BEFORE THE BOARD OF NATUROPATHIC MEDICINE STATE OF OREGON

In the Matter of the License of:	Case Nos. N16-10-31	
Aaron Hubbs, N.D.,	AMENDED (2) - SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT AND CONSENT ORDER	
Licensee.		

1.

The Board of Naturopathic Medicine (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing, regulating and disciplining naturopathic physicians in the State of Oregon, pursuant or Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) chapter 685 and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) chapter 850. Aaron Hubbs, N.D. (Licensee) is a licensed naturopathic physician in Oregon, and is subject to the jurisdiction of the Board.

The Board issued a Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action to Licensee on or about October 3, 2017. Licensee was provided the opportunity to request a hearing on the Notice. In lieu thereof, the parties wish to resolve this matter informally, without any hearing, appeal or judicial review, by entering this Settlement Agreement and Consent Order, pursuant to ORS 183.417(3) on the terms set forth below.

SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT

- 1. The Board finds and the Licensee stipulates to the findings of violations described in the Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action filed in this proceeding. The findings of facts and conclusions of law regarding those violations in the Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action are incorporated by reference into this settlement agreement and consent order. Licensee agrees that the Board may enter the Consent Order set forth below, including the following terms and conditions:
 - A. Civil penalties in the total amount of twenty-five thousand dollars (\$25,000); AS OF MAY 1, 2020, with twenty three thousand four hundred and seventy (\$23,470) suspended, and to be forgiven upon successful completion of the probation term referenced below. Should

Licensee fail to successfully complete the conditions of the probation term described below, all \$23,479 remaining in civil penalties shall become due and payable immediately.

- B. Term of probation completed on June 14, 2021, due to compliance with the following conditions:
 - Licensee shall complete 30 hours of continuing education during the first year of probation, in addition to those required for Licensure. Licensee shall submit directly to the Board proof of completion of the following:
 - (a) 20 hours of continuing education, pre-approved by the Board, on professional ethics, and
 - (b) 10 hours of continuing education focused on responsible prescribing practices of opioids.
 - Licensee, at his own expense, shall bi-annually submit 10 patient charts to the Board (or Board designee), for review within 30 days of the last day of the six month.
- 2. Licensee shall comply with the statutes, rules and orders of the Board.
- Licensee's failure to comply with any term of this order, ORS chapter 685 or OAR chapter 850 shall be grounds for additional discipline by the Board.
- 4. Licensee enters into this Settlement Agreement and Consent Order voluntarily and without any force or duress. Licensee states that the Board and Board staff have not made promises or representations not stated herein to induce him to sign this document and agree to issuance of the Order.
- Licensee acknowledges that he has had the opportunity to seek the advice of legal counsel.
 Licensee further acknowledges that he understands and agrees to the terms of this Order.
- 6. Licensee understands that he has the right to a contested case hearing under the Administrative Procedures Act (ORS Chapter 183), and fully and finally waives any and all right to a hearing and any rights to appeal or otherwise challenge this Settlement Agreement and Consent Order.

- The parties acknowledge that this Settlement Agreement and Consent Order is a public document.
- This Settlement Agreement and Consent Order shall take effect on the date it is signed by the Board.

IT IS SO STIPULATED.

Aaron Hubbs, N.D.

Date

6.29.21

CONSENT ORDER

The Board issues the following order:

- A. Civil penalties in the total amount of twenty-five thousand dollars (\$25,000); AS OF MAY 1, 2020 with twenty three thousand four hundred and seventy (\$23,470) suspended, and to be forgiven upon successful completion of the probation term referenced below. Should Licensee fail to successfully complete the conditions of the probation term described below, all \$23,479 remaining in civil penalties shall become due and payable immediately.
- B. Term of probation completed on June 14, 2021, due to compliance with the following conditions:
 - i. Licensee shall complete 30 hours of continuing education during the first year of probation, in addition to those required for Licensure. Licensee shall submit directly to the Board proof of completion of the following:
 - (a) 20 hours of continuing education, pre-approved by the Board, on professional ethics, and
 - (b) 10 hours of continuing education focused on responsible prescribing practices of opioids.
 - Licensee, at his own expense, shall bi-annually submit 10 patient charts to the Board (or Board designee), for review within 30 days of the last day of the six month.

DATED this _	29	_day of _	June 2021 2018.
			BOARD OF NATUROPATHIC MEDICINE State of Oregon

Mary-Beth Baptista, Executive Director