Read through this page to learn the license application requirements and access the online license application portal
NOTE: Please don't send any documents to the Board until you've completed the online license application process. To complete the online application, you'll need a Board approved CPR card (see providers on the left) and Board acceptable CE if you graduated more than 12 months ago in order to complete the online application.
All new licenses are issued with certification to use, administer and prescribe TOPICAL and NONTOPICAL pharmaceutical agents (AT). This is the minimum required certification for which all optometrists must be qualified in order to practice. Additional criteria must be met in order to be certified to use administer and prescribe the NONTOPICAL pharmaceutical formulary with the INJECTION endorsement (ATI).
Pursuant to ORS 683.060(2), the Board will require a passing score on Parts I, II, and III (PAM, and Clinical Skills), and TMOD (Treatment and Management of Ocular Disease) of the National Boards of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO). NBEO standards for passing the NBEO examination will be acceptable to the Board.
The applicant for examination and licensure must:
Provide written confirmation sent directly from the licensing entity of each other state in which the applicant has ever been licensed that the applicant for licensure has not been sanctioned for violating the laws, rules or standards of ethics of that jurisdiction. In addition, the Board will query the National Practitioner Data Bank and the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank for adverse actions on each person making an application for licensure;
Submit documentation of continuing education hours as required in OAR 852 Division 70;
Pass, by a score of 80 of better, a Board-approved written examination relating to Oregon optometric law and administrative rules within the 12 months before date of Oregon licensure. Because the Administrative Rule and Law examination is not clinical in nature, there is no waiting period before an examination retake. If the examination is not available through the National Board of Examiners in Optometry, the Board will set location(s), date(s) time(s) and fees for administration of the examination.
A copy of the official final transcript from an accredited college of optometry indicating receipt of the doctor of optometry degree;
A copy of the record establishing satisfactory completion of a course in pharmacology as it applies to optometry from an institution approved under ORS 683.040(2) when applicable;
Verification of the passage of the examination of the National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO);
Receipt by the Board's office of the application fee as listed in OAR 852-010-0080;
Written confirmation sent directly from the licensing entity of each other state in which the candidate has ever been licensed that the candidate for licensure has not been sanctioned for violating the laws, rules and standards of ethics of that jurisdiction;
Documentation of completion of the required continuing optometric education.
Documentation of current CPR certification, as required in OAR 852-80-0040 (Due to COVID-19, initial licensure will be granted with an online only CPR course from an approved provider. If granted licensure without a hands-on course, you will be required to complete a hands-on course at your next CPR certification renewal);
Proof of meeting the requirements of OAR 852 Division 80 – Pharmaceutical Agents, for licensure with the non-topical certification (AT) or non-topical certification with injections (ATI);
Proof of passage of the Oregon optometric law and administrative rules examination; and
Satisfactory results of a criminal records background check as defined in OAR 852-050-0025.
Any application received from an optometrist who has been sanctioned by another optometric licensing jurisdiction is individually reviewed and considered by the Board.
Certification to use, administer, and prescribe the NON-TOPICAL pharmaceutical formulary (AT Certification) is a condition of Active Status licensure.
Any applicant whose conduct constitutes cheating or subverting of the process of the evaluation of professional competency by the Board or by an examiner may be dismissed from the examination and denied licensure.
Each applicant must meet educational qualifications and must comply with the requirements of ORS 683.040 before the applicant will be accepted for examination and licensure. Applications for licensure as an optometric physician in Oregon must be directed to the office of the Board. Instructions for application for examination and licensure and check list. If you completed the TMOD exam prior to 2002 and you're applying for licensure you'll be required to complete a Board approved AOT course. Pacific University College of Optometry offers an online 23 hour course.
Please click here to enter the online application system. You'll need to have information on any other past or present licensure handy and a color passport size photo in an electronic format. (Due to COVID-19, the Board will grant initial licensure with an online only CPR course from an approved provider. You'll be required to report a hands-on course at your next CPR certification renewal).
Social Security Number Requirement, Authority and Disclosure Statement
part of your application for initial or renewed occupational or professional
license, certification, or registration issued by the Oregon Board of
Optometry, you are required to provide your Social Security number (SSN) or
federal Tax Identification number (TIN) to the Office. This is mandatory. The
authority for this requirement is ORS 25.785, ORS 305.385, 42 USC
§405(c)(2)(C)(i), 42 USC § 666(a)(13), and 41 CFR 61.7. Failure to provide your
SSN or TIN will be a basis to refuse to issue or renew the license,
certification, or registration you seek. This record of your SSN or TIN is used
for child support enforcement and tax administration purposes (including
identification). The Board will use your SSN for these purposes only, unless
you authorize other uses of the number. Your SSN or TIN will remain on file
with the Office.