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December 2014 
 

BOARD OF MEDICAL IMAGING 

* * * DECEMBER 2014 UPDATE * * * 
BEGINNING IN 2017, MUST HAVE (CT) CREDENTIAL TO DO COMPUTED TOMOGRAPHY 
The Oregon Board of Medical Imaging (OBMI) approved a permanent rule that will require technologists to 

have earned a computed tomography (CT) subspecialty credential, to perform diagnostic computed tomography 

on or after January 1, 2017.  After that date, the new rule will require a CT credential for all radiographers, 

radiation therapists and nuclear medicine technologists who practice diagnostic CT, including cone beam CT.  

Technologists without a CT credential will be eligible to practice diagnostic CT only after obtaining a temporary 

CT license, which will be available for up to 12 months and which will require them to practice under 

supervision.  The temporary license will enable CT candidates to complete supervised clinical prerequisites 

necessary to sit for a CT credentialing examination.  This new subspecialty credential requirement will only 

apply to diagnostic CT and will not apply to: 

 Radiographers or radiation therapists operating the CT attenuation correction portion of the hybrid 

imager; or 

 Licensed nuclear medicine technologists operating PET and attenuation correction portion of the hybrid 

imager.    

 

Board Proposes New Rule to Allow Waiver of CT Requirement – Comment Until January 5 
In a separate rulemaking, the OBMI is proposing to give the Board the option to waive the CT subspecialty 

requirement, on a case-by-case basis, for CT-experienced technologists in state-designated rural hospitals 

who are not able to obtain the CT registry credential but who are able to pass a CT registry examination 

under state sponsorship.  You can find details on the proposed waiver rule, and how you can submit an 

official comment, on the OBMI’s home page at www.oregon.gov/obmi.  By law, the OBMI is not permitted 

to consider comments submitted after January 5, 2015.   

 

FINGERPRINT CHECK REQUIRED FOR ALL INITIAL LICENSE/PERMIT APPLICATIONS 

In keeping with its mission to protect the public health and safety, the Oregon Board of Medical Imaging is 

implementing a new process to require initial license and permit applicants – not renewals—to undergo a 

comprehensive national fingerprint criminal background check, beginning January 1, 2015.  This will require 

first-time applicants to pay OBMI a one-time $52 fingerprint fee, as part of their initial application.  (In addition, 

initial license applicants will need to pay a separate fee at the location where they have their prints taken.)  

Detailed instructions will be included on initial license forms.   

 With several hundred new applicants every year, including a substantial number of out-of-state residents 

seeking Oregon licensure, the Board believes it can better meet its mission to protect the public by instituting a 

more comprehensive criminal background verification process for initial applicants.  (Licensees who are 

fingerprinted for a temporary initial license or permit will not need to be fingerprinted again if they apply for a 

permanent initial license or permit during or immediately after the temporary licensure is in force.)   

 Similar to what the Oregon State Board of Nursing charges, the one-time $52 fingerprint fee will be 

divided three ways, with $28 going to pay the Oregon State Police, $16.50 going to the FBI and $7.50 staying 

with the OBMI for administrative expenses related to handling the background check.  Renewal applicants will 

continue to be checked through the state police, with no added fee and no fingerprint requirement.  
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GOVERNOR ENDORSES OBMI LEGISLATION TO RESTRUCTURE BOARD MEMBERSHIP 
Governor Kitzhaber has approved the OBMI’s proposed 2015 legislation to restructure the Board membership to 

include at least one physician and to expand the number of Board slots available to licensees or public members.  

Board membership would also be available to limited x-ray permit holders.  These changes would be 

accomplished without altering the overall size of the Board (12 voting members), by reducing the mandated 

number of physician members from four to one, and allowing three (currently vacant) slots reserved for 

physicians to be filled by either physicians, imaging licensees, limited permit holders, or public members.  The 

Board proposed the legislative concept primarily due to the difficulty in finding physicians able to serve on the 

Board.  Next stop is the Oregon State Legislature for consideration during the 2015 session in Salem.    

 

ARRT FEE FOR LIMITED EXAM INCREASES TO $125 ON JANUARY 1, 2015 
The OBMI has been informed by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists that the ARRT will 

increase their fee to sit for the examination for both the Limited Scope of Practice in Radiography and Bone 

Densitometry Equipment Operator.  Effective January 1, 2015, the ARRT fee for these exams will increase from 

$100 to $125.  All ARRT exam applications received in the office after January 1
st
 will need to reflect the higher 

fee level.  (The OBMI portion of the fee will remain unchanged -- $20 for each examination category for which 

the student is tested, added to the ARRT exam fee.)    

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
CONTACT US:  Main number is 971-673-0215 or email to OBMI.Info@state.or.us.   
Our mailing address is: 
 Oregon Board of Medical Imaging 
 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 1160A 
 Portland, OR  97232 

 
QUESTIONS/COMMENTS/FEEDBACK:   
 Ed Conlow, Executive Director, 971-673-0216; ed.conlow@state.or.us.  

2015 Board 

Meeting Dates: 
 

Jan. 16, 2015 

April 17, 2015 

July 24, 2015 

Oct. 23, 2015 
 

NOTICES AND UPDATES… 

 
APPLY TO SERVE ON THE BOARD OF MEDICAL IMAGING! 
Currently there are several vacancies that need to be filled and we are always on the lookout for responsible and 

committed individuals to serve on the Board.  Under state law, the OBMI voting membership includes 12 

members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate.  If you are interested, please check out the 

Governor’s executive appointments website at http://www.oregon.gov/gov/Pages/boards.aspx and submit your 

application.  Please call Ed Conlow, OBMI Executive Director, at 971-673-0216, if you have any questions or 

want to know more about what is involved with Board membership. 

 

ON RENEWAL FORM, YOU MUST REPORT ANY ARREST OR CRIMINAL ACTION, EVEN IF DISMISSED 
Current OBMI policy requires that, on an initial license/permit application, applicants must report any prior 

arrests or criminal history.  Renewal applicants must report any arrests or criminal action since their last 

renewal.  These reporting requirements apply even if the arrest resulted in a diversion program or if the charges 

were dropped or dismissed.  If you believe that you do not have to report a criminal action because the action 

was expunged, you are encouraged to first confirm that fact with the court.  Note that completing a diversion 

agreement is not the same as expungement.  For every initial application and every renewal, the Board conducts 

a criminal records search.  Failure to comply with this reporting requirement may result in an appearance 

before the Board.  The maximum penalty for failure to comply with this reporting requirement is $500, a 

disciplinary action which is permanently recorded. 
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