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General Information  

The Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners  

The Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners was founded by the Legislature in 1973 to protect the public by 

licensing tax preparers and tax consultants, conducting examinations of candidates before licensure, and 

ensuring that practitioners receive annual continuing education. Through these activities and compliance 

enforcement, the Board achieves its mission: protecting Oregon consumers by ensuring Oregon tax practitioners 

are competent and ethical in their professional activities.  

There are about 4,000 tax preparers and tax consultants licensed by the Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners. The 

agency is funded entirely by exam fees, license fees, and civil penalties. The Oregon Legislature approves the 

Board’s budget every two years.   

Types of Licenses  

Tax Preparer: Enables licensees to lawfully prepare personal income tax returns in Oregon for a fee or 

valuable consideration. A tax preparer must work under the supervision of a licensed tax consultant, a certified 

public accountant, a public accountant, or an attorney-at-law. Applicants must take the Oregon exam, pass with 

a score of 75%, and obtain a PTIN number through the IRS before they can apply for licensure at any time 

during the year. All tax preparer licenses expire every year on September 30th.   

Tax Consultant: Enables licensees to lawfully prepare personal income tax returns in Oregon for a fee or 

valuable consideration as a self-employed or independent tax practitioner. Applicants must have 1100 hours of 

work experience in the tax field, take the Oregon exam, pass with a score of 75%, and obtain a PTIN number 

through the IRS before they can apply for licensure at any time during the year. All tax-consultant licenses 

expire every year on May 31st.  

Exempt Individuals: Certain individuals are exempt from licensure by the Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners. 

These include attorneys-at-law, fiduciaries, certified public accountants and public accountants who hold a 

permit from the Oregon Board of Accountancy, and employees of these four entities.   

Enrolled Agent: This is a nation-wide certification administered and regulated by the Internal Revenue Service. 

This certification gives the holder the right to represent taxpayers before the IRS.  Enrolled agents must obtain 

an Oregon tax preparer or tax consultant license if they wish to prepare personal income taxes in 

Oregon. Applicants must submit a copy of a current Treasury card, take the Oregon exam and pass with 

a score of 75%. A person becomes an enrolled agent by either passing a three-part comprehensive IRS test 

covering individual and business tax returns, or through experience as a former IRS employee. Enrolled agents 

must adhere to ethical standards and complete 72 hours of continuing education every three years. Contact the 

IRS for additional information: https://www.irs.gov/tax-professionals/enrolled-agents/enrolled-agent-

information 

   

https://www.irs.gov/tax-professionals/enrolled-agents/enrolled-agent-information
https://www.irs.gov/tax-professionals/enrolled-agents/enrolled-agent-information
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Examinations  

How to Become Licensed in Oregon 

 

To sit for the exam, you will be required to show government-issued photo ID and the approval letter from 

the Board allowing you to take the exam.  

To be licensed as either a tax preparer or tax consultant in Oregon, you must:  

• Be 18 years of age or older 

• Possess a high school diploma or have passed an equivalency examination (GED) 

• Possess a Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) issued by the IRS 

• Pass a state-administered exam with a score of 75% or higher 

In addition, to be licensed as a tax preparer you must:  

• Have successfully completed an 80-hour basic personal income tax class approved by the Board 

In addition to the initial four criteria, to be licensed as a tax consultant you must:  

• Have 1,100 hours of verified work experience 

• Complete 15 hours of continuing education 

If you are an enrolled agent, you can be licensed as a tax consultant if you meet the initial four criteria and: 

• Submit a copy of the front and back of a current treasury card 

 

________________________  

 

Please note: You may wish to contact the Board before applying for licensure if you answer “yes” to any 

of the following questions:  

 
1. Has a license in any other occupation or professional capacity issued in your name by any governmental 

entity ever been refused, suspended, revoked, or restricted, OR have you ever voluntarily relinquished a 

professional license? 

 
2. Are you aware of any current, proposed, pending or threatened professional complaints or civil or 

criminal action against you? Have you been convicted of, OR are you now under indictment for any 

criminal offense(s) of which an essential element is dishonesty, fraud or deception, per ORS 

673.700(4)(b)? 

 

3. Have you ever been required to appear before or been sanctioned by any professional body or federal or 

state agency for alleged misconduct? 

 

If your answer is yes to any of these questions, you will be required to supply an explanation and provide 

date(s), location(s), and nature of the infractions(s).    

    

_________________________  
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The 80-Hour Basic Tax Course  
 

• Tax preparer applicants must complete an 80-hour basic tax course or its equivalent [OAR 800-020-

0015(3)] with a passing grade before being licensed (although you may apply to take the examination 

before your 80-hour basic tax course is completed). If you do not successfully pass the preparer exam 

within two years from the completion date of your basic tax course, you must re-take the basic tax 

course [OAR 800-020-0020(9)]. Board-approved basic courses are listed in this booklet and on the 

Board website at: www.oregon.gov/OBTP. 

 

• Applicants who have successfully completed the 80-hour basic tax course with a passing grade will 

receive a “Session Attendance Certification Form” signed by the course instructor. You must submit this 

form to the Board office when you apply for your license - do not submit it with your examination 

application. 

 

 

• Applicants may submit college coursework in tax preparation in lieu of the 80-hour basic tax course. 

However, the coursework must be deemed “comparable” to the 80-hour basic tax coursework by the 

Board. The acceptance of alternative tax-related courses is at the discretion of the Board. You must 

submit copies of official college transcripts. [OAR 800-020-0015(3)]. 

 

 

• Applicants may request Board approval to substitute work experience for up to 53 hours of the required 

80 hours in basic tax instruction, as long as: 

o You prepared taxes in another state, or in an exempt status in Oregon (such as being employed by a 

CPA or tax attorney in Oregon, or as an auditor or taxpayer service representative for the IRS or the 

Oregon Department of Revenue). 

o The most recent work experience must have been gained not more than 24 months prior to applying 

to take the exam. 

o You have at least three years of experience preparing taxes in the five years prior to applying to take 

the exam. 

o You submit verification of hours worked or evidence of self-employment. 

 

Please note: If the Board grants your request to substitute work experience for up to 53 hours of basic 

tax instruction, you must complete at least 27 hours of classroom instruction in tax coursework.  

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.oregon.gov/OBTP
http://www.oregon.gov/OBTP
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Work Experience  

Tax preparers who wish to become licensed tax consultants should ensure that employers document their hours 

of work experience on the “Verification of Work Experience” form required by the Board. Tax preparers need 

1,100 hours of experience in order to sit for the tax consultant examination. The Verification of Work 

Experience Form must be signed by your employer(s). 

• Only work hours directly related to tax preparation may be counted toward the work-experience 

requirement. 

• You must have work experience in at least two of the last five years. 

• Only work experience gained within the last five years may be counted toward the work experience 

requirement. 

• The Board will accept employment as an income tax auditor or taxpayer service representative at the 

IRS or the Oregon Department of Revenue as equivalent work experience. 

• Applicants may substitute volunteer experience with tax preparation programs such as VITA or AARP-

TCE for up to 220 hours of the required 1,100 hours. 

 

o Each five hours spent preparing, advising, or assisting in the preparation of tax returns as a volunteer 

will count as one hour of required experience. 

o Hours must be verified by your volunteer supervisor in writing. 

 

• Applicants may substitute education credits for coursework in taxation for up to 375 hours of the 

required 1,100 hours. 

 

o Each one classroom hour will count for five hours of required experience. 

o College coursework will be converted to classroom hours at the rate of 10 classroom hours for each 

quarter credit, or 15 hours for each semester credit. (For example, a 4-credit course from a college on 

the quarter system would count for 40 classroom hours, or 200 hours of required experience.) 

o The coursework must be taken within a year of applying for licensure. The course may not be used 

to meet Board continuing education requirements. 

o Copies of transcripts must be supplied to the Board when education credit are requested. Course 

summaries may be requested by the Board to document the content of the coursework. 

 

• Out-of-state applicants may document work experience gained while self-employed. To do this, 

submit a “Self-Employment Petition” Form along with supporting documentation such as a Schedule C, 

business registration, or Form 1099. The form shall fully document pertinent experience and education 

that meets or exceeds the requirement for 1,100 hours of work experience within at least two of the last 

five years. 

Examinations – General Information  
The tax preparer and tax consultant exams cover personal income tax law, theory and practice. The consultant 

exam may include questions on corporation or partnership income tax as it relates to personal income-tax 

returns. The exam contains true-and-false questions, multiple-choice questions, and scenario-based mini-

problems. In both exams, approximately 75% of the questions are on federal law and 25% are on Oregon law.  
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The Tax Preparer Examination  

This exam consists of 163 questions, and you have 4 hours to complete it. Passing the tax preparer examination 

requires careful and comprehensive preparation. Although you are not required to complete a tax preparation 

course before taking the exam, almost all of the examinees do complete their basic tax course before sitting for 

the exam.   

The exam is divided into four parts. Parts I, II, and III include 144 questions covering Oregon tax laws; code of 

professional conduct; and federal income tax law, theory and practice. Part IV contains 19 scenario-based mini-

problems related to state and federal forms and schedules. All schedules, worksheets, and forms needed for 

solving the mini-problems will be provided.   

Please note: On September 1, 2015, the Preparer Exam was reduced from 200 questions to 163 questions, and 

the time allowed to complete the exam was shortened from 5 hours to 4 hours.    

You must pass the examination with a score of 75% or higher.  

The Tax Consultant Examination  

This exam consists of 200 questions, and you have 5 hours to complete it. Applicants will be tested on:  

• Oregon personal income tax law, theory, and practice Federal personal income tax law, theory, and 

practice 

• Oregon tax practitioner laws and requirements 

• The code of professional conduct (Oregon Administrative Rules, Chapter 800, Division 10) 

• Rules for tax preparation businesses (Oregon Administrative Rules, Chapter 800, Division 25) 

 

Questions are more complicated than those in the preparer examination.  The tax consultant examination is 

based on experience and knowledge gained while preparing taxes, completing continuing education courses, 

and performing individual study and research. You must pass the examination with a score of 75% or higher.  

 

The Enrolled Agent Tax Consultant State-Only Examination   

This exam consists of 50 questions, and you have 1½ hours to complete it. Only Enrolled Agents with valid 

Treasury Cards are eligible to take this exam. This exam covers only Oregon law, including:   

• Oregon income tax laws, on any topic listed on the examination category  

• The code of professional conduct (Oregon Administrative Rules, Chapter 800, Division 10) 

• Rules for tax preparation businesses (Oregon Administrative Rules Chapter 800, Division 25) 

You must submit a copy of your valid enrolled agent card, front and back. You must pass the examination with 

a score of 75% or higher.  

 

 

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REFER TO THE PSI SERVICES, LLC  

CANDIDATE INFORMATION BOOKLET   

 www.psiexams.com 

 

 

 

http://www.psiexams.com/
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Fees as of September 1, 2018  

Type of Fee  Preparers  Consultants  Other  

Exam Fee $60 $60 

 
$50-P & $85-C  

PSI Proctor fees paid 
at individual PSI sites. 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE: 

College proctor sites will 
continue to be available 
until the exam officially 

goes online – see rates at 
the end of this publication.  
Once the exam is online 
these sites will no longer 

be available* 
   

Initial license $60 

$65 – If you are 
currently an active 

LTP 

$95 – All others 

 

Combination license: 
Initial license + 

New business registration 
$110 * 

$125 - If you are 
currently an active 

LTP 

$155 – All Others 

* There are restrictions on 
business registrations for 

LTPs. Call for details before 
registering a new business. 

Annual License 
Renewal Fees 

Preparers Consultants Other 

Active status $80 $95  

Inactive status $35 $50  

Reactivation of   
inactive license $80 $95 

Change license status from 
.inactive to active 

Reactivation of lapsed 
license 

Total fees vary based on 
the number of years the 

license was inactive 

$35 
reactivation 

fee + 

License fee(s) 

$35 reactivation 
fee + 

License fee(s) 

 
Change license status from 

lapsed to active 

Tax business 
registration fee ---- ----- $110 

Branch office 
registration ---- ----- $20 

Combination license: 
license renewal +      

business registration 
$155 $155 

 



9 
 

 

Refunds  
 

Exam fees are non-refundable, except when the applicant or licensee is not qualified, or when there are 

verifiable circumstances beyond the reasonable control of the individual.  PSI proctor fees are not refundable or 

transferable at any time.  Candidates who do not take the exam (“no-shows”), or who take the exam but do not 

pass, are not eligible for refunds. In the case of an eligible refund, a processing fee will be retained by the Board 

per OAR 800-020-0026. As of the date of this publication, the processing fee is $10.00. To request a refund of 

the exam fee, submit a written request that includes your name, mailing address, phone number, include 

statement that you are aware of the $10 processing fee and valid reason for your request.  

 

Exam Content and Procedure  

 
In the future updated preparer and consultant examinations will be released each year on September 1. 

Preparer Examination  Date Exam Application Received   Exam Will Cover 

       September 1, 2018 – August 31, 2019  2017 tax law 

      After September 1, 2019    2018 tax law 

Consultant Exam   Date Exam Application Received   Exam Will Cover 

       September 1, 2018 – August 31, 2019  2017 tax law 

      After September 1, 2019    2018 tax law 

 

Applying for Your Examination  

The exam applications are available on the Board website. Applications are accepted only by mail or fax. 

Emailed applications cannot be accepted.   

Applications are processed as quickly as possible, usually within two business days. Once your application has 

been approved, you will receive an email confirming your eligibility to take the exam. If you don’t receive an 

email from the Board within three business days of your application submission, please call us at 503-378-4034.  

A reference sheet for the Preparer exam is available on the Board’s website here: 

https://www.oregon.gov/obtp/Documents/reference_sheet_2017_tax_law.pdf.  

Preparer examinees should also download the 2017 Tax Law Forms Booklet at:  

https://www.oregon.gov/obtp/Documents/2017%20Tax%20Forms%20Booklet.pdf 

It is very important you take these with you to your exam. 

From the date of your approval letter you have 60 days to schedule and complete the examination. You will also 

receive complete instructions along with a list of acceptable and unacceptable items allowed into the exam site.  

https://www.oregon.gov/obtp/Documents/reference_sheet_2017_tax_law.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/obtp/Documents/2017%20Tax%20Forms%20Booklet.pdf
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It is important that you read this information prior to taking the exam. Consumption of food or beverages may 

not be allowed, so check PSI exam site policy regarding food and drinks.   

The Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners (OBTP) has contracted with PSI Services LLC (PSI) to administer the 

examination. PSI provides examinations through a network of computer examination centers in Oregon. PSI 

works closely with the Board to be certain that examinations meet requirements in basic principles and 

examination development standards.  

Once you have received the email confirmation of your eligibility, it is your responsibility to contact PSI to pay 

and schedule for the examination.  For the fastest and most convenient examination scheduling process, 

register for your examinations online by accessing PSI’s registration web site at www.psiexams.com 

Internet registration is available 24 hours a day.  

 

If you prefer to contact PSI by telephone call (800) 733-9267, PSI registrars are available to receive payment 

and to schedule your appointment for the examination. Please call Monday through Friday between 4:30 am and 

7:00 pm, and Saturday-Sunday between 8:00 am and 2:30 pm, Pacific Time.  

Additional information related to examination fees, scheduling, and testing locations is available on the PSI 

website.   

If a problem arises regarding your ability to sit for a scheduled examination, contact the Board 

immediately.  

Please note: You may apply for only one examination at a time. You may re-apply for any subsequent exam 

once you have received the score from the earlier exam.  

 

Getting Your Exam Results 

  
PSI sites will be able to provide results to you immediately after your completion of the exam.  To apply for 

your license you will send the OBTP a license application, appropriate backup documentation if required and 

the license fee.    

Passing scores:  

  

Preparer examinees must correctly answer 75 percent of the 163 questions and mini-problems.  

Consultant examinees must correctly answer 75 percent of the 200 questions.  

Enrolled agent examinees must correctly answer 75 percent of the 50 questions.  

Examinees who receive passing scores have 60 days in which to apply for a license. If they do not do so, they 

must re-take and pass the exam.   

Examinees who do not receive passing scores may immediately apply to sit for the exam again.   

Please note: No review of the examination questions by any applicant will be granted [OAR 800-020-0020(7)].  

If you do not pass the preparer or consultant examination after four attempts, the Board strongly recommends 

that you enroll in an 80-hour basic tax course or an examination-preparation course for consultants. Examinees 

must re-take the basic course if they do not pass the preparer examination within two years of completing the 

basic course.  [OAR 800-020-0020(9)].  

 

http://www.psiexams.com/
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Items Not Allowed in the Exam Room  

• Electronic devices of any type,  including cellular or mobile phones, recording devices, electronic watches, 

cameras, pagers, laptop computers, tablet computers (e.g., iPads), music player (e.g., iPods), smart watches, 

radios, or electronic games. 

 

• Other personal items, including purses, backpacks, and non-transparent bags or containers, notebooks, 

briefcases, wallets, food or drinks 

 

• Programmable calculators 

 

• Source materials for consultant/CSO examinees, except IRS Publication 850. 

 

• NO personal items are to enter the testing center. PSI will not be responsible for any personal items and 

suggests that you leave them in a safe place of your choosing. 

 

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REFER TO THE PSI SERVICES, LLC  

CANDIDATE INFORMATION BOOKLET   

www.psiexams.com 
 

Continuing Education  

Tax preparers and tax consultants are required to complete 30 hours of continuing education related to tax law 

and tax preparation per year, at least two hours of which must be related to ethics or professional conduct. 

Continuing education must be completed during the 13 months prior to each license year. The same class may 

not be counted toward two different renewals.   

License Type  License Renewal Date  CE Completion Period  

Consultant  May 31, 2019   May 1, 2018 – May 31, 2019  

Preparer       September 30, 2019 September 1, 2018 – September 30, 2019  

The Board audits licensees on a random basis to verify compliance with continuing-education requirements 

(OAR 800-015-0015). Continuing education is waived for the first renewal of a tax preparer or tax consultant 

license. Continuing-education credit will be accepted only if sponsors and courses comply with OAR 800-015-

0010, OAR 800-015-0020 and OAR 800-015-0030.   

Acceptable continuing education is that which contributes directly to the expertise of the individual in the 

preparation of income tax returns, and is presented by a sponsor who meets the requirements of all Oregon 

Administrative Rules.  

Correspondence and self-study courses must be Board approved if not already approved by the California Tax 

Education Council (CTEC), Internal Revenue Service (IRS), or National Association of State Boards of 

Accountancy (NASBA). 

For additional information on acceptable continuing education and sponsors you can access information from 

the Boards website.  

http://www.psiexams.com/
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BASIC COURSE SPONSORS:  September 1, 2018 through August 31, 2019  

List is subject to change  

(sponsors grayed out are awaiting final approval) 

Sponsor & Address  Phone  Fax  E-mail  Website  Add. Info.  

David Modica, Ryan Imel  
Tony Bowers, School Director 
At Your Pace Online, LLC **  
1383 2nd Ave. 
Gold Hill, OR  97525 

 
 
 
 
(877) 724-6150 
(541) 371-2882 

 
 
 
 
 
(866) 333-9840 

 
 
contact@atyourpaceonline.com 
 
Jeremy Allen, CPA 
Instructor 

 
www.taxce.com 
 

On-line 
courses only 

Scott Wallace  
Blue Mt. Community College *  
2411 NW Carden  
PO Box 100  
Pendleton, OR   97801  

 
 
 
 
 
(541) 278-5736  

 
 
 
 
 
(541) 278-5177  

 
 
swallace@bluecc.edu 
  
 
 

www.bluecc.edu 
 

Offering on-
line and live 
course 

Nancy Jumper, Program Manager  
Central Oregon Comm. College*  
2600 NW College Way  
Bend, OR   97701  

 
 
 
 
 
(541) 383-7270  

 
 
 
 
 
(541) 383-7503  

ceinfo@cocc.edu 
 
njumper@cocc.edu  
 
Patricia King, LTC 
Instructor 

 
http://www.cocc.edu/ 
departments. 
continuing.ed 
 

  
Offering live 
course 

R. Taylor  
Chemeketa Community College *  
4000 Lancaster Drive NE  
Salem OR 97309  

 
 
 
 
 
(503) 399-5048  

 
 
 
 
 
(503) 365-4785  

 
 
socialsciences  
@chemeketa.edu 
 
Lana Tuss, 
Instructor 

 
 
www.chemeketa.edu  

 
 
 
 
Offering on-
line and live 
course 

Briana Croasmun  
H & R Block Income Tax Schools**  
Various locations throughout the state  
16408 SE Division 
Portland, OR  97236  

 
 
 
 
 
(509) 551-5006  

 
 
 
 
(503) 339-9564  

 
 
 
Briana.croasmun@hrblock.com 
 
Various instructors 

 
 
 
www.hrblock.com  

 
 
 
 
Offering live 
course  

Deborah Etters  
H & R Block Income Tax School of 
Klamath  Falls ** 
2226 S. Sixth Street  
Klamath Falls, OR  97603 (541) 882-8055 

 
 

 
 
 
 
  (541) 882-9285 

 
 
detters@hrblock.com 
 
Deborah Etters, LTC 
James Heath, LTC 
Roger Taylor, LTP 
Instructors 
 

 
www.hrblock.com 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Offering live 
course 

Laurie Brock Collett, LTC, EA  
Lane Community College 
Eugene, OR * 
101 West 10th Avenue 
Eugene, OR 97401 

(541) 436-6111 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
(541) 436-6111 

 
 
 
laurie@castax.com 

 
Laurie Brock Collett, LTC, EA 
Instructor 
 

 
 
 
www.lanecc.edu/ce 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Offering live 
course 

Rachel Bradley 
Liberty Tax School ** 
2401 NE Cornell Rd., Ste. C 
Hillsboro, OR  97124 

 
 
 
(503) 336-2670 

 
 
 

(503) 640-6944 

 
 
 
hillsboro15269@gmail.com 
 
Rachel Bradley, LTC 
Instructor 
 

 
 
 
www.libertytax.com 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Offering live 
course 

mailto:contact@atyourpaceonline.com
http://www.taxce.com/
mailto:swallace@bluecc.edu
http://www.bluecc.edu/
mailto:ceinfo@cocc.edu
mailto:njumper@cocc.edu
http://www.cocc.edu/departments.conti
http://www.cocc.edu/departments.conti
http://www.cocc.edu/departments.conti
http://www.cocc.edu/departments.conti
http://www.cocc.edu/continuinged
http://www.chemeketa.edu/
http://www.chemeketa.edu/
mailto:detters@hrblock.com
http://www.hrblock.com/
mailto:laurie@castax.com
http://www.hrblock.com/
mailto:hillsboro15269@gmail.com
http://www.libertytax.com/
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* Denotes an accredited college/university or educational service district 
** Denotes a private firm licensed as a private career school through the Higher Education Coordinating Commission 

 

 

 

 

 

David Pinson 
Liberty Tax School ** 
16502 SE Division Street 
Portland, OR  97236 

 
 
 
(503) 477-4006 
(503) 752-2622 

 
 
 

(503) 946-3252 

 
 
 
David634@gmail.com 
libertyservice1040@gmmal.com 
 
David Pinson, LTC 
Instructor 
 

 
 
 
www.libertytax.com 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Offering live 
course 

Annette Holman/Corina Drake-Minior 
Liberty Tax School – White City ** 
7588 Hwy 62 
White City, OR  97503 

 
 
 
(541) 601-9448 
(541) 734-7276 

 
 
 

(541) 773-9990 

 
 
 
annetteholman@libertytax.com 
corina@libertytax.com 
 
 Annette Holman, LTC 
 Corina Drake-Minior, LTC 
 Jon Schiefer, LTP 
 Instructors 
 

 
 
 
www.libertytax.com 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Offering live 
course 

Sandy Stolich, Coordinator, Corporate 
Liberty Tax Service **  
Various locations across the state  
1716 Corporate Landing Pkwy  
Virginia Beach, VA   23454  

 
 
(707) 972-7335 
(757) 301-8029  

 
 

(707) 462-6016  

 
 
taxschool@libtax.com 
sandy.stolich@libtax.com 
  
Various instructors 

 

 
 
www.libertytax.com 

  

 
 
 
 
Offering live 
and on-line 
courses  

Chris Ruderman, Acct. Prog. Chair 
Linn Benton Community College * 
6500 Pacific Blvd SW 
Albany, OR  97321 

(541) 917-4257  

 

 

rudermc@linnbenton.edu 

 

Mary Vedaa, CPA 
Instructor 

 

 
 
 
www.linnbenton.edu 
 

 
 
 
 
 
Offering live 
course 

SanDee M. Tharp, LTC  
Pacific Northwest Tax School **  
13405 NW Cornell Road  
Portland, OR   97229  

(503) 646-5600  (503) 350-0265  

 

 

enrollments@pnwtaxschool. 
com 
 
April Gutierrez, LTC 
Instructor 

 

 
 
 
www.pnwtaxschool.com 

  

 
 
 
 
Offering on-
line courses  

Cynthia Killingsworth 
Portland Community College 
Sylvania Campus *  
12000 SW 49th Ave 
Portland, OR   97219  
 
PO Box 19000 – SS201  
Portland, OR  97280 

(503) 508-7734   

 

 

 

Cynthia.Killingsworth@pcc.edu 

 
Cynthia Killingsworth, CPA 
Instructor 

 

 
 
 
 
www.pcc.edu  

 
 
 
 
Offering on-
line courses 
with live 
office hours 
available 

mailto:David634@gmail.com
http://www.libertytax.com/
mailto:David634@gmail.com
http://www.libertytax.com/
mailto:taxschool@libtax.com
mailto:sandy.stolich@libtax.com
http://www.libertytax.com/
mailto:rudermc@linnbenton.edu
http://www.linnbenton.edu/
http://www.pnwtaxschool.com/
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STATE ASSOCIATIONS CONTACT INFORMATION  

 

The Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners is a regulatory agency whose mission is to protect consumers 

by ensuring that Oregon tax professionals are competent and ethical in their professional activities. In 

contrast, there are several membership organizations whose purpose is to advocate for the members 

of the profession.   

 

 

 

Oregon Association of Tax Consultants  

http://www.oatc-oregon.org 

 

Oregon Society of Tax Consultants  

http://www.ostcinc.org  

 

Oregon Society of Enrolled Agents  

http://orsea.org  

 

Oregon Association of Independent Accountants  

http://www.oaia.net 

 

 

 

 

http://www.oatc-oregon.org/
http://www.ostcinc.org/index.htm
http://www.ostcinc.org/index.htm
http://orsea.org/orseaGood.html
http://orsea.org/orseaGood.html
http://orsea.org/orseaGood.html
http://www.oaia.net/
http://www.oaia.net/


 
 

Preparer Examination Index  

Course Guide for Basic Course Instructors  

Description/course topics  References used  

Tax Practitioner Oregon Law  Oregon Administrative Rules Oregon 
Revised Statutes  

Federal Filing Requirements/Federal Filing Dates  Publication 17, Chapter 1  

Federal Filing Status  Publication 17, Chapter 2  

Personal and Dependent Exemptions  Publication 17, Chapter 3  

Gross Income  Publication 17, Chapters: 6-9 & 12  

Standard and Itemized Deductions Medical, Taxes, 
Interest  

Affordable Care Act: What You and Your Family Need to 
Know 

Health Coverage Exemptions 

Publication 17, Chapters: 21-25  
Publication 970  
Publication 974 
Publication 5187  
Form 8965 

Itemized Deductions  
Contributions, Casualty, Car and Employee  
Business Deductions, Work-related  

Deductions, Miscellaneous Deductions  

Publication 17, Chapters: 26-30  

Adjustments to Income  
IRA, Moving, Alimony  
Miscellaneous Adjustments  

Publication 17, Chapters:18-20  
1040 Instructions  
Publication 970  

OREGON  
Form 40  

ERA Program (Elderly Rental Assistance)  

Publication 17½   
Oregon Instructions 40 & 40S  

Other Income  
Rental Income and Expense  
Retirement Plans, Pensions, Annuities  
Other Income  

Publication 17, Chapters:10-11 & 13  

Mid-term examination  

Schedules C, F, and SE  Publication 225 and 334  

Basis of Assets and Depreciation  Publication 17, Chapters: 10 & 14 
Publication 225 and 334  

Sale & Exchange of Capital Assets  
Personal Residence, Bad Debts  

Publication 17, Chapters:15-17  

Supplemental Gains and Losses  Publication 225 and 334  

OREGON  
Part Year and Non-Resident  

Publication 17½   
Oregon Instructions 40N and 40P  

Credits  Publication 17, Chapters: 33-38 Publication 
970  

Other Taxes and Payments  
Alternative Minimum Tax  
Minor Children  
Estimated Tax, Excess FICA  
Tax Payments on Real Property Conveyances – Form OR18, 
Form WC, Form TP18-V, and Instructions 

Publication 17, Chapters: 4-5, 11 and 3132  

Review Materials  
Take Final Examination  

Review Final Examination  
Practice Interviewing Techniques Amended Returns  



 
 

Preparer Examination Subject Outline 
and approximate percentage of coverage  

 

 

FEDERAL  

How to file -- 13.5%  

Filing status      

Dependents      

Personal exemptions 

Filing requirements   

Income -- 11.5%  

Earned income      

Tips      

Interest      

Dividends      

Business, farm  

Schedule C Income 

Retirement, pensions  

Rentals Income     

Depreciation     

Social Security Income  

Investment 

Other income  

Assets -- 8.5%  

Capital/ordinary   

Basis      

Sale of capital assets  

Sale of Stock 

Personal residence 

Adjustments -- 5%  

IRA, SEP, Keogh, simple      

Alimony  

Federal Adjustments 

Married Filing Separately 

Student Loan Interest     

Self-employed health- 

    insurance  

Moving  

  Education related   

 Self-employment tax  

      Penalty on early withdrawal  

Itemized deductions -- 15%  

Medical    

Taxes      

Interest   

Contributions   

Casualty    

Continuing education   

Employee business expense  

Miscellaneous 

Limitations    

Credits -- 5%  

Child care    

Health care  

Elderly, disabled  

Earned income    

Education  

Child tax  

Adoption  

Other credits  

Other Taxes -- 2.5%  

Self-employment   

Alternative minimum  

Averaging/lump sum  

Tax computation   

IRAs and other retirement plans  

Other  

Payments -- 2.5%  

Estimated    

Excess FICA  

Other  

 

 

Preparer Examination Subject Outline continued … 

 

 



 
 

Preparer Examination Subject Outline, continued  

OREGON   

How to file -- 4%    

Filing status     

Filing requirements  

Non-resident status  

Additions -- 3%  

Interest  

Taxes   

Other    

Subtractions -- 6%    

Taxes     

Interest     

Military     

Federal pensions  

Social Security/railroad retirement     

Oregon refunds  

American Indian  

Lottery winnings  

Domestic partner benefits  

Higher education expense  

Other      

Deductions -- 1.5%  

Standard  

     Itemized  
     Special medical 
Credits -- 3%  
     Retirement income  

     Political  
     Working family household and 
          dependent care  
     Earned income  
     Exemptions  
     Residential energy  
     Other 
Payments -- 1%  
     Estimates   
     Tax computation  
     Tax Payments on Real  
          Property Conveyances 
 

License law, rules of conduct -- 6% 
Mini-problems  
Federal and Oregon -- 12% 

 

************************************* 

Approximately 64 percent of the exam is 

on federal law, 24 percent on state law, 

and 12 percent is mini-problems 

covering both federal and state law. 

There are 163 questions on the exam.

 



 
 

                        
 

OREGON BOARD OF TAX PRACTITIONERS 

Preparer Examination 

 Index and Study Guide – 2017 Tax Law 

The following documents and publications are recommended resources and study guides for applicants 

preparing to sit for the preparer examination.  

Questions on the Preparer Exam are derived from the following 2017 source documents: 

 

FEDERAL 

 

□ Publication 17 

□ Publication 54 – Tax Guide for U.S. Citizens & Resident Aliens Abroad 

□ Publication 225 – Farmer’s Tax Guide 

□ Publication 334 – Tax Guide for Small Business 

□ Publication 521 – Moving Expenses 

□ Publication 527 – Residential Rental Property 

□ Publication 587 – Business Use of Your Home  

□ Publication 596 – Earned Income Credit (EIC) 

□ Publication 850 – English-Foreign Language Glossary of Words and Phrases 

□ Publication 946 – How to Depreciate Property 

□ Publication 970 – Tax Benefits for Education 

□ Publication 974 – Premium Tax Credit  

□ Publication 5187 – Affordable Care Act: What You and Your Family Need to Know 

□ Publication 8965 – Health Coverage Exemptions  *** 

□ Federal Form 1040 Instructions (not forms booklets) 

□ Form 6251 Instructions – Alternative Minimum Tax – Individuals  

 

OREGON 

 
□ Publication OR-17 – Oregon Individual Income Tax Guide 

□ Oregon Income Tax Full-Year Resident Form 40 and instructions 

□ Schedules OR-ASC and WFC 

□ Oregon Income Tax Part-Year Resident/Nonresident Form 40N & 40P 

□ Schedule WFC-N/P, and instructions 

□ Oregon Administrative Rules, Chapter 800 (800-010-0015 through 800-030-0050) 

□ Oregon Revised Statutes, Chapter 673 (673.605 through 673.990) 

□ Tax Payments on Real Property Conveyances – Form OR-18, Form WC, Form TP18-V, and Instructions  

 

*** New for the 2018-2019 exam season  

 



 
 

                        
 

Preparer Examination 

List of Acceptable Source Documents Allowed During the 
Tax Preparer Open-Book Examination 

 

 

  FEDERAL 

 Publication 17 – Your Federal Income Tax 

 Publication 850 – English/Foreign Language Glossary of  Tax Words and Phrases 

 Publication 974 - Premium Tax Credit (new addition to source document list) 

 Instructions for Form 1040 (instructions only – no forms or other booklets are allowed) 
 

 OREGON 

 Publication OR-17 – Oregon Individual Income Tax Guide 

 Publication - Oregon Income Tax Full-Year Resident, including: 
 Forms OR-40 and OR-40-V 
 Schedules OR-ASC, OR-ADD-DEP, OR-529 and OR-DONATE 

 Publication - Oregon Income Tax Part-Year Resident/Nonresident, including: 
 Schedules OR-ASC-NP, OR-ADD-DEP, OR-529 and OR-DONATE 

 Oregon Administrative Rules, Chapter 800 
 Divisions 800-010-0015 through 800-030-0050 

 Oregon Revised Statutes, Chapter 673 
 Sections 673.605 through 673.990 

 
 
 
 

Source documents in languages other than English are acceptable.  All source documents must be official 

publications or copies downloaded from the official websites of the IRS and/or the Department of Revenue. 

 

 

  To obtain these documents contact: 

Internal Revenue Service: https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs 

Oregon Department of Revenue:  http://www.oregon.gov/dor/forms/Pages/default.aspx 
 

 

 

https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs
http://www.oregon.gov/dor/forms/Pages/default.aspx


 
 

                        
 

 

Federal 

 

                   Mileage rates: 

2017 Key tax amounts: 

Exemption - $4,050  

Child tax credit - $1,000 per child 

 

Standard Deduction: 

 

Filing Status MFJ or QW Single HOH MFS 

Basic Deduction $12,700 $6,350 $9,350 $6,350 

Blind * $1,250 $1,550 $1,550 $1,250 

65 or over * $1,250 $1,550 $1,550 $1,250 

Dependent Greater of $1,050 or earned income plus $350 but not to exceed the regular 

standard deduction amount $6,350 

* Add to basic deduction amount.  If married filing jointly and both taxpayers qualify, add $2,500 to the basic deduction amount. 

 
 

2017 Phase-Out Ranges: 

 

Filing Status MFJ QW Single HOH MFS 

 

Education Savings 

Bond Interest 

Exclusion 

 

 

$117,250-

$147,250 

 

$117,250-

$147,250 

 

$78,150 - $93,150 

 

$78,150 - $93,150 

 

N/A 

 

Student Loan Interest 

Deduction 

 

$135,000-

$165,000 

 

$65,000-$80,000 

 

$65,000-$80,000 

 

$65,000-$80,000 

 

N/A 

 

Tuition and Fees 

Deduction…$4,000 

 

$0-$130,000 

 

$0-$65,000 

 

$0-$65,000 

 

$0-$65,000 

 

N/A 

 

Tuition and Fees 

Deduction…$2,000** 

 

$130,001-

$160,000 

 

$65,001-$80,000 

 

$65,001-$80,000 

 

$65,001-$80,000 

 

N/A 

Date Business Charity Moving Medical 

 

Jan - Dec 

 

 

53.5 cents 

 

14 cents 

 

17 cents 

 

17 cents 



 
 

                        
 

 

Coverdell Education 

Savings Account ESA 

 

$190,000-

$220,000 

 

$95,000-$110,000 

 

$95,000-$110,000 

 

$95,000-$110,000 

 

$95,000-$110,000 

 

Roth IRA 
* Roth (MFS) and did not 

live with spouse 

 

$186,000-

$196,000 

 

$186,000-

$196,000 

 

$118,000-

$133,000 

 

$118,000-

$133,000 

 

$118,000-$133,000 

 

Traditional IRA 

If covered by retirement at 

work 

 

$99,000-$119,000 

 

$99,000-$119,000 

 

$62,000-$72,000 

 

$62,000-$72,000 

 

$0-$10,000 

 

 

Traditional IRA – only 

spouse covered 

 

$186,000-

$196,000 

 

 

None 

 

None 

 

None 

 

$0-$10,000 

 

 

Child Tax Credit 

 

$110,000- 

 

$75,000- 

 

$75,000- 

 

$75,000- 

 

$55,000- 

 

Lifetime Learning 

Credit 

 

$112,000-

$132,000 

 

 

$56,000-$66,000 

 

$56,000-$66,000 

 

$56,000-$66,000 

 

N/A 

 

American Opportunity 

Credit 

 

 

$160,000-

$180,000 

 

$80,000-$90,000 

 

$80,000-$90,000 

 

$80,000-$90,000 

 

N/A 

 

Retirement Saver’s       

Contribution Credit 

 

$0-$62,000 

 

$0-$31,000 

 

$0-$31,000 

 

$0-$46,500 

 

$0-$31,000 

 

 

 

 

 

  



 
 

                        
 

Oregon 

Oregon Basic Information 2017: 

Exemption Credit - $197 

Standard Deduction 2017: 

 

 

 

 

   

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

Oregon Filing Requirements 2017: 

Filing Status  Standard 

Deduction 

+ Age 65 or over, Blind (each) 

Married Filing Joint  $4,350 $1,000 

Qualifying Widow(er)  $4,350 $1,000 

Single  $2,175  $1,200 

Head of Household  $3,500  $1,200 

Married/RDP  Filing Separately  $2,175 

 

$1,000 

If Spouse Itemizes Deductions  NONE 

Dependent Children:  Greater of $1,050 or the amount of earned income plus $350 (not to 

exceed $2,175) 

* Blind dependent:  Add $1,200 

Filing Status Age If gross Income is more than: 

Single, can be claimed on 

another’s return 

Any $1,050* 

Single Under 65 $5,965 

65 or Over $7,165 

Single 

(65 & blind) 

 $8,365 

Married/RDP    joint return Both under 65 $11,925 

One 65 or over $12,925 

Both 65 or over $13,925 

Married/RDP    joint return 

(65 & blind) 

One 65 or over $14,925 

Both 65 or over & 

blind 

$15,925 

Married/RDP separate return Under 65 $5,965 

65 or over $6,965  



 
 

                        
 

  
 

 

 

Working Family Household and Dependent Care (WFHDC): 

 

Your federal adjusted gross income or your Oregon adjusted gross income, whichever is greater, is at or below the allowable 

limit for your household size.  See the table for allowable limits. 

 

Household size AGI limit 

          2 $48,720 

          3 $61,260 

          4 $72,800 

          5 $86,340 

          6 $98,880 

          7 $111,420 

          8 or more $123,960 

 

 

Married/RDP separate return  

(65 & blind) 

 $7,965 

Head of Household Under 65 $7,440 

65 or over $8,640 

Head of Household                                                                                                                                                 

(65 & blind) 

 $9,840 

Qualifying Widow(er) Under 65 $8,290 

65 or over $9,290 

Qualifying Widow(er) 

(65 & blind) 

 $10,290 

 

In addition, file a return if: 

-- You are required to file a federal return 

-- You had $1/more of Oregon income tax withheld from your wages. 

*The larger of $1,050 or your earned income plus $350, up to your standard deduction amount.  

$2,175 is basic standard deduction; $3,375 if blind or 65; $4,575 if blind and over 65 



 
 

                        
 

2017 Oregon Exemption Credit Tables: 

Do not use the exemption credit worksheet.  Multiply your total exemptions by $197 – or - 0 

 

If your filing status is: 

0 if Federal adjusted 

gross income (AGI) 

exceeds: 

Single 

 

 

$100,000 

 

 

 

 

Married/RDP filing 

joint or qualifying 

widow(er) 

 

$200,000 

Married/RDP filing 

separately 

$100,000 

Head of Household 

 

 

 

$200,000 

 

 

 

 

 

 
SPECIAL OREGON MEDICAL SUBTRACTION WORKSHEET – OREGON PUBLICATION OR-17: 

        Column  Column 

(A)                   (B) 

                                                                                                      You          Spouse/RDP 

 

1. Medical and dental     1. $             $       

expenses for each qualifying taxpayer      

2. Total medical and dental expenses   2. $             $    

(Schedule A, line 1) 

3. Divide line 1 by line 2 and round     3. $             $    

to three decimal places 

4. Enter the lesser of the expenses    4. $             $    

claimed on line 1 of your Schedule A,  

or the amount claimed on line 3 of 

your Schedule A 

5. Multiply line 3 by line 4 and round to    5. $             $    

whole dollars 

6. Maximum allowable medical subtraction   6. $             $    

from the table ($1,800 max) 

7. Enter the lesser of line 5 or line 6    7. $             $    

 

8. Add line 7, columns (A) and (B), and   8. $             $    

enter the total.  This is your special Oregon 

medical subtraction 

 



 
 

                        
 

If your filing status 

is: 

and your federal adjusted gross 

income from line 8 of Form 40 or line 

38F of Form 40N or 40P is: 

 

 

 

 

Married/RDP 

Filing jointly, or 

Head of 

Household, or 

Qualifying 

Widow(er) 

at least  -          but less than -  then your maximum allowable medical 

subtraction per taxpayer meeting the age 

requirements is: 

-0- $50,000 $1,800 

$50,000 $100,000 $1,400 

$100,000 $200,001 $1,000 

 

$200,001 or more 

 

                                 -0- 

 

 

 

Single or 

Married/RDP 

Filing separately 

-0- $25,000 $1,800 

$25,000 $50,000 $1,400 

$50,000 $100,001 $1,000 

 

$100,001 or more 

 

                                 -0- 

 

 

 

FEDERAL INCOME TAX LIABILITY – OREGON PUBLICATION 17 1/2: 

 

Current year’s federal tax liability:  Oregon allows a subtraction for your current year’s federal income tax liability after credits.  The 

subtraction for 2017 is limited to $6,500 ($3,275 if married filing separately). 

 

The subtraction is based on the accrual method of accounting.  This means you subtract the total amount of your federal tax liability 

after credits for the current tax year (not less than zero) as shown on your original return, regardless of when you pay it.   

 

The subtraction is limited to income tax.  This includes alternative minimum tax, tax on an IRA (Individual Retirement Arrangement), 

and recapture taxes.  You cannot include self-employment tax or Social Security (FICA) tax. 

 

Federal income tax credits, excluding the earned income credit, reduce your federal tax subtraction.  The credits for federal tax on 

special fuels, special oils, and a regulated investment company will not reduce your federal tax subtraction.    

 

You can deduct your federal income tax liability after credits, up to $6,550 ($3,275 if married filing separately) based on your 

income and filing status.  Do not fill in less than -0- or more than $6,550.  Use the federal tax worksheet to figure your federal tax 

liability. 

 

RDP’s:  Use amounts from your actual federal return(s), not your “as if” return. 



 
 

                        
 

FEDERAL TAX WORKSHEET 

 

 

PART A:  Federal Tax Subtraction 

 

1. Enter your federal tax liability from Form 1040, line 56; Form 1040A, line 37; Form 1040EZ, line 10; Form 1040NR, 
line 53; or Form 1040NR-EZ, line 15.   

 

1.    

          

2. Enter your excess advance premium tax credit from Form 1040, line 46: Form 1040A, line 29; or Form 1040NR, line 

44. 

 

2.    

 

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. (If less than -0-, enter -0-) 

 

3.              

 

4. Enter your additional tax on retirement plans from Form 1040, line 59; or Form 1040NR, line 57; your first-time 

homebuyer credit recapture; “any recapture taxes you included as “other taxes” on Form 1040, line 62, or Form 

1040NR, line 60; and the amount on Form 1040NR, line 54. 

 

4.         

      

5. Add lines 3 and 4 

 

5.         

    

6. Enter your American Opportunity credit from Form 1040, line 68; or Form 1040A, line 44. 

 

 6.       

 

7. Enter your total premium tax credit from Form 8962, line 24. 

 

7.              

 

 



 
 

                        
 

8. Add lines 6 and 7   

 

8.         

 

9.  Subtract line 8 from line 5.  (If less than -0-, enter -0-) 

 

9.         

 

10. Enter your maximum allowable tax liability subtraction from the table.  Don’t fill in less than 

-0- or more than $6,550 ($3,275 if married filing separately) 

 

10.    

 

11. Enter the smaller of line 9 or line 10 here and on OR 40, line 10; or OR 40N or 40P, line 42. 

 

11.         

 

*Did you file federal Form 5405?  If you are required to repay your 2008, 2009, or 2010 first-time homebuyer credit because you disposed of your home or 

stopped using it as your main home, you may subtract your federal tax recapture.  Add the amount reported on your federal form 1040, line 59b, or federal 

form 1040NR, line 58b, to the amount included on line 2 of the worksheet above.  Do not add this amount if you are repaying your 2008 credit and still live 

in your qualifying home as you main residence. 

 

 

 

 

If your filing status 

is: 

and your federal adjusted gross 

income is: 

 

 

Single at least  -          but less than -  then your maximum allowable tax liability 

subtraction is: 

 

-0- $125,000 $6,550 

$125,000 $130,000 $5,200 

$130,000 $135,000 $3,900 

$135,000 $140,000 $2,600 

$140,000 $145,000 $1,300 

 

$145,000 or more 

 

                                 -0- 



 
 

                        
 

Married 

filing  

separately 

-0- $125,000 $3,275 

$125,000 $130,000 $2,600 

$130,000 $135,000 $1,950 

$135,000 $140,000 $1,300 

$140,000 $145,000 $650 

 

$145,000 or more 

 

                                 -0- 

Married 

filing jointly 

 

or 

Head of household 

 

or  

Qualifying 

widow(er) 

-0- $250,000 $6,550 

$250,000 $260,000 $5,200 

$260,000 $270,000 $3,900 

$270,000 $280,000 $2,600 

$280,000 $290,000 $1,300 

 

$290,000 or more 

 

                                 -0- 

 

 

This 2017 reference guide and Federal Form 1040 should be downloaded from the Board’s 

website and taken with you to the exam. The reference guide and Form 1040 are located here: 

https://www.oregon.gov/obtp/Documents/reference_sheet_2017_tax_law.pdf 

 

 

 

“All Applicants are encouraged to subscribe to the Department of Revenue (DOR) and Internal 

Revenue Service (IRS) bulletins that provide tax law updates.  Information on these updates may 

not be included in the source documents and are important to keep current with the current tax law 

changes” 

 

 

 

 

 

https://www.oregon.gov/obtp/Documents/reference_sheet_2017_tax_law.pdf


 
 

                        
 

Sample Preparer Test with Frequently Missed Questions  
 

Sample questions extracted from 2017-2018 exams based on 2016 tax law. References are to federal and state publications. 

Answers and subject matters can be found at the end of this section.  

These questions serve as examples only.  

1.  Janet, a single parent, attends college full time.  She is studying for her Master's degree.  Janet's tuition is $6,000.  The Lifetime 
Learning Credit on Janet's tax return could total: 
 

  A. $600 
  B. $1,000 
  C. $1,200 

    D. $2,000 
 

2.  Mr. Brown, a cash basis calendar year taxpayer, receives all of his income from farming and has a federal income tax liability of $4,000.  
Mr. Brown made no estimated tax payments.  Mr. Brown may avoid the penalty for not paying estimated tax if he files his federal income 
tax return and pays the tax due on or before what date: 
 

  A. January 31 
  B. March 1 
  C. March 15 

    D. April 15 
 
 
 Mini Problem - Schedule A attached.   

 
John and Pat file a joint return which included Schedules A - Itemized Deductions, B - Interest and Dividends and E - Rentals.  They live 
in Eugene, Oregon.  John's mothers only income is a union pension of $1,045 per year.  She lives in the basement apartment of their 
home.  John and Pat had a total Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) of $79,780 for the tax year.  They paid the following expenses: 
 
 
$627 Mother's medical insurance 
$758 Mother's doctor and hospital bills 
$3,986 John and Pat's medical expenses 
$737 John and Pat's hospital expenses 
$11,348 State withholding 
$1,097 Home real estate taxes 
$1,100 Real estate tax (recreational lot in California) 
$915 Real estate tax (Crooked River Ranch lot) 
$600 US Customs tax (shotgun imported from Sweden) 
$325 Real estate tax (rental house in Cleveland, Ohio) 
$1,500 Credit union interest 
$1,190 Credit card interest 
$4,840 Interest paid (rental house in Cleveland, Ohio) 

$1,385 Interest paid on mother's car 
$1,148 Qualified home equity loan interest 
$290 Contribution to church 
$171 Contribution to Goodwill 
$50 Contribution to Democratic Party 
$180 Bingo at church 
$60 Dues to Elks Lodge 
$240 Tax preparation fee 
$244 Professional subscriptions 
$250 Attorney fee for drafting will 
$60 Safe deposit box holds stocks and bonds 
$285 Investment expenses 
$1,025 Unreimbursed travel expenses from Form 2106

 
 

3. What is the total deductible taxes paid found on line 9 of Schedule A? 
 

  A. $12,445 
  B. $14,460 
  C. $14,785 

    D. $15,060 
 

4. What is the total deductible miscellaneous expenses, after 2% Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) subtraction, found on line 27 on Schedule 
A? 
 

  A. $14 
  B. $258 
  C. $318 

    D. $508 
 



 
 

                        
 

5.  Non-residents of Oregon are not taxed on interest income from personal savings accounts held in Oregon banks. 
 

  A. True 
  B. False 

 
 
 Mini Problem - Schedule C and Form 8829 attached. 

 
Masako a sole proprietor owns and operates a catering business.  She works from her home and has an office and storage area used 
exclusively and regularly as her principal place of business. 
 
Income = $175,000 
Bank loan = $25,000 
Delivery truck expense (gas, oil, repairs) = $6,500 
Business liability insurance = $3,500 
Interest on bank loan = $2,000 
Wages to employees = $40,000 
Bonus to employees = $5,000 
Supplies/food = $90,000 
Masako's draws = $50,000 
Payroll taxes = $8,000 
Masako's IRA = $3,000 
Real estate tax = $1,500 
Mortgage Interest = $5,000 
Utilities = $10,000 
Advertising = $5,000 

 
 
 The business use percentage of her home office and storage area is 20%. 
 
 
6.       What is Masako's tentative profit or loss on line 29 of Schedule C? 

 
  A. $12,000 
  B. $12,300 
  C. $15,000 

   D. $16,500 
 
 

 
 Mini Problem - Schedule A attached. 

 
Dora and Jim Gillam, both age 41, have the following itemized deductions:   
 
Their Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) is $24,915. 
 
Political contributions = $50 
Oregon tax withheld on wages = $146 
IRA fees paid separately =$199 
Optical = $289 
Interest paid on Account Investment (Investment income $3,240) = $696 
Oregon taxes paid on previous years’ tax return = $783 
Oregon estimated taxes $200/Qtr. (4th Qtr. paid in Dec.) = $800 
Chiropractor = $954 
Personal Property donated to charitable organizations, no single donation of $250 or more = $1,079 
Prescriptions = $1,312 
Braces for dependent child = $1,408 
Dental = $2,081 
Doctors = $2,330 
Church = $2,510 
Medical Insurance for Jim (whose self-employment income is $18,000) = $2,630 
SEP pension contribution = $2,763 



 
 

                        
 

IRA deduction for Jim = $3,500 
Additional various cash charitable contributions = $3,827 
 
352 Medical miles  

 1622 Charitable miles   
 

 
7.  The total charitable donations found on line 19 of Schedule A? 

 
  A. $1,079 
  B. $6,564 
  C. $7,416 

    D. $7,643 

 
 
 Mini Problem - No Form Needed to Complete 

 
Amy (single) moved from Montana to Portland, Oregon to take a job in Vancouver, Washington.  After becoming an Oregon resident, 
Amy paid her moving expenses.  Amy paid the following: 
 
 
Storage for 30 days - $80 
Rented moving truck - $110 
Meals - $35 
Gas, oil for personal vehicle $70 

 To disconnect utilities - $50 

 
  
8. Amy may deduct moving expenses on her part year Oregon return in the amount of: 

 
  A. $0 
  B. $260 
  C. $310 

   D. $345 
 

  
 
 Mini Problem - Schedule B   

 

John and Mary have the following investment income: 
 
Bank of America Interest    $150 
OSU Credit Union     $100 
AT&T Corporate Bond Interest    $250 
Dreyfus Fund Qualified Dividend    $100 
Dreyfus Fund Capital Gain Distribution  $200 
Dreyfus Fund Non-taxable Dividend    $100 
AT&T Qualified Dividend    $400 
Chase Certificate of Deposit    $450 (as nominee for daughter) 
Interest on loan from son    $300 
Oregon School Bond     $300 
 
 

9. What is the total taxable interest found on line 4 of Schedule B? 
 

  A. $550 
  B. $800 
  C. $1,000 
  D. $1,450 
 

 



 
 

                        
 

10. Select the deduction that does not qualify for schedule A: 
 

  A. Investment counseling fees 
  B. Expenses of an income producing hobby 
  C. Fee for preparing a will 
  D. Gambling losses (within limitations) 
 
 

 
11. Interest income from Puerto Rico municipal bonds is an addition to Oregon income. 

 
  A. True 
  B. False 
 
 
   

12. Continuing education credits will be accepted only for courses and seminars that comply with all National Association of State Boards of 
Accountancy (NASBA) rules regarding continuing education. 

 
  A. True  

    B. False 
 
 
 

Mini Problem - Schedule A attached.   

 
Bill, age 70, and Sue Black, age 55, are Married Filing Jointly (MFJ).  Sue's mother, age 75, lives with them.  They pay all of her bills 
and carry her on their health insurance.  She receives gross rent of $200/month from her former home and no other income.  Their 
Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) is $37,418.  They are full-year Oregon residents.  The following was paid out of their joint checking 
account: 
 
 
$1,921 Health insurance (including $284 for Sue's mother) 
$890 Dr. Hanlin MD (Sue) 
$796 Dr. Johnson MD (Bill) 
$350 Dr. Brick MD (Sue's mother) 
$1,849 Dr. Anderson DDS (Sue's mother) 
$640 Prescription medicine and drugs 
$1,741 State tax withheld 
$5,034 Federal tax withheld 
$1,490 Property taxes (their home) 
$461 Property taxes (mother's rental) 
$214 Prior year Oregon tax paid 
$3,568 US Bank mortgage interest (their home) 
$1,216 Carl Jackson contract (mortgage interest on 
mother's rental) 

$588 VISA interest 
$632 Department store interest 
$718 MasterCard interest 
$202 Ford Motor Co. (mother's car - interest) 
$740 Church 
$100 Democratic Party 
$75 Collection for sick neighbor 
$52 United Way payroll deduction 
$370 Union dues 
$100 Legal fees for a will 
$134 Tax preparation 
$18 Safety deposit box for stocks and bonds 
$412 Additional Federal tax paid on audit 
$121 Additional Oregon tax paid on audit 

 
 

 Sue does a lot of volunteer work for the Community Hospital and she has kept records of her time.  She spent 200 hours working last 
year and she figures her time is worth at least $1,410. 

 
 
 
   13.  What is the total deductible taxes they paid found on Line 9 of Schedule A? 

   
  A. $3,231 
  B. $3,445 
  C. $3,566 

    D. $4,027 
 
 
 



 
 

                        
 

 Mini Problem - Schedule E attached. 

 
Cari Hall rents spaces in a mobile home park.  She lives in the park and manages it. 
 
Her income from rentals for the year = $31,934 
Interest from checking $103 
 
 
Her direct rental expenses are as follows: 
 
 
Repairs to rental units = $770 
Bank charges for the rental bank account = $355 
Garbage for the tenants = $1,654 
Tenant electricity = $7,650 
Tenant water = $1,000 
Refund on rent deposit included in income = $532 
Rental portion of tax preparation fee (Total $205) = $85 
Depreciation on equipment = $1,130 
 
 
Total expenses (Cari's personal share is 45%) 
 
     Total real estate taxes = $4,660 
     Total mortgage interest = $10,695 
     Total insurance on park = $2,793 
 
 

 Mileage:  240 business miles 
 
 
 
14. The net income on Cari's Schedule E is: 

 
  A. $8,647 
  B. $8,750 
  C. $10,469 
  D. $10,564 
 
 

    
 
 Mini Problem - No Form Needed to Complete 

 

 Taxpayer has inherited a house from her mother.  At the time of the mother's death, the fair market value of the house was $100,000.  
The mother's basis in the house was $50,000.  Taxpayer put a new kitchen in the house at a cost of $20,000, and sold the house for 
$150,000. 

 
 
   15. If the taxpayer received the house as a gift from her mother instead of as an inheritance, what is taxpayer's basis in the house at the time 

of the sale? 
 

  A. $50,000 
  B. $70,000 
  C. $100,000 

    D. $120,000 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 

                        
 

 Mini Problem – Schedule D attached 
 

In the previous year, Terri Jones had a $2,100 long-term capital loss carry forward to the current year.  Her investment transactions this 
year were: 
 
1.)  Purchased 100 shares of IBM on 3/15/09 for $1,400; sold 9/10/16 for $3,000. 
 
2.)  Purchased 50 shares of Hartford 7/10/15 for $1,700; sold 7/1/16 for $1,500. 
 

 3.)  Purchased 20 shares of ITT 12/15/09 for $500.  Considered worthless by her  
      broker on 12/31/16. 
 

 
 

 
   16. What is the amount on Line 16 of Schedule D? 

 
  A. $ 800 loss 
  B. $1,000 loss 
  C. $1,200 loss 

    D. $ 900 gain 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

End of Sample Preparer Test Frequently Missed Questions 

 



 
 

                        
 

Answers, Subject Matter and References 

Frequently Missed Questions 

 

References can be found in 2016 tax law publications, booklets & instructions 

 

PREPARER 

 

     

        1.)    Correct Answer: $1,200 (C) 

Subject Matter:  Federal Credits 

 

2.) Correct Answer: March 1 (B) 

Subject Matter: Federal Payments 

 

3.) Correct Answer: $14,460 (B) 
Subject Matter:  PXMiniProblems 

 

4.) Correct Answer: $258 (B)  
Subject Matter: PXMiniProblems 

 

5.) Correct Answer: True (A) 
Subject Matter:  Oregon Additions 

 

6.) Correct Answer: $15,000 (C) 
Subject Matter:  PXMiniProblems 

 

7.) Correct Answer: $7,643 (D) 
Subject Matter:  PXMini-Problems 

 

8.) Correct Answer: $310 (C) 
Subject Matter:  PXMini-Problems 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9.) Correct Answer: $550 (A) 
Subject Matter:  PXMini-Problems 

     

      10.)    Correct Answer: Fee for preparing a will (C) 

                Subject Matter:  Federal Itemized Deducs. 

                        

       11.)   Correct Answer: False (B) 

                Subject Matter:  Oregon Additions        

 

       12.)   Correct Answer: False (B) 

                Subject Matter: Oregon License Law 

                        

       13.)   Correct Answer:  $3,566 (C) 

                Subject Matter:  PXMiniProblems 

                 
       14.)   Correct Answer:  $8,647 (A) 

                Subject Matter:  PXMiniProblems 

                 

       15.)   Correct Answer:  $70,000 (B) 

                Subject Matter:  PXMiniProblems 

                 

       16.)   Correct Answer:  $1,200 (C) 

                Subject Matter:  PXMiniProblems 

                 

        

 

        

 

 

 

 

        

 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 

                        
 

STATE BOARD OF TAX PRACTITIONERS 
RECOMMENDED RESOURCES AND STUDY GUIDES FOR APPLICANTS 

PREPARING TO TAKE THE CONSULTANT EXAMINATION  
Questions in the current Consultant Exam are derived from the following 2017 source documents 

 

FEDERAL: 

 Pub. 17 

 Pub. 225 – Farmer’s Tax Guide 

 Pub. 334 – Small Business Guide 

 Pub. 463 – Travel, Entertainment, Gift, & Car Expenses 

 Pub. 502 – Medical & Dental Expenses 

 Pub. 519, Chapter 1 – U.S. Tax Guide for Aliens 

 Pub. 521 – Moving Expenses 

 Pub. 523 – Selling Your Home 

 Pub. 525 – Taxable and Nontaxable Income 

 Pub. 535 – Business Expenses 

 Pub. 536 – Net Operating Losses for Individuals, Estates and Trusts 

 Pub. 537 – Installment Sales 

 Pub. 544 – Sales & Other Dispositions of Assets 

 Pub. 550 – Investment Income & Expenses 

 Pub. 551 – Basis of Assets 

 Pub. 575 – Pension and Annuity Income 

 Pub. 587 – Business Use of Home 

 Pub. 590 – Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs) 

 Pub. 596 – Earned Income Credit 

 Pub. 925 – Passive Activities 

 Pub. 936 – Home Mortgage Interest Deductions 

 Pub. 946 – Depreciation 

 Pub. 970 – Tax Benefits for Higher Education 

 Pub. 5187 – Affordable Care Act:  What You and Your Family Need to Know  

 Federal Form 1040 Instructions (not forms booklets) 

 Federal Form 6251 Instructions – Form AMT Instructions 

 Federal Form 8801 and Instructions   
 
OREGON: 

 OR-17 

 Oregon Income Tax Full-Year Resident Form 40 and instructions, Schedules OR-ASC and WFC 

 Oregon Income Tax Part-Year Resident/Nonresident Form 40N & 40P, Schedule WFC-N/P, and 
instructions 

 Tax Payments on Real Property Conveyances: Form OR-18, Form WC, Form TP-18, & Instructions  

 Oregon Administrative Rules, Chapter 800: 800-010-0015 through 800-030-0050 

 Oregon Revised Statutes, Chapter 673:  673.605 through 673.990 
 

     Donates any new publications added for the 2018-19 season 

Other publications and documents that you may find useful in assisting you in studying for the examination are:  Form 2106, Form 4797, Form 5695 and 

Form 8853 Instructions. 



 
 

                        
 

Consultant Examination Subject Outline 
and approximate percentage of coverage 

   
Federal 
 
How to file -- 5% 
  Filing status 
  Personal exemptions 
  Filing requirements 
  Dependents 
Earned income -- 2.5% 
  Wages 
  Tips 
  Fringe benefits 
Interest -- 2% 
  Taxable 
  Exempt 
  OID 
Dividends -- 2% 
  Ordinary 
  Nontaxable 
  Capital gain 
Business income, deductions -- 5.5%  
Passive activities, rentals -- 3% 
Farms -- 1.5%            
Pensions & annuities -- 3%    
Social Security -- 1%     
Depreciation -- 4%       
Sales of property -- 15%       
  Basis 
  Capital assets 
  Business property 
  Residence 
  Installment and repossessions 
  Depreciation recapture 
  Involuntary conversions 
  Nontaxable exchanges 
Miscellaneous income -- 3%    

Itemized deductions -- 9.5%   
   Medical 
   Taxes 
   Interest 
   Contributions 
   Casualty losses 
    
 
 
    
 
 
 

 
 
 
Miscellaneous deductions 
   a. Employee business 
   b. Production of income 
   c. Education 
Credits -- 3.5%  
   Child care 
   Child tax 
   Earned income 
   Education 
   Mortgage interest 
   Other 
Estimated payments -- 1%  
Self-employment tax -- .5% 
Alternative minimum tax -- 1.5%  
Other taxes -- 2.5%  
   Lump sum distributions 
   Penalties 
   Tips 
   Household employment 
Net operating losses,  
at-risk amounts -- 1%  
Amended returns -- 1.5% 
Other areas -- 2.5%  
Adjustments -- 4%  
   IRA, SEP, KEOGH 
   Alimony 
   Moving expenses 
     Other 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 

                        
 

     

Consultant Examination Subject Outline, continued 

 
Oregon 
 
 
How to file -- 3%  
   Filing status 
   Requirements 
   Non-residents 
   Exemptions 
Additions -- 3% 
   Municipal bonds 
   Other 
Subtractions -- 4% 
   Taxes 
   Interest 
   Military pensions 
   Other pensions 
   Other subtractions 
Deductions -- 2.5%  
   Standard deduction 
   Itemized deductions 
   Oregon medical 
Credits -- 4%  
   Child care 
   Political 
   Exemption credits 
   Retirement 
   Working family 
   Other 
Payments -- 1% 
   Estimated 
Part year/non-resident -- 2%   
License law -- 5.5%

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

Consultant Examination Index and Study Guide 
 
 
 

DESCRIPTION/STUDY TOPICS          REFERENCE USED       
 
Filing Requirements        Pub 17 
Filing Status        
Dependents/Exemptions       
Gross Income        
  W-2s, Interest, Dividends, Refunds, Alimony    Pub 525 
  Pensions, IRAs, Clergy, Unemployment,     Pub 575 
  Social Security, and Other Income      Pub 590 
Excludable Income       
Oregon         Pub OR17 
          Oregon booklet 
Code of Professional Conduct      OARs Chapter 800 
 

 
Standard Deduction        Pub 17 
Schedule A        
  Medical, Taxes, Interest, Investment Interest,    Pub 502 
  Contributions, Casualty Losses, and     Pub 936 
  Misc including Form 2106       Pub 463 
          Pub 970 
Oregon         Pub OR17 
 

 
Basis of Assets        Pub 17 
          Pub 551 
Depreciation         Pub 946 
  Sec 179, Bonus Depreciation, MACRS,     Pub 225 
  Listed Property        Pub 334 
Oregon         Pub OR17 
          1040 booklet 
 

 
Schedule C         Pub 334  
  Business vs. Hobby, and Home Office     Pub 535 
          Pub 587 
Schedule F         Pub 225 
Schedule SE         Pub 463 
Oregon         Pub OR17 
 

 
Schedule E Rentals        Pub 17 
  Royalties and K-1’s        Pub 925 
  Passive Activities       
NOLs          Pub 536   
Oregon         Pub OR17 
 

 



 

 

DESCRIPTION/STUDY TOPICS            REFERENCE USED                                                   
 
Sales and Exchanges        Pub 544 
  Sch D, Form 4797, Involuntary Conversions, 
  Repossessions, and Like-Kind Exchanges     Pub 551     
Installment Sales and Form 6252      Pub 537 
Sale of Personal Residence       Pub 523 
          Pub 17 
          Pub 225 
          Pub 334 
Oregon         Pub OR17 
 

 
Adjustments to Income       Pub 17                
Education, Student Loan Interest, Tuition & Fees    Pub 970 
IRA          Pub 590  
Moving Expense        1040 booklet 
SE Tax 
SE Health Insurance 
SE Retirement Plans 
Penalty for Early Withdrawal 
Alimony 
Personal Property Rental Expenses 
Oregon         Pub OR17 
          Oregon booklets 
 

 
AMT          Pub 225 
Tax Credits         Pub 17  
  EIC, Child Care, Child Tax, Additional 
  Child Tax, Foreign Tax Cr, Education,     Pub 970 
  Retirement Savings, Adoption, Gas Tax, 
  and Excess SS Tax and RRTI Tax 
Oregon         Pub OR17 
          Oregon booklets 
 

 
Filing due dates        Pub 17 
Estimated taxes        1040 booklet 
Penalty for IRAs and Form 5329      Pub 590 
Advance EIC Payments 
          Pub 225 
          Pub 334 
Oregon         Pub OR17 
          Oregon booklets 
 

 

 

 

 



 

 

Sample Consultant Test with Frequently Missed Questions  
 

Sample questions extracted from 2017-2018 exams based on 2016 tax law. References are to federal 

and state publications. Answers and subject matters can be found at the end of this section.  

These questions serve as examples only.  

1.   Karen is an active general partner in her accounting practice.  At the beginning of the year her basis in the partnership was $4200.  Her 
current K-1 shows both an ordinary business loss of $5990 and interest income of $200.  What is Karen's allowable loss? 
 

  A. $4,200 
  B. $4,400 
  C. $5,790 

    D. $5,990  
 

 
2.  Taxpayer purchased 100 shares of ABC stock for $500.  Taxpayer receives Form 1099-DIV showing partial liquidation distribution in the 

amount of $450.  Taxpayer must: 
 

  A. include $450 as dividends. 
  B. reduce basis in stock by $450. 
  C. increase basis in stock by $450. 

    D. Both (A) and (C) 
 

 
 
3. Taxpayer Zeeke died during the current tax year.  Zeeke had a capital loss carryover of $8,000.  The remaining loss carryover will be 

claimed on his final return. 
 

  A. True  
    B. False 
 
 
 
4. Theodore filed his 2012 tax return on October 15, 2014 and paid $500 tax on October 15, 2014.  He learned later that there were errors 

and he had a refund coming.  Theodore will receive a refund if the amended return is filed no later than 
 

  A. April 15, 2015. 
  B. October 15, 2015. 
  C. October 17, 2016. 

    D. Oct 15, 2017. 
 

 
 
5. Jane sold land in Oregon on an installment contract after she moved to Washington State.  She must report.   

 
  A. Oregon installment interest on an Oregon contract. 
  B. the capital gain on her Oregon return. 
  C. the capital gain and interest to both Oregon and Federal. 

    D. the interest and capital gain only to Federal. 
 
 

 
6.  Which of the following can be used as a subtraction on the Oregon return? 

 
  A. Federal refunds, for which you received a tax benefit in a prior year 
  B. Interest on municipal bonds from another state 
  C. Donation to Oregon Cultural Trust 

    D. Foreign income tax 
 
 



 

 

  
7. John & Mary Smith are Oregon residents who serve in the National Guard.  John's military pay was $6,000, of which $2,000 was for 

weekend drills.  Mary earned $4,000 for her annual training.  Their exclusion for military service duty pay would be 
 

  A. $2,000 
  B. $6,000. 
  C. $8,000. 

    D. $10,000. 
 
 
 
8.  On your Oregon income tax return you may subtract taxable scholarships used for 

 
  A. housing expenses even if the expenses were deducted on your Federal return. 
  B. housing expenses for either you or your dependent. 
  C. housing expenses if the expenses were for the scholarship recipient. 

    D. housing expenses only if the scholarship states it can be used for housing 
   expenses. 

  
 
 
9. Depreciation is not allowed when listed property is used less than 50 percent for business. 

 
  A. True 

    B. False  
 

 
 
10. Matt Dillon turned 70 1/2 years old and retired on February 12 of the current year.  Generally, he must start receiving distributions from 

his traditional Individual Retirement Account (IRA) by _______________. 
 

  A. February 12 of the current year. 
  B. December 31 of the current year. 
  C. April 15 of the following year. 

    D. April 1 of the following year. 
 
 
 
11.  A union longshoreman travels from his home to the union hall.  He receives a job assignment within the metropolitan area where he 

does the majority of his work.  What mileage is deductible? 
 

  A. All of his mileage from the union hall to the job. 
  B. All of his mileage from his home to the job. 
  C. His mileage from home to the union hall. 

    D. None of his mileage 
 

   
 
12.  Mr. & Mrs. Elliott had an Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) of $250,000.  They donated $500 to an Oregon candidate.  How much is their 

political contribution credit. 
 

  A. $0 
  B. $50 
  C. $100 

    D. $500 
 

 
13.  Larry's only earned income is from his business, Larry's Plumbing.  As a new business, his net income was only $3,000 resulting in self-

employment tax of $424.  Larry paid $3,800 for health insurance.  He is allowed to claim a maximum self-employed health insurance 
deduction in the amount of 
 

  A. $2,576. 
  B. $2,660. 
  C. $2,788. 

    D. $3,800. 
 



 

 

 
14.  David and Helen Brown own a home which they purchased for $200,000.  This year, the Browns borrowed $115,000 on a home equity 

loan to pay off credit card debt.  The Browns may deduct as qualified "home equity debt" the interest paid on which of the following 
amounts? 
 

  A. -0- 
  B. $85,000 
  C. $100,000 

    D. $115,000 
 
 
15.  The cost of a stop smoking program is deductible as a medical expense, whether prescribed by a doctor or not. 

 
  A. True 

    B. False 
 

 
 
16. If a taxpayer sells a commercial building for $125,000 (basis $100,000) receives $16,000 in the year of sale and carries a contract for 20 

years, he must use the installment method of reporting the sale of the building. 
 

  A. True 
    B. False 

 
 
17. Joe enrolls full time for college classes in September and pays tuition and fees of $1,800 in October.  Joe withdraws from college and 

the college refunds $800 of the tuition and fees in November.  When Joe prepares his tax return he can take $1,000 for the tuition and 
fees deduction. 
 

  A. True  
    B. False 
 
 
 
18. Mr. Jones purchased a City of Seattle, Washington municipal bond with a face value of $10,000 for $10,250.  The purchase price 

included $250 of accrued interest.  The total interest income reported for this bond was $500.  How much is taxable on his Oregon 
return? 
 

  A. $0 
  B. $250 
  C. $500 

    D. $750 
 

 
 

19.  Mr. Lester, an Oregon taxpayer, is under 65, single and not a dependent.  His total income includes Port of Portland bonds of $3,500, 
savings account interest of $150, Idaho municipal bond interest of $1,000, and Social Security of $9,500.  Which of the following is true 
regarding his filing requirement? 
 

  A. He must file an Oregon return only. 
  B. He must file both a Federal and an Oregon return. 
  C. He is not required to file either return. 

    D. He must file a Federal return only. 
 
 
 
20. An Oregon non-resident who works in Oregon may qualify for the Working Family Household and Dependent Care Credit on his/her 

Oregon return. 
 

  A. True 
    B. False 
 
 

 
 

End of Sample Consultant Test Frequently Missed Questions 



 

 

Answers, Subject Matter and References 

Frequently Missed Questions 

References can be found in 2016 tax law publications, booklets & instructions 

CONSULTANT 

 

              

1.)    Correct Answer: $4,400 (B) 

Subject Matter:  Federal Business Income & Deduc. 

 

2.)    Correct Answer: reduce basis in stock by $450 (B) 

 Subject Matter: Federal Dividends 

 

3.)    Correct Answer: False (B) 

Subject Matter:  Federal Sales of Property 

 

4.)    Correct Answer: October 17, 2016 (C)  
Subject Matter: Federal Amended Returns 

 

5.)    Correct Answer: the capital gain on her Oregon return (B) 
 Subject Matter:  Oregon Part Yr-Non Res. 

 

6.)    Correct Answer: Foreign income tax (D) 

 Subject Matter:  Oregon Subtractions 

 

 7.)    Correct Answer: $10,000 (D) 
 Subject Matter:  Oregon Subtractions 

 

 8.)    Correct Answer: housing expenses if the expenses…(C) 
 Subject Matter:  Oregon Subtractions 

   

9.)    Correct Answer: False (B) 

 Subject Matter:  Federal Depreciation 

     

10.)   Correct Answer: April 1 of the following year (D) 

                  Subject Matter:  Federal Pens & Annuities 

                 

11.)   Correct Answer: None of his mileage (D) 

                  Subject Matter:  Federal Itemized Deductions 

                 

12.)   Correct Answer: $0 (A) 

                 Subject Matter: Oregon Credits 

                 

13.)   Correct Answer:  $2,788 (C) 

                  Subject Matter:  Federal Adjustments                 

 
14.)   Correct Answer:  $100,000 (C) 

                  Subject Matter:  Federal Itemized Deductions 

                 

15.)   Correct Answer:  True (A) 

                  Subject Matter:  Federal Itemized Deductions 

 

16.)   Correct Answer:  False (B) 

                  Subject Matter:  Federal Sales of Property 

 

17.)   Correct Answer:  True (A) 

                 Subject Matter:  Federal Adjustments 

 

18.)   Correct Answer:  $250 (B) 

                 Subject Matter:  Oregon Additions 

 

19.)   Correct Answer:  He is not required to file...(C) 

                 Subject Matter:  Oregon How to File 

 

20.)   Correct Answer:  True (A) 

                 Subject Matter:  Oregon Part Yr-Non Res. 

                                 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

2018 - 2019 PSI Proctor Site Information 

The following PSI proctor sites will be offering the online Tax Board examinations beginning November 1st 

(verify with the OBTP that the online exam has been activated).  The proctor sites are listed in 

alphabetical order by the city in which they are located.  Indicate only one location on your exam 

application form with the Site Code.  

 

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REFER TO THE PSI SERVICES, LLC  

CANDIDATE INFORMATION BOOKLET   

www.psiexams.com 

 

• Your location selection will be final once you submit your application and $60 application 

fee to the OBTP. 
 

• Upon approval of exam eligibility, the OBTP will e-mail you an approval notice.  It is your 

responsibility to contact PSI to pay for proctoring and schedule the examination. 

 

• Your eligibility if good for 60 days from the date of approval by the Board.  If you fail the 

exam you may retest an unlimited number of times during the 60-day period.  If you do not 

pass within the 60 days, you must re-apply with the OBTP.  You will need to submit a new 

application with all applicable examination fees. 
 

• Do not contact the proctor site to schedule your exam time until after your receive the 

letter from the Board approving you to test. 

 

PSI TESTING SITES - $50 Preparers, $85 Consultant, $85 Consultant State Only 

 
Aurora Aviation  

22785 Airport Rd NE, Blue Gate #5  
Aurora, OR 97002 
  
From I-5 N, heading Northeast, take exit 282 toward Canby. Turn right onto NE Miley Rd. Take the 1st right onto NE Airport 
Rd/Aurora Rd. Continue to follow NE Airport Rd. Destination will be on the right.  
 

 
Baker City  
2101 Main Street, #203  
Baker City, OR 97814  
 
From I-84 take Exit 304 onto Campbell Street. On Campbell Street go 1 mile to Main Street, turn left. Test site is a 1/4 of a 

mile on right side, in a brick building before Broadway in the Basch Sage Mini Mall. Enter from Broadway and go upstairs. 

Take a left to the end of hall to Room 203. 

 

 

Bend  

325 NW Vermont Pl, #106 

Bend, OR  97701 

  

From US-97 going North, take the Revere Ave exit and take a left at the traffic signal. Go one block West to Wall Street and 

turn left at the traffic light. Continue South on Wall Street for approximately 1/2 mile and turn right onto NW Vermont Pl. 

The PSI Test Center is the first building on the left.  

 

 

http://www.psiexams.com/


 

 

Eugene  

1955 Empire Park Drive, Suite A 

Eugene, OR 97402  

 

From I-5 take Beltline Hwy West to exit #5 Barger Drive. Turn Left at the end of exit ramp. Go .7 miles and turn right onto 

Empire Park Drive. (JUST before Hwy 99). The first building on the corner is Subway. Second building is PSI exams Suite A. 

Edward Jones Investments is the other tenant of the building in Suite B.  

  From Hwy 126 which is also West 11th take Beltline Hwy to exit #5 Barger Drive. Turn right at the end of exit ramp. Go .7 
  miles and turn Right onto Empire Park Drive. (JUST before HWY 99). The first building on the corner is Subway. Second 
   building is PSI exams Suite A. Edward Jones Investments is the other tenant of the building in Suite B.  

Please do not park at or near Subway, but instead park on the left side of the building. 

 

 

Independence  

4901 Airport Rd  

Independence State Airport  

Independence, OR 97351  

 

Take I-5 to exit 260A for OR-99E BUS S/Salem Expy and follow, then taking a slight left onto Commercial St NE. Turn 

right on Marion St NE continuing onto OR-22W/Marion St. Bridge. Follow OR-22W for 5 miles, then turn left onto OR-

51S/Independence Hwy. Turn right onto Polk St and continue onto Hoffman Rd. Turn right onto Airport Rd.  

 

  Medford  
  1236 A North Riverside Ave  
  Medford, OR 97501  
 
  From I-5 going North, take the Barnett Street off ramp and turn left. Turn right on Riverside Ave, and go approximately 3 
  miles. The site will be on the right side.  
 

From I-5 going South, take the North exit (#30) and turn right and follow signs to “City Center”. Pass McAndrews, and 

turn left on Manzinita. This dead ends at Riverside. Turn left on Riverside, go one block and site will be on the right 

side. 

 

  Portland  
  205 Business Center, Suite 258  
  8383 NE Sandy Blvd  
  Portland, OR 97220  
 
  Coming North on I-205: Take the Killingsworth exit. Stay to the left and travel through the first light. PSI is on the right-
  hand side in the business building across from the Grotto. If you get to NE 82nd Ave., you have gone too far.  
  We are on the 2nd floor which seems to be the 1st floor when entering the building from Sandy Blvd and are the first door 
  on the right. There is signage on the door to our office.  
 
  Coming South on I-205: Take the Sandy Blvd exit. Stay in the right-hand lane and turn right at signal. Come up to the next 
  signal (Sandy Blvd) and turn right again. PSI is on the right-hand side in the business building across from the Grotto. If you 
  get to NE 82nd Ave., you have gone too far. We are on the 2nd floor which seems to be the 1st floor when entering the 
   building from Sandy Blvd and are the first door on the right. There is signage on the door to our office.  
 

Coming East on Sandy Blvd: Just past NE 82nd Ave. across from the Grotto is the business building that PSI is in. We are 

on the 2nd floor which seems to be the 1st floor when entering the building from Sandy Blvd and are the first door on 

the right. There is signage on the door to our office. 

  Coming West on Sandy Blvd: Just past Prescot St. and across from the Grotto is the business building that PSI is in. We are on 
  the 2nd floor which seems to be the 1st floor when entering the building from Sandy Blvd and are the first door on the 
   right. There is signage on the door to our office. 
  
  Coming South on 82nd Ave: Turn right on Sandy Blvd. PSI is in the business building across from the Grotto. We are on the 
  2nd floor which seems to be the 1st floor when entering the building from Sandy Blvd and are the first door on the right. 
  There is signage on the door to our office.  
 

Coming North on 82nd Ave: Turn left on Sandy Blvd. PSI is in the business building across from the Grotto. We are on 

the 2nd floor which seems to be the 1st floor when entering the building from Sandy Blvd and are the first door on the 

right. There is signage on the door to our office. 



 

 

  Wilsonville  
  25195 SW Parkway Ave  
  Suite 105  
  Wilsonville, OR 97070  
 
  Going South: Off I5, take exit 286 (Ellingens/Boones Ferry Rd). Turn left and cross back over the freeway. Turn left at 2nd 
  signal light (Parkway Ave.) Turn into Parkway Plaza parking lot (across the street from Shriner's). We are located in the Main 
  Entrance first door on the right.  
 

Going North: Off I5, take exit 286 (Ellingens/Boones Ferry Rd). Turn Right. Turn Left at next signal light (Parkway Ave.) 

Turn into Parkway Plaza parking lot (across the street from Shriner's). We are located in the Main Entrance first door on 

the right. 

 

 

 

Additionally, PSI has examination centers in many other regions across the United 

States. You may take this examination at any of these locations by submitting the 

out-of-state request form found on the PSIT Testing website. 

 

 

On the day of the examination, you should arrive at least 30 minutes prior to your 

scheduled appointment time. This allows time for sign-in and identification 

verification and provides time for you to familiarize yourself with the examination 

process. If you arrive late, you will not be admitted to the examination site and you will 

forfeit your examination registration fee. 

 

Candidates must register for the exam with their LEGAL first and last name as it appears on their 

government issued identification. The required identification below must match the first and last name 

under which the candidate is registered. Candidates are required to bring one (1) form of valid (non-

expired) signature bearing identification to the test site. If the candidate fails to bring proper 

identification or the candidate names do not match, the candidate will not be allowed to test and their 

examination fee will not be refunded.  

 

PRIMARY IDENTIFICATION (with photo) – Choose One  

 State issued driver’s license  

 State issued identification card  

 US government issued passport  

 US government issued military identification card  

 US government issued Alien Registration Card  

 

NOTE: ID must contain candidate’s photo, be valid and unexpired.  

 

If you cannot provide the required identification, you must call (800) 733-9267 at least 3 weeks prior to 

your scheduled appointment to arrange a way to meet this security requirement. 

 

 

 

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REFER TO THE PSI SERVICES, LLC  

CANDIDATE INFORMATION BOOKLET   

www.psiexams.com 

http://www.psiexams.com/


 

 

 


