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Reinstating Your Oregon License to Practice Optometry 
 
If you were previously licensed as a doctor of optometry in Oregon, you may have your license 
reinstated if you were in good standing (see OAR 852-050-0014, below) at the time you 
voluntarily surrendered your license or it was suspended for nonpayment of the license renewal 
or late fee(s) and the Board still has copies of your transcripts, test scores and application. If it 
has been over 10 years since your license lapsed, your records may have been destroyed.  
 
To reinstate your Oregon license to Active Status: 
 
 Contact the Board’s office at (503) 399-0662, ext. 2000, or by e-mail to 

melissa.auman@oregon.gov to determine how long you have been unlicensed in Oregon and 
learn the total of your delinquent fees (the annual fees for those years your license was 
invalid and a late fee for the first year you let your license lapse) and what continuing 
education requirements apply. Melissa will prepare a letter with all of the reinstatement 
requirements and email or mail it to you. 
 

 Pass the Oregon Optometric Law and Administrative Rules examination (if it has been more 
than two years since you held an active status license in Oregon). You can find and take the 
examination online at any time through the National Board of Examiners in Optometry at: 
http://www.optometry.org/law.cfm. 

 
 Have each state in which you have ever been licensed to practice optometry send a written 

license verification and status update directly to the Oregon Board of Optometry, 1500 
Liberty Street SE, Suite 210, Salem, Oregon 97302. 

 
 Submit your signed request for reinstatement of licensure to the Board, with the following: 

1. Payment for the total of your delinquent fees and the reinstatement fee—contact the 

Board to request an electronic invoice to pay online. 

2. Proof of your current CPR certification, as required in OAR 852-080-0040.  

3. Proof of required continuing education hours.  

4. Submit fingerprints for a national background check if your license has been lapsed more 
than 2 years (if reinstating to active status)—the Board will give you information to have 
fingerprinting completed upon payment of the fees. 

 
Once all the elements of your application are in hand and we determine you are eligible for 
reinstatement, we often can reinstate your status within a day or two.  Note: We have seen delays 
from some states in sending license verifications; you may wish to make your verification 
requests to other states sooner instead of later to ensure no unnecessary delays.  
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To reinstate your license to Inactive Status, please contact the Board’s office for instructions. 
 
If you have questions, we are happy to answer them by phone, e-mail or mail. 
 
Oregon Administrative Rules 
 
852-050-0014 - Reinstatement of License  
(1) A person who has been previously licensed by the Board may have the license reinstated to 
its former status if the person:  
(a) Voluntarily surrendered the license to the Board and at the time of so doing was in good 
standing and not under investigation, notice for proposed disciplinary action, or final order of the 
Board; or  
(b) The license was suspended due to nonpayment of the license renewal fee or late fee and at the 
time of suspension was not under investigation, notice for proposed disciplinary action, or final 
order of the Board.  
(2) To reinstate an Oregon optometry license a Doctor of Optometry must:  
(a) Submit a signed Reinstatement Request form: 
(b) Provide confirmation sent directly from the licensing entity of each state in which the 
applicant has ever been licensed that the applicant for licensure has not been sanctioned for 
violating the laws, rules or standards of ethics of that jurisdiction.  In addition, the Board will 
query the National Practitioner Data Bank and the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank 
for adverse actions on each person making an application of licensure. 
(c) Pass any required criminal records background check; 
(d) Pay delinquent fees as determined by the Board;  
(e) Pay the reinstatement fee of $100; and  
(f) Submit documentation of current CPR certification, as required in OAR 852-080-0040, if 
licensed to use Nontopical TPAs.  
(g) The requirements in (2)(b) and (2)(e) above may be waived by the Board if the license is not 
more than 60 days expired.  
(3) Reinstatement of a license to active status also requires: 
(a) Passage of the Oregon optometric law and administrative rules examination if it has been 
more than two years since the person held an active status license in Oregon; and  
(b) Submission of continuing education hours equivalent to Oregon requirements for the 
previous license renewal period.  

 

852-080-0040 (2); (3) - Certification to Use Pharmaceutical Agents: CPR Certification  

The CPR certification shall be the American Heart Association’s BLS Healthcare Providers 
Course or its equivalent, as determined by the Board. This CPR course shall be a hands-on 
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course; online CPR courses will not be approved by the Board for initial CPR certification. A 
CPR certification card with an expiration date must be received from the CPR provider. The 
Board shall consider the CPR expiration date to be the last day of the month that the CPR 
instructor indicates that the certification expires. There is a list of approved online providers on 
the Board’s website www.oregon.gov/obo  

http://www.oregon.gov/obo

