Oregon Board of Psychologist Examiners

Fingerprinting FAQ
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Who must get fingerprinted?
All applicants for licensure must submit fingerprints for a state and national criminal background
check.

How do I start?

First, complete and mail to the Board’s office the Background Check Request form along with the
background check fee of $40.00 (check or money order). We will send you instructions on how to
complete the fingerprinting.

Is there a separate fingerprinting fee?

Yes. The $40.00 background check fee covers the actual cost to the Board to have your Oregon and
FBI background check performed. The fingerprinting fee is separate and assessed by the business
providing fingerprint services. The state has contracted with Fieldprint, Inc. to provide low-cost
electronic fingerprint capture services across Oregon. The current contracted fee is $12.50 per print.

Can I have electronic fingerprint capture done from out of state?
Yes, starting March 26, 2015. Fieldprint, Inc. has locations in all 50 states, the District of Columbia
and Puerto Rico. Click here to search for a Fieldprint location near you.

May 1 still use the *“standard” fingerprinting method (ink prints) if I am completing my
fingerprinting out of state and am not located near a Fieldprint location?

Yes. Check the appropriate box on the Background Check Request form and we will mail to you a
standard fingerprinting packet. Fingerprinting services are available from local law enforcement
agencies. Search for “fingerprinting services” to find one near you. We recommend that you utilize a
reputable technician to avoid rejected prints that could delay the process for you. Note that you will
need to use the FD-258 card that we sent to you.

What is the difference between standard fingerprinting and electronic capture?

Standard fingerprinting is done with ink on the provided FD-258 card. You must follow the
instructions on the ID Verification form and return the card to the Board, and then we forward the
cards to the Oregon State Police for processing. With electronic fingerprint capture via Fieldprint,
digital images of your fingerprints are taken and then sent electronically to Oregon State Police. The
standard fingerprinting can usually be completed from start to finish in 2-3 weeks. Electronic capture
typically takes 2 days to 1 week.

Will I be charged again if my fingerprints are rejected?

No, not if your prints are only rejected once. We will send you a new card and you will need to get
reprinted. If the prints are rejected for a second time, we will be charged (and we will charge you)
another fee of $40.00 for a third submission. Cards will be rejected if they do not meet FBI quality
standards or if the instructions are not followed.

May | use a background check recently done by my employer or another state agency?
No, unfortunately this is not permitted. Background checks contain highly sensitive information, and
the law does not allow agencies, even within the same state, to share this information.

What is the deadline for getting my fingerprints submitted?

We must have received your background check results before your application can be considered
complete. We recommend you complete the fingerprinting early in the application process so that
there are no delays holding you up (e.g., your fingerprints are rejected and must be retaken, etc.).
Also, you must get your fingerprints taken within 7 days of receiving your fingerprint package.
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