nature photo

​South Valley / Mid Coast Region: Benton, Lane, Lincoln, and Linn Counties​

Sarah Means, South Valley​ / Mid Coast Region Coordinator


Sarah Means joined the Regional Solutions Team in 2019.  Sarah earned both a bachelor’s and master’s degree from the University of Oregon. She worked as a land use planner in two Oregon cities for seven years before joining Lane County’s economic development department in 2009. For the past three years, Sarah served as Lane County’s Community and Economic Development Manager. In that role, Sarah was involved in infrastructure and community development, business recruitment, and local business development.  In 2016, Sarah was honored to be one of 30 economic development leaders nationwide invited to participate in the White House Forum on Economic Development.

Sarah is a native Oregonian, growing up in Douglas County.  She currently lives in Coburg with her husband and three children.
​​South Valley Regional Solutions Center 

South Valley Regional Solutions Team

Governor’s Coordinator

Sarah Means

Business Oregon, Regional Development Officer

Melissa Murphy

Environmental Quality, Department of

Mary Camarata

Housing & Community Services

Kim Travis

Land Conservation & Development, Department of

Patrick Wingard

Transportation, Department of

Jae Pudewell

State Lands, Department of

Kirk Jarvie

South Valley Regional Solutions Advisory Committee

After military service, Senator Beyer attended Lane Community College and the University of Oregon, graduating from U of O with a degree in management. Senator Beyer was elected as a Springfield City Councilor in 1986, serving until 1993. In 1991, he entered the Oregon Legislature as a state representative, and served as State Senator from 1999 to 2001. Senator Beyer then served as Chairman of the Oregon Public Utility Commission from 2001 until 2010, and was re-elected to the State Senate in 2010 where he has served since.​
From 1991 to 2012, Casey served as administrator of the Woodard Family Foundation, the 8th oldest foundation in Oregon, created by his grandfather in 1952. During that time, he worked with philanthropists and foundations across the country and, in the process, identified the evolutionary process many families follow and experience in their philanthropy. In 1997, PeaceHealth called upon Casey. He started as a volunteer to help build a new hospital in Cottage Grove, advancing to chief executive of the Sacred Heart Medical Center Foundation then to the position of system senior vice president for philanthropy. Combined, Casey’s efforts raised $165 million across eight PeaceHealth foundations. Casey completed his time with PeaceHealth in 2013. In addition to leading his consulting practice, he is a Faculty member, The Fund Raising School, a program of the Lilly Family School of Philanthropy, at Indiana University.​
Nick Fowler isn’t content to just be the CEO of two of the highest profile growth companies in Benton County, Oregon, Perpetua Power and Northwest Medical Isotopes LLC. He's also working to make the region and state a better location for tech start-ups and growth companies. A retired executive from Hewlett Packed, who honed his entrepreneurial and deal-making skills driving new ventures inside the corporation, Nick is relishing the work to create new businesses as an entrepreneur and investor. Following his HP career, Mr. Fowler established Orion Ventures, LLC, an angel investment fund providing seed stage investments that continues to make two to four investments per year. Nick also serves on the Corvallis Economic Development commission, advises Oregon State on research commercialization, and is leading the charge on making the case for the RAIN technology business accelerator in the south Willamette valley.​
LOC Representative: Mayor Biff Traber, City of Corvallis​
Mr. Tucker is a Linn County Commissioner, and has served the Association of Oregon Counties, the Oregon Department of Parks and Recreation, and the United Way of Linn County, among other organizations.​

Committee Appointment: Greg Hamann, Linn-Benton Community College​
Committee Appointment: Commissioner Doug Hunt, Lincoln County​
Committee Appointment: Commissioner Annabelle Jaramillo, Benton County​
Committee Appointment: Commissioner Pat Farr, Lane County​​
Committee Appointment: Julie Manning​, Samaritan Health Services
Committee Appointment: Brenda Bremner, Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians​
Committee Appointment: John Pascone, AMEDC​
Committee Appointment: David Conover, University of Oregon​
Mark Lieberman is the Chief Startup Officer and Director of the OSU Advantage program.​
Committee Appointment: Birgitte Ryslinge, Oregon Coast Community College​