Skip to the main content of the page

Board meeting info

​​​​​​The Board was established by the Oregon Legislature in 1905 as the Oregon State Board of Examiners in Optometry. The Board currently consists of four doctors of optometry licensed to practice in Oregon and one public member. Composition of the Board is contained in Chapter 683(ORS 683.010 to 683.990) of the Oregon Revised Statutes. The Board has promulgated administrative rules in Chapter 852(OAR 852-01 to 852-80).


Ami Halvorson, OD, President
Doctor of Optometry
Board Member since 11/25/2019
Current Term: 11/25/2022 to 11/24/2025​
1331 NW Lovejoy St Ste 750
Portland, OR 97209
Office: c/o 971-701-1193

Gregory Kautz, OD 
Doctor of Optometry
Board Member since 6/10/2022
Current Term: 6/10/2022-6/9/2025
1415 Capitol St NE
Salem, OR 97301
Office: 503-364-0512


Patrick Ayres, OD  Vice President
Doctor of Optometry
Board Member since 3/15/2021
Current Term: 3/15/2021-3/14/2024
Office: 541-317-9747​​


Ann Woods, OD
Doctor of Optometry
Board member since 11/19/21
Current Term: 4/1/2022-3/31/25
Wink Eyecare, 1940 Turner Rd. SE, Salem, Oregon, 97302
Office: 503-312-6464

Laurie Goolsby - Public Member
Board Member since 10/1/2020
Current Term: 10/1/2020 to 6/30/2023
1500 Liberty St SE Ste. 210
Salem, OR 97302
Office: c/o 971-701-1193




1500 Liberty Street SE​, Suite 210
Salem, OR 97301

Fax:  503.914.5142

Executive Director Shelley Hanson's Cell  971-701-1194

Administrative Coordinator Melissa Auman's Cell 971-701-1603

Office Hours

Office open Monday and Thursday 7:30 to 11:30 am & at other times by appointment. To make an appointment, call or email to set up a meeting time. OBO's office won't be open on holidays.

OBO staff is available for Monday through Friday​
7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. via phone and email