
Work Opportunity Tax Credit (WOTC) 

Information for Employers Who Are Just Starting 
 

Email WOTC@employ.oregon.gov  Website www.OregonTaxCredit.org Phone 1-(800)-237-3710, option 3 

Welcome to using the WOTC! We’re excited to help you navigate this federal program. 

While WOTC has specific rules, we’re here to answer any questions you have. 

 

1. IRS Form 8850 (Pre-Screening Notice and Certification Request for the Work 

Opportunity Credit): 

• Download the latest IRS Form 8850 from OregonTaxCredit.org or on the IRS 

website. 

• The applicant should complete the front and sign it. The employer should 

complete the back and sign it.  

• We recommend that you include Form 8850 as part of your application process, 

although it is voluntary for applicants to complete. 

 

2. ETA Form 9061 (Individual Characteristics Form): 

• Download the latest ETA Form 9061 from OregonTaxCredit.org or www.doleta.gov. 

• Do not include Form 9061 in your job application packet. 

 

3. Completing forms for eligible applicants: 

• If an applicant chosen to move forward in the hiring process ticks a box on Form 8850 

during the hiring process, fill out Form 9061 together when they accept the job offer. 

• Complete Form 9061 by the employee’s first day of work.  

• Note that only new hires are eligible. Previous employees are not eligible for the 

Work Opportunity Tax Credit. 

 

4. Submitting WOTC application:  

• To submit Forms 8850 and 9061, create an account on our online portal. 

• Enter the information from both Forms within 28 days of the new hire’s start date 

by clicking on “Enter New Application- 2023 Version” on the Employer Menu of 

your account.  

• All applications submitted after 28 days will be denied.  

• Input the data electronically into our system. You do not need to attach or send us 

the physical forms, but keep them for potential audits. 

• You can check the status of your applications and print/download certifications or 

denials by clicking on “View Status of Applications” on the Employer Menu.  

• The system does not send notifications of determinations; please check back for 

updates. 

 

5. Alternate submission method:  

• If you can’t file online, mail original signed Forms 8850 and 9061 within 28 days of the 

employee’s start date to: 

Oregon Employment Department WOTC Unit 

875 Union St NE, Room 201 

Salem, OR 97311 

• Keep copies for your records and consider getting proof of mailing. 
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Additional WOTC Program Information 

❖ Tax credits: Employers can earn $1500-$9600 in tax credit for every eligible new hire. 

There is no limit on the number of WOTC-eligible new hires an employer can claim. The 

employee must work a minimum of 120 hours in the first 12 months of employment to 

qualify. The maximum credit is available when they work at least 400 hours and earn 

$6,000 in their first year on the job. To see tax credit amounts by qualifying wages and 

worked hours for each category, visit www.OregonTaxCredit.org and click on “Eligible 

workers.” 

❖ Qualifying categories in Oregon:  

• Certain Veterans (with disabilities, SNAP recipients, or unemployed) 

• People with a recent felony conviction or release from prison 

• SNAP or TANF recipient 

• Long-term unemployed 

• Vocational Rehabilitation participants 

• Recent Supplemental Security Income or Ticket to Work recipient 

 

❖ Restrictions: A business may not claim a WOTC credit for hiring an employee who is a 

relative of the owner(s). Eligible tax-exempt employers can claim the WOTC against the 

employer’s share of Social Security taxes, but only for eligible members of the qualified 

veteran categories. 

❖ Additional documentation for Veterans with disabilities: If your new employee is a 

Veteran with a disability, please upload Veteran Affairs (VA) documentation verifying 

their service-connected disability rating. You can upload supporting documentation by 

clicking “Upload or View Applicant Documentation” on the menu of your online 

account.   

 

❖ Retrieving WOTC information: In most cases, we will be able to retrieve the 

information needed to determine if an individual meets criterion for WOTC qualifying 

categories. If your new employee received TANF benefits and/or SNAP benefits in a state 

other than Oregon or has a felony conviction/served a prison term in any state other than 

Oregon, please tell us the name(s) of the state(s) involved on the 9061 so we can ask the 

state(s) for information. 

 

❖ Claiming the WOTC credit: To claim Work Opportunity Tax Credit you will need to 

obtain your WOTC certificate and submit it to the IRS at tax time.  

• After logging into the online portal, on the Employer Menu, click “View Status of 

Applications” and specify the date range with “Date Type: Determination Date.” 

Click “All” to see which applications have been certified or denied. Use “Print 

New Certifications” and “Print New Denials” for necessary documents. 

• For certified applications, submit them to the IRS. For guidance on the process, 

read the “Claiming the Credit” section on the IRS page Work Opportunity Tax 

Credit | Internal Revenue Service (irs.gov). 

Did anything on this list raise questions? Please contact us! 
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