College Opportunity Grant Tax Credit Auction, 2021 tax year
UPDATE: 2021 College Opportunity Grant Tax Credit Auction Certificates were printed on January 7, 2022. Please allow two weeks for processing and mailing before requesting a replacement certificate.
The annual College Opportunity Grant Tax Credit auction for the 2021 tax year took place on December 6-10, 2021.
In 2018, the Oregon Legislature passed Senate Bill 1528 creating a tax credit auction for contributions to the state-administered Oregon Opportunity Grant fund, modeled after the Oregon Film and Video Office auction. The contributions will support need-based financial aid awarded to Oregon college and university students to support college affordability and success.
Individuals and businesses with an Oregon income tax liability may bid on certificates, and winning bidders may claim the credits on their 2021 Oregon income tax returns. Any credit that can’t be used on the 2021 return can be carried forward for up to three years.
The College Opportunity Grant Tax Credit program is authorized to issue up to $14 million worth of tax credits per year. The Auction is administered by the Oregon Department of Revenue.
What is the Oregon Opportunity Grant (OOG)?
The Oregon Opportunity Grant (OOG) is the state’s longstanding need-based grant program for postsecondary education. The OOG is critical to supporting college affordability for more than 30,000 students a year, but state funding for the OOG has for years been insufficient to support the college costs of all eligible students. The contributions from the auction will be used to increase the number of grants to eligible low and middle-income students, increase the value of the per-student award, or a combination of both options.
2021 Tax Year, December 2021 Auction Details
Instructions will be available on the Department of Revenue Tax credit auction website here on how to bid online for the College Opportunity Grant Tax Credit auction to be held on December 6-10 2021.
No bids will be accepted before or after the designated times..
Bidders must submit payment along with the Tax Credit Auction Form (Form OR-TCA) by Friday of the week following the close of the auction. Further directions are on the DOR website. The credit certificates will be in $500 increments and the minimum bid will be $450.
Bidders should consult their tax advisor if they have questions about the tax treatment of purchased state tax credits.