Skip to the main content of the page

 Newsroom Detail


Salem, OR—Governor Kate Brown today announced the appointment of Alexis Taylor as Director of the Oregon Department of Agriculture . Taylor, currently the Deputy Under Secretary for the Farm and Foreign Agriculture Services at the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) , begins Jan. 23, pending Oregon Senate confirmation in December.

"Alexis brings a passion for agriculture, rooted in her Midwest, family-owned farm upbringing," Governor Brown said. "I look forward to welcoming Alexis, who will be a strong advocate for our rural communities and Oregon's incredibly diverse agriculture sector."

In her role at USDA, Taylor is responsible for advancing international trade policy and leads efforts with states to support and open new, international market opportunities for U.S. food and agriculture producers. Additionally, Taylor leads the USDA's Women in Agriculture Initiative , dedicated to fostering and growing a mentoring network for women pursuing careers in agriculture across the country.

Before joining USDA, Taylor served as the legislative advisor to members of the House Committee on Agriculture and Senate Finance Committee . During her time in Congress, Taylor negotiated key provisions of the 2008 Farm Bill, as well as the Senate version of the 2012 Farm Bill which was ultimately enacted into law as the 2014 Farm Bill.

Taylor is a veteran of the Army Reserves and graduate of Iowa State University. Taylor, if confirmed by the Oregon Senate, succeeds Lisa Hanson, who was appointed Oct. 1 as interim director of the Department of Agriculture.

Governor Brown also announced today the appointment of Barry Pack as Director of the Oregon Lottery , effective Nov. 17 and pending Senate confirmation in December. Previously, Pack held several leadership positions at the Department of Administrative Services, including as Chief Administrative Officer and Director. Since April 2016, he has served as acting director of the Oregon Lottery. Pack will continue overseeing the administration of the Lottery and serving as Secretary and Executive Officer of the Oregon Lottery Commission .




Kristen Grainger
Bryan Hockaday
Melissa Navas
Improving Government