
OREGON BOARD OF MEDICAL IMAGING 
800 NE Oregon Street – Suite 1160A 

Portland, OR 97232-2162 
Phone: (971) 673-0215 / Fax: 971-673-0218 

Website: http://www.oregon.gov/OBMI 
Email: OBMI.Info@state.or.us

PERMANENT MEDICAL IMAGING LICENSE RENEWAL
Cost: $124.00 

($120.00 for a two year license + $4.00 Workforce Survey Surcharge.) 

 YES!  I Have Completed the Health Workforce Questionnaire Online

 Found on the OBMI Home Page at: http://www.oregon.gov/obmi 

Enter the Survey Completion Code, provided at the end of the questionnaire: _____________ 

 Magnetic Resonance Imaging Technologist  Radiology Practitioner Assistant 

 Nuclear Medicine Technologist     Registered Radiologist Assistant  

  Radiation Therapist      Sonographer (Ultrasound Technologist) 

 Radiographer (Radiologic Technologist) 

Incomplete information, including necessary documents and funds will delay your license.   Allow 5- Working Days for processing provided you do not have criminal history. 
Mail your completed application to the name and address listed above. 

Part 1: About You. 

Last Name: First Name: Middle Name: 
Maiden/ or 
Other 

Social Security No. 
(Mandatory)

Driver’s 
License No. 

State 
Issued In: OBMI No. 

Part 2: Contact Information. 

Mailing Address (or P.O. Box): 

City: State: Zip-Code 

Cell Phone No. Home Phone No. 

Home 
Email Address: 

 Work 
 Email Address: 

(Protected From Release Unless Legally Compelled) 

Part 3: Oregon Employer (Or Prospective) 

Oregon Employer (or Prospective): 

Employer’s Address: 

City: Zip-Code: Work Phone No: 

Supervisor’s Name: Supervisor’s Title: Your Start Date: 

Date Application Was Received
For Office Use Only)   Deposit No.  LEDS Verified? OMBI License No. 
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Part 4: Credentialing – (You Must Attach A Photocopy of Each Current Registry Card.) 
 

(You are not eligible to apply if you are on Continuing Education (CE) Probation with the registry.) 
               

Name of 
Registry: 

  
Registry 
No. 

  
Exp. 
Date: 

  
C.E. 
Compliant?  YES   NO 

 

Name of 
Registry: 

  
Registry 
No. 

  
Exp. 
Date: 

  
C.E. 
Compliant?  YES   NO 

 

If you are not currently credentialed with any of the Board’s recognized registries representing the modalities in which you 
operate, please call our office for further assistance at 971-673-0217. 
 

Part 5:  Personal Background History (See “Criminal Background Checks – Frequently Asked Questions.”) 
 

Please Read Carefully – Criminal History Disclosure Is Mandatory. 
 

As part of the license process, a criminal history check will be completed on all new or renewal applicants.  Note that a criminal record is not 
necessarily a disqualifier from licensure.  However, information about certain types of offenses must be reported and documented, even if 
the charges were dismissed, reduced or later dropped.  If you fail to report an incident that are required to be reported, the outcome can 
result in a civil penalty.  Disciplinary cases become a permanent part of your record.  We are required to report all disciplinary cases to the 
National Practitioners Database.  The Board also reports disciplinary cases to your national registry. 
 

 

For the following incidents, you must report the incident by checking a “YES” or “NO” box. 

If you check any “YES” box, you must provide both an arrest report and the court document for each arrest. 

YES NO  

** Your Arrest Record will only be available from the arresting agency. (Sheriff – Police – State Police) 

** Your Court Record will only be available from the courthouse where you appeared. 
    (The courthouse will not have your arrest record.) 

   

1.) Have You Had any Felony conviction(s) since your last license or permit was issued?   

2.) Have You Had any Felony arrest(s) since your last license or permit was issued?   

3.) 
Have you had any Misdemeanor conviction(s) that occurred since your last license or permit was 
issued? 

  

4.) 
Have you had any Misdemeanor arrest(s) for a crime against a person that occurred since your last 
license or permit was issued. 

  

5.) 
Have you had any Misdemeanor arrest(s) for intoxicants or illegal drugs that occurred since your last 
license or permit was issued. 

  

6.) 
Since your last license was issued or renewed do you have any pending disciplinary investigations or 
actions taken against you by any licensing agency or imaging registry that you haven’t reported to the 
Board of Medical Imaging? 

  

   

 
USE THIS SUPPLEMENTAL CRIMINAL HISTORY FORM TO REPORT ANY RECENT 

CRIMINAL HISTORY THAT THE BOARD REQUIRES YOU TO DISCLOSE.     
 

Part 6:  Agreement 
    

As part of your application for initial or renewed occupational or professional license, certification, or registration issued by the Board of Medical Imaging, you are required to 
provide your Social Security number (SSN) to the Board. This is mandatory. The authority for this requirement is ORS 25.785, ORS 305.385, 42 USC §405(c)(2)(C)(i), 42 USC § 
666(a)(13), and 41 CFR 61.7. Failure to provide your SSN will be a basis to refuse to issue or renew the license, certification, or registration you seek. This record of your SSN is 
used for child support enforcement and tax administration purposes (including identification). The Board will use your SSN for these purposes only, unless you authorize other uses 
of the number. Your SSN will remain on file with the Board. 

 

I have examined this application and certify that it is true, correct, and complete. I understand that knowingly making a false statement on this application will be cause for denial, 
suspension, or revocation of my license.. I have enclosed the required fees and documentation. 
 
 
 

          ______________________________________________________________________                        _______________________________________________________ 
        Signature of Applicant                                                                                                                          Date 

 

ORS 181.534, 670.280, 688.455, 688.515, 688.525, 688.557 authorize the Board to conduct criminal background checks and the office requests that you voluntarily provide your 
Social Security number for this purpose. I understand my application may be subject to a criminal background check. 
Before issuing a default final order, the Board must determine the military status of a Respondent, under 50 USC App § 521(b) (Supp. 2005). Your Social Security Number may be 
used in order to verify your military status (or lack thereof). 

  

If any disciplinary action is taken against your license, certification, or registration, your Social Security Number may be reported to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) 
under Title IV of Public Law 99-660, the Health Care Quality Improvement Act of 1986 (Title IV); Section 1921 of the Social Security Act (Section 1921); Section 1128E of the Social 
Security Act (Section 1128E); and their implementing regulations found at 45 CFR Part 60. 
I hereby voluntarily consent to disclose my Social Security number to the Board for criminal background checks, verification of military status, and reports to the National 
Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). Failure to provide your Social Security number for these purposes will not be used as a basis to deny your application, or to deny you any right, 
benefit or privilege provided by law. If you consent to the use of your Social Security number by the Board for these purposes, it may be used only for these purposes. 
 
 
 

             _______________________________________________________________________                         _________________________________________________________________ 

         Signature of Applicant                                                                                                                           Date 

 

 

Mail Complete Application and Fee To: OBMI – 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 1160A – Portland, OR 97232 – Make Check(s) Payable to: OBMI 
If you need help filling out this application or have questions – please call us at: 971-673-0215.  Or email us at: OBMI.Info@state.or.us with your questions. 

/OBMI/docs/Permanent_Initial_Limited_Permit_Application_01.01.2019.doc
/OBMI/docs/Supplemental-Criminal-History-Form.pdf
/OBMI/docs/Supplemental-Criminal-History-Form.pdf
mailto:OBMI.Info@state.or.us
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- OBMI Renewal Checklist -  
 

Before Mailing Your Renewal Please Check To See If You Remembered All the Required Documents. 
 
 

  Application. 
 

  A Photocopy of of Your Registry Card(s). 
 

  A Personal Check, Money Order or Cashier’s Check for the Amount $124.00. 
 

  A Late Fee for the Amount of $25.00.  This only applies if your renewal is not completed online or 
received in the OBMI office prior to your expiration date expiration. 
 

   Also – If you have had criminal background history – did you include all of the 
       following required documents. 

 
1.) A Copy of your Police Report(s) for each arrest.  (Your arrest record will only be available 

at the agency that arrested you.  The courthouse will not have your arrest report.) 
 
2.) A Copy of your Court Document(s) for each arrest.  (Your court documents will be 

available where you were arraigned and/or a judgement was imposed on you.) 
 

3.) A Personal Letter of Explanation for each arrest.  (You need to sign and date your letter.) 
 

  YES!  I Have Completed the Health Workforce Questionnaire Online 
                Find it on the OBMI Home Page at:  http://www.oregon.gov/obmi 

 
  Enter the Survey Completion Code, provided at the end of the online questionnaire: _____________ 

_____________________________________________________ 
 

RENEW ONLINE! 

 
You also have the option to  

“Renew your Permanent License Online”  
Use the following Link: 

https://hrlb.oregon.gov/obmi/renewals/index.asp 
    

This option is only available up to 30-days after your license expires. 
After that time you must mail your application & payment into our office for processing. 

 

 
 

Accepted Payment is by Credit or Debit Card.   
Your Card Must Have A Visa Or MasterCard Logo On it. 

 

http://www.oregon.gov/obmi
https://hrlb.oregon.gov/obmi/renewals/index.asp
https://hrlb.oregon.gov/obmi/renewals/index.asp


Rev.10.01.2019                                                                                            Page 4 of 4 
                     

 
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS 

 
 
WHY DOES THE OREGON BOARD OF MEDICAL IMAGING REQUIRE CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS? 
The Board reviews criminal history as part of the application process, including police records, court records, and an applicant’s letter of explanation 
for each incident.  Because OBMI issues licenses for people to work in a highly specialized profession that deals with patients who may be in a 
vulnerable position, the Board needs to know if applicants have engaged in certain kinds of conduct, as listed in ORS 688.525. 
 
WILL PAST CRIMINAL ACTION DISQUALIFY MY APPLICATION?   Prior criminal history does not automatically disqualify an applicant from licensure.  
The Board evaluates each application on an individual basis.   
 
 
WHAT DO I NEED TO REPORT?   
 

 

With any  renewal application, you must report specific arrests and criminal court actions that have not been 
previously reported to the Board.  Those actions that must be reported are: 
   

REPORT IT? 

1. Any Felony conviction(s) since your last license or permit was last issued? Yes 

2. Any Felony arrest(s) since your last license or permit was last issued? 
 

Yes 

3. Any Misdemeanor conviction(s) that occurred since your last license or permit was last issued? 
 

Yes 
4. Any Misdemeanor arrest(s) for a crime against a person that occurred since your last license or permit was 

last issued. 
 

Yes 
5. Any Misdemeanor arrest(s) for intoxicants or illegal drugs that occurred since your last license or permit was 

issued? 
 

Yes 
 

Some examples/questions to consider, when deciding what to report:  If I have any of the above five categories of 
offenses, that have not been previously reported to the Board, do I need to report them if… 
    

REPORT IT? 

 I was arrested for a domestic disturbance for which no complaint was ever filed?………………… Yes 

 I completed all probation requirements and the case was dropped or dismissed?….......................... Yes 

 I was arrested and/or convicted but the incident has not shown up on any prior background check?.. Yes 

 The charges were later dropped or dismissed?…………………………….……………………….. Yes 

 I received a citation for a simple misdemeanor, but was not detained by police?………………….. Yes 

 The police later admitted that they arrested me by mistake?……………………………………….. Yes 

 I was stopped for a speeding violation or other minor traffic violation?........................................... No 

 
 
WHAT IF MY ATTORNEY TOLD ME THAT MY RECORD WAS “EXPUNGED”? 
Some applicants confuse dismissal with expungement, but they are not the same.  The only action that can fully erase a criminal arrest and conviction 
in Oregon is an expungement.  There is a statutory process for having a record expunged.  You do not need to report an arrest/conviction that has 
been expunged.   
 
HOW DOES OBMI COMPLETE THE CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK? 
For first-time license and permit applicants, the OBMI submits your fingerprints to the FBI and the Oregon State Police, to complete a comprehensive 
background check that will uncover most any prior arrest or court action from any state, no matter how minor or how long ago it occurred, including 
arrests in which the charges were later dropped.  For renewal applicants, the OBMI completes a criminal background check through the Oregon State 
Police. 
 
WHAT IF I AM UNABLE TO OBTAIN REQUIRED ARREST RECORDS AND COURT RECORDS? 
We require copies of any available police reports and court documents for each incident that must be reported, if there was an arrest and/or court 
action.  If you cannot obtain the arrest records or court records, you must provide a letter from the respective police department and/or court stating 
that the records regarding your arrest or court action are not available.   
 
WHAT IF I REPORTED THE ARREST/CONVICTION ON A PREVIOUS APPLICATION? 
If you have already reported an incident on your initial application or renewal application, you do not need to report it again.   
 
WHAT HAPPENS IF I FAIL TO REPORT AN ARREST OR COURT ACTION?   
Any failure to fully disclose criminal history will be reviewed by the Board and may be subject to a civil penalty and permanent disciplinary action 
against your license.   
 
QUESTIONS:  Do not hesitate to call the OBMI office a 971-673-0215 or email to OBMI.info@state.or.us.   

 

mailto:OBMI.info@state.or.us
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