
Oregon Paid Family and Medical Leave
Frequently Asked Questions

What is Paid Family and Medical Leave 
Insurance (PFMLI)? 
It allows an eligible employee to take time away  
from work to:

• bond with a child during the first year after birth, 
adoption, or foster care placement.

•	care for a family member who has a serious  
health condition.

•	take medical leave for an employee’s own  
serious health condition.

•	take safe leave for an employee experiencing 
issues related to domestic violence,  
harassment, sexual assault, or stalking.

The medical conditions covered are similar to what is 
covered by the Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA), but 
there are some differences.

Who is covered? 
Employees who earned $1,000 or more in the year 
prior to claiming their benefit are eligible. Independent 
contractors, employees of tribal governments, and 
federal government employees are not covered.  
People who are self-employed and tribal governments 
may opt into the program.

What are the benefits? 
Eligible employees will receive a weekly benefit  
payment. The amount of the benefit payment will  
depend on the employee’s average weekly wage, 
and can be up to 100 percent of their wage.

How much time can be taken? 
Eligible employees may take up to 12 weeks in a 
benefit year to care for themselves or a family  

member, and up to two additional weeks for pregnancy, 
childbirth, or related circumstances. In rare situations, 
up to 18 weeks may be taken in a benefit year, 
though four of those weeks may be unpaid.

How is PFMLI funded? 
Through a payroll based contribution, of no more then 
one percent, shared by employers and employees.

•	The contribution rate will be set annually by  
the Employment Department, and will be  
determined once program costs are estimated.

•	Employees will contribute 60 percent and 
employers will contribute 40 percent of the 
required contribution. The employee’s portion 
is withheld from their pay, similar to income tax 
withholding. Employers have the option to pay 
some or all of their employees’ portion as a 
benefit.

How does Paid Family and Medical Leave 
Insurance work with other leave? 
Family and medical leave runs concurrently with  
Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA) and Family Medical 
Leave Act (FMLA) leave.

•	PFMLI is separate from vacation, most paid 
sick leave, and other paid leave.

•	Employers may allow concurrent use of other 
paid leave for benefits to equal 100 percent  
of an employee’s normal wages.

•	Employees may not receive PFMLI benefits 
while receiving workers compensation or  
Unemployment Insurance benefits.

Is my job protected while I take leave? 
After taking family or medical leave, an employee 
has the right to return to their prior job, similar to 
OFLA protections.

•	The employee must have worked for their  
employer for 90 days to have these rights.

•	Employers with fewer than 25 employees do 
have more flexibility with reinstatement if the 
employee’s position no longer exists.

•	The employee will not lose seniority or  
other benefits such as pension while on leave. 
Healthcare benefits, if provided, must continue 
while on leave.
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By law, PFMLI 
takes effect
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Rules will be 
established

January 1 
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be collected
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be payable
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Paid Family and Medical Leave Insurance Statutory Timeline

Oregon Employment Department | www.Oregon.gov/Employ | PFMLI003b (0320)                                                                     Page 2 of 2

When do payroll contributions begin? 
Family and medical leave contributions are currently 
expected to begin January 1, 2022. 

When can I start receiving benefits? 
Family and medical leave benefits are currently 
expected to begin January 1, 2023, one year after 
payroll contributions begin. 

What if I am self-employed or a  
tribal government? 
Tribal governments and those who are self-employed 
are not required to participate in the PFMLI program. 
You may choose to opt into the program, though. 
More information about how to opt in will come later 
in the program’s development.

What if I’m a small employer with fewer 
than 25 employees? 
Employers with fewer than 25 employees are not  
required to pay the 40 percent employer contribution. 
However, if an employer does pay the 40 percent 
employer contribution, they are eligible to receive 
assistance grants.

Each calendar year, if an employee takes family 
and medical leave, a small employer who pays their 
share of contributions may apply for one grant per 
employee, up to a maximum of 10 grants per year. 
These grants cover:

• up to $3,000 towards the cost of hiring tempo-
rary workers to replace employees on leave.

• up to $1,000 to reimburse for significant  
additional wage-related costs incurred while an 
employee is on leave. 

As an employer, what if we offer an  
equivalent family and medical leave  
program? 
Employers are required to participate unless the  
employer has an approved equivalent plan. If it has 
such a plan, they and their employees will not pay into, 
nor receive benefits from the State’s program,  
but instead get benefits from the employers plan.  

• Equivalent plans must be approved by the  
Employment Department.

• Employers are permitted, but not required, to 
deduct from employees’ pay money to fund 
their equivalent program. The amount cannot 
exceed what employees would pay into the 
State’s family and medical leave program and 
must be used only for plan expenses.

•	Employers must apply for re-approval annually 
for three years after initial approval, or if the 
plan changes.

•	Upon review by the State, if an employer does 
not provide family and medical leave plan  
benefits that are at least equal to those under 
the State’s plan, the State may terminate  
approval of their plan.

When will the State know more about the 
implementation of the Paid Family and 
Medical Leave Insurance program? 
Initiation and implementation planning has  
begun. More details will be clear over the  
coming months and these FAQs will be  
updated periodically. Check our web page at:
www.Oregon.gov/Employ/PMFLI 

The Oregon Employment Department is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to  
individuals with disabilities. Language assistance is available to persons with limited English proficiency at no cost.

El Departamento de Empleo de Oregon es un programa que respeta la igualdad de oportunidades. Disponemos de servicios o ayudas auxiliares,  
formatos alternos y asistencia de idiomas para personas con discapacidades o conocimiento limitado del inglés, a pedido y sin costo.


