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BOARD OF MEDICAL IMAGING 

* * * SEPTEMBER 2016 UPDATE * * * 
 
BEGINNING IN 2017, MUST HAVE (CT) CREDENTIAL TO DO COMPUTED TOMOGRAPHY 
Administrative Rules of the Oregon Board of Medical Imaging (OBMI) will require licensed technologists to have 

earned a computed tomography (CT) subspecialty credential, either through the ARRT or the NMTCB, in order to 

perform diagnostic computed tomography on or after January 1, 2017.  After that date, the new rule will require a 

CT credential for all licensed imaging technologists who practice diagnostic CT, including cone beam CT.  

Technologists without a CT credential will be eligible to practice diagnostic CT only after obtaining a temporary 

CT license, which will be available for up to 12 months and which will require them to practice under supervision.  

The temporary license will enable CT candidates to complete supervised clinical prerequisites necessary to sit for a 

CT credentialing examination.  This new subspecialty credential requirement will only apply to diagnostic CT and 

will not apply to: 

 Radiographers or radiation therapists operating the CT attenuation correction portion of the hybrid imager; 

or 

 Licensed nuclear medicine technologists operating PET and attenuation correction portion of the hybrid 

imager.    

There is a provision in rule that will allow the Board to waive the CT credential requirement, on a case-by-case 

basis, for CT-experienced technologists in state-designated rural hospitals who are not able to obtain the CT 

registry credential but who are able to pass a CT registry examination under state sponsorship.   
 

FOUR DOLLAR RENEWAL SURCHARGE TO PAY FOR HEALTH WORKFORCE DATABASE 
State legislation enacted in 2015 requires all health licensing boards (including OBMI) to collect health workforce 

data from renewal applicants, and to forward the data to the Oregon Health Authority. This will require renewal 

applicants to complete a questionnaire every time they renew a license or permit. The Oregon Health Authority will 

charge each licensing board $2 per year (or $4 per two-year renewal cycle) for each renewal.  In turn, the OBMI 

adopted a rule to add the $4 workforce data surcharge as part of the renewal application.  

 

BOARD SPONSORS FOUR LEGISLATIVE PROPOSALS FOR 2017 SESSION IN SALEM 
The Board of Medical Imaging has submitted several requests for state legislation to be considered during the 2017 

legislative session in Salem.  Those requests first go to the Governor’s office and, if approved, to the Legislature to 

be drafted and introduced in early 2017.  The requests include: 

 

1. Prohibit most non-sonographers from performing diagnostic medical sonography:  OBMI’s current statute 

includes a licensure exemption for “specified licensed health care providers… who use sonographic equipment 

within their lawful scope of practice.”  The OBMI believes that too many untrained health providers make use 

of this exemption.  In response, OBMI is proposing to narrow this exemption to say that only licensed nurse 

midwives and certain emergency medical service providers may perform diagnostic sonography within their 

scope of practice.  This legislation also clarifies that OBMI’s licensure law only applies to operation of 

technology for the purpose of creating images for diagnosis of medical conditions, not imaging done for real-

time visual guidance employed in various medical procedures.  (None of this has any impact on licensed 

physicians, who continue to have a full exemption from OBMI’s statute.) 

2. Allow the Board to classify certain minor violations as “non-disciplinary”:  Under current law, any civil penalty 

issued by the board is a disciplinary action which creates a permanent disciplinary record that is publicly 

available on the board’s website, reported to the licensee’s national registry, and filed with the National 

Practitioner Data Bank.  Board members are proposing a change in the statute that would enable them to 



classify certain types of license violations as non-disciplinary violations, but only if the civil penalty is no more 

than $100, and only for specified violations that do not create a risk of harm to the public. 

3. Recognize ISCD’s Bone Densitometry Credential:  Currently the OBMI can only issue a limited permit to 

practice bone densitometry to persons who complete an approved educational course and pass a national exam 

offered by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT).  But the educational course is rarely 

offered, creating a de facto barrier for those seeking to earn a permit.  In response, the OBMI is proposing 

legislation that would allow for issuance of a limited bone densitometry permit to a person credentialed by the 

International Society of Clinical Densitometry (ISCD).   

4. Exempt Ophthalmic Sonography from Licensure:  The OBMI recently became aware that there is a very small 

group of sonographers that work only in ophthalmology, who are not currently licensed by OBMI and who are 

credentialed nationally by an organization that is not part of OBMI’s network.  Because of the small number 

and narrow focus of ophthalmic sonographers, the Board is sponsoring legislation to exempt them from 

OBMI’s licensure requirement.   

BOARD RECOGNIZES NEW “ACS” and “MSKS” Credential 
The Board voted to to recognize several new credentials that have been recently added by two national registries.  

Those credentials include the Advanced Cardiac Sonography (ACS) credential now offered by Cardiac 

Credentialing International (CCI), and the registered musculoskeletal sonographer (MSKS) credential recently 

offered by the American Registry of Diagnostic Medical Sonographers.  

 

VOLUNTEER TO SERVE ON THE BOARD OF MEDICAL IMAGING! 
Under state law, the OBMI voting membership includes 12 members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by 

the Senate, including four physicians; five licensed technologists; and three “public members” who are neither 

physicians nor licensees.  Currently there are several public member vacancies that need to be filled and we are 

always on the lookout for responsible and committed individuals to serve on the Board.  The Board and the State of 

Oregon welcome all applications and are fully committed to equal opportunity and diversity in Board membership.  

If you think you might be interested in any of the Board positions, please check out the Governor’s executive 

appointments website at http://www.oregon.gov/gov/admin/Pages/How_To_Apply.aspx and submit your 

application.  Please call Ed Conlow, OBMI Executive Director, at 971-673-0216, if you have any questions or want 

to know more about what is involved with Board membership. 

 

QUESTIONS/COMMENTS:   
Ed Conlow, Executive Director, 971-673-0216; ed.conlow@state.or.us.  
Our mailing address is: 
 Oregon Board of Medical Imaging 
 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 1160A, Portland, OR  97232 
Our Website:  www.oregon.gov/obmi  

Meeting Dates: 
October 21, 2016 
January 20, 2017 

April 21, 2017 
July 21, 2017 

October 20, 2017 
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