days of the date on 
the Notice of Assessment.

Appealing the Notice of Assessment to the 
Oregon Tax Court
You may also choose to file an appeal with the Mag-
istrate Division of the Oregon Tax Court. Your appeal 
must be made within 90 days of the date of the Notice 
of Assessment or within two years after the tax, pen-
alty, and interest shown on the notice is paid in full. If 
you file an appeal with the Magistrate Division, you 
will usually be required to file a tax return before the 
court will change our assessment.

You can get a complaint form for filing an appeal at:

Oregon Tax Court
Magistrate Division
1163 State Street
Salem OR 97301-2563
(503) 986-5650
TTY (503) 986-5651
www.courts.oregon.gov/tax

Within 90 days of the date on your notice, mail the 
following items to the address above:

•	Your completed and signed complaint form.
•	Your filing fee, and
•	A copy of the Notice of Assessment.

Appealing doesn’t stop interest from being charged 
on the tax you owe. If you appeal and your tax assess-
ment is reduced, the penalty and interest charges will 
also be reduced.
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Paying your taxes during the appeal process
You can pay your balance due at any step of the appeal 
process. Payment doesn’t mean you agree with the 
assessment. Payment stops more interest from being 
charged. If you pay, you can still appeal any time 
within two years of the date you pay the tax, penalty, 
and interest shown on the Notice of Assessment. See 
“Payments and refunds” for payment options.

Requesting a waiver of penalty or interest
You can ask for a discretionary waiver of part or all of 
the penalty and interest charges (OAR 150-305-0060). 

Most penalty and interest charge disagreements 
can be resolved with us. For more information on 
your appeal rights when requesting a discretion-
ary waiver, see “Appealing penalty or interest” in 
“Audits and appeals.“

If you believe part or all of the penalty and interest 
charges should be adjusted, write to:

Oregon Department Revenue
PO Box 14725
Salem OR 97309-5018
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Income 
What income is taxable in Oregon?

Full-year residents (Form OR-40). You are taxed on 
income from all sources.

Part-year residents (Form OR-40-P). You are taxed 
on income from all sources earned or received while 
an Oregon resident. For the period of time you were 
not an Oregon resident, Oregon taxes only certain 
income from Oregon sources. 

Nonresidents (Form OR-40-N). You are taxed on 
income from Oregon sources. This includes income 
shown on your federal return from Oregon wages 
or Oregon fees or for services performed in Oregon. 
Other income from Oregon sources includes:

•	Businesses, S corporations, partnerships, and lim-
ited liability companies taxed as partnerships 
located or doing business in Oregon.

•	Unemployment insurance benefits received 
because of an Oregon job.

•	Severance pay you received because of an Oregon 
job.

•	Oregon farms.
•	Oregon estates and trusts.
•	Sales of Oregon property.
•	Rents and royalties for use of Oregon property.

Note: Community property income. Oregon isn’t 
a community property state. If you’re a resident of 
Oregon and your spouse is a resident of a state with 
community property laws, you may be taxed on part 
of your spouse’s income. Community property laws 
in the state where your spouse lives determine if 
you are taxed on any of your spouse’s income. See 
“Residency” for more information about community 
property.

Air carrier employees  
(OAR 150-316-0173)

Nonresidents. You are exempt from Oregon tax on 
wages earned while working on aircraft in Oregon, if 
you meet all of the following qualifications:

•	You are a nonresident of Oregon; and
•	You perform regularly assigned duties on air-

craft in Oregon and at least one other state as an 
employee of an air carrier; and

•	Your scheduled flight time in Oregon is 50 percent 
or less of your total scheduled flight time during 
the calendar year.

Additionally, the air carrier you work for must 
provide: 

•	Interstate or foreign air transportation of passen-
gers or property by aircraft as a common carrier for 
compensation; or

•	Interstate or foreign transportation of mail by 
aircraft. 

If you are a federal, state, or local government 
employee, you may not exclude your income under 
this section. (U.S. Postal Service employees are con-
sidered employees of the federal government.)

If you meet all of these qualifications, file Form OR-
40-N and mark the “Employment exception” box on 
the return. [For more information about the “Employ-
ment exception” box, see “Interstate Transportation 
Wages (Amtrak Act).“] Show that your income is 
exempt by excluding it from the Oregon column. If 
all of your wages are exempt, enter -0- in the Oregon 
column. 

Example 1: Chantell is a nonresident who works as a 
pilot for an Oregon-based corporation, transporting 
the corporation’s executives to various job locations 
in the United States. Chantell isn’t exempt from Ore-
gon tax because she doesn’t work for an air carrier 
that provides air transportation for compensation. 
Her wages are subject to Oregon tax to the extent ser-
vices are performed in Oregon. 

Example 2: George is a nonresident who works as 
an office manager for an air carrier. Each calendar 
year, he works as a substitute pilot outside of Oregon 
in order to log the minimum amount of flight time 
required to retain his pilot’s license. George doesn’t 
qualify as exempt from Oregon tax because his “reg-
ularly assigned duties” aren’t on an aircraft, but as a 
manager in an office.

Example 3: Allison is a nonresident and works as 
a flight attendant for Delta Airlines. She regularly 
works on flights in California, Oregon, and Washing-
ton. Her scheduled flight time in Oregon amounts to 
35 percent of her total scheduled flight time this year. 
Because Allison meets the qualifications mentioned 
above, she can exclude, from the Oregon column, all 
of her wages from Delta Airlines on her Oregon non-
resident return.

Oregon withholding. To stop withholding of Oregon 
income tax from your exempt wages, complete Form 
W-4 and write “exempt” on line 7. At the top of Form 
W-4 write “For Oregon Only–Air Carrier Employee.”  
Give this Form W-4 to your payroll clerk.
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Alimony received
Full-year residents. Oregon taxes all alimony you 
received during the year.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes any alimony you 
received for the part of the year you were a resident 
of Oregon.

Nonresidents. Oregon doesn’t tax any alimony you 
received while a nonresident of Oregon.

Business income or loss
Full-year residents. Oregon taxes all of your business 
income (or allows your business loss) received during 
the year.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes all of your business 
income (or allows your business loss) while you’re an 
Oregon resident. Oregon also taxes income (or allows 
losses) from an Oregon business while a nonresident. 

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes your income (or allows 
your loss) from an Oregon business. This includes 
apportioned business income and allocated nonbusi-
ness income from sole proprietorships.

Federal Schedule E and F income
Full-year residents. Oregon taxes the income reported 
on federal Schedules E and F, including rent, royalty, 
Real Estate Mortgage Investment Conduits (REMIC), 
Real Estate Investment Trust (REIT), partnership, S 
corporation, estate, trust, and farm income.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes the income reported 
on federal Schedules E and F that you received while 
you were an Oregon resident. Oregon also taxes this 
income if you received or earned it from Oregon 
sources while a nonresident.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes the income reported on 
federal Schedules E and F that you received or earned 
from Oregon sources.

Gain, loss, and distributions

Capital gain, loss, and distributions
Full-year residents. Oregon taxes your gain or distri-
bution received (or allows losses you incurred) dur-
ing the year. Limit net losses to $3,000 ($1,500 if your 
filing status is married filing separately).

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes your gain or distri-
bution received (or allows losses you incurred) while 
you were an Oregon resident. Oregon also taxes 

gain or distributions received (or allows losses you 
incurred) from Oregon sources while a nonresident. 
Limit net losses to $3,000 ($1,500 if your filing status 
is married filing separately). If you’re an Oregon resi-
dent at the end of the year, your capital loss carryfor-
ward for Oregon is the same as the amount allowed 
on your federal return.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes your gain or distribution 
(or allows your loss) from Oregon sources. Limit net 
losses to $3,000 ($1,500 if your filing status is married 
filing separately).

Note: See “Capital loss carryover difference” under 	
“Additions” for information about an addition to Ore-
gon income for capital losses carried over from last 
year’s return under certain unusual circumstances.

Other gain or loss
Full-year residents. Oregon taxes your gain (or allows 
your loss) received during the year.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes your gain (or 
allows your loss) while an Oregon resident. Add to 
that figure the amount from Oregon sources while a 
nonresident.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes your gain (or allows 
your loss) from Oregon sources.

Hydroelectric dam workers  
[ORS 316.127(8)]

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes all of your wages 
earned while working on the McNary, John Day, The 
Dalles, or Bonneville dams.

Part-year residents. Follow the instructions for non-
residents, but exempt only the wages earned dur-
ing the part of the year you were a nonresident of 
Oregon. Mark the “Employment exception” box on 
your return and exclude the wages you earned while 
working on any of the dams listed here. 

Nonresidents. You are exempt from Oregon tax on 
wages earned while working on the McNary, John 
Day, The Dalles, or Bonneville dams. Mark the 
“Employment exception” box on Form OR-40-N, and 
show that this income is exempt by entering -0- in 
the Oregon column for these wages. If you have any 
other income from Oregon sources, you must show 
that income in the Oregon column. 

Oregon withholding. To stop withholding of Oregon 
income tax from your exempt wages, complete Form 
W-4 and write “exempt” on line 7. At the top of Form 
W-4 write “For Oregon Only—(name of the dam).” 
Give this Form W-4 to your payroll clerk.
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Individual Retirement Account (IRA) 
distributions

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes any taxable IRA 
distribution you received during the year and any 
amounts reported in federal income that you con-
verted from a regular IRA into a Roth IRA. 

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes any taxable IRA 
distribution you received while you were an Oregon 
resident. Oregon also taxes income amounts from 
IRA conversions if you were an Oregon resident at 
the time of the conversion.

Nonresidents. Oregon doesn’t tax any amount unless 
you are a nonresident domiciled in Oregon. If you are 
domiciled in Oregon but otherwise taxed as a non-
resident, your Oregon-source IRA will still be taxed 
by Oregon. See “Retirement income.“

Interest and dividend income

Interest
Generally, interest income is only taxed by your state 
of residence. It includes any interest received or cred-
ited to your account that you could withdraw and 
any interest you received on tax refunds.

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes the interest income 
you received and reported on your federal return.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes the interest income 
you received while you were an Oregon resident. 
Oregon also taxes Oregon business activity interest 
income received while a nonresident.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes the interest income you 
received on funds used for business activity in Ore-
gon. Oregon doesn’t tax interest received on install-
ment sales.

Dividends
Generally, dividend income is only taxed by your 
state of residence. Include the stock dividends you 
received under a public utility dividend reinvestment 
plan in Oregon income.

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes the dividends you 
received during the year.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes all dividends you 
received while an Oregon resident that are included 
on your federal return. Oregon also taxes any S cor-
poration or partnership dividends taxable to you 
during the part of the year you were a nonresident.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes dividends passed 
through to you from an S corporation or partnership 
that has no business activity outside Oregon. These 

are dividends your S corporation or partnership 
received on the stock of another corporation.

Exceptions:

•	Interest and dividends on government bonds of 
other states, see “Interest and dividends on govern-
ment bonds of other states.”

•	Interest and dividends on US bonds and notes, see 
“Interest and dividends on U.S. bonds and notes.”

Interstate transportation wages 
(Amtrak Act ) (OAR 150-316-0173)

Nonresidents. Are you a nonresident of Oregon with 
regularly assigned duties in Oregon and at least one 
other state? If you meet certain qualifications (listed 
below), Oregon won’t tax you on these wages. File 
Form OR-40-N and show this income is exempt by 
entering -0- in the Oregon column for these wages. 
Check the “Employment exception” box on your 
return.

State income tax provisions in the federal Amtrak 
Reauthorization and Improvement Act of 1990, Pub-
lic Law 101-322, can be found in Title 49, United States 
Code (U.S.C.), Sections 11502 and 14503. These provi-
sions, which we refer to as the “Amtrak Act,“ prohibit 
states and local governments from taxing compensa-
tion of certain nonresident employees who have reg-
ularly assigned duties in more than one state.

If you are a federal, state, or local government 
employee, you may not exclude your income under 
these federal laws. (U.S. Postal Service employees are 
considered employees of the federal government.)

Who qualifies?
To qualify, you must work for:

•	An interstate railroad, or
•	An interstate motor carrier, or
•	An interstate motor private carrier.

Note:  You may receive overtime payment at the dis-
cretion of your employer and be subject to the juris-
diction of the U.S. Secretary of Transportation. Refer 
to your employer to determine if you are subject to 
the U.S. Secretary of Transportation or the Fair Labor 
Standards Act. You can’t be subject to both.

In addition, you must:

•	Be a nonresident of Oregon; and

•	Have regularly assigned duties in more than one 
state (that is you perform duties in each state on a 
regular basis; duties you perform on an “on-call” or 
“as-needed” basis or on a sporadic or intermittent 
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basis during the year aren’t considered “regularly 
assigned.”); and

•	Be subject to the jurisdiction of the U.S. Secretary of 
Transportation; and

•	Not be covered under the overtime requirements of 
the Fair Labor Standards Act.

For employees of interstate motor carriers or motor 
private carriers, you must:

•	Perform work that directly affects the safety of a 
commercial motor vehicle. This means you are 
required by your regularly assigned routine and 
duties to work directly with a commercial motor 
vehicle or its contents. The duties must be direct 
and hands-on, requiring you to physically move, 
touch, or affect the vehicle or its contents. Super-
visory, managerial, consulting, or other duties that 
indirectly affect the safety of a motor vehicle don’t 
meet the definition of “directly affects,” and

•	Work as:

—— An operator of a commercial motor vehicle,
—— A mechanic,
—— A freight handler, or
—— Someone, other than an employer, who directly 
affects the safety of a motor vehicle.

A commercial motor vehicle is any self-propelled or 
towed vehicle used on highways in interstate com-
merce to transport passengers or property if such 
vehicle:

•	Has a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 
10,000 pounds, or

•	Is designed or used to transport passengers for 
compensation, except for vehicles providing taxi 
cab service when the vehicle has a capacity of eight 
or fewer passengers and isn’t operated on a regular 
route or between specified places, or

•	Is designed to transport more than 15 passengers, 
including the driver, and isn’t used to transport 
passengers for compensation, or

•	Is used and labeled for the transportation of haz-
ardous materials.

Example 1: Adam and Natalya are married nonresi-
dents who are filing a joint federal return. Adam 
works for an Oregon interstate motor carrier as a 
commercial motor vehicle driver. He has a regular 
route from Idaho to Oregon, delivering products in 
Oregon. Because Adam is the driver of a commer-
cial motor vehicle and has regularly assigned duties 
in more than one state, this income is exempt from 
Oregon tax. Natalya is a chef at an Oregon restau-
rant. They must file a joint Form OR-40-N, but won't 
include the exempt income from Adam's wages in the 

Oregon column. Only Natalya's wages are entered in 
the Oregon column. 

Example 2: Brenda is a nonresident who works for an 
interstate motor carrier as a mechanic directly affect-
ing the safety of commercial motor vehicles engaged 
in interstate commerce. She has regular duties in a 
Washington terminal and an Oregon terminal. She 
works one day a week in Washington and four days 
a week in Oregon.

Because Brenda directly affects the safety of a com-
mercial motor vehicle in interstate commerce and 
performs regularly assigned duties in two states, she 
is exempt from Oregon tax. It doesn’t matter that the 
majority of her work is performed in Oregon. Brenda 
must file a Form OR-40-N and show this income is 
exempt by entering a zero in the Oregon column for 
these wages.

Example 3: Jorge is a nonresident who works as a 
mechanic for an interstate motor carrier, directly 
affecting the safety of commercial motor vehicles 
engaged in interstate commerce. He regularly works 
in Medford but is required to be on-call some week-
ends to perform minor repair work. Several times a 
year he may travel to California to repair a flat tire, 
do minor engine work, etc.

Jorge doesn’t have regularly assigned duties in more 
than one state. Duties that are performed on an on-
call or as-needed basis aren’t considered to be regu-
larly assigned. Jorge’s wages earned in Oregon are 
taxable by Oregon. He must file Form OR-40-N and 
report his wages in the Oregon column.

Example 4: Carl is a nonresident who works for an 
interstate motor carrier as a driver. Carl picks up a 
lumber delivery truck every morning in Washing-
ton and receives delivery assignments for the day. 
Depending on where the lumber needs to be deliv-
ered, he may not come to Oregon on a daily basis. 
Carl may pick up and deliver lumber only within 
Washington or only within Oregon. Carl drives to 
Oregon at least once a month. 

Due to the nature of the business, the company 
may not be able to assign regular duties to Carl. 
The company itself doesn’t know what each day’s 
delivery route will be until customers place orders. 
Although Carl may not have a regular route in Wash-
ington and Oregon, he does drive to Oregon at least 
once a month. Carl is considered to have regularly 
assigned duties in two states, as long as all routes 
are assigned randomly among all drivers on a regu-
lar basis. Carl’s wages earned in Oregon are exempt 
from Oregon tax. Carl must file Form OR-40-N and 
show this income is exempt by entering a zero in the 
Oregon column for these wages.
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Example 5: Ed is a nonresident who works for an 
Oregon wholesaler as a shipping clerk. The com-
pany has one terminal in Oregon and one terminal 
in Washington. Ed regularly works in both terminals. 

Although he has regularly assigned duties in two 
states, Ed’s Oregon wages aren’t considered exempt 
within the scope of the Amtrak Act. He isn’t a driver, 
mechanic, or freight handler. His duties don’t directly 
affect the safety of a vehicle. Ed’s wages earned in 
Oregon are taxable by Oregon. He must file Form OR-
40-N and include his income in the Oregon column.

Example 6: Frieda is a nonresident who works for an 
Oregon retail store as a freight handler. Her regularly 
assigned duties are to load and unload freight. Occa-
sionally, Frieda is asked to fill in as a driver and, over 
the course of a year, may drive several routes in and 
out of Oregon. Frieda doesn’t have “regularly assigned 
duties in more than one state” and she doesn’t work for 
an interstate motor carrier. Her Oregon-source wages 
are taxable by Oregon. Frieda must file Form OR-40-N 
and include her income in the Oregon column.

Example 7: Butch is a nonresident who works for an 
Oregon-based interstate trucking carrier as a super-
visor. His regular duties within the state of Oregon 
include safety training. Also, Butch frequently drives 
to Washington to conduct safety training.

Wages for performing supervisory duties don’t qual-
ify as exempt under the Amtrak Act. The employee’s 
duties must directly affect the safety of a commercial 
vehicle. Conducting safety training only indirectly 
affects the safety of a commercial motor vehicle. 
Butch’s wages are taxable by Oregon. He must file 
Form OR-40-N and include his wages in the Oregon 
column.

Example 8: Connie Sue is a nonresident who works for 
an interstate trucking carrier at her company’s Oregon 
and Washington yards. She has a variety of duties, 
including helping load trucks. Connie Sue is allowed 
overtime as a result of being subject to the Fair Labor 
Standards Act.

Because she is covered under the Fair Labor Stan-
dards Act and isn’t subject to the jurisdiction of the 
Secretary of Transportation, Connie Sue doesn’t 
qualify for the Amtrak Act exemption. Her wages are 
taxable by Oregon. She must file Form OR-40-N and 
include her wages in the Oregon column.

Example 9: Ken is a nonresident who works as a line 
repairman for a utility company. He uses a company 
truck with a gross vehicle weight of more than 10,000 
pounds to make service calls in both Oregon and 
Washington.

Ken’s wages aren’t exempt from Oregon taxa-
tion because the utility company’s truck isn’t a 

“commercial motor vehicle” (a motor vehicle used 
to transport passengers or property). Ken’s Oregon 
wages are taxable by Oregon. He must file Form OR-
40-N and include his wages in the Oregon column.

Employer withholding
If your wages are exempt from Oregon tax under the 
Amtrak Act, Oregon tax doesn’t have to be withheld 
from your wages. You may claim exemption from 
Oregon withholding on a separate Form W-4 you file 
with your employer. On this Form W-4 write “For 
Oregon Only—Amtrak” and attach an explanation of 
qualifying duties. You must still file an Oregon tax 
return even if you claim exemption from withhold-
ing under the Amtrak Act.

Like-kind exchange or involuntary 
conversion (ORS 316.738, 317.327)

You may elect to defer gain on like-kind business or 
investment property that is exchanged or converted. 
If Oregon property is exchanged for like-kind prop-
erty located outside of Oregon, include Form OR-24 
with your Oregon return in the year of the exchange 
or conversion, or submit it to us through Revenue 
Online. Submit the form to us each year, even if 
you're not required to file an Oregon income tax 
return, until you've disposed of the like-kind prop-
erty. Download the form from our website or call us 
to order it.

Full-year residents. You will report the gain on the 
sale or other disposition of the acquired property to 
Oregon when it’s reported on your federal return.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. If you were 
an Oregon resident at the time of the exchange and 
deferral of gain, file an Oregon return and report the 
Oregon portion of the gain when you report the gain 
on your federal return. If you were a nonresident at 
the time you exchanged your Oregon property and 
deferred the gain, or when the gain is reported on 
your federal return, you will need to file an Oregon 
Form OR-40-N to report the gain.

Retirement income
Full-year and part-year residents. Most retirement 
income is subject to Oregon tax when received by 
an Oregon resident. This is true even if you were a 
nonresident when you earned the income. How-
ever, if you have federal pension income, you may 
subtract some or all of it from Oregon income. See 
“Federal pension income” in “Subtractions” for more 
information.
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For other exceptions, see “Previously taxed employee 
retirement plans” and “Previously taxed IRA conver-
sions” in “Subtractions.”

Nonresidents. Oregon doesn’t tax your retirement 
income if you are a nonresident who isn’t domiciled 
in Oregon. If you are an Oregon nonresident who is 
still domiciled in Oregon, any Oregon-source retire-
ment income is taxable by Oregon. This applies to 
most forms of retirement income taxed by Oregon, 
including public pension plans, corporate retirement 
plans, Keogh plans, simplified employee pensions 
(SEPs), and IRAs. For the definition of domicile, see 
“Residency.”

Example: Hiro has always resided and worked in 
Oregon, which he thinks of as his home. He recently 
retired and now receives his pension and interest 
income from Oregon. Earlier this year, he sold his 
Oregon residence, bought an RV, and went to Ari-
zona, where he rents space year-round in an RV park. 
He intends to stay in Arizona for a year or two and 
then return to Oregon.

Hiro hasn’t given up his Oregon driver’s license. His RV 
and vehicles are registered with the state of Oregon. He 
hasn’t changed his voter registration to any other state.

Hiro hasn’t shown an intent to give up Oregon as his 
home and maintain a permanent home elsewhere. 
Based on these facts, Hiro's domicile is in the state of 
Oregon. Although Hiro may be treated as a nonresi-
dent for tax purposes on other forms of income (his 
interest income isn’t taxed by Oregon), because his 
domicile is still Oregon, his Oregon-source retirement 
income is taxable by Oregon.

Retirement income means income from:

•	Qualifying employer pension and profit-sharing 
plans exempt from federal tax [IRC Section 401(a)].

•	Annuity plans [IRC Sections 403(a) and 403(b)].
•	Cash or deferred compensation arrangements [IRC 

Sections 401(k) and 457 plans].
•	Simplified employee pension plans [IRC Section 

408(k)].
•	Individual retirement arrangements [IRC Sections 

408(a) and 408(b)].
•	Plans for federal, state, or local government employ-

ees [IRC Section 414(d)].
•	Pay for uniformed service members under chapter 

71 of Title 10 of the United States Code.
•	Trusts that were created before June 25, 1959 [IRC 

Section 501(c)(18)].

Payments received after termination of employ-
ment qualify if the payment is made under a plan, 
program, or arrangement maintained solely for the 
purpose of providing retirement benefits that exceed 

the amounts allowed under the qualified retirement 
plans described above.

Payments received from nonqualified deferred com-
pensation plans [as described in IRC Section 3121(v)(2)
(C)] qualify if the payments are part of a series of sub-
stantially equal periodic payments made:

•	For the life or life expectancy of the recipient, or
•	For a period of at least 10 years.

Retirement income doesn’t include income received 
from:

•	Social Security,
•	Stock options,
•	Restructured stock plans,
•	Severance plans, or
•	Unemployment insurance benefits.

Social Security and Railroad  
Retirement Board benefits  
(ORS 316.054)

Oregon doesn’t tax any amount of your Social 
Security, Railroad Retirement Board, or railroad 
unemployment benefits. For information on the 
Railroad Retirement Board and Social Security ben-
efits subtractions, see the related sections under 
“Subtractions.”

State and local income tax refunds
If you received a refund of income tax from another 
state or local government that is included in your fed-
eral income, and you deducted those taxes on a prior 
year’s Oregon return, include the refund in your 
Oregon income. This refund isn’t taxable to Oregon 
if you didn’t deduct the taxes on an Oregon return.

See the related sections under “Subtractions” for 
information on the Oregon income tax refund 
subtraction.

Unemployment insurance benefits  
and other taxable income

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes unemployment 
insurance benefits and any other taxable income you 
received during the year.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes unemployment 
insurance benefits and any other taxable income you 
received while an Oregon resident. Oregon also taxes 
any unemployment insurance benefits and other 
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taxable income from Oregon sources or based on 
Oregon sources received while a nonresident.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes any unemployment 
insurance benefits and any other taxable income 
included in federal AGI received from Oregon 
sources or based on Oregon sources.

Wages, salaries, and other pay for 
work

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes all of your earnings 
for services you performed inside and outside Oregon.

Part-year residents. *Oregon taxes all of your earn-
ings while an Oregon resident. Oregon also taxes 
the amount you earned working in Oregon while 
you were a nonresident. If your Oregon wages aren’t 
stated separately on your W-2, compute your Oregon-
source income using the formula at the end of this 
section.

Nonresidents. *Oregon taxes the income you earned 
while working in Oregon. Oregon doesn’t tax any 
amount you earned while you were working outside 
Oregon.

*Nonresident exceptions: To see if you qualify to 
exclude certain income, see “Air carrier employees,“ 
“Interstate transportation wages (Amtrak Act),“ or 
“Hydroelectric dam workers“ under “Income“ or 
“Waterway workers“ below.

If the amount you earned working in Oregon differs 
from the Oregon wages shown on your Form W-2, 
compute your Oregon-source income using the for-
mula at the end of this section.

You should ask your employer to provide you with a 
signed explanation of the wage difference, written on 
company letterhead. Keep the explanation with your 
tax records, as we may ask for it at a later date.

Important information for using this formula: When 
you count the number of days you actually worked in 
Oregon and the number of days you actually worked 
everywhere, don’t include holidays, vacation days, or 
sick days. These aren’t days that you actually worked. 
Your employer paid you for these days based on the 
days you worked. However, include your sick pay, 
holiday pay, and vacation pay in total wages. 

Use this formula to determine total wages taxable by 
Oregon:

Days actually worked in Oregon
× Total 

wages = Oregon 
wagesTotal days actually worked everywhere

If you only worked in Oregon, don’t use the formula 
above. All your earnings are taxable by Oregon, and 
you must report them on your Oregon return.

Waterway workers (ORS 316.127)
Full-year residents. Oregon taxes all the income you 
earned while working on a watercraft in interstate 
waters.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes all the income 
you earned while working on a watercraft in inter-
state waters during the part of the year you were an 
Oregon resident. For the part of the year you were a 
nonresident, see the following guidelines.

Nonresidents. Certain nonresident employees serv-
ing on watercraft who have regularly assigned duties 
in interstate navigable waters aren’t subject to Oregon 
income tax.

To qualify you must:

•	Be engaged on a vessel to perform assigned duties 
in more than one state as a pilot licensed under 46 
U.S.C. Section 7101 or licensed or authorized under 
the laws of the state, or

•	Perform regularly assigned duties while engaged as a 
master, officer, or member of a crew on a vessel oper-
ating in navigable waters in two or more states.

If you qualify, Oregon won’t tax these wages. File 
Form OR-40-N (or Form OR-40-P if a part-year resi-
dent) and show this income is exempt by entering 
a zero in the Oregon column for these wages. Mark 
the “Employment exception” box on your return. See 
“Interstate Transportation Wages (Amtrak Act)” for 
more information. 

To stop withholding of Oregon income tax from your 
exempt wages, complete an additional Form W-4 
and write “exempt” on line 7. At the top of Form W-4 
write “For Oregon Only—Waterway Worker.” Give 
this Form W-4 to your payroll clerk. 
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Adjustments
The items in this section are adjustments reported 
in the  “Adjusted Gross Income” section of fed-
eral Form  1040. For full-year residents, these items 
flow through to your Oregon return, so no adjust-
ments are needed. Part-year residents and nonresi-
dents must report these items on Form OR-40-P or 
OR-40-N. Items with an adjustment code must be 
reported in section 1 of Schedule OR-ASC-NP. Enter 
the total amount from section 1 on your return. If 
there is no numeric code provided for an adjustment, 
the amount is reported directly on your return.

Alimony paid
The alimony you paid must be taxable income to 
your former spouse.

Full-year residents. Oregon allows the same deduc-
tion you claimed on your federal return. The federal 
deduction flows through to your Oregon return via 
your federal AGI. Don’t claim an additional deduc-
tion on your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Oregon allows a deduction for 
alimony you paid while an Oregon resident. Oregon 
also allows a partial deduction for alimony paid while 
a nonresident if you had Oregon-source income. Use 
the nonresident formula to determine your deduc-
tion amount. Add these amounts together for your 
total deduction.

Nonresidents. Oregon allows a partial deduction 
for alimony you paid while a nonresident if you had 
Oregon-source income. Use this formula to deter-
mine your deduction:

Oregon-source income 
while a nonresident

×
Alimony you 
paid while a 
nonresident 

= Nonresident 
deductionTotal income received  

while a nonresident 

Certain business expenses of 
reservists, performing artists, and 
fee-basis government officials

[Adjustment code 002]

Reservists
Full-year residents. Oregon allows the deduction you 
claimed on your federal return. The federal deduc-
tion flows through to your Oregon return via your 
federal AGI. You may not claim an additional deduc-
tion on your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Oregon allows a deduction for 
the expenses you incurred while you were an Oregon 

resident. Enter the full amount in the federal column 
and the Oregon amount in the Oregon column of 
Schedule OR-ASC-NP.

Nonresidents. Your reservist income isn’t taxed by 
Oregon; therefore, you may not take an expense deduc-
tion. Enter the full amount in the federal column and 
-0- in the Oregon column of Schedule OR-ASC-NP. 

Performing artists
Full-year residents. Oregon allows the deduction you 
claimed on your federal return. The federal deduc-
tion flows through to your Oregon return via your 
federal AGI. Don’t claim an additional deduction on 
your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Oregon allows the deduc-
tion claimed on your federal return for expenses 
paid while you were an Oregon resident. Oregon 
also allows a partial deduction for these business 
expenses while you were a nonresident if you had 
Oregon-source income. Use the formula under Non-
residents to determine your nonresident deduction 
amount. Enter the sum of the Oregon amounts in the 
Oregon column of Schedule OR-ASC-NP, and the full 
federal amount in the federal column. 

Nonresidents. Oregon allows a partial deduction for 
your performing artist employee business expenses 
while you were a nonresident if you had income from 
an Oregon source. Your Oregon deduction can’t be 
more than your federal deduction. Use this formula 
to determine your deduction:

Oregon-source  
income while a  

nonresident
×

Performing artist 
employee  
business  

expenses paid 
while a  

nonresident

= Nonresident 
deductionTotal income from 

all sources while a 
nonresident

Fee-basis government officials
If you are a government official who is paid on a fee 
basis instead of wages or salary, the expenses you have 
for performing services may be claimed on your fed-
eral return as an adjustment instead of being claimed 
as an itemized deduction. This section explains how 
these expenses are treated on your Oregon return.

Full-year residents. Oregon allows the deduction you 
claimed on your federal return. The federal deduc-
tion flows through to your Oregon return via your 
federal AGI. You may not claim an additional deduc-
tion on your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Oregon allows a deduction for 
the expenses you paid while you were an Oregon 
resident. Oregon also allows a partial deduction for 
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the expenses you paid while you were a nonresident, 
if you had Oregon-source income. Use the formula 
under Nonresidents to determine your nonresi-
dent deduction. Add your resident and nonresident 
amounts together for your total Oregon deduction. 
Enter this amount in the Oregon column and the fed-
eral amount in the federal column of Schedule OR-
ASC-NP. Note: Your Oregon deduction can’t be more 
than the deduction allowed on your federal return.

Nonresidents. Oregon allows a partial deduction for 
your expenses for performing official services while 
you were a nonresident, if you had Oregon-source 
income. Use this formula to determine the deduction 
amount to enter in the Oregon column of Schedule 
OR-ASC-NP. Enter the federal amount in the federal 
column of the schedule. Your Oregon deduction can’t 
be more than the deduction allowed on your federal 
return.

Oregon-source income 
while a nonresident

×

Official business 
expenses paid 

while a  
nonresident

=
Non-

resident 
deductionTotal income from all 

sources while a nonresident

Domestic production activities 
deduction (ORS 316.836)

[Adjustment code 006] 

Oregon’s tie to federal income tax law doesn’t include 
the federal deduction for domestic production activi-
ties contained in IRC Section 199. This deduction is 
also known as the “qualified production activities 
income” deduction, or QPAI.

Part-year residents and nonresidents who take this 
deduction on their federal return must report the 
deduction as an adjustment to income on Schedule 
OR-ASC-NP using adjustment code 006. Enter the 
full amount of the deduction in the federal column 
and -0- in the Oregon column. You will also have an 
addition on Schedule OR-ASC-NP to add the full 
amount of the deduction back to federal income. See 
this topic under “Additions” for more information.

Educator expenses
Full-year residents. Oregon allows the deduction 
claimed on your federal return. The federal deduc-
tion flows through to your Oregon return via your 
federal AGI. You won’t claim an additional deduction 
on your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Oregon allows a deduction for 
the qualified educator expenses you paid while you 
were an Oregon resident. Oregon also allows the 
amount of qualified educator expenses you paid 
while working in an Oregon elementary or second-
ary school during the part of the year you were a 
nonresident of Oregon. You may deduct the total you 
paid but not more than the amount allowed on your 
federal return.

Nonresidents. Oregon allows a deduction for the 
qualified educator expenses you paid while working 
in an Oregon elementary or secondary school. You 
may deduct the total you paid but not more than the 
federal amount.

Health Savings Account deduction
[Adjustment code 003]

Full-year residents. Oregon allows the deduction you 
claimed on your federal return. The federal deduc-
tion flows through to your Oregon return via your 
federal AGI. You may not claim an additional deduc-
tion on your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Oregon allows a deduction for 
your Health Savings Account contribution made 
while you were an Oregon resident. Oregon also 
allows a partial deduction for your contribution 
while you were a nonresident if you had Oregon-
source income. Use the formula under Nonresidents 
to determine your nonresident deduction amount. 
Add these amounts together and enter the sum in the 
Oregon column of Schedule OR-ASC-NP. Enter the 
federal amount in the federal column of the schedule. 

Nonresidents. Oregon allows a partial deduction 
for your Health Savings Account contribution while 
you were a nonresident if you had Oregon-source 
income. Use this formula to determine your deduc-
tion. Enter this amount in the Oregon column and 
the federal amount in the federal column of Schedule 
OR-ASC-NP.

Oregon-source  
income 

while a nonresident
×

Health Savings 
Account  

contribution  
made while a  
nonresident

= Nonresident 
deductionTotal income from  

all sources while a  
nonresident
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Interest penalty on early  
withdrawal of savings

[Adjustment code 004]

Full-year residents. Oregon allows the same deduc-
tion you claimed on your federal return. The federal 
deduction flows through to your Oregon return via 
your federal AGI. You may not claim an additional 
deduction on your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Oregon allows the same deduc-
tion you claimed on your federal return if the penalty 
is related to interest taxed by Oregon. Enter the federal 
and Oregon amounts on Schedule OR-ASC-NP.

Example: Liam claimed a deduction of $1,795 on his 
federal return for an early withdrawal penalty. Only 
30 percent of the interest income related to this pen-
alty is taxable by Oregon and reportable in the Oregon 
column. Liam’s Oregon deduction is also limited to 30 
percent of the penalty, so his deduction will be $539. 

Nonresidents. Because Oregon generally doesn’t tax 
interest of a nonresident, there is no deduction for a 
nonresident. Enter the full amount in the federal col-
umn on Schedule OR-ASC-NP and -0- in the Oregon 
column.

IRA or self-employed SEP  
and savings incentive match 
plan for employees (SIMPLE) 
contributions

Oregon follows the federal definition of earned 
income and compensation used to calculate your IRA 
and other retirement plan deductions.

Note: If any part of your contribution deduction 
came from the rollover of an Individual Develop-
ment Account (IDA), you must add back the amount 
already subtracted as an IDA contribution. See “Indi-
vidual Development Account“ under “Additions” for 
more information.

Full-year residents. Oregon allows the same deduc-
tion you claimed on your federal return. The federal 
deduction flows through to your Oregon return via 
your federal AGI. You may not claim an additional 
deduction on your Oregon return.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You may be 
limited in the amount of IRA or other retirement plan 
contributions you can deduct for Oregon. Use these 
formulas to figure your deduction:

IRA formula. For the part of the year you were a non-
resident, use this formula to determine your Oregon 
deduction:

Oregon compensation 
while a nonresident

×
IRA contributions 

made while a  
nonresident

= Nonresident 
deductionTotal compensation 

while a nonresident

Add the amount you paid while an Oregon resident 
to your nonresident deduction. The deduction in the 
Oregon column is limited by:

•	The federal limitations, and
•	Income taxed by Oregon.

Self-employed SEPs, SIMPLEs, and other qualified 
plans. Use this formula to determine your Ore-
gon deduction for the part of the year you were a 
nonresident:

Oregon earned income 
while a nonresident

×
Contributions 
made while a 
nonresident

= Nonresident 
deductionTotal earned income 

while a nonresident

Add the amount you paid while an Oregon resident 
to your nonresident deduction. The deduction in the 
Oregon column is limited by:

•	The federal limitations, and
•	Income taxed by Oregon.

Moving expenses  
(OAR 150-316-0181)

Full-year residents. Oregon allows you the same 
deduction you claimed on your federal return. The 
federal deduction flows through to your Oregon 
return via your federal AGI. You may not claim an 
additional deduction on your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Oregon allows a deduction for 
your moving expenses only if they were connected 
to employment in Oregon.

Example 1: Helen moved from Seattle, Washington to 
Portland, Oregon in order to take a job in Portland. 
Her moving expenses are deductible for Oregon.

Example 2: Ezra moved out of Oregon to take a job in 
another state. His moving expenses aren’t deductible 
for Oregon.

Nonresidents. Oregon allows this deduction only if 
your moving expenses were paid in connection to 
Oregon employment.

Example 3: Javier moved from Texas to Payette, 
Idaho, to take a job in Ontario, Oregon. His moving 
expenses are deductible for Oregon.
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Self-employed health insurance 
This deduction is limited to earned income from 
your trade or business for which the insurance plan 
was established.

Full-year residents. Oregon allows you the same 
deduction you claimed on your federal return. The 
federal deduction flows through to your Oregon 
return via your federal AGI. Don’t claim an addi-
tional deduction on your Oregon return.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Oregon allows 
a deduction for 100 percent of your health insurance 
premiums related to your self-employment for the 
part of the year you were an Oregon resident. Add 
the health insurance premiums paid by an Oregon 
business from which you received self-employment 
income while a nonresident. Your total Oregon 
deduction can’t be more than your federal deduction 
and is limited to the earnings from self-employment 
reported in the Oregon column.

Self-employment tax 
Full-year residents. Oregon allows the deduction you 
claimed on your federal return. The federal deduc-
tion flows through to your Oregon return via your 
federal AGI. Don’t claim an additional deduction on 
your Oregon return.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Oregon allows 
a deduction for self-employment tax related to earn-
ings taxed by Oregon. Your Oregon deduction can’t be 
more than your federal deduction. Use this formula:

Self-employment 
earnings taxed by Oregon

×

Federal 
deduction for  

self-employment  
tax

= Oregon 
deductionTotal self-employment 

earnings

Student loan interest 
Full-year residents. Oregon allows the deduction you 
claimed on your federal return. The federal deduc-
tion flows through to your Oregon return via your 
federal AGI. Don’t claim an additional deduction on 
your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Oregon allows a deduction for 
the student loan interest you paid while you were an 
Oregon resident. Oregon also allows a partial deduc-
tion for student interest you paid while you were a 
nonresident if you had Oregon-source income. Use 
the formula under Nonresidents to determine your 
nonresident deduction amount. Add these amounts 
together for your total deduction. Your total Oregon 
deduction can’t be more than your federal deduction.

Nonresidents. Oregon allows a partial deduction for 
the student loan interest you paid while you were 
a nonresident if you had Oregon-source income. 
Your Oregon deduction can’t be more than your fed-
eral deduction. Use this formula to determine your 
deduction.

Oregon-source income 
while a nonresident

×

Student 
loan  

interest paid  
while a  

nonresident

= Nonresident 
deductionTotal income from all 

sources while a nonresident

Write-in adjustments on federal 
Form 1040, line 36 

[Adjustment code 005] 
Did you include any of these write-in deductions 
from federal income on Form 1040, line 36 or Form 
1040NR, line 35? If so, enter the full amount in the 
federal column on Schedule OR-ASC-NP, and any 
amount incurred while an Oregon resident or which 
are deductible from Oregon-source income while a 
nonresident in the Oregon column. 

•	Archer MSA deduction (see federal Form 8853, 
Archer MSAs and Long-Term Care Insurance Contracts).  

•	Jury duty pay if you gave the pay to your employer 
because your employer paid your salary while you 
served on the jury. 

•	Deductible expenses related to income from the 
rental of personal property, where the rental activ-
ity was engaged in for profit.  

•	Reforestation amortization and expenses (see fed-
eral Publication 535, Business Expenses).  

•	Repayment of supplemental unemployment ben-
efits under the Trade Act of 1974 (see federal Publi-
cation 525, Taxable and Nontaxable Income).

•	Contributions to Section 501(c)(18)(D) pension plans 
(see federal Publication 525, Taxable and Nontaxable 
Income).

•	Contributions by certain chaplains to Section 403(b) 
plans (see federal Publication 517, Social Security and 
Other Information for Members of the Clergy & Reli-
gious Workers).  

•	Attorney fees and court costs for actions involving 
certain unlawful discrimination claims, but only to 
the extent of gross income from such actions (see fed-
eral Publication 525, Taxable and Nontaxable Income).  

•	Attorney fees and court costs you paid in connec-
tion with an award from the IRS for information 
you provided that helped the IRS detect tax law 
violations, up to the amount of the award includ-
ible in your gross income. 

•	Scholarship and fellowship grants excluded from 
federal income, reported on Form 1040NR, Line 
31 (see federal Publication 970, Tax Benefits for 
Education).
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Additions
Generally, additions are items the federal govern-
ment doesn’t tax but Oregon does. Additions increase 
your income taxed by Oregon. 

Numeric codes are provided with the explanation for 
most additions. For part-year residents and nonresi-
dents, some additions will be reported as modifica-
tions. This is required when an amount you are add-
ing must be adjusted for Oregon tax purposes. When 
this is the case, a modification code is provided with 
the explanation for that addition. Enter the numeric 
code and the dollar amount of each addition or modi-
fication on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP. The 
total dollar amount of additions and modifications is 
then reported on your return. 

If there is no numeric code provided for an addition 
or modification, the amount is reported directly on 
your return. 

Accumulation distribution from 
certain domestic trusts  (ORS 
316.737)

[Addition code 132]

If you used federal Form 4970 to figure the partial 
tax on a distribution of accumulated income from a 
domestic trust created before March 1, 1984, contact 
us or email the Fiduciary Unit at estate.help.dor@
oregon.gov for information about this addition.

Achieving a Better Life Experience 
(ABLE) Account nonqualified 
withdrawal [ORS 316.680(2)(k)]

[Addition code 164]

Did you withdraw funds from an Oregon ABLE 
account for a purpose other than paying for quali-
fied disability expenses? If the withdrawn funds 
were from contributions previously subtracted on 
your Oregon return, you must report an addition 
on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP for the amount 
you withdrew. Qualified disability expenses are 
defined in IRC Section 529A. For more information 
about Oregon ABLE accounts and examples of quali-
fied withdrawals, see “ABLE Account deposit” in 
“Subtractions.“

Capital loss carryover difference
[Addition code 162]
This addition affects few taxpayers. You'll have an 
addition on your Oregon return only if you're car-
rying over a capital loss from last year’s return and 
last year’s federal AGI was within the limits shown 
in this table. If so, contact us for instructions for cal-
culating your Oregon addition. 

If you claimed: and your federal AGI was 
between:

The standard 
deduction on both 
your federal and 
Oregon returns.

Oregon standard deduction 
minus $3,000 and federal 
standard deduction.

Itemized deductions 
on both your 
federal and Oregon 
returns.

Net Oregon itemized 
deductions minus $3,000 and	
federal itemized deductions.

The standard 
deduction on your 
federal return 
and itemized for 
Oregon only.

Net Oregon itemized 
deductions minus $3,000 and	
federal standard deduction.

You have an addition on your Oregon return.

Child Care Fund contributions     
(ORS 315.213)

[Addition code 142] [Modification code 642]
If you claimed a deduction on Schedule A for the 
amount you paid for your Child Care Fund contribu-
tion tax credit, you will have an Oregon addition for 
the portion of your deduction included in your credit.

Example: Fern made a contribution to the Child Care 
Fund in the amount of $10,000. On her Oregon return 
she will claim a credit of $5,000 for her contribution 
(she is limited to 50 percent of her contribution, or 
her tax liability, in any given year). If Fern claims the 
$10,000 contribution as an itemized deduction on her 
Schedule A, she must add back $5,000 to her income 
on Schedule OR-ASC using addition code 142. 
For more information on the Child Care Fund tax 
credit, see this topic under “Carryforward credits.”
Part-year residents and nonresidents. See “Net Ore-
gon itemized deductions“ in “Other items“ to learn 
how to report your addition using modification code 
642 on Schedule OR-ASC-NP.
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Claim of right income repayments	
(ORS 315.068)

[Addition code 103] [Modification code 649]
Did you repay more than $3,000 of income taxed by 
Oregon in a prior year and claim a federal claim of 
right deduction under IRC Section 1341? If so, you may 
claim an Oregon credit based on the Oregon tax you 
paid in that earlier year for the income that you repaid. 

Note: Repayments of $3,000 or less don’t qualify for 
an Oregon credit.

If you claimed a federal deduction on Schedule A for 
your repayment, you may choose to allow the deduc-
tion to flow through to your Oregon return, or you 
may claim the Oregon credit, but you may not do 
both. If you choose to allow the deduction to flow 
through, there is nothing more to do. If you choose 
to claim the credit, however, you must add back your 
federal deduction on Schedule OR-ASC using addi-
tion code 103. For more information see this topic 
under “Refundable credits.”

Part-year residents and nonresidents. See “Net Ore-
gon itemized deductions” in “Other items“ to learn  
how to report your addition as a negative modifica-
tion on Schedule OR-ASC-NP.

Depletion [ORS 316.680(2)(d)]
[Addition code 151]
Depletion is using up natural resources by mining, 
quarrying, drilling, or felling. The depletion deduc-
tion allows an owner or operator to account for the 
reduction of a product’s reserves.

If you claim percentage depletion on your federal 
return, you must add to your Oregon income any 
depletion that is more than your adjusted basis in 
the property. The addition includes any depletion in 
excess of basis taken by an S corporation or partner-
ship of which you are a shareholder or partner. Usu-
ally you need to add to Oregon income any depletion 
that is a preference item subject to the federal alterna-
tive minimum tax.

Discharge of indebtedness from 
reacquisition of debt instrument 
(ORS 316.739)

For tax years 2009 and 2010 Oregon was not tied to 
the deferral and required an addition on your Oregon 
return. As of 2011,  Oregon is tied to this federal law and 
no addition is required.

Disposition of inherited  
Oregon farmland or forestland   
(ORS 316.844)

[Addition code 106]

You may have an addition on your return if:

•	You dispose of farmland you inherited from some-
one who died on or after October 5, 1973, and before 
January 1, 1987, or

•	You dispose of forestland you inherited from 
someone who died on or after November 1, 1981, 
and before January 1, 1987.

You may have this addition because the valuation of 
the land for Oregon inheritance tax purposes may 
differ from the valuation for federal estate tax pur-
poses. Generally, the federal valuation is the fair mar-
ket value of the property at the date of the previous 
owner’s death. The Oregon valuation is usually less 
than the federal valuation, because for inheritance 
tax purposes the property may have been valued as 
farm-use or forestland.

Farm-use value. If the previous owner died on or after 
October 5, 1973, but before September 12, 1975, use the 
farm-use value for the year preceding death. If death 
occurred on or after September 13, 1975, use the farm-
use value for the year of death. You won’t have this 
addition if the carryover basis was elected for a death 
after December 31, 1976, but before November 7, 1978.

Forest-use value. Use the forest-use value for the year 
of death.

How to figure the addition. This addition is equal to 
the difference between:
•	The taxable gain or loss, using the Oregon valua-

tion as your basis, and
•	The taxable gain or loss, using the federal valuation 

as your basis.

This addition will increase the gain or reduce the loss 
you reported on your federal return.

Transfers of property. An addition is required when 
the beneficiary sells the inherited property. It is also 
required when:

•	You recognize gain or loss on property that 
acquired the inherited property’s basis due to a 
nontaxable exchange or involuntary conversion.

•	You recognize gain or loss on property you received 
as a gift from a donor who inherited it.

Example: Anne inherited farmland from a relative 
who died on March 1, 1982. She sold the land on 
May 1, 2017, for $1,100,000. The fair market value at 
the date of the relative’s death was $180,000. The farm-
use value of the land on the 1982–83 property tax 
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statement was $50,000. Anne must show a $130,000 
addition on Schedule OR-ASC using addition code 
106. Here is how she figures her addition:
Oregon valuation:
 Selling price $ 1,100,000
 Less: Farm-use value – 50,000
 Gain   $ 1,050,000
Federal valuation:
 Selling price $ 1,100,000
 Less: Fair market value
  on March 1, 1982 – 180,000
 Gain    – 920,000
Difference in total gain   

Addition amount    $ 130,000

Disqualified charitable donations 
(ORS 128.760, 128.763)

[Addition code 160] [Modification code 650]
The Oregon Department of Justice (DOJ) is now issu-
ing disqualification orders to charitable organiza-
tions that fail to spend at least 30% of their annual 
functional expenses for program services. Names of 
disqualified organizations can be found by contact-
ing DOJ. For more information, visit the DOJ website, 
www.doj.state.or.us. The organization is required to 
notify you that your donation may not be deducted 
on your Oregon return. If you made such a donation, 
you must add back the amount of the donation that 
you deducted on your federal Schedule A. Enter the 
amount on Schedule OR-ASC using addition code 160. 
Part-year residents and nonresidents. See “Net Ore-
gon itemized deductions” in “Other items“ to learn 
how to report the addition as a negative modification 
on Schedule OR-ASC-NP.

Domestic production activities 
deduction (ORS 316.836)

[Addition code 102]
Oregon’s tie to federal income tax law doesn’t include 
the federal deduction for domestic production activi-
ties contained in IRC Section 199. This deduction is 
also known as the “Qualified Production Activities 
Income” deduction, or QPAI. If you have taken this 
deduction on your federal return, you must add back 
the amount of the deduction on your Oregon return.
Full-year residents. Report the amount you deducted 
as an addition on Schedule OR-ASC, section 1.
Part-year residents and nonresidents. Enter the full 
amount of the deduction in the federal column and 
-0- in the Oregon column of Schedule OR-ASC-NP, 
section 2. You must also report the amount deducted 
on your federal return as an adjustment. See this 
topic under “Adjustments” for more instructions. 

Federal election on interest and 
dividends of a minor child 
(ORS 316.372)

[Addition code 107]
Did you report the interest or dividends of your 
minor child on your federal return? If so, you must 
add the amount subject to the special federal tax to 
Oregon income. You must also include any interest 
or dividends your child received on bonds or notes of 
another state or political subdivision of another state 
that you didn’t include on your federal return.
Full-year residents. Oregon taxes the smaller of line 
13 or 14 from federal Form 8814. Oregon also taxes 
any interest or dividends your child received from 
state and local governments outside Oregon.
Part-year residents. Oregon taxes the interest and 
dividends your child received while you were an 
Oregon resident.
Nonresidents. Oregon generally doesn’t tax interest 
or dividends received while you were a nonresident.

Federal estate tax  
[ORS 316.680(2)(c)]

[Addition code 157] [Modification code 605]
Federal estate tax on income in respect of a decedent 
(IRD) is allowed as a deduction on your federal return. 
If any of this tax is on income not taxed by Oregon, you 
must show an addition on your Oregon return. 
Use this formula to figure the Oregon addition:

IRD not taxable 
by Oregon

×
Federal estate tax 
deducted on the 

federal return
= Oregon 

additionIRD included in  
federal taxable income

Federal income tax refunds 
(ORS 316.685)

[Addition code 109] [Modification code 601]
Did you get a federal tax refund because of a federal 
audit or amended return? If so, you may need to add 
part or all of that refund to your Oregon income. An 
explanation of the federal tax liability subtraction can 
be found in “Subtractions.”
Tax benefit doctrine. You need to add back only 
refunds of federal tax for which you received a benefit 
in a prior year. 
Example 1: Rosa subtracted her entire federal tax lia-
bility of $2,800 on her 2015 Oregon return. This year, 
she amended her 2015 federal return. Rosa reduced 
her federal tax to $2,300 and received a federal refund 



150-101-431 (Rev. 12-17)      53Additions

of $500. She received a $500 tax benefit because she 
subtracted $500 more on her 2015 Oregon return than 
her corrected federal tax liability. Rosa will have an 
addition of $500 on her 2017 return.

When to report the refund. As a general rule, report 
the refund in the year you get it. The rules for fig-
uring the addition are explained here, but first, note 
these exceptions:

Exception 1
If there is an error on your federal return, we may 
correct your federal tax liability when your Oregon 
return is processed. This may decrease your federal 
tax subtraction. When the IRS later refunds the dif-
ference between your correct federal liability and 
the liability on your original return, don’t report the 
refund as an addition. Because the tax subtraction 
on your original Oregon return was corrected, you 
didn’t receive a tax benefit from the total federal tax 
subtracted on your original return.

Example 2: The Jacksons showed a $3,700 federal tax 
liability on their federal return. They claimed a fed-
eral tax subtraction for that same amount on their 
Oregon return. When their Oregon return was pro-
cessed, we discovered a math error on their federal 
return. We figured the Jacksons’ correct federal tax as 
$2,400 and reduced their Oregon federal tax subtrac-
tion to that amount. The Jacksons received the IRS 
refund of $1,300. They won’t report the refund as an 
addition on their current year Oregon return because 
they didn’t receive a tax benefit for it.

Exception 2
If you file an amended return before the filing due 
date for that tax year, your amended return is treated 
as your original return for that year. In this case, the 
federal tax subtraction on your amended return is 
your corrected federal tax liability.

Example 3:  Heather filed this year's federal and Ore-
gon returns in February. Her federal tax liability was 
$4,800, which she subtracted in full on her Oregon 
return. In March, she amended her federal return to 
claim additional deductions. She refigured her federal 
tax as $3,000. She also amended her Oregon return 
to claim the same additional deductions and reduce 
her federal tax subtraction by $1,800 (from $4,800 to 
$3,000). The $1,800 federal refund she receives won’t 
be reported as income on her Oregon return. Because 
Heather filed the amended Oregon return before the 
original due date, her amended return is treated as 
her original return this year.

Figuring the addition. You must report as an addition 
the amount of refund from which you received a tax 
benefit. The tax benefit is the amount of federal tax you 
deducted in a prior year and received as a refund in 

a later year, if the amount you received reduced your 
Oregon taxable income in the prior year.
Use this worksheet to figure your tax benefit.
1. Fill in your original federal tax 

liability from the prior year (2016 
limit $6,500, 2015 limit $6,450, 2014 
limit $6,350). 

1.

2. Fill in your corrected federal tax 
liability from the prior year (2016 
limit $6,500, 2015 limit $6,450, 2014 
limit $6,350).

2.

3. Line 1 minus line 2. This is the tax 
benefit you received from your 
refund.

3.

Example 4: Jill’s 2015 federal tax liability was $7,000. 
Her subtraction was limited to $6,450, which she sub-
tracted on her Oregon return. Jill amended her 2015 
federal return  and received a refund of $4,000 in 2017. 
The addition on Jill’s 2017 return will be $3,450, fig-
ured as follows:
1.	Federal tax subtracted on Jill’s 2015  

Oregon return (limit $6,450). $ 6,450
2. Less: Corrected federal tax ($7,000 – $4,000)
 (limit $6,450).  -3,000
3. Tax benefit received and  
 Jill’s Oregon addition. $ 3,450
Example 5: Ella’s 2015 original federal tax liability 
was $8,200. She amended her 2015 federal return and  
part-year Oregon return in January 2017. Ella doesn’t 
change the federal tax amount on her amended Ore-
gon return. She received a $1,000 federal refund in 
2017. Her 2015 corrected federal tax is $7,200. Ella fig-
ures her tax benefit as follows:
1. Original 2015 federal tax
 liability (limit $6,450). $ 6,450
2. Less: Corrected federal tax
 liability ($8,200 - $1,000) (limit $6,450). – 6,450
3. Tax benefit received and  
 Ella’s Oregon addition. $ -0-  
Ella didn’t receive a tax benefit from the federal 
refund, so she doesn’t have an addition to report on 
her 2017 Oregon return.
Nonresidents. A nonresident’s tax benefit from fed-
eral tax refunds is the difference between the tax 
actually subtracted on the prior year’s return and the 
tax that would have been subtracted had the federal 
return been correct. If the amounts on your federal 
return changed because you amended your fed-
eral return or because it was audited, your Oregon 
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percentage may also change. Use the corrected per-
centage to figure the tax benefit.

Example 6: Brokston was a nonresident with Oregon-
source income in 2015. His original federal tax was 
$8,600. His Oregon percentage was 40 percent. In 
March 2017, he amended his 2015 federal and Ore-
gon returns. Brokston doesn’t change the federal tax 
amount on his amended Oregon return. He received 
a $4,500 federal refund in 2017. His revised Oregon 
percentage for 2015 was 50 percent. He received a 
$530 tax benefit from the refund. He figures his tax 
benefit as follows:

1. Original federal tax
 liability (limit $6,450) $ 6,450
 × original Oregon percentage. × 0.40
     $ 2,580
2. Less: Corrected federal tax ($8,600 - $4,500)
 (limit $6,450) $ 4,100
 × revised Oregon percentage. × 0.50

     – 2,050
3. Tax benefit received and  
 Brokston’s Oregon addition.   $ 530

Federal subsidies for employer 
prescription drug plans  
(ORS 316.837)

[Addition code 123]
Employers who provide a prescription drug plan for 
their retired employees may receive a federal sub-
sidy if they meet the requirements in 42 U.S.C. Sec-
tion 1395w-132. This subsidy is excluded from federal 
taxable income under IRC Section 139A. Oregon law 
doesn’t allow this exclusion. If you’re an employer 
with a qualified plan for your retired employees and 
you received this subsidy, you’ll have an addition on 
your Oregon return. 

Full-year residents. Enter the full amount of the sub-
sidy on Schedule OR-ASC using addition code 123.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Enter the 
full amount of the subsidy in the federal column of 
Schedule OR-ASC-NP. In the Oregon column, enter 
any amount received while an Oregon resident and 
the amount attributable to Oregon-source income 
while a nonresident. Use addition code 123. 

Gambling losses claimed as an  
itemized deduction (ORS 461.560)

[Addition code 134] [Modification code 604]
If you claimed gambling losses as an itemized deduc-
tion on your federal Schedule A, you may have an 
addition on your Oregon return.

Your gambling losses are limited to the amount of 
your gambling winnings taxed by Oregon.

Oregon doesn’t tax Oregon Lottery winnings of $600 
or less from a single ticket or play. See “Lottery win-
nings“ under “Subtractions” for more information.

Example: Angela reported total gambling income 
of $580 on her federal return ($500 from the Oregon 
Lottery plus $80 from the horse races). On her federal 
Schedule A, Angela deducted $300 of gambling losses.

Angela will subtract $500 from her Oregon income. 
This is the amount of her Oregon Lottery winnings. 
Her net gambling winnings, taxable by Oregon, are 
reduced to $80. Angela may not claim more in gambling 
losses than her gambling winnings taxable by Oregon. 
Because her gambling winnings taxable by Oregon are 
only $80, she may not claim more than $80 in gambling 
losses on her Oregon return. She is required to reduce 
her deduction for gambling losses from $300 to $80. The 
difference of $220 is an Oregon addition.

Gambling winnings reported in federal AGI	 $	 580

Less subtraction for Oregon Lottery winnings		  (500	)

Net gambling winnings taxable by Oregon	 $	 80

Gambling losses claimed on 
	 Federal Schedule A	 $	 300

Net gambling winnings included	
	 in Oregon income		  -80

Reduction in gambling losses— 
Oregon addition	 $	 220

Part-year residents and nonresidents. See “Net Ore-
gon itemized deductions” in “Other items“ to learn 
how to report your addition on Schedule OR-ASC-NP.

Income taxes paid to another state 
(ORS 316.082)

[Addition code 148]

Did you claim a credit for income taxes paid to 
another state and claim those same taxes as an item-
ized deduction? If so, you may have an Oregon 
addition. 

Addition when credit taken by individuals
You can’t take a deduction and a credit for the same 
item on your return. If you are claiming a credit for 
taxes paid to another state on your Oregon return, 
you must reduce your itemized deductions by the 
smaller of:

•	The other state’s tax amount for the year you claim 
the Oregon credit, or

•	The other state’s tax amount for the year you 
included it as an itemized deduction.
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This reduces your itemized deduction for the other 
state’s income tax.

Include this amount on Schedule OR-ASC, section 1 
or Schedule OR-ASC-NP, section 2, using addition 
code 148. If you pay tax to more than one state, com-
pute your addition state by state. Also compute it 
year by year.

Is the amount of tax you are deducting less than what 
you owe the other state? If so, you will have an addi-
tion on next year’s Oregon return for the tax that was 
paid and deducted on your federal return.

Example 1: Inga claimed a $100 credit for taxes paid 
to Maine on her Oregon return. She claimed a deduc-
tion of $200 on Schedule A for Maine taxes withheld 
from her wages. On Inga’s Maine return, her net 
tax liability is $150. This is the smaller of her Maine 
tax liability ($150) or the amount she claimed as an 
itemized deduction ($200) for Maine taxes. She will 
reduce her itemized deductions by $150 by including 
that amount as an addition on Schedule OR-ASC. 

Example 2: Peggy lives in Oregon. She owes $300 
to Iowa for 2017. Her credit for tax paid to Iowa is 
$200, which she computed using Formula I. Peggy 
had $125 withheld from her pay for Iowa tax in 2017. 
She pays the other $175 in April 2018 when she files 
her 2017 Iowa return. On her 2017 federal Schedule 
A, Peggy deducts the $125 in Iowa withholding and 
$500 for tax she paid to California. Peggy reduces her 
itemized deductions by the smaller of $300, her Iowa 
liability for the year she claimed the credit, or $125, 
the amount she is claiming as an itemized deduction. 
She reports an addition of $125 on Schedule OR-ASC 
using addition code 148. No changes are needed for 
the California tax on her Oregon return, because a 
credit for taxes paid must be claimed on her Califor-
nia nonresident return. 

If Peggy itemizes again on her 2018 return, she may 
deduct $175, the additional Iowa tax paid in April 
2018, on her federal tax return. Peggy must add back 
$175 on her 2018 Oregon return. This is the smaller 
of $300, her Iowa tax liability for 2017 (the year she 
claimed the credit), or $175, the amount she is claim-
ing as an itemized deduction on her 2018 return.

Addition when credit taken by Oregon 
resident partners and S corporation 
shareholders for tax paid by partnership or 
S corporation
Are you claiming a credit on your Oregon return for 
taxes paid to another state by a partnership or S cor-
poration? If so, you must add to your Oregon income 
the taxes paid to the other state if: 

•	You file an individual nonresident return with 
the other state or you elect to be included on a 

composite return filed with the other state by the 
business on your behalf, 

•	The business doesn’t deduct the tax payment on its 
own tax return, and

•	You deduct the tax on your own Schedule A.

If the business deducts the tax payment on its return, 
add the tax payment to your Oregon income only if 
you are claiming a credit for the taxes paid on your 
own individual return. 

Example 3: William itemizes his deductions. He owns 
5% of Claflin, LLP, a limited partnership in Utah. The 
business files group returns for its owners. Each year, 
the company sends a letter to its owners showing the 
amounts each owner can deduct for income taxes and 
the amounts each can take as a credit. The business 
pays the taxes with the group returns. This year’s let-
ter states that William can take a $3,000 credit for taxes 
paid to Utah, and that he can deduct $4,000 on his 
return. William claims a credit of $3,000 on his Oregon 
return, and deducts $4,000 on his federal Schedule A. 
He must add $4,000 back to his Oregon income.

Example 4: Susan owns 50 percent of Painter, Inc., 
an Oregon S corporation. Painter pays California 
income tax. It deducts the tax on its corporate return. 
It paid California $30,000 of 2016 tax for her in 2016, 
and $10,000 of 2016 tax in January 2017. Painter paid 
$2,000 of tax for her with its 2016 tax return filed in 
2017.

Susan calculates her credit for 2016 using $42,000: 
$30,000 in payments made in 2016, and the $12,000 
in 2016 tax paid in 2017. She claims the credit on her 
2016 return, and adds $30,000 to her Oregon income. 
Susan will add the remaining $12,000 to her 2017 
Oregon taxable income using addition code 148 on 
Schedule OR-ASC.

Individual Development Account 
(ORS 316.848, 315.271)

[Addition code 137, 138 or 159]  
[Modification code 648]
For more information about IDAs, see “Oregon IDA 
Initiative Fund donation“ in “Carryforward credits.” 

Donation credit add back. If you are claiming a tax 
credit for donations made to the Oregon IDA Initia-
tive Fund, and you are claiming a charitable deduc-
tion on your federal return for the same donation, 
you must add back the amount of the credit that was 
also claimed as a charitable deduction.

Nonqualified withdrawal. Did you make a nonquali-
fied withdrawal from your IDA during the year? If 
so, you must report the amount as an addition on 
Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.



150-101-431 (Rev. 12-17)56 Additions

Rollover to retirement account. Did you roll funds 
from your IDA account over to a retirement account? 
Were you allowed to deduct the amount of IDA funds 
contributed to the retirement account as a deduc-
tion on your federal return? If so, the amount you 
deducted that was already subtracted as an IDA con-
tribution on an Oregon return must be added back. 
Report the amount deducted on your federal return 
as an addition on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.
Full-year residents. In section 1 of Schedule OR-ASC, 
enter the amount you are adding back for the dona-
tion credit using addition code 138. Report a non-
qualified withdrawal using addition code 137. Use 
addition code 159 to report a rollover from your IDA 
to a retirement savings account.
Part-year residents and nonresidents. Report the 
donation credit add back as a negative modification 
using code 648 in section 4 of Schedule OR-ASC-NP. 
Report any nonqualified withdrawal as an addition 
using code 137, and any federal subtraction taken 
for a rollover from your IDA to a retirement sav-
ings account, using addition code 159 in section 2 of 
Schedule OR-ASC-NP.

Interest and dividends on  
government bonds of other states  
[ORS 316.680 (2)(b)]

[Addition code 158]
Full-year residents. Oregon taxes interest and divi-
dends on bonds and notes of another state or political 
subdivision of another state that you didn’t include 
on your federal return. This income is an addition 
using Schedule OR-ASC.
Did you report the interest or dividends of your 
minor child on your federal return? And, did your 
child receive interest or dividends from another state 
or political subdivision? If so, include this income as 
an addition using Schedule OR-ASC. See “Federal 
election on interest and dividends of a minor child.” 
Part-year residents. Oregon taxes all interest and 
dividends you earned on all bonds or notes when you 
were an Oregon resident. Oregon also taxes the inter-
est and dividends on bonds or notes of another state 
(or political subdivision of another state) earned from 
an Oregon business, partnership, or S corporation 
during the part of the year you were a nonresident.
Nonresidents. Oregon will only tax this income if 
it comes from an Oregon business, partnership, or 
S corporation.

Expenses
Investment expenses to purchase federally exempt 
bonds or notes aren’t deductible on the federal 
return. If you itemize for Oregon, you may reduce 

your Oregon addition by the amount of investment 
expense not deductible on your federal return. If you 
use the standard deduction, you won’t reduce your 
addition for your investment expenses.
Example 1: Maya received $1,000 of interest from her 
New York City bonds. She borrowed $2,600 to pur-
chase the bonds. During the year she paid $150 of 
interest on the loan. She claimed itemized deductions 
but could not deduct the interest expense on her fed-
eral Schedule A because the interest from the bonds 
was not included on her federal return. Maya’s $850 
addition is figured as follows:
New York City bond interest		             $1,000

Less: Interest expense connected  
 with the bonds – 150
Oregon addition $ 850

Example 2: Jim received $2,970 of interest from Idaho 
Municipal Bonds. He borrowed $12,000 to purchase the 
bonds. His interest expense on the loan was $650. Jim 
used the standard deduction on his federal and Oregon 
returns. He will have an Oregon addition of $2,970. Jim 
won’t reduce his addition for his loan interest expense 
because he claimed the standard deduction.
You will have an Oregon addition for interest or 
dividends on obligations of any authority, commis-
sion, instrumentality, or territorial possession of the 
United States. These are exempt from federal tax but 
not Oregon tax.
Oregon doesn’t tax interest or dividends on obliga-
tions that states can’t tax under federal law. Examples 
of such obligations are bonds issued by:
•	Territory of Guam.
•	Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.
•	Territory of Puerto Rico.
•	Territory of Samoa.
•	Territory of Virgin Islands.

Lump-sum distributions 
(ORS 316.737)

[Addition code 139]
Did you complete federal Form 4972 to figure the tax 
on your qualified lump-sum distribution using the 
20 percent capital gain election and/or the 10-year tax 
option? If so, part or all of your lump-sum distribution 
was not included in your federal AGI. The excluded 
portion of your distribution must be included as an 
addition to your Oregon income.
Election to use 20 percent capital gain on federal 
Form 4972. Did you average the ordinary portion of 
your lump-sum distribution on federal Form 4972? 
Did you choose the 20 percent capital gain election 
on Form 4972? If you chose either of these options 
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you will add to Oregon income the total amount of 
taxable income shown on your federal Form 1099-R.
These examples show how to report your lump-sum 
distribution for Oregon purposes:
Example 1: Gary got a $20,000 lump-sum distribu-
tion from his employer. Of this, $12,000 was capital 
gain income, and $8,000 was ordinary income. Using 
federal Form 4972, he chose to use the 10-year averag-
ing method only on the $8,000 of ordinary income. 
He chose the 20 percent capital gain election on the 
$12,000 capital gain income. Gary will add all of his 
$20,000 lump-sum distribution to his Oregon income 
using addition code 139 on Schedule OR-ASC.
Election to treat the entire distribution as ordinary 
income and average it. Did you average all of your 
lump-sum distribution (ordinary income and capital 
gain portions) on federal Form 4972? If so, you will 
have an addition for the entire lump-sum distribu-
tion to report on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.
Example 2: John received a $40,000 lump-sum distri-
bution from his employer; $30,000 was capital gain 
income and $10,000 was ordinary income. He chose 
to average the entire distribution of $40,000 as ordi-
nary income on his federal Form 4972. John will add 
all of his $40,000 lump-sum distribution to his Ore-
gon income.
Election not to average any of your lump-sum distri-
bution. Did you choose not to average any of your 
lump-sum distribution? If you included it in federal 
AGI, there is no addition on your Oregon return.

Oregon 529 College Savings  
Network [ORS 316.680(2)(j)]

[Addition code 117]
Did you withdraw funds from an Oregon 529 College 
Savings Network plan for nonqualified purposes? If 
so, you must report an addition on Schedule OR-ASC 
or OR-ASC-NP for the amount you withdrew. IRC Sec-
tion 529(e) defines qualified higher education expenses. 
If a portion of the withdrawal was used for qualified 
purposes, use any reasonable method to determine the 
amount of the addition. Keep a copy of this determina-
tion with your tax records. For more information about 
these plans see this topic under “Subtractions.”

Oregon Production Investment 
Fund (auction) (ORS 315.514)

[Addition code 144] [Modification code 644]
If you claimed a deduction on Schedule A for the 
amount you paid for your Oregon Production Invest-
ment Fund tax credit, you will have an Oregon addi-
tion for the amount of your deduction.

Example: Beth bid on $2,000 worth of Oregon Pro-
duction Investment Fund credits during this year’s 
auction. She won all the credits she bid on and paid 
$1,900 for them. On her Oregon return Beth will 
claim an Oregon Production Investment Fund credit 
of $2,000. If she claims the $1,900 she paid for the 
credits as an itemized deduction on her Schedule A, 
she must add back that amount to her income using 
addition code 144. She reports both the credit and the 
addition on Schedule OR-ASC.

For more information on the Oregon Production 
Investment Fund tax credit, see this topic under 
“Carryforward credits.”

Part-year residents and nonresidents. See “Net Ore-
gon itemized deductions” in “Other items“ to learn 
how to report your addition on Schedule OR-ASC-NP.

Renewable Energy Development 
contributions (auction)  
(ORS 315.326)

[Addition code 145] [Modification code 645]
If you claimed a deduction on Schedule A for the 
amount you paid for your Oregon Renewable Energy 
Development tax credit, and you are claiming the 
credit on your return, you will have an Oregon addi-
tion for the amount of your deduction.

Example: Christina bid on $5,000 worth of Oregon 
Renewable Energy Development credits during this 
year’s auction. She won all the credits she bid on and 
paid $4,750 for them. On her Oregon return Chris-
tina will claim an Oregon Renewable Energy Devel-
opment credit of $5,000. If she claims the $4,750 she 
paid for the credits as an itemized deduction on her 
Schedule A, she must add back that amount to her 
income using addition code 145. She reports both the 
addition and the credit on Schedule OR-ASC.

For more information on the Renewable Energy 
Development tax credit, see this topic under “Carry-
forward credits.”

Part-year residents and nonresidents. See “Net  
Oregon itemized deductions” in “Other items“ to 
learn how to report the addition as a negative modi-
fication on Schedule OR-ASC-NP.

University Venture Development 
Fund contributions (ORS 315.521)

[Addition code 146] [Modification code 646]
If you claimed a deduction on Schedule A for the 
amount of your University Venture Development 
Fund contribution, you will have an Oregon addition 
for the amount of your deduction.
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Example: Amelia made a contribution to a University 
Venture Development Fund in the amount of $100,000. 
She may claim a total of 60% of her contribution, or 
$60,000, limited to her tax liability for the year. This 
year, Amelia’s tax liability is $23,000. On her Oregon 
return she will claim a credit of $23,000 for her contri-
bution. The rest of her credit is carried forward to a 
later year. If Amelia claims the $100,000 contribution 
as an itemized deduction on her Schedule A, she must 
add back that amount ($100,000) to her income using 
addition code 146 on Schedule OR-ASC.

For more information on the University Venture 
Development Fund tax credit, see this topic under 
“Carryforward credits.”

Part-year residents and nonresidents.  See “Net Ore-
gon itemized deductions” in “Other items“ to learn 
how to report any required add back amount as a 
negative modification on Schedule OR-ASC-NP. 

Unused business credits   
[ORS 316.680(2)(f)]

[Addition code 122]

Did you claim a deduction on your federal return 
for unused business credits (UBC)? Oregon doesn’t 
allow this deduction. 

Full-year residents. You must report your federal 
UBC deduction as an Oregon addition. 

Part-year residents. You will have an Oregon addition 
for your federal UBC deduction related to any UBC 
earned while you were an Oregon resident. You also 
must include any federal UBC deduction related to 
Oregon credits earned while you were a nonresident.

Nonresidents. You will have an addition for your fed-
eral UBC deduction related to Oregon credits earned 
from Oregon sources.

WFHDC medical expenses  
[Addition code 163] [Modification code 651]

Some expenses for the care of qualifying persons 
who aren’t able to care for themselves may qualify 
as expenses for purposes of claiming the Working 
Family Household and Dependent Care (WFHDC) 
credit and also as medical expenses. You can use these 
expenses for either the WFHDC credit or as a medi-
cal expense deduction, but they can’t be used for both. 
If you choose to use them for both, you will have an 
addition on your Oregon return. Use this worksheet to 
figure the Oregon addition:

WFHDC medical expense worksheet
1. Enter the amount from Schedule 

OR-WFHDC, line 15(c).
1. $ 

2. Enter the medical expenses 
included in line 1 that are also 
included in the amount on 
Schedule A, line 1.

2. $

3. Line 1 minus line 2. 3. $ 

4. Enter the amount from Schedule 
OR-WFHDC, line 24.

4. $

•	If line 3 is more than line 4, STOP. 
You don’t have an addition. 

•	If line 3 is less than line 4, continue 
to line 5.

 

5. Line 4 minus line 3. 5. $

6. Enter the total amount from 
Schedule A, line 1.

6. $ 

7. Enter the total amount from 
Schedule A, line 4. 

7. $ 

8. Divide line 6 by line 7 and round to 
three decimal places.

8.  

9. Line 8 times line 2. 9. $ 

10. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 9. 10. $ 

11. Enter the Oregon standard deduction 
for your filing status (see  
“Other items”).

11. $ 

12. Enter your net Oregon itemized 
deductions (Form OR-40, line 18; 
Form OR-40-P or OR-40-N, line 39).

12. $ 

13. Line 12 minus line 10. 13. $ 

•	If line 11 is less than line 13, STOP.  
Your addition is the amount on line 1

•	If line 11 is more than line 13,  
continue to line 14.

14. Line 12 minus line 9. This is your 
addition. 

14. $ 

Full-year residents. Report any required add back 
amount on Schedule OR-ASC using addition code 163.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. See “Net Ore-
gon itemized deductions” in “Other items“ to learn 
how to report any required add back amount as a 
negative modification on Schedule OR-ASC-NP. 

For more information about the WFHDC credit, see 
this topic under “Refundable credits.”
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Subtractions
Generally, subtractions are items the federal govern-
ment taxes but Oregon doesn’t. Subtractions reduce 
your income taxed by Oregon.

Numeric codes are provided with the explanation 
for most subtractions. For part-year residents and 
nonresidents, some subtractions will be reported as 
modifications. This is required when an amount you 
are subtracting must be adjusted for Oregon tax pur-
poses. When this is the case, a modification code is 
provided with the explanation for that subtraction. 
Enter the numeric code and the dollar amount of each 
subtraction or modification on Schedule OR-ASC or 
Schedule OR-ASC-NP. The total dollar amount of 
subtractions and modifications is then reported on 
your return. 

If there is no numeric code provided for a subtraction 
(or modification), the amount is reported directly on 
your return. 

ABLE Account deposit (ORS 316.699)
[Subtraction code 360]

You can subtract contributions you made to an Ore-
gon or contracting state’s Achieving a Better Life 
Experience (ABLE) account of up to $4,660 if you file 
a joint return ($2,330 for all others). These state-spon-
sored accounts, established through the Oregon 529 
College Savings Network, allow persons with dis-
abilities to save money for disability-related expenses 
without affecting their eligibility for government or 
other benefits. ABLE accounts qualify for special tax 
status under IRC Section 529A. To qualify for the Ore-
gon subtraction, contributions must be made before 
the designated beneficiary turns 21 years old.

Funds withdrawn to pay qualified expenses related 
to the beneficiary’s disability won’t be taxed. Quali-
fied withdrawals include expenses for education, 
housing, transportation, assistive technology, per-
sonal support services, employment training and 
support, and fees for legal and financial services, 
among others. Once you open an account and select 
an investment option, the Oregon 529 College Sav-
ings Network board and the private investment com-
pany manage your investment. 

You can subtract your contribution if you made it 
before the date you file your tax return or before the 
due date of your return, without extensions, which-
ever is earlier. For examples regarding contribution 
timing, see “Oregon 529 College Savings Network.” 
Note: The combined total of your ABLE account 
and Oregon 529 Plan subtractions cannot be more 
than the annual amount shown above. 

Addition. You may need to add back funds with-
drawn for a nonqualified purpose on your Oregon 
return. See this topic under “Additions” for more 
information. 

Rollovers. If you have an ABLE account in a non-con-
tracting state and you roll it over into an Oregon or 
contracting state’s ABLE account, the rollover quali-
fies as a new contribution for purposes of the subtrac-
tion. However, you can’t subtract any amount rolled 
over from an Individual Development Account. 

Carryforward. If you make a contribution of more 
than the maximum allowable subtraction in one year, 
you may carry forward the amount not subtracted 
over the next four years.

For more information about the ABLE Act, visit 
the ABLE National Resource Center’s website at  
www.ablenrc.org.

American Indian (ORS 316.777)
[Subtraction code 300]

Are you an American Indian? If so, you might not 
have to pay Oregon income tax on your income. You 
may be able to subtract all or part of your income if 
all the following are true:

•	You are an enrolled member of a federally recog-
nized American Indian tribe, and

•	Your income is derived from sources within feder-
ally recognized Indian country in Oregon, and

•	You lived in federally recognized Indian country in 
Oregon at the time the income is earned.

“Indian country” is defined as any land within a 
current federal Indian reservation boundary and 
other lands held in trust by the United States govern-
ment for a tribe.

For enrolled members of federally recognized Ameri-
can Indian tribes who live in Indian country in Ore-
gon, income exempt from Oregon income tax includes:

•	Wages earned for work performed in Indian coun-
try in Oregon.

•	Income from business or real estate located in 
Indian country in Oregon.

•	Retirement income if the contributions to the plan 
came from or were connected with services per-
formed in Indian country.

•	Unemployment insurance benefits if the benefits 
were received as a result of work performed in 
Indian country.
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•	Interest, dividends, and capital gains from the sale 
of stocks and other intangibles, regardless of where 
the accounts are located.

•	Gambling winnings from Indian gaming centers 
(casinos).

•	Indian tribal disbursements from casino earnings.

You must live on and have income derived from 
sources within Indian country in Oregon and be an 
enrolled member of a federally recognized tribe to 
subtract the income listed above. You don’t have to 
live in and have income from the same Indian coun-
try. But the areas where you live and have income 
from must both be Indian country to qualify for the 
subtraction.

To claim the subtraction, you must report your total 
income on both the federal and Oregon tax returns. 

You must file a completed copy of Schedule OR-EIS 
with your Oregon return. Go to our website to down-
load the schedule or call us. You must include the fol-
lowing information on the schedule:

•	The street address of the place you worked, and
•	The street address of the place you lived, and
•	The tribe you are enrolled with and your member-

ship number.

You must use the street address of your residence on 
the schedule so we can verify that you lived in Indian 
country when you earned your income. However, 
you may use your post office box address on your tax 
return.

If you meet all of the requirements, you may claim 
“exempt” on your Form W-4 for Oregon purposes only.

Income earned in Oregon, outside of Indian country, 
will be taxed by Oregon. Also, any Oregon income 
earned by a member not living in Indian country will 
be taxed by Oregon. Each member of a household with 
income must meet these qualifications in order to claim 
the subtraction of their income.

If you are an enrolled member of a federally recog-
nized tribe and a member of the U.S. Armed Forces, 
stationed in Oregon, you may be entitled to an addi-
tional subtraction. For more information, call us.

Artist’s charitable contribution 
(ORS 316.838)

[Subtraction code 301] [Modification code 600]

Oregon allows a subtraction to artists who contrib-
ute their own works of art to a recognized charitable 
organization or governmental unit.

What qualifies as a “work of art?”
The art object must qualify for the deduction allowed 
by IRC Section 170. It must be a painting, sculpture, 
photograph, graphic or craft art, industrial design, 
costume or fashion design, tape or sound recording, 
or film.

The charitable organization isn’t required to use the 
art for the same purpose or function that qualifies it 
for its federal tax exemption. You may deduct your 
charitable contribution even if the charitable organi-
zation sells the art.

You will need the appraisal report showing the fair 
market value of the art at the time of the contribution. 
You must send a copy of the appraisal report with 
your return.

How to calculate the subtraction
The subtraction is equal to the difference between:

1.	 The amount that would have been allowed as an 
itemized deduction if you could deduct the fair 
market value of the art (subject to the federal con-
tribution limit)*, and

2.	 The actual allowable amount as an itemized deduc-
tion under federal tax law.

*Federal law limits charitable contributions. Contributions 
to some organizations are limited to 50 percent of your 
federal AGI. Contributions to others are limited to 30 per-
cent of your AGI. Use these limits when you figure your 
deduction.

Example: Ronda’s AGI is $10,000. She donated one of her 
paintings to an organization for display in a building. 
The painting has a basis (cost) of $300 and a FMV of 
$6,000. Here is how she computes her subtraction:
	 1.	 Amount allowed as a
		  charitable contribution
		  if computed using FMV.  $6,000

	 2.	 Amount allowed as a  
charitable contribution 
limited to 50% of AGI.  $5,000

	 3.	 Lesser of line 1 or line 2. 	 $5,000

	 4.	 Amount allowed as a charitable  
contribution on federal Schedule A  
(basis).  ($300)

	 5.	 Ronda’s subtraction 
(line 3 minus 4).  $4,700

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Follow the 
same rules as a full-year resident. You don’t have to 
prorate this subtraction. Part-year residents: Enter 
your subtraction in section 4 of Schedule OR-ASC-NP 
using modification code 600. Nonresidents: Enter 
your subtraction amount on the “Charitable art dona-
tion“ line on Form OR-40-N.
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Capital Construction Fund 
(ORS 316.048)

[Subtraction code 339]

If you subtracted your contributions to your quali-
fying capital construction fund on your federal 
return, you may also subtract that amount on your 
Oregon return. See federal Publication 595: Capital 
Construction Fund for Commercial Fishermen, for more 
information.

The subtraction for Oregon is the same as the amount 
you identified as “CCF” and subtracted on line 43 of 
your federal return.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Enter the full 
subtraction amount in the federal column of Sched-
ule OR-ASC-NP, section 3, using subtraction code 
339. The amount allowed in the Oregon column is the 
Oregon percentage of your fishing trade or business 
that qualifies you for a CCF account.

Example: Greg moved out of Oregon in May and con-
tinued his fishing business in California. His Oregon 
net fishing income is $10,000 and his California net 
fishing income is $30,000. He put $15,000 into his CCF 
account during the past year. On Schedule OR-ASC-
NP, Greg will enter $40,000 for his fishing income in 
the federal column and $10,000 in the Oregon column. 
Greg’s CCF subtraction in the federal column is the 
full $15,000. Since 25 percent of his eligible income 
was Oregon source, he is allowed a CCF subtraction 
of $3,750 ($15,000 x 25%) in the Oregon column.

Construction worker and logger 
commuting expenses  
(ORS 316.812, 316.824, 316.832)

[Subtraction code 303]

If you are a qualified construction worker or logger, you 
may deduct certain commuting expenses from your 
Oregon taxable income. To claim these expenses, you 
must have worked at one or more construction projects 
or logging operation sites more than 50 miles from your 
home.

A construction project is construction, alteration, 
repair, improvement, moving, or demolition of a struc-
ture. A logging operation is the commercial harvest-
ing of forest products. People in other occupations 
aren’t eligible for this subtraction. Management per-
sonnel aren’t eligible for this subtraction either. You 
may not claim this subtraction if the expenses are 
being claimed on federal Schedule A.

Qualifying workers. Loggers must be fallers or buckers 
who maintain their own equipment and are paid on a 
per-unit-cut basis. Construction workers must be mem-
bers of a recognized trade, craft, or union.

Qualifying expenses. You may claim only the actual 
cost of gas, oil, repairs, and maintenance for your 
vehicle for getting to and from work sites that are 
more than 50 miles from your home. You can’t use a 
standard mileage rate to figure expenses.

If you use your vehicle both for business and personal 
purposes, you must determine your portion of busi-
ness use. Keep a mileage log book during the year to 
track your business use and record all business trip 
miles. You should also record your starting and end-
ing odometer reading for your vehicle each year. You 
may claim only the business portion of your repairs 
and maintenance as commuting expenses. You can’t 
claim depreciation. To claim the actual business 
expenses for your qualified commute miles, you will 
need to keep your vehicle records during the year. 
Keep receipts for all your fuel (e.g., gas, diesel), oil 
change, repair, and maintenance costs in your per-
manent tax records.

Example: Ewan is a construction worker. He uses his 
truck for both personal and business purposes. He 
worked on three construction jobs during the year. 
Two of the jobs were located more than 50 miles away 
from his home. Ewan kept a log book in his truck and 
recorded each trip to and from the construction sites. 
He also kept a record of all his truck expenses—his 
receipts for diesel fuel, oil changes, repairs, and main-
tenance for the year. These receipts totaled $4,215.

Ewan’s odometer readings were: 

Year end: December 31	 38,306
Year beginning: January 1	 26,327 
Total miles driven	 11,979

Ewan’s mileage log book showed that his mileage to 
and from qualified construction job sites totaled 4,716 
miles.

He will use this formula to determine the business 
use of his truck and the amount of truck expenses 
which will qualify for this subtraction:

Qualified  
construction miles × actual expenses = Subtraction
Total miles driven

4,716
× $4,215 = $1,659

11,979

Ewan will claim a subtraction of $1,659 on Schedule 
OR-ASC using subtraction code 303.

Duration of project. If you are a construction worker, 
claim only your expenses for the first year of con-
tinuous employment at any one construction site. If 
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your employment continues beyond one year, the job 
site is considered permanent. You may not subtract 
any additional commuting costs for going to and 
from that site after the first year at that worksite. If 
your employment at that job site is temporarily inter-
rupted, don’t count the interruption when you figure 
the one-year limit.

If you are a logger, there is no limit on how long you 
can work at the same job site and still claim expenses.

How to claim the subtraction. Claim your commuting 
expenses on Schedule OR-ASC or OR ASC-NP using 
subtraction code 303. Remember: You can’t subtract 
expenses related to the same mileage claimed as an 
employee business expense on your Schedule A. 

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You can claim 
only expenses related to income that you included in 
the Oregon column of your Oregon return.

Conversions and exchanged 
property [ORS 314.290 (repealed), 
316.716]

[Subtraction code 306]

Oregon law used to require an addition for gain on 
the sale or exchange of certain property deferred on 
the federal return. This statute was repealed in 2001. 
If you were required to make this addition before 
2001, you have already been taxed by Oregon for the 
gain on the sale or exchange of your property. If this 
gain is now included in your federal income, you 
may claim a subtraction for the amount of the gain 
previously taxed by Oregon. 

Domestic international sales 
corporation (DISC) dividend 
payments (ORS 316.749)

[Subtraction code 352]

Oregon allows a subtraction for the dividend pay-
ments you received from a DISC.  

You can claim the subtraction if all of the following 
are true:

•	The DISC dividend payments are included in your 
federal AGI, and

•	The DISC was formed by January 1, 2014, and
•	The DISC is subject to the 2.5% tax.

Discharge of indebtedness from 
reacquisition of debt instrument 
(ORS 316.739)

[Subtraction code 350]

Did you claim an addition (addition code 128) for dis-
charge of indebtedness from reacquisition of a debt 
instrument on your 2009 or 2010 Oregon return? Are 
you claiming the deferred income on your federal 
return?  If you answered yes to both of these ques-
tions, you may claim a subtraction for the amount of 
deferred income you have included on your federal 
return. Generally, on your federal return you were 
allowed to defer the income until 2014 and then must 
claim it over a 5-year period. Claim the subtraction on 
Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP in the year(s) you 
claim the deferred income on your federal return.

Federal income tax liability 
(ORS 316.680, 316.685, 316.695)

Current year’s federal tax liability. Oregon allows a 
subtraction for your current year’s federal income tax 
liability after credits. The subtraction for 2017 is lim-
ited to $6,550 ($3,275 if your filing status is married 
filing separately).

The subtraction is based on the accrual method of 
accounting. This means you subtract the total amount 
of your federal tax liability after credits for the cur-
rent tax year (not less than zero) as shown on your 
original return, regardless of when you pay it.

The subtraction is limited to income tax. This includes 
alternative minimum tax, tax on an IRA, and recapture 
taxes. You can’t include self-employment tax or Social 
Security (FICA) tax. You also can’t include penalties, 
interest, or any shared responsibility payment required 
by the federal Affordable Care Act.

Federal income tax credits, except for the EITC, 
reduce your federal tax subtraction. The credits for 
federal tax on special fuels, special oils, and a regu-
lated investment company won’t reduce your federal 
tax subtraction.

You can deduct your federal income tax liability after 
credits, up to $6,550 ($3,275 if your filing status is 
married filing separately) based on your income and 
filing status. Don’t fill in less than ‑0‑ or more than 
$6,550. Use the federal tax worksheet, in the next sec-
tion, to figure your federal income tax liability.

RDPs: Use amounts from your actual federal return(s), 
not your “as if” return.

Additional federal income tax paid or determined. If 
you paid additional federal tax because your federal 
return was amended or audited, you may be able to 
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claim an additional subtraction or modification for it 
in the year the tax was paid or determined, whichever 
is later. Your additional prior year’s federal tax plus 
your current year’s federal tax cannot be more than 
your current year federal tax subtraction limit.

This subtraction applies only to additional federal 
income tax paid because your return was amended or 
audited. It doesn’t include withholding tax, advance 
tax payments, interest, penalties, or paying the tax due 
on your original federal return. Use the federal Tax 
Worksheet, Part B, to figure your federal tax from a 
prior year.

If you're a resident, report the amount using  subtrac-
tion code 309; if you're a part-year resident or nonresi-
dent, report the amount using modification code 602.

Amended returns. If your federal tax liability for a 
prior year is changed, follow these rules when filing 
an amended Oregon return for that year:

1.	 Additional federal tax paid or determined: If 
you are filing an amended Oregon return to 
report changes made to your federal return, don’t 
increase the federal tax subtraction. Report the 
additional federal tax in the year the tax was paid 
or determined, whichever is later.
Exception. Any amended Oregon return filed 
before the due date (excluding extensions) for that 
tax year should show the corrected federal tax lia-
bility. This is true even if you haven’t yet paid the 
additional tax.

2.	 Refund of federal tax: Don’t change the federal tax 
subtraction on your amended Oregon return. Report 
your federal refund as an addition in the year you 
receive the refund if you received a tax benefit. For 
information about tax benefit, see “Federal income 
tax refunds“ in “Additions.”
Exception. If you file an amended return before 
the due date (excluding extensions) for the tax year 
involved, report the corrected federal tax liability. 
Don’t report the refund in the year you receive it.

Federal tax worksheet
Part A: Federal tax subtraction

1. Enter your federal tax liability 
from Form 1040, line 56; Form 
1040A, line 37; Form 1040EZ, line 
10; Form 1040NR, line 53; or Form 
1040NR-EZ, line 15. 

1.

2. Enter your excess advance 
premium tax credit from Form 
1040, line 46; Form 1040A, line 29; 
or Form 1040NR, line 44. 

2.

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. (If less 
than -0-, enter -0-.) 

3.

4. Enter your additional tax on 
retirement plans from Form 1040, 
line 59; or Form 1040NR, line 57; 
your first-time homebuyer credit 
recapture; *any recapture taxes 
you included as “other taxes” 
on Form 1040, line 62, or Form 
1040NR, line 60; and the amount 
on From 1040NR, line 54. 

4.

5. Add lines 3 and 4. 5.

6. Enter your American Opportunity 
credit from Form 1040, line 68; or 
Form 1040A, line 44. 

6.

7. Enter your total premium tax 
credit from Form 8962, line 24. 

7.

8. Add lines 6 and 7. 8.

9. Subtract line 8 from line 5. (If less 
than -0-, enter -0-). 

9.

10. Enter your maximum allowable 
tax liability subtraction from the 
table. Don’t fill in less than -0- or 
more than $6,550 ($3,275 if your 
filing status is married filing 
separately).  

10.

11. Enter the smaller of line 9 or line 10 
here and on Form OR-40, line 10; or 
Form OR-40-N or OR-40-P, line 42.

11.

*Did you file federal form 5405? If you are required to 
repay your 2008, 2009, or 2010 first-time homebuyer 
credit because you disposed of your home or stopped using 
it as your main home, you may subtract your federal tax 
recapture. Add the amount reported on your federal form 
1040, line 59b, or federal form 1040NR, line 58b, to the 
amount included on line 2 of the worksheet above. Don’t 
add this amount if you are repaying your 2008 credit and 
still live in your qualifying home as your main residence.

Part B: Federal tax paid in a prior year
[Subtraction code 309] [Modification code 602]

1. Enter maximum amount from 
table (Part A, line 10).

1.

2. Enter federal tax liability 
subtraction (Part A, line 11).

2.

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. If the 
result is -0-, you can’t deduct your 
federal tax from a prior year. If 
greater than -0-, enter the amount 
on line 3.

3.

4. Enter the amount of federal tax 
you paid in 2017 for a prior year.

4.
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5. Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 
4 here and on Schedule OR-ASC, 
section 2 (subtraction code 309) or 
Schedule OR-ASC-NP, section 4 
(modification code 602).

5.

Part C: Foreign tax subtraction
[Subtraction code 311] [Modification code 603]
If your total federal tax subtraction (Part A, line 11 
plus Part B, line 5) is $6,550 ($3,275 if your filing sta-
tus is married filing separately) or more, STOP--you 
can’t subtract your foreign tax (ORS 316.690). If your 
total federal tax subtraction is less than $6,550 ($3,275 
if your filing status is married filing separately), con-
tinue to Step 1.

1. Enter $6,550 ($3,275 if your filing 
status is married filing separately).

1.

2. Enter your total federal tax liability 
subtraction (Part A, line 11 plus 
Part B, line 5).

2.

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. 3.

4. Enter the amount paid in foreign 
tax, but not more than $3,000 
($1,500 if your filing status is 
married filing separately).

4.

5. Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 
4 here and on Schedule OR-ASC 
section 2 (subtraction code 311) or 
Schedule OR-ASC-NP section 4 
(modification code 603).

5.

If your filing  
status is:

and your federal AGI is: then your  
maximum 
allowable 

tax liability 
subtraction 

is:at least—
but less 
than—

Single

-0- $125,000 $6,550
$125,000 $130,000 $5,200
$130,000 $135,000 $3,900
$135,000 $140,000 $2,600
$140,000 $145,000 $1,300

$145,000 or more -0-

Married filing 
separately

-0- $125,000 $3,275

$125,000 $130,000 $2,600

$130,000 $135,000 $1,950

$135,000 $140,000 $1,300

$140,000 $145,000 $650

$145,000 or more -0-

Married filing jointly

or

Head of household

or

Qualifying widow(er)

-0- $250,000 $6,550

$250,000 $260,000 $5,200

$260,000 $270,000 $3,900

$270,000 $280,000 $2,600

$280,000 $290,000 $1,300

$290,000 or more -0-

Federal pension income 
[ORS 316.680(1)(e)]

[Subtraction code 307]

You may be able to subtract some or all of your tax-
able federal pension included in  federal income. This 
includes benefits paid to the retiree or the beneficiary. 
It doesn’t include disability payments if you haven’t 
attained the minimum retirement age. The subtrac-
tion amount is based on the number of months of 
federal service or points earned for retirement before 
and after October 1, 1991:

•	If all of your months of federal service occurred or 
points were earned before October 1, 1991, subtract 
100 percent of the taxable federal pension income 
you reported on your federal return.

•	If you have no months of service or points earned 
before October 1, 1991, you can’t subtract any fed-
eral pension.

•	If your service occurred or points were earned both 
before and after October 1, 1991, you will subtract 
a percentage of the taxable federal pension income 
you reported on your federal return.

	 To determine your percentage, divide your months 
of service or points earned before October 1, 1991, 
by your total months of service or points earned. 
Round your percentage to three places (example: 
0.4576 = 45.8%). Once you determine the percent-
age, it will remain the same from year to year.

Federal Thrift Savings Plan (TSP). Once a taxpayer 
is a retiree, withdrawals from federal TSP accounts 
are eligible for the subtraction based on dates of ser-
vice. Withdrawals prior to retirement aren’t eligible 
because the taxpayer must be a retiree at the time of 
withdrawal to be eligible for the subtraction. If the 
taxpayer moves money from a TSP to another type of 
account, the account loses its character and is no lon-
ger a federal pension. In this case, future withdraw-
als would not be eligible for the subtraction.

Full-year residents. If you're eligible for the federal 
pension income subtraction, enter the amount using 
code 307 on Schedule OR-ASC.

Part-year residents. If you received the federal pen-
sion income during the part of the year when you 
were a resident and you're eligible for the subtrac-
tion, enter the amount in both the federal and Oregon 
columns of Schedule OR-ASC-NP. Include your fed-
eral pension income received during the part of the 
year when you were a nonresident only if you were 
domiciled in Oregon during that time. If you were  
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not domiciled in Oregon during the part of the year  
that you were a nonresident, exclude the income you 
received during that time from the Oregon column of 
your part-year return, and don't claim a subtraction 
for any portion of that income.

Nonresidents. Claim a subtraction for federal pen-
sion income only if you reported it on your Oregon 
return. Oregon doesn’t tax your retirement income 
unless you have kept Oregon as your domicile. For 
more information, see “Income.” 

1. Federal pension income included in federal AGI. 1. $ 

2. a. Months of service or points earned from _______ (fill in federal 
service start date) to October 1, 1991.

a. ____ months*/
points

b. Months of service or points earned from _______ (fill in federal 
service start date) to _______ (fill in federal service retirement 
date).

b. ____ months**/
points

Divide the number of months or points on line a by the total number of months  or 
points on line b. This is your federal pension subtraction percentage. Round the 
decimal to three places and enter it here. 2.  

3. Multiply line 1 by the decimal on line 2. This is your federal pension subtraction. 3. $

* Federal service start date: If your federal service start date was the 1st through 
the 15th of a month, include the entire month when counting federal service.
 If your federal service start date was the 16th through the end of a month, don’t 
include the first partial month of service. Start counting the months of federal 
service with the first full month.

** Federal service retirement date: If your federal service retirement date was the 1st 
through the 15th of a month, don’t count this final partial month when counting 
the total months of federal service.
If your retirement date was the 16th through the end of the month, include the 
entire month when counting the total months of federal service.

Keep a copy of this worksheet with your permanent tax records. Use the same percentage from line 2 to deter-
mine your federal pension subtraction in future years. 

Example 1: Jared worked for the U.S. Department of Agriculture from May 1, 1977, until July 31, 2012. He 
worked a total of 423 months—173 months before October 1, 1991. In 2017, he received federal pension income 
of $65,000. He can subtract 40.9 percent (173 ÷ 423) or $26,585 (.409 × $65,000) of his federal pension. Jared will 
continue to subtract 40.9 percent of his federal pension from Oregon income in future years. Use this work-
sheet to determine your federal pension income subtraction amount: 

Example 2: Robin served in the U.S. Army Reserves from June 20, 1987 through May 18, 2012. As a retired mem-
ber of the reserves, Robin’s service is easier measured by the retirement points she earned. Her Chronological 
Statement of Retirement Points shows that she earned 1,917 retirement points before October 1, 1991, out of a 
total 3,510. Robin received $25,000 in pension benefits in 2017. This worksheet shows how she will determine 
her federal pension subtraction.

1. Federal pension income included in federal AGI. 1. $25,000

2. a. Points earned before October 1, 1991. a. 1,917 points
b. Total points earned. b. 3,510 points

Divide the number of points on line a by the total number of points on line b.  
Round the decimal to three places. This is Robin’s federal pension subtraction percentage. 2. 0.546

3. Multiply line 1 by the decimal on line 2. This is Robin’s federal pension subtraction. 3. $13,650
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Federal tax credits (ORS 316.716)
[Subtraction code 340] [Modification code 609]

These credits are not related to individual health 
insurance premium credits allowed by the federal 
Affordable Care Act. 

To claim certain federal tax credits, such as the mort-
gage interest credit allowed by IRC Section 25, you 
must reduce your business expenses or itemized 
deductions on your federal return by the amount of 
the credit you figured for the year. Oregon allows 
a subtraction or itemized deduction for the amount 
reduced on your federal return. Subtract the entire 
reduction amount in the year you first claimed the 
federal credit, even if the federal credit is carried 
over. If you had to itemize your deductions to claim 
these expenses for federal purposes, then you must 
itemize for Oregon as well. 

Health Coverage Tax Credit (HCTC). If you claimed  
this credit on your federal return, you might be 
allowed a subtraction on your Oregon return. This 
credit isn’t related to the premium credit allowed 
by the federal Affordable Care Act. Oregon allows 
a subtraction or an itemized deduction for the self-
employed health insurance deduction or itemized 
deductions you couldn’t claim on your federal return 
because you claimed the HCTC.

Part-year residents and nonresidents doing busi-
ness in Oregon. If your federal credit is related to a 
business operated entirely in Oregon, don’t prorate 
your subtraction. If the credit is related to a busi-
ness not operated solely in Oregon, you must prorate 
your subtraction. Use this formula to determine the 
amount to subtract in the Oregon column of Schedule 
OR-ASC-NP:

Sales in Oregon
× Expenses not allowed 

on your federal returnSales everywhere

Enter the expenses not allowed on your federal return 
in the federal column of the schedule.

Partnerships and S corporations. If your federal 
credit is from a partnership or S corporation, you may 
subtract a percentage of the expenses not deductible 
on your federal partnership or S corporation return. 
This amount will usually be the same as the percent-
age of total partnership or S corporation income you 
report on your return. Nonresidents or part-year resi-
dents must use the percentage explained in the previ-
ous paragraph to further prorate the expenses.

Foreign income tax (ORS 316.690)
[Subtraction code 311] [Modification code 603]
You can subtract taxes paid to a foreign country if on 
your federal return:

•	You claimed a credit for taxes you paid to a foreign 
country, or

•	You didn’t claim a credit for tax you paid to a for-
eign country and you didn’t claim the foreign taxes 
as an itemized deduction.

Your foreign tax plus your current federal tax (and 
any additional federal tax paid for a prior year) can’t 
be more than $6,550 ($3,275 if your filing status is 
married filing separately) for 2017. The foreign tax 
portion of your federal tax subtraction can’t be more 
than $3,000 ($1,500 if your filing status is married fil-
ing separately).

If you claimed foreign taxes as an itemized deduction 
on your federal return, you may claim them in full on 
your Oregon return as part of your itemized deduc-
tions. The amount shown on your federal Schedule A 
isn’t subject to the $6,550 ($3,275 if your filing status 
is married filing separately) limit. If you claim the 
foreign taxes as an itemized deduction, you may not 
also claim them as a subtraction.

Your foreign tax subtraction is the smallest of:

•	Your 2017 foreign tax, or
•	The maximum 2017 federal tax subtraction of 

$6,550 ($3,275 if your filing status is married filing 
separately) reduced by the sum of the 2017 federal 
tax you are claiming plus any prior year federal tax 
paid in 2017, or

•	$3,000 ($1,500 if your filing status is married filing 
separately).

Use part C of the “Federal tax worksheet” under 
“Subtractions“ to figure your foreign tax subtraction 
or deduction.

Income on a composite return     
(OAR 150-314-0515)

[Form OR-40-N/OR-40-P only: Subtraction code 341]
If you are an electing owner of a pass-through entity 
(PTE), you may need to file a personal income tax 
return in addition to the Oregon composite return, 
Form OR-OC, that is filed on your behalf by the 
PTE. This is necessary when you have other Oregon-
source income to report.

File Form OR-40-N if you have income not already 
reported on a Form OR-OC. Follow the instructions 
in our booklet for Form OR-40-N. Enter all income 
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(including income reported on the Form OR-OC) in 
the federal column, line 17F, of your Form OR-40-N. 
Enter all Oregon-source income (including Oregon-
source income reported on Form OR-OC) in the Ore-
gon column, line 17S, of your Form OR-40-N. Because 
the income reported on Form OR-OC has already 
been taxed, you will subtract that amount in the fed-
eral and Oregon columns on Schedule OR-ASC-NP, 
section 3. Identify the subtraction using code 341.

Note: Don’t claim the tax paid on your behalf by the 
PTE as a payment on your Form OR-40-N. That pay-
ment was already used to pay the tax on the income 
reported on Form OR-OC.

For more information, see the Form OR-OC instruc-
tions or contact us.

Individual Development Account 
(IDA) (ORS 316.848)

[Subtraction code 314]

An IDA is a matched savings account that builds the 
financial management skills of qualifying Oregonians 
while they save toward a defined goal. An IDA allows an 
individual in a lower-income household to accumulate 
assets tax-free. As the account holder, you make depos-
its to your own account. Your deposits are matched with 
private donations. Withdrawals made for a qualified 
purpose are tax free.

Qualified purposes include:

•	Paying higher education expenses or medical 
expenses, or

•	Purchasing a primary residence, or
•	Saving for retirement, or
•	Starting your own business.

Oregon allows a subtraction on your tax return for depos-
its you make to your IDA through the Neighborhood 
Partnership Fund. Your subtraction includes the inter-
est earned on your IDA funds if the interest is included 
in your federal taxable income. Subtract the amount of 
the deposits made during the year, plus taxable interest 
earned, on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP, using sub-
traction code 314.

For more information about establishing an IDA, 
contact The Neighborhood Partnership Fund at 503-
226-3001 or visit their website at www.neighborhood-
partnerships.org.

Interest and dividends 
on U.S. bonds and notes 
[ORS 316.680(1)(a)]

[Subtraction code 315]
Did you include any interest or dividends from U.S. 
bonds and notes in your federal income? If so, you 
may subtract this income on your Oregon return. 
Common examples of U.S. government interest 
include savings bond and Treasury bill interest.
You may also subtract U.S. government interest 
(called state exempt-interest dividends) from regu-
lated investment companies and pools of assets man-
aged by a fiduciary. These include, but aren’t limited 
to, banks, savings associations, or credit unions. To 
qualify, the regulated investment company or pool 
of assets must invest in U.S. government securities. 
These securities must be tax-exempt for Oregon. 
The subtraction is limited to your share of the amount 
of interest actually earned from qualifying U.S. gov-
ernment securities. 
You can’t subtract amounts when the U.S. govern-
ment only guarantees the security. If you receive dis-
tributions from a retirement plan, you may not sub-
tract pension income received from funds invested in 
U.S. government securities.
Part-year residents and nonresidents. You may claim 
the subtraction only for interest and dividends you 
included as income taxable by Oregon.
Any gain recognized for federal tax purposes on the 
sale of U.S. bonds and notes is also taxable by Oregon.

If you claim related expenses
Special treatment is required if you claim expenses 
connected with U.S. bonds and notes as an item-
ized deduction. The expenses include interest on 
money borrowed to buy the bonds and notes. They 
also include expenses incurred in the production of 
income from the bonds and notes. Oregon doesn’t tax 
the income from these bonds and notes, so it doesn’t 
allow a deduction for the expenses. You must reduce 
your subtraction by the amount of the expenses you 
deducted on your federal return.
Example: Charles earned $620 of interest income 
from his Series EE bonds. He had borrowed $6,000 to 
buy the bonds. During the year he paid $200 interest 
on the loan. He included the $200 interest expense as 
an itemized deduction on his Schedule A. His Ore-
gon subtraction will be $420.
Series EE bond interest received. $620
Interest expense connected with bonds and

deducted on Schedule A. –200
Oregon subtraction. $420
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Following is a detailed list of bonds and notes that 
may or may not qualify for this subtraction. For a list 
of obligations that are exempt from both state and 
federal taxation, see “Interest and dividends on gov-
ernment bonds of other states“ in “Additions.“

QUALIFIES	 BOND/NOTE

Yes	 Banks for Cooperatives District of 
Columbia.

Yes	 Commodity Credit Corporation.

No*	 Export-Import Bank.

No	 Farmers Home Administration.

Yes	 Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation.

Yes	 Federal Farm Credit Bank.

Yes	 Federal Financing Bank.

No	 Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corpora-
tion (Freddie Mac).

Yes	 Federal Home Loan Bank.

Yes	 Federal Intermediate Credit Bank.

Yes	 Federal Land Bank and Federal Land 
Bank Association.

No	 Federal National Mortgage Association 
(Fannie Mae).

Yes	 Federal Savings and Loan Insurance 
Corporation.

No	 Federal tax refunds.

Yes	 Financing Corporation (FICO).

Yes	 General Insurance Fund.

No*	 Government National Mortgage Asso-
ciation (Ginnie Mae).

Yes	 Government Services Administration 
(GSA Public Building Trust Participation 
Certificate).

No	 International Bank for Reconstruction 
and Development.

Yes	 Production Credit Association (PCA).

Yes	 Resolution Funding Corporation 
(REFCO).

No	 Repurchase agreements (Repos).

Yes	 Series EE, HH, and I Bonds.

No*	 Small Business Administration.

Yes	 Student Loan Marketing Association 
(Sallie Mae).

Yes	 Tennessee Valley Authority.

Yes	 Treasury bills and notes—interest.

No	 Treasury bills and notes—gain on sale.

No	 U.S. Merchant Marine bonds.

Yes	 U.S. Postal Service bonds.

No*	 Washington (D.C.) Metropolitan Transit 
Authority.

Yes	 Zero coupon obligations of the U.S. (for 
example, “CATs,” “STRIPS,” “TIGRs,” 
etc.).

*If the creditor has defaulted and the U.S. government/
Export-Import Bank is paying the interest, it is nontaxable.

Land donations to educational 
institutions carryforward 
(ORS 316.852)

[Subtraction code 316]

This provision expired December 31, 2007. However, 
if you had a qualifying donation or sale prior to that 
date, you may still have contribution amounts to 
carryforward.

The subtraction allowed in any tax year is limited to 
a specific percentage of your contribution base. Your 
contribution base is federal AGI computed without 
any NOL carryback.

If you donated land to a qualified entity, your Ore-
gon subtraction can’t be more than 50 percent of your 
contribution base.

If you sold land to a qualified entity for less than its 
fair market value, the Oregon subtraction can’t be 
more than 25 percent of the contribution base.

Example 1: In tax year 2007, Marykate has a contri-
bution base of $100,000. She sells land with a fair 
market value of $500,000 to a local school district for 
$200,000 cash. Marykate’s contribution of $300,000 is 
limited to 25 percent of her contribution base. In 2007 
Marykate can claim an Oregon subtraction of $25,000 
($100,000 x 0.25).

Carryforward. You can carry forward for a maximum 
of 15 years any contribution you don’t subtract because 
it is more than the specified percentage of the contribu-
tion base. Any contributions not subtracted by 2022 will 
be lost.

Example 2: Using the same facts as in Example 1, 
Marykate can carry forward her remaining $275,000 
contribution to the next tax year. Her subtraction will 
be limited by her contribution base for 2008 and each 
year thereafter.
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Local government bond interest	  
(ORS 286A.140)

[Subtraction code 317]

You can subtract interest or dividends on obligations 
of counties, cities, districts, ports, or other public or 
municipal corporations or political subdivisions of 
Oregon to the extent included for federal income tax 
purposes.

Reduce the amount subtracted by any interest on 
debt incurred to carry the obligations or securities. 
Also reduce the amount by any expenses incurred in 
the production of interest or dividend income. 

Lottery winnings (ORS 461.560)
[Subtraction code 322]

Oregon won’t tax your winnings from an Oregon 
Lottery ticket or play that results in winnings of $600 
or less. Individual Oregon Lottery winnings of more 
than $600 per ticket or play are taxed by Oregon and 
aren’t eligible for the subtraction.

“Oregon Lottery” means all games offered by the 
Oregon State Lottery commission and purchased 
in Oregon, including games jointly administered by 
Oregon and other states (such as Powerball). Oregon 
Lottery doesn’t include gambling winnings from 
other sources, such as tribal gaming centers.

Winnings of more than $600 from a single ticket or 
play are fully taxable and may be reported by the 
Oregon State Lottery on Form W-2G. Until Decem-
ber 31, 2017, lottery winnings that are more than 
$5,000 have had eight percent withheld for Oregon 
taxes. Beginning January 1, 2018, winnings of $1,500 
or more are subject to the eight percent withholding 
requirement. If state income tax was not withheld 
from your gambling winnings consider making esti-
mated tax payments or increasing your withholding. 
To increase your Oregon withholding, file a separate 
Form W-4 with your employer. Write “For Oregon 
only” on the form.

Did you claim gambling losses as an itemized deduc-
tion?  If so, see “Additions” for information about 
your Oregon addition. If you are an American Indian, 
see the “American Indian” subtraction.

Example: Margaret purchased two Oregon Lot-
tery tickets and won $1,000 on one ticket and $500 

on the other. She also won $300 from a lottery ticket 
she bought in Idaho, and $150 on a slot machine at 
an Oregon casino. Margaret included all $1,950 in 
winning on her federal return. Margaret can subtract 
$500 of her Oregon Lottery ticket winnings on Sched-
ule OR-ASC using subtraction code 322.

Nonresidents: Oregon Lottery winnings are taxable 
to nonresidents. Oregon Lottery winnings included 
in federal taxable income are eligible for the subtrac-
tion when winnings per ticket or play are $600 or less.

Exception for pre-1998 tickets: You may subtract all 
Oregon Lottery winnings included in your federal 
income from tickets purchased prior to January 1, 
1998. Did you assign your lottery winnings to a pri-
vate company and receive a lump-sum settlement? 
If so, your settlement isn’t taxable by Oregon if your 
winning ticket was purchased before January 1, 1998. 
Winnings from tickets purchased on or after January 
1, 1998 are fully taxable.

Manufactured dwelling park  
capital gain exclusion (ORS 316.792)

[Subtraction code 338]

Amounts received from the sale of a manufactured 
dwelling park to certain organizations are exempt 
from Oregon income tax.

If you included this gain in income on your federal 
return, you may claim a subtraction for the gain 
amount on your Oregon return. Enter the amount on 
Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP using subtraction 
code 338.

To qualify, the park must have been sold to a ten-
ants’ association nonprofit organization, community 
development corporation, or a housing authority.

Manufactured dwelling park 
payments (ORS 316.795)

[Subtraction code 344]

Payments received from your former landlord because 
your manufactured dwelling park was closed are 
exempt from state taxation. These payments must be 
included in your federal income in order to be sub-
tracted on your Oregon return. If you didn't include 
them in federal income, don't subtract them.
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Marijuana business expenses  
[ORS 316.680(1)(i)]

[Subtraction code 359]

Did you operate a business as a medical marijuana 
dispensary or as a producer, processor, wholesaler, or 
retailer of medical or recreational marijuana with a 
license issued by the Oregon Health Authority or the 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) under 
ORS Chapter 475B? If so, you may subtract certain 
business expenses on your Oregon return that you 
can’t deduct on your federal return due to IRC Section 
280E.

IRC Section 280E keeps you from deducting business 
expenses on your federal return, other than the cost of 
goods sold, if your business involves the cultivation, 
manufacture, distribution or sale of certaincontrolled 
substances. Oregon law, however, allows a subtrac-
tion for the same ordinary and necessary expenses 
you incur for your business that are allowed for other 
types of businesses operating in this state. If the 
expense would have been allowed for federal pur-
poses, but your business falls within the Controlled 
Substances Act (21 U.S.C. Sections 801 et seq.), you are 
allowed a subtraction on your Oregon return. 

See the instructions for the appropriate federal 
schedule for determining the net income from your 
business to be reported on your federal return. The 
schedule showing income after allowable federal 
deductions is submitted with your federal return. 
Complete a second Oregon-only schedule to deter-
mine the expense amount you can subtract  on your 
Oregon return. Report this amount using code 359 on 
Schedule OR-ASC, section 2 or Schedule OR-ASC-NP, 
section 3. Keep the Oregon-only schedule with your 
tax records.  

Example 1: Erin has a business licensed by the OLCC 
to sell marijuana in Oregon. Her store sold medi-
cal and recreational marijuana products. Her gross 
sales for the year totaled $750,000. After deducting 
$350,000 in cost of goods sold, her gross profit was 
$400,000, which she reported as business income on 
her federal Schedule C. 

Along with paying the cost of the goods she sold, Erin 
had ordinary and necessary retail business expenses. 
She completed a second Schedule C for Oregon only 
and determined that her expenses, other than cost of 
goods sold, totaled $150,000. She claimed this amount 
as a subtraction using code 359 on Schedule OR-ASC. 

Example 2: Matt grows marijuana in his garage 
and sells it to his coworkers and friends. This year, 
he made $50,000 from these sales. He spent $15,000 
on costs of goods sold during the year, and another 

$10,000 in other ordinary and necessary business 
expenses. Matt doesn’t have a license to produce or 
sell marijuana in Oregon, but he must file federal and 
Oregon tax returns to report his income. On his fed-
eral return, he must report $50,000 in gross income 
and can deduct $15,000 for the cost of the goods he 
sold. He can’t deduct his other business expenses on 
his federal return. Matt also can’t take an Oregon sub-
traction for those other business expenses because he 
doesn’t have an OLCC license. 

Mortgage interest credit 
(ORS 316.716)

[Subtraction code 320] [Modification code 607]
1.	 Did you claim a mortgage interest credit on your 

federal return?
2.	 Did you claim your mortgage interest as an item-

ized deduction on federal Schedule A?
3.	 Did you reduce your mortgage interest deduction 

by the federal mortgage interest credit?
4.	 Are you also claiming these itemized deductions 

for Oregon?

If you answered “yes” to all four questions, you 
may have a subtraction for mortgage interest on the 
Oregon return. You will claim a subtraction for the 
amount of mortgage interest credit allowed on your 
federal return.

Take the subtraction in the year of the payment even 
if the federal credit is carried forward.

Example 1: Shawn and Phillip pay $5,000 in mort-
gage interest this year. They are entitled to a 50 per-
cent credit limited to $2,000 on their federal return. 
They will claim the $2,000 credit and itemize $3,000 
of mortgage interest on Schedule A. For Oregon, they 
will claim a subtraction of $2,000.

Example 2: Use the same facts as Example 1, except 
that Shawn and Phillip’s federal tax liability is $1,500. 
They will show the $1,500 as a credit on their federal 
return, itemize $3,000 of mortgage interest on Sched-
ule A, and have a $500 credit to carry over to the fol-
lowing year. Their Oregon subtraction for mortgage 
interest will be $2,000. They won’t carry forward any 
amount for Oregon.

Oregon 529 College Savings  
Network (ORS 316.699)

[Subtraction code 324]

You can subtract contributions you made to an Ore-
gon 529 College Savings Network account during 
the tax year of up to $4,660 if you file a joint return 
($2,330 for all others). These state-sponsored plans 

Subtractions
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qualify for special tax status as qualified tuition pro-
grams (IRC Section 529).

Account holders can save money for college for any 
designated beneficiary. Once you open an account 
and select an investment option, the Oregon 529 Col-
lege Savings Network board and the private invest-
ment company manage your investment.

You can subtract your contribution if you made it 
before the date you file your tax return or before the 
due date of your return, without extensions, which-
ever is earlier.

Note: The combined total of your ABLE account and 
Oregon 529 Plan subtractions can’t be more than the 
annual amount shown above. 

Rollovers. If you have a 529 College Savings Network 
in another state and you roll it into an Oregon 529 Col-
lege Savings Network, the rollover qualifies as a new 
contribution for purposes of the subtraction. How-
ever, you can’t subtract any amount rolled over from 
an Individual Development Account, or any amounts 
previously allowed as an Oregon subtraction.  

Example 1: Bella would like to contribute to her 
niece’s Oregon 529 College Savings Plan. She plans to 
request an extension to file her 2017 return. For Bella 
to qualify for the $2,330 subtraction, she must make a 
contribution of at least that amount no later than the 
due date of her return, without extensions. Bella must 
make her contribution by April 17, 2018.

Example 2: Rodrigo made a contribution of $1,800 
to his son’s Oregon 529 College Savings Plan on 
March  12, 2018. He filed his 2017 tax return on 
March  5, 2018. Because he made his contribution  
after he filed his 2017 return, he can’t claim the $1,800 
subtraction on that return. He can claim the subtrac-
tion on his 2018 return.

Carryforward. If you make a contribution of more 
than the maximum allowable subtraction in one year, 
you may carry forward the amount not subtracted 
over the next four years. 

Example 3: Korey and Keri contributed $15,000 in 
2017 to an Oregon 529 College Savings plan for their 
son. They may subtract a maximum of $4,660 on their 
2017 return. They can carry forward the remaining 
$10,340 balance of their contribution for up to four 
years.

Funds withdrawn to pay qualified expenses won’t be 
taxed. Qualified withdrawals include expenses for 
tuition, fees, books, supplies, equipment, and room 
and board at an eligible educational institution any-
where in the United States and foreign countries. A 
list of the United States and foreign schools that qual-
ify is on the U.S. Department of Education website at 
www.fafsa.ed.gov.

You may need to add back funds withdrawn for a 
nonqualified purpose to the Oregon return as an 
addition to your taxable income. See “Oregon 529 
College Savings Network“ under “Additions.”

For more information about Oregon 529 plans, go to 
www.oregoncollegesavings.com or call 1-866-772-8464.

Oregon income tax refund	  
(ORS 316.695)

[Form OR-40-P/Form OR-40-N only: Subtraction code 325]

Oregon allows a subtraction for Oregon state income 
tax refunds included in federal income. Oregon doesn’t 

allow a subtraction for any other state income tax refund.

Oregon Investment Advantage	  
(ORS 316.778)

[Subtraction code 342]

Oregon has an income tax exemption program for 
business development in Oregon. The program is 
available to both new and expanding businesses. 

Who is eligible for the exemption?
The exemption is an 8-year waiver of all income 
and excise taxes relating to qualifying business 
operations. The Oregon Economic and Community 
Development Department (OECDD) administers this 
program. 

To qualify, a company must create at least five new 
full-time, year-round jobs. The jobs also have mini-
mum pay requirements. Facility operations must 
be the first of their kind in Oregon for the company 
and they must not compete with existing businesses 
in the area. Areas of Oregon that qualify for develop-
ment can change from year to year. Local unemploy-
ment rates and per capita income data determine 
eligibility. For a list of qualifying counties, go to  
www.oregon4biz.com.

How is a facility certified?
There are two application forms necessary for 
this program. A preliminary certification is com-
pleted before hiring or any construction work is 
done. An annual certification is then completed for 
each of the 8 years that the income tax exemption 
is claimed. To find out more about this program or 
download an application form, contact OECDD at  
www.oregon4biz.com.

How is the subtraction computed?
The exempt income is determined by multiplying the 
taxpayer’s federal taxable income by the ratio of their 
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federal AGI derived from the business over their total  
federal AGI. 

The resulting amount is then multiplied by the ratio 
of the business’ income derived from the business’ 
sales at the certified facility over its sales from all 
business activities. This amount is subtracted from 
Oregon income using subtraction code 342.

Nonresident and part-year resident taxpayers deter-
mine exempt income by multiplying only Oregon-
sourced federal taxable income in the first step of the 
computation above.

See our administrative rule for additional informa-
tion on determining income derived from qualifying 
activities (OAR 150-316-0600).

Previously taxed employee 
retirement plans  (ORS 316.159)

[Subtraction code 327]

Oregon allows residents to subtract payments from an 
IRA, Keogh plan, SEP plan, and certain government 
plans if another state has already taxed contributions or 
a portion of the contributions to the plan. 

The payments must be included in federal AGI. All of 
the following conditions must be met for the contri-
butions to qualify:

•	Contributions were made while a nonresident of 
Oregon.

•	No previous state income tax deduction, exclusion, 
or exemption was allowed or allowable at the time 
contributions were made.

•	No previous state income tax deduction, exclusion, 
credit, subtraction, or other tax benefit has been 
allowed for the contributions.

•	Contributions have been taxed by another state.

The subtraction continues until all qualifying contri-
butions are recovered.

A statement from the payer showing your total con-
tributions and the start date of your benefits will 
help you figure your subtraction. Keep this statement 
with your tax records.

Example 1: Judith lived in California. From 1980 to 
1996 she contributed to an IRA. In 1980 and 1981 she 
contributed $1,500 each year. From 1982 through 1996 
she contributed $2,000 each year.

Both federal and California allowed a maximum 
deduction of $1,500 for 1980 and 1981. For 1982 
through 1986, federal allowed a maximum of $2,000, 
and California allowed a maximum of $1,500. Both 
federal and California allowed a maximum of $2,000 
for 1987 through 1996.

Judith contributed $2,500 ($500 × 5 years) from 1982 
through 1986 that she was not allowed to deduct on 
her California returns.

Judith retired and moved to Oregon in November of 
last year. She receives payments of $1,000 a month 
from the California IRA. These payments are subject 
to Oregon tax because she is now an Oregon resi-
dent. However, Oregon will allow Judith to subtract 
the contributions that California has already taxed 
($2,500).

Judith received two payments of $1,000 last year for 
a total of $2,000. She can subtract the entire $2,000 on 
last year’s Oregon return. This year, she’ll be able to 
subtract the balance of $500 ($2,500–2,000) as long as 
she receives at least that much from her California 
IRA. From that point on, no subtraction on the Ore-
gon return for recovery of contributions is allowed.

Example 2: Use the same facts as in Example 1, except 
Judith lived and worked in Washington before mov-
ing to Oregon. When she made contributions, she was 
allowed a federal deduction each year. However, she 
didn’t get a state tax deduction, because Washington 
doesn’t have an income tax. After retiring and mov-
ing to Oregon, Judith receives the same payments as 
above. She doesn’t qualify for the Oregon subtraction 
because her contributions were not taxed by another 
state.

Previously taxed IRA conversions 
[ORS 316.680(1)(f)]

[Subtraction code 348]

Oregon allows a subtraction for converting a tra-
ditional IRA to a Roth IRA, if the IRA is taxed by 
another state. You must include the payments in fed-
eral taxable income to claim the subtraction.

Example: Susan lived in New York in March of last 
year, when she converted her $100,000 traditional IRA 
to a Roth IRA. In September, she moved to Oregon. 
New York state will tax her IRA when she becomes a 
nonresident. Susan can subtract the amount included 
in federal income when she files her Oregon tax 
return.

Public Safety Memorial Fund  
Awards [ORS 316.680(1)(g)]

[Subtraction code 329]

Amounts awarded to you by the Public Safety Memo-
rial Fund Board may be subtracted from Oregon 
income. The award must be included in federal tax-
able income to claim the subtraction.
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Public Safety Memorial Fund Awards are for public 
safety officers with certain job-related permanent total 
disabilities. These awards are also available to family 
members of a public safety officer who is killed in the 
line of duty or while interceding in a crime.

Railroad Retirement Board  
benefits  (ORS 316.054)

[Subtraction code 330]

The Railroad Retirement Act of 1974 prohibits states 
from taxing certain railroad benefits. This act per-
tains to all benefits issued by the Railroad Retire-
ment Board (RRB). Oregon allows a subtraction for 
Tier 1 RRB benefits (the same as for Social Security 
benefits). The subtraction has been extended by 
administrative rule to the other supplemental RRB 
benefits including Tier 2, windfall, vested dual, sup-
plemental annuities, unemployment, and sickness 
(OAR 150-316-0065).

Tier 1 benefits. Tier 1 benefits are reported like Social 
Security on your federal return. Subtract these ben-
efits with Social Security on the Oregon return.

Tier 2, windfall, vested dual, supplemental annuities, 
unemployment and sickness paid by the RRB. These 
benefits are reported as wages or on the private pension 
line of your federal return. Subtract these benefits using 
subtraction code 330 on Schedule OR-ASC, section 2 or 
Schedule OR-ASC-NP, section 3.

Other benefits. A retired railroad employee may 
receive other retirement benefits from their employer. 
Benefits paid by private railroad employers are pri-
vate pensions taxed the same on both the federal and 
Oregon returns. There is no Oregon subtraction for 
retirement benefits paid by private railroad employers.

Only benefits paid by the RRB qualify for the subtrac-
tion. RRB benefits are reported on a 1099 form, except 
for sickness benefits, which are reported on Form 
W-2. All 1099s, other than 1099-G for RRB unem-
ployment benefits, are labeled Form RRB-1099-R. 
More information on RRB benefits is available on the 
board’s website at www.rrb.gov.

Scholarship awards used for 
housing expenses (ORS 316.846)

[Subtraction code 333]

You can subtract scholarships used for housing 
expenses from Oregon income. You must include the 
scholarship in federal taxable income for the year to 
claim the subtraction. 

You can claim the subtraction if the scholarship was 
awarded to you or your dependent. You can subtract 
only the amount used for housing expenses for the 
scholarship recipient. The recipient must attend an 
accredited community college, college, university, or 
other institution of higher education.

You may not take a subtraction for expenses that are 
deducted on your federal income tax return for the 
year. Your subtraction can’t be more than the amount 
of scholarship income included in federal taxable 
income. There is no carryforward allowed.

Social Security benefits  
(ORS 316.054)

Oregon doesn’t tax Social Security benefits. Any Social 
Security benefits included in your federal AGI are sub-
tracted on your Oregon return.

Special Oregon medical subtraction 
(ORS 316.693)

[Subtraction code 351]

If you or your spouse are age 64 or older on Decem-
ber 31, 2017 and have qualifying medical and/or den-
tal expenses, you may qualify for the special Oregon 
medical subtraction. See federal Publication 502 for 
types of qualifying medical and dental expenses.  
Medical or dental expenses cannot be subtracted:

•	For anyone under age 64;
•	For dependents, regardless of their age; or
•	That have already been deducted on the return.
•	If your federal AGI exceeds $200,000 ($100,000 

if your filing status is single or married filing 
separately). 

Shared Expenses. Did you have medical and/or 
dental expenses for more than one person? If so, 
you must determine which expenses belong to each 
qualifying taxpayer. Start by totaling all expenses 
for each qualifying taxpayer. If you have expenses 
that are for more than one person, such as premiums 
for a shared insurance policy, split the expenses by 
the most reasonable method. A reasonable method 
for splitting the shared costs of an insurance policy 
includes splitting the total cost of the policy by the 
number of individuals covered. For example, divide 
the premiums for an insurance policy covering two 
adults by two. If the number of children covered on 
an insurance policy doesn’t affect the price of the pol-
icy, it is reasonable to count all children on the policy 
as one individual.  For example, divide the premiums 
for a policy covering two adults and four children by 
three. 
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Example 1: Chloe and Sam were ages 67 and 62 on 
December 31, 2017. They filed a joint return with one 
dependent (Sam’s mother), federal AGI of $55,000, 
and itemized deductions for Oregon. During 2017 
they paid $5,700 in medical expenses. Of that, they 
paid $1,300 for Chloe’s expenses and $1,100 for Sam’s 
expenses. They also paid $1,300 for Sam’s mother 
and $2,000 in premiums for a joint insurance policy 
for Chloe and Sam. Only Chloe’s expenses of $2,300 
($1,300 + $1,000 for half of the insurance premiums) 
qualify for the special Oregon medical subtraction 
because Sam doesn’t meet the age requirement and 
Sam’s mother is a dependent. 

Example 2:  Peter is 65 years old, self-employed, and 
itemizes his deductions for Oregon.  Peter claimed 
$3,200 in medical expenses on federal Schedule A 
and $2,500 on his federal Form 1040 for self-employed 
medical insurance premiums.  Peter was able to 
deduct 100% of his self-employed medical insurance 
premiums on his federal return.  Only the medical 
expenses Peter claimed on Schedule A will be used 
to calculate his special Oregon medical subtraction 
because they haven’t been fully deducted.  To calcu-
late his subtraction, Peter’s total qualifying medical 
and dental expenses are $3,200, the amount claimed 
on Schedule A. The worksheet will help him calcu-
late the amount of his subtraction. 

Special Oregon medical subtraction 
worksheet instructions
Line 1–Medical and dental expenses for each tax-
payer: Enter the expenses attributable to each tax-
payer. See “Shared expenses“ for information about 
splitting expenses, such as insurance premiums.

Line 1, column (A): If you were age 64 or older on 
December 31, 2017, enter your total qualifying medical 
and dental expenses. If your medical expenses were 
not included in your itemized deductions (Schedule 
A, line 1), or you didn’t itemize your deductions, skip 
lines 2 - 4, enter the amount from line 1 on line 5, and 
go to line 6. If you don’t have qualifying expenses or 
were not age 64 or older on December 31—STOP—
don’t complete column (A). You don’t qualify for the 
subtraction.

Line 1, column (B): If your spouse was age 64 or older 
on December 31, 2017, and you’re filing jointly, enter 
your spouse’s total qualifying medical and dental 
expenses. If your spouse’s medical expenses were 

not included in your itemized deductions (Sched-
ule A, line 1), or you didn’t itemize your deductions, 
skip lines 2–4, enter the amount from line 1 on line 5, 
and go to line 6. If your spouse doesn’t have qualify-
ing expenses or wasn't age 64 or older on December 
31, 2017—STOP—don’t complete column (B). Your 
spouse doesn’t qualify for the subtraction.

Line 2, columns (A) and (B)—Total medical and den-
tal expenses:  Enter the total medical and dental 
expenses you claimed as an itemized deduction 
(Schedule A, line 1), even if they are for a spouse or 
dependent that doesn’t qualify. If your spouse meets 
the age requirement and has qualifying expenses, 
enter the same amount on line 2, column (B).

Line 3, columns (A) and (B): Divide line 1 by line 2 for 
column (A) if you qualify, and/or column (B) if your 
spouse qualifies, and round to three decimal places. 
For example: 0.7308 is rounded to 0.731

Line 4, columns (A) and (B): Enter the lesser of the 
medical and dental expenses claimed on line 1 of 
your Schedule A or the amount claimed on line 3 of 
your Schedule A. If your spouse qualifies, enter the 
same amount in column (B).  

Line 5, columns (A) and (B): Multiply line 3 and line 
4 for each column and round to whole dollars. For 
example: $101.49 is rounded to $101. If you didn’t 
itemize your deductions, enter the amount from line 
1 of this worksheet.

Line 6, columns (A) and (B): Enter the maximum allow-
able medical subtraction for your filing status and 
federal AGI shown in the table following the work-
sheet. Don't enter more than $1,800. If your spouse 
qualifies, enter the same amount in column (B).  

Line 7, columns (A) and (B): Enter the lesser of line 5 or 
line 6 for each column.

Line 8: Add the amounts from line 7, columns  
(A) and (B). 

Full-year residents. This is your special Oregon medi-
cal subtraction. Enter this amount using subtraction 
code 351 on Schedule OR-ASC, section 2. 

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Enter the full 
amount from Line 8 using subtraction code 351 in 
both the federal and Oregon columns of Schedule 
OR-ASC-NP, section 3. 
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Special Oregon medical subtraction 
worksheet:

Column 
(A)

Column 
(B)

You Spouse

1. Medical and dental 
expenses for each 
qualifying taxpayer.

1. $ $

2. Total medical and 
dental expenses 
(Schedule A, line 1).

2. $ $

3. Divide line 1 by line 
2 and round to three 
decimal places.

3.   

4. Enter the lesser of the 
expenses claimed on 
line 1 of your Schedule 
A, or the amount 
claimed on line 3 of 
your Schedule A.

4. $ $

5. Multiply line 3 by line 
4 and round to whole 
dollars.

5. $ $

6. Maximum allowable 
medical subtraction 
from the table ($1,800 
max).

6. $ $

7. Enter the lesser of line  
5 or line 6.

7. $ $

8. Add line 7, columns 
(A) and (B), and enter 
the total. This is your 
special Oregon medical 
subtraction.

8. $

If your filing  
status is:

and your federal AGI from 
line 7 of Form OR-40 or 
line 29F of Form OR-40-N 
or OR-40-P is:

then your 
maximum 
allowable 

medical 
subtraction 

per taxpayer 
meeting the age 
requirement is:at least—

but less 
than—

Married filing 
jointly, or Head 
of household, 
or Qualifying 
widow(er)

-0- $50,000 $1,800 
$50,000 $100,000 $1,400 

$100,000 $200,001 $1,000 

$200,001 or more -0-

Single or 
Married filing 
separately

-0- $25,000 $1,800 

$25,000 $50,000 $1,400 

$50,000 $100,001 $1,000 

$100,001 or more -0-

Example 3:  Leah and Tyler are ages 67 and 61 on 
December 31, 2017. They file a joint return with fed-
eral AGI of $35,000 and itemize their deductions for 
Oregon. During the year, they paid $4,700 in medi-
cal and dental expenses claimed on Schedule A, 
line 1. Of that, $1,600 are Leah’s expenses, $2,000 are 
Tyler’s expenses, and $1,100 are premiums for a medi-
cal insurance policy covering both of them.  Only 
Leah’s expenses qualify for the special Oregon medi-
cal subtraction since she met the age requirement 
as of December 31, 2017. Leah’s expenses are $1,600 
plus $550 for her share of the premiums for a total 
of $2,150. Leah and Tyler will use the special Oregon 
medical subtraction worksheet to calculate their sub-
traction as follows:

Column 
(A)

 Leah

Column 
(B)

Tyler

1. Medical and dental 
expenses for each 
qualifying taxpayer.

1. $2,150 $

2. Total medical and 
dental expenses 
(Schedule A, line 1).

2. $4,700 $

3. Divide line 1 by line 
2 and round to three 
decimal places.

3.   0.457  

4. Enter the lesser of the 
expenses claimed on 
line 1 of your Schedule 
A, or the amount 
claimed on line 3 of 
your Schedule A.

4. $3,500 $

5. Multiply line 3 by line 
4 and round to whole 
dollars.

5. $1,600 $

6. Maximum allowable 
medical subtraction 
from the table ($1,800 
max).

6. $1,800 $

7. Enter the lesser of line  
5 or line 6.

7. $1,600 $

8. Add line 7, columns 
(A) and (B), and enter 
the total. This is your 
special Oregon medical 
subtraction.

8. $1,600

Leah and Tyler will claim $1,600 on Schedule OR-
ASC using subtraction code 351.
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Example 4: Kenneth and Sophia were both age 66 on 
December 31, 2017 and file a joint return with federal 
AGI of $78,000.  Kenneth and Sophia had $12,300 in 
unreimbursed medical and dental expenses during 
the year.  They are self-employed and claimed $3,400 
for self-employed health insurance premiums on 
line 29 of their federal Form 1040. They also claimed 
$8,900 on line 1, and $7,800 ($78,000 x 10%) on line 3 
of their federal Schedule A.  Of the amount claimed 
on Schedule A, $1,200 was for Kenneth’s expenses 
and $7,700 was for Sophia’s expenses.  Kenneth and 
Sophia can claim $2,453 as a special Oregon medical 
subtraction calculated as follows:

Column 
(A)

Kenneth

Column 
(B)

Sophia

1. Medical and dental 
expenses for each 
qualifying taxpayer.

1. $1,200 $7,700

2. Total medical and 
dental expenses 
(Schedule A, line 1).

2. $8,900 $8,900

3. Divide line 1 by line 
2 and round to three 
decimal places.

3.   0.135   0.865

4. Enter the lesser of the 
expenses claimed on 
line 1 of your Schedule 
A, or the amount 
claimed on line 3 of 
your Schedule A.

4. $7,800 $7,800

5. Multiply line 3 by line 
4 and round to whole 
dollars.

5. $1,053 $6,747

6. Maximum allowable 
medical subtraction 
from the table ($1,800 
max).

6. $1,400 $1,400

7. Enter the lesser of line  
5 or line 6.

7. $1,053 $1,400

8. Add line 7, columns 
(A) and (B), and enter 
the total. This is your 
special Oregon medical 
subtraction.

8. $2,453

Because Kenneth and Sophia were able to deduct the 
entire amount of their self-employed health insur-
ance premiums on their federal return, they don’t 
include that amount in the calculation for their 

special Oregon medical subtraction. Their subtrac-
tion is limited to the lesser of the amount allowed 
from the table for each individual, or their own medi-
cal expenses that haven’t been previously deducted. 
Kenneth and Sophia’s subtraction is $2,453 ($1,053 
of Kenneth’s expenses that haven’t been previously 
deducted, and $1,400, the maximum amount allowed 
Sophia).

Example 5: Margaret is age 67 on December 31, 2017, 
single, and has a federal AGI of $27,000. During the 
year, Margaret paid $1,200 in qualifying medical 
expenses for herself, and $1,600 in medical expenses 
for her dependent 9-year-old granddaughter. Marga-
ret doesn’t itemize her deductions because her stan-
dard deduction is greater than her itemized deduc-
tions for Oregon. Margaret uses the worksheet to 
calculate her special Oregon medical subtraction as 
follows:

Column 
(A)

Margaret

Column 
(B)

Spouse

1. Medical and dental 
expenses for each 
qualifying taxpayer.

1. $1,200 $

2. Total medical and 
dental expenses 
(Schedule A, line 1).

2.  $  $

3. Divide line 1 by line 
2 and round to three 
decimal places.

3.     

4. Enter the lesser of the 
expenses claimed on 
line 1 of your Schedule 
A, or the amount 
claimed on line 3 of 
your Schedule A.

4. $ $

5. Multiply line 3 by line 
4 and round to whole 
dollars.

5. $1,200 $

6. Maximum allowable 
medical subtraction 
from the table ($1,800 
max).

6. $1,400 $

7. Enter the lesser of line  
5 or line 6.

7. $1,200 $

8. Add line 7, columns 
(A) and (B), and enter 
the total. This is your 
special Oregon medical 
subtraction.

8. $1,200
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The medical expenses paid by Margaret for her 
9-year-old granddaughter don’t qualify for the sub-
traction because she is a dependent. 

Example 6: Same as Example 5, except that Margaret 
isn’t an Oregon resident. 

She enters $1,200 in both the federal column and in 
the Oregon column of Schedule OR-ASC-NP, section 
3, using subtraction code 351.

Taxable benefits for former RDPs 
(OAR 150-316-0009)

[Subtraction code 347]

If you and your RDP were legally married or dissolved 
your partnership during the year, you may be allowed 
an Oregon subtraction for the imputed value of certain 
fringe benefits provided by your employer for your RDP 
for the part of the year you were still registered domes-
tic partners. These benefits typically include, but aren’t 
limited to, health insurance and tuition payments. You 
must have included the imputed valued of the benefits 
in your federal income to claim the Oregon subtraction. 
The imputed value will be included in the total com-
pensation (Box 1) shown on your Form W-2.

Example 1:  Ruth and Jan entered into an RDP on Feb-
ruary 1, 2012. They were then legally married on June 
16, 2017. Ruth and Jan must file their 2017 tax return 
as married filing jointly for both federal and Oregon 
purposes. They won’t file an “as-if” federal return. 
Instead, they will attach their actual federal return to 
their Oregon return. Ruth’s employer provides health 
insurance benefits for Jan, and the imputed value of 
those benefits were included in Box 1 of Ruth’s W-2 
for the portion of the year that Ruth and Jan were 
not married (January 1st through June 15th). Ruth 
may claim a subtraction (code 347) for the value of 
the imputed benefits included in federal income, as 
reported on her W-2.

Tuition and fees [ORS 316.716(3)]
As of January 1, 2017, the federal deduction of up to 
$4,000 in higher education tuition and fees is no lon-
ger available. This adjustment to gross income was 
required to be reduced to zero by taxpayers claim-
ing one or more federal education credits (IRC Sec-
tion 222). Because this deduction is no longer avail-
able, the Oregon statute that allows a subtraction for 
the amount by which a federal deduction must be 
reduced in order to claim a federal credit no longer 
applies. 

If Congress has renewed the federal tuition and fees 
deduction for tax year 2017, refer to a prior edition of 

this publication to learn how to claim the deduction 
or subtraction on your Oregon return.

Education credit recapture. If you are required to 
recapture a federal education credit on a later federal 
return, you may need to amend your Oregon return 
to reduce the subtraction you claimed in a prior year. 
See “Amended returns“ for more information.

U.S. government interest in IRA 
or Keogh distribution (ORS 316.681)

[Subtraction code 331]

Interest and dividends on U.S. bonds and notes are 
exempt from state tax. See “Interest and dividends 
on U.S. bonds and notes.” Answer these questions 
to see if you have a subtraction on your Oregon 
return for exempt income related to your retirement 
distributions:

1.	 Did you have any distributions from a self-
employed retirement plan or an IRA?

2.	 Was any part of your self-employed retirement plan 
or your IRA invested in U.S. bonds and notes?

3.	 Did you include your self-employed retirement 
plan or IRA distribution in your 2017 federal AGI?

If you answered “yes” to all the questions above, 
you may take a subtraction on Schedule OR-ASC 
or OR-ASC-NP, using subtraction code 331, for the 
retirement plan exempt earnings included in your 
distribution.

Use this worksheet to calculate your subtraction:

Worksheet

1. Total account balance at year end. 1.

2. Current year distributions. 2.

3. Line 1 plus line 2. 3.

4. Total exempt earnings on account 
at year end.

4.

5. Total exempt part of distributions 
from all prior years.

5.

6. Line 4 minus line 5, but not less 
than -0-.

6.

7. Line 6 divided by line 3. Oregon 
exempt ratio.

7.

8. Line 2 multiplied by line 7. Oregon 
exempt portion of current year’s 
distribution.

8.

Example: Donna retired last year and began tak-
ing distributions of $10,000 each year from her IRA. 
The IRA is invested in U.S. government securities so 
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Donna uses the following information to calculate 
her subtraction for years 1 and 2:

Year 1 Year 2

Current year earnings $4,000 $5,000

Current year distribution $10,000 $10,000

Account balance at 12/31 $100,000 $95,000

Total exempt earnings on 
account at 12/31

$ 40,000 $45,000

Worksheet Year 1 Year 2
1. Total account balance  

at year end. $100,000 $95,000

2. Current year 
distribution. + 10,000 + 10,000

3. Line 1 plus line 2. $110,000 $105,000

4. Total exempt earnings  
on account at year end. $ 40,000 45,000

5. Total exempt part of 
distributions from all  
prior years. –       -0- –       3,636

6. Line 4 minus line 5,  
but not less than zero. $40,000 $41,364

7. Line 6 divided by line 
3. Oregon exempt ratio. 0.3636 0.3939

8. Line 2 multiplied by 
line 7. Oregon exempt 
portion of current 
year’s distribution. $3,636 $ 3,939
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Other items
Net operating losses (NOLs)  
for Oregon (ORS 316.028)

[Addition code 116] [Subtraction code 321]

An Oregon NOL is figured the same as in  
IRC Section 172(c). You may have an Oregon NOL 
without having a federal NOL, or vice versa. Your 
Oregon NOL is computed under the federal method 
and definitions using Oregon sources without Ore-
gon modifications, additions, and subtractions. The 
only Oregon modification necessary is to subtract 
prohibited amounts.

Prohibited amounts
Amounts Oregon is prohibited from directly or indi-
rectly taxing include interest earned from Treasury 
bonds, Treasury notes, and other obligations of the 
United States.

Carryback and carryforward
For losses incurred in tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2003, the Oregon carryback and carryfor-
ward provisions match the federal provisions.

Oregon doesn’t allow an NOL from a non-Oregon 
source that occurred while you were a nonresident.

Federal depreciation disconnect
If you had an NOL in 2009 or 2010 and also claimed 
depreciation or expensing not allowed by Oregon, 
your future year subtractions are reduced by the 
amount already included in the NOL. See “Deprecia-
tion and Amortization” for additional information.

Computation of the NOL
Full-year residents. Generally, the computation of the 
Oregon NOL for a resident is the same as the federal 
NOL, except for the prohibited amount modification. 
(See Prohibited amounts above.)

The computation of the Oregon NOL begins with fed-
eral AGI. Reduce AGI by federal exemptions, federal 
deductions, and the prohibited amount modifica-
tion to arrive at the modified Oregon taxable income 
(OTI). Then adjust the modified OTI as required  by 
IRC Section 172(d).

Required adjustments are:

1.	 Oregon NOL deduction (NOLD) from prior years 
included in Oregon income after adjustments.

2.	 Net Oregon capital loss deduction.

3.	 Federal personal exemption amount.

4.	 Excess of nonbusiness deductions over nonbusi-
ness income included in modified Oregon taxable 
income.

Example 1: Maria and Jaime filed joint federal and 
Oregon tax returns. On their federal return, they 
reported wages of $26,000, a business loss of $50,000, 
a gain on the sale of stock of $400, and interest income 
of $800 from a bank. They reported total itemized 
deductions of $13,000, which were all nonbusiness, 
and claimed personal exemptions of $8,100.

On their Oregon return, Maria and Jaime reported  
an addition of $500 of municipal bond interest from 
California that was exempt from federal income tax. 
Their Oregon NOL is computed as follows:

Federal tax return

	 Wages	 $	 26,000
	 Interest income		  800
	 Schedule C loss		 (50,000)
	 Schedule D stock gain		  400

	 Federal AGI	 ($	22,800)

	 Personal exemptions		  (8,100)
	 Schedule A deductions		 (13,000)

	 Federal taxable income	 ($	43,600)

Computation of Oregon NOL

	 Federal AGI	 ($	22,800	)
	 Personal exemptions		  (8,100	)
	 Schedule A deductions		 (13,000)

	 Modified Oregon taxable income	 ($	43,600	)

	 Adjustments:
	 Personal exemptions				   8,100
	 Nonbusiness deductions	 13,000
	 Nonbusiness income	 (1,200	)

	 Nonbusiness deduction in  
	 excess of nonbusiness income 		  11,800

	 Oregon NOL	 ($	24,100	)

Note: The $500 in California municipal bond inter-
est isn’t used in this calculation. Compute the Oregon 
NOL based on federal NOL methods and definitions. 
Use Oregon sources without Oregon adjustments 
(modifications, additions, and subtractions), except 
for prohibited amounts.

Example 2: Use the same facts as in Example 1, except 
the $800 interest is from U.S. government securities (a 
prohibited amount). The Oregon NOL for Maria and 
Jaime is computed as follows:
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Federal tax return

	 Wages			  $	26,000
	 Interest from U.S. government securities		  800
	 Schedule C loss			  (	50,000	)
	 Schedule D stock gain		 		  400

	 Federal AGI			  ($	22,800	)
	 Personal exemptions				   (8,100	)
	 Schedule A deductions			  (13,000)

	 Federal taxable income			  ($	43,900	)

Computation of Oregon NOL

	 Federal AGI			  ($	22,800	)
	 U.S. government interest				   (800	)
	 Personal exemptions				   (8,100	)
	 Schedule A deductions	 (13,000)

	 Modified Oregon taxable income			  ($	44,700	)

	 Adjustments:

	 Personal exemptions				   8,100
	 Nonbusiness deductions	 13,000
	 Nonbusiness income	  (1,200	)

	 Excess nonbusiness deduction			  	11,800

	 Oregon NOL	 ($	24,900	)

Note: U.S. government interest, a prohibited amount, 
isn’t used to compute Oregon NOL.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You’re 
allowed an Oregon NOL if it is generated from 
Oregon sources. Computing Oregon NOL begins 
with “income after adjustments” from the Oregon 
column. Reduce this amount by federal exemptions 
and deductions (attributable to Oregon sources) to 
arrive at the modified OTI. Then adjust the modified 
OTI as required by IRC Section 172(d). The required 
adjustments are the same as those listed for full-year 
residents.

You aren’t allowed an NOL or carryover on an Ore-
gon return if the loss was incurred while you were 
a nonresident and was not attributable to Oregon 
sources. If your Oregon NOL is less than your federal 
NOL, report the difference as an addition on Sched-
ule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP using addition code 116.

Example 3: Ryan and Terry are married nonresidents 
and filed a joint return. On their federal return they 
itemized deductions of $14,000 (all nonbusiness) and 
claimed personal exemptions of $8,100. They also had 

a business loss of $25,000 from Oregon sources and 
$1,000 non-Oregon-source corporate bond interest. 
Their Oregon percentage is -0-. They computed their 
Oregon NOL as follows:

	 Oregon income after adjustments			  ($	25,000	)
	 Personal exemptions				   (8,100	)
	 Schedule A deductions		  -0-

	 Modified Oregon taxable income			  ($	33,100	)

	 Adjustments:			

	 Personal exemptions				   8,100
	 Nonbusiness deductions	 -0-			
	 Nonbusiness income	 -0-
	 Excess nonbusiness deduction		  -0-

	 Oregon NOL	 ($	25,000)

Application of an NOL
Oregon NOL carryforward or carryback. Generally, 
if you carry an NOL back for federal purposes, you 
must also carry the Oregon NOL back for Oregon 
purposes. If you elect to carry the federal NOL for-
ward, you must also carry the Oregon NOL forward.

Exception: If you weren’t required to file an Oregon 
return before the Oregon loss year, carry the Oregon 
NOL back or forward to the year the loss may be first 
applied. The total number of years an NOL may be 
carried back or forward is the same for Oregon and 
federal.

Example 1: Joe has an NOL for federal and Oregon. 
Joe carried his federal NOL back. Because he carried 
back his loss for federal purposes, he must carry back 
his loss for Oregon purposes. If he was not required 
to file an Oregon tax return that year, he may carry 
back his Oregon NOL to the next succeeding tax year.

Example 2: Assume the same facts as in Example 1. 
However, Joe was not required to file an Oregon tax 
return before the year of the loss. Joe can carry his 
Oregon NOL forward, even if the loss was carried 
back for federal purposes.

Example 3: Bud and Jody incurred losses from part-
nerships and S corporations. They compute an NOL 
of $12,000 and choose to carry the loss back. Their 
Oregon carryback year return shows negative taxable 
income, so the NOL is carried forward to the next 
year, where the loss is completely absorbed. Bud and 
Jody had a federal AGI of $50,000 on that return. The 
fully absorbed NOL is applied as follows:
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Federal AGI on the Oregon return 	 $50,000

Less: NOLD  (12,000)
Federal AGI for Oregon as revised  $38,000
Additions per Oregon return  3,000
Subtractions per Oregon return ($5,000)
Standard or itemized deductions recomputed for revised federal AGI (15,000)
Total deductions   (20,000)
Modified Oregon taxable income    $21,000

Example 4: Assume the same facts in Example 3, except that Bud and Jody choose to carry forward the NOL 
for federal and Oregon purposes. In the carryforward year, Bud and Jody have federal AGI of $15,000, reported 
additions of $8,000, and subtractions of $3,000. Bud and Jody will apply the NOL and compute the amount 
available for carryforward to the next year as follows:

NOLD carryforward    ($12,000)
Federal AGI on the Oregon return $15,000
Add: Capital loss deductions or -0-
 Capital gain deduction -0-
Federal AGI for Oregon as revised $15,000
Less: Prohibited amounts (-0-)
 Standard or itemized deductions recomputed for revised federal AGI (12,000)
Modified Oregon taxable income (NOLD)   3,000
Carryforward of NOL available for next year    ($ 9,000)

Bud and Jody’s Oregon taxable income is recomputed as follows:
Federal AGI on the Oregon return with loss carried    $15,000
Less: NOLD  (3,000)
Federal AGI including NOLD    $12,000
Add: Additions per Oregon return    8,000
Less: Subtractions per Oregon return    (3,000)
 Standard or itemized deductions  (12,000 )
Oregon taxable income as revised    $ 5,000

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Use the federal method without modifications, except prohibited 
amounts aren’t considered. Also, the NOLD, carryback, and carryover are based only on amounts attributable 
to Oregon sources.

Example 5: While residents of California, Robin and Valerie incurred losses from an Oregon partnership creat-
ing an $85,000 Oregon-only NOL. Before the loss year, neither Robin nor Valerie needed to file Oregon returns. 
The next year, Robin and Valerie move to Oregon and file a part-year Oregon return. They report federal 
income after adjustments of $385,000, Oregon income after adjustments of $235,000, and itemized deductions 
of $20,000. Robin and Valerie calculate their Oregon taxable income as follows:

   Federal  Oregon

Income after adjustments  $385,000  $235,000
NOLD  (85,000 ) (85,000 )
Modified income after adjustments  $300,000  $150,000
Plus: “Additions” per Oregon return  7,000  7,000
Less: “Subtractions” per Oregon return  (2,000 ) (2,000 )
Modified income after subtractions  $305,000  $155,000
Oregon percentage: 155,000 ÷ 305,000 = 50.8%
Less: Standard or itemized deductions recomputed for revised federal AGI  (20,000 )
 Federal tax subtraction  -0 -*
Oregon taxable income as revised  $285,000

*The federal tax subtraction is limited to $0 when federal AGI is $290,000 or more for joint filers.
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Example 6: Leslie and Jill live in Vancouver, Washington. Leslie operates a business in Oregon. Leslie and Jill file a 
nonresident Oregon return reporting an Oregon-only NOL of $6,000. Leslie and Jill elect to carry the NOL forward. 
In the carryforward year, Leslie and Jill report Oregon income after adjustments of $1,600, federal income after 
adjustments of $32,000, and federal itemized deductions of $13,200. Their Oregon itemized deductions are $660 
[($1,600 ÷ $32,000) × $13,200]. Leslie and Jill calculate their NOLD and the carryforward to the next year as follows:

NOL     ($6,000)
Oregon income after adjustments $1,600
Add: Oregon capital loss deduction -0-
 Oregon capital gain deduction -0-
Modified Oregon income as revised   $1,600
Less: Prohibited amounts  (-0- )
 Oregon percentage of standard or itemized   
  deductions recomputed for revised federal AGI  (660 )
Modified Oregon taxable income (NOLD)     940
Carryforward of NOL available for next year    ($5,060 )

NOL as a subtraction. Generally your NOL carryback and carryforward amounts will be reflected in your 
federal AGI. However, if you have an NOL carryback or an NOL carryforward for Oregon only, the loss won’t 
be reflected in your AGI. If your NOL isn’t reflected in AGI, you’ll report your carryback or carryforward on 
Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP using subtraction code 321.

Depreciation and amortization 
(ORS 316.707,316.739)

[Addition code 152] [Subtraction code 354]

Your Oregon depreciation deduction is generally the 
same as for federal purposes. It won’t be the same in 
the following cases:

•	The asset was placed in service in tax years begin-
ning on or after January 1, 1985, and you took the 
federal investment tax credit on your federal return.

•	You transferred property into Oregon’s taxing 
jurisdiction.

•	Assets were placed in service between 1981 and 
1985 (Accelerated Cost Recovery System [ACRS] 
assets), and you didn’t make the adjustment align-
ing Oregon basis with federal basis for them. If you 
made the adjustment on your 1996 tax return, there 
won’t be a depreciation difference.

•	The asset was placed in service during tax years 
2009 or 2010 and you claimed bonus depreciation 
or additional expensing under IRC Sections 168(k) 
or 179. For tax years 2009 and 2010, Oregon gen-
erally allowed the same expensing of qualifying 
assets under IRC Sections 168(k) and 179 as allowed 
under 2008 federal law. Because of this disconnect 
an addition is required, leaving a higher adjusted 
basis for Oregon to be depreciated over the life of 
the asset. Most taxpayers with an addition for this 
disconnect in 2009 or 2010 will have future year 
subtractions over the remaining life of the asset

NOL and federal depreciation disconnect. Your Ore-
gon NOL is the same as your federal NOL. Therefore 
if you had an NOL in 2009 or 2010 and also claimed 

depreciation or expenses not allowed by Oregon, 
your future year subtractions are reduced by the 
amount already included in the NOL.

Example 1: Paula expensed $144,000 in assets under 
IRC Section 179 in 2010. Because Oregon only allowed 
expenses of $134,000, she had a $10,000 addition on 
her 2010 Oregon return. Due to deductions and losses 
related to her business, Paula had a $15,000 NOL for 
2010. Normally, she would have an Oregon basis of 
$10,000 and could claim Oregon subtractions over the 
life of those assets. Because Paula’s federal NOL is the 
same for Oregon purposes, she has already received 
the benefit in the NOL deduction. When Paula carries 
the NOL forward or back she isn’t allowed any future 
year subtractions due to depreciation differences.

Example 2: Same as Example 1 except that Paula’s 
NOL was only $7,000. Paula still had an addition of 
$10,000 on her 2010 Oregon return. Paula would have 
been allowed to claim $10,000 in subtractions over 
the life of the assets bought in 2010 if she didn’t have 
an NOL. Because Paula had an NOL, the amount 
claimed in subtractions over the life of the assets 
bought in 2010 is reduced to $3,000 ($10,000 expens-
ing difference minus $7,000 already allowed as an 
NOL deduction). She will use a reasonable method to 
assign the $3,000 in Oregon adjusted basis to one or 
more of the assets purchased in 2010 to calculate her 
future years’ differences in depreciation.

Oregon Depreciation Schedule. Use Schedule OR-
DEPR to determine if your Oregon depreciation is the 
same as, or different from, your federal depreciation.

Oregon depreciation 
on all property –

Federal  
depreciation on 

the same property
=

Oregon 
difference in 
depreciation
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Oregon subtraction. If your Oregon depreciation 
is more than your federal depreciation on the same 
property, you’ll have a subtraction (subtraction code 
354) for the difference.

Oregon addition. If your Oregon depreciation is less 
than your federal depreciation on the same property, 
you’ll have an addition (addition code 152) for the 
difference.

Go to our website to download Schedule OR-DEPR, 
or contact us to order it.

Partnership and S corporation 
modifications for Oregon and  
Business tax credits from PTE 
(ORS 314.712-314.752)

[Addition code 119] [Subtraction code 323]

If you received a Schedule K-1 from a PTE (Partner-
ship, S corporation, or LLC filing as either), then you 
may have Oregon additions, subtractions, or credits 
that flow through to your Oregon return. Your modi-
fication or credit is based on the total for the business 
multiplied by your ownership percentage, which 
should have been calculated by the business.

Use the specific code for credits flowing through to 
your Oregon return. 

If there is a specific code for the Oregon addition or 
subtraction, use that code. Otherwise, use the above 
codes to identify the Oregon addition or subtraction.

Nonresidents: If your business operates both in and 
out of Oregon, it has an apportionment percent-
age from Schedule OR-AP. This percentage should 
be provided to you with your Schedule K-1, since it 
shows you how much of the income from your busi-
ness is Oregon source. The business should have 
already multiplied your share of Oregon additions 
and subtractions by the apportionment percentage. 
Oregon credits that flow through may be required 
to be multiplied by your Oregon percentage on your 
Form OR-40-N. See the instructions for each credit 
for requirements.

Part-year residents: Use the nonresident information 
for the part of the year you were a nonresident and 
the full amounts for the time you were a resident.

PTE reduced tax rate (ORS 316.043)
If you have qualifying income from a partnership 
or an S corporation, you may elect to calculate your 
Oregon income tax using a reduced tax rate for that 
income. The reduced tax rate can be claimed for qual-
ifying income up to $5 million. 

The PTE reduced tax rate is an irrevocable election 
for each tax year that must be made on the original 
return or an amended return filed before the due 
date, excluding extensions. The election is made by 
submitting the Schedule OR-PTE appropriate for 
your residency status and checking the PTE box on 
your Oregon income tax return. No additions, sub-
tractions, or deductions other than depreciation are 
allowed in the calculation of the tax on qualifying 
income. The schedule is available for download from 
our website, or contact us to order it.

Qualifications 
To be eligible for the reduced tax rate:

•	You must have qualifying income from a PTE; 
•	You must have materially participated in the busi-

ness; and
•	The PTE must have employed at least one qualify-

ing employee in Oregon.

Qualifying income. Qualifying PTE income is income 
other than from passive activities (IRC Section 469). 
Income from trusts, estates, sole proprietorships, 
qualified joint ventures, and disregarded entities 
doesn’t qualify. Qualifying income passed through 
to a higher-tier entity from a lower-tier entity will 
qualify for the reduced tax rate if the lower-tier entity 
meets the employee requirement. 

Example 1. Bryant and Marcus are each the sole 
shareholders of an S corporation. The S corporations 
are each 50% owners in a partnership. Bryant and 
Marcus both materially participate in the partner-
ship, and the partnership employs several full-time 
employees who perform their work in Oregon all 
year long. Bryant and Marcus receive a distributive 
share of nonpassive income from the partnership that 
passes through their respective S corporations. Each 
also receives a salary for work performed for the part-
nership. The distributive share of nonpassive income 
they receive from the partnership qualifies for the 
reduced tax rate because the partnership meets the 
employee requirement. However, the salary each 
received from the partnership doesn’t qualify for the 
reduced rate. 

Material participation. A taxpayer materially partici-
pates in an activity if the taxpayer works on a regular, 
continuous, and substantial basis in operations of the 
business. Under certain circumstances, related enti-
ties may be grouped into a single activity in order 
to meet this requirement. Refer to IRC Section 469 
and the related IRS regulations for more detailed 
information. 

Employee requirement. The PTE must have at least 
one employee who performed work for the entity in 
Oregon for at least 1,200 hours during the tax year. 
The employee must work at least 30 hours in a week 
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for that week’s hours to count. The employee can’t 
be an owner, member, or limited partner, but hours 
worked by an employee who is a spouse or other fam-
ily member (who isn’t an owner, member, or limited 
partner) can be used to meet the hour requirement. 

Example 2. Alpha Partnership’s employee, Ralph, 
worked a total of 1,496 hours during the year in Ore-
gon. Ralph worked 32 hours per week for 31 weeks 
and 24 hours per week for 21 weeks. Alpha can only 
count the hours for the 31 weeks that Ralph worked 
at least 30 hours. Alpha’s qualifying hours total 992 
(32 hours x 31 weeks). This is less than the 1,200 hours 
required, so Alpha’s nonpassive income doesn’t qual-
ify for the reduced tax rate. 

Example 3. Six employees worked in Oregon for Beta 
Corp (an S corporation) during the year for a total of 
1,760 hours. One employee, Betty, worked 32 hours 
a week for 30 weeks, for a total of 960 hours (32 x 
30). The other five employees each worked 20 hours 
per week for 40 weeks in a job-share position. Only 
Betty’s hours can be counted as qualifying hours. 
Beta Corp’s nonpassive income doesn’t qualify for 
the reduced tax rate because Betty’s total hours don’t 
meet the 1,200 hour requirement. 

Example 4. Gamma Partnership had three employ-
ees working during the year in Oregon. Together 
they worked a total of 2,240 hours. One employee 
worked 32 hours a week for 20 weeks and the other 
two employees each worked 40 hours per week dur-
ing the same 20 weeks. The hours for each employee 
qualify because each employee worked at least 30 
hours a week. Gamma meets the employee require-
ment for the reduced tax rate.

Temporary or “leased” employees. If a PTE contracts 
with a professional employer organization to employ 
temporary or “leased” employees, the PTE can use 
the hours worked in Oregon by those employees 
to qualify for the reduced tax rate if weekly hour 
requirements are met. 

Amended returns
Amending to elect or revoke the reduced rate not 
allowed. You can’t amend your return to elect the 
reduced rate or revoke a prior election after your 
original return is filed unless you file the amended 
return by the original due date of April 17, 2018. 

Example 5. Liam filed his original return on March 
1, 2018 and didn’t elect the PTE reduced tax rate. He 
files an amended return on April 12, 2018 to make 
the election to use the reduced tax rate. Liam will be 
allowed the PTE reduced tax rate because the return 
was filed before the original due date. 

Example 6. Maggie filed her original return with a 
timely-filed extension on August 12, 2018 and elected 

the PTE reduced tax rate. She files an amended return 
on October 2, 2018 to revoke the election. Even though 
she filed the amended return before the extension 
due date, Maggie can’t revoke the election to use the 
PTE reduced tax rate because she filed the amended 
return after the original due date of April 17, 2018. 

Amended Schedule OR-PTE. You must amend Sched-
ule OR-PTE if you elect to use the reduced tax rate on 
your original return or on an amended return filed 
before the original due date and: 

•	An IRS or other state audit resulted in a change that 
affects your Oregon return;

•	You amended your federal or other state return and 
the changes you made affect your Oregon return;

•	You have an NOL; or
•	You need to correct income or deductions you orig-

inally reported. 

If you amend Schedule OR-PTE, you must report the 
tax using the reduced rate on the amended tax work-
sheet even if the amount of tax using the ordinary 
tax rate is less. This is because the election to use the 
reduced tax rate on your original return is irrevocable 
and can’t be changed by filing an amended return.

See the instructions for Schedule OR-PTE-FY, Sched-
ule OR-PTE-NR, or Schedule OR-PTE-PY for tax rate 
charts and additional information.

Basis of business assets transferred  
into Oregon (ORS 316.707)

[Addition code 150] [Subtraction code 358]

Are you a nonresident? If so, there are several ways 
you can bring assets into Oregon’s taxing jurisdic-
tion. For example:

•	You become an Oregon resident and transfer busi-
ness assets into Oregon.

•	You become an Oregon resident and leave the 
assets in the other state.

•	You open a business in Oregon and transfer busi-
ness assets into Oregon.

Did you transfer business assets into Oregon? If so, 
the basis for Oregon depreciation will be either the 
federal unadjusted basis or fair market value at the 
time of transfer, whichever is smaller.

The federal unadjusted basis is the original cost 
before adjustments. Adjustments include reductions 
for investment tax credits, depletion, amortization, 
depreciation, or amounts expensed under IRC Sec-
tion 179. The fair market value and useful life are fig-
ured when you bring the asset into Oregon. 
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Reduce the federal unadjusted basis or the fair market 
value of the asset by any Oregon depreciation previ-
ously allowed.

Example: Bob was a California resident. He has owned 
a business in Yreka, California since 1988. Bob bought 
an office building in Yreka for $800,000. He placed it in 
service March 1, 1988. For federal purposes, the build-
ing is 31½-year real property and is being depreciated 
using the applicable percentages. On January 1, 2015, 
Bob bought a truck for $45,000. For federal purposes, 
the truck is five-year property and is being depreci-
ated using the applicable percentages.

On January 1, 2017, Bob moved to Ashland, but he con-
tinues to operate his business in Yreka. At that time, 
the building had a fair market value of $1,473,000, and 
the truck’s fair market value was $27,000. Because Bob 
is an Oregon resident, he must determine his Oregon 
basis to depreciate his assets for Oregon. The Oregon 
adjusted basis is computed as follows:

Building

Smaller of:

 Cost of building 
  (federal unadjusted basis) $ 800,000
 Less: Depreciation previously allowed
  for Oregon tax purposes – -0-
 Net basis $ 800,000
  or
 Fair market value as of January 1, 2017 $1,473,000
 Less: Depreciation previously allowed
  for Oregon tax purposes – -0-
 Oregon fair market value $1,473,000

Bob will depreciate the building for Oregon using the 
$800,000 federal unadjusted basis and Modified Accel-
erated Cost Recovery System (MACRS) depreciation 
for its original federal applicable recovery period.

Truck

Smaller of:

 Cost of truck (federal unadjusted basis) $ 45,000
 Less: Depreciation previously allowed
  for Oregon tax purposes – -0-
 Net basis $ 45,000
  or
 Fair market value as of January 1, 2017 $ 27,000
 Less: Depreciation previously allowed
  for Oregon tax purposes – -0-
 Oregon fair market value $ 27,000

Bob will depreciate the truck for Oregon using the 
$27,000 Oregon fair market value and MACRS depreci-
ation for its original applicable federal recovery period.

Sale of assets (ORS 316.716)
[Addition code 154] [Subtraction code 355]

Gain or loss on property you began depreciating 
after 1980 and before 1985. During the tax year, 
did you sell property you began depreciating after 
December 31, 1980, and before January 1, 1985? If you 
did and didn’t make the one-time adjustment on your 
1996 Oregon return, your gain or loss for Oregon may 
differ from your gain or loss for federal purposes. 
If you sold this property during the year, you must 
make an adjustment on your return to reconcile your 
Oregon basis to your federal basis. 

To figure your gain or loss for Oregon, use the depre-
ciation you claimed on your Oregon return in prior 
years. Subtract the total amount of gain or loss for Ore-
gon property you began depreciating after 1980 and 
before 1985 from your gain or loss for federal purposes 
for the same property. The difference is an Oregon 
addition or subtraction. Keep a worksheet with your 
tax records to show how you figured the difference.

Addition or subtraction
If Oregon depreciation is less than your federal 
depreciation, you will have an Oregon subtraction. If 
Oregon depreciation is more than your federal depre-
ciation, you will have an Oregon addition. 

Partnerships and S corporations
Partnerships report differences between federal 
and Oregon depreciation on the Oregon partner-
ship return. S corporations report the differences on 
Schedule SM of the Oregon S corporation return. The 
differences must also be shown on the partner’s or 
shareholder’s Schedule K-1 or equivalent.

The differences will be added to or subtracted from 
income on the individual partner’s or shareholder’s 
Oregon income tax return.

Gain on the sale of an Oregon  
residence (ORS 316.048)

[Addition code 152] [Subtraction code 354]

Generally, Oregon will tax the gain from the sale of 
your residence only when the federal government 
taxes it. Oregon won’t tax any gain excluded on your 
federal return. This is true even if you reinvest in a 
home outside Oregon.

The Oregon basis of your home is generally the same 
as your federal basis. If your gain is taxed by the fed-
eral government, Oregon will tax the same amount 
of gain.
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Exception: If you were renting out a house and then 
converted it to your personal residence, the Oregon 
basis may not be the same as the federal basis due to 
depreciation differences.

Note: If you are also taxed by another state or coun-
try on some or all of the gain, see “Mutually-taxed 
gain on the sale of residential property“ under “Stan-
dard credits.“

Fiduciary adjustment (ORS 316.697)

[Addition code 133] [Subtraction code 310]

The same modifications that apply to an individual 
return also apply to an Oregon estate or trust return. 
Combined, this is called the fiduciary adjustment. If 
you’re a beneficiary of an estate or trust, you must 
report your share of the fiduciary adjustment. This 
should be shown on the Schedule K-1 which you 
receive from the estate or trust. Report it on Sched-
ule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP as an addition using code 
133 or as a subtraction using code 310. 

Example: Frank reported $5,000 of trust income from 
R&C Farewell Trust on federal Schedule E. Of this, 
$2,500 was from interest on U.S. obligations, which 
isn’t taxable by Oregon. He also received interest 
income of $1,000 from the trust that was not included 
in his federal income. This interest was from Cali-
fornia bonds and is taxable by Oregon. Frank should 
claim a $1,500 subtraction, the net of both fiduciary 
adjustment items, using subtraction code 310. 

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes the fiduciary 
adjustment if it relates to Oregon income or if you 
were an Oregon resident on the last day of the trust’s 
taxable year.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes the fiduciary adjustment 
if it relates to Oregon income.

Passive activity losses	 (PALs) 
(ORS 314.300)

[Addition code 155] [Subtraction code 356]

Generally, a passive activity is any:

•	Rental activity including equipment and real estate, 
regardless of your level of participation, or

•	Business in which you don’t materially participate 
in a regular, continuous, and substantial basis.

Oregon generally adopted the federal passive loss 
rules in the federal Tax Reform Act of 1986 and the 
Revenue Reconciliation Act of 1993. There are some 
differences in passive losses for Oregon.

How to compute and report passive losses 
for Oregon

1.	 Modify the federal passive loss by the applicable 
additions and subtractions listed under “Oregon 
modifications to federal passive activity losses.“

2.	 Apply the federal passive loss limitations to the Ore-
gon passive loss you computed in step 1 above. This 
will determine how much is deductible for Oregon. 
To apply the income limitations, use federal AGI 
before modifying for additions or subtractions.

3.	 Figure the difference between the passive loss 
reported on your federal return and the deductible 
Oregon loss you figured above. You will claim an 
addition or subtraction on your Oregon return.

4.	 Keep a schedule with your tax records showing 
your computations for steps 1, 2, and 3 above.

5.	 Also keep a schedule (when applicable) showing 
the allocation of Oregon modifications between 
the Oregon passive loss activities and other busi-
ness activities.

Example: Depreciation modification. Elijah has 
determined that his depreciation for Oregon is more 
than his federal depreciation by $1,000. Ordinarily, 
he would report a $1,000 subtraction on his Oregon 
return for the difference in depreciation.

Of the $1,000 difference in depreciation, $600 is allo-
cable to passive activities and $400 is allocable to other 
business activities. His Oregon passive activity loss is 
his federal passive activity loss increased by the $600 
difference in depreciation. He reports the remaining 
$400 difference in depreciation allocable to other busi-
ness activities as a subtraction on his Oregon return.

Passive activity credits. You can offset in full the tax 
credits related to a passive activity against your Ore-
gon tax liability for the taxable year.

Active participants in rental real estate activities. The 
$25,000 offset for rental real estate activities provided 
in IRC Section 469(i) applies to deductions allowed 
under federal and Oregon law. Don’t reduce the off-
set by deduction equivalents defined in IRC 469 Sec-
tion  (j)(5). The phaseout amounts ($100,000/$150,000) 
are based on federal AGI regardless of whether you 
are a full-year resident, part-year resident, or nonresi-
dent of Oregon.

Part-year residents. Compute your passive activity 
losses from activities carried on while an Oregon 
resident. Add those connected with Oregon sources 
while a nonresident. Modify the result by applicable 
additions and subtractions listed here.
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Nonresidents. Compute your passive activity losses 
from activities connected with Oregon sources. Modify 
the loss by the applicable additions and subtractions 
listed here. The loss must be connected with Oregon 
sources even if you later become an Oregon resident.

Oregon modifications to federal passive 
activity losses
Listed here are some of the modifications you must 
make for Oregon:
1.	 Additions:
•	Interest or dividends on obligations of another state.
•	Depletion in excess of the adjusted basis of property.
•	Gain on voluntary or involuntary conversions or 

exchanges of Oregon property reinvested outside 
Oregon when no election is made to defer it.

2.	 Subtractions:
•	Gain or loss on the sale of public utility stock where 

dividends were reinvested.
•	Interest or dividends on obligations of the U.S. 

government.
•	Wages you didn’t deduct from federal taxable 

income because you claimed the federal work 
opportunity credit.

•	Interest or dividends on obligations of Oregon 
political subdivisions.

3.	 Additions or subtractions:

•	Differences in depreciation.
•	Differences in gain or loss from basis differences in 

the sale of an asset.
Note: Items used to modify the federal passive activ-
ity loss must occur in the ordinary course of a trade 
or business.

Oregon percentage (ORS 316.117)
Part-year residents and nonresidents must compute 
an Oregon percentage. This determines allowable 
deductions and modifications and Oregon tax.

Divide your income after subtractions from the Ore-
gon column by your income after subtractions from 
the federal column. Enter the figure on the Oregon 
percentage line. Don’t fill in more than 100 percent or 
less than -0-.

Example 1: Lisa reported $30,000 of income after sub-
tractions in the federal column. She reported $10,000 
of income after subtractions in the Oregon column. 
Here’s how she figured her Oregon percentage:

$10,000 ÷ $30,000 = 0.333 or 33.3%

Carry the decimal to three places to figure your Oregon 
percentage.

Negative income. If the federal column is negative and 
the Oregon column is positive, your Oregon percentage 
is 100%. If the federal column is positive and the Oregon 
column is negative, your Oregon percentage is 0%.

Example 2:
 

Federal 
column

Oregon 
column

Oregon  
percentage

($20,000) $42,000 100%
$50,000 ($22,000) 0%

Deductions and modifications	  
(ORS 316.695)

You may claim either net itemized deductions or 
Oregon’s standard deduction, whichever is larger, 
but not both.

Itemized deductions
Generally, you may claim your total itemized deduc-
tions shown on federal Schedule A, line 29. But there 
is an exception. If you itemize for Oregon only, fill 
out a separate Schedule A. You may claim itemized 
deductions for Oregon even if you could not on your 
federal return. You still use federal AGI to figure the 
Schedule A limitations. Keep the Oregon schedule 
with your tax records.

Note: If your filing status is married filing sepa-
rately, you must itemize deductions if your spouse 
itemizes. Are you filing separate returns for Oregon 
only? If so, determine your share of itemized deduc-
tions by multiplying your total joint deductions by 
the percentage you figured for separate returns. See 
the formula under “Filing status.” Remember to use 
your Oregon itemized deductions after subtracting 
state tax. You may separate your deductions if each 
of you can clearly show your own.



150-101-431 (Rev. 12-17)88

Limit on itemized deductions

Did you reduce itemized deductions on your federal 
return because your federal AGI exceeded the thresh-
old? If so, complete this worksheet to determine the 
correct amount of Oregon income tax to subtract 
from itemized deductions.

1. Itemized deductions subject to the 
limit (from your federal itemized 
deductions worksheet).

1.  

2. Limit:  Line 1 multiplied by 80% 
(0.80).

2.  

3. Federal AGI minus federal income 
limit.

3.  

4. Line 3 multiplied by 3% (0.03). 4.   

5. Enter the smaller of line 2 or line 4. 5.  

6. Allowable deductions: Line 1 
minus line 5. 

6.  

7. Line 6 divided by line 1. Carry this 
decimal to three places.

7.  

8. Tax to subtract: Line 7 multiplied 
by Oregon income tax you claimed 
on federal Schedule A, line 5.

8.  

Example 1: Adam, a single taxpayer aged 43, filed 
a return with itemized deductions and $350,000 of 
AGI. His itemized deductions are as follows, taken 
from his federal itemized deductions worksheet.

Federal itemized deductions worksheet:	

	 Subject to limit 		  Not subject to limit

Medical $40,000 		
Less: 10% of federal AGI (35,000)
Total   		 $5,000				    $5,000

Taxes 
 Oregon income tax $46,000
 Other taxes 2,000
Total   		 $48,000		 $48,000	

Interest 
 Home mortgage  				   $10,500
 Investment interest  						      $1,500
Total   		 $12,000
Contributions  		 $15,000		 $15,000
Casualty loss, Non-business  		 $2,500				    $2,500
Miscellaneous $16,000
Less: 2% of federal AGI ($7,000)
Total   		 $9,000		 $9,000

Other misc. deductions 
 Gambling losses  		 $3,000				    $3,000

Total itemized deductions  		 $94,500		 $82,500		  $12,000

Adam’s itemized deductions total $94,500, of which 

$82,500 is subject to the federal limit, $12,000 isn’t.

Here is an example of how Adam calculates his 

Oregon itemized deductions:

1. Itemized deductions subject to the 
limit (from your federal itemized 
deductions worksheet).

1. $82,500 

2. Limitation limit:  Line 1 multiplied 
by 80% (0.80).

2. $66,000 

3. Federal AGI minus federal income 
limit for 2017 (350,000-287,650).

3. $62,350 

4. Line 3 multiplied by 3% (0.03). 4. $1,871

5. Enter the smaller of line 2 or line 4. 5. $1,871 

6. Allowable deductions: Line 1 
minus line 5. 

6. $80,629 

7. Line 6 divided by line 1. Carry this 
decimal to three places.

7. 0.977 

8. Tax to subtract: Line 7 multiplied by 
Oregon income tax you claimed on 
federal Schedule A, line 5,  
($46,000 x 0.977)

8. $44,942

For Oregon, Adam will reduce his $92,629 of federal 
itemized deductions ($80,629 + $12,000) by $44,942 of 

Other items
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Oregon income tax not allowed as an itemized deduc-
tion. His net Oregon itemized deductions total $47,687. 

Did you claim an Oregon credit for contributions to 
the Child Care Fund, Oregon IDA Initiative Fund, 
Oregon Production Investment Fund, Renewable 
Energy Development Fund, University Venture 
Development Fund, or Alternative Fuel Vehicle Fund, 
and also claim your contribution as a federal deduc-
tion on this year’s Schedule A?  Were your itemized 
deductions limited because your AGI exceeded the 
federal threshold amount? If so, you can use the item-
ized deduction limit worksheet above to calculate 
your addition.

Example 2:  Use the same facts as in Example 1 above, 
except Adam’s charitable contributions included 
$5,000 that was also claimed as a credit for tax cred-
its purchased from the Alternative Fuel Vehicle Fund 
auction. Adam will use the percentage calculated on 
line 7 of the worksheet to determine his addition for 
Oregon, calculated as follows:

Total contributions not allowed for 
Oregon purposes

$5,000 

Percentage of contributions allowed on 
federal Schedule A (line 7)

0.977 

Oregon addition (5,000 x 0.977) $4,885

Of the $5,000 contribution Adam made, only $4,885 
was allowed on his federal Schedule A due to the 
AGI limitation. Adam’s Oregon addition will be for 
$4,885, the amount allowed on Schedule A, not the 
full donation of $5,000.

Net Oregon itemized deductions
Your net Oregon itemized deductions are your:

•	Total federal itemized deductions, less
•	Oregon state income tax or state and local sales tax 

claimed as an itemized deduction.
In most cases, you’ll use net Oregon itemized deduc-
tions if that amount is larger than your Oregon stan-
dard deduction. The exception to this is if your filing 
status is married filing separately, explained earlier.

Part-year residents and nonresidents
Did you itemize deductions and claim one or more of 
these items on your Oregon return?

•	Child Care Fund contribution. 
•	Claim of right income repayment.
•	Oregon Production Investment Fund contribution. 
•	Renewable Energy Development Fund contribution. 
•	University Venture Development Fund contribution.
•	Oregon IDA Initiative Fund donation.
•	Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduction. 
•	Medical expenses also used for the WFHDC credit.

If so, you may need to modify the amount deducted 
on your federal return. See the instructions for each 
credit in “Additions” to determine any modification 
amount needed. Modifications increase your item-
ized deductions, so you must report the required 
addition as a negative modification. Use the modi-
fication code, not the addition code, and enter the 
amount with a minus sign in section 4 of Schedule 
OR-ASC-NP.

Standard deduction
Use the standard deduction only if it is larger than 
your net itemized deductions. If your filing status is 
married filing separately and your spouse itemizes, 
your standard deduction is -0-.

Generally, your standard deduction is based on your 
filing status:

Single……………………………………………… $2,175
Married filing jointly… …………………………$4,350
Married filing separately
	 	 If spouse claims standard deduction………………$2,175
		  If spouse claims itemized deductions… …………… -0-
Head of household… ……………………………$3,500
Qualifying widow(er)… …………………………$4,350

Standard deduction—Age 65 or older, blind. Did 
you check one or more of the boxes on line 19a of your 
Oregon Form OR-40 or line 40a of your Oregon Form 
OR-40-N or OR-40-P because you or your spouse are 
age 65 or older or because you or your spouse are 
blind? Then you’re entitled to an additional deduc-
tion amount.

If you checked one or more of the boxes on line 19a of 
your Oregon Form OR-40 or line 40a of your Oregon 
Form OR-40-N or OR-40-P, multiply the number of 
boxes checked by:

•	$1,000 if married or qualifying widow(er).
•	$1,200 if single or head of household.

Add this amount to the standard deduction amount 
for your filing status from above. Fill in the total on 
line 19 of Form OR-40, or line 40 of Form OR-40-P or 
Form OR-40-N.

Example 1: Matt and Sandy are married and file a 
joint return. They checked two of the boxes on line 
19a because Matt is over 65 and Sandy, age 62, is 
blind. Their total standard deduction is $6,350. They 
figure their standard deduction as follows:

	 $4,350	 Standard deduction for their filing 
		  status MFJ

	 $2,000 	2 x $1,000

	 $6,350	 Total standard deduction
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Standard deduction—Single or married filing jointly 
dependents. If you or you and your spouse can be 
claimed as a dependent on another person’s return 
(even if the other person doesn’t claim you), use the 
following worksheets with federal amounts to figure 
your standard deduction:

Standard deduction worksheet for single dependents
1. Enter your earned income (see 

definition).
1.  

2. Additional $350. 2. $350

3. Add lines 1 and 2. 3.  

4. Minimum standard deduction. 4. $1,050
5. Enter the larger of line 3 or 4. 5.  

6. Basic standard deduction for single. 6. $2,175

7. Enter the smaller of line 5 or 6. 7.  

8. If age 65 or older, enter $1,200; if not, 
enter -0-. 

8.  

9. If blind, enter $1,200; if not, enter -0-. 9.  
10. Add lines 7, 8, and 9. Enter the total 

here. This is your standard deduction. 
10.  

Earned income includes salaries, wages, tips, profes-
sional fees, or other amounts received as pay for work 
you actually perform, and any part of a scholarship 
or fellowship grant that you must include in your 
gross income.

Example 1: Homer is single, age 17, not blind, and 
claimed as a dependent by his father. He had $1,135 
of earned income. Homer’s standard deduction is 
$1,485, figured as follows:

1. Enter your earned income. 1. $1,135

2. Additional  $350. 2. $350

3. Add lines 1 and 2. 3. $1,485 
4. Minimum standard deduction, set 

amount.
4. $1,050

5. Enter the larger of line 3 or 4. 5. $1,485

6. Basic standard deduction for single. 6. $2,175
7. Enter the smaller of line 5 or 6. 7. $1,485

8. If age 65 or older, enter $1,200; if not, 
enter -0-. 

8. -0-

9. If blind, enter $1,200; if not, enter -0-. 9. -0-
10. Add lines 7, 8, and 9. Enter the total 

here. This is your standard deduction.
10. $1,485

Standard deduction worksheet for married filing 
jointly dependents (FJD)
1. Enter your earned income (see above). 1.  

2. Additional $350. 2. $350

3. Add lines 1 and 2. 3.  

4. Minimum standard deduction. 4. $1,050

5. Enter the larger of line 3 or 4. 5.  

6. Standard deduction for FJD. 6. $4,350
7. Enter the smaller of line 5 or 6. 7.  

8. If age 65 or older, enter $1,000; if not, 
enter -0-. 

8.  

9. If blind, enter $1,000; if not, enter -0-. 9.  

10. Add lines 7, 8, and 9. Enter the total 
here. This is your standard deduction.

10.  

Example 2: Jack and Kris are married and are both 
full-time college students. Jack is 20 and Kris is 21. 
Neither is blind. They live in Jack’s parents’ home 
and are both claimed as dependents by Jack’s par-
ents. Jack and Kris work part-time at the university. 
Together they had $7,620 of wage income. Jack and 
Kris will file a joint tax return. They calculate their 
standard deduction as follows:

1. Enter your earned income. 1. $7,620

2. Additional $350. 2. $350

3. Add lines 1 and 2. 3. $7,970

4. Minimum standard deduction. 4. $1,050

5. Enter the larger of line 3 or 4. 5. $7,970

6. Basic standard deduction for FJD. 6. $4,350

7. Enter the smaller of line 5 or 6. 7. $4,350

8. If age 65 or older, enter $1,000; if 
not, enter -0-. 

8. -0-

9. If blind, enter 1,000; if not, enter -0-. 9. -0-

10. Add lines 7, 8, and 9. Enter the 
total here. This is your standard 
deduction.

10. $4,350

Standard deduction—Nonresident aliens. The stan-
dard deduction for nonresident aliens is -0-.

Standard deduction—Short-period return. Individuals 
filing a short-period return may not claim a standard 
deduction.
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Interest on certain installment sales  
(ORS 314.302)

Do you have installment sales for which you had to 
pay interest on the deferred tax liability for federal 
purposes? If so, you must also pay interest for Ore-
gon. The amount due is computed the same way as 
for federal. The interest rate for 2017 is 5 percent.

Part-year residents. For the part of the year you were a 
nonresident, include only those installment obligations 
that were from dispositions of property in this state.

For the part of the year you were a resident, consider 
all installment obligations.

Farm liquidation long-term capital  
gain tax rate (ORS 316.045)

If you sold or exchanged capital assets used in farm-
ing activities during the tax year, you may be able to 
apply a reduced tax rate to your net long-term capital 
gain.

Farming activities include:

•	Raising, harvesting, and selling crops.

•	Feeding, breeding, managing, or selling livestock, 
poultry, fur-bearing animals, or honeybees or the 
product thereof.

•	Dairying and selling dairy products.

•	Stabling or training horses, including providing rid-
ing lessons, training clinics, and schooling shows.

•	Propagating, cultivating, maintaining, or harvest-
ing aquatic species, birds, and other animal species.

•	Growing and harvesting cultured Christmas trees 
or certain hardwood timber.

•	On-site construction and maintenance of equip-
ment and facilities used in farming activities.

•	Preparing, storing, or disposing of products or by-
products raised for human or animal use on land 
employed in farming activities.

Farming activities don’t include growing and har-
vesting trees of a marketable species, other than 
growing and harvesting cultured Christmas trees or 
certain hardwood timber.

General rules. The sale or exchange must end all of 
your ownership interests in a farming business or in 
property that is used in a farming business. You may 
not claim the special tax rate on a sale or exchange to 
a relative , as that term is defined by IRC Section 267. 
A farm dwelling or farm homesite isn’t considered to 
be property used in the trade or business of farm-
ing. If you have a net loss from all the assets you sold 

or exchanged during the year, you don't qualify for 
the reduced rate on the sale or exchange of your farm 
assets.

Partnerships or S corporations. The sale of owner-
ship interests in a farming corporation, partnership, 
or other entity qualifies for the special tax rate. The 
taxpayer must have had at least a 10 percent owner-
ship interest in the entity before the sale or exchange.

Computing the tax. Use Worksheet OR-FCG to fig-
ure your tax using the reduced rate. Download the 
worksheet from our website or contact us to order it. 
Check the box labeled “Worksheet OR-FCG” on your 
Oregon tax return. Don't include the worksheet with 
your return; keep it with your tax records.

Farm income averaging  
(ORS 314.297)

You can figure your Oregon income tax by averag-
ing this year's farm income using your farm income 
from the previous three (base) years. This may result 
in less tax if this year's farm income is higher than 
your taxable income for one or more of the three prior 
years.

A farming business is the trade or business of cul-
tivating land or raising or harvesting any agricul-
tural or horticultural commodity. Your elected farm 
income is the amount of your taxable income from 
farming that you elect to include in the calculation. 
You don’t have to include all of your taxable income 
from farming. It may be to your advantage to include 
less than the full amount. 

Forms. Use our farm income averaging forms, 
worksheets, and instructions to figure your Oregon 
income tax.  Form OR-FIA-40 or Publication OR-FIA-
NP, which includes the forms for part-year or non-
resident filers, can be downloaded from our website 
or ordered by contacting us. 

Be sure to mark the box on your return to indicate 
that you figured your tax using farm income averag-
ing. Don't include the form, worksheets, or schedules 
with your return; keep them with your tax records.
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Credits
Types of credits

There are three types of Oregon tax credits: standard, 
carryforward, and refundable. In addition, some of 
these credits require certification from another state 
agency. Certain credits must be prorated on part-year 
and nonresident returns.

Standard credits. These credits aren’t refundable. 
They can’t exceed your tax liability for the current 
tax year. Unused credit in excess of your tax liability 
can’t be carried forward to a later tax year. 

Carryforward credits. These credits aren’t refundable. 
They can’t exceed your tax liability for the current tax 
year, but you may carry forward the unused amount 
to a later tax year. Refer to the instructions for the 
credit you are claiming for specific details.

Refundable credits. Refundable credits may exceed 
your tax liability for the year. The amount of the 
credit that exceeds your tax liability will be refunded 
to you. 

Certified credits. For certain credits, you must qualify, 
apply, and be certified before you can claim them on 
your return. Other agencies, not the Department of 
Revenue, are responsible for certifying these credits. 
Contact information can be found in the instructions 
for each certified credit in this section.

Full-year residents. All credits you qualify for are 
allowed on Form OR-40.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You must pro-
rate certain Oregon credits by multiplying your total 
credit by your Oregon percentage from Form OR-
40-N or OR-40-P to figure the amount you can claim 
on your Oregon return. You must prorate the follow-
ing credits:

•	Agriculture workforce housing.
•	Biomass production/collection.
•	Child and dependent care carryforward.
•	Claim of right.
•	Crop donation.
•	Earned income.

•	Electronic commerce zone investment.
•	Employer scholarship.
•	Exemption.
•	Fish screening devices.
•	Oregon Cultural Trust.
•	Oregon Veterans’ Home physicians.
•	Reservation enterprise zone.
•	Residential energy.
•	Rural emergency medical technicians.
•	Rural medical practitioners.
•	Rural technology workforce development.
•	University venture development fund 

contributions.
•	Working Family Household and Dependent Care.

S corporation shareholders. Certain carryforward 
credits earned by S corporations pass through to 
shareholders, who then claim these credits on their 
personal income tax returns. Each of these credits 
may only be claimed on an Oregon personal income 
tax return by shareholders of an S corporation that 
qualifies for the credit or, if the credit is transferable, 
is a qualified transferee of the credit from another 
corporation that earned the credit. Except as noted, 
each credit is limited to the shareholder’s income tax 
liability for the year, although the carryforward pro-
visions may vary. For more information about credits 
available to S corporations, visit our website.

Claiming credits. With the exception of the exemption 
credit, the EIC, and the political contribution credit 
for full-year filers, all credits are reported on Sched-
ule OR-ASC or Schedule OR-ASC-NP. The schedule 
contains sections that are specific for each of the three 
types of credits. Enter the credit code and the amount 
you are claiming in the applicable section. The total 
dollar amount of the credits entered in each section is 
reported on your return. 

See the explanation for the specific credit on the 
following pages to find its code number and more 
detailed instructions. A list of all credits and their 
code numbers is included in the appendix. Include 
Schedule OR-ASC or Schedule OR-ASC-NP  when 
you file your return.  
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Standard credits
Exemption credit (ORS 316.085)

This year’s maximum credit is $197 for each qualify-
ing exemption. The exemption amount is indexed for 
inflation.

An exemption credit isn’t allowed if your federal AGI 
on line 7 of Form OR-40, or line 27(F) of Form OR-
40-N or Form OR-40-P exceeds:

•	$200,000 for married filing jointly, head of house-
hold, or qualifying widow(er) filers; or

•	$100,000 if your filing status is single or married 
filing separately.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply your 
exemption credit by your Oregon percentage.

You and your spouse
You are allowed one exemption credit for yourself and 
one for your spouse if you are filing a joint return. If 
someone else can claim you as a dependent, you can’t 
claim an exemption for yourself. If someone else can 
claim your spouse as a dependent, you can’t claim 
their exemption. This is true even if the other person 
doesn’t claim you (or your spouse) as a dependent.

If your spouse qualifies as your dependent and you 
are filing using the status married filing separately, 
include your spouse on the dependents list, not on 
the spouse line.

Severely disabled (ORS 316.752 , 316.758)
Did you have a severe disability at the end of the tax 
year? If so, you can claim an additional exemption 
credit if your federal AGI doesn’t exceed $100,000. 
You may qualify for the severely disabled exemption 
even if someone else can claim you as a dependent. 
You’re considered to have a severe disability if any of 
the following apply:

•	You permanently lost the use of one or both feet or 
legs, or

•	You permanently lost the use of both hands, or
•	You’re permanently blind, or
•	You have a permanent condition or an impairment 

of indefinite duration that limits your ability to:

—— Earn a living, or
—— Maintain a household, or
—— Transport yourself.

Deafness or hearing impairment alone don’t qualify 
as a severe disability for purposes of this program.

This is true regardless of any special equipment you 
may use in your home or workplace.

You don’t qualify for this exemption if:

•	You have a temporary disability from an injury or 
illness and are expected to recover, or

•	Your condition keeps you from doing your former 
work but not from doing other kinds of work with-
out special equipment, or

•	Your federal AGI is more than $100,000, regardless 
of your filing status.

If you have a permanent severe disability, your physi-
cian must write a letter describing it. Keep the letter 
with your permanent health records.

If you qualify, check the “Severely disabled” exemp-
tion box on your return. If your spouse qualifies, they 
may also claim this exemption. 

All dependents
You are allowed one exemption credit for:

•	Each child you qualify to claim as a dependent, and
•	Each of your other dependents you qualify to claim 

on your federal return.

On your Oregon return, you must include the fol-
lowing information for all dependents: first and last 
name, relationship to you, Social Security number, 
and date of birth.

Example: Susan gives up her exemption for her son 
on her federal income tax return so he can claim the 
federal Hope credit on his tax return. Because Susan 
didn’t claim her son as a dependent on her federal 
income tax return, she may not claim him as a depen-
dent on her Oregon income tax return.

In most cases, you must claim the same dependents 
for Oregon as you claimed on your federal return.

Child with a disability (ORS 316.099)
You may be entitled to an additional exemption credit 
for your dependent child who has a qualifying dis-
ability. To qualify, all of the following must be true.

Your federal AGI must not be more than $100,000, 
regardless of your filing status, and your child:

•	Qualified as your dependent for the year, and
•	Was eligible for early intervention or special edu-

cation services, as defined by the Department of 
Education, and

•	Was considered to have a disability as of Decem-
ber 31, 2017, under the federal Individuals with Dis-
abilities Education Act, and

•	Was age 21 or younger at the end of the tax year.

For purposes of special education eligibility:
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•	Eligible disabilities and their Oregon Department 
of Education code numbers include:

—— Autism Spectrum Disorder (82).
—— Communication disorder (50).
—— Deaf-blindness (43).
—— Emotional disturbance (60)
—— Hearing impairment (20).
—— Intellectual Disability (10).
—— Orthopedic impairment (70).
—— Other health impairment (80).
—— Specific learning disability (90).
—— Traumatic brain injury (74).
—— Visual impairment (40).

Get a current statement of eligibility that confirms 
one of the disabilities listed above from one of the 
following:

•	The child’s Individualized Education Program 
(IEP), or

•	The child’s Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP).

Keep the eligibility statement with your permanent 
health records. If your dependent qualifies, mark the 
“Child with qualifying disability” box by your depen-
dent’s name on your return. Also be sure to include 
the child when you total the number of dependents 
on line 6c and line 6d.

No carryforward. Your credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for Oregon. Any credit not used this year 
is lost.

Income taxes paid to another state 
(ORS 316.082, 316.131)

[Credit code 802]

If you pay tax to Oregon and another state on the 
same income, you have “mutually-taxed income.”

In certain circumstances, you may be able to claim 
a credit on your Oregon return for income taxes 
paid to another state. Only take a credit for tax paid 
to another state if Oregon taxed the income and the 
other state also had a right to tax the same income. For 
instance, if you live in Oregon, other states can’t tax 
your pension income. Only the state you live in can 
tax your pension income. If you pay tax to another 
state on your pension income, you can’t take a credit 
for that tax. 

You can’t take a credit for paying tax you don’t owe. 
If you take a credit for taxes paid to another state on 
your Oregon return and an itemized deduction on 
Schedule A for the same tax, you must add some or 
all of the amount deducted back to your income. See 
this topic under “Additions” for more details on the 
add back requirement. 

This credit is only for state income tax. You can’t claim 
the credit for any city tax, county tax, school tax, sales 
tax, alternative minimum tax (AMT), property tax, 
or other state taxes that aren’t based on income. For 
example, the Idaho Permanent Building Fund Tax 
and the Washington Business and Occupation Tax 
don’t qualify because they aren’t based on income.

When can this credit be claimed?
You can claim this credit only if you pay the other 
state’s tax before or at the same time that you file your 
Oregon return. If you pay tax to another state for a 
prior tax year, you must amend your Oregon return 
for that year to claim the credit.

If Oregon and another state tax you on the same 
income, but in different tax years, Oregon will allow 
a credit for the year the tax is paid to Oregon (OAR 
150-316-0090). Visit our website for more information.

If you sell your home and pay tax to Oregon and 
another state or country on the gain from that sale, 
you can claim either the credit for taxes paid to 
another state or the credit for mutually taxed gain 
on the sale of residential property. You cannot claim 
both credits. See “Mutually-taxed gain on the sale of 
residential property“ for more information about this 
credit.

Definitions
Modified AGI
•	Full-year residents. Your modified AGI is your 

federal AGI modified by Oregon additions and 
subtractions.

•	Part-year residents and nonresidents. Your modi-
fied AGI is the part of your federal AGI that is tax-
able to Oregon, modified by Oregon additions and 
subtractions.

Formula I
Modified AGI taxed by both states 

Modified AGI x

Your Oregon tax 
after all other 

credits

Formula II
Modified AGI taxed by both states 

Total income on the other  
state’s return

x
Other state’s tax 

after all other 
credits

Oregon additions. These are generally items of income 
that are taxed by Oregon but not by the federal gov-
ernment. See “Additions” for more information.

Oregon subtractions. These are generally items of 
income that are taxed by the federal government but 
not by Oregon. For example, U.S. bond interest is an 
Oregon subtraction because it is income reported on 
your federal return that isn’t taxed by Oregon. Note: 
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Don’t subtract the federal tax you paid, because it 
isn’t an income item. See “Subtractions” for more 
information.

Who may claim this credit?
Full-year residents. You may claim the credit on 
your Oregon return only if you pay tax on the same 
income to both Oregon and a state other than Ari-
zona, California, Indiana, or Virginia. If you are a 
full-year Oregon resident with income that is taxed 
by Arizona, California, Indiana, or Virginia, you 
must claim the credit on the nonresident return that 
you file with that state; don’t claim the credit on your 
Oregon return. See “Note for full-year residents” 
and “Exception for Oregon resident partners and S 
corporation shareholders.” 

Example 1. Roy is a full-year Oregon resident. He has 
wages from a job in Idaho and income from rental 
property he owns in California. His Idaho wages and 
California rental income are also taxed by Oregon. 
Roy may claim a credit for taxes paid to Idaho on his 
Oregon return. He must claim a credit for taxes paid 
to Oregon on his California nonresident return.   

Note for full-year residents. If one of the listed states 
doesn’t allow the credit on your nonresident return, 
you may amend your Oregon return to claim the 
credit for taxes paid to that state. You must provide 
proof of the following:

1.	You paid tax to Arizona, California, Indiana, or 
Virginia on income that was also taxed by Oregon;

2.	You paid that state’s tax at or before the time you 
filed your Oregon return; and

3.	You properly claimed the credit for taxes paid to 
Oregon on the nonresident return you filed with 
that state; and

4.	That state didn’t allow your credit.

Part-year residents. Your credit is based on your 
mutually-taxed income during the part of the year 
that you were a nonresident and your mutually-
taxed income during the part of the year that you 
were a resident.

•	You may claim the credit on your Oregon return 
for the part of the year you were a nonresident of 
Oregon only if you pay taxes on the same income 
that is taxed by both Oregon and one or more of the 
following states: Arizona, California, Indiana, or 
Virginia. If the income was taxed by Oregon and a 
state other than those listed, you must claim a credit 
for taxes paid to Oregon on the return you file with 
the other state. See “Note for nonresidents.”

•	You may claim the credit on your Oregon return for 
the part of the year you were a resident of Oregon if 
you pay Oregon tax on income that was also taxed 

by a state other than Arizona, California, Indiana, 
or Virginia (or you meet the “Exception for Oregon 
resident partners and S corporation shareholders”). 
See “Note for full-year residents“ above.

Example 2: Charlotte operates a business in Oregon. 
She moved from Oregon to Virginia in May, but con-
tinues to have income from her Oregon business 
after she moves. She also has income during the year 
from rental properties she owns in Oregon, Virginia, 
and Georgia. She files a part-year Oregon return, a 
part-year Virginia return, and a nonresident Geor-
gia return. She will claim a credit for taxes paid to 
another state on each kind of income as follows:

•	Oregon business income. Charlotte will pay tax to 
Oregon for the part of the year she was a resident, 
and to both Oregon and Virginia for the part of the 
year she was a nonresident. She may claim a credit 
on her Oregon return for taxes paid to Virginia for 
the part of the year that she was a nonresident of 
Oregon.

•	Georgia rental income. Charlotte will pay tax to 
both Oregon and Georgia on this income only dur-
ing the part of the year that she was a resident of 
Oregon. Once she moves to Virginia and is no lon-
ger an Oregon resident, Oregon doesn’t have the 
right to tax this income. She may claim a credit on 
her Oregon return for tax paid to Georgia only for 
the part of the year that she was an Oregon resi-
dent. (She will claim a credit on her Virginia return 
for tax paid to Georgia for the part of the year that 
she was a Virginia resident.)

•	Virginia rental income. Charlotte will pay tax to 
both Oregon and Virginia for the part of the year 
that she was a resident of Oregon, and only to Vir-
ginia after she moves. She can’t claim a credit on 
her Oregon return for taxes paid to Virginia on this 
income when she was an Oregon resident. Instead, 
she must claim a credit for taxes paid to Oregon on 
her Virginia return for the part of the year that she 
was a nonresident of Virginia.

Nonresidents. You may claim a credit on your 
Oregon return if you pay taxes on the same income 
to both Oregon and one or more of the following 
states—Arizona, California, Indiana, or Virginia. If 
you pay Oregon tax on income that is also taxed by 
a state other than those listed, you must claim the 
credit for taxes you paid to Oregon on the return you 
file with the other state. See “Note for nonresidents.“

Example 3:  Elisa, a calendar-year taxpayer, is a resi-
dent of Indiana who receives income from an upscale 
boutique she owns in Oregon. Elisa may claim a 
credit for taxes paid to Indiana on the income from 
the boutique on her Oregon nonresident return.
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Example 4:  On January 1, Elisa moves away from 
Indiana and becomes a resident of Hawaii. She 
still receives income from the boutique in Oregon. 
Because Hawaii isn’t one of the states listed above, 
Elisa must claim a credit for taxes paid to Oregon on 
the return she files with Hawaii.

Note for nonresidents. If a state (other than those 
listed above) doesn’t allow your credit, you may 
amend your Oregon nonresident return to claim the 
credit for taxes paid to that state. You must provide 
proof of the following:

1.	You paid tax to a state (other than Arizona, Califor-
nia, Indiana, or Virginia) on income that was also 
taxed by Oregon; and

2.	You paid the other state’s tax at or before the time 
you filed your Oregon return; and

3.	You properly claimed the credit for taxes paid to 
Oregon on the other state’s return; and

4.	The other state didn’t allow your credit.

How do I calculate the credit amount?
The procedure for calculating the credit depends on 
whether you are a full-year resident, a part-year resi-
dent, or a nonresident of Oregon.

Full-year residents
Remember, you may claim the credit on your Oregon 
return only if you pay tax to Oregon and a state other 
than Arizona, California, Indiana, or Virginia on the 
same income.

The credit for a full-year resident is the smallest of:

•	Your Oregon tax after all other credits; or
•	The tax you actually paid to the other state; or
•	The amount calculated with Formula I.

Note: Full-year residents do not use Formula II.

Example 5: Manar's AGI is $44,000. This includes 
$10,000 of rental income taxed by both Oregon and 
Idaho and $5,000 of U.S. bond interest. She received 
$1,000 in interest from municipal bonds from another 
state. She has a federal tax liability of $3,000. Her 
Idaho income tax is $300. Her net Oregon tax is $2,000 
(before her credit for income taxes paid to another 
state). Here’s how she calculates her credit:

Federal AGI  $ 44,000
Modifications
	 Add municipal bond interest + 1,000

 $ 45,000

	 Less U.S. bond interest – (5,000	)

	 Modified AGI $ 40,000

Note: The federal tax subtraction isn’t used in this 
computation.

Formula I: ($10,000 ÷ $40,000) × $2,000 = $500.

Manar’s credit is $300, the smallest of:

•	Her Oregon tax after all other credits ($2,000); or
•	The tax actually paid to Idaho ($300); or
•	The amount from Formula I ($500).

Part-year residents
Your credit is based on your mutually-taxed income, 
and the tax on that income, during the part of the 
year that you were a nonresident and your mutually-
taxed income, and the tax on that income, during the 
part of the year that you were a resident.

Your credit for the part of the year that you were a 
nonresident is the smallest of:

•	Your Oregon tax on mutually-taxed income from 
the nonresident period after all other credits; or

•	The tax you actually paid to Arizona, California, 
Indiana, or Virginia on that same income; or

•	The amount figured using Formula I, or
•	The amount figured using Formula II.

For the part of the year that you were a resident, your 
credit is the smallest of:

•	Your Oregon tax on mutually-taxed income while 
you were a resident after all other credits, or

•	The tax on that same income you actually paid to 
a state other than Arizona, California, Indiana, or 
Virginia, or

•	The amount calculated with Formula I.

Important! Do not use Formula II to calculate 
the credit for the part of the year that you were a 
resident.

Example 6: Ezra moved from Idaho to Oregon on 
September 1. He sold Oregon property on June 10, 
and sold Idaho property on October 18. He worked 
in Idaho all year. His Idaho income tax after credits is 
$2,000; of this amount, $700 is on income he received 
when he was an Oregon resident. His Oregon income 
tax liability after other credits is $400; of this amount, 
$150 is on income received during the part of the year 
when he was not an Oregon resident. His income on 
his Oregon and Idaho returns is:

Oregon income

Sale of Oregon property June 10  $13,500 
Wages September 1 to December 31 9,000

Interest September 1 to December 31 500
Sale of Idaho property October 18:
	 Idaho capital gain reported + 6,000*

Total AGI taxable to Oregon $29,000
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Idaho income

Sale of Oregon property June 10  $13,500 
Wages January 1 to December 31 27,000

Interest January 1 to August 31 1,000
Sale of Idaho property October 18:
	 Idaho capital gain reported.	 6,000
	 Less Idaho capital gain exclusion* 	 ($3,600)
	 Net capital gain taxed by Idaho	 2,400

Total AGI taxable to Idaho $43,900

*If the other state has any income exclusion that applies to 
the mutually-taxed income, you must adjust the mutually-
taxed income by the exclusion amount.

In this example, Ezra’s federal capital gain is $19,500. 
Idaho allows Ezra to exclude 60 percent, or $3,600, 
of his $6,000 capital gain from the sale of the Idaho 
property. Ezra’s mutually-taxed income is $24,900, 
{($6,000 – $3,600) + 13,500 + 9,000)].

Nonresident period. Ezra had $13,500 in mutually-
taxed income while he was a nonresident. However, 
because Idaho isn’t one of the four listed states, Ezra 
must claim his credit for the tax paid to Oregon while 
he was an Idaho resident on his Idaho part-year 
return.

Residency period. Ezra had $11,400 in mutually-taxed 
income when he was an Oregon resident: the $9,000 
in wages earned from working in Idaho, and the 
$2,400 portion of the capital gain taxed by Idaho. His 
total income while he was a resident was $16,000: the 
$9,000 in wages, $1,000 in interest, and $6,000 capital 
gain from the Idaho property.

Here’s how Ezra figures his Oregon credit for income 
taxes paid to Idaho on income received while he was 
an Oregon resident:

Formula I: ($11,400 ÷ $16,000) × $250 = $178

His credit for the resident part of the year is $178, the 
smallest of:

•	His Oregon tax after all other credits ($250),
•	The tax actually paid to Idaho ($700), or
•	The amount from Formula I ($178).

Nonresidents
Remember, you may claim a credit on your Oregon 
return only if you pay taxes on the same income 
to both Oregon and one or more of the following 
states—Arizona, California, Indiana, or Virginia. 

The credit for a nonresident is the smallest of:

•	Your Oregon tax after all other credits; or
•	The tax you actually paid to Arizona, California, 

Indiana, or Virginia; or
•	The amount figured using Formula I, or

•	The amount figured using Formula II.

Example 7: Mary is a full-year resident of California. 
She lived in Oregon for 10 years prior to retiring to 
California. While living in Oregon, she acquired and 
maintained rental property there. She now receives 
installment payments from the sale of the property 
and pays tax to California on the gain and inter-
est. Her California income tax after credits is $100. 
Because she is an Oregon nonresident, only the gain 
is taxed on her Oregon nonresident return. Her Ore-
gon tax after credits is $350. Her income is as follows:

Oregon income

Capital gain on installment sale
	 of real property $10,000

Total AGI taxable to Oregon $10,000

California income

Capital gain on installment sale 
 of real property $10,000

Interest on installment sale  5,000
Other interest  8,000
Business loss (20,000)

Total AGI taxable to California $3,000

Her income taxed by both states is $10,000.

•	Formula I: ($10,000 ÷ $10,000) × $350 ($350).
•	Formula II: ($10,000 ÷ $3,000) × $100 ($333).

Her Oregon credit is $100, the smallest of:

•	Her Oregon tax after all other credits ($350); or
•	The tax actually paid to California ($100); or
•	The amount from Formula I ($350); or
•	The amount from Formula II ($333).

Where do I report the credit?
A credit for taxes paid to another state is reported 
on Schedule OR-ASC, section 3 or Schedule OR-ASC-
NP, section 5. Use credit code 802. Enter the dollar 
amount of the credit and the two-letter postal abbre-
viation for the other state. If you are claiming a credit 
for taxes paid to more than one state, list each state 
separately. Include Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP 
when you file your Oregon return, and keep the fol-
lowing with your tax records:

1.	A complete copy of the other state’s income tax 
return; and

2.	Proof of payment of the tax, such as:

—— A copy of the check written to pay the tax at the 
time the other state’s return is filed;

—— Copies of W-2 statements verifying withhold-
ing paid to the other state;

—— A copy of a cashier’s check or other negotiable 
instrument;
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—— A copy of a canceled check showing payment of 
tax or estimated tax payments; or

—— A receipt of tax payment.

Add back required
You can’t take a credit and a deduction for the same 
item on your return. If you are claiming a credit for 
taxes paid to another state on your Oregon return 
and including those same taxes as an itemized 
deduction on Schedule A, you must add a portion of 
the deducted taxes back to your Oregon income. For 
more information about the add back requirement 
and instructions, see this topic under “Additions.“ If 
you aren’t itemizing your deductions, you don’t have 
an add back.

No carryforward. Your credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for Oregon.

Exception for Oregon resident 
partners and S corporation 
shareholders

[Credit code 815]

Owners of companies taxed in Oregon as partner-
ships or S corporations may be able to claim a credit 
for income taxes paid to another state on their resi-
dent Oregon return. The tax must be an income tax, 
not a minimum tax.

To claim the credit on the resident return, the partner 
or shareholder must have elected to be included in 
the entity’s group/composite filing for the other state 
and the entity must have paid the partner’s or share-
holder’s tax liability. The partner or shareholder is 
considered to have paid a pro rata share of the other 
state’s income tax.

For an Oregon resident partner or S corporation 
shareholder, the allowable credit is the smallest of 
the following:

•	Oregon tax on the individual’s return; or 
•	The individual’s pro rata share of the other state’s 

tax; or
•	The individual’s pro rata share of the mutually-

taxed income from an S corporation or partnership 
return:

—— divided by the individual’s modified Oregon 
income, and

—— multiplied by the Oregon tax liability from the 
individual return.

Example 1: Oliver is a full-year Oregon resident with 
modified Oregon income of $30,400 and Oregon tax 
(after all other credits) of $1,538. Oliver is a 10 percent 
shareholder of My Corp., an electing S corporation 

in California. California has a corporate tax of 1.5 
percent of income, with a minimum corporate tax of 
$800. For this tax year, My Corp. distributed $10,000 
among its shareholders, so Oliver’s share is $1,000. 
The corporation must pay California $800 of tax, and 
only $150 is attributable to income ($10,000 × 1.5%). 
Oliver’s share of this tax is $15. The $650 balance paid 
by My Corp is a minimum tax and doesn’t qualify for 
this credit. 

Oliver’s Oregon credit for income taxes paid to 
another state is $15, the smallest of:

•	Oregon tax after all other credit: $1,538,
•	Pro rata share of California’s tax: $15,
•	($1,000 ÷ $30,400) × $1,538 = $51.

Oliver claims the credit on Schedule OR-ASC using 
credit code 815.

Example 2: Monte, an Oregon resident, receives part-
nership income from Virginia sources and joins in a 
multiple nonresident filing with that state. If Virginia 
doesn’t allow a credit for taxes paid to Oregon on 
the multiple nonresident tax return, then Monte can 
claim a credit on his Oregon resident return.

Mutually-taxed gain on the sale of 
residential property (ORS 316.109)

[Credit code 806]

If you sell your personal residence, your Oregon 
taxable gain will be the same as your federal tax-
able gain. Generally, any gain you excluded on your 
federal return will also be excluded on your Oregon 
return.

Exception: If you were renting out a house and then 
converted it to your personal residence, the Oregon 
basis may be different from the federal basis due to 
depreciation differences.

You may qualify for this credit only if the gain on 
the sale of your residential property is taxed by both 
Oregon and another state or country. You may claim 
either this credit or the credit for income taxes paid 
to another state, but not both. You aren’t eligible to 
claim this credit if you qualify for a credit for taxes 
paid to another state on the other state’s tax return.

How much is the credit?
The credit is the smaller of:

•  
Mutually-taxed gain

×
Other state’s/coun-

try’s tax after all  
other credits

Total income on the return of 
the other state/country

or

•	Eight percent of the gain taxed by the other state/
country.
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Mutually-taxed gain. Your mutually-taxed gain is the 
total gain from the sale of your personal residence, 
reduced by any deductions or exclusions allowed by 
either the other state/country or Oregon.

Addition for taxes deducted from income. If you 
deducted the taxes you paid on the gain from your 
federal taxable income, you may not take the credit 
unless you add the taxes back on your Oregon return. 
Report the taxes on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP 
using addition code 135.

No carryforward. Your credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for Oregon. Any credit not used this year 
is lost.

Oregon Cultural Trust contributions 
(ORS 315.675)

[Credit code 807]

Did you make a donation to an Oregon nonprofit cul-
tural organization during the tax year? If so, you can 
make a matching donation to the Trust for Cultural 
Development Account and get an Oregon tax credit.

How much is the credit?

You may get a credit of up to 100 percent of the amount 
of the matching contribution, to a maximum credit of 
$500 per taxpayer ($1,000 on jointly filed returns). For 
spouses who file separate returns, each may claim a 
share that would have been allowed on a joint return 
in proportion to the contribution each spouse made.

Be sure to keep receipts from both organizations with 
your tax records.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply the 
allowable credit by your Oregon percentage. 

No carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your 
Oregon tax liability. Any credit not used this year is 
lost.

For more information, contact the Oregon Cul-
tural Trust at 503-986-0088 or visit their website at  
www.culturaltrust.org.

Oregon Veterans’ Home Physicians  
(ORS 315.624)

[Credit code 808]

Physicians who provide medical care to residents of 
an Oregon Veterans’ Home (OVH) may be eligible for 
a credit of up to $5,000 per year.

Who can claim the credit?
Any resident or nonresident individual physician may 
qualify for the credit. The physician must be licensed 
to practice in Oregon (ORS chapter 677). They must 
provide care to a minimum of at least eight residents 
at an OVH. S corporation shareholders and partner-
ship members may only claim a credit based on the 
care they provided. The full amount of the credit 
shall be allowed to each taxpayer who qualifies in an 
individual capacity.

How much is the credit?
The credit is equal to the lesser of:

•	$1,000 for every eight residents for whom the physi-
cian provides care at an OVH, or

•	$5,000.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Your credit is 
the amount allowed to a full-year resident, multiplied 
by your Oregon percentage.

Certification required
You must obtain a letter from the OVH where you 
provided care. The letter must state that you missed 
no more than 5 percent of your scheduled visits dur-
ing the tax year. Keep the letter with your tax records; 
we may request it at a later date.

No carryforward. The credit may not exceed your 
tax liability for the year. There is no carryforward of 
unused credits. Any credit not used this year is lost.

Political contributions 
(ORS 316.102)

[Credit code 809 – Schedule OR-ASC-NP only]

Oregon law allows a tax credit for political contribu-
tions. You may not claim this credit if your federal 
AGI exceeds $200,000 on a jointly filed return, or 
$100,000 on all other returns.

To qualify, you must have contributed money in 
the tax year you claim the credit. You must reduce 
the amount of your contribution by the fair market 
value (FMV) of any items or services you receive in 
exchange for your contribution. Contributions of 
goods or services don’t qualify. Keep receipts from 
the candidate or organization with your tax records.  
You can use copies of canceled checks as your receipt.

How much is the credit?
Your credit is equal to your contribution, limited to 
$100 on a joint return or $50 on a single or separate 
return. The $3 check-off on the Oregon tax return 
doesn’t qualify for this credit.
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Partners or S corporation shareholders can claim a 
credit for their share of political contributions made 
by the partnership or S corporation. The contribu-
tion must meet all statutory requirements. The $50 
and $100 limits apply individually to each partner’s 
or shareholder’s return.

Which contributions qualify?
Candidates and their principal campaign committees. 
You can claim a credit for a contribution to a candi-
date for federal, state, or local elective office, or to the 
candidate’s principal campaign committee. To qual-
ify, at least one of the following must occur in Oregon 
in the same calendar year in which you made your 
contribution:

•	The candidate’s name must be listed on a primary, 
general, or special election ballot,

•	A prospective petition of nomination must be filed 
by or for the candidate,

•	A declaration of candidacy must be filed by or for 
the candidate,

•	A certificate of nomination must be filed by or for 
the candidate,

•	A designation of a principal campaign committee 
must be filed with the Oregon Secretary of State’s 
Office. Note: The designation must be made in each 
year that a contribution is made in order to qualify 
under this provision.

Political action committees. You can claim a credit for 
contributions to political action committees (PACs). 
The PAC must have certified the name of its politi-
cal treasurer with the appropriate filing officer, usu-
ally the Secretary of State for statewide or regional 
elections, your county clerk for county elections, or 
your city recorder for city elections. PACs registered 
with the Federal Elections Commission may not be 
required to register in Oregon.

Political parties. Political parties can be national, 
state, or local committees of major political parties. 
Oregon also allows a tax credit for contributions 
made to minor political parties that qualify under 
state law. Contact the Oregon Secretary of State’s 
Office in Salem at 503-986-1518 to see if a particular 
party qualifies.

Newsletter fund–credit not allowed. Oregon doesn’t 
allow a credit for contributions made to a newsletter 
fund.

Example 1: Holly contributes $275 for a fund-raising 
dinner for a presidential candidate. The FMV of the 
dinner was $35. Holly’s political contribution is $240, 
because she must reduce her $275 contribution by the 

$35 FMV of the dinner she received. Being single, 
Holly’s political contribution credit is limited to $50.

Example 2: Burt donated a desk, chair, and a four-
drawer file cabinet to his favorite PAC headquarters. 
The FMV of the furniture is $410. Burt has a written 
receipt from the PAC. He can’t claim a political contri-
bution credit because he didn’t contribute money to 
the PAC. His contribution of office furniture doesn’t 
qualify for the credit.

No carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for Oregon. Any credit not used this year 
is lost.

Reservation enterprise zone 
(ORS 285C.309)

[Credit code 810]

Businesses in an Oregon reservation enterprise zone 
that pay tax to tribal governments can claim a credit 
against their Oregon income tax.

The credit is equal to either:

•	The tribal property tax on a business facility that is 
paid or incurred during the tax year, or

•	Any tribal tax paid or incurred during the tax year 
the business first begins to operate in the reserva-
tion enterprise zone.

The credit is allowed only if the tax is imposed uni-
formly in the territory.

Contact the Oregon Economic and Community 
Development Department for the location of reserva-
tion enterprise zones at: www.oregon4biz.com.

Who can claim the credit?
The credit is available to individuals, partnerships, 
and corporations. Any business activity qualifies, 
except property leasing. The business must have 
begun in 2002 or later. To compute your credit, fill 
out Form OR-REZT. Download the worksheet from 
our website or call us to order it. Keep the completed 
form with your tax records.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply the 
credit allowed a full-year resident by your Oregon 
percentage.

No carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your 
Oregon tax liability. Any credit not used this year is 
lost.
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Retirement income (ORS 316.157)
[Credit code 811]

Who can claim the credit?
If you were age 62 or older on December 31, 2017, and 
receiving taxable retirement income, you may qualify 
for this credit. Retirement income includes payments 
in Oregon taxable income from:

•	State or local government public pensions.

•	Employee pensions.

•	Individual retirement plans.

•	Employee annuity plans.

•	Deferred compensation plans including defined 
benefits, profit sharing, and 401(k)s.

•	Federal pensions (includes military) not subtracted 
from Oregon taxable income.

How do you qualify for the credit?
•	Your household income is less than $22,500 ($45,000 

if married filing jointly); and
•	Your Social Security and/or Tier 1 Railroad Retire-

ment Board benefits are less than $7,500 ($15,000 if 
married filing jointly), and

•	Your household income plus your Social Security 
and Tier 1 Railroad Retirement Board benefits is 
less than $22,500 ($45,000 if married filing jointly).

You can claim this credit or the credit for the elderly 
or the disabled, but not both.

What’s included in household income?
Household income generally includes all income 
(both taxable and nontaxable) each spouse received 
during the year. Household income includes gross 
income reduced by adjustments as reported in your 
federal AGI.

You also need to include items not in your federal 
AGI. These items include but aren’t limited to:

•	Veteran’s and military benefits.
•	Gifts and grants (total amount minus $500).
•	Disability pay.
•	Nontaxable dividends (other than “return of capital”).
•	Inheritance.
•	Insurance proceeds.
•	Nontaxable interest.
•	Lottery winnings.
•	Railroad Retirement Board benefits (Tier 2 only).
•	Scholarships.
•	IRA conversions included in AGI.

See the household income checklist in the appendix 
for more help. Don’t include:

•	Social Security and Tier 1 Railroad Retirement 
Board benefits.

•	Your state tax refund.
•	Pension income excluded from federal AGI that is a 

return of your contributions.
•	Pensions that are rolled over into an IRA that aren’t 

included in AGI.

To determine household income, you must separate 
income (or loss) from businesses, farms, rentals or 
royalties, and dispositions of tangible or intangible 
property. Combine all income from similar sources 
for net income or loss. Any net loss from the source is 
limited to $1,000. NOL carrybacks or carryforwards 
aren’t allowed. Capital loss carryforwards aren’t 
allowed.

If the combined total of your depreciation, depletion, 
and amortization deductions is more than $5,000, 
you must add the excess back into household income.
You must also increase your household income by 
the Oregon income tax modification for depletion in 
excess of basis.

How much is the credit?

Use this worksheet to calculate your credit:

1. Enter the retirement income of the 
eligible individual(s) included on 
Form OR-40, line 7; or Form OR-
40-N or OR-40-P Oregon column, 
lines 15 and 16. (Don’t include 
social security/railroad retirement 
board benefits).

1.

2. Enter any federal pension income 
subtracted from Oregon income. 
See “Federal pension income.“

2.

3. Net Oregon taxable pension. Line 1 
minus line 2.

3.

4. Enter $7,500 ($15,000 if married fil-
ing jointly).

4.

5. Enter both spouses’ total Social 
Security and Tier 1 Railroad Retire-
ment Board benefits.

5.

6. Line 4 minus line 5, but not less 
than -0-.	

6.

7. Enter your household income. 
See the next section to determine 
household income.

7.

8. Household income base. Enter 
$15,000 ($30,000 if married filing a 
joint return).

8.

9. Line 7 minus line 8, but not less 
than -0-.

9.
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10. Line 6 minus line 9, but not less 
than -0-.

10.

11. Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 10. 11.

12. Multiply line 11 by 9% (0.09).  
This is your credit.

12.

Example 1:  Jack owns a farm and has a $4,000 loss. He 
is also in a partnership whose main activity is farm-
ing. Jack has income from the partnership of $1,500. 
His net farm loss is $2,500. He may claim only $1,000 
of this loss to compute his household income. Any 
net loss Jack has from other sources is also limited to 
$1,000 each. If Jack is claiming more than a $1,000 loss 
on any line, he must include a worksheet showing his 
computations.

Example 2:  Callie has a business with gross income of 
$32,000 for the year. She has an $11,000 depreciation 
deduction. Other business expenses are $24,500. She 
reports a business loss for federal purposes of $3,500. 
She recomputed her business income for household 
income purposes. The allowable depreciation deduc-
tion is limited to $5,000. She reports $2,500 business 
income, computed as follows: 

$32,000 – ($5,000 + $24,500) = $2,500.

No carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for the year. Any credit not used this year 
is lost.

Rural emergency medical service 
providers (ORS 315.622)

[Credit code 812]

A tax credit is available for emergency medical ser-
vice providers in qualifying rural areas of Oregon. 
The credit is based solely on determination of eligi-
bility by the Office of Rural Health.

Who can claim the credit?
Emergency medical service providers (EMS-Ps) who 
provide volunteer EMS-P services in a qualifying 
rural area may be eligible to claim this tax credit. 
However, the volunteer services must comprise at 
least 20 percent of the total EMS-P services provided 
by the individual in the tax year. A qualifying rural 
area is an area in Oregon that is located at least 25 
miles from any city with a population of 30,000 or 
more.

How much is the credit?
The credit is the lesser of $250 or your tax liability for 
the year. 

Certification required
You must apply to the Office of Rural Health each 
year for confirmation of eligibility. Forms are avail-
able on their website at www.ohsu.edu/oregonrural-
health. Contact Rural Health in Portland at 503-494-
4450 if you have questions or need assistance. Keep a 
copy of the confirmation letter with your tax records 
for each year you claim the credit.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. If you meet the 
eligibility requirements, you may receive a credit. 
Multiply the credit by your Oregon percentage.

No carryforward. If your tax liability is less than $250, 
any unused credit is lost. 

Rural health practitioners 
(ORS 315.613)

[Credit code 813]

A tax credit is available for health practitioners in 
certain rural areas of Oregon. The credit is based on 
eligibility requirements determined by the Office of 
Rural Health.

Who can claim the credit?
Physicians, dentists, podiatrists, optometrists, physi-
cian assistants, certified registered nurse anesthetists, 
and nurse practitioners can qualify for the credit.

You qualify for the credit if during the tax year you:

•	Engage in a rural practice for at least 20 hours per 
week, averaged over the month.

•	Remain willing to serve patients with Medicare 
coverage and medical assistance.

The percentage of your patients who have Medicare 
coverage or receive medical assistance must bear the 
same or greater proportion to the ratio of such persons 
in need of care in the county served by your practice.   
This ratio is determined by the Office of Rural Health 
and may not exceed 20 percent Medicare patients or 
15 percent medical assistance patients.

S corporations and partnerships don’t qualify for 
the credit. However, shareholders and partners can 
take the credit on their individual Oregon income tax 
returns if they meet the eligibility requirements.

Certification required
You must apply to the Office of Rural Health each 
year for confirmation of eligibility. Visit their web-
site at www.ohsu.edu/oregonruralhealth for more 
information. Contact Rural Health in Portland at 503-
494-4450 to request an application. Keep a copy of 
the confirmation letter with your tax records for each 
year you claim the credit.
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How much is the credit?
The credit is based on the distance from your prac-
tice or hospital where you have a membership and a 
major population center in a metropolitan statistical 
area. The credit is the lesser of the amount shown in 
the table and certified by the Office of Rural Health, 
or your tax liability for the year. You can claim the 
credit as long as you have a qualifying practice.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. If you meet the 
eligibility requirements, you may receive a credit. 
Multiply the credit by your Oregon percentage.

No carryforward. There is no carryforward of unused 
tax credits. Any credit not used this year is lost.

Distance between practice/
hospital and major population 
center, in miles

Credit Amount

At least 10, but less than 20 $3,000
At least 20, but less than 50 $4,000
50 or more $5,000
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Carryforward credits
These credits aren’t refundable. They can’t exceed 
your tax liability for the current tax year, but you may 
carry forward the unused amount to a later tax year. 
Refer to the instructions for the credit you are claim-
ing for specific details. 

Agriculture workforce housing 
(ORS 315.164)

[Credit code 835]

Who can claim the credit?
You may be eligible for a credit if you construct or 
rehabilitate agriculture workforce housing for sea-
sonal or year-round agricultural workers and their 
immediate families in Oregon. The housing must be 
occupied at some time during the year by an agricul-
tural worker to qualify for the credit.  Housing can’t 
be used for any purpose except housing for agri-
cultural workers. Your family members aren’t con-
sidered agricultural workers under this credit. The 
credit is available for projects that physically began 
on or after January 1, 1990. The project must be com-
pleted before you can claim the credit.

S corporations and partnerships. Individual share-
holders must claim the tax credit based on their 
percentage of S corporation ownership interest. Indi-
vidual partners must claim the tax credit based on 
their distributive share of partnership income. Your 
percentage should be listed on your Oregon K-1.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. The credit is 
available to nonresidents and part-year residents 
who build or restore agriculture workforce housing 
located in Oregon. You must multiply the allowable 
credit by the Oregon percentage on Form OR-40-N 
or OR-40-P.

How much is the credit?
The total credit is 50 percent of the eligible costs actu-
ally paid or incurred to complete the agriculture 
workforce housing project. The credit may be taken in 
any of the ten consecutive tax years beginning with 
the tax year the agriculture workforce housing project 
is completed. However, the amount of credit allowed 
in any one tax year can’t exceed the lesser of:

•	20% of the total credit; or
•	Your Oregon tax liability.

Construction and rehabilitation costs include those 
for financing, construction, excavation, installation, 
and permits. Construction costs also include acquisi-
tion of new or used prefabricated or manufactured 

housing. However, rehabilitation costs don’t include 
the costs of acquiring a building or an interest in a 
building. In either type of project, construction or 
rehabilitation, acquisition costs of land and existing 
improvements on that land used for the project aren’t 
eligible costs.

Depreciation and basis. Depreciation and amortiza-
tion expenses associated with the agriculture work-
force housing project aren’t decreased by the amount 
of the tax credit. Your adjusted basis in the housing 
project isn’t decreased by the tax credit.

Certification required
Oregon Housing and Community Services (OHCS) 
must inspect the agriculture workforce housing proj-
ect prior to occupancy. For an application, call OHCS 
in Salem at 503-986-2008 or visit their website at 
www.ohcs.oregon.gov.

If your project qualifies, you’ll get a tax credit 
approval letter. Keep the letter with your tax records.

Carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your tax 
liability for the year, but you may carry forward any 
unused credits over the next nine years. Any credit 
that isn’t used within nine years is lost.

Example: Ann completes an agricultural workforce 
housing project in tax year 1 with eligible costs of 
$1,500,000. She receives a tax credit approval letter 
certifying a credit of $750,000 ($1,500,000 x 0.50). Ann 
may choose to claim her credit in any of the 10 con-
secutive tax years beginning with tax year 1.

Because Ann’s tax liability is relatively small for tax 
years 1 and 2, she chooses to claim her credit in tax 
year 3. Ann may use the smaller of her tax liability or 
$150,000 (0.20 x 750,000) of her credit in any given tax 
year. Table 1 shows Ann’s tax liabilities for the next 12 
years, the credit amounts she is using each year, and 
the credit remaining after each year:

Table 1:  Credits used per year

Year Tax liability Credit used Unused 
credit

1 $500 $0 $750,000 

2 $1,000 $0 $750,000 

3 $90,000 $150,000 $600,000 

4 $127,000 $150,000 $450,000 

5 $170,000 $150,000 $300,000 

6 $50,000 $0 $300,000 

7 $95,000 $150,000 $150,000 

8 $40,000 $0 $150,000 
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9 $32,000 $0 $150,000 

10 $60,000 $150,000 $0 

11 $0 $0 $0 

12 $250,000 $0 $0 

Table 2 also shows Ann’s tax liability per year, along 
with the amounts she is claiming on her return. She 
claims any carryforward amount from an earlier year 
first, and if she still has a tax liability and unused 
credit remaining, she may use up to the maximum 
allowed credit for that year. Any excess amount 
above the lesser of her tax liability or the maximum 
credit for the year is carried forward to a later year. 

Table 2:  Amounts claimed on Ann’s return

Year Tax 
liability

Amount 
from 
prior year

Amount 
awarded 
this year

Carried 
forward

1 $500 N/A $0 $0 

2 $1,000 N/A $0 $0 

3 $90,000 N/A $90,000 $60,000 

4 $127,000 $60,000 $67,000 $83,000 

5 $170,000 $83,000 $87,000 $63,000 

6 $50,000 $50,000 $0 $13,000 

7 $95,000 $13,000 $82,000 $68,000 

8 $40,000 $40,000 $0 $28,000 

9 $32,000 $28,000 $0 $0 

10 $60,000 $0 $60,000 $90,000 

11 $0 $0 $0 $90,000 

12 $250,000 $90,000 $0 $0 

In Table 2, the amounts in the “Amount from prior 
year” and “Amount awarded this year” columns add 
up to Ann’s tax liability for the year. The amounts 
in the “Amount awarded this year” and “Carried 
forward” columns add up to the maximum credit 
allowed for the year, or if no credit was used that 
year, the unused carryforward from an earlier year.

If Ann decided to transfer her credit in tax year 6 (for 
example, Table 1 shows that she would have $300,000 
available to transfer). Table 2 shows that Ann would 
still have $63,000 carried forward from the credit she 
used in tax year 5 to apply to her own tax liability in 
tax year 6 or later, until the carryforward expires in 
tax year 14 (the ninth year after tax year 5).

Alternative Fuel Vehicle Fund 
carryforward (ORS 315.336)

[Credit code 865]

If you received a tax credit through an Alternative 
Fuel Vehicle tax credit auction conducted by the us 
and the Oregon Department of Energy in a prior tax 
year, and you have a carryforward, claim the credit 
on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You can claim 
the full amount of the credit you received in the auc-
tion, limited by your tax liability for the year.

Carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your tax 
liability. If you don’t use the carryforward within 
three years after you first claimed the credit, it is lost. 
This credit can’t be transferred or sold.

Alternative qualified research 
activities  (ORS 317.154)

[Credit code 837]

This credit is only available to shareholders of an S cor-
poration that qualifies for the credit, and should be 
listed on the shareholder’s Oregon K-1. This credit is 
allowed to corporations incurring qualified research 
expenses. The credit amount is equal to 5 percent of 
qualified research expenses that exceed 10 percent of 
Oregon sales, but may not exceed $10,000 times the 
number of percentage points by which the qualifying 
research expenses exceed 10 percent of Oregon sales. 

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You may claim 
the full amount of the credit, limited by your tax lia-
bility for the year. 

Carryforward. Your credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may be 
carried forward for up to five years. This credit isn’t 
transferable.

Biomass production/collection 
[ORS 315.141, 315.144]

[Credit code 838]

If you produce or collect biomass to be used in Ore-
gon as biofuel, you may be eligible for a tax credit 
on your Oregon income tax return. (Note: This credit 
isn’t allowed for canola that is grown, collected, or 
produced in the Willamette Valley, which includes 
Clackamas, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Wash-
ington, and Yamhill Counties, and the portion of 
Benton and Lane Counties lying east of the summit 
of the Coast Range.
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Who qualifies?
If you are an agricultural producer or collector of bio-
mass that is used in Oregon as biofuel or to produce 
biofuel, you can claim a credit up to the amount of 
your tax liability.

Certification required
This credit is certified by the Oregon Department 
of Energy. You can find out more information, read 
administrative rules, and download an application 
form from their website,  www.oregon.gov/energy. 

Carryforward. Any credit that exceeds your tax liabil-
ity may be carried forward for four years. If you don’t 
use the carry forward within four years, it is lost. The 
credit isn’t refundable.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You must pro-
rate your credit by your Oregon percentage.

Credit transfers. You may transfer your credit to 
another taxpayer for consideration. You and the 
transferee must jointly file a notice of tax credit 
transfer with us. Go to our website to download 
Form OR‑TFR or contact us. Both parties must com-
plete and sign the notice. Submit the form within 30 
days after the transfer is complete.

Business energy carryforward 
[ORS 315.354, 315.357]

[Credit code 839]

The tax year ending December 31, 2012 was the last 
year this credit was certified. In order to claim this 
credit for your qualifying project, you must have:

•	Filed a preliminary certification application with 
the Oregon Department of Energy (ODOE) by 
April 15, 2011; and

•	Received preliminary certification from the ODOE 
before July 1, 2011; and

•	Received final certification from the ODOE before 
January 1, 2013, or demonstrated evidence of begin-
ning construction before April 15, 2011.

Any Oregon business with investments in energy 
conservation, recycling, renewable energy resources, 
or less-polluting transportation fuels may qualify for 
this tax credit.

How much is the credit?
The tax credit was 35 percent of the eligible project 
costs. You took the credit over five years: 10 percent 
in the first and second years and 5 percent each year 
thereafter.

Those with eligible project costs of $20,000 or less 
could have taken the tax credit in one year. The credit 
isn’t refundable and can’t exceed your tax liability.

Certain facilities using or producing renewable 
energy resources were allowed a tax credit of 50 per-
cent of eligible project costs. This credit is claimed at 
10 percent each year for five years.

Don’t adjust your Oregon basis for the amount of any 
credits claimed.

New applications are no longer being accepted. 
For more information, contact the Oregon Depart-
ment of Energy at 1-800-221-8035 (toll-free from an 
Oregon prefix), in Salem at 503-378-4040, or go to  
www.oregon.gov/energy.

Certification required
Apply for a final tax credit certificate when your 
project is finished. Department of Energy staff will 
review your actual expenses and, when approved, 
will send you the final certificate. Keep a copy of the 
final certification with your Oregon tax records.

Carryforward. Your credit can’t be more than your tax 
liability. You may carry forward any unused credit 
over the next eight years. If you don’t use the car-
ryforward within eight years after the credit is first 
claimed, any unused amount is lost.

Child and dependent care 
carryforward (ORS 316.078)

[Credit code 840]

The last year to qualify for this credit was 2015. If you 
have a carryforward from the 2015 tax year, you may 
claim it on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP using 
credit code 840 in the “Amount from prior year” col-
umn. Your credit can’t be more than your tax liabil-
ity for the year. Any credit not used within five years 
after it was first allowed is lost.

Child Care Fund contribution 
(ORS 315.213)

[Credit code 841]

Contributions to the Child Care Fund qualify for a 
credit on your Oregon income tax return. Your dona-
tion will help address child-care affordability, pro-
vider compensation, and quality assurance issues in 
Oregon. For details on the program, go to the Oregon 
Office of Child Care website, www.oregon.gov/occ.
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Certification required
The Office of Child Care will compute your allow-
able tax credit and give you a certificate. The credit 
can’t be more than 50 percent of the amount contrib-
uted. Keep this certificate with your permanent tax 
records.

Add back required. If you claim your Child Care 
Fund contribution as an itemized deduction on 
your Schedule A, you must add back that amount to 
income. See this topic under “Additions” for more 
information.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You can claim 
the credit allowed a full-year resident. See “Net Ore-
gon itemized deductions” in “Other items“ to learn 
how to report any add back amount as a modification 
on Schedule OR-ASC-NP.

Carryforward. Your credit may not be more than 50 
percent of the amount contributed during the tax 
year as certified by the Office of Child Care, or your 
tax liability for Oregon, whichever is less. You may 
carry forward any unused credit over the next four 
years. If you don’t use the carryforward within four 
years, it is lost.

Contribution of computers or 
scientific equipment for research 
carryforward (ORS 317.151)

[Credit code 842]

This credit is only available to shareholders of an S cor-
poration that qualifies for the credit. This credit was 
allowed to corporations that made charitable con-
tributions of computers or scientific research equip-
ment to educational organizations prior to January 1, 
2014. The credit amount was equal to 10 percent of the 
fair market value of the contribution. The allowable 
credit was limited to the corporation’s tax liability for 
the year, other than the corporate minimum tax. 

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You may claim 
the full amount of the credit, limited by your tax lia-
bility for the year. 

Carryforward. Your credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may be 
carried forward for up to five years. This credit isn’t 
transferable.

Crop donation (ORS 315.156)
[Credit code 843]

Oregon allows a tax credit for crops donated to a 
gleaning cooperative, food bank, or other charitable 
organization that distributes food without charge. 
The organization receiving the donation must have 
a principal or ongoing purpose of distribution of 
food to children, homeless, unemployed, elderly, or 
low-income individuals. The organization must be 
located in Oregon and exempt from federal income 
taxes under the IRC.

To qualify for this credit, you must:

•	Be in the business of growing a crop to be sold for 
cash; and

•	Donate the crop to a tax-exempt organization 
located in Oregon; and

•	Complete Form OR-CROP, which must be signed 
by the organization receiving the donation. 

The crop must be fit for human consumption. The 
food must meet all quality and labeling standards 
imposed by federal, state, or local laws, even though 
the food may not be readily marketable due to appear-
ance, age, freshness, grade, size, surplus, or other 
condition. Eligible crops include, but aren’t limited to, 
bedding plants that produce food, orchard stock that 
produces food, and livestock that may be processed 
into food for human consumption.

How much is the credit?
The credit is 15 percent of the value of the quantity of 
the crop donated, computed at the wholesale market 
price at the time of donation. The wholesale market 
price is determined by either:

•	The amount paid to the grower by the last cash 
buyer of the particular crop, or

•	In the event there is no previous cash buyer, a price 
based on the market price of the nearest regional 
wholesale buyer or a regional u-pick market price.

Example: 	 5,000 pounds of potatoes at $ 0.10/lb.
		  5,000 x 0.10 = $500 (market value)
		  15% (0.15) x $500 = $75 (credit allowed)

Certification required
Keep the completed Form OR-CROP with your tax 
records to verify your donation. The organization 
where you donate the crop may have this form avail-
able, or you may download it from our website. Also, 
if there was a previous cash buyer, you must keep 
a copy of an invoice or other statement identifying 
the price received for crops of comparable grade or 
quality.
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Part-year or nonresident. You must prorate this 
credit by multiplying the amount by your Oregon 
percentage.

Carryforward. Your credit may not be more than your 
tax liability for Oregon. You may carry forward any 
unused credit over the next three years. If you don’t 
use the carryforward within three years, it is lost.

Electronic commerce zone investment 
(ORS 315.507)

[Credit code 845]

This credit is available to individuals and businesses 
that engage in electronic commerce in an Oregon 
enterprise zone or city designated for electronic 
commerce. Go to www.oregon4biz.com for complete 
information.

What costs qualify?
Qualifying costs are investments in capital assets 
related to electronic commerce sales, customer ser-
vice, order fulfillment, or broadband infrastructure.

Certification required
You may download the authorization application 
and property tax exemption claim forms from our 
website.

How much is the credit?
The credit is equal to 25 percent of the investments 
made during the tax year. The maximum credit 
allowed in any tax year is $2 million.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply your 
credit by your Oregon percentage.

Carryforward. Your credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for Oregon. You may carry forward any 
unused credit over the next five years. If you don’t 
use the carryforward within five years, it is lost.

Employer-provided dependent  
care assistance (ORS 315.204)

[Credit code 846 ]

This credit expired at the end of the 2015 tax year. 
You may carry forward any unused credit for up to 
four years after the first year you claimed it. If you 
have a carryforward from the 2015 tax year, you may 
claim it on Schedule OR-ASC or Schedule OR-ASC-
NP using credit code 846 in the “Amount from prior 
year” column. The credit may not be more than your 
tax liability for the year. Any credit not used within 
those four years is lost. 

Employer scholarship (ORS 315.237)
[Credit code 847 ]

A tax credit is allowed to Oregon employers who 
have scholarship programs for their employees and 
their employees’ dependents. 

How much is the credit?
The credit is the smaller of:

•	50 percent of the amount of qualified scholarship 
funds actually paid to or on behalf of qualified 
scholarship recipients during the tax year; or

•	$50,000.

Certification required
To receive the credit, you must be certified by the 
Oregon Student Assistance Commission and apply 
to participate in the Tax Credit Program. Keep the 
certificate with your tax records.

For an application and more information, contact 
the commission in Eugene at 541-687-7400 or toll-free 
from an Oregon prefix at 1-800-452-8807, ext. 7400, or 
go to their website at www.oregonstudentaid.gov.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply your 
credit by your Oregon percentage.

Carryforward. Your credit can’t be more than your 
Oregon tax liability. You can carry forward any 
unused credit over the next five years. If you don’t 
use the carryforward within five years, it is lost.

Energy conservation project 
(ORS 315.331)

[Credit code 849]

A tax credit is allowed for energy conservation proj-
ects certified by the Oregon Department of Energy. 
The project must be located in Oregon, and final cer-
tification must be received from the Department of 
Energy before the credit may be claimed.

How much is the credit?
The credit is up to 35 percent of the certified cost of 
the project. You must take the credit over five years: 
10 percent in the first and second years, and 5 per-
cent in each of the three years thereafter until all the 
credit has been used. 

Exception: Those with certified costs of $20,000 or 
less may take the entire tax credit in the first year.
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Certification required
Apply for a final tax credit certificate when your 
project is finished. Department of Energy staff will 
review your actual expenses and, when approved, 
will send you the final certificate. Keep a copy of the 
final certification with your Oregon tax records. 

Note: Beginning with applications submitted after 
September 1, 2015, projects with certified costs of $1 
million or more must be recertified every year for 
three years following the date of final certification.

For an application, fee information, and assistance 
with the application process, contact the Oregon 
Department of Energy at 1-800-221-8035 (toll-free 
from an Oregon prefix), in Salem at 503-378-4040, or 
go to www.oregon.gov/energy.

Carryforward. Your credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for the year. You can carry forward any 
unused credit over the next five years. If you don’t 
use the carry forward within five years, it is lost.

Credit transfers
The owner of a project may transfer the credit in 
exchange for a cash payment equal to the present day 
value of the tax credit, as established by the Depart-
ment of Energy. The credit may only be transferred to 
another personal income taxpayer, a C corporation, 
or an S corporation. Transfer to a partnership isn’t 
allowed. The credit may only be transferred once. 

Fish screening devices 
(ORS 315.138)

[Credit code 850]

A tax credit is available to taxpayers who pay to 
install fish screening devices required by the Oregon 
Department of Fish and Wildlife (ODFW).

Who can claim the credit?
The credit is available to individuals, partners, sole 
proprietorships, and S corporation shareholders. 
Shareholders and partners can claim the credit based 
on their pro rata share of the certified costs.

How much is the credit?
Full-year residents. The credit is equal to the smaller 
of:

•	50 percent of the net costs of installing the device, 
or 

•	$5,000.

You can still claim any depreciation or amortization 
otherwise allowed. Don’t reduce your basis in the 
property by the credit amount.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply the 
credit allowed a full-year resident by your Oregon 
percentage.

Certification required
ODFW will send you a preliminary certificate within 
90 days of the receipt of plans, specifications, and 
other information it requests from you. After you 
complete the project, ODFW will send you a final cer-
tificate that includes the verified costs of the installa-
tion. Contact ODFW in Salem at 503-947-6000 or toll-
free from an Oregon prefix at 1-800-720-6339, or go to 
www.dfw.state.or.us.

Keep the final ODFW certificate with your tax records. 
Also keep a statement showing the computation of 
the allowed credit, if this isn’t on the certificate.

Carryforward. The credit for the year can’t be more 
than your tax liability for Oregon. You can carry for-
ward any unused credit over the next five years. If 
you don’t use the carryforward within five years, it 
is lost.

Lender’s credit: affordable housing 
(ORS 317.097)

[Credit code 854]

This credit is only available to shareholders of an S 
corporation that qualifies for the credit , which should 
be listed on the shareholder’s Oregon K-1. This trans-
ferable certified credit is available to lending institu-
tions making qualifying loans to finance certified 
housing projects for low-income households. Annual 
certification by Oregon Housing and Community 
Services is required. 

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You may claim 
the full amount of the credit, limited by your tax lia-
bility for the year. 

Carryforward. Your credit can’t be more than your tax 
liability for the year. Any unused credit may be car-
ried forward for up to five years. 

Lender’s credit: energy conservation 
carryforward (ORS 317.112)

[Credit code 848]

This credit is only available to shareholders of an S 
corporation that qualifies for the credit. This credit 
was allowed to commercial lending institutions that 
made loans to owners of oil- or wood-heated residen-
tial property, to finance energy conservation mea-
sures. The loans had to be made prior to January 1, 
2012. 
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Part-year residents and nonresidents. You may claim 
the full amount of the credit, limited by your tax lia-
bility for the year. 

Carryforward. Your credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may be 
carried forward for up to 15 years. This credit isn’t 
transferable.

Long-term enterprise zone facilities 
(ORS 317.124)

[Credit code 853]

This credit is only available to shareholders of an S cor-
poration that qualifies for the credit , which should be 
listed on the shareholder’s Oregon K-1. This certified 
credit is for corporations that construct and operate 
facilities in a qualified rural enterprise zone, where 
the facility is eligible for long-term exemption from 
property tax. The credit is a percentage of the payroll 
costs attributable to employment at the facility.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You may claim 
the full amount of the credit, limited by your tax lia-
bility for the year. 

Carryforward. Your credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may be 
carried forward for up to five years. This credit isn’t 
transferable.

Oregon IDA Initiative Fund donation 
(ORS 315.271)

 [Credit code 852]

IDAs are matched savings accounts that build the 
financial management skills of qualifying Orego-
nians with lower incomes while they save toward a 
defined goal. Oregon allows a tax credit for dona-
tions made to the Oregon IDA Initiative Fund dur-
ing the tax year. The total amount of credits allowed 
to all taxpayers in any tax year may not exceed $7.5 
million.

How much is the credit?
The credit amount is the percentage determined by 
the fiduciary agency, but may be no more than 70 
percent of the donation made. The maximum credit 
amount allowed for any taxpayer in any tax year, 
including amounts carried forward from an earlier 
tax year, is $500,000.

Add back required
You may not claim both the tax credit and a chari-
table deduction from taxable income for the same 

contribution. If you claim the credit, you must add 
back the amount donated that was used to calculate 
the credit that was also deducted on your Oregon 
return. This amount is found by dividing the amount 
of your credit by the percentage determined by the 
fiduciary agency. See “Individual Development 
Account“ in “Additions” for instructions on report-
ing the add back amount.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Your credit is 
the same as that allowed for a full-year resident. See 
“Net Oregon itemized deductions” in “Other items“ 
to learn how to report any add back amount as a neg-
ative modification on Schedule OR-ASC-NP.

Carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your 
Oregon tax liability. You may carry forward any 
unused credit for the next three years. If you don’t 
use the unused credit within three years, it is lost.

For information on how to make a donation to the 
Oregon IDA Initiative Fund, contact The Neighbor-
hood Partnership Fund at 503-226-3001 or visit their 
website at www.neighborhoodpartnerships.org.

Oregon Low-Income Community 
Jobs Initiative/New Markets 
(ORS 315.533)

[Credit code 855]

The New Markets tax credit was available for a quali-
fied equity investment made before July 1, 2016 in a 
qualified community development entity. For more 
information on qualifying investments and entities, 
visit www.oregon4biz.com, or contact the Oregon 
Business Development Department at 503-986-0163.

How much is the credit?
The credit is equal to 39% of the purchase price of 
the qualified equity investment. It must be taken over 
seven years, beginning with the year of investment.

The allowable tax credit for each of the seven years is:

•	-0- percent in the first and second years.
•	7 percent of the purchase price in the third year.
•	8 percent of the purchase price in each of the fourth 

through seventh years.

Certification required
You must have obtained certification from the Ore-
gon Business Development Department indicating 
the amount of your tax credit. Keep your certificate 
with your tax records.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply your 
credit by your Oregon percentage.
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Carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your tax 
liability. You can carry forward any unused credit 
over the next five years. If you don’t use the carryfor-
ward within five years, it is lost. This credit can’t be 
transferred or sold.

Oregon Production Investment 
Fund (auction) (ORS 315.514)

[Credit code 856]

You may be able to claim a tax credit if you partici-
pated in the Oregon Production Investment Fund 
tax credit auction we conducted, in cooperation with 
the Oregon Film and Video Office. Proceeds from 
the auction go to the Oregon Production Investment 
Fund. Total credits certified by the Oregon Film and 
Video Office are limited to $14 million for the fiscal 
year beginning July 1, 2017. Visit the Oregon Film and 
Video Office website, www.oregonfilm.org, for infor-
mation about the Oregon Production Investment 
fund, and our website for information about upcom-
ing auctions, and auction rules and procedures.

Certification required

If you received a tax credit through the auction, your 
credit amount is shown on your certificate issued by 
the Oregon Film and Video Office. Claim the credit 
on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP using credit 
code 856.

Add back required

If you claim any amount you paid for this credit as a 
deduction on your federal return, you must add back 
that amount to your Oregon income. Report the addi-
tion on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP using addi-
tion code 144. For more information, see this topic 
under “Additions.”

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You can claim 
the full amount of the credit you received in the auc-
tion, limited by your tax liability for the year. See 
“Net Oregon itemized deductions” in “Other items“ 
to learn how to report any add back amount as a neg-
ative modification on Schedule OR-ASC-NP.

Carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your tax 
liability. You can carry forward any unused credits 
over the next three years. If you don’t use the carry-
forward within three years, it is lost. This credit can’t 
be transferred or sold.

Auction information. Visit our website for informa-
tion on upcoming auctions, rules and procedures.

Pollution control facilities 
carryforward (ORS 315.304)

[Credit code 857]

Certification required
This credit was certified by the Oregon Department 
of Environmental Quality (DEQ). The last year to 
apply for certification of a pollution control facility 
was 2008. The total amount of the certified credit was 
divided over the remaining useful life of the facility, 
up to a maximum of ten years. The credit for each 
year was limited to the tax liability for that year. 

Carryforward. You can carry forward unused pollu-
tion control credits from a given tax year for three 
years. You should carry forward the oldest credit 
first. Use the Taxpayer’s Annual Worksheet for Pollu-
tion Control Facility Tax Credit to calculate and track 
the credits and carryforwards you are claiming each 
year. The worksheet is available from the DEQ web-
site, www.oregon.gov/deq.

Qualified research activities  
(ORS 317.152)

[Credit code 858]

This credit is only available to shareholders of an S 
corporation that qualifies for the credit , which should 
be listed on the shareholder’s Oregon K-1. This credit 
is allowed to corporations that increase their quali-
fied research expenses and basic research payments 
(IRC Section 41). 

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You may claim 
the full amount of the credit, limited by your tax lia-
bility for the year. 

Carryforward. Your credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may be 
carried forward for up to five years. This credit isn’t 
transferable. 

Renewable energy development 
contribution (auction) 
(ORS 315.326)

[Credit code 859]

You may be able to claim a tax credit if you partici-
pated in the Oregon Renewable Energy Development 
tax credit auction we conducted, in cooperation with 
the Oregon Department of Energy. Proceeds from the 
auction go to a sub-account from which the Oregon 
Department of Energy will issue grants for renewable 
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energy development in Oregon. Total credits certi-
fied by the Oregon Department of Energy each fiscal 
year are limited to $1.5 million.

Certification required. If you received a tax credit 
through the auction, your credit amount is shown on 
your certificate issued by the Oregon Department of 
Energy. Claim the credit on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-
ASC-NP using credit code 859.

Add back required. If you claim any amount you paid 
for this credit as a deduction on your federal return, 
you must add back that amount to your Oregon 
income. For more information, see this topic under  
“Additions.“

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You can claim 
the full amount of the credit you received in the auc-
tion, limited by your tax liability for the year. See 
“Net Oregon itemized deductions” in “Other items“ 
to learn how to report any required add back amount 
as a negative modification on Schedule OR-ASC-NP.

Carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your tax 
liability. You can carry forward any unused credits 
over the next three years. If you don’t use the carry-
forward within three years, it is lost. This credit can’t 
be transferred or sold.

Auction information. Visit our website for infor-
mation on upcoming auctions, auction rules, and 
procedures.

Renewable energy resource 
equipment manufacturing facility 
carryforward (ORS 315.341)

[Credit code 860]

This tax credit was certified by the Business Devel-
opment Department or Department of Energy. The 
deadline for filing an application for final certifica-
tion of a facility was December 31, 2013. The total 
credit amount was 50 percent of the certified cost of 
the facility, with 10 percent of cost allowed in each of 
the five succeeding tax years beginning with the year 
of final certification. The credit for each year was lim-
ited to the tax liability for that year.

Carryforward. You can carry forward any unused 
credit from the year when it was first allowed over 
the next eight years. If you don’t use the carry for-
ward within eight years, it is lost.

Residential energy (ORS 316.116)
[Credit code 861]

You can qualify for a credit on your Oregon income 
taxes by purchasing certain energy-efficient items 
that are certified by the Oregon Department of 
Energy.

What qualifies?
Category one alternative energy devices:

•	Systems that use solar energy for space heating or 
cooling.

•	Systems that use solar energy for water heating.
•	Ground source heat pumps or geothermal systems.
•	Any wind-powered device used to offset or supple-

ment electricity.
•	Equipment used in the production of alternative 

fuels.
•	Generators powered by alternative fuels and used 

to produce electricity.
•	An energy-efficient appliance.
•	Premium efficiency wood or pellet stoves.

Category two alternative energy devices:

•	Solar electric systems.
•	Wind electric systems.
•	Fuel cell systems.
•	Alternative fuel devices.

Dishwashers, clothes washers, refrigerators, air con-
ditioners, and boilers no longer qualify.

Who can claim the credit?
Homeowners, renters, and contract buyers who pur-
chase qualifying devices for Oregon residential prop-
erty can apply for the credit. A person who pays the 
present value of the tax credit to the person who pur-
chases the device may also apply for the credit.

How much is the credit?
The tax credit is based on an estimate of how much 
energy the system will save in the first year. The value 
of the credit per kilowatt-hour (kWh) saved depends 
on the type of equipment or system. The maximum 
credit allowed for each Category One device is $1,500. 
The maximum  credit allowed for each Category 
Two solar electric or fuel cell system is $3 per watt of 
installed output, not to exceed 2,000 watts or $6,000. 
For wind electric systems, the maximum credit is $2 
per watt up to 3,000 watts. The credit for an alternative 
fuel device is 50 percent of the cost, not to exceed $750.
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Certification required
Complete an Application and Verification Form for 
Residential Energy Tax Credit Certification for the sys-
tem or equipment you buy. Qualifying lists of sys-
tems or equipment are on the Oregon Department of 
Energy website at www.oregon.gov/energy. Submit 
the application to the Oregon Department of Energy 
with proof of payment. When approved, you will get 
certification showing your qualified tax credit. For an 
application form and lists of qualifying equipment, 
go to www.oregon.gov/energy or call 503-378-4040 
or 1-800-221-8035. The Department of Energy must 
receive your application no later than June 1, 2018.

Claim the credit in the tax year you purchased the 
device if it was operational by April 1 of the next year.

Example 1: Sean purchased a qualifying solar energy 
water heating system in December 2017 and had it 
installed and operating by the February 2018. He 
claims the credit on his 2017 tax return.

Example 2: Joy purchased a qualifying ground source 
heat pump in October 2017 and had it installed and 
operating in May 2018. Since the heat pump wasn’t in 
operation by April 1, 2018, she can’t claim the credit 
on her 2017 tax return.

Keep your certification, a copy of your application, 
proof of payment, and any supporting documenta-
tion with your tax records. Don’t include these items 
with your tax return.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply the 
credit allowed a full-year resident by your Oregon 
percentage.

Carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for Oregon. You may carry forward any 
unused credit for up to five years. If you don’t use the 
credit within five years, it is lost.

Rural technology workforce 
development (Or Laws 2017, ch 610, § 19)

[Credit code 868]

A tax credit is allowed to Oregon employers located 
in certain areas of the state who establish and imple-
ment an employee training program in collaboration 
with a local community college. The employer must 
be located in a county with these characteristics:

•	Population between 60,000 and 80,000;
•	Located outside the urban growth boundary of 

the Portland metro area or a city with population 
greater than 30,000;

•	Unemployment rate at least 1.5 percentage points 
greater than the statewide rate;

•	Has an agreement with an institute of higher edu-
cation to coordinate efforts to promote business 
enterprise throughout the county;

•	Is the site of a U.S. military base that employs at 
least 750 civilian and armed forces personnel; and

•	Has sufficient internet service to conduct electronic 
commerce.

How much is the credit? 
The credit is 12 percent of the costs to establish and 
implement the employee training program. Records 
sufficient to prove these costs must be kept for at least 
five years.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply your 
credit by your Oregon percentage.

Carryforward. Your credit cannot be more than your 
tax liability for the year. You may carry forward any 
unused credit for up to three years. If you don’t use 
the carryforward within three years, it is lost. This 
credit can’t be transferred or sold.  

Transportation projects 
carryforward (ORS 315.336)

[Credit code 863]

All transportation project credits certified by the 
Department of Energy have expired. For more infor-
mation about these credits, see earlier editions of this 
publication. 

Carryforward. Your credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability. You can carry forward any unused credit 
from the year it was first allowed over the next five 
years. If you don’t use the carry forward within five 
years, it is lost.

University venture development 
fund contributions  (ORS 315.521)

[Credit code 864]

A tax credit is available for contributions to Oregon 
university venture development funds.

Who can claim the credit?
Any taxpayer who makes a qualifying charitable 
contribution to an Oregon university venture devel-
opment fund is eligible for the credit. S corpora-
tions and  partnerships may claim a credit for their 
contributions.

Add back required. If you claim your contribution as 
an itemized deduction on your federal return, you 
must add back that amount to your Oregon income. 
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For more information on how to report the addition, 
see this topic under “Additions.” 

How much is the credit?
The credit is 60 percent of the amount contributed, as 
stated on the tax credit certificate. The amount of the 
credit allowed to be taken on your Oregon tax return 
may not be more than your tax liability for the year.

Certification required
The university that established the fund will issue a 
tax credit certificate to you. Keep this certificate with 
your tax records.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply the 
allowable credit by your Oregon percentage. See 
“Net Oregon itemized deductions” in “Other items“ 
to learn how to report any required add back amount 
as a negative modification on Schedule OR-ASC-NP.

Carryforward. Your credit is limited to your tax liabil-
ity for the year. Any unused credit may be carried 
forward for three years. If you don’t use the carryfor-
ward within three years, it is lost.
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Refundable credits
Refundable credits may exceed your tax liability for 
the year. The amount of the credit that exceeds your 
tax liability will be refunded to you.

Claim of right income repayment
[Credit code 890]

Did you repay more than $3,000 of income taxed by 
Oregon in a prior year and claim a federal claim of 
right deduction or credit under IRC Section 1341? If 
so, you may claim an Oregon credit based on the Ore-
gon tax you paid in that earlier year for the income 
that you repaid. Repayments of $3,000 or less don’t 
qualify for an Oregon credit.

If you claimed a credit on your federal return, follow 
the instructions for Worksheet OR-CRC, Claim of Right 
Income Repayments, to calculate your Oregon credit. 
Worksheet OR-CRC is available from our website. 

If you claimed a federal deduction for the repayment, 
you have a choice for Oregon. You can let the deduc-
tion flow through to your Oregon taxable income or, 
if it results in less tax, you can claim the Oregon credit 
instead. If you let the federal deduction flow through, 
you don’t need to do anything more on your Oregon 
return. If you choose to claim the credit, however, 
you must also add back some or all of your federal 
deduction as an Oregon addition. See the instruc-
tions for Worksheet OR-CRC if you’re not sure which 
option is best. More information can be found under 
this topic in “Additions.” For part-year residents or 
nonresidents, see “Net Oregon itemized deductions” 
in “Other items“ to learn how to report any required 
add back as a modification on Schedule OR-ASC-NP.

Earned income credit (ORS 315.266)
You’re allowed an Oregon EIC only if you qualify for 
the EITC on your federal return. Your Oregon EIC is 
refundable. If the credit is more than your Oregon tax 
liability, the difference will be refunded to you.

Your Oregon EIC is 11 percent of your federal EITC if 
you have a qualifying dependent under the age of 3 
at the end of the tax year; otherwise, your credit is 8 
percent of your federal EITC.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply your 
Oregon EIC by your Oregon percentage.

Manufactured home park closure 
(temporary provisions after  
ORS 316.116)

[Credit code 891]

Did you move out of a manufactured home park 
because the park was closing? If so, you may be eli-
gible for a credit. To qualify, you must meet all of the 
following requirements:

•	Own your manufactured home; and
•	Rent space in a manufactured home park that is 

closing; and
•	Occupy your manufactured home as your princi-

pal residence; and
•	Receive notice that the park is closing, and
•	Move out of the manufactured home park (along 

with all members of your household) because of 
the park closure notice.

If you qualify, you can claim a $5,000 refundable 
credit on your tax return for the year that your house-
hold moved out of the park. To claim this credit, fill 
out Schedule OR-MPC, and enter the credit amount 
on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC‑NP using credit 
code 891. Include Schedule OR‑MPC with your tax 
return.

Note: If you qualify for this credit, you may have 
received a payment from your landlord of $5,000, 
$7,000, or $9,000 depending on the size of your manu-
factured home. These payments can be subtracted on 
your Oregon return if they are included in taxable 
income on your federal return. See this topic under 
“Subtractions,” for more information.

Working Family Household and 
Dependent Care (WFHDC) 
(ORS 315.264)

[Credit code 895]

This refundable credit is available to low- to mod-
erate-income working families who paid for depen-
dent care during the year for one or more qualify-
ing individuals. For more information, see Schedule 
OR‑WFHDC. 
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Who can claim the credit?
To qualify for this credit, all of the following must 
be true:

1. You had earned income for the year. If you looked 
for work but didn’t find a job, and you don’t have 
earned income for the year, you can’t claim the 
credit. Unemployment benefits don’t count as 
earned income.

Note: If you are married and you (or your spouse) 
paid for dependent care because you (or your 
spouse) attended school full-time or were unable 
to provide self-care due to a disability, special rules 
attributing earned income to you (or your spouse) 
will apply.  For more information, see instructions 
for Schedule OR-WFHDC, available on our website. 

2.	You paid dependent care expenses during the year 
so that you or your spouse could work, or look for 
work, or if married, you (or your spouse) paid for 
dependent care because you (or your spouse) were 
a full-time student or unable to provide self-care 
due to a disability. 

Care expenses must be paid by the person who 
claims the credit. If these expenses were paid by 
someone else, such as a state agency or a family 
member, they don’t qualify for this credit. Expenses 
you paid using pre-tax dollars, such as through a 
flexible spending arrangement with your employer, 
do qualify for the credit. If you are paying a friend 
or relative to care for your dependent, you may be 
required to provide third-party proof that you paid 
for the care. Third-party proof is proof from some-
one not directly involved in a transaction. A receipt 
from your friend or relative, by itself, isn’t adequate 
proof of payment. Common forms of third-party 
proof include copies of canceled checks, duplicate 
checks with bank statements, or money order stubs.

3.	Your filing status is single, head of household, 
qualifying widow(er), or married filing jointly. If 
your filing status is married filing separately, see 
the WFHDC schedule instructions for information 
about exceptions to the filing status requirement.

4.	The care was provided for one or more qualifying 
individuals. See the WFHDC schedule instructions 
to learn more about who qualifies.

5.	The person who provided the care wasn’t your 
spouse, your qualifying dependent’s parent, or a 
person you can claim as a dependent; if your child 
provided the care, he or she was age 19 or older at 
the end of the year and can’t be claimed as your 
dependent. 

6.	Your federal AGI or your Oregon AGI, whichever is 
greater, is at or below the allowable limit for your 
household size. See the table for allowable limits. 

Household size AGI limit

2 $48,720
3 $61,260
4 $73,800
5 $86,340
6 $98,880
7 $111,420

8 or more $123,960

How much is the credit?
The credit amount is based on your income, care 
expenses paid, household size, and the age of your 
youngest qualifying individual. 

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply your 
credit by your Oregon percentage.

Add back required. If you are deducting medical 
expenses on Schedule A that you are also claiming as 
expenses on your WFHDC schedule, you must add 
back the expenses you deducted on Schedule A. See 
this topic under “Additions” for more information 
about this requirement.

How do I claim the credit?
If all of the statements above are true for you, fill out 
one of the WFHDC schedules:

•	Schedule OR-WFHDC if you’re a full-year resident, 
or

•	Schedule OR-WFHDC-NP if you’re a part-year resi-
dent or nonresident.

Download the schedule from our website or contact 
us to order a copy. You’ll also need a copy of your 
Oregon tax return, including Schedule OR-ASC or 
Schedule OR-ASC-NP, and federal Form 2441, Child 
and Dependent Care Expenses. 

You have to figure your federal and Oregon AGI and 
complete federal Form 2441 before you can calcu-
late your credit. Make sure all the information you 
provide is complete and correct when you fill out 
the WFHDC schedule. We may ask you to verify 
the information you provide. If you provide incor-
rect information or an incomplete WFHDC schedule, 
your credit might be delayed or denied.

Once you have figured your credit, enter the amount 
on Schedule OR-ASC or  OR-ASC-NP using credit 
code 895. Be sure to include this schedule along with 
the Schedule OR-WFHDC, when you file your Ore-
gon return. 

Penalty: You may be charged a penalty if you know-
ingly claim or knowingly assist someone in claiming 
this credit falsely. The penalty is up to 25 percent of 
the amount claimed, and is in addition to the adjust-
ment or denial of the credit.
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Interest on underpayment of estimated tax
Who must pay

If you were required to make estimated payments but 
paid less than the required amounts due by each pay-
ment date, you have an underpayment of estimated 
tax. Oregon charges interest on underpayment of the 
estimated tax due. If you owe $1,000 or more on your 
2017 Oregon income tax return, you must complete 
Oregon Form OR-10.

Figure your required annual 
payment

The required annual payment means the total amount 
of required installment payments for the tax year that 
is the lesser of:

•	90 percent of the net tax shown on your 2017 tax 
return; or

•	100 percent of the tax shown on your 2016 Oregon 
return (commonly called Safe Harbor).

Figure your required installment 
payment

The required installment payment means the amount 
of the payment that is due for each payment period 
for the tax year using one of the following methods:

•	Regular installment—an amount, in each period, 
equal to 25 percent of the required annual pay-
ment; or

•	Annualized installment—the annualized amount 
that would be due only on the actual income earned 
in that period (this method may benefit taxpayers 
who don’t receive their income evenly throughout 
the year or part-year residents).

The total for the required installment payments must 
equal the required annual payment amount.

2017 required installment due dates:
April 18, 2017
June 15, 2017
September 15, 2017
January 16, 2018

Exceptions to paying interest on an  
underpayment of estimated tax

If you meet an exception, you may not have to pay 
interest on your underpayment.

Enter the exception number in the correct box below 
the “Interest on underpayment of estimated tax“ line 
of your tax return if you meet one of the following 
exceptions.

Exception 1—Farmers and commercial fishermen. If 
at least two-thirds (66.7 percent) of your 2016 or 2017 
gross income is from farming, oyster farming, or fish-
ing, you won’t have to pay underpayment interest.

Exception 2—Prior year. You don’t need to pay inter-
est on the underpayment of estimated tax if you met 
all of the following qualifications:

•	You had no Oregon tax liability* for 2016; or you 
were not required to file an Oregon return; and

•	Your taxable year was a full 12-month period; and
•	You were a full-year Oregon resident for 2016. 

This prior-year exception doesn't apply to part-year 
residents who moved into the state during 2017.

*Your Oregon tax liability is your liability after tax credits, 
but before withholding and estimated tax payments.

Exception 3—You retired at age 62 or older or became 
disabled in 2016 or 2017, and your underpayment 
was for a reasonable cause. Include a statement with 
your return explaining the cause to be considered for 
the exception.

Exception 4—Underpayment was due to a casu-
alty, disaster, or other unusual circumstances, and it 
would be unfair to impose underpayment interest. 
Include a statement with your return explaining the 
unusual circumstance.*

*Unusual circumstance isn’t the same as reasonable cause.

Exception 5—First year S corporation shareholders 
who are nonresidents or were part-year residents. 
No interest is due on underpayment of S corporation 
income as a shareholder if:

•	The income is for the first year that S corporation 
status is elected; and

•	You’re a nonresident for 2017; or
•	You were a part-year resident for 2016.

Keep a copy of your exception explanation with your 
tax records.
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Estimated tax
Who must pay

Oregon law requires some taxpayers to pay esti-
mated tax. Oregon’s estimated tax system is similar 
to the federal system, but when you figure estimated 
tax for Oregon:

•	Use Oregon income tax laws and tax rates.
•	Don’t include Social Security tax (FICA), self-

employment tax, or household employment tax.

In most cases, you must make estimated tax payments 
if you expect to owe $1,000 or more when you file 
your 2018 Oregon income tax return. That’s tax you 
owe after you subtract your credits and the tax with-
held from your income, but before you subtract any 
2017 refund you applied to your 2018 estimated tax.

Pay estimated tax for tax year 2018 if:

You expect to owe $1,000 or more when you file your 
2018 Oregon income tax return, and you estimate the 
total income tax withholding will be less than:

•	100 percent of the tax shown on your 2017 income 
tax return that covered all 12 months of the year; or

•	90 percent of the tax to be shown on your 2018 
income tax return; or

•	90 percent of the tax on your 2018 annualized 
income.

Even if you expect to owe less than $1,000, you may 
still make estimated tax payments.

For information on how to figure your estimated pay-
ments and how to obtain payment vouchers, visit our 
website or contact us for Publication OR-ESTIMATE.

Note: Estimated tax payments aren’t a substitute for 
withholding Oregon income tax from wage income.

Farmers and commercial fishermen
Farmers and fishermen aren’t required to pay esti-
mated tax if at least two-thirds of their 2017 gross 
income or two-thirds of their 2018 estimated gross 
income from all sources is from farming or fishing. 
This includes oyster farming. Enter Exception #1 on 
your tax return. Don’t use Form OR-10.

Nonresidents and  
part-year residents

Nonresidents figure Oregon estimated tax only on 
income that is:

•	Subject to Oregon withholding; or
•	From conducting a trade or business within Ore-

gon; or
•	Single ticket Oregon lottery winnings greater than 

$600.
S corporation, limited liability company 
(LLC), or partnership income
If you’re a shareholder in an S corporation, a mem-
ber of an LLC, or in a partnership with income from 
Oregon sources, you may need to make estimated tax 
payments.

Part-year residents. For the part of the year you were 
a nonresident, you are subject to Oregon tax on your 
share of the Oregon income reported by the S corpo-
ration, LLC, or partnership. Partners must also report 
guaranteed payments. For the part of the year you 
were a resident, you’re subject to Oregon tax on your 
share of all the S corporation, LLC, or partnership 
income.

Nonresidents. You’re subject to Oregon tax on 
your share of the Oregon income reported by the S 
corporation, LLC, or partnership. You’re also subject 
to Oregon tax on any guaranteed payments from the 
partnership. The payments are apportioned using 
the partnership’s percentage.

Retirees
If you’re retired or will soon retire, you may need to 
make estimated tax payments. Or, you may be able to 
have Oregon income tax withheld from your retire-
ment income. Contact the payer of the income to see 
if this is possible.

Retirees who are Oregon residents but not living in 
Oregon may be subject to tax on their Oregon-source 
pensions. This law applies to retirees who still have 
Oregon as their domicile but file as nonresidents.

Nonresident aliens
Estimated tax filing requirements are the same for 
both United States citizens and nonresident aliens. 
Nonresident aliens can be either Oregon residents or 
nonresidents. If you or your spouse is a nonresident 
alien, you must file separate estimated tax forms.

Fiduciaries
Don’t file Form OR-40-V. You don’t need to pay esti-
mated tax on behalf of an estate or trust.
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Household income 
checklist
Use this list to decide if an item must be included in total 
household income.

Alimony and separate maintenance	 Yes

Annuities and pensions (reduced  
by cost recovery)	 Yes

Business income (reduced by expenses)  
(losses limited to $1,000)	 Yes

Cafeteria plan benefits		  No

Capital loss carryover		  No

Capital losses (in year determined)  
(losses limited to $1,000)	 Yes

Child support	 Yes

Child support included in  
public assistance	 Yes

Clergy’s rental or housing allowance,  
in excess of expenses claimed to 
determine federal AGI	 Yes

Compensation for services performed
Back pay	 Yes
Bonuses	 Yes
Clergy’s fees	 Yes
Commissions	 Yes
Director’s fees	 Yes
Fees in general (trustee, executor,  
jury duty)	 Yes
Lodging for convenience of employer		  No
Meals for convenience of employer		  No
Salaries	 Yes
Severance pay	 Yes
Tips	 Yes
Wages	 Yes

Deferred compensation
Contributions made		  No
Payments received	 Yes

Depletion in excess of basis	 Yes

Depreciation, depletion, and  
amortization in excess of $5,000	 Yes

Disability income (entire amount)	 Yes

Dividends, taxable and nontaxable	 Yes
Credit union savings account  
“dividends” (interest)	 Yes
Insurance policy “dividends”  
(return of premium)		  No
Return of capital dividends		  No
Stock dividends	 Yes
Tax-exempt dividends	 Yes

Earned income credit, advanced		  No

Estate and trust income (also see “Inheritance”) 
(losses limited to $1,000)	 Yes

Farm income (reduced by expenses)  
(losses limited to $1,000)	 Yes
Agricultural program payments	 Yes
Patronage dividends	 Yes
Proceeds from sale of crops and 
livestock	 Yes
Rents	 Yes
Sale of services	 Yes

Fellowships	 Yes

Foreign income excluded from  
federal AGI	 Yes

Foster child care (reduced by  
expenses)		  No

Funeral expenses received		  No

Gains on sales (receipts less cost)	 Yes
Excluded gain for Oregon on  
sale of residence		  No

Gambling winnings (without  
reduction for losses)	 Yes

Gifts and grants (totaling more  
than $500 in value)	 Yes
Cash	 Yes
Gifts from nonspouse  
in the same household	 Yes
Gifts from spouse in the  
same household		  No
Gifts other than cash (report at  
fair market value)	 Yes
Payment of indebtedness by  
another person	 Yes

Grants and payments by foreign  
governments not included in  
federal AGI	 Yes

Grants by federal government for  
rehabilitation of home		  No

Gratuities	 Yes

Hobby income	 Yes

Honorariums	 Yes

IRA
Conventional IRA
Payments received	 Yes
Payments contributed		  No
Rollovers or conversions not included 
      in AGI 		  No
	 Rollovers or conversion 
		  included in AGI	 Yes
Roth IRA
Payments received		  No
Payments contributed	 Yes
Rollovers or conversions not included
	 in AGI		  No
Rollovers or conversion
	 included in AGI	 Yes

Inheritance	 Yes
From spouse who resided in the  
same household		  No
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Insurance proceeds
Accident and health	 Yes
Disability payments	 Yes
Employee death benefits	 Yes
Life insurance	 Yes
Personal injury damages  
(less attorney fees)	 Yes
Property damage if included in  
federal income	 Yes
Reimbursement of medical expense		  No
Sick pay (employer sickness  
and injury pay)	 Yes
Strike benefits	 Yes
Unemployment insurance benefits	 Yes
Workers’ compensation	 Yes

Interest, taxable and nontaxable	 Yes
Contracts	 Yes
Municipal bonds and other securities	 Yes
Savings accounts	 Yes
Tax-exempt interest	 Yes
U.S. Savings Bonds	 Yes

Losses on sales (to extent used in  
determining AGI) (losses  
limited to $1,000)	 Yes

From sales of real or personal  
property (nonbusiness)		  No

Lottery winnings	 Yes

Lump-sum distribution (less  
cost recovery)	 Yes

Military and veteran’s benefits (taxable and 
nontaxable)
Combat pay	 Yes
Disability pensions	 Yes
Educational benefits (GI Bill)	 Yes
Family allowances	 Yes
Pensions	 Yes

NOL carryback and carryover		  No
Partnership income (reduced by  

expenses) (losses limited to $1,000)	 Yes
Parsonage (rental value) or housing  

allowance in excess of expenses  
used in determining federal AGI	 Yes

Pensions and annuities (taxable  
and nontaxable) (reduced by cost  
recovered in the current year)	 Yes

Prizes and awards	 Yes

Public assistance benefits	 Yes
Aid to blind and disabled	 Yes
Child care payments	 Yes
Child support included in  
public assistance	 Yes
Direct payments to nursing home		  No
Food stamps (or cash payments in  
lieu of food stamps)		  No
Fuel assistance		  No
In-home services approved by the  
Department of Human Services		  No
Medical mileage reimbursements	 Yes

Medical payments to doctors		  No
Oregon Supplemental Income  
Program (OSIP)	 Yes
Payments for medical care, drugs, medical supplies, 
and services for  
which no direct payment is received		  No
Reimbursements of expenses paid or  
incurred by participants in work  
or training programs		  No
Special Shelter Allowance		  No
Surplus food		  No
Temporary assistance to  
needy families	 Yes	
Women, Infants, and Children  
program (WIC)		  No

Railroad Retirement Board benefits	 Yes

Refunds
Earned income credit		  No
Federal tax		  No
Property tax		  No
Oregon income tax		  No
Other states’ income tax (if included  
in federal AGI)	 Yes
Prior-year rental assistance payment		  No

Reimbursements (in excess  
of expenses)	 Yes

Rental allowances paid to ministers  
not included in federal AGI	 Yes

Rental and royalty income (reduced  
by expenses) (losses limited 
to $1,000)	 Yes

Residence sales (see “Gains on sales”)	 Yes

Retirement benefits (see “Pensions” and “Social 
Security”)

Scholarships (excess more than $500)	 Yes

Sick pay	 Yes

Social Security (taxable and  
nontaxable)	 Yes
Children’s benefits paid to parent	 Yes
Children’s benefits paid to your child		  No
Disability pension	 Yes
Medicare payments of medical  
expenses		  No
Medicare premiums deducted from  
Social Security	 Yes
Old-age benefits	 Yes
Social Security Disability  
Insurance (SSDI)	 Yes
Supplemental Security Income (SSI)	 Yes
Survivor benefits	 Yes

Stipends (excess more than $500)	 Yes

Strike benefits	 Yes

Support from parents who don’t  
live in your household	 Yes

Trust income	 Yes

Unemployment insurance benefits	 Yes

Wages	 Yes
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Numeric codes are required when you are claiming or reporting an adjustment, addition, subtraction, modification, or credit on 
Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP. If you have multiple items that use the same code, other than a credit for income taxes paid to 
another state, add them together and enter the total as a single item. Include Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP when you file your 
return. 

Adjustments—Schedule OR-ASC-NP, Section 1 only. OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code
Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis government 
offi  cials–Form 1040, Line 24

X X 002

Health savings account deduction – Form 1040, Line 25       X X 003
Penalty on early withdrawal of savings–Form 1040, Line 30     X X 004
Any other adjustments reported on Form 1040, Line 36, or Form 1040NR, Line 35           X X 005
Domestic production activities deduction–Form 1040, Line 35, or Form 1040NR, Line 34 X X 006

Additions—Schedule OR-ASC, Section 1 or  OR-ASC-NP, Section 2. OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code
Domestic production activities deduction              X X X 102
Claim of right income repayments              X 103
Disposition of inherited Oregon farmland or forestland   X X X 106
Federal election on interest and dividends of a minor child X X X 107
Federal income tax refunds             X 109
Net operating loss—non-Oregon source X X X 116

Oregon 529 College Savings Plan nonqualifi ed withdrawal X X X 117
Oregon deferral of reinvested capital gain   X X X 118
Partnership and S corporation modifi cations for Oregon X X X 119
Business credit—unused              X X X 122
Federal subsidies for employer prescription drug plans X X X 123
Federal law disconnect X X X 131
Accumulation distribution from certain domestic trusts X X X 132
Fiduciary adjustment from Oregon estates and trusts X X X 133
Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduction     X 134
Oregon-only Schedule A items       X 135
Refund of Oregon-only Schedule A items from a prior year  X 136
Individual Development Account nonqualifi ed withdrawal        X X X 137
Oregon IDA Initiative Fund donation credit add-back   X 138
Lump-sum distribution from a qualifi ed retirement plan      X X X 139
Passive foreign investment company income       X X X 140
Child Care Fund contributions   X 142
Oregon Production Investment Fund contributions X 144
Renewable Energy Development Fund  contributions X 145
University Venture Development Fund  contributions X 146
Income taxes paid to another state X X X 148
Basis of business assets transferred to Oregon   X X X 150
Depletion in excess of property basis    X X X 151

Publication OR-CODES

Numeric Codes for Oregon 
Adjustments, Additions, Subtractions, Modifications, and Credits 

Effective for tax year 2017
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Additions—Schedule OR-ASC, Section 1 or  OR-ASC-NP, Section 2. 
(Continued from page 1)

OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code

Depreciation diff erence for Oregon X X X 152
Federal depreciation disconnect X X X 153
Gain or loss on sale of depreciable property with diff erent basis for Oregon X X X 154
Passive activity losses X X X 155
Suspended losses X X X 156
Federal estate tax on income in respect of a decedent X 157
Interest on state and local government bonds outside of Oregon X X X 158
Federal subtraction for retirement savings rollover from Individual Development 
Account

X X X 159

Charitable donations not allowed for Oregon X 160
WFHDC medical expenses X 163
ABLE account nonqualifi ed withdrawal X X X 164

Subtractions—Schedule OR-ASC, Section 2 or OR-ASC-NP, Section 3. OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code
American Indian X X X 300
Artist's charitable contribution X 301
Construction worker and logger commuting expenses X X X 303
Federal gain previously taxed by Oregon X X X 306
Federal pension income X X X 307
Federal income tax from a prior year X 309
Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and trusts X X X 310
Foreign tax X 311
Individual Development Account contributions X X X 314
Interest and dividends on U S  bonds and notes X X X 315
Land donation to educational institutions X X X 316
Interest from state and local government bonds X X X 317
Military active duty pay X X X 319
Mortgage interest credit X 320
Net operating loss X X X 321
Oregon lottery winnings X X X 322
Partnership and S corporation modifi cations for Oregon X X X 323
Oregon 529 College Savings Plan deposit X X X 324
Oregon income tax refund X X 325
Previously taxed employee retirement plans X X X 327
Public Safety Memorial Fund award X X X 329
Railroad Retirement Board benefi ts: tier 2, windfall/vested dual, supplemental, and 
railroad unemployment benefi ts 

X X X 330

US government interest in IRA or Keogh distributions X X X 331
Scholarship awards used for housing expenses X X X 333
Legislative Assembly salary and expenses X X X 335
Film production labor rebate—Greenlight Oregon Labor Rebate Fund X X X 336
Mobile home park capital gain X X X 338
Capital Construction Fund (CCF) contributions X X X 339
Federal business and health coverage credits X X X 340
Income on a composite return X X 341
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Subtractions—Schedule OR-ASC, Section 2 or OR-ASC-NP, Section 3. 
(Continued from page 2)

OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code

Oregon Investment Advantage X X X 342
Mobile home tenant payment X X X 344
Taxable benefi ts for former RDPs X X X 347
Previously-taxed IRA conversions X X X 348
Discharge of indebtedness X X X 350
Special Oregon medical X X X 351
DISC dividend payments X X X 352
Depreciation diff erence for Oregon X X X 354
Gain or loss on sale of depreciable property with diff erent basis for Oregon X X X 355
Passive activity losses X X X 356
Suspended losses X X X 357
Basis of business assets transferred to Oregon X X X 358
Marijuana business expenses not allowed on the federal return X X X 359
ABLE account deposit X X X 360

Modifi cations—Schedule OR-ASC-NP, Section 4 only. OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code
Artist’s charitable contribution X 600
Federal income tax refunds X X 601
Federal tax from a prior year X X 602
Foreign tax  X X 603
Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduction + X X 604
Federal estate tax on income in respect of a decedent X X 605
Mortgage interest credit deduction X X 607
Federal business and health coverage credits X X 609
Child Care Fund contributions + X X 642
Oregon Production Investment Fund contributions + X X 644
Renewable Energy Development Fund contributions + X X 645
University Development Venture Fund contributions + X X 646
Oregon IDA Initiative Fund donation credit add-back + X X 648
Claim of right income repayment + X X 649
Charitable donations not allowed for Oregon X X 650
WFHDC medical expenses + X X 651
+ Must be entered as a negative number.

Standard credits—Schedule OR-ASC, Section 3 or OR-ASC-NP, 
Section 5.

OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code

Income taxes paid to another state X X X 802
Mutually-taxed gain on the sale of residential property X X X 806
Oregon Cultural Trust contributions  X PR PR 807
Oregon Veterans' Home physicians X PR PR 808
Political contributions X X 809
Reservation enterprise zone X PR PR 810
Retirement income X X X 811
Rural emergency medical technicians X PR PR 812
Rural health practitioners X PR PR 813
Pass-through income taxes paid to another state X X X 815

Numeric codes
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Carryforward credits—Schedule OR-ASC, Section 4 or OR-ASC-NP, Section 6. OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code
Agriculture workforce housing X PR PR 835

Biomass production/collection X PR PR 838
Business energy carryforward X X X 839
Child and dependent care carryforward X PR PR 840
Child Care Fund contributions X X X 841
Crop donation X PR PR 843
Electronic commerce zone investment X PR PR 845
Employer-provided dependent care assistance carryforward              X X PR 846
Employer scholarship                 X PR PR 847
Energy conservation projects        X X X 849
Fish screening devices              X PR PR 850
Oregon IDA Initiative Fund donation    X X X 852
Oregon Low Income Community Jobs Initiative/New Markets        X X X 855
Oregon Production Investment Fund contributions         X X X 856
Pollution control facilities carryforward   X X X 857
Renewable Energy Development Fund contributions         X X X 859
Renewable energy resource equipment manufacturing facility carryforward X X X 860
Residential energy              X PR PR 861
Transportation projects carryforward        X X X 863
University Venture Development Fund contributions X PR PR 864
Alternative Fuel Vehicle Fund contributions carryforward                 X X X 865
Reforestation of underproductive forestlands X X X 867
Rural technology workforce development X PR PR 868
Carryforward credits available only to S corporation shareholders.
    Agriculture workforce housing loans (S corporation)              X X X 836
    Alternative qualifi ed research activities (S corporation)                 X X X 837
    Contribution of computers or scientifi c equipment for research,
    carryforward only (S corporation) 

X X X 842

    Lender’s credit: aff ordable housing (S corporation) X X X 854
    Lender’s credit: energy conservation, carryforward only (S corporation) X X X 848
    Long-term rural enterprise zone facilities (S corporation)       X X X 853
    Qualifi ed research activities (S corporation)          X X X 858
Refundable credits—Schedule OR-ASC, Section 5 or OR-ASC-NP, 
Section 7.

OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code

Claim of right              X PR PR 890
Mobile home park closure    X X X 891
Working Family Household and Dependent Care (WFHDC)       X PR PR 895
PR indicates a credit that must be prorated.
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Index
Symbols
2-D barcode filing for Oregon  11

A
ABLE Account

Deposit—subtraction  59
Nonqualified withdrawal—addition  50

Abusive Tax Avoidance Transactions—penalty  32
Accumulation distribution from a trust—addition  50
Additions

ABLE account nonqualified withdrawal--addition  50
Accumulation distribution from a trust  50
Basis of business assets transferred into Oregon  84
Child Care Fund contributions  50
Claim of right income repayments  51
Depletion  51
Depreciation and amortization  82
Discharge of indebtedness from reacquisition of debt 

instrument  51
Disposition of inherited Oregon farmland or 

forestland  51
Disqualified charitable donations  52
Domestic production activities deduction  52
Federal depreciation disconnect  79, 82
Federal election on interest and dividends of a minor 

child  52
Federal estate tax  52
Federal income tax refunds  52
Federal subsidies for employer prescription drug 

plans-addition  54
Federal tax credit  66
Fiduciary adjustment  86
Gain on the sale of an Oregon  

residence  85
Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduction  54
Income taxes paid to another state  54
Individual Development Account

Donation credit  55
Nonqualified withdrawal  55
Rollover to retirement account  56

In general  50
Interest and dividends on government bonds of other 

states  56
Lump-sum distributions  56
Net operating loss, non-Oregon source  79
Nonqualified withdrawal

Individual Development Account  55
Oregon 529 College Savings Network  57
Oregon Production Investment Fund  57
Partnership and S corporation modifications for 

Oregon  83
Passive activity losses  86
Renewable energy development contributions  57
Sale of assets  85
University venture development fund contributions  57
Unused business credits  58
WFHDC medical expenses claimed as itemized 

deduction  58
Addresses  131
Adjustments to income

Alimony paid  46
Domestic production activities deduction  47
Educator expenses  47
Fee-basis government officials, business expenses of  46
Health Savings Account deduction  47
In general  46
Interest penalty on early withdrawal of savings  48
IRA or self-employed SEP and SIMPLE contributions  48
Performing artists, business expenses of  46
Reservists, business expenses of  46
Self-employed health insurance  49
Self-employment tax  49
Student loan interest  49
Tuition and fees deduction  49
Write-in adjustments on federal Form 1040, Line 36  49

Agriculture workforce housing—credit  104
Air carrier employees  39
Alimony

Paid, deduction-adjustment  46
Received, income  40

Alternative Fuel Vehicle Fund—credit  105
Alternative qualified research activities–credit  105
Amended returns  28
American Indian—subtraction  59
Amtrak Act  41
Appeals

Appealing a deficiency based on federal audit reports or 
audit reports of other states  35

Conference  34
Doubtful liability  36
Interest  35, 36
Notice of Assessment  34
Notice of Deficiency  34
Oregon Tax Court  36
Paying your taxes during the appeal  36
Penalty or interest  35
Revenue Online  34, 35, 36
UND  35
Written objection  34

Appendix  119
Artist’s charitable contribution—subtraction  60
“As if” federal returns  17
Audit  33

B
Basis of business assets transferred into Oregon  84
Biomass production/collection—credit  105
Bona fide residence test  14
Bond interest  56, 67, 69
Business energy—credit  106
Business income or loss  40
Business tax credits from pass-through entity  83

C
Capital Construction Fund—subtraction  61
Capital gain  40, 56, 91
Capital loss carryover difference—addition  50
Child Care Fund contributions

Addition  50
Credit  106
Itemized deduction, federal limitation on  88
Negative modification  89

Claim of right income repayments
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Addition  50
Credit  115
Limit on itemized deductions  88
Negative modification  89

Commercial fishers
Estimated tax  118
Farmers and commercial fishermen  118
Underpayment interest  117

Community property income  18, 39
Commuting expenses, construction worker/

logger—subtraction  61
Composite return, filing  16

Income on, subtraction  66
Contribution of computers or scientific equipment for 

research—credit  107
Conversions and exchanged property—subtraction  62
Credits, carryforward

Agriculture workforce housing  104
Alternative Fuel Vehicle Fund  105
Alternative qualified research activities  105
Biomass production/collection  105
Business energy  106
Child and dependent care  106
Child Care Fund contribution  106
Contribution of computers or scientific equipment  107
Crop donation  107
Electronic commerce zone investment  108
Employer-provided dependent care assistance  108
Employer scholarship  108
Energy conservation project  108
Fish screening devices  109
Lender’s credit: affordable housing  109
Lender’s credit: energy conservation  109
Long-term enterprise zone facilities  110
New Markets  110
Oregon IDA Initiative Fund donation  110
Oregon Low-Income Community Jobs Initiative  110
Oregon Production Investment Fund  111
Pollution control facilities  111
Qualified research activities  111
Renewable energy development contribution  111
Renewable energy resource equipment manufacturing 

facility  112
Residential energy  112
Rural technology  113
Rural technology workforce development  113
Transportation projects  113
University venture development fund contributions  113

Credits, refundable
Claim of right income repayment  115
Earned income  115
Manufactured home park closure  115
Working Family Household and Dependent Care  

(WFHDC)  115
Credits, standard

Exemption  93
Income taxes paid to another state  94
Mutually-taxed gain on the sale of residential 

property  98
Oregon Cultural Trust contributions  99
Oregon Veterans’ Home Physicians  99
Political contributions  99
Reservation enterprise zone  100
Retirement income  101

Rural emergency medical service providers  102
Rural health practitioners  102

Credit types  92
Crop donation—credit  107
D
Dam workers; hydroelectric  40
Deceased person’s return  8
Decedent, income in respect of  52
Deductions and modifications  87

Itemized deductions  87
Standard deduction  89

Age 65 or older, blind  89
Nonresident aliens  90
Single or married filing jointly dependents  90

State income tax claimed as an itemized deduction  88
Dependent  9, 90
Depletion—addition  51
Depreciation and amortization  82
Direct deposit of refund  25
DISC dividend payments—subtraction  62
Discharge of indebtedness from reacquisition of debt 

instrument
Addition  51
Subtraction  62

Disposition of inherited Oregon farmland or 
forestland—addition  51

Dividend income  41, 67
Domestic production activities deduction

Addition  52
Adjustment  47

Domicile  13

E
Earned income—credit  115
Educator expenses—adjustment  47
Electronic commerce zone investment—credit  108
Electronic filing for Oregon  10
Employee retirement plans, previously 

taxed—subtraction  72
Employer scholarship—credit  108
Energy conservation project—credit  108
Estimated tax  118
Exempt income

Air carrier employees, nonresident  39
Amtrak Act  41
Hydroelectric dam workers  40
Interstate transportation wages

Amtrak Act  41
Railroad Retirement Board benefits  44
Social Security benefits  44
Waterway workers, nonresident  45

Extensions of time to file  15

F
Failure to file  37

Appeal procedure  37
Assessment of tax  37
Failure to file, 25 percent, additional  32
Penalty, 20 percent  31
Penalty, 25 percent  32
Penalty, 100 percent  32

Failure to pay—penalty  31
Farmers and commercial fishers

Estimated tax  118
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Underpayment interest  117
Farm income averaging  91
Farm liquidation long-term capital gain tax rate  91
Federal depreciation disconnect  82
Federal election on interest  

and dividends of a minor child—addition  52
Federal estate tax—addition  52
Federal income tax refunds—addition  52
Federal income tax—subtraction  62

Additional tax paid  62
Amended returns—how to report  63
Current year  62

Federal law connection  7
Federal pension income—subtraction  64
Federal return

As if  17
Audit of  34
Extensions of time to file  15
Filing status  16
Need for  11
RDPs  19

Federal subsidies for employer prescription drug 
plans-addition  54

Federal tax law  7
Fee-basis government officials, business expenses 

of—adjustment  46
Fiduciaries—estimated tax  118
Fiduciary adjustment  86
Filing requirements  9

Nonresidents  10
Part-year residents  10

Filing status  16
Fish screening devices—credit  109
Foreign income tax—subtraction  66

G
Gain, loss, and distributions  40
Gain on the sale of an Oregon residence  85
Gambling losses claimed as an itemized 

deduction—addition  54

H
Health savings account deduction—adjustment  47
Household income checklist  120
Housing expenses, scholarships used 

for—subtraction  73
Hydroelectric dam workers  40

I
Income

Air carrier employees  39
Alimony received  40
Amtrak Act  41
Business income or loss  40
Gain, loss, and distributions  40
Hydroelectric dam workers  40
Individual Retirement Account  41
Interest and dividend income  41
Interstate Transportation Wages  41
Like-kind exchange or conversions of property  43
Railroad Retirement Board benefits  44
Retirement income  43
Salaries  45
Social Security benefits  44
State and local income tax refunds  44

Taxable to Oregon  39
Unemployment insurance benefits  44
Wages  45
Waterway workers  45

Income averaging, Farm  91
Income on a composite return—subtraction  66
Income taxes paid to another state

Addition  54
Credit, full-year residents  96
Credit, generally  94
Credit, nonresidents  97
Credit, part-year residents  96
Exception for Oregon resident partners and S 

corporation shareholders  98
Income tax refund, Oregon—subtraction  71
Individual Development Account

Addition
Donation credit  55
Nonqualified withdrawal  55
Rollover to retirement account  56

Initiative Fund donation credit  110
Negative modification  89
Nonqualified withdrawal  55
Subtraction  67

Individual Taxpayer Identification Number  19
Inherited farmland/forestland—addition  51
Interest  30

Refunds  30
Underpayment of estimated tax  117
Unpaid tax  30

Interest/dividends on government bonds of other 
states—addition  56

Interest/dividends on U.S. bonds/notes—subtraction  67
Interest income  41, 56, 67
Interest penalty on early withdrawal of 

savings—adjustment  48
Interstate Transportation Wages  41
IRA conversions, previously taxed—subtraction  72
IRA or self-employed SEP and SIMPLE 

contributions—adjustment  48
Itemized deductions  87

L
Land donations to educational institutions 

carryforward—subtraction  68
Lender’s credit: affordable housing  109
Lender’s credit: energy conservation  109
Like-kind exchange or conversions of property  43
Local government bond interest—subtraction  69
Long-term enterprise zone facilities—credit  110
Lottery winnings—subtraction  69
Lump-sum distributions—addition

Capital gains income  56
Ordinary income  57

M
Mailing addresses  131
Manufactured home park capital gain exclusion  69
Manufactured home park closure—credit  115
Manufactured home park payments  69
Marijuana business expenses—subtraction  70
Medical subtraction, special Oregon  73
Military personnel filing information  20
Minor child, federal election on interest and 

dividends—addition  52
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Minor child’s return  8
Mortgage interest credit—subtraction  70
Moving expenses—adjustment  48
Mutually-taxed gain on the sale of residential 

property—credit  98

N
Net operating losses (NOLs)  79
Net Oregon itemized deductions  89
New Markets—credit  110
Nonresident

Nonresident aliens  90
Nonresidents

Adjustments  46
Composite return filed by pass-through entity  16
Earned income credit  115
Estimated tax  118
Exemption credit  93
Filing requirements  10
Form OR-40-N  15
Income taxes paid to another state  94
Married taxpayers with different residency status  16
Net operating losses  80
Nonresident aliens  90, 118
Oregon percentage  87
Rental property in Oregon  10
Residency  14

O
Open estimated tax account  25
Oregon 529 College Savings Network

Addition, non-qualified withdrawal  57
Subtraction  70

Oregon Cultural Trust contributions
Credit  99
Limit on itemized deductions  88
Negative modification  89

Oregon IDA Initiative Fund donation
Credits, carryforward  110

Oregon income tax refund—subtraction  71
Oregon investment advantage—subtraction  71
Oregon Low-Income Community Jobs 

Initiative—credit  110
Oregon percentage  87
Oregon Production Investment Fund (auction)

Addition  57
Credit  111
Limit on itemized deductions  88
Negative modification  89

Oregon Veterans’ Home Physicians—credit  99
Oyster farmers

Farmers and commercial fishermen  118
Underpayment interest  117

P
Partnership and S corporation modifications for 

Oregon  83
Part-year residents

Adjustments  46
Earned income credit  115
Estimated tax  118
Exemption credit  93
Filing requirements  10
Form OR-40-P  15

Income taxes paid to another state  94
Married taxpayers with different residency status  16
Net operating losses  80
Oregon percentage  87
Residency  14

Passive activity losses  86
Computation of Oregon losses  86
Modifications to federal losses for Oregon  87

Pass-through entities
Business tax credits  83
Composite tax return  16
Income on a composite return—subtraction  66
Income taxes paid to another state—addition  54
Income taxes paid to another state—credit  98
Nonresident withholding  16
Reduced tax rate  83

Penalties  31
Abusive Tax Avoidance Transactions  32
Failure to file, 20 percent  31
Failure to file, 25 percent, additional  32
Failure to file, 100 percent  32
Failure to pay  31
False claim, Working Family Household and Dependent 

Care credit  116
Frivolous return  32
Intent to evade tax  32
Penalty for false claim  116
Substantial understatement of net tax  32

Performing artists, business expenses of—adjustment  46
Political contributions—credit  99
Pollution control facilities—credit  111
Prescription drug plans, employer 

subsidies—addition  54
Previously taxed employee retirement 

plans—subtraction  72
Previously taxed IRA conversions—subtraction  72
Prohibited amounts  79
Protective claim for refund  28
Public Safety Memorial Fund Awards—subtraction  72

Q
Qualified production activities income (QPAI), see 

Domestic production activities deduction  47
Qualified research activities—credit  111

R
Railroad Retirement Board benefits—subtraction  73
Record-keeping requirements  11
Refunds

Amended returns  28
Application to open estimated tax account  25
Delays  27
Direct deposit  25
Injured spouse refund claims  27
Interest  30
Minimum  8
Offset against debt  27
Oregon statute of limitations  27
Processing  26
Protective claim  28

Registered domestic partners  19
Renewable energy development contribution (auction)

Addition  57
Credit  111
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Limit on itemized deductions  88
Negative modification  89

Renewable energy resource equipment manufacturing 
facility carryforward—credit  112

Reservation enterprise zone—credit  100
Reservists, business expenses of—adjustment  46
Residency

Bona fide residence test  14
Domicile  13
Foreign country  13
Military personnel  20
Military spouses  23
Nonresidents  14
Part-year residents  14
Physical presence test  13
Special-case Oregon residents  13
Tax treaties  14

Residential energy—credit  112
Retirement income  43

Credit  101
Rural technology workforce development  113

S
Salary income  45
Sale of assets  85
Scholarships used for housing expenses—subtraction  73
Self-employed health insurance deduction  49
Self-employment tax  49
Social Security and Railroad Retirement Board  44
Social Security benefits—subtraction  73
Special Oregon medical—subtraction  73
Standard deduction  89

Nonresident aliens  90
Short-period return  90

State and local income tax refunds  44
Statute of limitations

Generally  12
Net operating loss carryback  28
Notice of deficiency for listed transaction  32
Refunds  27

Student loan interest—adjustment  49
Subtractions

ABLE Account deposit  59
American Indian  59
Artist’s charitable contribution  60
Basis of business assets transferred into Oregon  84
Capital Construction Fund  61
Commuting expenses, construction worker/logger  61
Conversions and exchanged property  62
Depreciation and amortization  82
DISC dividend payments  62
Discharge of indebtedness from reacquisition of debt 

instrument  62
Federal income tax  62
Federal pension income  64
Fiduciary adjustment  86
Foreign income tax  66
Gain on the sale of an Oregon residence  85
Income on a composite return  66
Individual Development Account  67
In general  59
Interest and dividends on U.S. bonds and notes  67
Land donations to educational institutions 

carryforward  68

Local government bond interest  69
Lottery winnings  69
Manufactured home park capital gain exclusion  69
Manufactured home park payments  69
Marijuana business expenses  70
Mortgage interest credit  70
Net operating losses for Oregon  79
Oregon 529 College Savings Network  70
Oregon income tax refund  71
Oregon Investment Advantage  71
Partnership and S corporation modifications for 

Oregon  83
Passive activity losses  86
Previously taxed employee retirement plans  72
Previously taxed IRA conversions  72
Public Safety Memorial Fund awards  72
Railroad Retirement Board benefits  73
Sale of assets  85
Scholarships used for housing expenses  73
Social Security benefits  73
Special Oregon medical  73
Taxable benefits for former RDPs  77
Tuition and fees  77
U.S. government interest in IRA or Keogh 

distribution  77

T
Taxable benefits for former RDPs—subtraction  77
Tax benefit doctrine  52
Tax treaties  14
Transportation projects—credit  113
Tuition and fees—subtraction  77

U
Underpayment of estimated tax, interest on  117

Appeals  34
Exceptions  117

Unemployment compensation
Railroad Retirement Board benefits—subtraction  73

Unemployment insurance benefits  44
University venture development fund contributions

Addition  57
Credit  113
Limit on itemized deductions  88
Negative modification  89

Unused business credits—addition  58
U.S. bonds and notes, interest on—subtraction  67
U.S. government interest in IRA or Keogh 

distribution—subtraction  77

W
Wage income  45
Waterway workers  45
WFHDC

Penalty for false claim  116
Working Family Household and Dependent Care 

(WFHDC)—credit  115
Medical expenses claimed as itemized deduction  58

Written objection  34
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Important mailing addresses
If you are responding to a specific notice or letter, use the address and contact information listed on that correspondence. 
Send all returns and forms to the address listed on it or its instructions.

Physical address:
Oregon Department of Revenue
955 Center Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2555

Forms and publications requests:
Forms
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14999
Salem OR 97309-0990

Federal ITIN information:
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14999
Salem OR 97309-0990

Tax Information Authorization and Power 
of Attorney for Representation form:
Oregon Department of Revenue
955 Center Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2555
Fax: 503-945-8735

Return after tax has been assessed:
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14600
Salem OR 97309-5049

Donations to State School Fund:
Oregon Department of Education
Attention: OFA Cashier
255 Capitol Street NE
Salem OR 97310-1206

Injured spouse refund requests
	 If your spouse’s debt is owed to another 
	 state agency:
	 Attention: Accounts Resolution Team
	 Oregon Department of Revenue
	 955 Center Street NE
	 Salem OR 97301-2555

	 If your spouse’s debt is Oregon state tax:
	 Oregon Department of Revenue
	 955 Center Street NE
	 Salem OR 97301-2555

Written objections, conference requests, 
and requests for interest or penalty adjustments:
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14725
Salem OR 97309-5018

Appeals to the Oregon tax court:
Oregon Tax Court
Magistrate Division
1163 State Street
Salem OR 97301-2563

Appeals of interest on underpayment of tax:
UND Team
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14725
Salem OR 97309-5018



Miscellaneous Oregon Income Tax Information for Tax Years 2014–2017
(Refer to prior year tax booklets before filing delinquent or amended returns)

Tax year 2014 2015 2016 2017

Return due date
(Calendar year filer)

4/15/15 4/18/16 4/18/17 4/17/18

Exemption amounts $188 or $0 $191–$0 $194 or $0 $197 or $0
If federal AGI is more than the amount shown for your filing status, see the exemption credit worksheet.

Single $100,000  $100,000 $100,000 $100,000

Married filing 
jointly or qualifying 
widow(er)

$200,000  $200,000 $200,000 $200,000

Married filing sepa-
rately

$100,000 $100,000 $100,000 $100,000

Head of household $200,000 $200,000 $200,000 $200,000

Standard deduction
Single (can be 
claimed on another’s 
return)

$1,000* $1,050* $1,050* $1,050*

Single $2,115 $2,145 $2,155 $2,175
Married filing 
jointly or qualifying 
widow(er)

$4,230 $4,295 $4,315 $4,350 

Married filing sepa-
rately

$2,115† $2,145† $2,155† $2,175†

Head of household  $3,405 $3,455 $3,475 $3,500

Federal tax 
subtraction 
maximum

$6,350-$0‡ $6,450-$0‡ $6,500-$0‡ $6,550-$0‡

Oregon 529 Plan and ABLE Account Contribution Maximum
Joint return $4,530 $4,600 $4,620 $4,660 

All others  $2,265 $2,300 $2,310 $2,330 

Marginal tax rates
Single 
Married
filing 
separately

5% First $3,300 First $3,350 First $3,350 First $3,400
7% $3,301-$8,250 $3,351-$8,400 $3,351 - $8,450 $3,401 - $8,500
9% $8,251-$125,000 $8,401-$125,000 $8,451-$125,000 $8,501-$125,000
9.9% Over $125,000 Over $125,000 Over $125,000 Over $125,000

Married 
filing jointly 
Head of 
household
Qualifying
widow(er)

5% First $6,600 First $6,700 First $6,700 First $6,800
7% $6,601-$16,500 $6,701-$16,800 $6,701 - $16,900 $6,801 - $17,000
9% $16,501-$250,000 $16,801-$250,000 $16,901-$250,000 $17,001-$250,000
9.9% Over $250,000 Over $250,000 Over $250,000 Over $250,000

* Greater of amount shown or earned income plus $350, but not more than the standard deduction for a single filer.
† If your spouse itemizes deductions, your standard deduction is $0.
‡ If federal AGI is $125,000 or greater, the federal tax subtraction is limited. Use the federal tax subtraction worksheet.


