Police Policy Committee Agenda November 16, 2023

The Police Policy Committee of the Board on Public Safety Standards and Training will hold a regular meeting at **10:00 a.m. November 16, 2023**, in the Governor Victor G. Atiyeh Boardroom at the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST or Department) located at 4190 Aumsville Hwy SE, Salem, Oregon. For further information, please contact Shelby Wright at (503) 378-2191.

The Police Policy Committee meeting will be live streamed on the DPSST Facebook page @ https://www.facebook.com/DPSSTOregon

Policy Committee Members:

Scotty Nowning, Chair, Non-Management Law Enforcement
Chris Skinner, Vice Chair, Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police
DaNeshia Barrett, Non-Management Law Enforcement
Angie Brandenburg, Oregon State Sheriff's Association
Casey Codding, Superintendent, Oregon State Police
Mark Daniel, Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police
Kevin Dresser, Non-Management Law Enforcement
Alex Gardner, OSP Command Staff Representative
Bob Day, Interim Chief, Portland Police Bureau (Designee Deputy Chief Mike Frome)
Kathy McAlpine, Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police
Ashliegh Ramirez, Public Member
Kieran Ramsey, Federal Bureau of Investigation
Rob Wood, Public Member
Terry Rowan, Oregon State Sheriff's Association

90 90 90

Administrative Announcement

This is a public meeting, subject to public meeting law and it will be digitally recorded. Deliberation of issues will only be conducted by the Police Policy Committee members, unless permitted by the Chair. Remember to always state your name for the record. For cases dealing with denial or revocation, only information contained in the staff report can be considered once the staff report is adopted. Assumptions, outside knowledge, or personal experiences should not be included in any discussion. Individuals who engage in disruptive behavior that impedes official business will be asked to stop being disruptive or leave the meeting. Additional measures may be taken to have disruptive individuals removed if their continued presence poses a safety risk to the other persons in the room or makes it impossible to continue the meeting.

1. Introductions

2. *Approve the August 17, 2023, Meeting Minutes

Jill Thissell, Non-Management Law Enforcement

- 3. *Administrative Closures (The following items to be ratified by one vote)
 Presented by Melissa Lang-Bacho
 - a. <u>Amber Daniels; DPSST No. 55598</u>
 Basic Police Certification

^{*} Agenda item requires a vote by the committee.

b. Bradley Schuetz; DPSST No. 54684

Basic Police Certification

c. James Smith; DPSST No. 56565

Basic Police Certification

d. Brandon Welch; DPSST No. 55517

Basic Police Certification

4. *Brock Ameele; DPSST No. 51429; Bend Police Department

Presented by Jennifer Levario

5. *Shawn Carnahan; DPSST No. 39921; Columbia County Sheriff's Office

Presented by Melissa Lang-Bacho

6. *Jesus Ferreya; DPSST No. 61841; Woodburn Police Department

Presented by Melissa Lang-Bacho

7. *Andrew Johnson; DPSST No. 49797; Lincoln City Police Department

Presented by Melissa Lang-Bacho

8. *Brandon Petersen; DPSST No. 51772; Tigard Police Department

Presented by Jennifer Levario

9. *Robin Sells; DPSST No. 55207; Gresham Police Department

Presented by Jennifer Levario

10. *Tyler Smith; DPSST No. 54768; Grant County Sheriff's Office

Presented by Jennifer Levario

11. *Emily Stone; DPSST No. 57726; Medford Police Department

Presented by Jennifer Levario

12. *Applicant Review Committee Member Nominations

Presented by Chris Brodniak

13. Program Manager Update

14. Agency Update

15. Next Police Policy Committee Meeting – February 22, 2024, at 10:00 a.m.

^{*} Agenda item requires a vote by the committee.