
Z:\Shared\Forms\Modified License forms\0 - ENGLISH Modified License FAQs Rev.docx 

Oregon Landscape Contractors Board 
2111 Front St NE, Ste 2-101 
Salem, OR 97301              
(503) 967-6291 phone ▪ (503) 967-6298 fax 
Email: lcb.info@oregon.gov  
www.oregon.gov/lcb 

 

Modified License FAQs 
Frequently Asked Questions  

 
1. What is a modified license?  

The modified license is another phase of license with the Landscape Contractors Board that 
allows for a limited amount of landscape work to be performed with reduced qualification 
requirements and testing.  
 

2. What are the requirements?  
 One-year landscape related experience within the last ten (10) years. 
 Must pass the Laws, Rules and Business Practice section of the exam.  
 No piercing of the dwelling is allowed.  
 Subcontracting is allowed (within the job limits listed below). 
 May not be holder of a license as a residential or commercial general contrator with 

the Oregon Contstruction Contractors Board. 
 

3. What does a modified license allow me to do?  
A modified license holder may perform up to $5,000 of allowed landscape work listed below 
per job site, per customer, per year. An increase to $6,500 may be allowed after 12 months 
without a claim filed or civil penalty issued.  

• Planting (lawns, shrubs, vines, trees, or nursery stock) 
• Preparing the property for planting  
• Fences 
• Decks (when no permit is required) 
• Arbors  
• Patios  
• Landscape edging 
• Driveways  
• Walkways 
• Grading (with allowed landscaping, not to exceed 5 cubic yards) 

 
4. What am I NOT allowed to do with a modified license?  

• Drainage  
• Ornamental water features 
• Irrigation  
• Backflow  
• Low voltage lighting (allowed after 12 mos. without a claim filed or civil penalty 

issued) 
• Retaining walls  
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5. What if I am already partially licensed? (e.g.; irrigation only, planting only) 
You may hold one license type or the other; modified license or another phase. They cannot 
be combined.  
 

6. What if I have already passed some sections of the written exam?  
If you have already passed the Laws, Rules and Business Practice section of the exam 
within the last two years you may already be eligible to have an individual modified license 
issued. Please contact the office for more information.  
 

7. What if my application has expired?  
You will need to reapply if your application is expired. A new application can be found on 
our website or you may call the office to have one sent to you.  
 
If it has been 2 years since you last applied or tested, your application may be expired. 
Please contact the office to verify the staus of your application. 
 

8. What if I am already licensed with the Construction Contractors Board (CCB)?  
By law, holders of a residential or commerical general contractor’s license with the CCB 
cannot be issued a modified license. However, it is allowable for CCB licensees to hold all 
other phases of a landscape contractor licenses (e.g.; planting only, irrigation and backflow 
only, standard, or all-phase) after passing the required exams.  
 
 

9. Can I perform multiple jobs for the same customer each year?  
Yes, as long as the total of all contracts does not exceed the total dollar amount outlined in 
question #3.  
 

10. Do I also need a business license?  
Yes. After passing the Laws, Rules and Business Practice section of the exam, you must 
obtain a business license and must be the owner of the business. Both the individual license 
and business license are required before work can be performed.  
 

11. What are the bonding and insurance requirements?  
The bonding and insurance requirements are the same as any other landscaping license.  

 
12. Is there a requirement for continuing education?  

Yes. Continuing education requiremnts are the same for all license phases.  
 
 

 
 

For more information, please call or email the LCB office: (503) 967-6291  
or email us at: lcb.info@oregon.gov 
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