INCENTIVES

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Oregon Solar + Storage Rebate Program issues rebates for solar electric systems and paired solar and storage systems for residential customers and low-income service providers in Oregon. Rebates are issued to approved contractors, who pass the savings on to their customers.​
Program Relaunching September 27 2021 More Information Coming Soon.png

2021 Program Update


The Oregon Legislature passed a bill in the 2021 session to allocate an additional $10 Million for this program. ODOE is working to relaunch the program, including potential rulemakin​g activities​

Contractors and interested participants: please note that a rebate reservation is required before starting construction or installation of solar or a solar and paired storage system. ODOE is not yet accepting reservation requests for this new round of funding. ​Thank you for your patience as we work toward program re-launch. 

Please sign up to receive email updates


Update for Solar Contractors

During 2020, ODOE successfully reserved or rebated the original $1.5 million available for solar rebates; at the end of 2020, funding for our program staff ended. To relaunch the program in 2021, ODOE is in the process of hiring new staff, reviewing and updating our administrative rules to address the fund availability schedule and contractor eligibility standards, and reviewing our internal procedures with the goal of increasing efficiency and accuracy.

We do not have a date yet for re-opening the program, but we will issue periodic updates. Contractors and homeowners may want to review the Project Eligibility standards at Oregon Secretary of State Administrative Rules 330-240-0030, which includes, among other requirements, that:

  1. The system must be installed by an eligible contractor
  2. The contractor must submit a reservation application before starting construction or installation of a solar system or paired solar and storage system in order to be eligible for a rebate
  3. The systems must follow electric utility-specific rules and regulations, as well as other technical and programmatic requirements. You can review Solar + Storage Rebate Program Oregon Secretary of State​ Administrative Rules online.

-----


Am I Eligible for a Rebate?

Solar and storage installations must be installed on real property in Oregon by an ODOE-approved contractor. Rebates are issued to approved contractors, who pass the savings on to customers.

In the case of a paired solar and storage system, they must be purchased together by the same approved contractor. Stand-alone storage systems, or systems added to existing solar, are not eligible. Solar installations must also meet minimum Total Solar Resource Fraction measurements (your contractor will calculate this) and other required technical criteria.

Low- or Moderate-Income Residential Customers
Customers can qualify under the Low- or Moderate-Income program one of three ways:
  1. ​The homeowner is determined eligible for certain Oregon Housing and Community Services programs. See LMI Eligibility Option 1 form for more information.
  2. The homeowner is determined eligible for certain Oregon Department of Human Services or Oregon Health Authority programs. See LMI Eligibility Option 2 form​ for more information
  3. The homeowner can prove qualifying household income. The homeowner must provide an Oregon Department of Revenue tax transcript for each tax filer residing at the household physical address. See LMI Eligibility Option 3 form​ for more information

Low-Income Service Providers
​Organizations eligible as "low-income service providers" include: 
  1. ​Developers/owners of affordable multifamily housing that are eligible for public assistance administered by Oregon Housing & Community Services.
  2. A community service organization (public, tribal, or a 501(c) nonprofit) whose primary purpose is to offer health, dental, social, financial, energy conservation, or other assistive services to households below 100 percent of the state median income by household size.
  3. A tribal or local government entity, such as a city, county, or school district that uses public buildings to provide services to low- or moderate-income individuals, or to provide emergency shelter and/or communications in disaster situations.
See the Administrative Rules​ for complete eligibility requirements. Community service organizations and tribal or local government entities are encouraged to email us​ to become qualified as an eligible low-income service provider. 


How Much is an Individual Rebate?

Rebates may cover up to 40 percent of the net cost* for a residential system installed for a customer that is not considered low- or moderate-income, up to 60 percent of net cost for a low- or moderate-income customer, and up to 50 percent for a low-income service provider. 

For residential projects, the maximum rebate is $5,000 for a solar electric system and $2,500 for an energy storage system. For low-income service providers, the caps are $30,000 for solar electric and $15,000 for an energy storage system. See the Administrative Rules for detailed incentive calculations for solar systems and storage systems.​

*ODOE defines the net cost of a system as the total of all eligible costs minus any incentive provided by an​ electric utility or by Energy Trust of Oregon.


How Do I Receive a Rebate?

Rebates are paid to the ODOE-approved contractor who installs the system. The rebate amount will be passed on to the customer as savings on the net cost of the system.


How Do I Find an Approved Contractor?

Click here to download a list of ​approved contractors. We will update this list regularly. 


How Do I Become an Approved Contractor?

Interested contractors can sign up through ODOE's customer service portal. First-time users must begin by clicking on "register" to create an account. You may then sign in to complete the requested information. ODOE staff will follow up to confirm successful enrollment in the program.

Contractors will use PowerClerk​ to reserve rebates and complete the application process. ODOE has developed an online user guide for contractors to use the PowerClerk system. Please contact the Solar + Storage Rebate Team if you have questions. 


Program Timeline


Date ​Milestone
​Summer 2019 ​HB 2618 passed by the Oregon Legislature and signed by Governor Brown
​Fall 2019 Initial program rulemaking process; Administrative Rules filed with Secretary of State 12/19/19.
​January 2020
​Initial program launch, contractors began submitting rebate reservations
​September 2020

​ODOE submitt​ed its 2020 Report to the Legislature​; initial program funding fully reserved for rebates. 
​Summer 2021
The Oregon Legislature allocates an additional $10 million for the program. ODOE is working to re-launch the program.​
​September 2021
​ODOE files temporary administrative rules for contractor eligibility.
​September 27, 2021
​ODOE will resume accepting rebate reservations from eligible contractors.
​Fall 2021 - Winter 2022
​ODOE will conduct additional rulemaking activities for the program.