Police Policy Committee Agenda November 18, 2021

The Police Policy Committee of the Board on Public Safety Standards and Training will hold a regular meeting at 10:00 a.m. November 18, 2021 in the Governor Victor G. Atiyeh Boardroom at the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training located at 4190 Aumsville Hwy SE, Salem, Oregon. For further information, please contact Shelby Alexander at (503) 378-2191.

The Police Policy Committee meeting will be live streamed on the DPSST Facebook page @ https://www.facebook.com/DPSSTOregon

Policy Committee Members:

John Teague, Chair, Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police Bradley Robertson, Vice Chair, Non-Management Law Enforcement DaNeshia Barrett, Non-Management Law Enforcement Terri Davie, Superintendent, Oregon State Police Alex Gardner, OSP Command Staff Representative Mark Garton, Oregon State Sheriff's Association Zachary Kenney, Non-Management Law Enforcement Charles Lovell, Portland Police Bureau (Designee Deputy Chief Mike Frome) Kieran Ramsey, Federal Bureau of Investigation Kathy McAlpine, Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police Mark Rauch, Public Member Terry Rowan, Oregon State Sheriff's Association Chris Skinner, Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police Jill Thissel, Non-Management Law Enforcement Craig Zanni, Oregon State Sheriff's Association Vacant, Non-Management Law Enforcement Vacant, Public Member

90 90 90

Administrative Announcement

This is a public meeting, subject to public meeting law and it will be digitally recorded. Deliberation of issues will only be conducted by the Police Policy Committee members, unless permitted by the Chair. Remember to always state your name for the record. For cases dealing with denial or revocation, only information contained in the staff report can be considered once the staff report is adopted. Assumptions, outside knowledge, or personal experiences should not be included in any discussion. Individuals who engage in disruptive behavior that impedes official business will be asked to stop being disruptive or leave the meeting. Additional measures may be taken to have disruptive individuals removed if their continued presence poses a safety risk to the other persons in the room or makes it impossible to continue the meeting.

1. Introductions

2. *Approve the August 19, 2021 Meeting Minutes

^{*} Agenda item requires a vote by the committee.

3. *Approval for Changes to the Basic Police Curriculum

Presented by Staci Yutzi

4. *Proposed Rule Changes for OAR 259-008-0085 – Legislative Changes Affecting the Basic Police Course

Presented by Jennifer Howald

5. *Administrative Closures

a. Anthony Barnett; DPSST No. 37913; Umatilla Tribal Police Department

Basic, Intermediate and Advanced Police Certifications

b. Robert Edwards; DPSST No. 27266; Oregon State Police

Basic, Intermediate, Advanced, Management and Supervisory Police Certifications

c. Perry Rhoades; DPSST No. 46858; Oregon State Police

Basic and Intermediate Police Certifications

d. Jeffrey Smith; DPSST No. 36061; Oregon State Police

Basic Police Certification

6. *Eric Kozowski; DPSST No. 42173; Deschutes County Sheriff's Office

Presented by Melissa Lang

7. *Eric Weaver; DPSST No. 56198; Warm Springs Police Department

Presented by Melissa Lang

8. *Peter Arnautov; DPSST No. 36986; Oregon State Police

Presented by Melissa Lang

9. *Michael Huber; DPSST No. 28130; McMinnville Police Department

Presented by Melissa Lang

10. *James Lynch; DPSST No. 28066; Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission

Presented by Melissa Lang

11. Review of Arbitration/Certification Workgroup Recommendation

Presented by Jennifer Howald

Information update, no vote is required

12. *Proposed Rule Changes for OAR's 259-008-0060, 259-008-0065 and 259-008-0078- Defining CPR Certification and Changes to Law Enforcement Officer Maintenance Standards

Presented by Jennifer Howald

13. *Proposed Rule Changes for OAR 259-008-0015- Background Investigations and New Requirements per HB 2936

Requirements per 11b 2750

Presented by Jennifer Howald

14. *Committee Membership- Chair and Vice Chair Elections

Presented by Marsha Morin

15. *Committee Membership- Applicant Review Committee

Presented by Marsha Morin

16. Department Update

17. Director Update

18. Next Police Policy Committee Meeting – February 17, 2022 at 10:00 a.m.