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Oregon  
Withholding Tax Tables
Effective January 1, 2017

To: Oregon employers

The Oregon Withholding Tax Tables include:

• 	Things you need to know.

• The standard tax tables for all payroll periods.

• Frequently asked questions.

For more information, call:

(503) 945-8100
or

(503) 945-8091

955 Center Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2555
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Things you need to know
The updated Oregon Withholding Tax Tables reflect the increased federal tax subtraction to $6,550 and changes to 
other indexed items. Employees may notice a small change in the amount of Oregon tax withheld. To adjust for 
too much or too little tax withheld, see Oregon Income Tax Withholding, 150-206-643. It’s available on the internet at 
www.oregon.gov/dor/forms in the Combined payroll section.

You may be personally liable for withholding taxes
As a corporation officer, member, or employee, you can be held personally responsible for unpaid withholding 
taxes owed by the corporation. That’s because Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 316.162 and 316.207 authorize the 
department to transfer the liability for taxes from the corporation to the responsible officers, members, and 
employees when the corporation fails to pay.

Interested in electronic funds transfer (EFT)?
Payments for combined payroll taxes can be made electronically using the Department of Revenue’s electronic 
funds transfer (EFT) program. You can set up your payments through a secure internet site or through your 
financial institution. For ACH credit payments, you need to file an authorization agreement with the Department 
of Revenue before you can receive the department’s payment information. To submit your authorization 
agreement or to make an ACH debit payment, visit www.oregon.gov/dor and look for the link to Revenue Online.

Even though many businesses are required to make their payments this way, employers may voluntarily 
participate in the EFT program. Additional information and registration materials are available at: www.oregon.
gov/dor/payments or you may call the EFT help/message line at (503) 947-2017 to receive a program guide.

Alternative withholding method for supplemental wage payments
Employers may use a 9 percent flat rate to figure withholding on supplemental wages that are paid at a different 
time than an employee’s regular payday. Supplemental wages include bonuses, overtime pay, commissions, or 
any other form of payment received in addition to the employee’s regular pay.

Do you have questions or need help?
www.oregon.gov/dor
(503) 378-4988 or (800) 356-4222
questions.dor@​oregon.gov

Contact us for ADA accommodations or assistance in other languages.
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Things you need to know

Must I round withholding amounts to the nearest dollar?
The income tax withholding amounts in the wage bracket tables have been rounded to whole dollar amounts. 
When employers use the percentage method, the tax for the pay period may be rounded to the nearest dollar.

When are withholding payments due?
Due dates for paying Oregon withholding tax are the same as due dates for depositing your federal tax liability.

If your federal tax liability is: Oregon withholding tax
payments are due:

Payrolls paid in:

Quarter 1 
January,  

February,  
March

Quarter 2 
April,  
May,  
June

Quarter 3 
July,  

August,  
September

Quarter 4 
October,  

November,  
December

•	Less than $2,500 for the quarter ➛ by the quarterly report due date

Example: If your Federal tax liability is $2,300 and your state income tax liability 
is $1,500, you deposit quarterly.

•	$50,000 or less in the  
lookback period* ➛ by the 15th of the month 

following payroll

Example: If your federal tax liability is $5,000 and your state income tax liability is 
$2,500, you deposit monthly.

• More than $50,000 in  
the lookback period* ➛ Semiweekly deposit schedule

If the day falls on a: Then pay taxes by:

Wednesday, Thursday, 
and/or Friday

the following 
Wednesday

Saturday, Sunday,  
Monday and/or 

Tuesday

the following  
Friday

Example: If your federal tax liability is $60,000 and your state income tax liability 
is $25,000, you deposit semi-weekly.

• $100,000 in a single pay period* ➛ within one banking day

Example: If your federal tax liability is $120,000 and your state income tax liability 
is $75,000, you deposit within one banking day.

New business 
Per federal rules, all new businesses should deposit monthly until a lookback 
period is available; this is the same for the State of Oregon. See Publication 15 
Circular E, page 26.

*	 The lookback period is the 12-month period that ended the preceding June 30. 
The lookback period for agricultural employers is the calendar year prior to 
the calendar year just ended.

When are withholding reports due?
Employers with household employees, or employers who file federal Form 943 for agricultural employment, may 
file annual returns. All other employers must file a quarterly tax report.

As long as you are registered as an employer, you must file an Oregon Combined Tax Report even if you have no 
payroll during the reporting period.
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0 – 100 16 0 0 16 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
100 – 200 16 0 0 16 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
200 – 300 20 3 0 16 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
300 – 400 24 8 0 16 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
400 – 500 29 13 0 21 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
500 – 600 34 20 4 26 9 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
600 – 700 40 26 11 31 14 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
700 – 800 47 33 18 36 19 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
800 – 900 53 39 25 40 24 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
900 – 1,000 59 46 32 45 30 13 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

1,000 – 1,100 67 54 40 51 37 20 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1,100 – 1,200 74 62 48 57 43 27 11 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1,200 – 1,300 82 70 56 64 49 34 18 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1,300 – 1,400 90 78 65 70 56 41 25 9 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1,400 – 1,500 97 85 73 76 62 48 32 16 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1,500 – 1,600 105 93 81 82 68 54 39 23 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1,600 – 1,700 113 101 89 89 75 61 46 30 13 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1,700 – 1,800 120 108 97 95 81 67 53 37 20 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1,800 – 1,900 128 116 104 101 87 74 60 45 29 12 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1,900 – 2,000 136 124 112 109 95 82 68 54 38 21 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
2,000 – 2,100 143 131 119 117 103 90 77 63 47 30 14 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
2,100 – 2,200 151 139 127 125 111 98 85 71 56 39 23 6 0 0 0 0 0 0
2,200 – 2,300 158 147 135 133 119 106 93 79 65 48 32 15 0 0 0 0 0 0
2,300 – 2,400 166 154 142 141 128 114 101 87 74 57 41 24 8 0 0 0 0 0
2,400 – 2,500 174 162 150 148 136 122 109 96 82 66 50 33 17 0 0 0 0 0
2,500 – 2,600 181 170 158 156 144 130 117 104 90 75 59 42 26 9 0 0 0 0
2,600 – 2,700 189 177 165 164 152 139 125 112 98 84 68 51 35 18 2 0 0 0
2,700 – 2,800 197 185 173 171 159 147 133 120 106 93 77 60 44 27 11 0 0 0
2,800 – 2,900 204 193 181 179 167 155 141 128 115 101 86 69 53 36 20 4 0 0
2,900 – 3,000 212 200 188 187 175 163 149 136 123 109 95 78 62 45 29 13 0 0
3,000 – 3,100 220 208 196 194 182 170 158 144 131 117 104 87 71 54 38 22 5 0
3,100 – 3,200 227 215 204 202 190 178 166 152 139 125 112 96 80 63 47 31 14 0
3,200 – 3,300 235 223 211 209 198 186 174 160 147 134 120 105 89 72 56 40 23 7
3,300 – 3,400 243 231 219 217 205 193 182 168 155 142 128 114 98 81 65 49 32 16
3,400 – 3,500 249 238 227 225 213 201 189 177 163 150 136 123 107 90 74 58 41 25
3,500 – 3,600 256 246 234 232 221 209 197 185 171 158 145 131 116 99 83 67 50 34
3,600 – 3,700 263 254 242 240 228 216 204 193 179 166 153 139 125 108 92 76 59 43
3,700 – 3,800 270 261 250 248 236 224 212 200 187 174 161 147 134 117 101 85 68 52
3,800 – 3,900 278 268 257 255 244 232 220 208 196 182 169 155 142 126 110 94 77 61
3,900 – 4,000 287 274 265 263 251 239 227 216 204 190 177 164 150 135 119 103 86 70
4,000 – 4,100 296 281 272 271 259 247 235 223 211 198 185 172 158 144 128 112 95 79
4,100 – 4,200 305 288 279 278 266 255 243 231 219 206 193 180 166 153 137 121 104 88
4,200 – 4,300 309 293 282 282 270 258 247 235 223 211 197 184 170 157 142 125 109 92

For wages of $4,300 and more, see Oregon Withholding Tax Formulas.

Monthly payroll period (Oregon)

Amount of tax to be withheld

Note: If more than 14 withholding allowances are claimed, use the monthly formula.

Wage Number of withholding allowances
 

At  
least

But 
less 
than

Two or less Three or more
Single Married Single or married

0 1 2 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14
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Twice-a-month payroll period (Oregon)

Amount of tax to be withheld

Note: If more than 14 withholding allowances are claimed, use the twice-a-month formula.

Wage Number of withholding allowances
 

At 
least

But 
less 
than

Two or less Three or more
Single Married Single or married

0 1 2 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14
0 – 50 8 0 0 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

50 – 100 8 0 0 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
100 – 150 10 2 0 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
150 – 200 12 4 0 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
200 – 250 14 7 0 10 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
250 – 300 17 10 2 13 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
300 – 350 20 13 5 15 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
350 – 400 23 16 9 18 10 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
400 – 450 26 19 12 20 12 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
450 – 500 30 23 16 22 15 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
500 – 550 33 27 20 25 18 10 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
550 – 600 37 31 24 29 22 14 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
600 – 650 41 35 28 32 25 17 9 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
650 – 700 45 39 32 35 28 21 12 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
700 – 750 49 43 36 38 31 24 16 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
750 – 800 52 47 40 41 34 27 19 11 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
800 – 850 56 50 44 44 37 30 23 15 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
850 – 900 60 54 48 48 40 33 26 18 10 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
900 – 950 64 58 52 51 44 37 30 22 14 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
950 – 1,000 68 62 56 54 48 41 34 27 19 11 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

1,000 – 1,050 72 66 60 58 52 45 38 31 23 15 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1,050 – 1,100 75 69 64 62 56 49 42 36 28 20 11 3 0 0 0 0 0 0
1,100 – 1,150 79 73 67 66 60 53 46 40 32 24 16 8 0 0 0 0 0 0
1,150 – 1,200 83 77 71 70 64 57 50 44 37 29 20 12 4 0 0 0 0 0
1,200 – 1,250 87 81 75 74 68 61 54 48 41 33 25 17 8 0 0 0 0 0
1,250 – 1,300 91 85 79 78 72 65 59 52 45 38 29 21 13 5 0 0 0 0
1,300 – 1,350 95 89 83 82 76 69 63 56 49 42 34 26 17 9 1 0 0 0
1,350 – 1,400 98 92 87 86 80 73 67 60 53 47 38 30 22 14 6 0 0 0
1,400 – 1,450 102 96 90 89 84 77 71 64 57 51 43 35 26 18 10 2 0 0
1,450 – 1,500 106 100 94 93 87 81 75 68 61 55 47 39 31 23 15 6 0 0
1,500 – 1,550 110 104 98 97 91 85 79 72 65 59 52 44 35 27 19 11 3 0
1,550 – 1,600 114 108 102 101 95 89 83 76 69 63 56 48 40 32 24 15 7 0
1,600 – 1,650 117 112 106 105 99 93 87 80 73 67 60 53 44 36 28 20 12 3
1,650 – 1,700 121 115 109 109 103 97 91 84 78 71 64 57 49 41 33 24 16 8
1,700 – 1,750 125 119 113 112 106 101 95 88 82 75 68 62 53 45 37 29 21 12
1,750 – 1,800 128 123 117 116 110 104 98 92 86 79 72 66 58 50 42 33 25 17
1,800 – 1,850 131 127 121 120 114 108 102 96 90 83 76 70 62 54 46 38 30 21
1,850 – 1,900 135 130 125 124 118 112 106 100 94 87 80 74 67 59 51 42 34 26
1,900 – 1,950 139 134 129 128 122 116 110 104 98 91 84 78 71 63 55 47 39 30
1,950 – 2,000 143 137 132 132 126 120 114 108 102 95 88 82 75 68 60 51 43 35
2,000 – 2,050 148 141 136 135 129 123 118 112 106 99 93 86 79 72 64 56 48 39
2,050 – 2,100 152 144 140 139 133 127 121 115 110 103 97 90 83 76 69 60 52 44
2,100 – 2,150 155 146 141 141 135 129 123 117 111 105 99 92 85 79 71 63 54 46

For wages of $2,150 and more, see Oregon Withholding Tax Formulas.
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Every two-week payroll period (Oregon)

Amount of tax to be withheld

Note: If more than 14 withholding allowances are claimed, use the every two-week formula.

0 – 50 8 0 0 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
50 – 100 8 0 0 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

100 – 150 9 2 0 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
150 – 200 12 5 0 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
200 – 250 14 7 0 10 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
250 – 300 17 11 3 13 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
300 – 350 20 14 7 15 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
350 – 400 23 17 10 18 10 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
400 – 450 27 20 14 20 13 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
450 – 500 30 24 18 23 16 9 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
500 – 550 34 28 22 26 20 12 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
550 – 600 38 32 26 29 23 16 8 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
600 – 650 42 36 30 32 26 19 12 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
650 – 700 45 40 34 35 29 23 15 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
700 – 750 49 44 38 39 32 26 19 11 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
750 – 800 53 48 42 42 35 29 22 15 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
800 – 850 57 51 46 45 38 32 26 18 11 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
850 – 900 61 55 50 48 42 36 30 23 15 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
900 – 950 64 59 54 52 46 40 34 27 20 12 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
950 – 1,000 68 63 57 56 50 44 38 31 24 17 9 1 0 0 0 0 0 0

1,000 – 1,050 72 67 61 60 54 48 42 36 29 21 13 6 0 0 0 0 0 0
1,050 – 1,100 76 70 65 64 58 52 46 40 33 26 18 10 3 0 0 0 0 0
1,100 – 1,150 80 74 69 68 62 56 50 44 37 30 22 15 7 0 0 0 0 0
1,150 – 1,200 84 78 73 72 66 60 54 48 42 35 27 19 12 4 0 0 0 0
1,200 – 1,250 87 82 76 76 70 64 58 52 46 39 31 24 16 9 1 0 0 0
1,250 – 1,300 91 86 80 79 74 68 62 56 50 43 36 28 21 13 6 0 0 0
1,300 – 1,350 95 90 84 83 78 72 66 60 54 47 40 33 25 18 10 3 0 0
1,350 – 1,400 99 93 88 87 82 76 70 64 58 52 45 37 30 22 15 7 0 0
1,400 – 1,450 103 97 92 91 85 80 74 68 62 56 49 42 34 27 19 12 4 0
1,450 – 1,500 107 101 96 95 89 84 78 72 66 60 53 46 39 31 24 16 8 1
1,500 – 1,550 110 105 99 99 93 88 82 76 70 64 58 51 43 36 28 21 13 5
1,550 – 1,600 114 109 103 102 97 91 86 80 74 68 62 55 48 40 33 25 17 10
1,600 – 1,650 117 113 107 106 101 95 90 84 78 72 66 59 52 45 37 30 22 14
1,650 – 1,700 121 116 111 110 105 99 94 88 82 76 70 63 57 49 42 34 26 19
1,700 – 1,750 124 120 115 114 108 103 97 92 86 80 74 68 61 54 46 39 31 23
1,750 – 1,800 128 123 119 118 112 107 101 96 90 84 78 72 65 58 51 43 35 28
1,800 – 1,850 132 127 122 122 116 111 105 100 94 88 82 76 69 63 55 48 40 32
1,850 – 1,900 137 130 126 125 120 114 109 103 98 92 86 80 74 67 60 52 44 37
1,900 – 1,950 141 134 129 129 124 118 113 107 102 96 90 84 78 71 64 57 49 41
1,950 – 2,000 146 138 133 133 128 122 117 111 106 100 94 88 82 75 69 61 53 46
2,000 – 2,050 150 143 136 137 131 126 120 115 109 104 98 92 86 79 73 66 58 50
2,050 – 2,100 155 147 140 141 135 130 124 119 113 108 102 96 90 84 77 70 62 55
2,100 – 2,150 157 150 142 143 137 132 126 121 115 110 104 98 92 86 79 72 65 57

For wages of $2,150 and more, see Oregon Withholding Tax Formulas.

Wage Number of withholding allowances
 

At 
least

But 
less 
than

Two or less Three or more
Single Married Single or married

0 1 2 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14
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Weekly payroll period (Oregon)
Amount of tax to be withheld

Note: If more than 14 withholding allowances are claimed, use the weekly formula.

0 – 20 4 0 0 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
20 – 40 4 0 0 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
40 – 60 4 0 0 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
60 – 80 5 1 0 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
80 – 100 6 2 0 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

100 – 120 7 3 0 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
120 – 140 8 5 1 6 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
140 – 160 9 6 2 7 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
160 – 180 11 7 4 8 4 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
180 – 200 12 9 5 9 5 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
200 – 220 13 10 7 10 6 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
220 – 240 14 11 8 11 8 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
240 – 260 16 13 10 12 9 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
260 – 280 18 15 12 13 10 7 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
280 – 300 19 16 13 15 12 8 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
300 – 320 21 18 15 16 13 9 6 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
320 – 340 22 19 16 17 14 11 7 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
340 – 360 24 21 18 19 15 12 8 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
360 – 380 25 22 20 20 17 13 10 6 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
380 – 400 27 24 21 21 18 15 11 7 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
400 – 420 28 25 23 22 19 16 13 9 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
420 – 440 30 27 24 24 20 17 14 11 7 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
440 – 460 31 29 26 25 22 19 16 12 9 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
460 – 480 33 30 27 27 24 20 17 14 10 7 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
480 – 500 34 32 29 28 25 22 19 16 12 8 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
500 – 520 36 33 30 30 27 24 21 18 14 10 6 3 0 0 0 0 0 0
520 – 540 37 35 32 32 28 25 22 19 16 12 8 4 1 0 0 0 0 0
540 – 560 39 36 33 33 30 27 24 21 18 14 10 6 3 0 0 0 0 0
560 – 580 40 38 35 35 32 29 26 22 19 16 12 8 4 1 0 0 0 0
580 – 600 42 39 37 36 33 30 27 24 21 17 14 10 6 2 0 0 0 0
600 – 620 44 41 38 38 35 32 29 26 23 19 15 12 8 4 0 0 0 0
620 – 640 45 42 40 39 36 33 30 27 24 21 17 13 10 6 2 0 0 0
640 – 660 47 44 41 41 38 35 32 29 26 23 19 15 12 8 4 0 0 0
660 – 680 48 45 43 42 39 37 34 31 27 24 21 17 13 10 6 2 0 0
680 – 700 50 47 44 44 41 38 35 32 29 26 23 19 15 11 8 4 0 0
700 – 720 51 48 46 45 43 40 37 34 31 28 24 21 17 13 9 6 2 0
720 – 740 53 50 47 47 44 41 38 35 32 29 26 22 19 15 11 7 4 0
740 – 760 54 51 49 48 46 43 40 37 34 31 28 24 21 17 13 9 5 2
760 – 780 56 53 50 50 47 44 42 39 36 32 29 26 22 19 15 11 7 3
780 – 800 57 55 52 51 49 46 43 40 37 34 31 28 24 20 17 13 9 5
800 – 820 58 56 53 53 50 47 45 42 39 36 33 30 26 22 18 15 11 7
820 – 840 60 58 55 54 52 49 46 43 40 37 34 31 28 24 20 16 13 9
840 – 860 61 59 56 56 53 51 48 45 42 39 36 33 30 26 22 18 14 11
860 – 880 63 61 58 58 55 52 49 47 44 41 37 34 31 28 24 20 16 12
880 – 900 64 62 59 59 56 54 51 48 45 42 39 36 33 29 26 22 18 14
900 – 920 66 63 61 61 58 55 52 50 47 44 41 38 35 31 27 24 20 16
920 – 940 68 65 63 62 59 57 54 51 48 45 42 39 36 33 29 25 22 18
940 – 960 70 66 64 64 61 58 55 53 50 47 44 41 38 35 31 27 23 20
960 – 980 71 68 65 65 62 60 57 54 51 49 46 42 39 36 33 29 25 21
980 – 990 72 69 66 66 63 60 58 55 52 49 46 43 40 37 34 30 26 22

For wages of $990 and more, see Oregon Withholding Tax Formulas.

Wage Number of withholding allowances
 

At 
least

But 
less 
than

Two or less Three or more
Single Married Single or married

0 1 2 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14
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Daily or miscellaneous payroll period (Oregon)

Amount of tax to be withheld

Note: If more than 14 withholding allowances are claimed, use the daily formula.

0 – 5 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
5 – 10 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

10 – 15 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
15 – 20 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
20 – 25 1 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
25 – 30 2 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
30 – 35 2 1 1 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
35 – 40 2 2 1 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
40 – 45 3 2 1 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
45 – 50 3 2 2 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
50 – 55 3 3 2 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
55 – 60 4 3 3 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
60 – 65 4 4 3 3 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
65 – 70 5 4 3 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
70 – 75 5 4 4 4 3 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
75 – 80 5 5 4 4 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
80 – 85 6 5 5 4 4 3 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
85 – 90 6 6 5 5 4 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
90 – 95 6 6 5 5 5 4 3 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
95 – 100 7 6 6 6 5 4 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

100 – 105 7 7 6 6 5 5 4 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
105 – 110 8 7 6 6 6 5 5 4 3 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
110 – 115 8 7 7 7 6 6 5 4 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
115 – 120 8 8 7 7 7 6 5 5 4 3 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
120 – 125 9 8 8 8 7 6 6 5 5 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0
125 – 130 9 9 8 8 7 7 6 6 5 4 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0
130 – 135 10 9 8 8 8 7 7 6 5 5 4 3 3 2 1 0 0 0
135 – 140 10 9 9 9 8 8 7 6 6 5 4 4 3 2 1 1 0 0
140 – 145 10 10 9 9 9 8 7 7 6 6 5 4 3 3 2 1 0 0
145 – 150 11 10 10 9 9 8 8 7 7 6 5 5 4 3 2 2 1 0
150 – 155 11 10 10 10 9 9 8 8 7 6 6 5 4 4 3 2 1 1
155 – 160 11 11 10 10 10 9 9 8 7 7 6 6 5 4 3 3 2 1
160 – 165 12 11 11 11 10 10 9 8 8 7 7 6 5 4 4 3 2 1
165 – 170 12 12 11 11 10 10 9 9 8 8 7 6 6 5 4 3 3 2
170 – 175 12 12 11 11 11 10 10 9 9 8 7 7 6 5 5 4 3 2
175 – 180 13 12 12 12 11 11 10 10 9 8 8 7 7 6 5 4 4 3
180 – 185 13 13 12 12 12 11 11 10 9 9 8 8 7 6 6 5 4 3
185 – 190 14 13 13 13 12 11 11 10 10 9 9 8 7 7 6 5 4 4
190 – 195 14 13 13 13 12 12 11 11 10 10 9 8 8 7 6 6 5 4
195 – 200 15 14 13 13 13 12 12 11 11 10 9 9 8 8 7 6 5 5
200 – 205 15 14 14 14 13 13 12 11 11 10 10 9 9 8 7 7 6 5
205 – 210 15 15 14 14 14 13 12 12 11 11 10 10 9 8 8 7 6 5

For wages of $210 and more, see Oregon Withholding Tax Formulas.

Wage Number of withholding allowances
 

At 
least

But 
less 
than

Two or less Three or more
Single Married Single or married

0 1 2 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14
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Frequently asked questions  
about the withholding computer formula
	 1.	What is the difference between twice a month 

and every two weeks?
		 The twice-a-month formula is based upon 24 pay 

periods a year. The every two weeks or biweekly 
formula is based upon 26 pay periods a year.

	 2.	What is included in “wages”?
		 All taxable amounts are included in wages (hourly 

wage, salary, bonuses, tips, etc.).

	 3.	What isn’t included in “wages”?
		 Non-taxable amounts such as pre-tax deductions 

for insurance, cafeteria or flex spending plans 
(section 125 plans), retirement plans (section 401k, 
etc.), health savings accounts, etc.

	 4.	Do my employees need to adjust their W-4?
		 Maybe. If your employee feels like the tables don’t 

accurately reflect their tax situation, they can 
change their withholding rate by updating the 
federal W-4 and writing “For Oregon Only” at the 
top. Your employee may visit www.oregon.gov/
dor/business to find more information on Oregon 
Income Tax Withholding, 150-206-643.

	 5. 	Can employees use different W-4 withholding 
information (allowances, etc.) for Oregon 
withholding than they do for federal 
withholding?

		 Yes, employees can fill out a different W-4 with 
different information for Oregon. They should 
indicate the change and write “For Oregon Only” 
at the top of the W-4.


