
right to access the child’s 
medical, dental and    
psychological records, but 
counseling records are 
not considered 
“psychological records”.  
Non-custodial parents do 
not have a right to receive 
a child’s counseling    
records developed by an 
LPC, LMFT, or registered 
intern without the written 
consent of the custodial 
parent.  The non-
custodial parent does 
have the right to consult 
and receive verbal up-
dates from the licensee/
intern. 

If you have questions, 
please contact Brian 
Johnson at (503) 378-
5499 ext. 4 or 
LPCT.Investigator@state.
or.us. 

sent an emergency, a 
non-custodial parent may 
not authorize counseling    
services for a minor.  In 
cases involving children 
of a divorce, licensees 
must ensure that the   
parent requesting     
counseling has the legal 
authority to do so.       
Licensees/interns should 
ask for a copy of the   
custody agreement or 
obtain written consent 
from the custodial parent.  
If parents share joint   
custody, either parent 
may authorize counsel-
ing. 

3. Releasing records of 
minors:  The law        
appears to restrict a non-
custodial parent’s access 
to a child’s counseling 
records. ORS 107.154(3) 
provides that a non-
custodial parent has the 

Regulating the unli-
censed practice of      
psychology is one of the 
Oregon Board of        
Psychologist Examiner’s 
major public protection 
functions. In general, a 
person may not practice 
psychology without a   

license. However, many 
non-psychologist       
practitioners fall into   
various exemptions    
created by the legislature. 

A person licensed by    
another mental health   
licensing board may not 
use the title 

“psychologist,” but may     
provide some psychologi-
cal services, so long as 
the services are within 
the lawful scope of his or 
her license. An LPC, 
LMFT or Intern licensed 
or registered by the Ore-
gon Board of Licensed  

In response to many   
recent questions, here is 
the Board’s understand-
ing of issues relating to 
LPCs, LMFTs and       
registered interns treating 
minors (under age 18) in 
Oregon: 

1. Parental consent    
required: LPCs, LMFTs 
and registered interns 
must have parental con-
sent to treat minors.   
Oregon law allows some 
health care professionals 
to provide services to 
minors 14 years of age 
and older without        
parental consent, but 
LPCs and LMFTs are not 
included in the list, unless 
they are part of an      
approved community 
mental health program. 

2. Custodial vs. non-
custodial parents:  Ab-

Treating Minors 

What is Unlicensed Practice of Psychology? 
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The Board office is open 
Monday through Friday 
from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm 
Monday through Friday. 

 

The remaining 2011/12 
office closures for state       
mandated furlough days 
and holidays are: 

 

September 16, 2011 

November 23, 2011 

November 24, 2011 

December 26, 2011 

January 2, 2012 

 



contact Connie Brown at 
(503) 378-5499 ext. 2 or 
email Ms. Brown at con-
nie.brown@state.or.us.  

The Board does not pre-
approve continuing     
education courses or 
seminars. 

Please refer to OAR 833-
080-0031. If the course/
seminar satisfies the cri-
teria listed in the adminis-
trative rules, then it 
should satisfy the CEU 
requirements. 

2012 is fast approaching 
and this means that it is 
time for all licensees to 
report their continuing 
education units (CEUs) 
for the previous 2 years.  
The requirement for   
CEUs is 40 hours every 
two years including six 
units of   ethics training.  
The   number of CEUs 
reported to the Board is            
determined by your initial 
license date.                    
If you received your initial 
license 0-11 months prior 
to your renewal date then 

you do not need  to report 
CEUs for that period.                              
If you received your initial 
license 12-23 months 
prior to your renewal date 
then you must report 20 
hours of  CEUs, including 
3 hours of ethics.                          
If you received your initial 
license 24 months or 
more prior to your       
renewal date then you 
must report 40 hours of 
CEUs. Including 6 hours 
of ethics.                          
If you have any questions 
regarding your CEUs  

intern’s start date, initial 
reporting period and report 
due date prior to the official 
notification. 

Please note that if the 
Board receives a six-month 
report after the due date, 
the hours reported for that 
six-month period will be 
denied. 

Interns registered with the 
board have six month   
reporting periods based 
upon their individual start 
dates.  The start date,  
initial reporting period and 
report due date are found 
on the official notification 
letter sent to each intern 
upon completion of the 
registration process (a 
copy of the registration 

letter is provided to the 
initial supervisor).  An   
intern’s official notification 
letter may be delayed by 
the criminal background 
check process. However, 
the Board allows interns to 
begin collecting hours and 
supervision prior to receiv-
ing the official letter. The 
Board staff contacts each 
intern  and provides the 

The Board maintains a 
Listserv that posts      
education and workshop 
opportunities. Please visit 
the Board’s website at 
www.oregon.gov/oblpct to 
sign up for the listserv. 
The link is located on the 
right side of the home 
page under Licensee and 
Intern Information. 

Unlicensed Practice of 
Psychology (continued) 

Professional Counselors 
and Therapists may    
provide psychological 
services.                                                         
For more information,   
contact the Oregon Board 
of Psychologist Examin-
ers at www.oregon.gov/
obpe or (503) 373-1196. 

 

 

Do not anticipate trouble, 
or worry about what may 
never happen. Keep in 
the sunlight. Benjamin 
Franklin 

Board Staff 
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Executive Director            
(503) 378-5499 ext. 3 

Connie Brown                   
Licensing Coordinator      
(503) 378-5499 ext. 2 
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(503) 378-5499 ext. 1 

Brian Johnson                   
Investigator                        
(503) 378-5499 ext. 4 
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———————— 

Licensees 

1,804 Oregon LPCs 

499 Oregon LMFTs  

Average age of Licensees 52 

Average number of years 
licensed was 9 

(as of August 1, 2011) 

———————— 

Registered Interns 

759 Registered Interns 

Average age of Interns 31 

(as of August 1, 2011) 

———————— 

Number of  

Complaints Received 

28 — 2008 

38 — 2009 

59 — 2010 

———————— 

 

 

Please email your ideas or  
suggestions for Newsletter 
articles to: 
lpct.board@state.or.us 


