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General Information 

 

The Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners  
The Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners was founded by the Legislature in 1973 to protect the 

public by regulating tax professionals, conducting examinations of candidates before licensure, 

and ensuring that practitioners receive annual continuing education. Through these activities and 

compliance enforcement, the Board achieves its mission: protecting Oregon consumers by 

ensuring Oregon tax practitioners are competent and ethical in their professional activities.  

There are approximately 3,500 tax professionals and 1,200 tax preparation businesses licensed 

by the Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners. The agency is funded entirely by exam fees, license 

fees, and civil penalties. The Oregon Legislature approves the Board’s budget every two years.   

 

Types of Licenses 

  

Tax Preparer: This is an entry-level license that enables individuals to prepare personal income 

tax returns in Oregon for a fee. All Tax Preparers must work under the supervision of a licensed 

Tax Consultant. Tax preparer licenses expire every year on September 30th.   

 

Tax Consultant: This license allows individuals to prepare personal income tax returns in 

Oregon for a fee as a self-employed or independent tax practitioner. Licensed Tax Consultants 

may also supervise licensed Tax Preparers. Every tax preparation office registered with the 

Board is required to have a licensed Tax Consultant on site. Tax Consultant licenses expire every 

year on May 31st.  

 

Tax Preparation Business Registration: Any business or branch office that prepares personal 

income tax returns for a fee must be registered with the Board. Each location must also have a 

licensed Tax Consultant on site. Business and branch registrations expire annually on either June 

15 or October 15.  

 

Exempt Individuals: Certain individuals are exempt from licensure by the Oregon Board of Tax 

Practitioners. These include attorneys-at-law, certified public accountants (CPAs) and employees 

of attorneys and CPAs.  

  

Enrolled Agents: This is a national certification administered and regulated by the Internal 

Revenue Service. This certification gives the holder the right to represent taxpayers before the 

IRS.  Enrolled agents must obtain an Oregon tax preparer or tax consultant license if they 

wish to prepare personal income taxes in Oregon. Applicants must submit a copy of a 

current Treasury card, take the Oregon exam and pass with a score of 75%. Additional 

information on Enrolled Agent requirements may be found on the IRS website here: 

https://www.irs.gov/tax-professionals/enrolled-agents/enrolled-agent-information 

   

  

https://www.irs.gov/tax-professionals/enrolled-agents/enrolled-agent-information
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Initial License Requirements 
 

All licensees must:  

• Be 18 years of age or older 

• Possess a high school diploma or have passed an equivalency examination (GED) 

• Possess a Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) issued by the IRS 

• Pass a state-administered exam with a score of 75% or higher 

 

Licensed Tax Preparers must:  

• Have successfully completed a Board-approved 80-hour personal income tax course 

 

Licensed Tax Consultants must:  

• Have 1,100 hours of work experience as a tax preparer within at least two of the past five 

years* 

• Completed 15 hours of continuing education within the past 12 months 

• Pass a state-administered licensing exam with a score of 75% or higher 
*Enrolled agents are exempt from the work experience requirement if they hold a valid and 

signed Treasury Card 

 

________________________  

 

Please note: You may wish to contact the Board before applying for licensure if you answer 

“yes” to any of the following questions:  

 

1. Has a license in any other occupation or professional capacity issued in your name by any 

governmental entity ever been refused, suspended, revoked, or restricted, OR have you 

ever voluntarily relinquished a professional license? 

 

2. Are you aware of any current, proposed, pending or threatened professional complaints 

or civil or criminal action against you? Have you been convicted of, OR are you now 

under indictment for any criminal offense(s) of which an essential element is dishonesty, 

fraud or deception, per ORS 673.700(4)(b)? 

 

3. Have you ever been required to appear before or been sanctioned by any professional 

body or federal or state agency for alleged misconduct? 

 

If your answer is yes to any of these questions, you will be required to supply an explanation and 

provide date(s), location(s), and nature of the infractions(s).    
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Examinations 

 

The tax preparer and tax consultant exams cover personal income tax law, theory and practice. 

Exam questions are a combination of true/false, multiple-choice and scenario-based mini-

problems. Approximately 75% of the questions are on federal personal income tax law. Twenty-

five percent of the questions are on Oregon personal income tax law and Oregon tax practitioner 

administrative rules. 

 

All exams are administered by PSI in an electronic format at various testing locations across 

Oregon. A passing score on all exams is 75% or higher. Examinees receive their score 

immediately upon completion of their exam. There is no limit on the number of times an 

individual may attempt an exam, nor is there a mandatory waiting period between exam 

attempts. Exams are updated annually with new exams released on October 1st. Exams taken on 

or before September 30, 2019 will cover 2017 tax law. Exams taken on or after October 1, 2019 

will cover 2018 tax law. 

 

Tax Preparer Examination  
This is an “open-book” exam consisting of 163 questions. Four hours are provided to complete 

the exam. The exam is mostly true/false and multiple choice, with approximately 19 scenario-

based mini-problems that require some basic calculations. All schedules, worksheets, and forms 

needed to solve the mini-problems are available on the Board’s website and must be downloaded 

prior to your exam. The 80-hour basic tax course provides the information and experience 

necessary to pass this exam. No prior tax preparation experience is required.   

 

Tax Consultant Examination  
This is a “closed-book” exam that contains 200 questions. The only document allowed in the 

exam room is IRS Publication 850. Examinees are given five hours to complete the test. 

Questions are much more complicated and advanced than those in the tax preparer examination. 

The tax consultant exam requires significant experience and knowledge gained from preparing 

personal income taxes over several years.  

 

Enrolled Agent State-Only Examination   
This “closed-book” exam consists of 50 questions with a 90-minute time limit. Only Enrolled 

Agents with valid Treasury Cards are eligible to take this exam. This exam covers Oregon 

personal income tax law and Chapter 800 of the Oregon Administrative Rules, which cover 

licensing requirements and the code of conduct. The only document allowed in the exam is IRS 

Publication 850. 

 

Exam Fees 
There are two fees associated with the Board’s licensing exams. The first is a $60 application 

fee that is payable to the Board with submission of the initial exam application. The second fee 

is an exam administration fee that is paid directly to PSI for each exam scheduled. The exam 

administration fee for the tax preparer exam is $50. The exam administration fee for the tax 
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consultant exam or Enrolled Agent state-only exam is $85. Fees are non-refundable and “no-

shows” will forfeit any fees paid. 

 

Exam Applications 
Applications are available on the Board’s website here: 

https://www.oregon.gov/obtp/Pages/Forms.aspx. It is very important that all fields on the 

application be completed legibly. Incomplete or illegible applications will not be processed. An 

email address is required.  

 

Approvals / Notifications 
Exam applications are typically processed within two business days. You will be notified by the 

Board via email whether your application has been approved or if additional information is 

required. Your approval to sit for an exam is valid for 60 days. You may take the exam as many 

times as necessary within 60 calendar days of the date on your approval email from the Board 

(you must pay PSI for each exam taken). If you have not passed your exam within 60 days, you 

need to re-apply to the Board and pay the $60 application fee. If you have not received a 

response from the Board within four business days of submitting your application, please call the 

Board at 503-378-4034 or email tax.bd@oregon.gov.  

 

Scheduling Your Exam 
Within 24 hours of receiving the Board’s approval notice, you should receive an email from 

PSI with instructions on how to pay for and schedule your exam. PSI has testing centers in the 

following cities: Aurora, Baker City, Bend, Eugene, Independence, Medford, Portland, and 

Wilsonville. Exams can be scheduled online at PSI’s website www.psiexams.com, or by calling 

PSI at 800-733-9267 (Please call Monday through Friday between 4:30 am and 7:00 pm, and 

Saturday-Sunday between 8:00 am and 2:30 pm, Pacific Time.). Note: the exam fee must be 

paid to PSI before you can schedule an exam. Please contact the Board if you did not receive 

an email from PSI within two days after receiving an approval notification from the Board. 

 

Testing Centers 
You should arrive at the testing site 30 minutes before your scheduled exam time. You must 

have a valid government-issued identification or you will not be allowed to test. Arriving 

early will ensure there is ample time to confirm your eligibility, verify your identity, and 

familiarize yourself with the testing procedures. All exams are administered electronically on a 

personal computer. Examinees will receive an overview of the testing procedures, including the 

opportunity to view and answer a few sample questions before the exam begins.  

  

https://www.oregon.gov/obtp/Pages/Forms.aspx
mailto:tax.bd@oregon.gov
http://www.psiexams.com/
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Items Not Allowed in the Exam Room (All Exams) 

 

• Electronic devices of any type,  including cellular or mobile phones, recording devices, 

electronic watches, cameras, pagers, laptop computers, tablet computers (e.g., iPads), music 

player (e.g., iPods), smart watches, radios, or electronic games. 

 

• Other personal items, including purses, backpacks, and non-transparent bags or containers, 

notebooks, briefcases, wallets, food or drinks. 

 

• Programmable calculators 

 

Retake Examinations 
There is no limit on the number of times an individual may retake an examination, and there is 

no waiting period before rescheduling an exam. Applicants within the 60-day Board-approval 

period may reschedule an exam directly with PSI. Applicants outside the 60-day Board-approval 

period must re-apply to the Board and be re-approved before scheduling an exam. 
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Tax Preparer Exam Source Documents 

 

Federal 

 Publication 17 – Your Federal Income Tax for Individuals 

 Publication 54 – Tax Guide for U.S. Citizens and Resident Aliens Abroad 

 Publication 225 – Farmer’s Tax Guide 

 Publication 334 – Tax Guide for Small Business 

 Publication 527 – Residential Rental Property 

 Publication 587 – Business Use of Your Home 

 Publication 596 – Earned Income Credit (EIC) 

 Publication 850 – English-Foreign Language Glossary of Words and Phrases 

 Publication 936 – Home Mortgage Interest Deduction 

 Publication 946 – How to Depreciate Property 

 Publication 970 – Tax Benefits for Education 

 Publication 974 - Premium Tax Credit 

 Federal Form 1040 Instructions (not forms booklets) 

 Form 6251 Instructions – Alternative Minimum Tax – Individual 

 

 

Oregon 

 Publication OR-17 

 Oregon Income Tax Full-Year Resident Form OR-40 and Instructions 

 Oregon Income Tax Part-Year Resident/Nonresident Form OR-40N and 

OR-40P 

 OR-A Instructions 

 OR-WFHDC Instructions 

 Oregon Administrative Rules, Chapter 800: 800-010-0015 through 800-030-

0050 

 Oregon Revised Statutes, Chapter 673: 673.605 through 673.990 

  



 pg. 10 
 

Source Documents Allowed in the Tax Preparer Exam 

 

Federal (These may contain notes and highlighting) 

 Publication 17 – Your Federal Income Tax for Individuals 

 Publication 850 – English-Foreign Language Glossary of Words and Phrases 

 Publication 974 - Premium Tax Credit 

 Federal Form 1040 Instructions (not forms booklets) 

 2019 Quick Reference Sheets (from the Board’s website) 

 

Federal (These must be completely blank with no markings or highlighting 

whatsoever) 

 Form 1040 – U.S. Individual Income Tax Return 

 Form 1040 Schedules 1, 2, and 3 (forms only) 

 Form 1040 Schedules A, B, C, D, E, and SE (forms only) 

 Form 4137 – Social Security and Medicare Tax on Unreported Tip Income 

(form only) 

 Form 8829 – Expenses for Business Use of Your Home (form only) 

 

Oregon (These may contain notes and highlighting) 

 Publication OR-17 

 Oregon Income Tax Full-Year Resident Form OR-40 and Instructions 

 Oregon Income Tax Part-Year Resident/Nonresident Form OR-40N and 

OR-40P 

 Oregon Administrative Rules, Chapter 800: 800-010-0015 through 800-030-

0050 

 Oregon Revised Statutes, Chapter 673: 673.605 through 673.990 

 

Oregon (These must be completely blank with no markings or highlighting 

whatsoever) 

 Form OR-40 

 Form OR-ASC 
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Tax Preparer Examination Outline 

 

Federal  

 
How to file -- 10%  

Filing status      

Dependents      

Filing requirements   

Income -- 11.5%  

Earned income      

Tips      

Interest      

Dividends      

Business, farm  

Schedule C Income 

Retirement, pensions  

Rentals Income     

Depreciation     

Social Security Income  

Investment Other income  

Assets -- 8.5%  

Capital/ordinary   

Basis      

Sale of capital assets  

Sale of Stock 

Personal residence 

Adjustments -- 5%  

IRA, SEP, Keogh, simple      

Alimony  

Married Filing Separately 

Student Loan Interest     

Self-employed health- 

    insurance 

Self-employment tax 

Penalty on early withdrawal 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Itemized deductions -- 10%  

Medical    

Taxes      

Interest   

Contributions   

Casualty   

Credits -- 10%  

Child care 

Health care  

Elderly, disabled  

Earned income    

Education  

Child tax  

Adoption  

Other credits  

Other Taxes -- 2.5%  

Self-employment   

Alternative minimum  

Averaging/lump sum  

Tax computation   

IRAs and other retirement plans  

Other  

Payments -- 2.5%  

Estimated    

Excess FICA  

Other  

Federal and State Mini Problems -- 12% 
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Oregon 
 

How to file – 4% 

Filing status     

Filing requirements, Non-

resident status  

Additions -- 4%  

Interest  

Taxes 

Other    

Subtractions -- 8%    

Taxes     

Interest     

Military     

Federal pensions  

Social Security/railroad retirement     

Oregon refunds  

American Indian 

Lottery winnings  

Domestic partner benefits 

Special medical 

 

 

 

 

Deductions -- 2% 

     Standard  

     Itemized  

     Credits -- 3%  

     Retirement income  

     Political  

     Working family household and 

       dependent care  

     Earned income  

     Exemptions  

     Residential energy  

     Other 

Payments -- 1%  

     Estimates   

     Tax computation  

     Tax Payments on Real  

       Property Conveyances 

Oregon License Law -- 6% 
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Tax Preparer Examination Sample Questions 

 
1. Ryan is single. His only income is self-employment. Ryan’s business had $15,000 income 

and $20,000 in expenses, creating a net loss of $5,000. Ryan does not have to file a tax return. 

 A. True 

 B. False 

 

2. Which one of the following children will not meet the age test for a qualifying “child”. 

A. Sally, age 17 

B. Miles, a full-time student age 23 

C. Cory, age 34, who was in an accident that left him permanently disabled. 

D. Susie, age 22, a full-time student for 3 months of the year 

 

3. Louise’s employer forgives her loan of $1,000. Louise will report this as income. 

A. True 

B. False 

 

4. You babysit your sister’s child while she takes classes at the local community college. She 

pays you $1,300 and does not claim the child care credit. Because this is a relative, you do not 

have to declare it as income. 

A. True 

B. False 

 

5. A taxpayer inherits 1,000 shares of stock from her grandmother. The grandmother 

purchased the stock for $1,200. The fair market value of the stock was $1,800 when the 

grandmother passed away. The taxpayer sold all the shares for $6,800. What is the taxpayer’s 

reportable gain? 

A. $3,800 

B. $5,000 

C. $5,600 

D. $5,800 
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6. Which of the following is not deductible on Schedule A? 

A. State income tax 

B. Personal property tax 

C. Property tax on a rental property 

D. Property tax on a personal residence 

 

7. Which is an allowable medical expense? 

A. Funeral expenses 

B. Life insurance 

C. Elective surgery 

D. Stop-smoking program 

 

8. Joe took out a Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC) for $50,000. He spent the money on 

the following: New carpet ($10,000); New car ($20,000); New roof ($20,000). He paid $350 

in interest. He can deduct the full $350 of interest on Schedule A. 

A. True 

B. False 

 

9. Which of the following is not taxable on a federal return? 

 A. Interest on tax refunds 

 B. Fair market value of gifts for opening a savings account 

 C. US Treasury bond interest 

 D. State municipal bond interest 

 

10. You have one child who qualifies for the $2,000 Child Tax Credit. Your tax on Form 

1040, Line 12.b is zero. You cannot claim the Child Tax Credit to reduce your tax, but you do 

qualify for a refundable credit of $1,000 - 50% of the qualifying Child Tax Credit. 

 A. True 

 B. False 

 

 

11. Generally, estimated taxes do not need to be paid throughout the year if the amount due, 

after applying withholding and refundable credits, is less than $1,000. 

A. True 

B. False 

 

12. A taxpayer is a full-year Oregon resident. She marries a full-year California resident on 

December 31 of the tax year. They will file a joint federal income tax return. They are 

required to file a joint Oregon tax return. 

 A. True 

 B. False 
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13. A taxpayer earned the interest below. What is the taxpayer’s Oregon addition? 

  $500 US Treasury T-Bills 

  $20 California Municipal Bond 

  $75 City of Chicago, Illinois Bond 

  $1,000 City of Portland, Oregon Bond 

A. $95 

B. $595 

C. $1,095 

D. $1,590 

 

14. A taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross income (AGI) is composed of the following. What is 

their Oregon subtraction? 

  $50,000 Pension 

  $15,000 Social Security 

  $30,000 Capital Gains 

A. $7,500 

B. $15,000 

C. $45,000 

D. $50,000 

 

15. Sam, 67, and Betty, 61, file a joint return. They have $5,000 in medical bills. They may 

use it all to compute their Oregon special medical subtraction. 

A. True 

B. False 

 

16. Joe and his spouse, Susan, are active duty members of the military and are domiciled in 

Oregon. Joe earned $10,000 out of state and $14,000 in Oregon. Susan earned $3,000 in 

Oregon and $20,000 out of state. What is their Oregon active duty military pay subtraction? 

A. $9,000 

B. $30,000 

C. $39,000 

D. $47,000 

  



 pg. 16 
 

17. Winnings from the Oregon lottery totaling $600 or less and included in your Federal 

return may be subtracted on your Oregon return. 

A. True  

B. False 

 

18. An Enrolled Agent is authorized to prepare personal income tax returns for valuable 

consideration within the state of Oregon. 

A. True 

B. False 

 

19. A tax professional licensed by the Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners is typically required 

to have __________ hours of annual continuing education. 

A. 16 hours 

B. 30 hours 

C. 32 hours 

D. 72 hours 

 

20. Licensees may complete their continuing education hours for the prior enrollment period 

after renewing their license. 

A. True 

B. False 
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Mini Problem - Schedule A 

George and Stella, both 62, file a joint return. Their adjusted gross income (AGI) totaled 

$82,055 for the tax year. They paid the following expenses: 

  $2,857 Medical expenses 

  $430 for George’s hospital expenses 

  $6,206 Medical insurance premiums 

  $19 Over-the-counter vitamins 

  $950 Prescribed stop-smoking program for Stella 

  $1,784 Gym memberships for George and Stella 

  $7,200 Mortgage interest paid to bank 

  $3,610 Real estate taxes on their residence 

  $500 Contributions to church 

  $7,385 Oregon withholding 

  $602 Credit card interest 

  $215 Federal excise tax 

 

21. What is the amount on Schedule A, Line 4? 

A. $4,289 

B. $6,092 

C. $6,154 

D. $10,443 

 

22. What is the amount of deductible taxes on Schedule A, Line 7? 

A. $7,385 

B. $10,000 

C. $10,995 

D. $11,210 

 

 

 
Answer key 

1 = B 

2 = D 

3 = A 

4 = B 

5 = B 

6 = C 

7 = D 

8 = B 

9 = D 

10 = B 

11 = A 

12 = B 

13 = A 

14 = B 

15 = B 

16 = C 

17 = A 

18 = B 

19 = B 

20 = B 

21 = A 

22 = B 
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Tax Consultant Examination Resources 

 

Federal 
 

 Pub. 17 – Your Federal Income Tax 

 Pub. 225 – Farmer’s Tax Guide 

 Pub. 334 – Tax Guide for Small Business 

 Pub. 463 – Travel, Gift, and Car Expenses 

 Pub. 502 – Medical and Dental Expenses 

 Pub. 523 – Selling Your Home 

 Pub. 525 – Taxable and Nontaxable Income 

 Pub. 535 – Business Expenses 

 Pub. 536 – Net Operating Losses (NOLs) for Individuals, Estates, and Trusts 

 Pub. 537 – Installment Sales 

 Pub. 544 – Sales and Other Dispositions of Assets 

 Pub. 551 – Basis of Assets 

 Pub. 575 – Pension and Annuity Income 

 Pub. 587 – Business Use of Your Home 

 Pub. 590 – Individual Retirement Arrangements 

 Pub. 925 – Passive Activity and At-Risk Rules 

 Pub. 936 – Home Mortgage Interest Deduction 

 Pub. 946 – How to Depreciate Property 

 Pub. 970 – Tax Benefits for Education 

 1040 Booklet - Instructions 

 

Oregon 
 

 Pub. OR-17 – Individual Income Tax Guide 

 Pub. OR-40-FY – Oregon Income Tax for Full-year Resident 

 Pub. OR-40-NP – Oregon Income Tax for Part-year Resident/Nonresident 

 OAR Chapter 800 
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Tax Consultant Examination Subject Outline 

     

Federal 
How to file -- 4% 

Filing status 

Filing requirements 

Dependents 

Earned income -- 2.5% 

Wages 

Tips 

Fringe benefits 

Interest -- 2% 

Taxable 

Exempt 

OID 

Dividends -- 2% 

Ordinary 

Nontaxable 

Capital gain 

Business income, deductions -- 8%  

Passive activities, rentals -- 7% 

Farms -- 1.5%           

Pensions & annuities -- 3%    

Social Security -- 1%    

Depreciation -- 4%       

Sales of property -- 16%       

Basis 

Capital assets 

Business property 

Residence 

Installment and repossessions 

Depreciation recapture 

Involuntary conversions 

Nontaxable exchanges 

 

 

 

Continued on next page… 

 

 

 

 

 

Miscellaneous income -- 3%    

Itemized deductions -- 5.5%   

Medical 

Taxes 

Interest 

Contributions 

Casualty losses 

Miscellaneous deductions    

Credits -- 4%  

Child care 

Child tax 

Earned income 

Education 

Other 

Estimated payments -- 1%  

Self-employment tax -- .5% 

Alternative minimum tax -- .5%  

Other taxes -- 3%  

Lump sum distributions 

Penalties 

Tips 

Household employment 

Net operating losses and 

  at-risk amounts -- 1%  

Amended returns -- 1.5% 

Adjustments -- 3%  

IRA, SEP, KEOGH 

Alimony 

Other 

Qualified Business Income Deductions – 

1% 
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Oregon 
 

How to file -- 3%  

Filing status 

Requirements 

Non-residents 

Exemptions 

Additions -- 3% 

Municipal bonds 

Other 

Subtractions -- 4% 

Taxes 

Interest 

Military pensions 

Other pensions 

Other subtractions 

 

 

 

Deductions -- 2.5%  

Standard deduction 

Itemized deductions 

Oregon medical 

Credits -- 4%  

Political 

Exemption credits 

Retirement 

Working family 

Other 

Payments -- 1% 

Estimated 

Part year/non-resident -- 2%   

Oregon License law -- 5.5%
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Enrolled Agent State-Only Exam Outline 

 

Oregon 
 

How to file -- 12%  

Filing status 

Requirements 

Non-residents 

Exemptions 

Additions -- 12% 

Municipal bonds 

Other 

Subtractions -- 16% 

Taxes 

Interest 

Military pensions 

Other pensions 

Other subtractions 

Deductions -- 10%  

Standard deduction 

Itemized deductions 

Oregon medical 

Credits -- 16%  

Political 

Exemption credits 

Retirement 

Working family 

Other 

Payments -- 4% 

Estimated 

Part-year/non-resident -- 8%   

Oregon License law -- 22%  
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Tax Consultant Examination Sample Questions 

1. Which of the following fringe benefits is included in gross income? 

 A. Free use of company software 

 B. Free parking 

 C. $25 Walmart gift card 

 D. Christmas goose 

 

2. Jacob is a self-employed landscaper. One of his clients offered to exchange a painting for 

Jacob’s services in March. The client paid $300 for the painting, but the two agreed that the 

fair market value of the painting was now $400. Jacob’s other clients paid him a total of 

$17,000 during the year. Jacob’s income from self-employment is: 

 A. $17,000 

 B. $17,300 

 C. $17,400 

 D. $17,700 

 

3. Catherine owns and operates a magazine store at the airport. This tax year she purchased 

$12,000 in magazines for sale. $150 of these magazines were pulled for personal use. $75 in 

magazines were returned for various reasons. Her inventory at the beginning of the year was 

$2,890. Her inventory at the end of the year was $3,010. Her expense for cost of goods sold 

was: 

 A. $11,380 

 B. $11,655 

 C. $11,730 

 D. $11,805 

 

4. Ed, a self-employed sole proprietor, has two separate businesses. One business is in 

accounting and the other is in auto repair. Each business may use a different accounting 

method. 

 A. True 

 B. False 

 

5. Excess Capital loss may only be carried over for a maximum of 10 years. 

 A. True 

 B. False 

 

 

6. A taxpayer lost two cows that were born and raised on his farm. The cows were valued at 

$500 each. The taxpayer may claim a $1,000 deduction on Schedule F for the loss. 

 A. True 

 B. False 
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7. A taxpayer retired during the tax year and received a total distribution of $10,200 from her 

pension plan. The distribution includes $3,000 from post-tax contributions, $7,000 from 

employer contributions, and $200 of earnings. What is the taxable amount the taxpayer has to 

report on her return? 

 A. $200 

 B. $7,000 

 C. $7,200 

 D. $10,200 

 

8. A qualified charitable distribution (QCD) generally is a nontaxable distribution made 

directly by the trustee of your IRA to an organization eligible to receive tax-deductible 

contributions. 

 A. True 

 B. False 

 

9. Rob borrowed $10,000 from his employer-sponsored 401(k) plan. He quit his job six 

months later. He is required to do the following: 

 A. Pay back the borrowed funds within 90 days 

 B. Continue to make payments on the loan until it is paid off 

 C. Treat the loan balance as a distribution or pay it back within 60 days 

 D. Do nothing 

 

10. David and Sarah are a married couple who lived together all year. David’s only income is 

his Social Security and a small pension. In addition to her Social Security, Sarah inherited an 

estate from her deceased mother. The couple chose to file separately this year. What 

percentage of David’s Social Security may be subject to tax? 

 A. 0 

 B. 50% 

 C. 85% 

 D. 100% 

 

11. A taxpayer had a rental house for 15 years and then moved into it as his primary 

residence. The taxpayer lived in the house for five years. The home was converted back into a 

rental this tax year. What is the class life of the current rental? 

 A. 7 ½ 

 B. 12 ½ 

 C. 27 ½ 

 D. 31 

 

12. Taxpayers spent $12,000 to replace the flooring in the dance studio they lease. The 

taxpayers may elect to use 179 expensing for this asset. 

 A. True 

 B. False 

 



 pg. 24 
 

13. Taxpayer bought a new executive desk for her Schedule C business. The desk was 

delivered on January 1 of the tax year and it cost $3,000. Assuming the taxpayer does not 

elect out of bonus depreciation and the desk has a seven-year class life, what is the taxpayer’s 

depreciation for the tax year? 

 A. $429 

 B. $1,500 

 C. $1,929 

 D. $3,000 

 

14. A taxpayer traded a shipping truck used exclusively for business for a $2,500 trade-in-

value on a new truck. The adjusted basis in the truck was $1,000. The new business truck’s 

contract price is $26,000. What is the taxpayer’s basis in the new truck? 

 A. $24,500 

 B. $25,000 

 C. $26,000 

 D. $28,000  

 

15. A taxpayer exchanges a residential rental in a like-kind exchange for a new rental. What 

is the basis of the new rental? 

 Old Rental 

  Purchase price: $200,000 

  Accumulated depreciation: $25,000 

  Sales price: $300,000 

  Cost of sale: $18,000 

  No mortgage 

 

 New Rental 

  Purchase price: $300,000 

  Cost of sale: $10,000 

  No mortgage 

 

 A. $175,000 

 B. $193,000 

 C. $203,000 

 D. $300,000 

 

16. A taxpayer sells his commercial rental at a loss. The taxpayer is providing financing for 

the sale. The taxpayer may report the sale as an installment sale. 

 A. True 

 B. False 
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17. A married couple sold their principal residence of 10 years for $250,000. They bought the 

home for $135,000. They have an office in the home (OIH) that takes up 25 percent of the 

space. Depreciation for the OIH up to the date of sale is $15,000. What are the tax 

consequences of the sale? 

 A. $0 of recognized gain per Section 121 

 B. $15,000 of unrecaptured Section 1250 gain taxed as ordinary income and $0 

 recognized gain per Section 121 

 C. $15,000 of unrecaptured Section 1250 gain taxed as ordinary income and $26,250 

 in long-term capital gains 

 D. $130,000 long-term capital gain 

 

18. A single taxpayer bought her first home for $200,000. She used it as her primary 

residence for 20 months and was then forced to sell it due to a change of employment. The 

home sold for $240,000 with no expense of sale. What is the taxpayer’s maximum allowable 

excludable gain under Section 121? 

 A. $0 

 B. $33,333 

 C. $40,000 

 D. $208,333 

 

19. Mary makes quilts for a hobby and sells them to her neighbors and friends. Her sale price 

for one quilt is $100. Her cost of goods sold was $50. How much does Mary report on line 21 

for the sale of the one quilt? 

 A. $0 

 B. $50 

 C. $100 

 D. $150 

 

20. John borrowed $100,000 from Bank USA to purchase a luxury car. In the middle of the 

five-year loan term John loses his job and defaults on the loan. Bank USA cancels the 

remaining $30,000 loan balance, repossesses the car, and sends him a Form 1099-C for 

$30,000. John has to claim the $30,000 as taxable income. 

 A. True 

 B. False 

 

21. Sam, age 41, takes $20,000 from his 401(k) to buy a car. He qualifies for an exception to 

the 10% early withdrawal penalty. 

 A. True 

 B. False 

 

22. Mary, age 35, took $10,000 out of her 401(k) to pay medical bills of $25,000. She may 

qualify for an exception to the 10% early withdrawal penalty. 

 A. True 

 B. False 
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23. Social Security received is not used to calculate income for repayment of the Premium 

Tax Credit. 

 A. True 

 B. False 

 

24. Which of the following are limitations on the qualified business income deduction QBID 

deduction? 

 A. The type of trade or business 

 B. The amount of W-2 wages 

 C. A Taxpayer’s taxable income 

 D. All of the above 

 

25. If you and your spouse file a federal MFJ return but each of you has a different residency 

status, you can choose to file two Oregon MFS returns. 

 A. True 

 B. False 

  

26. If you withdraw funds from an Oregon 529 College Savings Network account to pay 

tuition at a K-12 school, you must report the amount used as an addition on Schedule OR-

ASC. 

 A. True 

 B. False 

 

27. Juan has retired and is now receiving a federal pension from the US Post Office. This year 

he received a total of $11,250. His federal service was as follows: 

  1/1/88 to 10/1/90 (33 months) – US Post Office 

  10/2/90 to 3/1/91 (5 months) – Medical Leave 

  3/2/91 to 11/1/14 (296 months) – US Post Office 

What is Juan’s federal pension subtraction for the current tax year? 

 A. $1,114 

 B. $1,283 

 C. $1,373 

 D. $1,542 

 

28. Emily’s (age 36) federal tax from the tax table is $6,120. She claims a $300 Child and 

Dependent Care Credit. She also claimed the AOC Credit, receiving $1,000 as a refundable 

credit and $1,500 as a non-refundable credit. To help pay for her summer vacation, Emily 

withdrew $4,000 from her 401(k). Emily’s Oregon FTLS is 

 A. $3,320 

 B. $3,720 

 C. $4,320 

 D. $4,820 

 

29. If you take the standard deduction on your federal return, you must take the standard 

deduction on your Oregon return? 
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 A. True 

 B. False 

 

30. Jane is claimed on her parents’ return. She can take the Personal Exemption Credit. 

 A. True 

 B. False 

 

 

 

 
Answer Key 

1 = C 

2 = C 

3 = B 

4 = A 

5 = B 

6 = B 

7 = C 

8 = A 

9 = C 

10 = C 

11 = C 

12 = A 

13 = D 

14 = C 

15 = C 

16 = B 

17 = B 

18 = D 

19 = B 

20 = A 

21 = B 

22 = A 

23 = B 

24 = D 

25 = A 

26 = A 

27 = C 

28 = B 

29 = B 

30 = B 
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Applying for Licensure 

 

Applications for licensure may be found on the Board’s website here: 

https://www.oregon.gov/obtp/Pages/Forms.aspx 

 

Before submitting your license application, you must obtain a Preparer Tax Identification 

Number (PTIN) from the IRS. You may apply for and obtain your PTIN online at the IRS’s 

website here: https://www.irs.gov/tax-professionals/ptin-requirements-for-tax-return-preparers.  

 

Initial Tax Preparer License Application: Please complete all sections legibly and submit a 

copy of your Basic Tax Course Completion Certificate. If you answer “yes” to any of the 

compliance questions, please call the Board at 503-378-4733 before submitting your application 

to discuss the issue with Board staff and obtain information on what backup documentation may 

be required. The fee for an initial Tax Preparer’s license is $60. All Tax Preparer licenses expire 

on September 30.  

 

Initial Tax Consultant License Application: Please complete all sections legibly. If you 

answer “yes” to any of the compliance questions, please call the Board at 503-378-4733 before 

submitting your application to discuss the issue with Board staff and obtain information on what 

backup documentation may be required. The fee for an initial Tax Consultant’s license is $95. 

However, current Licensed Tax Preparers may obtain a Tax Consultant’s license for $65. All Tax 

Consultant licenses expire on May 31. 

 

Business Registration / Combination License and Registration Application: If you would 

like to operate a tax preparation business, it must be registered first with the Oregon Secretary of 

State and then the Board of Tax Practitioners. You may register your business with the Secretary 

of State here: https://secure.sos.state.or.us/cbrmanager/index#stay. You will need the Secretary 

of State registration number for the Board’s registration application. Also, your business must 

have a Licensed Tax Consultant on site to supervise tax preparation activities. Please contact 

Board staff at 503-378-4733 if you have any questions. There is a $50 discount if you register a 

new business with the Board while applying for individual licensure. All business registrations 

expire on June 15 (except Tax Preparer-owned businesses, which expire on October 15).  

 

If your business will have more than one location (e.g. branch offices), please submit a separate 

branch registration application for each additional office. Also, each location must be supervised 

by a Licensed Tax Consultant. The branch registration fee is $20.  

https://www.oregon.gov/obtp/Pages/Forms.aspx
https://www.irs.gov/tax-professionals/ptin-requirements-for-tax-return-preparers
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/cbrmanager/index#stay

