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How to obtain a License

Click Here to complete an online registration request to apply for an Oregon
Massage Therapist License. The requirements and process is listed below:

To qualify to become a Licensed Massage Therapist in the State of Oregon, an applicant must:

¢ Meet specific education requirements listed below, and
e Pass the Oregon Jurisprudence (law) exam, and

e Have passed a Board approved written National Examination. (MBLEX , NCBTMB,
CESI). *NOTE: ALL NATIONAL EXAM RESULTS MUST COME DIRECTLY FROM THE EXAM PROVIDER.

The Board requires 625 hours/25 quarter credits/15.74 semester credits of education from an
accredited or Department of Education approved school with the following:

The 625 hours/25 quarter credits/15.74 semester credits of education must include:
e A minimum of 200 hours/8 quarter credits/ 5.34 semester credits of health sciences,
consisting of Anatomy and Physiology, Pathology, and Kinesiology; and

e A minimum of 300 hours/12 quarter credits/8 semester credits of Massage Theory and
Practical Application, Clinical Practice, Business Development, Sanitation, Communication,
and Ethics.

e The remaining 125 hours/5 quarter credits /2.4 semester credits required may be in any
of the above subject areas.

Application Process

The applicant will need to do the following:

1. Complete and submit an online regqistration request and required payment (if not already
completed).

2. Applicant will receive an email notification with log-in information to complete the online
application.

3. The Board will review the online submittal, supporting documentation, and fees as outlined in the
Application for Licensure.

4. The applicant will receive an email with a link and log-in information to complete the online
Jurisprudence Examination.

5. The applicant will then complete the electronic fingerprinting process to initiate their background
check.

6. Upon successful completion of steps 1-5 of the online application process and have submitted all
required documentation, passing of the Jurisprudence Exam and background check,

7. The applicant will be given a link to pay for the initial license.

8. Once the board receives the initial license payment, the applicant will be issued a license.

Required Supporting Documentation

Official transcripts in a sealed envelope

2” X 2” color photograph (passport-sized) taken within the last 12 months

A copy of a valid government-issued picture ID (such as, a driver’s license, passport etc.)

A list of three references that do not reside with you, yet can be relatives

A copy of a current CPR certification

Results from a National Written Examination (MBLEX , NCBTMB, CESI). *NOTE:
ALL NATIONAL EXAM RESULTS MUST COME DIRECTLY FROM THE EXAM
PROVIDER.
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Initial Licensing Fees

Application Fee: $100.00
Fingerprint Processing Fee: $40.00
Initial License Fee*: $50.00 - $100.00

*The Initial License Fee is based upon renewal date, which is based upon applicant birth
month/year. Individuals born in odd numbered years will renew every odd numbered year,
regardless of when their initial license was issued. Those born during an even year will renew every
even year. Additionally, licensees must renew before the first day of their birth month. If an
applicant’s first renewal is less than 12 months from time of issuance, the Initial License Fee is
$50.00. If the applicant’s first renewal is more than 12 months from date of issuance, the Initial
License Fee is $100.00.

Electronic Fingerprinting

The board requires that all new candidates provide fingerprints for a national criminal background
check prior to issuance of a license. Additionally, the state of Oregon requires electronic
Fingerprinting, in lieu of fingerprint cards. There is a $40.00 Fingerprint Processing Fee payable to
OBMT that will be required before the background check will be initiated. Please see the
instructions below to schedule an appointment.

**Note**: There will be a $12.50 fee accessed by Fieldprint for the process of obtaining your
fingerprints.

To Schedule an appointment for electronic fingerprinting, please follow the instructions below:
Visit www.FieldprintOregon.com

Click on the “Schedule an Appointment” button.

Enter an email address under “New Users/Sign Up” and click the “Sign Up” button. Follow the
instructions for creating a Password and Security Question and then click “Sign Up and Continue”.
Enter this Fieldprint Code: FPORMassTherapistsDAS

Enter the contact and demographic information required by the FBI and schedule a fingerprint
appointment at the location of your choosing.

At the end of the process, print the Confirmation Page. Take the Confirmation Page with you to
your fingerprint appointment, along with two forms of identification.

If you have any questions or problems, you may contact our customer service team at 877-614-
4364 or customerservice@fieldprint.com

Credentialing Review

The credentialing review and its additional $250 fee is only pertinent to those out of state applicants
who have been legally practicing for many years and may not meet the traditional education
requirement through certified class instruction.

Upon completion of a credentialing review the Board may grant a license to applicants who are or
have legally practiced massage and/or bodywork outside of the State of Oregon; after successful
completion of the jurisprudence, and written examinations.

Official Transcripts or Certificates of Completion and Practical Work Experience must be
documented on the Credentialing Review Application Addendum and Work Experience Verification
Worksheet.

The applicant must provide transcripts for:


http://www.fieldprintoregon.com/
mailto:customerservice@fieldprint.com
http://www.oregon.gov/OBMT/forms/credentialingreviewappaddendum.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/OBMT/forms/workexperienceworksheet.pdf
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e 200 Anatomy and Physiology, Pathology and Kinesiology hours
/8 quarter credits/5.34 semester credits of this with 120
hours/4.8 quarter credits/3.2 semester credits minimum must be from certified class
instruction with up to 80 contact hours of prior continuing education in subject areas may
apply; and

e 300 hours/12 quarter credits/8 semester credits Massage Theory and Practical
Application, Clinical Practice, Business Development, Sanitation, Communication and
Ethics hours of this 140 hours/5.6 quarter credits/3.7 semester credits minimum must be
from certified class instruction with up to 120 contact hours of prior continuing education
in subject areas, up to 40 hours of practical work experience may apply, and;

e 125 hours/5 quarter credits/2.4 semester credits which may be in either Health
Sciences, Massage or Bodywork Theory and practical application, Clinical Practice,
Business Development, Communication, Ethics, Sanitation or Hydrotherapy. Of the 125
hours required, up to 75 contact hours of prior continuing education in subject areas may
apply.

Board Approved Written Examinations

The Board will accept one of the following approved written exams; the Massage & Bodywork
Licensing Exam (MBLEXx) administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards
(FSMTB), either the Therapeutic Massage (TM) or the Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (TMB)
exams administered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork
(NCBTMB), or the Certification Examination for Structural Integration (CESI) administered

by the Certification Board for Structural Integration (CBSI). *NOTE: ALL NATIONAL EXAM
RESULTS MUST COME DIRECTLY FROM THE EXAM PROVIDER.

The MBLEXx

The MBLEx exam is administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards. The
FSMTB can be contacted by phone at 866-962-3926 or online at http://fsmtb.org. Applications can
be downloaded from the Web site. If you have further questions, please contact the FSMTB.

The NCBTMB

The National Certification Exam is administered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic
Massage and Bodywork. The NCBTMB can be contacted by phone at 800-296-0664 or through
their Web Site at www.ncbtmb.org Applications can be downloaded from the Web site. The OBMT
does not require you to obtain or maintain National Certification for the purpose of licensure.

The CESI

The Certification Examination for Structural Integration is administered by the Certification Board for
Structural Integration (CBSI). The CBSI can be contacted by phone at 414-908-4947 or through
their Web site at www.siexam.org. Applications and a study guide can be downloaded from their
Web site. If you have further questions, please contact the CBSI.

Proof of passing the written exam must be submitted before a license can be issued. It is not
necessary to send the Official Score Report. A copy of the passing notification issued the day of the
exam is acceptable.


http://fsmtb.org/
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Jurisprudence (Law) Examination

All applicants must pass the 25 question, multiple-choice, open-book Jurisprudence (Law)
Examination. Upon submitting an application for licensure, the applicant will receive an email with a
link and log-in information to complete the online Jurisprudence Examination.

Arrest Records & Electronic Fingerprinting

Arrest Records

An applicant must state on the application whether he/she has ever been arrested for or convicted
of a crime exclusive of minor traffic offenses. Those who have been arrested must provide a copy of
the arrest record, a copy of the judgment, a copy of the settlement of the judgment and a statement
of explanation. An arrest record and/or conviction may result in denial of licensure.

Fingerprints

As of January 1, 2012 all new applicants applying for their initial license, all licensees applying to
reinstate a lapsed license, all licensees applying to reactivate an inactive license, and all licensees
under investigation are required to submit fingerprint for a criminal background check. Below are
the steps you will want to follow:

To Schedule an appointment for electronic fingerprinting, please follow the instructions below:
Visit www.FieldprintOregon.com

Click on the “Schedule an Appointment” button.

Enter an email address under “New Users/Sign Up” and click the “Sign Up” button. Follow the
instructions for creating a Password and Security Question and then click “Sign Up and Continue”.
Enter this Fieldprint Code: FPORMassTherapistsDAS

Enter the contact and demographic information required by the FBI and schedule a fingerprint
appointment at the location of your choosing.

At the end of the process, print the Confirmation Page. Take the Confirmation Page with you to
your fingerprint appointment, along with two forms of identification.

If you have any questions or problems, you may contact our customer service team at 877-614-
4364 or customerservice@fieldprint.com

Fingerprinting facilities are available nationwide for you to conveniently obtain your Electronic
Fingerprints. Fingerprint facilities generally charge a fee of $12.50 for the service.

A $40 criminal background processing fee must be paid to the Board prior to becoming licensed
or reactivating your license (Your fingerprints will not be processed without this fee being
paid). Payment should be made to the OBMT. This fee is non-refundable.

Fingerprinting FAQs

Additional Licensing Information

Transcripts

Applications must include original transcripts in a sealed envelope from the school. Transcripts must be
stated in classroom hours or equivalent credit hours as defined by your education institution. If a program
or institution granting credit is no longer in business, the Board will accept for review a copy of a
certificate of completion or transcript or diploma in the required subject matter and hours. The Board may
require additional information to verify the authenticity of such documents.
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Other Documents
All applications must also include; a passport style photograph, a copy of current CPR certification (both
front and back of card), and a copy of a government issued picture ID (e.g. driver's license, passport,

military ID).

Health Endorsement applicants must include a copy of their current license and a license verification form
completed by the issuing licensing agency.

What is Public Information?
When you become a licensd Massage Therapist, the following will become public information in accordance with ORS 192.4

10:
e Your name and address
e Email address

e Phone number



