Fire Policy Committee Agenda February 28, 2024

The Fire Policy Committee (FPC) of the Board on Public Safety Standards and Training (Board) will hold a **regular meeting at 9:00 a.m. on Wednesday, February 28, 2024,** in the Governor Victor G. Atiyeh Boardroom at the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST or Department) located at 4190 Aumsville Hwy SE, Salem, Oregon. For more information, please contact Julia Budlong at (503) 509-9668.

**Effective Jan. 1, 2024, DPSST will be live streaming all public meetings via YouTube. Meetings will no longer be streamed on Facebook. To view the FPC live-stream and other recorded videos, please visit DPSST's official YouTube page at https://www.youtube.com/@DPSST.

Policy Committee Members:

Jack Carriger, Oregon Volunteer Firefighters Association
Mariana Ruiz-Temple (Designee Claire McGrew), Vice Chair, Oregon State Fire Marshal
Jim Adams, Oregon State Fire Fighters Council
Ryan Gillespie (Designee Andy Ponce), Portland Fire & Rescue
Chris Heppel, Oregon Fire Chiefs Association
Rose Douglass, Oregon Fire Instructor Association
Tim Holschbach, Forest Protection Agency
Joseph Morneau, Oregon Fire District Director's Association
Isaac McLennan, Non-Management Firefighter
Andre Lindauer, Public Member
TaiLese Swanson, Community College Fire Programs
Gert Zoutendijk, Oregon Fire Marshals Association



Administrative Announcement

This is a public meeting, subject to the public meeting law and it will be recorded. Deliberation of issues will only be conducted by Fire Policy Committee members unless permitted by the Chair. Individuals who engage in disruptive behavior that impedes official business will be asked to stop being disruptive or leave the meeting. Additional measures may be taken to have disruptive individuals removed if their continued presence poses a safety risk to the other persons in the room or makes it impossible to continue the meeting.

Agenda Items:

- 1. Introductions
- 2. *Approval of Minutes of August 23, 2023 Meeting
- 3. <u>Discretionary Case Review Quick Sheet</u> Presented by Brooke Bell-Uribe

^{*} Agenda item requires a vote by the Committee.

4. *William B. Comerford; DPSST No. 34996

Presented by Brooke Bell-Uribe

5. *Curtis A. Deetz; DPSST No. 31371

Presented by Brooke Bell-Uribe

6. Administrative Actions

Presented by Brooke Bell-Uribe

7. *Firefighter Brian Flowers; DPSST No. 26630 – Gresham Fire & EMS, Fallen Fire Fighters Memorial Wall Nomination

Presented by Brooke Bell-Uribe

8. *Firefighter Maurice Stadeli; DPSST No. 07934 – Salem Fire Department, Fallen Fire Fighters Memorial Wall Nomination

Presented by Brooke Bell-Uribe

9. *Chair Nomination

10. Agency Updates

11. Next Fire Policy Committee Meeting- May 22, 2024 at 9:00 a.m.

^{*} Agenda item requires a vote by the Committee.