Skip to main content Homepage


 Newsroom Detail

Salem, OR—Governor Kate Brown approved Deschutes, Jefferson, and Umatilla counties to move to Phase 2 of reopening on June 6 under her framework for building a safe and strong Oregon.

County officials submitted letters to the Governor’s Office requesting entry into Phase 2, and confirming their counties met Oregon’s safety and preparedness prerequisites for Phase 2 .

State health officials yesterday worked with local public health officials to conduct an additional level of review of Deschutes, Jefferson, and Umatilla County data to ensure they met the prerequisites and are successfully tracing and isolating new cases.

In Deschutes County, the new COVID-19 cases were traced to a known outbreak or were associated with out-of-state travel.

Jefferson County started with a comparatively low number of cases. Public health officials have now made contact with 100 percent of all new cases. Jefferson County public health officials are also working closely with tribal health officials at Warm Springs to respond in the county.

In Umatilla County, the county saw an increase from a comparatively low baseline. Public health officials have made timely contact with all new cases. The public health investigation has not shown ongoing community spread as the source of the cases. Public health officials continue to trace new cases, in collaboration with their counterparts in Washington.

The Oregon Health Authority will continue to monitor COVID-19 metrics for each county. Members of the public with questions about the reopening process are encouraged to visit .

Contact Information

Liz Merah
Nikki Fisher
Charles Boyle



Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how