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“The Board has authority 

to  enforce the         

Governor’s Executive 

Orders. Be sure that 

your office is complying 

with any orders during 

emergency situations. If 

we receive a patient 

complaint, we will call as 

our first attempt at      

cooperation. ” 

Shelley Sneed,  

Executive Director 
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OBO Rule Quiz 

Are you up to date on compliance with the Board’s rules? Here are 
some questions for your review. (See the answers on page 3). 

 

1) When do you report leaving or starting a practice location? 

2) How do you update your CPR certification with the Board? 

3) When can you report CE and where do you do it? 

4) How do you set up the OE Tracker data feed in your electronic record? 

5) Where is your legal mailing address in your electronic record? 

6) What’s the due date of your license renewal? 

7) What are the late fees for license renewal? 

8) What are your law/ethics options for license renewal? 

9) What is the newest CE requirement with the first license renewal after 

1/1/2020? 

10) When do you need to report your first cultural competency course at license 

renewal? 

11) What COPE CE categories aren’t accepted by OBO? 

12) What can you do online in the licensee self-service portal? 

13) What do you submit if you’re selected for the CE/CPR audit? 

14) When can you renew your license and how does the Board notify you? 

15) These COPE courses fall under what OBO CE category: FV, LV, GO and CL? 

16) Where can you find the OBO approved CE courses? 

17) What happens if you’re late responding to the CE/CPR audit; or forget to send 

one certificate on time? 

18) What do you do if you want to lapse or retire your license? 

19) What do you do if you want to go from active to inactive status? 

20) How do courses get marked for carryover? 

21) Should I enter the COPE number for each course? And why? 
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Quiz Answers 
1) Board rules require that changes to practice locations be reported within 14 

days but no later than the effective date to avoid a late reporting fee. 

2) Your updated CPR certification is added to the licensee self-service portal in 

the qualifications section. The system now allows you to upload a certificate. 

3) CE can be reported any time in the licensee self-service portal in the CE re-

porting section of the system. If you’re in your license renewal, you’ll enter it 

during the renewal process. 

4) Your OE Tracker number can be added in the personal information section of 

the system, right under your zip code. The data feed is done nightly. After 

you’ve added the number, it will only enter new courses taken after that date. 

5) Your legal mailing address is the address listed in the personal information 

section of the licensee self-service portal. All legal correspondence will be 

sent to that address. (Including license copies) 

6) Your license renewal is due on the first day of your birth month. 

7) Late renewal fees are $75 for the 1st one, $100 for the 2nd one and $200 for 

the 3rd one (or subsequent) in a 7 year period. 

8) Under the licensing section, the Board has the approved law/ethics options. 

Currently there are two approved online Pacific University courses, you can 

take and pass the NBEO Oregon law exam or attend an Oregon Board of 

Optometry board meeting. (see the web page with the law/ethics options) 

9) As of 1/1/2020, at the first renewal, each licensee must complete the one-time 

Oregon pain management course. There is a link on the home page of the 

Board’s website with the information on how to enter the course in your CE 

record and how to access the specific course. The law specifies this specific 

course, so no other courses may substitute. 

10) At least 1 hour of cultural competency is due on license renewals due on or 

after 7/1/2021. 

11) OBO doesn’t accept COPE PM (practice management), PB (public health) or 

EJ (ethics/jurisprudence) courses. 

12) You can update your mailing address, your practice locations, enter CE 

courses, request a name change, order license copies, pay fees, print re-

ceipts and renew your license on the portal.  

Answers    
continued 
13) Read the CE/CPR audit letter care-

fully if you’re selected for audit. You’ll 

need to submit certificates for the 

courses entered in your current year 

renewal and a copy of your CPR certifi-

cate.  

14) License renewals are available 45 

days before your due date. The new 

system sends emails 45 and 30 days in 

advance. Check your spam filter—those 

emails don’t come from the Board staff. 

15) COPE FV, LV, GO and CL courses 

are “other” CE credit. The new system 

includes that information on the CE 

entry page. Be sure to enter the CE 

type correctly to avoid under reporting 

required CE hours. 

16) OBO approved CE courses are on 

the Education page of our website. 

There’s also a link to the approved list-

ing on the home page under the 

“continuing education” section. 

17) If you’re late responding to the CE/

CPR audit there’s a $250 civil penalty. 

Not documenting 18 hours of CE by 

missing one certificate can lead to the 

penalty and discipline. 

18) Just email one of the Board staff 

requesting to lapse or retire your li-

cense with the effective date. Include 

your name, license number and the last 

4 digits of your SSN to meet the e-

signature requirements. 

19) You can change status in your li-

cense renewal. 

20) After you’ve entered 18 hours,  you 

can then mark courses for carryover—

you can edit courses as well to mark 

them. 

21) Please enter the COPE number as 

#####-AA then staff can determine if 

you’ve selected the correct CE type 

(e.g. 51647-AS). 
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Board Meeting  

Information 
Please see the posted 

meeting notices on the 

Board’s website for     

participation information 

 

The Board office is 

closed on meeting 

dates 

 

Board Activities 
As of August 4, 2020 the Board had the following licensee counts: 
Active Licenses    849   Inactive Licenses 314 
New applications 7/1/19-6/30/20   61 
2020 new licenses issued     54  
 
Discipline Cases for 2020: 
New complaints    22     
Complaints resolved & closed    11 
Complaints resolved with no discipline       7 
 

Board Actions: 
 

The Board discussed the following agenda items at their 
meeting: 

 Reviewed the Board’s financial statements. 

 Reviewed CE courses approved since the last Board meeting and 
reviewed new online CE submittal process. 

 Reviewed Board member committee assignments. 

 Took action on the following Executive Session cases: 

 Amended Proposed Order: 2019-1154  Clark/OBO  

 Ratify Default Order:  2020-1180  Genvilas/OBO 

 Proceed with discipline:  2020-1182 Shirk  

 Proceed with discipline:  2020-1183  Vogel  

2020/21 Board Meeting schedule: 

 Friday November 6, 2020 

 Friday February 12, 2021 

Check the meeting notice on the Board’s home page to see how to access the 
meeting. Meeting access information will be at the top of the agenda. Meeting 
notices are posted at least 5 days in advance of each meeting. 



Contact Us 

1500 Liberty St SE,  
Suite 210 
Salem, OR 97302 
 
503-399-0662 
Fax: 503-914-5142 
 
www.oregon.gov/obo 
 
Shelley Sneed 
Executive Director 
COVID Cell 971-701-1194 
shelley.g.sneed@oregon.gov 
 
Melissa Auman 
Administrative Coordinator 
COVID Cell 971-701-1603 
Melissa.auman@oregon.gov 

Office Hours: 

Monday through Friday 

7:30 am to 4:30 other than 

holidays and Board meetings 

OBO CE course approvals 
The Board has implemented a new system for CE course approvals. Visit the 

Board’s Education page on our website, and go to the “how to apply” page. There 

is information on the approval process and a link to a new online course submittal 

portal. Requests need to include: 1) a brief outline or Powerpoint of the course 

contents, 2) the CV(s) for the presenters, and 3) a sample certificate of comple-

tion. If the request is for a surgical observation center, the requestor needs to sub-

mit a statement of procedures in lieu of the outline or Powerpoint.  

Due to a recent rule change, courses must be submitted for approval within 60 

days of the course presentation date. 

Due to COVID, the Board is approving online courses through 12/31/2020  when 

requested and the course is presented by the same presenters and covers the 

same topics throughout the year. 

Cultural compentency will be required for renewals on or after 7/1/2021. OBO 

rules allow OHA approved courses or OBO approved courses. If you know a 

sponsor that has an optometry related cultural competency program, please en-

courage them to apply for OBO approval.  

Oregon Board of Optometry 

1500 Liberty St SE, Suite 210 

Salem, OR 97302 

*If you’re receiving this via USPS, the Board 

doesn’t have an email address on file for you” 

Licensing Optometrists in Oregon since 1905 


