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This handbook provides general  
information about your rights and  
responsibilities while claiming for  
Disaster Unemployment Assistance 
(DUA) benefits.The explanations  
included in this handbook are to help 
you understand the benefit provisions 
of the DUA program.

WHAT IS DISASTER UNEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE?
 
The Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) program is 
authorized through the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and 
Emergency Assistance Act (Stafford Act) (42 U.S.C. §5177). 
The purpose of this program is to provide temporary  
economic assistance to people who are unemployed as a 
direct result of a major disaster.

DUA is available to people only after the President of the 
United States declares a disaster for specific areas and  
authorizes Individual Assistance for the affected population.

The Oregon Employment Department administers the DUA 
program for the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and 
Training Administration, on behalf of the Federal Emergency 
Management Agency (FEMA). DUA funding is provided by 
FEMA and does not come from employer payroll taxes.

MAJOR DISASTER
 
A “major disaster” means any natural disaster (including a 
hurricane, tornado, storm, flood, high water, wind-driven  
water, tidal wave, earthquake, drought, wildfires, ice  
conditions, or other catastrophe) declared by the President 
of the United States and that warrants federal government 
assistance to communities and individuals.

The President makes the declaration and defines the disaster 
area. Then if DUA benefits are made available, the Oregon 
Employment Department will announce the DUA filing period 
for the affected areas and issue filing instructions for DUA 
applications through various sources.

Wildfires and Straight-line Winds 2020
On September 15, 2020, the President authorized major 
disaster declaration FEMA 4562-DR for the State of Oregon 
due to the wildfires and straight-line winds that have been 
taking place since September 7, 2020 and affecting a number 
of communities throughout the State.

This declaration authorized Individual Assistance, including 
DUA, for Clackamas, Douglas, Jackson, Klamath, Lane, 
Lincoln, Linn, and Marion counties. On September 21, 2020, 
the Oregon Employment Department announced the  
availability of DUA and the filing deadline for DUA  
applications of October 23, 2020.
 

DURATION OF BENEFITS
 
The Disaster Assistance Period (DAP) begins with the first 
week following the date the major disaster began. During the 
DAP, DUA is available to eligible person as long as they are 
still unemployed as a direct result of the major disaster or 
until they are reemployed in a suitable position. The  
|benefits can’t go more than 26 weeks after the major disaster 
is declared. An applicant’s continued eligibility for benefits is 
determined on a week-to-week basis and individuals must file 
weekly claims to receive payment. (See 20 CFR 625.2(f)  
& 625.7)

DUA benefits for people affected by the Wildfires and 
Straight-line Winds (FEMA-4562-DR) are available starting 
with the week beginning on September 13, 2020, and can be 
paid up to the week ending March 20, 2021, (27 weeks) if the 
person remains eligible.

WHO MAY BE ELIGIBLE FOR DISASTER  
UNEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE?

DUA is available to unemployed workers or self-employed 
persons who were employed or who were to begin employ-
ment in the major disaster area when the major disaster 
occurred.

People who cannot work because of an injury caused as a 
direct result of the major disaster or have become the bread-
winner or major support because the head of household 
has died as a direct result of the major disaster may also be 
eligible for DUA benefits. (See 20 CFR 625.4 & 625.5)
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I AM NOT A UNITED STATES CITIZEN, AM I ELIGIBLE 
FOR DUA BENEFITS?

DUA is only available to U.S. Citizens or U.S. non-citizen 
nationals, or qualified aliens under the U.S. Immigration and 
Nationality Act (INA).

People who want to receive DUA benefits must provide 
proof of identity and show their status as U.S. citizens, U.S. 
nationals, or qualified aliens. This is regardless of territory law 
eligibility criteria for regular unemployment benefits. Qualified 
aliens include:

•	 Legal permanent resident (“green card” holder)
•	 An asylee, refugee, or an alien whose deportation is 

being withheld
•	 Alien paroled into the U.S. for at least one year
•	 Alien granted conditional entry (per law in effect prior to 

April 1, 1980)
•	 Cuban/Haitian entrant
•	 Aliens in the U.S. who have been abused, subject to 

battery or extreme cruelty by a spouse or other family/ 
household member, or have been a victim of a severe 
form of human trafficking

•	 Aliens whose children have been abused and alien 
children whose parent has been abused who fit certain 
criteria

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

To be eligible for DUA you must meet the following eligibility 
requirements:

•	 You must file an initial application for DUA within 30 
days of the date the Oregon Employment Department 
announced DUA availability. The Oregon Employment 
Department announced DUA availability on September 
21, 2020. Applications for DUA are accepted through 
October 21, 2020. Any DUA application received after 
October 21, 2020, may result in a denial of DUA  
benefits.

•	 Your unemployment or inability to perform services as 
a self-employed person must have been caused as a 
direct result of the major disaster declared by the  
President of the United States;

•	 Your principal source of income must have been  
generated from your employment or self-employment;

•	 You do not qualify for regular unemployment benefits 
from any state; AND

•	 You must present documented proof that you were 
employed or self-employed at the time of the major 
disaster within 21 calendar days from the date of filing 
your DUA claim. Proof of employment or self- 
employment at the time of the disaster can include 
check/pay stubs, payroll records, bank statements, hire 
letters, or work orders/ledgers. Self-employed people 
also should provide their tax return for the last  
completed tax year prior to the disaster, January to 
December 2019 in this case. If proof is not submitted 
within 21 calendar days, DUA will be denied and an 
overpayment may result (See 20 CFR 625.6 (e)). 

UNEMPLOYMENT AS A DIRECT RESULT OF THE 
MAJOR DISASTER

To qualify for DUA, any of the following conditions of unem-
ployment must have occurred as a direct result of the major 
disaster:

•	 You no longer have a job/work, 
•	 You are unable to reach your place of employment or 

self-employment, 
•	 You were scheduled to begin employment in a new job 

but that work is now unavailable or you cannot reach 
the new job,

•	 You have become the breadwinner or major support of 
your family because the head of household died in the 
disaster,

•	 You cannot work because of an injury caused by the 
disaster,

OR
•	 Your work hours have been reduced as a direct result of 

the major disaster. 
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AM I ELIGIBLE FOR BENEFITS?

You can receive DUA benefits only if you meet all the federal 
requirements under the DUA program. A Notice of  
Entitlement/Eligibility Determination will be issued advising 
you of your Weekly Assistance Amount (WAA) if you meet 
the eligibility requirements of the DUA program. If you do not 
meet the eligibility requirements of the DUA program, the 
Notice of Entitlement/Eligibility Determination will explain why 
you are not eligible for DUA (See 20 CFR 625.4 & 625.9).

WHAT CAN I DO IF I DISAGREE WITH A DECISION ON 
MY DUA APPLICATION?

Your Notice of Entitlement/Eligibility Determination will explain 
your appeal rights and provide instructions on how to appeal 
the decision. If you disagree with the decision, you have the 
right to request a reconsideration of the determination and 
you may request a hearing to appeal the decision. You may 
request a reconsideration by contacting the DUA unit at  
503-570-5000. You also may appeal the decision by  
contacting the Office of Administrative Hearings by visiting 
our website, unemployment.oregon.gov/contact-us, and 
selecting the option Request a hearing / File an appeal.

You must give the reasons you disagree with the decision 
denying DUA. If you request that we reconsiderthe denial, the 
Oregon Employment Department, Disaster Unemployment 
Assistance Unit will review its prior decision and consider any 
new information you provide.

A request for reconsideration must be submitted within 30 
calendar days from the date of determination of denial. If you 
disagree with the reconsideration decision you may file an 
appeal, and a telephone hearing will be scheduled with an 
administrative law judge.

You may appeal any written decisions that deny or restrict 
your DUA benefits. You must email your request for an 
appeal within 60 calendar days of the date the determination 
or redetermination is issued or mailed (see 20 CFR 625.10). 
The Office of Administrative Hearings will send you informa-
tion on the hearings process.

COMPUTATION OF WEEKLY ASSISTANCE AMOUNT

In Oregon, the amount of DUA payable to an unemployed 
worker or unemployed self-employed individual for a week 
of total unemployment is 1.25% of the total gross earnings 
received in the completed tax year immediately preceding the 
date of the major disaster. It  can’t be greater than $673.  
(See Title 20 CFR 625.6).

For the Wildfires 2020 disaster, the DUA Weekly Assistance 
Amount (WAA) for individuals that worked full-time will range 
from $210 - $673.

WHAT CAN I DO IF I CANNOT PROVIDE THE  
NECESSARY DOCUMENTATION SHOWING I WAS 
EMPLOYED OR SELF-EMPLOYED AT THE TIME OF 
THE DISASTER?

To receive DUA, you must provide all required documen-
tation within 21 days from the day the claim was filed. This 
documentation shall include evidence of your employment or 
self-employment, or work that was to begin at the time of the 
disaster.

If you fail to provide proof to support your statement of 
self-employment and income, your DUA claim may be 
re-determined to “not entitled,” and you will be liable for any 
overpaid benefits.

If it is determined that you made false statements to collect 
DUA, you will be subject to administrative penalties and may 
be prosecuted for fraud.

REGISTER FOR WORK

Unless otherwise provided, and except for partially unem-
ployed and self-employed individuals, you must register for 
work with your local Work Source office within 14 days after 
applying for DUA benefits.

If you are in Oregon and you are instructed to register for 
work, you must register at the local WorkSource office and 
register for iMatch Skills. You will find links for WorkSource 
Centers and iMatch Skills Register/Login at our website  
workinginoregon.org.

http://unemployment.oregon.gov/contact-us
http://www.worksourceoregon.org
http://www.workinginoregon.org
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If you are a member of a union that does not allow you to 
look for work outside of your union hiring hall, you must be in 
good standing with the union, and able and available to return 
to work any time.

WEEKLY DUA CLAIMS

Weekly DUA claims must be filed on time and in accordance 
with the instructions and forms provided to you by the Oregon 
Employment Department, DUA Unit. Forms and instructions 
can be retrieved from oregon.gov/employ/disaster.

DUA is paid on a weekly basis. Our weeks start on Sunday 
and end on Saturday. Your weekly claim for benefits must be 
filed within the seven-day period immediately following the 
Saturday date of the week you intend to claim.

All weekly claims for assistance must be dated, postmarked, 
or received by the DUA Unit after the Saturday of the week 
you are claiming. Any weekly request for assistance that 
is dated or mailed prior to the Saturday of the week being 
claimed is considered to be submitted too early untimely and 
payment for the week may be denied.

To claim weeks retroactively, the weeks must be claimed 
within 14 days of filing the initial DUA claim. Retroactive 
weeks claimed after 14 days of filing an initial DUA  
application may be denied.

You must be able and available for work, unless you are 
unable to work due to an injury that is a direct result of the 
disaster or you are unable to reach your place of employment 
as a direct result of the disaster.

If you performed any work for any employer, you must report 
wages when earned (on the week the job was performed, not 
when paid) for each week claimed. If you are a self-employed 
person, you must report gross income when paid (regardless 
of when earned) for each week claimed.

When claiming weeks retroactively, you must certify that you 
were able and available for work during that period, unless 
you were injured as a direct result of the major disaster or 
unable to reach your place of employment as a direct result 
of the disaster.

You may be required to make at least two (2) direct employer 
contacts per week and three (3) work-seeking activities.

You may file weekly claims in person by putting your  
application in a secured box located outside of certain  
WorkSource offices, or by handing it in to authorized staff at 
certain evacuation sites. You may also mail, or upload your 
DUA documents using our Contact Us form found on  
unemployment.oregon.gov/Contact-Us. More  
information is available in our public website  
oregon.gov/employ/disaster.

REDUCTION OF DUA BENEFITS

Your weekly assistance amount will be reduced by wages 
or income you have received for a week or will receive for a 
week based on the following criteria:

•	 Gross income earned in an employer-employee rela-
tionship whether paid or not. For self-employed  
individuals, gross income received during the week  
for the performance of services in self-employment,  
regardless of whether or not any services were  
performed during the week.

•	 Any benefits or insurance from any source not defined 
as “compensation” under DUA regulation for the loss 
of wages due to illness or disability,  such as private 
income protection insurance, etc.

•	 Workers compensation by virtue of the death of the 
head of household as a result of the major disaster in 
the major disaster area if the individual has become the 
head of the household and is seeking suitable work.

•	 Supplemental unemployment benefits (SUB) pursuant 
to a collective bargaining agreement.

•	 Private income protection insurance, by the amount 
the individual has received, is receiving, or would be 
receiving if an insurance claim was filed.

•	 Any public or private retirement pension or annuity.

The DUA WAA for claims filed for FEMA-4562-DR-OR, is 
1.25% the total wages earned during tax year 2019, not to 
exceed $673 per week. The WAA is computed based on 
wages earned in the base period. The DUA base period is the 
most recent tax year that ended prior to the unemployment 
caused by the disaster (20 CFR 625.6 (a)(2)).

http://www.oregon.gov/employ/disaster
https://unemployment.oregon.gov/Contact-Us
http://www.oregon.gov/employ/disaster
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Through January 1, 2022, you can report gross earnings of 
$300 or more before your benefits are reduced. If you earn 
more than $300 your WAA will be reduced dollar for dollar 
for every dollar you earn in excess of that amount. However, 
if you earn the same or more than your WAA, or work more 
than 39 hours in a week, you will be considered employed 
and therefore not eligible for DUA.  

ARE DUA BENEFITS TAXABLE?

DUA benefits are subject to state and federal income taxes. 
You can choose to have taxes withheld from your WAA every 
week. The Oregon Employment Department will provide you 
a 1099 form for the prior calendar year showing the amount 
of DUA payments you received.

WHAT WOULD HAPPEN IF I AM OVERPAID?

Occasionally a person may receive benefits they are not 
entitled to, causing an overpayment. You will be notified in 
writing if it is decided that you have been overpaid. If a DUA 
overpayment is established, you will be responsible to repay 
the DUA amount that was overpaid. (See 20 CFR 625.14)

WHAT ARE MY RESPONSIBILITIES WHEN  
CLAIMING DUA?

You are responsible to read the information provided in this 
handbook.

You are responsible for any information you furnish for the 
purpose of claiming financial assistance under the DUA 
program. All information is subject to verification to ensure all 
information furnished is complete and correct.

If you willingly make a false statement or conceal information 
to receive DUA, you are subject to criminal prosecution and 
penalties under Oregon and/or Federal Law. In addition, you 
will be liable for repayment of any DUA payments that are 
determined to be overpaid as a result of such concealed 
information or false statement(s).

WHAT HAPPENS TO THE INFORMATION I PROVIDE?

Information requested for use by the Oregon Employment 
Department, Disaster Unemployment Assistance Unit, is 
authorized under Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and  
Emergency Assistance Act (Stafford Act) (42 U.S.C. §5177).

All information provided will be kept confidential, except to  
the extent that release of such information is authorized in 
processing your claim, and will not be released or used for 
any purpose other than for establishing your DUA eligibility 
and to ensure that benefits have been properly paid.

HOW AND WHERE CAN I APPLY FOR DUA?

People from Clackamas, Douglas, Jackson, Klamath, Lane, 
Lincoln, Linn, and Marion counties, who lost work as a direct 
result of the Wildfires and Straight-line Winds disaster may 
apply for DUA by mail, online, or in person.

To receive DUA, you must give all required documentation, 
using any of the methods disclosed above, within 21 days 
from the day you filed your DUA initial claim. Documentation 
must support your statement of employment, self- 
employment, or work that was to begin at the time  
of the disaster.

Mail:
         	 Oregon Employment Department
         	 Disaster Unemployment Assistance
         	 875 Union Street NE
         	 Salem, OR 97311-0800

Telephone: 
	  (503) 570-5000

Website:

	 www.oregon.gov/employ/disaster

	 unemployment.oregon.gov/contact-us

http://www.oregon.gov/employ/disaster
http://unemployment.oregon.gov/contact-us
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