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2018 – What’s New for Oregon

Special medical subtraction – Increased to age 65

Pass-Through Entity Reduced Tax Rate – Extended to Sole 

Proprietorships

New Credit – Bovine Manure Credit

New Tax Credit Auction – Oregon Opportunity Grant 

Fund 

Rural Medical Provider Credit – Limited to $300,000 AGI
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2018 – What’s New for Oregon

Working Family Household and Dependent Care Credit

Attend school and not married, now qualify

Must have income that is taxed by Oregon

Can’t pay with pre-tax dollars

No interest paid on the refund

 Expired Credits (Residential Energy, Biomass, Energy Conservation, 
and Renewable Energy (Auction))

 New tax – Statewide Transit Tax

Market-Based Sourcing 

Updated figures:  Federal tax subtraction - $6,650 ($3,325 for MFS); 
Exemption Credit $201, and Oregon 529 $4,750 MFJ ($2,375 all other 
filing status)
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Is Oregon Tied to Federal Law 

Changes?

Oregon is connected to federal tax law (for the most part)!

This includes all provisions of the federal “Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017,” 
Public Law 115-97, unless the Oregon legislature specifically disconnects from 
them.

Disconnected: 

Qualified Business Income Deduction (IRC 199A)

Oregon 529 savings plan funds used for K-12 tuition

Corporations - Repatriation
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Statewide Transit Tax

1/10 of one percent (.001)

Withholding tax on employee wages

 Employer must withhold from employee wages at 

the time of payment (similar to income tax 

withholding)
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Statewide Transit Tax7



Statewide Transit Tax8



Federal Form W-4
 2018/2019

 Federal tax reform  

 Reduced tax rates

 Repeal of personal exemptions

 Increased standard deduction

 Affect on Withholding 

 Most individuals will pay less federal tax

 Withholding tables adjusted early in the year

 Federal Form W4 

 Revised to consider new tax rates, deductions, credits

 Created more ‘allowances’
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New – Oregon Form OR-W-4

 2018

Potential for being under-withheld for Oregon 

If changed allowances for Federal, but didn’t do 
separate Oregon form

Eliminated deductions 

Higher standard deductions replace itemized 
deductions

May not realize until complete tax return in 2019

 2019

New Oregon Form OR-W-4

Online withholding calculator
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New – Oregon Form OR-W-4
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New Oregon Withholding Calculator12



Form Changes –

Personal Income Tax

 Two new checkboxes added to front page of Form 40 suites

Federal Form 8886 (Reportable Transaction Disclosure 
Statement)

Federal disaster relief

 Form 40N and 40P line reference changes

 New – Oregon Schedule A (still follows federal law)
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Form Changes

DOR is Going Green

TY 2018 - the department will no longer be printing Publication OR-17!
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Revenue Administrative Rules

 Interest rate increase from 5% to 6% for balances or refunds on 

or after 1/1/19 (150-305-0140, 150-305-0142)

 Statewide Transit Tax – employer required report Box 14 W-2 

(150-316-0359)

 New - Heavy Equipment Rental Tax 

 Last Known Address (150-305-0210)

 Moving Expenses for Part-Year and Nonresidents (150-316-

0181)

 Net Operating Loss (150-316-0035, 150-314-0250, 150-316-0005)

16



Market-Based Sourcing

Impact of market-based sourcing of business income:

 Affects Oregon nonresidents with trade or business conducted 

partially or wholly within Oregon

 Transactions other than sales of tangible personal property (TPP) will be 

sourced to taxpayer’s market

 Market is in Oregon if:

 Services 

 Intangibles – to the extent used in Oregon

 Real property – sale, rental, lease, or license – to extent  located 

within Oregon

 TPP – rental, lease, or license – to extent the TPP is located in 

Oregon
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See ORS 314.665(4) and 314.665(6).  Also OAR 150-314-0435



2019 Tax Law Changes

 First-Time Homebuyer Subtraction

 Subtract up to $5,000 ($10,000 MFJ) in contributions each year, with a phase-

down based on AGI

 Subtraction allowed each year for up to 10 years, up to $50,000 total principal 

and interest

 Funds in the account must be used to buy a home within 10 years of opening the 

account

 Department is developing FAQs for this subtraction, to be published soon.

 Residency Determination – tax years on or after 1/1/19

 Don’t consider charitable giving when making residency determination

 Conflicting Claims 
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Upcoming Legislation

Session starts early this year!  Begins January 22nd!  

 DOR Legislative Concept LC 570 – Centralized Partnership Audit Regime (CPAR).

 Earned Income Tax Credit

 New Tax Credit Auction for Housing

 Tax Credit Uniformity

 Refunds to Retirement Accounts
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2018 Oregon Corporation Tax

 Oregon adopted market-based sourcing for sales of services and 

intangibles effective 1/1/2018.

 Oregon adopted changes to how the Oregon sales factor is calculated 

effective 1/1/2018.

 Oregon connected to most of the 2017 federal tax reform.

 Repatriation (IRC 965 transition tax)

 Territorial tax, Global Intangible Low Taxed Income (GILTI), and Foreign 

Derived Intangible Income (FDII)
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Revenue Online
Landing screen for tax professionals:
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Payment links

Client information (displays up to six)

https://www.oregon.gov/DOR/programs/taxpro/Documents/tax-pro-access-rol.pdf

https://www.oregon.gov/DOR/programs/taxpro/Documents/tax-pro-access-rol.pdf


Refund Applications

 150-316-0480 – Estimated Tax: Application of a prior year overpayment 

(refund)

 All or a portion of the refund

 Applied to a tax year where the taxpayer can still make estimated tax payments

 Election is irrevocable

Example:  Ray filed his 2016 return on May 12, 2018.  Ray claimed a $2,500 refund on 

his 2016 return and elected to apply $2,000 of the refund as an estimated tax 

payment.  Ray’s estimated tax account for 2017 closed on April 17, 2018, the due 

date of his 2017 tax return.  Ray’s estimated tax payment of $2,000 must be applied 

to his 2018 estimated tax account.
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Practitioner connection
Liaison Meetings

 LTP/LTC/OSCPA – 4th Friday of May, July, and October and the 1st 
Friday in December at the Revenue building in Salem

Oregon State Bar (OSB)/OSCPA – meets three times yearly 
(contact the Tax Section for more information)

Practitioner help  prac.revenue@oregon.gov and (503) 947-3541

ReveNews – A listserv for tax professionals to receive valuable 
information from DOR. 
http://listsmart.osl.state.or.us/mailman/listinfo/revenews

Payrolltax-News – A listserv for employers to receive payroll tax 
information from DOR. 
listsmart.osl.state.or.us/mailman/listinfo/payrolltax-news
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Tax program help emails

Amusement device tax
SPA.help@oregon.gov

Bicycle excise tax SPA.help@oregon.gov

Corporation excise and income tax 
corp.help.dor@oregon.gov

Corporation minimum tax 
minimumtax.help@oregon.gov

Estate tax estate.help.dor@oregon.gov

Hazardous substance fee 
SPA.help@oregon.gov

Inheritance and fiduciary tax 
estate.help.dor@oregon.gov

Lodging tax SPA.help@oregon.gov

Marijuana tax 
marijuanatax.dor@oregon.gov

Nexus and voluntary disclosure 
nexus.help.dor@oregon.gov
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Payroll withholding and transit tax
payroll.help.dor@oregon.gov

Petroleum load fee 
SPA.help@oregon.gov

Property Tax
ptdweb.feedback@oregon.gov

Senior/Disabled deferral
deferral.unit@oregon.gov

Timber tax
timber.tax.help@oregon.gov

Transit self-employment tax 
TSE.help.dor@oregon.gov

Trust tax estate.help.dor@oregon.gov

Vehicle taxes SPA.help@oregon.gov 

W-2 electronic filing (iWire)

iWire.dor@oregon.gov

mailto:SPA.help@oregon.gov
mailto:SPA.help@oregon.gov
mailto:corp.help.dor@oregon.gov
mailto:minimumtax.help@oregon.gov
mailto:estate.help.dor@oregon.gov
mailto:SPA.help@oregon.gov
mailto:estate.help.dor@oregon.gov
mailto:SPA.help@oregon.gov
mailto:marijuanatax.dor@oregon.gov
mailto:nexus.help.dor@oregon.gov
mailto:payroll.help.dor@oregon.gov
mailto:SPA.help@oregon.gov
mailto:ptdweb.feedback@oregon.gov
mailto:deferral.unit@oregon.gov
mailto:timber.tax.help@oregon.gov
mailto:TSE.help.dor@oregon.gov
mailto:estate.help.dor@oregon.gov
mailto:SPA.help@oregon.gov
mailto:iWire.dor@oregon.gov
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Marijuana Taxes: The Revenue View

Kelvin Adkins-Heljeson

Operations and Policy Analyst



Goals

• Provide a bit of historical context around recreational 

marijuana in the state of Oregon.

• Legislative updates (briefly).

• Discuss registration and local tax administration.

• Discuss returns, payments, deadlines.

• Discuss distributions (briefly).



Context

Oregon and marijuana

• Well-developed marijuana 

industry.

• Long-established medical 

marijuana industry… but 

recreational is a bit 

different.

• “Green belt”: lots of 

existing production.



Measure 91 (2014)

Oregon Liquor Control 

Commission (OLCC) as lead 

regulator.

• Licensure.

• Regulation/enforcement.

• Taxation.

• Revenue distributions.

Production taxes

• $35/oz on flowers.

• $10/oz on leaves.

• $5 per immature plant.



2015 Legislative Session

• Repealed production taxes.

• Replaced with a “direct tax on the consumer” at the “point-of-

sale.”

• Established “Early Start” program (starting January 4, 2016).

• Transferred tax administration from OLCC to 

Department of Revenue.

• Local option tax – ORS 475B.345



Marijuana Taxation

Early Start Retail Tax

Start Date January 4, 2016 October 1, 2016

Tax Rate 25 percent 17 percent

Amount Businesses 

can Retain for 

Administration

2 percent 2 percent

Eligible Products Seeds, dried leaves, 

flowers, non-

flowering plants, 

edibles, receptacles 

of concentrates, 

certain topical

Leaves, flowers, immature 

plants, cannabinoid edibles,

cannabinoid concentrates, 

cannabinoid extracts,

cannabinoid products for

skin/hair, other cannabinoid 

products



Marijuana Taxation (continued)

Early Start Retail Tax

Filing Frequency Quarterly Quarterly

Payment Frequency Monthly Monthly

Filing Method Paper only Revenue Online [GenTax system]

only, with some exceptions

Who can participate? Participating

medical marijuana 

dispensaries

Retailers licensed by OLCC

Lead regulator Oregon Health 

Authority

Oregon Liquor Control 

Commission

End Date December 31, 2016 Unknown



2016 Legislative Session

• “Co-location”: licensed retailers can now sell 

medical marijuana tax free to OMMP cardholders

• DOR can administer IGAs with localities under ORS 

305.620.



2017 Legislative Session

• DOR is allowed to enter into an agreement with 

Oregon tribes to allow for a rebate of marijuana tax 

for tribal produced or processed marijuana.

• Distribution statute re-codified to present method.



2018 Legislative Session

• SB 1555: Amends 20% Mental Health Services 

distribution prior to July 1, 2019—likely to see 

additional legislative activity in 2019 session. 

• SB 1544: Local governments allowed to disclose 

payment distribution amounts received under IGA 

agreement with DOR. ORS 305.620(1)(b).



2018 Legislative Session Cont…

• SB 1544: Creation of Illegal Marijuana Market 

Enforcement Grant Program, modifications to Pre-

distribution payments.

• Illegal Marijuana Market Enforcement Grant Program: 

Administered by Oregon Criminal Justice Commission. 



Realities of Marijuana Taxation

• Cash-intensive: we see a 

cash fraction of 50-60 

percent. 

• All cash payments must be 

made in Salem.

• Businesses often unfamiliar 

with basics of 

taxation/compliance.

• Oregon’s non-marijuana tax 

laws are geared toward 

personal income taxes.



Starting a Marijuana Retail 

Business

 Oregon Liquor Control 

Commission approves retail 

licenses for new Marijuana 

Businesses.

 As of June 2018, there 

were so many applicants 

that there was a nine 

month backlog.

 OLCC publishes a list of 

cities and counties that opt 

out of licenses as well as a 

list of all approved 

recreational marijuana 

licenses.



Registering with the DOR

 Form OR-MTR

 OLCC licensed marijuana 

retailers must complete a 

form OR-MTR for each 

approved location.

 Requires business 

information as well as 

owner/officer information.



Forget an Owner? Make a Change?



Other tax programs

 Marijuana businesses will 

be subject to other Oregon 

taxes.

 Payroll, Income, Statewide 

Transit, TriMet/Lane, 

Corp,etc.

 Income Tax? 

 Recent US Tax Court Case 

151 T.C. No. 11 limits use 

of business deductions to 

costs of goods sold. In that 

opinion the taxpayer was 

considered only a reseller 

and was required to adjust 

for COGS according to 

1.471-3(b), Income Tax 

Regs.



Local Marijuana Taxes



Local Marijuana Taxes

 Existing local ordinances 

preempted by measure 91.

 Now process controlled by 

ORS 475B.454 through ORS 

475B.496.

 Local Taxes authorized by 

ORS 475B.491.

 Up to 3%.

 Medical Sales exempt.



Local Administration: The Basics

• Oregon law allows 

municipalities to enter 

into agreements with DOR 

to administer local taxes.

• Economies of scale, 

complexities of cash 

handling.

• To date, 73 municipalities 

(4 counties), are working 

with DOR. List available 

on our website.



Marijuana Tax 

Return/Administration



Administration: Payments

• Payments are required in 

the form of monthly 

deposits.

• Retailers are allowed to 

retain 2% of state tax 

collected as an 

administrative fee.

• Localities generally do not 

provide an administrative 

fee discount (some do).

• DOR accepts cash, check, 

money order.



Administration: The Return

• Fully-integrated online return 

for state and local taxes.

• Business breaks down sales by 

category, month, and 

total/medical.



Administration: The Return

• The system calculates the total state and local tax.

• Online return is mandatory. All businesses are already 

connected to internet in stores to remain compliant 

with Cannabis Tracking System (CTS) requirements.



Marijuana Tax: Enforcement

• Monthly payments required.

• State and local enforcement will overlap and will be 

treated the same way.

• 15 days after return deadline: demand to file notice.

• 45 days after that: DOR will assess return.

• Collections will mirror other programs: phone calls, letters, 

garnishments, advanced collections etc.

• Additionally, OLCC may issue penalties up to and including 

revocation of a retail license.



Penalties and Interest

• Late payment penalty: 5 percent on the unpaid balance

• Interest: 5 percent annually, computed daily. Interest rate 

will increase to 6 percent beginning 1/1/2019.

• Late return: 20 percent penalty on unpaid balance.

• Only the locality can authorize penalty and interest, 

via ordinance for the local tax. State has no intrinsic 

authority over this.



Local administration: Audits

• Cannabis market is uniquely 
regulated. 

• Government-sponsored and 
run inventory tracking 
system (CTS).

• DOR has access to tracking 
data, utilizes it for audits 
and failure to file 
assessments.

• All businesses must 
participate in system.

• OLCC is lead regulator.



Revenue: Use and 

Forecasting



 ORS 475B.760(2) 

 “Refunds or credits arising 

from erroneous 

overpayments” can only be 

determined by the filing of 

a return

 DOR cannot make any 

distributions until a true or 

estimated return is filed

 Money sits as “unallocated” 

until a return is filed

The Importance of “Allocation”



Pre-Distribution Recipients

 Not all “allocated” money goes to the distribution.

 DOR pays its marijuana-related expenses out of marijuana 

revenues prior to the money being deposited in the Oregon 

Marijuana Account.

 Tribal entities can receive money out of pre-allocated 

marijuana revenues to compensate them for product 

transferred into the state’s recreational market (HB 2097).



Pre-Distribution Recipients Cont…

 OLCC received $1.8m one time--and up to $1.25m prior to 

distributions each quarter through Q2 2018--to pay for seed-

to-sale tracking for medical marijuana businesses (SB 1057).

 Beginning with the Q3 2018 distribution through Q4 2023, OLCC 

will receive $875K per quarter.

 The Oregon Criminal Justice Commission will receive 

$375K per quarter for administration of the Illegal 

Marijuana Market Grant Fund.

 These distributions will continue through Q3 2023.

 Beginning Q1 2024 the distribution will revert to the 

Marijuana Control and Regulation Fund for OLCC.



The Distributions Themselves.

 Distributions are made 
quarterly, based on money 
allocated during the 
previous three months or 
“revenue periods”

 March, April, May

 June, July, August

 September, October, 
November

 December, January, 
February

 Revenue periods to align 
better with return-filing.

 Distributions to counties 
can include:

 Just State Shared Revenue: 
localities that do not have a 
local tax.

 Just Local Tax Revenue: 
localities with a local tax 
that have opted out of 
certain license types.

 A combination of both State 
Shared Revenue and Local 
Tax Revenue



Distribution Division
Under current law:

• Common School Fund
40 percent

• Oregon Health Authority* 
for Mental Health, 
Alcoholism, and Drug 
Services 20 percent

• Oregon State Police 
15 percent

• Cities
10 percent

• Counties
10 percent

• Public Health Account
5 percent

Schools OHA OSP

Cities Counties Public Health



Marijuana Tax Receipts…fairly stable



Marijuana Tax Distributions



Marijuana Tax Distributions



Questions?

Kelvin Adkins-Heljeson

kelvin.adkins-heljeson@oregon.gov

marijuanatax.dor@oregon.gov

(503) 947-2597

mailto:kelvin.adkins-heljeson@oregon.gov
mailto:marijuanatax.DOR@Oregon.gov


OREGON DEPARTMENT OF 
REVENUE

PERSONAL INCOME TAX AND COMPLIANCE 



LETTER SERIES

Once a return has been processed that shows a balance owing, DOR issues an automated series 

of Collection letters. These letters are required by law and are sent every 30 days, even if there’s 

an active Payment Plan. 

• Notice Of Assessment: Informs the tax payer we have processed their return. Shows the 

balance for that year and instructs them how to resolve the debt.

• Demand For Payment: Informs the tax payer to pay in full or set up a payment plan within 30 

days from the date of the notice. 

• Collections Warrant:  Allows DOR the legal authority to collect on a debt if no payment plan 

has been set up.  After the Warrant has been sent, a Garnishment can be issued  

• Treasury Offset Notice: A Certified Letter that informs the tax payer that Federal refunds can 

offset to pay their state taxes (and vise versa) 

• Distraint Warrant: Recorded with the County the tax payer resides in. These can potentially 

be issued on any account if there’s no ACH payment plan  or a defaulted agreement 



PAYMENT PLANS

• Standard: Between 2-12 months - ACH not required

• Extended: Between 12-18 months – ACH required

• If unable to pay in full within 18 months, tax payer can fill out a Financial Statement showing a hardship. 

• Payment Plans can be set up over the phone, in our office or on Revenue Online. Payments Plans set up 

through ROL must include ACH information

• Every tax payer is advised of our Collection Process when setting up a Payment Plan

• ACH agreement will prevent a Docketed Warrant from being issued 

• One skipped payment is allowed on a Payment Plan, however the tax payer is required to make a double 

payment the following month 

• Tax Payers / POAs are always encouraged to call if they’re unable to make their monthly payment to 

discuss other options 

• Defaulted Payment Plans caused by missed, late, short payments, stacking of debt or nonsufficient funds 

can result in a Garnishment and Docketed Warrant. 

• Failure to submit the ACH Form or Financial Statement by the due date can also result in a Garnishment



GARNISHMENTS

We always attempt to garnish Wages before a Bank account. If a wage source cannot be 

located then a Bank Garnishment is our next step 

A Garnishment can be ordered for the following reasons:

• Defaulted Payment Plan

• Stacking Of Debt 

• No active payment plan or current payments AND Collection Warrant has been issued

• Did not receive their Financial Statement or ACH Information  

• No response from a tax payer by a specific due date 

Wage Garnishments are 25% of disposable income. If this creates a hardship, we offer a 

Financial Statement to apply for a Garnishment modification

DOR can garnish however many wage sources we can find and up to two banks at a time.  

Both Prime and Spouse can be garnished at the same time. 



GARNISHMENTS

• Wage Garnishments stay in place until the balance is paid in full. A payment plan can still 

be set up but will not stop the Garnishment. 

• Once the balance is paid in full, a Garnishment Release letter is automatically issued to 

the Employer and Tax Payer

• Tax payer can submit a Garnishment Challenge within the allowed time frame. Paperwork 

is located within the Garnishment they receive or can be submitted through Revenue 

Online

• Garnishment over payments go through our Refund Review process worked by our 

Account Resolution Unit. It’s very important for an employer’s Payroll department to stay 

in contact with us to prevent over payments from occurring 

• If a Garnishment was issued in error, we will notify both the tax payer and employer and 

fax a release immediately. If a payment was sent we will expedite the refund process 

• Employers can use Revenue Online to respond and submit Garnishment Payments 



COLLECTION SOURCES

Senate Bill 254 provided us new resources to improve our collection efficiency 

• Federal Information Data Match (FIDM) - This requires Financial Institutions to 

confirm if a debtor banks with their institution by sending us a quarterly report

• New Hire Report – Requires employers to report within 20 days all new hires and 

rehires to the Department Of Justice Division Of Child Support and allows DOR 

access to that information. We are updated on a monthly bases

• Vendor Garnishments – Executive Order 17-09 requires State Agencies employing 

Vendors owing state taxes to notify us when the Vendor has wages to Garnish  

• Employment Department

• State Lands / Unclaimed Property 

• Field Agents – Use other tools and resources 



FAILURE TO FILE

• When tax payers have a filing requirement but do not submit a tax return, they are sent an 

Demand to File notice

• If no response is received within 30 days, DOR will file a return on their behalf 

• Tax payers can file a true return or provide proof of no filing requirement at anytime

• Prior year returns can take up to 6-9 months to process. If tax payer files a true return 

showing no balance due, we will place the account on hold to allow time for processing. 

• Returns for processing must be sent by mail, taken to a field office, or attached to Revenue 

Online.  If there’s a reduced balance or no tax due, we advise to submit a copy of the 

return so we can provide an updated balance or place the account on hold 



COLLECTIONS HOLDS

• Temporary Hold: If tax payer notifies us of a hardship due to unemployment or an 

emergency situation, we can place the account on hold for up to 90 days.

• Holds beyond 90 days must be approved by a Leadworker

• Suspended Collection Status: For long term hardships, tax payers can apply for 

Suspended Collection Status by sending us a Financial Statement. If approved, a hold 

can be placed on Collections for up to 1 year

• Settlement Offers: We do offer Settlement Offers, similar to IRS Offer and 

Compromise. All our Settlement Offer information can be found on Oregon.gov/dor



REVENUE ONLINE

We encourage all tax payers, employers and POAs to sign up for Revenue Online

• Secure and convenient way of communication

• Can view balances, make payments, set up payment plans or update ACH information

• Can view copies of letters they’ve received

• Can submit documents, Garnishment Challenges, Financial Statements, Penalty Waiver 

Requests, and Web Messages to ask general questions 

• Employers can respond / submit Garnishment payments 

• POAs can sign up for third party access



CONTACT INFORMATION

COLLECTIONS ACD – 503-945-8200

FAX – 503-945-8735 

WWW.OREGON.GOV/DOR

Mail: P.O. BOX 14725 Salem, OR 97309

http://www.oregon.gov/DOR
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Information Security Policy Requirements 

 

 

Publication 4557 
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FTC.gov 

 

“Cybersecurity for Small Business” 

 



Tax Cuts and Jobs Act 

 

Publication 5307 

 



“IRS Video Portal” 

 

IRS Video Portal Landing Page 

 

 

Tax Reform Basics for Employers 

Tax Reform Basics for Individuals and Families 

 

Coming soon: 

Tax Reform Basics for Small Business and Pass-Through Entities 
(Nov 1) 

Tax Reform Basics about Opportunity Zones (Nov 29) 

Tax Reform Basics for the Qualified Business Income Deduction 

(Section 199A) (Dec 6) 

Tax Reform Due Diligence Requirements (Dec 13) 


