COVID 19 RELATED ADMINISTRATIVE RULE CHANGES (TEMPORARY AND TEMP-TO-PERMANENT)

575-035-0030 (TEMP TO PERM)
Conditions of Award

(1) The maximum period of a B & H Grant shall not exceed 15 months, except as described in subsection

(5).

(2) The Commission may deny any disbursement to a student failing to make satisfactory academic
progress as defined by the institution.

(3) No B & H Grant shall be made to any student enrolled in a course of study required for and leading to
a degree in theology, divinity, or religious education.

(4) The recipient may not be in default on any federal Title IV loan, nor owe any refunds on federal Title
IV funds previously disbursed.

(5) In the event the Governor issues a declaration of emergency or executive orders that order or
directly lead to the temporary cessation of educational activity by an institution eligible to receive the
grant under OAR 575-035-0015, the Commission may extend the maximum period of grant eligibility for
a period of time equal to the effective period or such declarations or orders, as determined by the
Commission.

575-039-0020 (TEMP)
Student Eligibility for Oregon Promise Grant

To be eligible for an Oregon Promise Grant a student must:
(1) Be an Oregon resident for at least 12 months prior to enrolling in an Oregon community college;

(2) Have attained the highest level of education in this state prior to receiving a high school diploma
under ORS 329.451, or earned a General Educational Development (GED) certificate at an Oregon
testing center under ORS 351.768, or completed grade 12 while home schooled in Oregon under ORS
339.035;

(3)(a) Have earned a cumulative high school grade point average of 2.5 or its equivalent or better;

(b) The Commission will determine if a student who does not earn a cumulative grade point average of
2.5 or better in high school may otherwise demonstrate an equivalent academic ability.

(A) In making such a determination, the Commission may rely on such documentation as required by the
Commission that indicates but not for actions taken by a school district responsive to state declarations

of emergency or executive orders issued by the Governor, or local declarations, the student would have

otherwise met the grade point average requirement.

(4) Meet one of the following two criteria:

(a) Within 6 months of high school (or equivalent GED or homeschool) completion date, enroll in
approved courses at an Oregon community college; or



COVID 19 RELATED ADMINISTRATIVE RULE CHANGES (TEMPORARY AND TEMP-TO-PERMANENT)

(b) If the student completes high school (or equivalent GED or homeschool) on or after January 1, 2020
while they are in custody or incarceration at a correctional facility, they must enroll in approved courses
at an Oregon community college within 6 months of the date of first release from a correctional facility.

(c) The Commission may waive the requirements of subsection 4(a) and 4(b) of this rule provided a
student demonstrates a significant hardship.

(A) A student who, for the purpose of meeting the requirement of either subsection 4(a) or 4(b), would
have been required to enroll in approved courses at an Oregon community college during the spring
term of the 2019-2020 academic year, but does not enroll or enrolls less than half-time, is deemed to
have demonstrated a significant hardship due to the issuance of a declaration of emergency and related
executive orders by the Governor restricting the operations of Oregon community colleges, and shall
retain eligibility to receive a grant if the student meets or receives any applicable waivers for all other
requirements and enrolls in approved courses at an Oregon community college no later than the fall
term of the 2021-2022 academic year.

(5) Have completed a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), if eligible to file the application,
and accepted all state and federal grant aid offered; and

(6) Have not completed more than 90 credit hours, or the equivalent, at a post-secondary institution of
education or a curriculum, degree or program.

575-039-0070 (TEMP)
Conditions of Award

(1) In order to remain eligible for an Oregon Promise award, continuing students must:

(a) Maintain a cumulative grade point average of 2.5 or better each term for which the student receives
the grant, unless the student receives a waiver as established in subsection (8) of this section.

(b) Make satisfactory academic progress in an approved program, as defined by the institution in
accordance with federal Title IV regulations and guidelines.

(c) Enroll for a sufficient number of credits to be considered at least a half-time student.-

(A) The Commission may waive the half-time enrollment requirement for continuing students who are
either enrolled, but for fewer than six credits, or who are not enrolled during a given term provided such
term of enrollment begins or ends during a period where there exists an active declaration of
emergency or executive order restricting the operations of institutions of higher education.

(2) A student continues to remain eligible to receive an Oregon Promise Grant until the student has
completed more than 90 credit hours attempted at an eligible Oregon community college, or the
equivalent at a postsecondary institution of education, including those postsecondary credit hours
attempted while the student is enrolled in high school.

(3) The Commission may deny renewal of an award to any student failing to make satisfactory academic
progress as defined by the institution.
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(4) No Oregon Promise Grant shall be made to any student enrolled in a course of study required for and
leading to a degree in theology, divinity, or religious education.

(5) An Oregon Promise Grant recipient shall sign a statement of Selective Service Registration
Compliance in conformity with the requirements of Title IV student aid programes, if applicable.

(6) An Oregon Promise Grant recipient must be enrolled in an eligible program as defined by the
Commission.

(7) A student who fails to maintain a cumulative grade point average of 2.5 or better during each term
for which the student has received a grant may request that the requirement be waived by the office
according to rules adopted by the Commission.

(8) Notwithstanding any other provisions that provide for a waiver process, a student that fails to meet
the requirements of subsections (1)(a) and of this section, or who fails to meet the requirement of ORS
341.522(6)(a)(D) related to a first-year experience may remain eligible to receive an award in the
following term if the student is unable to meet the requirement due to actions taken by an institution
related to declarations of emergency or executive orders, or due to institutional actions in response to
significant enrollment declines caused by the issuance of such declarations or orders.

(a) The Commission may only waive the requirements for terms beginning or ending while such
declarations or orders are in effect, as determined by the Commission.

575-065-0065 (TEMP to PERM)
Conditions of Award

(1) Except for subsection (2)(b) and (3) below, the maximum period of scholarship eligibility shall not
exceed 12 quarters or 8 semesters, of undergraduate study.

(2) Except for paragraph (a) of this subsection and subsection (3) below, a recipient must be enrolled or
accepted for enrollment as a full-time undergraduate student, as defined by the eligible institution.

(a) The Commission may waive the full-time enrollment requirement for students who are enrolled less
than full-time provided a term of enrollment begins or ends during a period where there exists an active
state declaration of emergency or executive order restricting the operations of institutions of higher
education. A student shall receive a grant pursuant to this paragraph provided such student is, at
minimum, enrolled in course half-time.

(b) The Commission may extend the maximum period of scholarship eligibility for a student that receives
a waiver under paragraph (a) of this subsection during a period where there exists an active state
declaration of emergency or executive order restricting the operations of institutions of higher
education, provided such extension does not violate subsection (4) of ORS 348.272.

(3) Students whose statutory rights provide for a legitimate need to exceed 12 quarters or 8 semesters
of undergraduate study and/or to attend school for less than half-time undergraduate status may be
eligible to receive a scholarship.
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(4) The Commission may deny renewal of an award to any student failing to maintain satisfactory
academic progress as defined by the eligible institution.

(5) The Commission may deny renewal of an award to any student failing to continue to show financial
need.

(6) No scholarship shall be made to any student in default on any federal Title IV loan or owing a refund
on federal Title IV student aid programs.

(7) The Commission may require proof that the applicant is a Former Foster Child.
(8) A recipient must be enrolled in an eligible program as defined in 575-031-0016.

(9) A student who is otherwise eligible to receive the grant, but does not enroll or enrolls less than half-
time during a term for which there exists an active state declaration of emergency or executive order
restricting the operations of institutions of higher education, shall retain eligibility for or the right to
renew the grant in the next subsequent term. For the purpose of this subsection, a student shall not be
required to enroll in a summer term to retain eligibility.

575-095-0045 (TEMP)
Renewal of Award

Awards made under this program are renewable provided that:

(1) Except as provided in subsection (5), the awardee continues to be enrolled as at least a half-time
student in an approved program at an eligible institution;

(2) The awardee is making satisfactory academic progress, as defined by the institution;

(3) Except as provided in subsection (5), the awardee arranges for the Commission to receive a
transcript of the academic work completed in the prior year of award and a child care expense
document; and

(4) Each awardee’s child used to determine eligibility must continue to qualify under 575-095-0005(5).

(5) An awardee who fails to meet the requirements of subsections (1) and (3) may remain eligible to
receive an award in the following term if the student is unable to meet the requirement during a period
when there exists an active declaration of emergency or executive order restricting the operations of
institutions of higher education, or due to the temporary closure of the awardees usual child care facility
related to the issuance of the same or similar declarations or orders.

CHAPTER 583 (ODA)

NEW RULE (TEMP TO PERM)
583-030-XXXX

(1) The Commission may designate a school as temporarily closed if the following conditions are met:
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(a) The school must request “temporary closure” designation in writing from the Commission, subject to
approval of the Executive Director. That request must state the reason(s) for the request for temporary
closure status as set forth in (1)(b), including providing any documentation in support of the request as
required by the Commission, and a projected timeline for the resumption of educational operations.

(b) The Commission may grant temporary closure status if the requesting school ceases educational
operations due to unforeseeable or exigent circumstances including, but not limited to, property loss or
damage due to fire, flood, or other natural disaster; or inability of the owner, manager, or other key
staff to perform their duties due to extended illness or injury, as determined by the Executive Director.

(c) The Commission may grant temporary closure status to a school for not longer than twelve months
from the date of first request for the designation. Temporary closure status shall not result in the
revocation of the school’s authorization so long as the school is in compliance with all relevant laws.

(d) Schools granted temporary closure status shall providemake notice, teach out, transfer and refund
arrangements for currently enrolled students if the Commission directs the school to do so.

(e) Schools in temporary closure status must respond £e-in writing to requests from students and the
Commission for information, updates, and records within ten calendar days.

(f) Schools in temporary closure status must maintain state authorization, including a letter of credit or
surety bond.

(g) Schools in temporary closure status must maintain continuous accreditation with the current
regional or national accreditor, or its successor.

CHAPTER 715 (PCS)

715-045-0007 (TEMP TO PERM)
License Fees

(1)(a) Before issuing a career school license under ORS 345.010 to 345.450, the Executive Director shall
collect a nonrefundable, annual license fee based on the fee schedule below in OAR 715-045-0007(1)(c)

for In-State Schools and OAR 715-045-0007(1)(d) for Out-of-State Schools.

(b) For purposes of ORS 345.080, “tuition income” means “gross tuition income,” as that term is defined
at OAR 715-045-0001 and 715-045-0007.

(c) In-State Schools: Tuition Income Range — Fee:
(A) $0-15,000 — $1,014;
(B) 15,001-50,000 — $1,352;

(C) 50,001-125,000 — $1,690;
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(D) 125,001-250,000 — $2,409;

(E) 250,001-500,000 — $3,126;

(F) 500,001-750,000 — $3,845;

(G) 750,001-1,000,000 — $4,563;

(H) Over 1,000,000 — The base rate of (G) above plus $359 for every $250,000 over $1,000,000.
(d) Out-of-state Schools: Tuition Income Range — Fee:

(A) S0-50,000 — $3,126;

(B) 50,001-250,000 — $3,845;

(C) 250,001-500,000 — 4,563;

(D) 500,001-750,000 — $5,282;

(E) 750,001-1,000,000 — $6,000;

(F) Over 1,000,000 — The base rate of (E) above plus $359 for every $250,000 over $1,000,000.

(2)(a) Applications for a new license must be accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee of $5,200
for In-State applicants and $7,500 for Out-of-State applicants.

(b) Notwithstanding the fee schedule detailed in subsections (1)(c) and (1)(d), if an applicant for a career
school license received its application from the commission prior to the effective date of this rule, the
applicant shall pay the license fee listed on the application.

(3)(a) The Executive Director may temporarily extend the expiration date of a license already issued
upon request by a licensed school provided Oregon is under a declaration of emergency or executive
order that the Executive Director, in their discretion, believes impairs the ability of a school to renew a
license and remit the associated fee. An extension shall be for a period of three months from the initial
expiration date and may be renewed for a period of time not exceeding one year provided such
declaration of emergency or executive order remains in effect at the time the extension is issued.

(b) A school granted a license extension pursuant to this section shall submit to the Executive Director all
required license renewal materials, except for license fees, at the time required pursuant to the terms of
their license as though it was not extended.

(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections (a) and (b) of this section limiting the renewal of
license extensions, if a license extended pursuant to this section expires fewer than 90 days from the
day the Governor, through repeal or further executive action, cancels any applicable declaration of
emergency or executive orders, the license shall automatically be further extended and shall expire 90
days after such repeal or executive action.
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(d) Upon expiration of a license extended pursuant to this subsection, the Executive Director shall collect
a nonrefundable fee as published in this rule and, provided all requirements are met, shall issue a
license that expires one year from the date of expiration of the license previously issued, as though it
was not extended.

715-045-0029 (TEMP TO PERM)
Tuition Protection Fund

(1) There shall be a fund known as the Private Career School Tuition Protection Fund (as described in
ORS 345.110). The Tuition Protection Fund is hereby established in the custody of the State Treasurer.
The Executive Director of the Higher Education Coordinating Commission shall deposit in the fund all
monies received under this rule. Monies from the fund shall be spent only for the purposes under this
rule. Disbursements from the fund shall be on authorization from the commission and no appropriation
is required for such disbursements. All earnings on investments of the fund shall be credited to the fund.
To be and remain licensed, each private career school authorized in accordance with the provisions of
ORS Chapter 345 shall pay to the state an initial capitalization deposit and 14 semiannual payments. The
fund shall be initially capitalized at a minimum of $200,000 and shall achieve and maintain an operating
balance of at least $1 million. Said fund is intended to be a fund of last resort.

(2) Purpose of the fund:

(a) Students attending schools licensed by the State of Oregon, other than students covered by another
state's tuition protection, may apply to the commission, when a school ceases to provide educational
services, for a refund of tuition from the fund established pursuant to this rule to the extent that such
fund exists or has reached the level necessary to pay outstanding approved claims. The liability of the
fund for claims against the school shall not exceed the total amount of the liability limit assigned to the
school under subsection (3)(a) of this rule. Such limitation on each school's liability remains unchanged
by single or cumulative disbursements made on behalf of the school. If the commission’s executive
director finds that a student is entitled to a refund of tuition, the executive director shall determine the
amount of refund based on criteria established by the commission;

(b) The commission shall direct the State Treasurer to pay the refund on behalf of the student to the
student and/or the student's financial sponsor(s). If the student is a minor, payment shall be made to
the student's financial sponsor(s). Each recipient of a tuition refund shall, as a condition for receiving the
claim, assign all rights to the commission of any action against the school or its owner(s) for tuition
amounts reimbursed pursuant to this section;

(c) Upon such assignment, the executive director shall take appropriate action against the school or its
owner(s) in order to reimburse the Tuition Protection Fund for any expenses or claims that are paid
from the fund and to reimburse the commission for the reasonable and necessary expenses in
undertaking such action;

(d) The executive director shall attempt to recover from the school all funds disbursed from the Tuition
Protection Fund and other costs of recovery;

(e) The Tuition Protection Fund shall not be used to reimburse private party attorney fees;
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(f) Under no circumstances will any party, person or entity, other than the commission, be allowed to
access funds from the Tuition Protection Fund; and

(g) No liability accrues to the State of Oregon from claims made against the fund.
(3) Establishment of fund liability limits:

(a) The amount of liability that can be satisfied by this fund, on behalf of each individual school licensed
under this rule, shall be based on the gross tuition income reported on the last license renewal
application: [Table not included. See ED. NOTE]

(b) The calculation of gross annual tuition for a school located outside the State of Oregon shall include
only that income derived from residents of this state during the school's preceding year of operation, as
evidenced in the financial statement required by OAR 715581-045-0032;

(c) Institutions not yet in operation or otherwise lacking a full year's financial data prior to initial
licensing, shall have a liability limit calculated on the basis of an estimation of gross annual tuition;

(d) Each school subject to this rule shall submit to the commission in eash-erby-check-ormoney
erdercash, check, money order, or electronic payment as allowed by law, the following nonrefundable*
amounts for its initial capitalization deposit into the Tuition Protection Fund: [Table not included. See
ED. NOTE]

(e) After the date of its nonrefundable initial capitalization deposit, as a condition to remaining licensed,
each school shall remit to the commission for deposit into the Tuition Protection Fund semiannual
payments (on January 31 and July 31) in eash-erby-checkormeneyeordercash, check, money order, or
electronic payment as allowed by law, in accordance with the schedule in subsection (3)(d) of this rule. If
the semiannual payment is not postmarked (or date stamped if hand delivered to the Department)
before or on the due date, the commission may impose a civil penalty as allowed under ORS 345.995
and OAR 715-045-0190. Failure of a school to make payment within 30 days of due date shall be
grounds for suspension or revocation of the school's license; and

(f) The executive director shall prepare and mail to each licensee semiannual notices of the due dates
and amounts of deposits required under subsection (3) of this rule. Each notice shall include therein at
least once each year:

(A) A notation showing the licensee's aggregate prior deposits into the fund;

(B) A notation showing the licensee's balance of remaining payments based on the most recent deposit
received;

(C) A notation showing the cumulated balance existing in the fund at the most recent half-year
accounting; and

(D) A summary showing all disbursements made from the fund to satisfy claims in the period since the
last such similar summary was disseminated.
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(4) After disbursements made to settle claims reduce the operating balance below $500,000, and
recovery of such funds has not been ensured by the affected school within 30 days, the commission
shall assess each licensee a pro rata share of the amount required to restore the balance in the fund to
$500,000. When calculating each share, the commission shall employ a pro rata percentage of liability. If
the amount of any single such assessment equals or is less than the semiannual amount of deposit
established for the licensee, the assessment shall be paid within 30 days of notice. If any single
assessment exceeds the amount of its semiannual deposit, the school may apply to the commission for a
schedule of deferred payments. The commission shall grant such deferrals on application, but in no case
shall the time extended exceed one year beyond the date of an assessment.

(5) The executive director shall determine, based on annual financial data supplied by the school,
whether the semiannual deposit assigned to the school on the matrix established under subsection (3)
has changed. If an increase or decrease has occurred, a corresponding change in the semiannual deposit
shall be made before the date of its next scheduled deposit into the fund.

(6) When any ownership interest in a school is conveyed through sale or other means that results in the
transferee (buyer) owning more than 50 percent of the school, the contribution schedule of the prior
owner is canceled. All contributions made up to the date of the transfer accrue to the fund. The new
owner commences contributions under provisions applying to a new applicant. Exception shall be
granted to any transferee (buyer) who held more than 50 percent of the ownership interest prior to the
transfer and to any transferee who owned any interest in the school for more than four years prior to
the transfer. In such instances the transferee (buyer) shall provide the executive director with legal
evidence to validate the percent and time period of ownership.

(7) When deposits in the Tuition Protection Fund equal or exceed $1,000,000, the Commission may
transfer the amount in excess of $1,000,000 as necessary to support the critical operational needs as
determined by the Commission, of the unit of the Commission responsible for licensing and regulating
private career schools.

(a) Transfers for this purpose shall not exceed $200,000 in a single biennium.
(b) The Executive Director shall authorize any transfers made under this provision.

(c) The Commission shall notify any preexisting committees convened to advise the Director of Private
Postsecondary Education on private career school matters that a transfer has been made no later than
the first meeting of such committee after the transfer has been authorized. 8) When deposits in the
Tuition Protection Fund equal or exceed $3,000,000, and the history of disbursements so warrants, the
commission may reduce the schedule of deposits whether as to time, amount, or both. When such level
is achieved, the commission may return any excess funds to currently licensed schools that have
completed their required contributions to the fund.

(9) Additional procedures established to deal with a school that ceases to provide educational services:

(a) A school ceases to provide educational services when the school or a division of the school ceases to
provide classes or instruction;

(b) The executive director shall attempt to notify all potential claimants within 60 days of the date the
executive director determines a school has ceased to provide educational services. The absence of
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records and other circumstances may make it impossible or unreasonable for the executive director to
ascertain the name and address of each potential claimant, but the executive director shall make
reasonable inquiries to secure that information from all likely sources including but not limited to public
notification. The notification to students shall inform them of the opportunity and the deadline for
submitting claims against the Tuition Protection Fund;

(c) Claims against the Tuition Protection Fund may be made only by students who were enrolled at the
time a school ceases to provide educational services;

(d) All claims must be filed with the commission by the deadline established in the executive director's
notification. Each student filing a claim must specify and verify any and all sources and amounts of
tuition that were paid on the student's behalf. The commission may refuse to pay any claim that does
not contain sufficient verification or other information required by the executive director;

(e) The executive director shall not consider any claims filed after the deadline established in the
executive director's notification. Failure of a student to receive notification shall not be a basis for the
commission to consider any claims filed after the deadline;

(f) The executive director shall seek to recover such disbursed funds from the assets of the defaulted
school, including but not limited to asserting claims as a creditor in bankruptcy proceedings; and

(g) A school shall have no vested right, claim or interest in any deposit to the Tuition Protection Fund
and all payments shall accrue to the fund.

(10) In the event of a potential and actual school closure a school shall inform its students in writing of
their rights under the provisions governing the Tuition Protection Fund.

(11) If a school closure is in violation of OAR 715-045-0067, the commission may allocate monies from
the Tuition Protection Fund, as a fund of last resort, to teach-out arrangements for displaced students.
The liability level for teach-out costs shall be the same as that established in subsection (3) of this rule.
Students signing a written agreement as a result of this option would not be entitled to a refund from

the school or the Tuition Protection Fund.

(12) (a) In the event the Governor issues a declaration of emergency or executive orders that order or
directly lead to the temporary cessation of educational activity by a school required to make payments
for the Tuition Protection Fund, the Commission, at its discretion, may provide for such payments to be
deferred without interest or penalty. Payments may be deferred under this provision for three months,
renewable for a period not to exceed one year.

(b) Should the Governor, through repeal or further executive action, cancel any applicable declaration of
emergency or executive orders, any deferrals issued under this subsection shall be extended or reduced
as required to expire 90 days from such cancellation.

[NOTE: Tables referenced are available from the agency.]

715-045-0062 (TEMP TO PERM)
Application for Private Career School License Renewal



COVID 19 RELATED ADMINISTRATIVE RULE CHANGES (TEMPORARY AND TEMP-TO-PERMANENT)

(1) Each school shall annually renew its license. At least 60 calendar days prior to the anniversary date of
its license, the school must file with the Higher Education Coordinating Commission a completed
application for license renewal, including:

(a) Current financial reports as required by OAR 715-045-0032;
(b) Financial report certification form signed by the school’s owner or chief administrative officer;
(c) A current and accurate enrollment agreement or contract;

(d) A copy of the catalog that will be in effect for the instructional year that commences during the
reporting period for which the license is being renewed. The catalog submission must include an
indication of changes that have been made to the structure or wording of the catalog contents;

(e) A copy of any student handbook, addendums, or supplements to the school catalog, and any
additional policies and requirements provided to the student that will be in effect for the instructional
year that commences during the reporting period for which the license is being renewed. Submission of
these materials must include an indication of changes that have been made to the structure or wording
of these materials as previously approved by the Department;

(f) Copies of any advertising materials used to recruit new students;

(g) Affidavit of ownership form, signed by all owners holding more than 10% ownership in the school, or
by the chief corporate officer (other than the campus president) for publicly held companies;

(h) Affidavit of non-delinquency for student refunds, signed by the school owner or chief administrative
officer, as described by OAR 715-045-0032(1)(f);

(i) Student enrollment, completion, and placement information as described in subsection (3) of this
rule;

(j) Roster of all instructional staff utilized during the reporting period with dates of service and gross
earnings paid;

(k) Information regarding changes to the instructional design as described in subsection (4) of this rule;

() License renewal fee and any outstanding penalties, late fees, or other charges owing to the
commission.

(2) If a school has been licensed for three years or more and there are no changes in the school's
structure, the commission’s executive director may allow the school to submit an abbreviated renewal
application that confirms the school's compliance with applicable Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon
Administrative Rules. Such abbreviated renewal application shall include the required renewal fee.

(3) The school must provide the following information on the forms provided by the commission for the
reporting period:
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(a) Names and enrollment information for all students continuing from the prior enroliment period;

(b) Names and enrollment information for all students who enrolled in the program during the reporting
period;

(c) Names and enroliment information for all students who left the program without completing it
during the reporting period;

(d) Names and enrollment information for all students who transferred between programs during the
reporting period;

(e) Names and enrollment information for all students who were graduated from the program during
the reporting period; and

(f) Names of those who graduated and were placed or are working in directly related occupations during
the reporting period, along with employer information.

(4) If any changes have occurred in the instructional design for any course or program during the
previous reporting period or changes are anticipated during the new reporting period, these changes
will be submitted to the commission for review and approval.

(5) If the applicant school accepts enrollment of minors, or employs agents who have contact with
persons under the age of 18 on behalf of the applicant school, the provisions of OAR 715-045-0003 will
apply to any subject individuals the school currently employs or proposes to hire.

(6) An application for renewal of license shall be considered late if not postmarked (or date stamped if
hand delivered to the commission) before or on the due date. The executive director, as allowed under
ORS 345.995 and OAR 715-045-0190, may impose a late fee for each calendar day the renewal
application is late. Such fees, where applicable, shall be included with the renewal application.

(7) The commission may invoke license suspension as defined in OAR 715-045-0001 and begin license
revocation procedures when:

(a) A school fails to submit the application for license renewal by the due date as described in subsection
(1) of this rule;

(b) The application does not include accurate or adequate, or complete materials necessary for license
renewal; or

(c) The school has been issued a notice for corrective action and is not making satisfactory progress to
comply with all provisions of the program improvement plan.

(8) License renewal may be denied when a renewal application is incomplete or received by the
commission less than 30 days before the license expiration date-—, except that the Executive Director
may grant an extension of the current license pending completion of the renewal application if
requested by the school. Pursuant to ORS 183.484, denial of license renewal on these grounds is an
order in other than a contested case. Appeal of the decision to deny may be made by written request to
the Circuit Court within 60 days of the issuance of the denial order.
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(9) The executive director may conditionally approve a license renewal providing a school agrees to a
program improvement plan acceptable to the executive director. Conditional license approval shall be
subject to the provisions of ORS 345.030(8). The conditional license issued by the commission shall
include the period and dates of effectiveness of the license.



