Police Policy Committee Agenda August 17, 2023

The Police Policy Committee of the Board on Public Safety Standards and Training will hold a regular meeting at **10:00 a.m. August 17, 2023**, in the Governor Victor G. Atiyeh Boardroom at the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST or Department) located at 4190 Aumsville Hwy SE, Salem, Oregon. For further information, please contact Shelby Wright at (503) 378-2191.

The Police Policy Committee meeting will be live streamed on the DPSST Facebook page @ https://www.facebook.com/DPSSTOregon

Policy Committee Members:

John Teague, Chair, Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police Chris Skinner, Vice Chair, Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police DaNeshia Barrett, Non-Management Law Enforcement Angie Brandenburg, Oregon State Sheriff's Association Casey Codding, Superintendent, Oregon State Police Kevin Dresser, Non-Management Law Enforcement Alex Gardner, OSP Command Staff Representative Mark Garton, Oregon State Sheriff's Association Brad King, Non-Management Law Enforcement Charles Lovell, Portland Police Bureau (Designee Deputy Chief Mike Frome) Kathy McAlpine, Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police Scotty Nowning, Non-Management Law Enforcement Ashliegh Ramirez, Public Member Kieran Ramsey, Federal Bureau of Investigation Rob Wood, Public Member Terry Rowan, Oregon State Sheriff's Association Jill Thissell, Non-Management Law Enforcement



Administrative Announcement

This is a public meeting, subject to public meeting law and it will be digitally recorded. Deliberation of issues will only be conducted by the Police Policy Committee members, unless permitted by the Chair. Remember to always state your name for the record. For cases dealing with denial or revocation, only information contained in the staff report can be considered once the staff report is adopted. Assumptions, outside knowledge, or personal experiences should not be included in any discussion. Individuals who engage in disruptive behavior that impedes official business will be asked to stop being disruptive or leave the meeting. Additional measures may be taken to have disruptive individuals removed if their continued presence poses a safety risk to the other persons in the room or makes it impossible to continue the meeting.

1. Introductions

2. *Approve the June 12, 2023, Meeting Minutes

^{*} Agenda item requires a vote by the committee.

- 3. *Administrative Closures (The following items to be ratified by one vote)
 Presented by Jennifer Levario
 - a. Joshua Utley; DPSST No. 59267
- 4. *Troy Gainer; DPSST No. 39919; Scappoose Police Department Presented by Melissa Lang-Bacho
- 5. *Steven Larsen; DPSST No. 49075; Morrow County Sheriff's Office Presented by Melissa Lang-Bacho
- 6. *Brian Needham; DPSST No. 33137; Harney County Sheriff's Office Presented by Jennifer Levario
- 7. *Brandon Petersen; DPSST No. 51772; Tigard Police Department Presented by Jennifer Levario
- 8. *Peter Robinson; DPSST No. 48227; Clackamas County Sheriff's Office Presented by Jennifer Levario
- 9. *Aaron Smith; DPSST No. 44175; McMinnville Police Department
 Presented by Jennifer Levario
- 10. *Emily Stone; DPSST No. 57726; Medford Police Department Presented by Jennifer Levario
- 11. *Dennis Viereck; DPSST No. 36201; Scappoose Police Department Presented by Jennifer Levario
- 12. *Proposed Rule Changes for Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 259-008-0085

 Amending student performance measures for the Basic Police Course

 Presented by Jennifer Howald
- 13. Program Manager Update
- 14. Agency Update
- 15. Next Police Policy Committee Meeting November 16, 2023, at 10:00 a.m.

^{*} Agenda item requires a vote by the committee.