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Unemployment Insurance 101 

Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits are partial income replacement when workers become 
unemployed through no fault of their own. The purpose of UI benefits is to support workers who 
have lost their jobs in order to soften the impact of job losses on communities. In Oregon, the state 
and federal UI programs are administered by the Employment Department. The division is 
responsible for collecting employer taxes to fund the program, determining the eligibility of filed 
claims, discouraging fraud and paying benefits to eligible customers in an accurate and timely 
manner.  

Congress enacted the UI program as part of the Social Security Act (SSA) in 1935, in response to the 
Great Depression. The program is a federal-state partnership with oversight from the U.S. 
Department of Labor (DOL). The SSA provides grants to states with UI laws that meet federal 
requirements for administering the UI program and overseeing benefit payments. States are 
permitted to use this federal funding only for the administration of UI programs.  

Oregon’s UI Program: 
Helps maintain purchasing power in communities where workers have been laid off to help
prevent secondary unemployment of workers who provide goods and services.
Helps keep the skilled labor force in the locality.  For workers, it means they may receive
partial wage replacement income until they become re-employed. For employers, it means
maintaining access to a more qualified workforce.
Softens economic slowdowns. Since the program was created, the U.S. has experienced
several major economic recessions. Unemployment insurance is important in recession
recovery because it helps prevent sharp drops in consumer spending—one of many tools in
preventing possible full-scale economic depressions.

Financing 
Regular UI benefits are paid out of the UI Trust Fund. Regular UI benefits are funded by employers 
subject to Oregon’s unemployment laws; workers do not contribute to this fund. Private employers 
pay taxes directly to the State of Oregon on an annual rate schedule.  Political subdivisions and non-
profit employers may choose to pay the tax or reimburse the Oregon UI Trust Fund dollar-for-dollar 
for benefits paid. Government entities must reimburse the fund.  

In Oregon, the statutory formula for establishing the annual rate schedule is tied to the solvency of 
the UI Trust Fund, it is set in such a way to finance benefits over a period of business cycles while 
remaining solvent. There are eight UI tax schedules set in statute. Each September, OED determines 
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which tax schedule will go into effect for the following calendar year, and notices are mailed to 
employers in November on the upcoming year’s tax schedule.  Due to the self-balancing formula, 
Oregon was one of the few states that maintained a solvent Trust Fund during the Great Recession 
and, thus far, has been solvent during the COVID-19 pandemic. 

In addition to state unemployment taxes, most employers also pay a federal tax according to the 
Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA). The FUTA tax rate is 6 percent on the first $7,000 of an 
employee’s wages. Employers can take a credit against the FUTA tax for amounts paid into state 
unemployment funds, as long as state UI laws are consistent with federal requirements—as they can 
in Oregon. The maximum allowable credit is 5.4 percent, resulting in a net payable FUTA tax rate of 
0.6 percent on the first $7,000 for each employee. These funds are collected by the Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS) to fund some of the administrative costs of the Oregon Employment Department and 
UI programs throughout the country. 

When Can a Customer File for Unemployment? 
Anyone may file a regular UI claim and potentially be eligible for benefits at any time if they meet 
the definition of being unemployed. In Oregon, a customer is unemployed any week they work 
fewer than 40 hours and earn less than their weekly benefit amount (the maximum amount of UI 
benefits they are eligible to receive on a weekly basis for partial wage replacement).  

For regular UI claims, a customer can only qualify if they meet both monetary and non-monetary 
requirements. To meet the monetary requirements, a customer must have enough subject work and 
earnings to qualify for a valid claim.  To meet the non-monetary requirements, the reason the 
customer separated from work must be permissible by law, and they must meet the subsequent on-
going weekly eligibility requirements. Monetary and non-monetary eligibility are determined by the 
facts of each claim applied under unemployment law according to Oregon Administrative Rules and 
department policies.   

During the COVID-19 pandemic, workers who are out of work due to COVID-19 and who are not 
eligible for regular UI benefits in Oregon or any other state, may file a PUA claim (see PUA section 
for more information). 

How Can a Customer File a Claim? 
New regular UI claims can be filed by using the department’s Online Claim System (OCS) on our 
website at https://employment.oregon.gov/ocs or by calling the UI contact center at 877-345-3484. 
When filing a new regular UI claim, a customer needs to be ready to provide their complete work 
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history for the past 18 months including employer names, addresses, phone numbers, and dates of 
employment. 

Online Claim System (OCS) 
For customers who file either regular UI or PUA claims, the OCS provides the ability to: 

Claim a week of benefits;
View the status of their most recent weekly claim report;
Change an address;
Apply for or change a direct deposit account;
File a new claim;
View the balance and expiration date of a claim;
View weekly payments for the last 12 months including each week’s payment details;
Access 1099G tax forms for the last three years; and

Reset Personal Identification Number (PIN).

Customers on regular UI may also use the OCS to restart an existing claim (after a break in reporting 
due to a return and subsequent lay off from work). Customers can access most of these functions by 
entering in their SSN and PIN, however a few functions also require their CID (Customer 
Identification) number.   

What Happens after a Customer Files a Claim? 
When a customer submits an application for regular UI, department staff process it and identify 
whether or not an adjudicator needs to perform an investigation based on what was reported. If the 
customer is monetarily eligible and no adjudication of the claim is required, benefit payments are 
automatically issued for the corresponding weekly claims filed. If the customer reports that they had 
a job separation (such as voluntarily quitting a job or being fired) or other information which could 
potentially interfere with their ongoing eligibility for benefits, then their claim is internally queued 
for an investigation.  

If an administrative decision is issued to deny UI benefits, the customer has the right to appeal the 
decision (if applicable, their employer also has the right to appeal). 

Appeals 
When a customer is denied benefits (or a customer is allowed regular UI and their employer 
disagrees), either party has 20 days from the date the administrative decision was issued to submit a 
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timely request for a hearing with the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH). Hearings may be 
requested via mail, fax, email, or using the online form. 

OAH hearings are held telephonically, and are presided over by an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). 
Prior to the hearing, all parties have the opportunity to submit any evidence and during the hearing, 
have an opportunity to testify. After the hearing is held, the ALJ makes their own decision based on 
the information and facts provided by the parties involved.  Anyone who disagrees with an OAH 
decision regarding eligibility for regular UI benefits can submit a timely request for a review to the 
Employment Appeals Board (EAB) within 20 days from the date the OAH decision was issued. 

If a customer (or an employer) fails to submit a request for a hearing or a request for review within 
20 days, then the request is considered untimely, and they will need to demonstrate they had good 
cause to submit it late, before the underlying issue will be considered by the OAH or the EAB. 

Subsequent timely appeals require a petition for judicial review in the Oregon Court of Appeals filed 
within 30 days from the date the EAB decision was issued. 

Determining Benefit Amount 
The weekly benefit amount (WBA) for regular UI customers is calculated based on one point two 
five percent (.0125) of the total amount they earned in wages subject to UI. If not a multiple of $1, 
all weekly benefit amounts are computed to the next lower multiple of $1.  

The maximum WBA a customer can receive per week in regular UI or PUA benefits is sixty-four 
percent (0.6400) of the state average covered weekly wage for the preceding calendar year.  

The state average weekly covered wage is the amount calculated by dividing the total wages paid by 
subject employers during the year by 52 times the average monthly employment reported by subject 
employers for the year. 

The minimum amount a customer can receive in regular UI benefits is 15 percent (0.1500) of the 
state average weekly covered wage for the preceding calendar year.  

The maximum amount a customer can earn before receiving a reduction in their weekly benefit 
amount was increased to $300 during the COVID-19 pandemic as a result of Senate Bill 1701 (2020 
Second Special Legislative Session). Although SB 1701 increased the threshold for the amount a 
customer could earn and still receive benefits, customers with WBAs less than $300 receive no 
benefits if they earn $300 or more in a week. 
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What is a Benefit Year? 
Filing a valid claim establishes a benefit year.  In Oregon, the benefit year is the 52-week period 
starting with the first effective week of the claim.  The benefit year is the period of time within 
which the customer may receive regular UI benefits based on his/her employment during the base 
year.   

Once a benefit year is established, the base year for the claim remains the same for the duration of 
the benefit year. It does not change with each calendar quarter. Oregon claims always expire on a 
Saturday.  

When an initial regular UI claim is filed, a customer is sent a Wage and Potential Benefit Report.  
This report lists the wages reported in the base year and the weekly benefit amount (WBA) and the 
maximum benefit amount (MBA) the customer may receive on their  claim if otherwise eligible.  

How do Earnings Affect a Weekly Claim? 
For regular UI, a customer is required to report all work they do and their gross earnings for that 
work each week claimed.  If a customer works less than 40 hours, grosses less than their weekly 
benefit amount, and is otherwise eligible, the customer can receive at least part of the weekly benefit 
amount.  

What is a Waiting Week? 
After filing a new regular UI claim, customers are required by law to “wait” a week they have 
claimed, and would otherwise be eligible to receive a benefit payment, without receiving payment 
before they can receive payments for other weeks they claim. All customers must serve a waiting 
week before any regular benefits can be paid on a claim but only have to serve one waiting week per 
claim (52 weeks). 

Governor Kate Brown waived the requirement for customers to serve the waiting week in April 2020 
for the duration of the COVID-19 state of emergency. All customers who filed an initial claim after 
the Governor declared the State of Emergency may receive payment for the waiting week. 
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Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) 
PUA is a federal unemployment benefit program created in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. It 
is for individuals who are self-employed, contract workers, and other workers who are not eligible 
for regular benefits. 

Under the CARES Act, PUA benefits were available starting the week of Feb. 2, 2020 and ending 
the week of Dec. 26, 2020. Under the recently passed Continued Assistance Act (CAA), PUA 
benefits are available from Dec. 27, 2020, to the week ending March 13, 2021. The CAA provides 
additional PUA benefits for a total of 50 weeks. 

With the CAA, a new phase-out program was created. If a customer receives a PUA payment for the 
week ending March 13, 2021, and they still have weeks left on their claim, they may be eligible to 
participate in a phase-out period. That means they may continue filing weekly claims and receiving 
PUA through the week ending April 10, 2021. 

Who qualifies for PUA? 
For PUA claims, there are no specific monetary requirements: a customer may qualify if they are out 
of work due to COVID-19 and are not eligible for any other unemployment benefits. To meet the on-
going week-to-week eligibility requirements for PUA, a customer must certify that they continue to 
be out of work due to COVID-19 and are ready to return to work as soon as they can. 

When a customer submits an application for PUA benefits, department staff process it to determine 
if the customer is first potentially eligible for regular UI, and if they are out of work due to COVID-
19. If the customer meets the eligibility requirements, benefit payments are automatically issued for
the applicable weekly claims filed. If the customer is potentially eligible for regular UI, they are
referred to the UI Contact Center for processing. If the customer is not eligible for regular UI, but is
not out of work due to COVID-19, the department sends a letter to confirm their application was
rejected. If a letter is issued to reject PUA benefits, the customer has the right to appeal the decision.

New PUA claims can be filed by using the OCS, by calling the PUA contact center 833-410-1004, 
by mailing an application to the department at P.O. Box 14165, Salem, OR 97311, or by submitting 
it via the PUA fax line at 503-371-2893. When filing a new PUA claim, a customer needs to be 
ready to confirm the direct reason they are unemployed as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic and 
provide information that the department can use to determine they are not eligible for regular UI. 
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Special Unemployment Programs 
The Work Share program provides an alternative to employers who are facing the prospect of 
laying off employees by providing partial unemployment benefits to supplement the reduced wages 
of qualified employees whose work hours are reduced. Employers must apply for the program. Each 
employee must have worked for the Work Share employer full-time for six months, or part-time for 
12 months, before receiving Work Share benefits. 

The Self-Employment Assistance (SEA) program is an option for customers who have been 
identified as likely to run out of benefits before returning to work. Qualifications for the program 
include having a viable business idea, the willingness to work full-time in developing the business 
and the ability to obtain financial backing needed to start and sustain the business until it is self-
supporting. Enrolled customers can attend self-employment counseling and training programs and 
engage in self-employment activities on a full-time basis and are required to complete both a written 
business plan and a market feasibility study. The department partners with Oregon’s Small Business 
Development Center to make training and guidance on entrepreneurship available to customers 
participating in the SEA program. 

Individuals may also receive benefits if their unemployment was the direct result of: 
A major disaster - Disaster Unemployment Assistance;
From foreign trade entering U.S. markets or production being shifted to other foreign
countries - Trade Act Program; and
Eligible dislocated workers can be approved by the department to attend school and receive
benefits at the same time through the Training Unemployment Insurance (TUI) program.
Customers who are eligible for TUI can receive an extension of benefits. The program does
not pay for training but waives the availability and work search requirements while the
customer attends school full-time.

Most of these programs are federally funded or administered thru collaborative efforts with other 
organizations. 

Learn More 
You can learn more about these and all programs at https://unemployment.oregon.gov. 
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