

Reinstating Your Oregon License to Practice Optometry

If you were previously licensed as a doctor of optometry in Oregon, you may have your license reinstated if you were in good standing (see OAR 852-050-0014, below) at the time you voluntarily surrendered your license or it was suspended for nonpayment of the license renewal or late fee(s). If your license has been lapsed for more than 10 years you may have to reapply as a new applicant.

To reinstate your Oregon license to Active Status:

- Contact the Board's office at (503) 399-0662, ext. 2000, or by e-mail to <u>melissa.auman@oregon.gov</u> to determine how long you have been unlicensed in Oregon and learn the total of your delinquent fees (the annual fees for those years your license was lapsed and a late fee for the first year you let your license lapse) and what continuing education requirements apply.
- Pass the Oregon Optometric Law and Administrative Rules examination (if it has been more than two years since you held an active status license in Oregon). You can find and take the examination online at any time through the National Board of Examiners in Optometry at: <u>http://www.optometry.org/law.cfm</u>.
- Have each state in which you have ever been licensed to practice optometry send a written license verification and status update directly to the Oregon Board of Optometry, 1500 Liberty Street SE, Suite 210, Salem, Oregon 97302.
- Submit your signed request for reinstatement of licensure to the Board, with the following:
 - 1. Pay your delinquent fees and the reinstatement fee. The Board will email you an electronic invoice at your request.
 - 2. Proof of your current CPR certification, as required in OAR 852-080-0040.
 - 3. Proof of required continuing education hours.

4. Submit fingerprints for a national background check if your license has been lapsed more than 2 years (if reinstating to active status). (Once the fees are paid, the Board will send the information to have the fingerprinting done).

Once all the elements of your application are in hand and we determine you are eligible for reinstatement, we often can reinstate your status within a day or two. **Note:** We have seen long delays from some states in sending license verifications; you may wish to make your verification requests to other states sooner instead of later to ensure no unnecessary delays. If

you have any discipline history, your application may need to be reviewed and approved by the Board, which meets quarterly.

To reinstate your license to Inactive Status, please contact the Board's office for instructions. If you have questions, we are happy to answer them by phone, e-mail or mail.

Oregon Administrative Rules

852-050-0014--Reinstatement of License

(1) A person who has been previously licensed by the Board may have the license reinstated to its former status if the person:

(a) Voluntarily surrendered the license to the Board and, at the time of surrender , was in good standing and not surrendering in lieu of discipline or under notice for proposed disciplinary action, or subject to a final order of the Board, or

(b) The license was suspended due to nonpayment of the license renewal fee or late fee and, at the time of suspension, the licensee was not surrendering in lieu of discipline or under notice for proposed disciplinary action, or subject to a final order of the Board.

(2) To reinstate an Oregon Optometry license an optometric physician must:

(a) Submit a signed written request;

(b) Provide written confirmation sent directly from the licensing entity of each other state in which the applicant has ever been licensed that the applicant for licensure has not been sanctioned for violating the laws, rules or standards of ethics of that jurisdiction. The Board will accept electronic license verifications if that is the only mechanism the state uses for license verifications. In addition, the Board will query the National Practitioner Data Bank for adverse actions on each person making an application for licensure;

(c) If unlicensed for two years or more, pass any required criminal background checks;

(d) Pay delinquent fees as determined by the Board;

(e) Pay the reinstatement fee as listed in OAR 852-010-0080; and

(f) Submit documentation of current CPR certification, as required in OAR 852-80-0040;

(g) Submit a complete set of fingerprints obtained from any state or local law enforcement agency, or from any other agency approved by the Board. Applicants shall use forms prescribed by the Board and pay any required fees.

(h) The requirements in (2)(b), (2)(c), (2)(e), and (2)(g) above may be waived by the Board if the license is not more than 60 days expired.

(3) Reinstatement of a license to active status also requires:

(a) Submission of a completed Reactivation Application form;

(b) Passage of the Oregon optometric law and administrative rules examination if it has been more than two years since the person held an active status license in Oregon; and

(c) Submission of proof of continuing education equivalent to Oregon requirements for the previous license renewal period.

852-080-0040 (2); (3) - Certification to Use Pharmaceutical Agents: CPR Certification

The CPR certification shall be the American Heart Association's BLS Healthcare Providers Course or its equivalent, as determined by the Board. This CPR course shall be a hands-on course; online CPR courses will not be approved by the Board for initial CPR certification. A CPR certification card with an expiration date must be received from the CPR provider. The Board

shall consider the CPR expiration date to be the last day of the month that the CPR instructor indicates that the certification expires.