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Using This Handhook

This handbook explains what you need to know while claiming Unemployment
Insurance (Ul) benefits.

To protect your rights, it is important you understand the information in this
handbook.

You can find additional information online at www.Employment. Oregon.gov,
including the Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules.

Use the Online Claim System at www.Employment.Oregon.gov/ocs
for these services:

* Claim a Week of Benefits « Status of Weekly Report

« Status of Your Claim and Weekly * Electronic Deposit
Reports » Change/Reset Pin

* Restart Your Claim » Make a Payment

* File Your New Claim * Benefit Payment Options

» Change Your Address * 1099G Tax Forms

View informational videos at: www.oregon.gov/EMPLQOY/Unemployment/Pages/
Informational-Videos.aspx
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sSectiont:
Filing for Unemployment
Insurance (UllBenefits

What is UI? Ul benefits replace part of your
lost income. It is not public assistance.
Employers fund the Ul program. Ul taxes are
not withheld from employee paychecks.

What does it mean to be unemployed?
You're unemployed any week you work fewer
than 40 hours and earn less than your weekly
benefit amount.

How do I file my claim application?
You can file online using the Online Claims
System and select the option “File Your New
Claim.”

OR
By phone.

You will need to provide your complete work
history for the past 18 months including
employer names, addresses, phone numbers,
and dates of employment.

How do | qualify?
There are two ways to qualify:

* You've been paid at least $1,000 in subject
wages in your base year, and

* Your total base year wages are at least one
and a half times the wages paid in the high-
est calendar quarter of the base year,

OR

* You've worked at least 500 hours and were
paid some subject wages in employment
during the base year.

Subject wages are earnings on which your
employer(s) paid Ul taxes.

If you don’t qualify, you can file again at the
beginning of the next quarter. You may qualify
for benefits at that time.

Where should I file my claim? File your
claim with the state where you worked. If you
worked in more than one state, contact any
state in which you recently worked to see if
you have claim options.

What is a base year and calendar

quarter? The base year is a one-year period
made up of the first four of the last five
completed quarters. It's based on the date you
file your claim application, not the date you
become unemployed. If you don’t qualify for a
claim using a regular base year we will
automatically review your claim to see if you
qualify for an alternate base year.

A calendar quarter is a 3-month period
ending March 31, June 30, September 30 or
December 31.
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How do | know my claim was processed?
Ul will mail a Wage and Potential Benefit
Report at the time we process your claim
application. This report includes the wages
reported by your base year employer(s) and
the weekly benefit amount you may receive if
you're eligible.

Carefully review the wages and employers
reported on the Wage and Potential Benefit
Report. If wages are missing or incorrect,
follow the instructions on the form. If your
benefit amount is based on any wages that
are not yours, you will be responsible for
repaying the money paid to you.

Some wages don’t automatically show on your
Wage and Potential Benefit Report such as:

* Work in another state
» Work for the federal government
» Active duty military service

The Employment Department must request
these wages before they can be added to your
claim.

Continue filing for weekly benefits.

If the hours and wages on the form are
correct, but you still don’t qualify, it could be
for these reasons:

* You didn’t have $1000 and total earnings
of one and one-half times the wages in the
highest quarter of your base year,

* You didn’t work 500 hours or more during
your base year, or

* If you received benefits on an earlier claim,
you must have worked and earned six
times the weekly benefit amount of your
new claim.

Customer Identification Number (CID)
The Wage and Potential Benefit Report
includes a Customer Identification Number
(CID). The CID is a unique number assigned
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only to you. We use it on the documents we
send to safeguard your identity.

You need your CID to update personal
information online, such as changing your
address or applying for electronic deposit. We
do NOT give out your CID, even if you call.
You can get your CID by bringing photo ID to a
WorkSource Center.

Personal Identification Number (PIN)

At the time you file a claim application, you
create a four-digit PIN you will use for our
automated systems.

DON’T LET ANYONE USE THE
AUTOMATED SYSTEMS FOR YOU.
DON’T GIVE YOUR PIN TO
ANYONE.

You will be held responsible for any
false information reported with the use
of your PIN.

No one at the Employment Department
has access to your PIN. You can change or
reset your PIN through the Online Claims
System or by calling the Ul Center.

How is my weekly benefit amount
calculated? Your weekly benefit amount is
1.25% of your total base year gross earnings.
Under Oregon law, it will not be less than the
minimum or more than the maximum amounts
you can receive.

How long do benefits last? Your benefit year
is a 52 week period that begins the first week
you file. You may receive total benefits up to
26 times your weekly benefit amount. You
can'’t file a new Oregon claim until your benefit
year is up, even if you’ve received all of your
benefits.



When is my claim effective? New claims are
effective the week you submit your claim
application. Once you’ve completed your
application, start filing for weekly benefits the
following Sunday.

What if | was physically or mentally
unable to work during my base year?
Call the Ul Center. It may be possible to
extend your base year to include additional
quarters.

What if | move? If you move, change your
address on your claim. Continue claiming your
weeks in Oregon and follow the same rules. If
you move out of state, you will need to register
for job placement services in that state and
provide proof of your registration to Oregon.

Keep your address up to date so
you don’t miss important notices

How do | change my mailing address?

Use the Online Claims System and select the
option “Change Your Address” or by phone.
Changing your address on iMatchSkills® does
not change the address on your
unemployment claim.

Section 2:
Filing Weekly Benefits

Filing a claim application and filing for a
week of benefits are two separate things. If
you have filed a claim application, you still
need to submit a weekly claim in order to
request benefits or credit for your waiting
week.

What is a Waiting Week? The waiting week is
the first week you file a weekly claim and meet

all eligibility requirements. Before you can
start receiving benefits, Oregon law

requires one waiting week per claim. You
won’t be paid any money for the week, but
claiming the week is required to receive credit
for it as a waiting week.

You will NOT qualify for waiting week
credit if:

* You didn’t meet all eligibility
requirements,

* You worked full time,

* You earned more than your weekly benefit
amount, or

* You didn’t claim the week timely.

After filing your claim application, you must file
a weekly claim to receive benefits. To request
waiting week credit, wait until the Sunday after
you submit your claim application. Use the
Oregon Employment Department’s website

or phone system to file your weekly claim for
benefits between midnight on Sunday and
11:59 PM on Saturday. Continue to file for
weekly benefits every week that you're
unemployed to request payment.

How do I file for weekly benefits?
To claim each week:

* Use our Online Claims System and select
the option “Claim a Week of Benefits”
* Claim by phone with the Weekly Claim Line

Filing your weekly claim
online is easy!

When do | file a weekly claim for
benefits? You must file a claim for benefits
after the week is over as benefits are not
automatically paid. The Employment
Department uses a calendar week of Sunday
12:00 AM through Saturday 11:59 PM.
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This is the

week you want When to go Online to Claim or call the Weekly Claim Line
to claim ——| Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday | Thursday Friday Saturday

Place your call | Sunday** Monday** Tuesday Wednesday | Thursday Friday Saturday*
within the next * . e St
7 days Yog need to complete your weekly claim by the following Saturday.

** Claim Sunday or Monday for the fastest payment.

The telephone Weekly Claim Line is available
24 hours a day, seven days a week. The
Online Claims System is available seven days
a week (see maintenance schedule). If you're
unable to use the Online Claim System due
to routine maintenance you can still file your
weekly claim by phone.

For each week you want to file for weekly
benefits, you must certify that you meet the
eligibility requirements. You do this by
answering questions about your eligibility for
that entire week.

Until you claim at least one week of benefits,
NO payments or decisions will be made on
your claim, and you won't satisfy your waiting
week.

Weekly claim for benefits certification
questions

1) Did you fail to accept an offer of
work last week?

If any of these situations occurred,
answer yes:

* You turned down any paying job during the
week you’re claiming.
-- It doesn’t matter if the offer was
for full-time, part-time, permanent
or temporary work.
-- The work could have been for a
former, current, or new employer.
* You turned down a job referral for work by
the Employment Department, or
* You accepted an Employment Department
job referral but did not contact the employer.
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2) Did you quit a job last week?

If any of these situations occurred,
answer yes:

* You stopped working for one employer to
start working for another

* You told your employer that you didn’t want
to work there anymore, or

* You stopped showing up for work.

3) Were you fired or suspended from a
job last week?

If either of these situations occurred, answer
yes:

* You were fired or suspended if your
employer let you go for ANY reason other
than a lack of work (layoff).

» There was continuing work available, but
the employer wasn’t willing to let you
continue working.

A lack of work (layoff) is when the employer
does not have enough work available to keep
you working.

4) Were you away from your
permanent residence for more
than three days last week?

If you were away from your permanent
residence for more than three days during a
week claimed answer ‘yes’ to this question.
A week consists of all days of the week;
Sunday through Saturday.



5) Were you both physically and
mentally able to perform the
work that you sought last week?

If you were not able to do the kind of work you
were seeking, answer no.

6) Each day last week, were you willing
to work and capable of accepting
and reporting for full-time, part-time
and temporary work?

If any of these situations occurred,
answer no:

* You restricted the days and hours you were
willing to work.

* You didn’t have transportation to get
to work.

* You didn’t have childcare.

* You were incarcerated.

* You were attending school not
previously reported to the department.

* You were pursuing self-employment not
previously reported to the
department.

* You missed ANY work.

7) Did you actively look for work
last week?

If any of these situations occurred, answer no:

* You didn’t make at least two direct
employer contacts during the week.
* You didn’t complete at least 3 work seeking
activities during the week.
OR
* You didn’t comply with a written work
search advisory provided by the
department.
* You're a member of a union that only allows
you to seek union work, and you're
-- Not in good standing with the union,
or
-- Not available for dispatch

8) Did you work last week or, did you
receive or will you receive vacation or
holiday pay for the week?

If any of these situations occurred,
answer yes:

* You performed services for any employer
and expect to receive payment, credit, or
room and board in return.

* You were self-employed and earned any
money.

* You will receive holiday or vacation pay.

* You will receive sick pay from your
employer.

If you received bonus pay, contact the Ul
Center.

If you received retirement pay, other than
social security, not yet reported, contact the Ul
Center.

If you made a mistake answering any claim
questions, contact the Ul Center.

Contact the claims center
if you make a mistake

section 3:
Maintaining Eligibility
What are the weekly Ul eligibility

requirements? For each week that you claim,
you must be:

» Physically and mentally able to work,

 Available for work, and
* Actively seeking work.
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To be available you must:

* Accept full-time, part-time and
temporary work,

» Be willing and able to work all of the days
and hours normal for the type of work
you're seeking,

* Accept the normal rate of pay for that type
of work, and

» Be willing and able to commute a
reasonable distance for the type of work
sought.

You’re required to report when you aren’t
available for work when any condition

exists that prevents you from working,
accepting work or seeking work. This may
include travel, iliness, injury, incarceration,
school attendance, self-employment, and the
loss of childcare or transportation.

Claim Audits

Claims are randomly selected for audits each
week. Auditors verify everything that affects
your eligibility including work search, base
year wages, reason for job separation, school
attendance, incarceration, and earnings during
any weeks claimed.

What if | leave the area for more than three
days? You can still claim a week of benefits if
you leave the area where you live, but

your claim will be stopped while we gather
information about your travel. Leaving town for
a day or two will not usually stop your benefits
unless you miss any work.

What if I'm going to school? Training or
school attendance may interfere with your
availability for work. You must report any
school attendance or training to the Ul

Center. This includes any unpaid training
required by an employer. Failure to report
training or school attendance could result in an
overpayment and penalties. (See Fraud )
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If you're in school and are interested in the
Training Unemployment Insurance program,
please see Training Unemployment insurance
(TUI.

What if | want to start my own business?
Your involvement in self-employment may
interfere with your availability for work. You
must report any self-employment activities to
the Ul Center, even if you don’t have earnings
from your self-employment. Failure to report
your self-employment activities could result in
an overpayment and penalties. (See Fraud)

If you're interested in starting your own
business, please see Self Employment
Assistance (SEA).

What if I'm incarcerated or jailed? If you
claim benefits during any week you were
incarcerated or jailed you must report on your
weekly claim that you were not available for
work. Your claim will be stopped while we
gather information. Failure to report your
incarceration or jail time could result in an
overpayment and penalties. We receive a
weekly report from Oregon jails and match it to
claim records. (See Fraud)

What are my work search requirements
and how do | seek work? A key piece of your
re-employment includes contacting employers
who hire people with your experience, training
and skills. Unless otherwise advised in writing
by an Employment Department representative,
you must continue seeking work each week
that you claim benefits, even if you’re working
part-time.

To be considered actively seeking work, you
must make two (2) direct employer contacts
AND do three (3) additional work seeking
activities, each week you claim.

You should make your direct contact with
employers, to ask about or apply for jobs, in



the way the employer prefers. You must
record:

« the date of contact;

 the company name;

+ the company location or online job posting
ID number;

* how you contacted the company;

« the type of work or position you applied for;
and

» the results (examples: applied for job,
interviewing, or not hiring).

Your additional work seeking activities may
include more employer contacts, updating your
resume, or searching job listings. Keep track of
the date and what you did.

A document for tracking your work search
efforts is available on our website under
Forms, with a title of Employment Search
Record. You’re not required to use the form,
but you must be able to provide information
regarding your employer contacts and other
work search activities, when filing for weekly
benefits.

Failure to provide this information when
filing for weekly benefits may result in a
denial of benefits and possible
overpayments and penalties. (See Fraud)

Temporarily Unemployed

You may be temporarily unemployed if you
have been laid off or had your hours reduced
and expect to return to your employer. You
must be returning to full-time work or work that
pays more than your weekly benefit amount.
There must not be more than four (4) weeks
between the week you became temporarily
unemployed and the week you are returning to
work. You are actively seeking work by

staying in contact with your employer. If your
return to work date changes and is beyond
four (4) weeks, you must begin actively seek-
ing work at once.

If you meet this requirement you do not need
to complete a work search. False answers
may result in overpaid benefits and additional
penalties which you must pay back.

Contact the Ul Center if you do not know
whether this situation applies to you.

Union Members
You are actively seeking work if;

* You're a member in good standing with
your union,

* Your union doesn’t allow you to seek
non-union work within your trade,

* You’re required by your union to get all
of your work for your usual occupation
through your union, and

* You’re capable of accepting and reporting
for work when dispatched by the union

If you’re a member of a union and don’t meet
the above requirements, you must actively
seek work by contacting employers (see What
are my work search requirements?).

WorkSource Oregon Registration

You may be required to register for work in
our iMatchSkills system and visit your local
WorkSource Center to complete enroliment
activities (the Welcome Process). After
completing your claim application, you will
receive a letter advising you how to register.
Your benefits may be denied if not completed.
You're exempt from this requirement if you
meet the requirements of being temporarily
unemployed (See Temporarily Unemployed)
or are a member of a union that does not allow
you to seek non-union work within your trade.
You can register with WorkSource Oregon
online.

If you don’t have Internet access, you can
register at your local WorkSource Center.
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You can’t register or enter your iMatchSkills
information by phone.

We provide the following services to you free
of cost and upon request: language assistance,
auxiliary aids or services, alternate formats,
such as Braille, large print, audio, oral
presentation and electronic formats for
individuals with disabilities or individuals with
limited English proficiency.

Out of State Registration

You may be required to register for employment
services in the state you reside. After we
process your claim application, we will send
you a letter with your registration require-
ments. You must also provide proof of this
registration to the department.

WorkSource Can Help With
Your Job Search

Section 4:
Working While Claiming
and Reporting Earnings

Can | work and receive benefits? If you're
working part-time and earn less than your
weekly benefit amount, you may be eligible

to receive benefits. You must also continue

to seek, and be willing to accept temporary,
full-time, and part-time work during each week
you continue to claim.

If you are working less than full time, you
may claim benefits if:

* Your part-time employer doesn’t have
full-time work for you,
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* Your gross earnings are less than your
weekly benefit amount, and

* You're seeking work, available and willing
to accept full-time, part-time, permanent
AND temporary work.

You must report all work and gross
earnings for the week in which you

worked, even if you haven’t
been paid yet

Gross earnings are your earnings before taxes
or any other deductions have been taken out.
Failure to report all work and earnings correctly,
including part-time or temporary work, could
result in overpayments and penalties. (See
Fraud)

What earnings do | have to report? You
MUST report all work and earnings when
claiming benefits. You must report any
payments you receive in exchange for any
services you provide or products you sell.
This includes:

* Gross earnings

+ Cash

* Non-cash payments such as room
and board

* Tips

* Bonuses

« Stand-by pay

+ Sick pay

« Commission pay, and

 Vacation and holiday pay.

Exceptions: You don’t need to report as
earnings:

* Lump sum payout of accrued
vacation pay if it is paid to you to “clear the
books” — you will not be returning to work

* Reimbursements for minor expenses such
as meals, lodging, mileage and other
traveling expenses



« Weekend military drill pay, or
* Jury duty pay.

Call the Ul Center if you have questions about
what to report or how to report cash and
non-cash earnings.

How do | report my earnings? You report
your hours and earnings when you file your
weekly claim. Keep track of your hours and
earnings for each week. Report your earnings
for the week you perform the work, NOT the
week you’re paid.

IMPORTANT: Failing to accurately report
your earnings while claiming could result
in overpayments and penalties. (See Fraud)

If you realize your earnings are different
than what you reported, contact the
Ul Center.

How do earnings affect my weekly benefit
payment? You won’t receive benefits if your
gross earnings for a week exceed your weekly
benefit amount or you work 40 hours or more
during the week claimed.

You may earn up to 10 times minimum wage
or one-third of your weekly benefit amount
(whichever is more) before your benefits are
affected. Any earnings above that amount will
reduce your benefit payment dollar for dollar.
You MUST report all earnings each week you
claim benefits. (See Fraud)

REPORT ALL EARNINGS: Even if your
gross earnings for the week are less than
your weekly benefit amount, you must
report your gross earnings when you claim
the week. (See Fraud)

Willfully misreporting your work and
earnings to obtain benefits is Fraud.
Review the information below.

What should | do when | get a job? When
you return to full-time work or earn at least
your weekly benefit amount, simply stop
claiming.

If you begin to work or start a new job during
a week you're claiming, be sure to report your
gross earnings, even if you haven’t been paid
yet. Often you can calculate your gross
earnings by taking your hourly pay rate
multiplied by the number of hours worked
during the week. Don’t forget to also include
any other pay such as tips, sick pay, holiday,
etc. (see What earnings do | have to report?).

What is unemployment insurance fraud?
Fraud is the intentional misreporting or
withholding of information in order to get
benefits. If you intentionally hide or report
wrong information, it is fraud. FRAUD IS A
CRIME and can result in penalties up to and
including criminal prosecution.

Some examples that could be fraud:

» Not reporting work you miss or jobs you
turn down

* Providing false information or withholding
information to get benefits

* Failing to report all of your earnings when
filing for weekly benefits

* Not reporting your job separation
accurately (see Reporting separations
from work)

* Filing for weekly benefits while you were
in jail

Intentionally under-reporting or not
reporting earnings when you file for weekly
benefits is fraud. Only YOU are authorized to
file your claim for benefits. Don’t allow another
person to file for weekly benefits including
your spouse, child, parent or friend. You will be
held responsible for any false information that
is provided.
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The Oregon Employment Department (OED)
uses a variety of ways to verify the accuracy of
Ul payments including but not limited to:

« Verification of earnings with employers,

« Anonymous tips and public leads, and

* National new hire reporting system
information from employers.

If you have questions, call the Ul Center at
(877) 345-3484.

If you have information about Ul
fraud, please contact us at:

FraudHotline.emp@oregon.gov
Toll Free: (877)668-3204

Reporting separations from work on your
Ul claim. If you quit your job, or were fired,
you may still be eligible for benefits. Being
fired or quitting work doesn’t automatically
make you ineligible for benefits.

Oregon law requires that you're out of work
due to no fault of your own in order to be
eligible for benefits. Below are descriptions of
work separations.

Lack of work — You were laid off from your
employer because the employer didn’t have
any work for you to perform. This could be a
business closure, reduction in staff, holiday or
a temporary/maintenance shutdown.

Leave of absence — You're on a leave of
absence if your employer allowed you time
away from work. This can include maternity
leave, medical leave, or leave for other
personal reasons. If you're on a leave of
absence with your employer, your work
separation is NOT a lack of work.
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Voluntary leaving work — You've voluntarily
left work if the employer had continuing work
available for you but you chose to end the
employment relationship (quit). If you quit one
job for another job, you’ve voluntarily left work.

Discharge/Terminated — You were
discharged if the employer had continuing
work available but wouldn’t allow you to
continue working for them (fired, let go,
terminated). You must also report if you've
been suspended by your employer.

Reporting the wrong type of separation
from work can cause an overpayment,
penalties, and be considered fraud.

section 3:
Payments, Deductions, and
Tax Withholding

First Payment
For all new claims, the first payment is usually
sent by paper check.

Payment options

The Employment Department pays benefits
electronically either by a U.S. Bank
ReliaCard® Visa® debit card or direct deposit.
If you don’t apply for direct deposit, you
will be sent a ReliaCard®.

Direct deposit

With direct deposit, we electronically transfer
your weekly benefit payment into your
checking or savings account at your bank,
credit union, or savings and loan.

To apply for direct deposit you will need your
routing and account numbers. Here is an
example of where you can find these numbers
on a check:



Your Name
1234 Oak
Anytown, USA
Soi | B

PAY TO THE
ORDER OF [ 3

FOR

ZAP23ILE5RTASE O0DOLR23ILSETEAS™ LODL

ROUTING HUMBEFIH ACCOUNT NUMBER
R23IL5E 789 000234557819

To apply:

* Use the Online Claim System and select
“Electronic Deposit,” from the main menu to
enter your information, or

* Print the Authorization for Electronic
Deposit Form and send it to us.

You can locate the Authorization for Direct De-
posit form online in the top menu under Forms.

Important: The Employment Department has
no control over your electronic payment after
the payment is issued.

When you sign up for direct deposit it takes up
to 2 weeks to verify your account information.
During the verification period, you will receive
payment by paper check. Submitting additional
requests for direct deposit, before the
verification process is complete, will cause

the system to begin a new verification process
and delay your direct deposit set-up.

usbank

ReliaCard"

4000 1234 5b718 9010

4000

DEBIT

VISA

VALID

THRU
ALEX MARTIN

ReliaCard® Visa
With the U.S. Bank ReliaCard® Visa, we
deposit your payments onto a prepaid debit

card. This card can be used anywhere Visa
cards are accepted.

Please watch for the card in the mail. It will
arrive in a white envelope with an Indianapolis,
Indiana return address. Don’t throw it away,
even if you sign up for direct deposit. If your
direct deposit were to fail for any reason, we
automatically switch back to payment by
ReliaCard®.

When you receive your card, call the toll-free
number on the card to activate it. You can
access your ReliaCard® account information
online at www.USBankReliacard.com or by
calling their customer service center at
1-855-279-1270.

Important Fee Information: There may be
fees associated with the use of your
ReliaCard®. Read your Cardholder Agreement
thoroughly, along with any additional
notifications you receive about your
ReliaCard®. You can access ReliaCard® fee
information at https://www.usbankreliacard.
com/documentLocator?docld=oregonui.

To switch from ReliaCard® to direct deposit,
follow instructions above. To switch from direct
deposit to ReliaCard®, call the Ul Center.

If | don’t get a payment, what should | do?
If you've claimed a week but haven’t received
your payment, check the status using the
Online Claim System and select the option
“Status of Your Claim and Weekly Reports”

You can also call the Weekly Claim Line.
Follow the instructions for checking the status
of your weekly claim. If the system confirms
payment, please allow seven business days
from the day you claimed before calling the Ul
Center to report a missing payment.

How do | check my balance?
You can view the balance of your claim using
the Online Claim System and select the option
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“Status of Your Claim and Weekly Reports.”
You can also call the Weekly Claim Line and
select Option #2 to check the status/balance.

Deductions:

Child support deduction

If we have a court order from the Oregon
Department of Justice requiring a deduction,
a percentage is deducted from your benefits
each week. The deductions continue until the
court notifies us to stop.

If you have questions regarding child support
deductions, contact the Oregon Child Support
Program at:

From the Salem area:
Toll-free in Oregon:
From outside Oregon:
TTY:

(503) 373-7300
(800) 850-0228
(503) 378-5567
(800) 735-2900

Retirement deduction
We may deduct retirement income from your
weekly benefit amount.

If you're receiving or may receive any type of
retirement pay (except Social Security), you
must report this information to the Ul Center.
Failure to report retirement pay including
changes in your retirement amount could
result in an overpayment and penalties. (See
Fraud)

If you receive retroactive retirement pay for
weeks you claimed benefits, you're
responsible to report this to the Ul Center and
repay any overpayments.

Can | have taxes withheld from my
benefits? Yes. You may choose to have 10%
of your weekly benefit amount withheld for
federal income taxes and/or 6% withheld for
state income taxes (16% total). Any taxes
withheld are immediately transmitted to the
Internal Revenue Service and the Oregon
Department of Revenue. Changing your tax
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status requires a completed Authorization
for Tax Withholding (1040WH) form. You can
download the form at Forms or call to have
one sent to you.

Tax Form 1099-G

By the end of January, we will send you a
Form 1099-G (Statement for Recipients of
Unemployment Compensation) to the last
address on your claim. This is the form you
need for filing your taxes that shows the
benefits we paid and taxes withheld during the
previous year. After the end of January, you
can view and print your 1099-G through the
Online Claims System and select the option
“1099G Tax Forms.”

If you’ve moved, be sure to update your
address. You can update your address using
the Online Claims System and select the
option “Change Your Address” or by calling the
Ul Center.

What could stop or deny my benefits?
Some situations require the Employment
Department to examine claims, determine
eligibility or issue administrative decisions.
They include, but are not limited to:

* Quitting a job

 Being fired or suspended from a job

* Being unable to work

» Being away from your permanent
residence

 Attending school or training

* Being self employed

* Being in jail

* Missing any work

» Turning down an offer of work

 Failing to actively seek work



» Receiving retirement pay (except
social security)

+ Failing to participate in a Reemployment
and Eligibility Assessment
interview

* Turning down a referral for work from
WorkSource Oregon

+ Failing to complete enrollment activities
through your local WorkSource Oregon
center

» Being unemployed as a result of a labor
dispute, or

* Filing for weekly benefits during the
summer, winter, or spring break periods or
between terms when you’re an instructional
or non-instructional educational employee

These issues will cause a stop on your claim
until we make a decision to pay or deny
benefits. Continue to claim weekly benefits
during the investigation of any issue on your
claim. This ensures you’re able to receive
payment on those weeks if the investigation
results in a decision to pay benefits.

An adjudicator will complete an investigation.
If the adjudicator needs additional information,
they will contact you. Be sure to respond to
requests with complete information. Failure to
respond will result in a decision being made
on information available and may resultin a
denial of benefits. Withholding information or
reporting false information to the Employment
Department has serious consequences. (See
Fraud)

What if my benefits are denied? If you're
denied benefits, you will receive a written
administrative decision giving the details of the
denial; this includes the dates of denial, the
reason for denial, and any penalties related to
a disqualification. Read your decision carefully
and contact the department with any questions
you have about the content of the decision
(see section 8, Appeals).

If we deny your benefits due to a work
separation issue, because you failed to apply
for a job referral or refused a job we will:

* Reduce your maximum benefit amount
by up to eight times your weekly benefit
amount, and

* Deny your benefits until you work and
receive payment of at least four times your
weekly benefit amount in subject
employment (work the employer paid Ul
taxes on). The work must be done after the
week you were fired, suspended, quit or
failed to accept or apply for work.

If your benefits are denied for reasons such
as school attendance, missed work,
incarceration, hospitalization, etc., the denial
lasts until the condition(s) that caused the
denial no longer exist.

If benefits were previously paid for any week
covered by a denying decision, you’re over-
paid. You will receive instructions on how to
pay the money back. It is your responsibility to
repay any overpaid amount which may include
associated penalties, fees and/or interest.

Section 7:
Overpayments

If you were paid benefits you weren't eligible
to receive, an overpayment is created. If
you're overpaid, you will receive a notice with
repayment information and appeal rights. Your
notice will contain an administrative decision,
which lists the reason for the overpayment.

Overpayments can be caused by:

* Incorrectly reporting earnings when filing
weekly benefits
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* Incorrectly reporting retirement pay

» Decisions reversed on appeal

* Payment made before we learn about an
issue with your claim

* Your weekly benefit is reduced due to a
correction in base year wages

» Withholding information to receive benefits
you were not eligible (See Fraud)

If you were overpaid, you must pay back the
full amount. Don’t delay repayment. Collection
methods may include:

» Wage garnishment

* Property liens

* Interception of state and federal
income tax refunds

Don't stop filing for weekly benefits just
because you have an overpayment. If you are
eligible for benefits, we can use your weekly
benefit payments to pay back the money you
owe.

Appealing an Administrative Decision

Any time we reduce or deny your benefits, we
send you an administrative decision. If you
don’t agree with the administrative decision,
you can appeal it by requesting a hearing.
Your employer may also appeal an
administrative decision they received.

Decisions sent by the Employment Depart-
ment include instructions for filing an appeal
and the appeal deadline to timely request a
hearing. Failure to file a timely appeal may
prevent you from having a hearing on the
original Administrative Decision.
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You may request a hearing by mail, fax, or
email. There is a hearing request form
available on our website under Forms titled
Unemployment Insurance Benefits — Request
for a Hearing. This form is a fillable document
you can complete and send to us using your
preferred method.

Where to send your request:

Email: OED_UI_HEARINGSREQ@
Oregon.gov.

Fax: (503)947-1335

Mail: 875 Union St NE, Salem, OR 97311

When you request a hearing provide as much
information as possible regarding the decision
you are appealing. Include the following
information, if possible:

* The last four digits of your Social Security
Number or your full Customer Identification
Number (CID),

* The administrative decision number or issue
you are appealing,

* The mailing date of the administrative
decision you're appealing, and

* A brief description of why you are appealing.

If you have specific dates or times that you are
unable to attend a hearing during the 90 days
following your request, please provide that
information to prevent scheduling of a hearing
when you are unavailable.

If you need language or other assistance, you
may include that information with your appeal
or notify the Office of Administrative Hearings
after your appeal has been submitted. We will
provide you with language interpretation and
disability accommodations upon request at no
cost to you.

If you are unable to request a hearing using
the methods described above, due to your
specific circumstance, you may go to any
public Employment Department office in
Oregon OR contact the Ul Center for
assistance in submitting your appeal.



What to do after a hearing has been
requested: If you change your address after
you request a hearing you must notify both the
Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) and
Unemployment Insurance. You can update
your address with Unemployment Insurance in
the Online Claims System or by contacting the
Ul Center. More information about hearings
and the appeal process can be found at
www.oregon.gov/oah/Pages/index.aspx

During the appeal process, continue to file for
weekly benefits. If you don’t claim each week
timely while your appeal is pending, you will
not be paid for those weeks if the appeal is
decided in your favor (see section 2, Filing
Weekly Benefits).

When you return to full-time work, or earn your
weekly benefit amount or more, you can stop
filing weekly claims. If you worked during any
week you claim benefits, you must report your
gross earnings, even if you haven’t been paid
(see section 4, Working While Claiming and
Reporting Earnings).

The Employment Department automatically
stops your claim if you:

+ Earn your weekly benefit amount or more,

Work full-time,

Skip filing weekly benefits, or

* Report no earnings after a week that you
reported earnings.

If your claim is stopped for one of the reasons
above, you must restart your claim. You may

stop and restart your claim as many times as

needed during your benefit year.

If your claim was stopped, you can restart your
claim using the Online Claims System and
select the option “Restart Your Claim.”

Restart your claim during the week you want
to begin claiming. If you've worked since you
last filed for weekly benefits, have your
employer information ready when you call.
This includes the dates you worked; the
names, phone numbers and addresses of your
employer(s); and your gross earnings from
those employers.

Once you've restarted your claim, you still
need to file for weekly benefits (see section 2,
Filing for Weekly Benefits).

Section 10:

Joh Seeker Services,
Resources, and Contact
Information

How can the Employment Department help
me find a job?

WorkSource Oregon

WorkSource Oregon is a network of local and
state service providers that assist job seekers
with a variety of employment and training
services. Help is available at no charge to you
at WorkSource Oregon centers statewide.
Some of the services and resources available
are:

* Assistance for military veterans

* Resume and cover letter resources

* Interview and job search information

» Books, self-help guides and videos

* Local training providers, including on the
job training

Skill and career assessment

+ Services for people with disabilities
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 Help for workers unemployed as a result of
foreign trade
» Migrant and seasonal farmworker services
» Career Information System (CIS)
(www.oregoncis.uoregon.edu)
-- Take assessments to find out what
occupation is the best fit for you
-- Learn about careers, schools and
financial aid
* Incentive Programs (State of Oregon:
Businesses - Work Opportunity Tax Credit)
-- Work Opportunity Tax Credit
» Oregon Labor Market Information
(www.Qualitylnfo.org)
-- Find career, wage, occupational
and industry information
-- Access job listings and labor
trends
-- Workforce and Economic
Research publications
-- Search businesses and industries
in five western states
+ iMatchSkills
-- This online job-matching tool uses
your skills and work history to find
potential work. The more details
you supply, the better iMatchSkills
can assist you.
-- Find iMatchSkills at:
www.iMatchSkills.org

Find WorkSource Oregon Center
contact information at:
www.WorkSourceOregon.org
or in your phonebook’s blue pages.

16 - Claimant Handbook



The Oregon Employment Department is an equal opportunity
employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available
upon request to individuals with disabilities. Language assistance
is available to persons with limited English proficiency at no cost.

El Departamento de Empleo de Oregon es un programa que
respeta la igualdad de oportunidades. Disponemos de servicios
0 ayudas auxiliares, formatos alternos y asistencia de idiomas
para personas con discapacidades o conocimiento
limitado del inglés, a pedido y sin costo.

Confidential unemployment compensation information
pertaining to the claimant may be requested and utilized for other
governmental purposes, including, but not limited to, verification
of eligibility under other government programs.

La informacion confidencial sobre la compensacion por
desempleo perteneciente al reclamante puede solicitarse y
utilizarse para otros fines gubernamentales, incluyendo,
entre otros, la verificacion de elegibilidad en otros
programas de gobierno.
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Weekly Claim Line Numbers

Bend, Madras, 541-388-4066
Prineville, Redmond

Dallas, Salem local 503-375-7900
area

Newberg, Portland, 503-224-0405
Woodburn

All other locations
(800) 982-8920

TTY Relay Service - 711
www.sprintip.com

Online Claim System
www.Employment.Oregon.gov/ocs

Ul Center
PO Box 14135
Salem, OR 97309-5068
Fax: (866) 345-1878

Metro / NW Oregon
Portland (503) 292-2057
Salem (503) 947-1500

Eastern / Central Oregon
Bend (541) 388-6207

Toll free for all other locations:

(877) 345-3484

State of Oregon
Employment
Department

UIPUB350 (0719)
Oregon.Gov/Employ
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