Skip to main content Homepage


 Newsroom Detail

Fagan takes over for outgoing chair, John Miller
Salem, OR—Oregon Secretary of State Shemia Fagan assumed the role of chair of the Oregon Sustainability Board today at their fall quarterly meeting. Outgoing chair, John Miller, provided a smooth handoff; Oregon Governor Kate Brown was also in attendance to provide welcoming remarks for the new chair and the board.

“I’m really looking forward to digging in with the Oregon Sustainability Board as we lead the way for state agencies and others to manage our finite resources and educate the public about sustainable practices. Oregonians place a tremendous value on sustainability and wise management, and this high-functioning Board takes their responsibility to Oregonians seriously,” said Oregon Secretary of State Shemia Fagan, adding, “The entire board and I are immensely grateful to outgoing chair John Miller for his visionary leadership these last six years.”

The Oregon Sustainability Board (OSB) was created in 2001 and encourages activities that best sustain, protect, and enhance the environment, economy, and community for the present and future benefit of Oregonians. Appointed by the Governor, members represent a variety of stakeholders across the State of Oregon.
“I’m delighted to see Oregon’s Secretary of State take over as chair of the Sustainability Board,” said Governor Kate Brown. “Over the last two decades, this board has done important work to elevate sustainability issues and improve state agency operations. I’m confident Secretary Fagan will bring energy and vision to this job as sustainability becomes increasingly important in the face of climate change.”

The Board play an important oversight role in the development of state agency sustainability plans, providing expert feedback and guidance to support the State’s overall sustainability goals. Upon its inception, the Board was chaired by then Secretary of State Bill Bradbury and later then-Secretary Kate Brown. The board is comprised of a chair directly appointed by the Governor and ten members appointed by the Governor and approved by the Senate.
For more information on the Oregon Sustainability Board, visit the board’s website:

Contact Information

Carla Axtman



Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how