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575-037-0005
Definitions

(1) Ferpurposes-of-thisprogram;—a-"“Public Safety Officer” includes the following public safety categories
as defined in ORS-181A.355237-610:

(a) corrections officer

(b) fire service professional

(c) parole and probation officer
(d) police officer

(e) reserve officer

(f)_youth correction officer

(2) “Child of a public safety officer” is defined as:

(a) Natural child
(b) Adopted child
c) Stepchild




(3) “Death or permanent total disability suffered by a public safety officer while on or off duty” is
defined by ORS 243.954.

((4) “Eligible institutionZ of higher education” is any Oregon community college, career school as defined
in ORS 341.005, Oregon public university, Oregon Health and Science University, or Oregon-based
private non-profit institution of higher education as defined in ORS 348.582.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 183.325 - 183.355, 348.270 & 348.280
Statutes/Other Implemented: S83-836 & 19970RS 348.270

History:

OSAC 1-2015, f. & cert. ef. 12-18-15

SSC 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 3-18-98




575-037-0040
Maximum-Awards for Students Attending IndependentinstitutionsAwards

(1) Eligible students attending Oregon institutions of postsecondary education may not receive awards
in excess of the amount of tuition and fees or the maximum of $13,000 per academic year for a
four-year degree program, whichever is less. The source of the relevant tuition and fee information
is published annually by the Office of Student Access and Completion.

(2) The student’s award amount shall be equal to the amount of tuition and all standard fees levied by
the institution of higher education against the student reduced by any amounts received by the
student in state and federal aid grants.

(3) Awarding will continue until such time as all available funds have been awarded.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 183.325 - 183.355, 348.270 & 348.280
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 348.270SB-836-& 1997

History:

OSAC 1-2015, f. & cert. ef. 12-18-15

SSC 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 3-18-98

575-037-0050
Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for a Deceased or Disabled Public Safety Officers scholarship, a student must:

(1) Be a child of a public safety officer who has suffered a qualifying death or disability.

(2) Be enrolled or have applied for enrollment at an eligible institution of higher education in this state.

(3) Be under 25 years of age at the time of submitting the application.



https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=137562

(4) Not have achieved a baccalaureate or higher degree from any post-secondary institution.

(5) A student who is awarded a scholarship, in addition to satisfying all other eligibility criteria, must
maintain satisfactory academic progress (SAP) as defined by the institution of higher education.

(6) A student s eligible to receive a scholarship for a maximum of the equivalent of four academic
years.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 183.325 - 183.355, 348.270 & 348.280
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 348.270

History:

OSAC 1-2015, f. & cert. ef. 12-18-15

SSC 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 3-18-98

575-0037-0060
Application/Selection Process

(1) Applicants must complete and submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or
Oregon Student Aid Application (ORSAA) and must have accepted all available state and federal
grants available to the applicant.

(2) Applicants must submit an application form designated for this scholarship to the Higher Education
Coordinating Commission’s Office of Student Access and Completion (OSAC).

(3) If the applicant has applied to the Public Safety Memorial Fund Board for benefits at time of death
or disability and has been deemed ineligible, the Office of Student Access and Completion (OSAC)
will not award the applicant.

(4) If there has been a change in the eligibility status that can be formally documented, the student can
appeal OSAC’s decision within 30 days of receiving notice of denial. OSAC will review the appeal and
award the student if the status of the death or disability is proven to meet the requirements of the
definition.

(5) Applications for grants that are submitted before July 1, 2018, shall continue to be governed by the
law applicable to those applications in effect immediately before that date.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 183.325 - 183.355, 348.270 & 348.280
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 348.270

History:

OSAC 1-2015, f. & cert. ef. 12-18-15

SSC 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 3-18-98




