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PROPOSED/AMENDED RULE SUMMARY:
OAR 581-053-0003 Definitions
e Added definitions for CFR, FMCSA, and Type 21 School Activity Vehicle, Modified
Definition of a SPAB.
OAR 581-053-0004 Administration of Pupil Transportation — Generally
e Added requirement that aides on school buses be trained on emergency procedures and
safe riding practices
¢ Added requirement that transportation entities verify that medical examiners are certified
through FMCSA when issuing a medical certificate to a CDL driver.
OAR 581-053-0040 Physical Examinations
e Changes requirement for medical examiners to require them to be part of FMCSA
National Registry of Certified Medical Examiner.
OAR 581-053-0050 Driving and Criminal Records
¢ Removed date reference to seat belt violations
OAR 581-053-0060 Refusals, Suspensions, Revocations and Invalid Certificates
e Amended table to better align with rule 0050 relating to criminal records
e Grammatical updates
OAR 581-053-0130 Assistant Trainer Certificate
¢ Clarified requirements when training a type 20 driver.
OAR 581-053-0140 Behind-the-Wheel Trainer Certificate
¢ Clarified requirements when training a type 20 driver
e Clarified when a skills test can be administered by someone who did the skills training.
OAR 581-053-0220 School Bus Driver’s Permit and Certificate
e Clarified when the exception from 15 hours of behind the wheel training for a new school
bus can be used.
OAR 581-053-0225 Approved Training for School Bus Drivers
e Added first aid classes to approved classes for continuing education. Established
instructor qualifications.
OAR 581-053-0230 Rules Pertaining to School Bus Drivers
e Added a requirement that school bus drivers verify the bus is empty before leaving
unattended.
OAR 581-053-0240 Minimum Standards for School Buses
e Added a requirement that used diesel buses entering Oregon meet 2007 emission
standards.




o Clarified that seat/knee room is measured at the center of the seat.
OAR 581-053-0250 Retrofit Standards for Oregon School Buses
e Prohibits school buses that operate on diesel fuel and do not meet 2007 engine
standards from being retrofitted on or after January 1, 2017 and from being used on or
after January 1, 2025
OAR 581-053-0440 Minimum Standards for Purpose Built Type 20 Vehicles
e Grammatical update and title change.
OAR 581-053-0540 Minimum Standards for Type 21 Vehicles
e Grammatical update

OAR 581-053-0630 Rules Pertaining to SPAB Drivers

e Specified that drivers are not to exceed 55 mph.
OAR 581-053-0640 Minimum Standards for Special Pupil Activity Buses
e Added a requirement to have Air Brakes on the SPAB

BACKGROUND: Rules last updated in 2012. These changes correct grammatical errors and
clarifies rule meanings. Some rules changed due to changes to State Law and Federal Rule.

ISSUES/CONCERNS THAT SURFACED DURING RULE WORK: No issues have been
brought forward at this time.

CHANGED SINCE LAST BOARD MEETING? (so members can focus on what’s different)
XI N/A; first read—hasn’t been before board

[] No; same as last month

[ Yes - As follows:

Example: In response to public comment, the effective date was pushed back from February
2010 to September 2010.

FISCAL IMPACT: There is no fiscal impact with these rule changes.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION:

[[] Adopt administrative rule as prepared this month
X Adopt administrative rule next month

[] No recommendation at this time (rarely used)



OAR 581-053-0003
Definitions

The following terms used in OAR Chapter 581, Division 053 shall be defined as follows:

Q) “Accident” means an occurrence that results in any of the following:

(@ An injury requiring medical or dental treatment.

(b) Combined vehicle and property damage in excess of $500. This includes:
(A) Damage to the school bus or school activity vehicle; and

(B) Damage to property other than the school bus or school activity vehicle, including
damage to another school bus or school activity vehicle, or transportation entity property.

2) “Activity trip” means transportation between a school or location to another school or
location, but not home-to-school.

3) “Actual knowledge” means direct and clear awareness of a circumstance or fact,
resulting from either observation or investigation.

4) “Approved” means a motor carrier approved by ODE for transportation of school children
for activity trips.

(5) "Authorized official" means a person designated by the local employer.
(6) “CDL” means a commercial driver license as defined in ORS 801.207.

{6)(7) “CER” means code of federal regulations.

{A)(8) “CLP” means a commercial learners permit issued by this state or another jurisdiction to
allow an individual to be trained on the operation of a commercial motor vehicle, including a
school bus.

{8)(9) “Carrier or Motor carrier” means for-hire carrier or private carrier subject to ORS Chapter
825.

{9)(10) “Certificate of Carrier Approval’ means a certificate from ODE authorizing a motor carrier
to transport students for Oregon schools.

46(11) “Chaperone” means a person authorized by the school district.

“@5H(12) “Chargeable Accident” is an accident in which the driver is answerable as the
primary cause of, or the result of, the accident.

@2)(13) “Classroom instructor” means a person who holds one or more of the following
certificates issued by ODE:

(@) Core Instructor Certificate;
(b) Core Refresher Instructor Certificate; or

(c) Transporting Students with Special Needs Instructor Certificate.



a3(14) “Contractor” means any company, organization or person that provides
transportation services to a transportation entity and is not subject to ORS Chapter 825 while
providing that service.

“@4)(15) “‘DMV” means the Oregon Department of Transportation, Driver and Motor
Vehicle Services Division.

{5)(16) “Diabetic person” means a person who takes insulin.

@617 “Driving instructor” means a person who holds one of the following certificates

issued by ODE:

(@ Behind-the-Wheel Trainer Certificate;

(b) Behind-the-Wheel Probationary Trainer Certificate;
(c) Advanced Reference Point Trainer Certificate; or

(d) Assistant Trainer Certificate.

&AH(18) ‘EMCSA” means the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.

48)(19) “Invalid” means a certificate or permit that has expired, has been made inactive,
or is otherwise immediately disqualified by rule.

£9)(20) “Medical certificate” is defined in OAR 735-063-0060.

£20)(21) “‘Home to School” means transportation between the student’s residence,

babysitter, daycare or designated pick up or drop off spot and their educational facility.

25(22) “Motor coach” means an over-the-road bus, having a gross vehicle weight rating
(GVWR) of 26,000 Ibs or more but does not include the following:

(@ Buses used in public transportation provided by a State or local government; and

(b) Vehicles owned or operated by a mass transport district created under ORS Chapter
267.

22)(23) “OAR” means Oregon Administrative Rule(s).

23)(24) “ODE” means the Oregon Department of Education.

{24)(25) “ORS” means Oregon Revised Statute(s).

{25)(26) “Provider of Motor coach services” means a motor carrier providing passenger

transportation service with a motor coach for compensation, including per-trip compensation or
chartered compensation.

263(27) “Refused” means that ODE has determined that an applicant is unqualified for
the certificate or permit being applied for.

24H(28) “Rejected” means that an application for certificate or permit is incomplete and no
determination of qualification will be made.



{28)(29) “Revoke” means the termination of one or more certificates or permits. Revoked
certificates are not reinstated at the end of the revocation period. Individuals who have had a
certificate revoked shall reenter the program in the same way as an individual entering the
program for the first time.

29)(30) “School board” means the governing board or governing body of the
transportation entity.

36)(31) “School activity vehicle” is defined in ORS 801.455 and includes all such vehicles
that are owned, leased, or rented by a transportation entity.

B1H(32) School Activity Vehicle Types:

€)) “Type 10 vehicle" means a vehicle that has a capacity of not more than ten persons, a

gross vehicle weight rating of not more than 10,000 pounds and are used to transport students
to and from school or authorized school activities.

(b) “Type 20 vehicle” means a vehicle that has a capacity of not more than 20 passengers,
a gross vehicle weight rating of not more than 14,500 pounds, and are used to transport
students to and from authorized school activities.

{by(c) “Type 21 vehicle” means a vehicle that has a capacity of more than 20 passengers or a
gross vehicle weight rating of more than 14,500 pounds, and is used to transport students to
and from authorized school activities.

{e)(d) “School pupil activity bus (SPAB)” means a motor coach with a gross vehicle weight
rating of more than 26,000 pounds and operated by a motor carrier, used under a contractual
agreement between a transportation entity and a carrier to transport school pupils on activity
trips.

32(33) “School bus” is defined in ORS 801.460 and includes all such vehicles that are
owned, leased, or rented by a transportation entity.

33)(34) School Bus Types:
@) “Type A-1" means a school bus with a gross weight rating of 14,500 pounds or less.

(b) “Type A-2" means a school bus with a gross weight rating between 14,500 and 19,500
pounds, and a passenger capacity not to exceed 36.

(c) “Type B" means a school bus with a gross weight rating between 10,000 pounds and
19,500 pounds. Most of the engine is beneath and/or behind the windshield and beside the
driver's seat. The entrance door is behind the front wheels.

(d) “Type C" means a school bus with all or part of the engine in front of the windshield and
the entrance door behind the front wheels.

(e) “Type D" means a school bus with the engine mounted in the front behind the
windshield, midship, or rear. The entrance door is ahead of the front wheels.

34)(35) “Skills test” means the test given to a school bus or school activity vehicle
driver prior to certification or approval to drive that type of vehicle. The skills test is
composed of the following tests:



(@)  Vehicle Inspection Test

(b) Basic Control Skills Test (only applicable to a school bus or type 21 test)
(©) On-Road Driving Test

{£35)(36) “Submit” means that a document has been received by ODE
£36)(37) “Supervisor”:

(a) Prior to July 1, 2015 means a person authorized by the transportation entity or
contractor.

(b) On or after July 1, 2015 means a person designated by the transportation entity
or contractor who holds ODE Supervisor Certification.

3H(38) “Suspend” means the temporary withdrawal of one or more certificates or
permits for a period not to exceed one year. Suspended certificates are reinstated at
the end of the suspension period provided that all other certificate requirements are
met.

£38)(39) “Trained in first aid” means a person who possesses a valid first aid card
verifying completion of a hands-on first aid class that meets the requirements of the
American Red Cross first aid program or an equivalent course that is consistent with the
Best Practices Guide: Fundamentals of a Workplace First-Aid Program (OSHA 3317-
2006) published by the Occupational Safety Health Administration, U.S. Department of
Labor. The training program shall include instructor observation of acquired skills and
shall include, but not be limited to, the following training:

(a) Curriculum based on a consensus of scientific evidence;
(b)  Treating airway obstruction in a conscious victim;

(©) Recognizing the signs and symptoms of shock and providing first aid for shock
due to illness or injury;

(d) Controlling bleeding with direct pressure;
(e) Poisoning;

) Wounds;

(9) Burns;

(h) Temperature Extremes;

(@ Musculoskeletal Injuries;

0] Eye Injuries;

(k) Mouth and Teeth Injuries; and



0] Bites and Stings.

£39)(40) “Transportation entity” means any school district, individual school,
educational service district or head start agency to which the rules of this division apply.

“40)(41) “Transportation service” means home to school or school to home
transportation provided to a qualifying student, regardless of how that transportation is
provided.

“4H(42) “Valid” means an unexpired, active certificate or permit with no automatic
disqualifiers listed in the rule for that certificate or permit.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 327.013 & 820.100-820.120
Stats. Implemented: ORS 327.013, 820.100, 820.105, 820.110 & 820.120

Administration of Pupil Transportation
OAR 581-053-0004
Administration of Pupil Transportation — Generally

1) Transportation entities shall provide transportation in compliance with all applicable laws
and administrative rules.

2) Transportation entities that contract out all or part of their pupil transportation services
are required to ensure that their contractor complies with all applicable laws and administrative
rules.

3) Transportation entities or contractors shall not require or knowingly permit any person to
operate a school bus or school activity vehicle in violation of any applicable rules of the State
Board of Education or Oregon laws.

4) Transportation entities or contractors shall notify ODE within 30 days if they have actual
knowledge that:

(a) A school bus or school activity vehicle driver has violated an ORS or OAR; and
(b) Student or public safety was jeopardized by the violation.

(5) Transportation entities or contractors shall notify ODE within 30 days anytime a school
bus or school activity vehicle driver leaves their employment or is hired while already
possessing an otherwise valid certificate or permit:

(6) Each school board shall adopt and implement written policies that:

(@ Direct schools governed by the board to notify the transportation service provider’s
designee if students receiving transportation services have special medical or behavioral
protocols identified in their student records; and

(b) Ensure drivers receive appropriate and documented training related to specified
protocols, including but not limited to satisfying confidentiality requirements.

) Relocation of school buses and school activity vehicles:



(@) Written notification must be sent to ODE when a school bus or school activity vehicle is
moved to another transportation entity for a period exceeding 10 days.

(b) Written notification must be sent to ODE when a school bus or school activity vehicle is
received from another transportation entity for a period exceeding 10 days.

(c) School buses with a manufacture date prior to September 1, 1998 may not be relocated.

(d) Type 20 and Type 21 school activity vehicles with a manufacture date prior to
September 1, 1994 may not be relocated.

(8) A seat that fully supports the passenger shall be provided for every passenger on all
school buses and school activity vehicles. Seating is not permitted on any portion of the vehicle
not designed for that purpose. Passengers shall not be permitted to stand while the vehicle is in
motion.

(9 Transportation entities and contractors shall provide for the required training,
examination and testing of their school bus and school activity vehicle drivers to comply
with rules promulgated by the State Board of Education. Appropriate specialized training
designed for special needs transportation shall be provided prior to allowing drivers to
transport students with disabilities. Records to document training and testing shall be
maintained by transportation entities. Such records shall be made part of each driver's
driver-training record file. Records shall be made available to ODE personnel or the
driver upon request.

{9)(10) Transportation entities and contractors that use aides, either assigned to
specific_bus routes or to specific_students, shall receive training on emergency
procedures and their role in the safe transportation of all students on the bus.

(11) Transportation entities or contractors employing school bus drivers or school activity
vehicle drivers shall immediately notify ODE if they have reason to believe any change has
occurred in an employed driver’s criminal or driving record that could affect the driver's
qualifications under the provisions of OAR 581-053-0050.

46)(12) When a school bus driver requires a physical exam as required by OAR 581-053-
0040 or a school activity driver requires a physical exam as required by 49 CFR 391.41-381.49,
the transportation entity or contractor shall verify that the driver was certified by a medical
examiner listed on the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners as of the date of
issuance of the medical examiner’s certificate.

“@1(13) A transportation entity or contractor shall notify ODE in writing within 30 days of
when they receive notification that a school bus driver employed by the entity or contractor:

@) No longer meets the physical requirements for school bus drivers specified in OAR 581-
053-0040;

(b) Fails to comply with the testing or screening requirements established by the Federal
Motor Carrier Safety Administration for commercial drivers at title 49 CFR part 382.

a2(14) Transportation entities shall submit accident reports to ODE, signed by a
supervisor or designee, within 72 hours of the crash. In the case of an accident
involving serious injury or death, ODE shall be notified immediately.



| @3)(15) Transportation entities shall report to ODE statistics related to pupil
transportation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 327.013 & 820.100-820.120
Stats. Implemented: ORS 327.013, 820.100, 820.105, 820.110 & 820.120

OAR 581-053-0040

Physical Examinations

(1)  An applicant for a school bus driver's permit or certificate, or renewal of a school
bus driver's certificate must have passed a physical examination approved by the
Oregon Department of Education and administered within six months prior to the date of
application by-a: an individual certified by FMCSA and listed on the National Registry of
Certified Medical Examiners.

5 iy ied under ORS 678.375.
: : . . | .

(2)  Physicians completing the required ODE forms for diabetic persons must be a:

@) Board certified endocrinologist;

(b) Board certified diabetologist;

(c) Board certified family practitioner; or
(d) Board certified internist.

(3) A cardiac stress test shall be required with medical examination given any
evidence of myocardial infarction within the past three months or unstable angina
pectoris. The examining physician may require a resting electrocardiogram (ECG) or
other testing as determined appropriate related to coronary insufficiency, thrombosis or
any other cardiovascular disease of a variety known to be accompanied by syncope,
dyspnea, collapse or congestive heart failure.

4) Physical examination and certificate application forms adopted by the ODE shall
be utilized by applicants for a school bus driver's certificate or permit.

(5) An applicant is physically qualified to drive a school bus if the applicant:

(a) Has no impairment in the use of the driver’s foot, leg, finger, hand or arm or other
structural defect or limitation likely to interfere with the driver’s ability to perform tasks
associated with operating a school bus. Drivers may be required to demonstrate their
ability to:

(A)  Utilize a manually operated bus entrance door control with a force of at least 30
pounds;

(B)  Ascend and descend steps with a maximum step height of 17 1/2 inches;



(C)  Operate two hand controls simultaneously and quickly;

(D) Have a reaction time of 3/4 of a second or less from the throttle to the brake
control;

(E) Carryordrag a 125 pound person 30 feet in 30 seconds or less;
(F)  Depress a brake pedal with the foot to a pressure of at least 90 pounds;

(G) Depress a clutch pedal with the foot to a pressure of at least 40 pounds unless
operating an automatic transmission; and

(H)  Exit from an emergency door opening of 24 x 48 inches at least 42 inches from
the ground in ten seconds or less.

(b) Is physically able to open all emergency exits installed in any school bus they
drive; and

(c) Has no mental, nervous, organic or functional disease or disability likely to
interfere with safe driving or other responsibilities of a school bus driver.

(d) Has visual acuity of at least 20/40 (Snellen) in each eye either with or without
corrective lenses and a binocular acuity of at least 20/40 (Snellen) in both eyes either
with or without corrective lenses. Form field of vision shall not be less than a total of 140
degrees and the ability to distinguish colors red, green and yellow. Drivers requiring
corrective lenses shall wear properly prescribed lenses at all times while driving.

(e) Perceives a forced whispered voice in the better ear not less than five feet with or
without the use of a hearing aid, or if tested by the use of an audiometric device, the
applicant shall not have average hearing loss in the better ear greater than 40 decibels
at 500 Hz, 1,000 Hz and 2,000 Hz with or without a hearing aid when the audiometric
device is calibrated to American National Standard Z24.5-1951. Drivers requiring a
hearing aid shall wear a properly operating hearing aid at all times while driving.

0] Controlled substances:

(A)  Does not use any controlled substance identified in 21 CFR 1308.11 Schedule 1,
an amphetamine, a narcotic, or other habit-forming drug.

(B) Does not use any non-Schedule | controlled substance except when the use is
pursuant to the instructions of a licensed medical practitioner who is familiar with the
driver's medical history and has advised the driver that the substance will not adversely
affect the driver’s ability to safely operate a school bus.

(9) Has no current clinical diagnosis of alcoholism.

(h) Has not had a loss of consciousness or loss of control (cognitive function) due to
a diabetic event within the preceding one year period, provided there has not been a
recurrent hypoglycemic reaction requiring assistance of another person within the
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previous five years. A period of one year of demonstrated stability is required following
the first episode of hypoglycemia.

0] Does not have a diabetic condition; Applicants with a diabetic condition may be
physically qualified provided they comply with all of the following requirements. Drivers
shall:

(A)  Self-monitor their blood glucose and demonstrate a blood glucose level of more
than 100mg/dl and less than 300 mg/dl, using a device approved by the Food and Drug
Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, within one hour before
driving pupil transporting vehicles and approximately every four hours while on duty;

(B) Report immediately to their employer, any failure to comply with specific glucose
level requirements as listed in paragraphs (i)(A) and (E) of this subsection, or loss of
consciousness or control;

(C) Maintain a daily log of all blood glucose test results for the previous six month
period and provide copies to their employer, the examining physician and the Oregon
Department of Education, upon request;

(D) Carry a source of readily absorbable, fast-acting glucose while on duty;

(E) Undergo and submit physician-signed results of a glycated hemoglobin (HbA1c)
test indicating glucose levels of more than 5.9 percent and less than 9.6 percent to their
employer for transmission to the Oregon Department of Education every six months;

(F) Undergo and submit the results of an annual examination to detect any
peripheral neuropathy, unstable diabetic retinopathy or clinically significant eye disease
that prevents the individual from meeting current vision standards included in this rule,
or circulatory insufficiency;

(G) Provide a signed statement by the examining physician indicating that within the
past three years the driver has completed instruction to address diabetes management
and driving safety, to identify signs and symptoms of hypoglycemia and hyperglycemia,
and what procedures must be followed if complications from diabetes arise;

(H)  Submit all required Oregon Department of Education forms signed by the
appropriate medical professionals within the prescribed timelines;

0] Does not have severe hypertension (grade 3 retinopathy); or

(9] Does not have an established medical history or clinical diagnosis of epilepsy or
any other condition likely to cause loss of consciousness or any loss of ability to control
a motor vehicle.

(6) A driver is no longer physically qualified to operate a school bus and shall be
immediately removed from duty for the following:

€) Diabetic person:

11



(A) Results of an HbAlc test indicating values less than 6.0 or greater than 9.5
unless accompanied by the required medical opinion that the event was incidental and
not an indication of failure to control glucose levels;

(B) Results of self-monitoring indicate glucose levels less than 100 mg/dl or greater
than 300 mg/dl, until self-monitoring indicates compliance with specifications; proofread

(C) Experiencing a loss of consciousness or control relating to a diabetic condition;
or

(D)  Failing to maintain or falsifying the required medical records.

(b) A new diagnosis of diabetes requiring insulin until all requirements under
subsection (5)(i) have been met;

(©) Notwithstanding subsections (a) and (b) of this section, if the driver has a serious
illness, injury, or change in physical or mental condition and no longer meets the
physical requirements outlined in this rule, then re-examination and medical approval
are required before the driver may resume driving a school bus.

) Notwithstanding any other section of this rule, Type 20 CDL drivers and SPAB
drivers shall meet the FMCSA physical requirements found in 49 CFR part 391 and
shall carry a medical certificate to indicate compliance.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 327.013 & 820.100-820.120
Stats. Implemented: ORS 327.013, 820.100, 820.105, 820.110 & 820.120

OAR 581-053-0050

Driving and Criminal Records

(1) The Oregon Department of Education shall review the driving record of each
applicant for certification or approval as a school bus or school activity driver. Applicants
who have held a driver license in a state other than Oregon anytime during the
preceding three-year period may be required to furnish a copy of the driving record from
each state in which the applicant has held a driver license to ODE. If the driver
currently holds a driver license from another state, the driving record shall be printed no
more than 30 days prior to the date received by ODE.

2) ODE shall review the criminal record of each applicant for certification or
approval as a school bus or school activity driver.

(3) An applicant does not qualify as a school bus or school activity driver if the
applicant:

(&) Has ever been convicted of a crime listed in ORS 342.143. (Forever Crime)

(b) Has ever been convicted of a crime involving violence, threat of violence or theft.
This shall not apply if the applicant or driver has been free from custody, probation and
parole for the preceding three-year period from date of application.
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(c) Has ever been convicted of a crime involving activity in drugs or alcoholic
beverages. This shall not apply if the applicant or driver has been free from custody,
probation, and parole for the preceding three-year period from date of application.

(d) Has had his or her driving privileges suspended by any state, within the
preceding three-year period, for a cause involving the unsafe operation of a motor
vehicle or because of driving record.

(e) Has been convicted within the preceding three-year period of:

(A)  Driving under the influence of intoxicants, as defined in ORS 813.010;

(B)  Reckless driving, as defined in ORS 811.140;

(C) Fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer, as defined in under ORS 811.540;

(D)  Failure to perform the duties of a driver involved in an accident or collision which
results in injury or death of any person, as described in ORS 811.705; or

(E)  An equivalent out of state conviction for any of the above.

0] Has had his or her driving privileges revoked or suspended as a habitual offender
under ORS 809.600. This shall not apply if applicant or driver has had his or her driving
privileges restored under ORS 809.660 for the preceding three years;

(9) Has a driving record for the preceding three-year period that has an
accumulation of 31 or more points based upon the following point system:

(A)  Each chargeable accident shall have a value of 10 points. Applicable traffic code
and preventability guidelines published by the National Safety Council and the Pupil
Transportation Safety Institute may be used to determine if an accident is chargeable;
and

(B)  Each of the traffic violations on Table 1 shall have a value of 10 points.

(C)  One point shall be subtracted from the total number of points for each full month,
since the last chargeable accident or conviction, to the time of driving record check;
however, all subtracted points will be reinstated if any additional qualifying convictions
or chargeable accidents occur within the three-year calculation period.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 327.013 & 820.100-820.120
Stats. Implemented: ORS 327.013, 820.100, 820.105, 820.110 & 820.120

OAR 581-053-0050 TABLE 1

Chargeable Traffic Violations

OREGON OFFENSE OREGON
STATUTE

13



CRIMINAL DRIVING WHILE SUSPENDED

811.182, 161.405

CARELESS DRIVING 811.135
CARRYING MINOR ON EXTERNAL PART OF VEHICLE 811.205
CROSSING CENTER LINE ON TWO-WAY, FOUR-LANE

811.310
ROAD
DANGEROUS LEFT TURN 811.350
DANGEROUS MOVEMENT OF STOPPED, STANDING OR 811565
PARKEDVEHICLE '
DEPRIVING MOTORCYCLE OR MOPED OF FULL LANE 811.385
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY DIVIDER 811.430
DRIVING ON LEFT ON CURVE OR GRADE OR AT 811.305
INTERSECTION ORRAIL CROSSING '
DRIVING THROUGH SAFETY ZONE 811.030
DWR CRIMINAL DRIVING WHILE REVOKED - 811.182
VIOLATION '
DWS CRIMINAL DRIVING WHILE SUSPENDED — 811.182
VIOLATION '
DRIVING WRONG WAY AROUND TRAFFIC ISLAND 811.330
DISRUPTING A FUNERAL PROCESSION 811.810
ENDANGERING A MOTOR ASSISTED SCOOTER 814,536
OPERATOR '
FAILING TO OBEY POLICE OFFICER 811.535
FAILURE TO PROPERLY USE CHILD PASSENGER
SAFETY SYSTEM,SAFETY BELTS, OR SAFETY 811.210%
HARNESS
FAILURE OF DRIVER ENTERING ROADWAY TO YIELD 811.280
RIGHT OFWAY '
FAILURE OF MERGING DRIVER TO YIELD RIGHT OF
WAY 811.285
FAILURE OF OPERATOR OF CMV TO SLOW/CHECK 811.462
THAT TRACKS CLEAR OF APPROACHING TRAIN -
GLEAR OFAPPROACHINGIRAIN 811462
FAILURE OF OPERATOR TO PROPERLY USE SAFETY a
BELTS 811.210
FAILURE OF SLOW DRIVER TO DRIVE ON RIGHT 811.315
FAILURE OF SLOWER DRIVER TO YIELD TO 811.425
OVERTAKING VEHICLE '
FAILURE TO DRIVE ON RIGHT 811.295
FAILURE TO DRIVE ON RIGHT OF APPROACHING 811.300
VEHICLE '
FAILURE TO DRIVE TO RIGHT ON DIVIDED HIGHWAY

811.320
FAILURE TO DRIVE WITHIN LANE 811.370
FAILURE TO FOLLOW RAIL CROSSING PROCEDURES 811.460

FOR HIGHRISKVEHICLES
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FAILURE TO KEEP CAMPER, TRAILER OR TRUCK IN

RIGHT LANE 811.325
FAILURE TO MAINTAIN A SAFE DISTANCE FROM AN 811.147
EMERGENCYVEHICLE OR AMBULANCE '
FAILURE TO OBEY ONE-WAY DESIGNATION 811.270
FAILURE TO OBEY TRAFFIC CONTROL DEVICE 811.265
FAILURE TO OBEY TRAFFIC CONTROL DEVICE; USE 810.140
HIGHOCCUPANCY VEHICLE LANE '
FAILURE TO OBEY TRAFFIC PATROL MEMBER 811.015
FAILURE TO SIGNAL WITH LIGHTS WHEN REQUIRED 811.405
FAILURE TO STOP FOR BUS SAFETY LIGHTS 811.155
FAILURE TO STOP FOR PASSENGER LOADING OF 811.165
PUBLIC TRANSITVEHICLE '
FAILURE TO STOP FOR RAILROAD SIGNAL 811.455
FAILURE TO STOP WHEN EMERGING FROM ALLEY, 811.505
DRIVEWAY ORBUILDING '
FAILURE TO USE APPROPRIATE SIGNAL FOR TURN, 811.400
LANE CHANGESTOP OR EXIT FROM A ROUNDABOUT '
FAILURE TO USE SPECIAL LEFT TURN LANE 811.345
FAILURE TO USE VEHICLE TRACTION TIRES OR 815.140
TRACTIONDEVICES '
FAILURE TO YIELD RIGHT OF WAY AT UNCONTROLLED 811.275
INTERSECTION '
FAILURE TO YIELD RIGHT OF WAY AT AN 811.277
UNCONTROLLED_T-INTERSECTION '
FAILURE TO YIELD RIGHT OF WAY TO BICYCLIST ON A 811.055
SIDEWALK '
FAILURE TO YIELD THE RIGHT OF WAY TO A FUNERAL 811.802
PROCESSION '
FAILURE TO YIELD THE RIGHT OF WAY TO A HIGHWAY 811.233
WORKER '
FAILURE TO YIELD THE RIGHT OF WAY TO A TRANSIT

BUS 811.167
FAILURE TO YIELD RIGHT OF WAY WITHIN A 811.292
ROUNDABOUT '
FAILURE TO YIELD TO A TRAFFIC PATROL MEMBER 811.017
FAILURE TO STOP AND REMAIN STOPPED FOR A 811.028
PEDESTRIAN '
FAILURE TO STOP AND REMAIN STOPPED FOR BLIND 811.035
PEDESTRIAN '
FAILURE TO YIELD TO EMERGENCY VEHICLE OR 811.145
AMBULANCE '
FAILURE TO YIELD TO PEDESTRIAN ON SIDEWALK 811.025
FAILURE TO YIELD TO RIDER ON BICYCLE LANE 811.050
FOLLOWING TOO CLOSELY 811.485
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ILLEGAL BACKING

811.480

ILLEGAL OPERATION OF EMERGENCY VEHICLE OR

AMBULANCE 820.320
ILLEGAL U-TURN 811.365
IMPEDING TRAFFIC 811.130
IMPROPER TURN AT STOP LIGHT 811.360
IMPROPER USE OF CENTER LANE ON THREE-LANE

ROAD 811.380
IMPROPERLY EXECUTED LEFT TURN 811.340
IMPROPERLY EXECUTED RIGHT TURN 811.355
INTERFERENCE WITH EMERGENCY VEHICLE OR 811.150
AMBULANCE '
INTERFERENCE WITH RAIL FIXED GUIDEWAY SYSTEM 811.160
OPERATION '
MISUSE OF A SPECIAL LEFT TURN LANE 811.346
OBSTRUCTING CROSS TRAFFIC 811.290
OBSTRUCTING RAIL CROSSING — DRIVING ONTO

CROSSING WHENSPACE ON OTHER SIDE NOT 811.475(1)(a)
SUFFICIENT TO ACCOMMODATE VEHICLE

OBSTRUCTING RAIL CROSSING — FAILURE OF CMV TO
NEGOTIATEBECAUSE OF INSUFFICIENT 811.475(1)(b)
UNDERCARRIAGE CLEARANCE

OPERATING A MOTOR VEHICLE WHILE USING A 811.507
MOBILECOMMUNICATION DEVICE '
PASSING IN NO PASSING ZONE 811.420
PASSING STOPPED VEHICLE AT CROSSWALK 811.020
RECKLESS ENDANGERMENT OF HIGHWAY WORKERS 811231
REFUSING TO OBEY FLAGGER 811.232
SPEED RACING ON HIGHWAY 811.125
UNLAWFUL COASTING ON DOWNGRADE 811.495
UNLAWFUL OR UNSIGNALED CHANGE OF LANE 811.375
UNLAWFUL OR UNSIGNALED TURN 811.335
UNLAWFUL STOP OR DECELERATION 811.500
UNLAWFUL USE OF LIGHTS TO SIGNAL FOR PASSING 811.390
UNLAWFUL USE OF OR FAILURE TO USE LIGHTS 811.520
UNSAFE PASSING OF A PERSON OPERATING A 811.065
BICYCLE '
UNSAFE PASSING ON LEFT 811.410
UNSAFE PASSING ON RIGHT 811.415
UNSAFE SCHOOL VEHICLE OPERATION 820.180
VIOLATING A SPEED LIMIT — DESIGNATED OR POSTED 811.111
VIOLATION OF BASIC SPEED RULE 811.100
VIOLATION OF DRIVING WHILE REVOKED OR IN 811.175
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VIOLATION OF PERMIT

VIOLATION OF DRIVING WHILE SUSPENDED OR IN 811.175
VIOLATION OF PERMIT :

VIOLATION OF SPEED LIMIT IN SCHOOL ZONE 811.111(1)(e)

NOTES:
a - : . i .

OAR 581-053-0060
Refusals, Suspensions, Revocations and Invalid Certificates

(1) The Oregon Department of Education shall refuse to issue a certificate or permit to+—

an applicant who does not meet the qualifications for the certificate or permit being
sought. Incomplete applications shall be rejected.

+(2) ODE may suspend or revoke a certificate or permit based on the violations and
sanctions listed on table 1. If the certificate holder has been suspended within the
prior three- year period, the current offense may be considered a second or
subsequent offense.

+(3) If the conditions of reinstatement are not met for a suspended certificate or~———

permit at the end of the suspension period, the certificate or permit shall be immediately
revoked.

o(4) A certificate or permit holder shall surrender any suspended or revoked
certificate or permit to ODE.

+(5) A certificate or permit holder whose certificate or permit was suspended or
revoked, or application for a certificate for permit was refused, may request a hearing.
Hearings conducted under this section on appeal for refusal, suspension or revocation
of a certificate or permit shall be conducted pursuant to ORS chapter 183.

+(6) ODE may only reinstate a certificate or permit if all conditions of the suspension
or revocation have been met, and the person otherwise qualifies for the certificate or
permit being reinstated.

+(7) Notwithstanding section (5) of this rule, no hearing will be held when a certificate
or permit becomes invalid because of the provisions of the rule that govern the
certificate or permit.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 327.013 & 820.100-820.120
Stats. Implemented: ORS 327.013, 820.100, 820.105, 820.110 & 820.120
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OAR 581-053-0060 TABLE 1

Certificate or Permit Type

Violation

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

School Bus Driver
SPAB
Type 20 (If CDL Required)

Positive drug or alcohol test.

Suspend until driver meets the
requirements of 49 CFR part
40, subpart O Substance
Abuse Professionals and the
Return-to-Duty Process, or 90
days, whichever is first.

Revoke until driver meets the
requirements of 49 CFR part
40, subpart O Substance
Abuse Professionals and the
Return-to-Duty Process, or
three years, whichever is
longer.

All ODE issued certificates

Providing false information on
application forms or otherwise
falsifying records.

6 month suspension

3 year revocation

School Bus (Diabetic Drivers)

Failing to follow guidelines for
diabetic drivers outline in the
physical requirements.

Warning letter

Suspend until blood sugar
records and HbAlc results
from prior 30 days are
submitted to ODE.

1 year revocation

School Bus

Loss of consciousness or loss
of control due to a diabetic
event (new diagnosis).

Suspend until driver meets all
requirements for diabetic
drivers listed in OAR 581-053-
0040.

All certificates relating to
driving

Conviction of a crime listed in
ORS 342.143. (Forever Crimes)

Permanent revocation

All certificates relating to
driving

Driving privileges suspended
or revoked (driver license or
CDL) for unsafe operation of a
motor vehicle or driving
record

Suspend or Reveke-revoke
until three years after driver
license or CDL reinstatement

All certificates relating to
driving

Convicted of a crime involving
activity in drugs or alcoholic
beverages.

Suspend or Reveke-revoke
until three years after custody,
probation and parole has
ended.
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All certificates related to
driving

Convicted of a crime involving

Suspend or revoke until three

violence, threat of violence or

years after custody, probation

theft.

and parole has ended.

All certificates relating to
driving

Conviction for driving under
the influence (813.010)

Suspend or Reveke-revoke
until three years after custody,
probation and parole has
ended.

All certificates relating to
driving

Conviction of reckless driving
(811.140)

Suspend or Reveke-revoke
until three years after custody,
probation and parole has
ended.

All certificates relating to
driving

Conviction of fleeing or
attempting to elude a police
officer (811.540)

Suspend or Reveke-revoke
until three years after custody,
probation and parole has
ended.

All certificates relating to
driving

Conviction of failure to
perform the duties of a driver
involved in an accident or
collision which results in injury
or death of any person
(811.705)

Suspend or Reveke-revoke
until three years after custody,
probation and parole has
ended.

All certificates relating to
driving

Driving privileges suspended
or revoked (driver's license or
CDL) as a habitual offender
(809.600).

Suspend or Reveke-revoke
until three years after
reinstatement of driving
privileges under ORS 809.660.

All certificates relating to
driving

Accumulation of 31 or more
points against driving record

Suspend for 30 days or until
point total is lower than 31,
whichever is later.

Revoke for 30 days or until
point total is lower than 31,
whichever is later.

All certificates relating to
driving

Failure to report to ODE an
accident in a school bus or
school activity vehicle.

30 day suspension

90 day suspension

1 year revocation

Assistant Trainer

Training beyond the scope
allowed by rule.

30 day suspension

90 day suspension

1 year revocation
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Assistant Trainer / Behind-the-
Wheel Trainer

Training with an invalid
assistant trainer or behind-
the-wheel trainer certificate.

30 day suspension

90 day suspension

1 year revocation

Assistant Trainer / Behind-the-
Wheel Trainer

Training or testing an
unqualified individual,
including but not limited to:
no medical certificate or no
CLP.

30 day suspension

90 day suspension

1 year revocation

Behind-the-Wheel Trainer

Training beyond the scope
allowed by rule while certified
as an assistant trainer.

30 day suspension

90 day suspension

1 year revocation

Behind-the-Wheel Trainer

Failure to train all material
from the Behind-the-Wheel
training manual.

30 day suspension

90 day suspension

1 year revocation

Behind-the-Wheel Trainer

Failure to conduct the School
Bus Skills test as required in
the Behind-the-Wheel testing
manual or by rule.

30 day suspension

90 day suspension

1 year revocation

Behind-the-Wheel Trainer

Failure to train for the proper
amount of time as required by
rule.

30 day suspension

90 day suspension

1 year revocation

Classroom instructor
certificates

Failure to teach all of the
material or for the proper
amount of time, of any course
developed or approved by
ODE, as required by instructor
manual or rule.

30 day suspension

90 day suspension

1 year revocation

Classroom instructor
certificates

Posting an unapproved class
for credit (First offense)

30 day suspension

90 day suspension

1 year revocation

Classroom instructor
certificates

Teach classroom curriculum
without a valid certificate.
(First offense)

30 day suspension

90 day suspension

1 year revocation
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All ODE issued certificates
related to violation.

Violations of administrative
rules not otherwise specified.
(First offense)

30 day suspension

90 day suspension

1 year revocation
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OAR 581-053-0130

Assistant Trainer Certificate

1) The Oregon Department of Education may issue an Assistant Trainer Certificate to an individual who
has:

@ One year experience operating a school bus;
(b) A current School Bus Driver’s Certificate;

(c) Submitted an application that includes information regarding the behind-the-wheel trainer(s) that the
applicant will be working with; and

(d) Submitted a letter of recommendation from their supervisor.
2) Assistant trainers shall work under the direction of a certified behind-the-wheel trainer.
3 The Assistant Trainer Certificate authorizes an individual to:

(@ Work with school bus driver applicants on portions of the behind-the-wheel training that have already
been taught and documented by a certified behind-the-wheel trainer; and

(b) Train applicants to drive a type 20 vehicle and sign off on the type 20 performance check list and
application in accordance with OAR 581-053-0420_only if the applicant has a valid driver license or CDL. If the
type 20 vehicle is designed to hold 15 or more passengers, a CDL or CLP with a medical certificate is

required.-

4) Assistant trainers shall not sign off on any item on the performance checklist for new school bus drivers
except for the assistant trainer line on the last page.

5) The assistant trainer certificate shall be invalid if:
€) The assistant trainer no longer has a valid school bus certificate; or
(b) The behind-the-wheel trainer(s) is (are) no longer available to provide direction to the assistant trainer.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 327.013 & 820.100-820.120
Stats. Implemented: ORS 327.013, 820.100, 820.105, 820.110 & 820.120

OAR 581-053-0140

Behind-the-Wheel Trainer Certificate

(1) The Oregon Department of Education shall issue a Behind-the-Wheel Trainer Certificate to an
individual who has:

(@)  Two years experience operating commercial motor vehicles;
(b) One year experience operating a school bus;
(c) Six months experience as a certified assistant trainer, except that:

(A)  This requirement may be waived by the ODE Director of Pupil Transportation. Request for
exception from this requirement will be decided on an individual basis.

(B)  Trainers who have attended the Behind-the-Wheel Instructor Workshop prior to July 1, 2012
are exempt from this provision.

(d) A current School Bus Driver’s Certificate;
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(e) Been recommended by a transportation entity or contractor; and
) Either:
(A) Completed the Behind-the-Wheel Instructor Workshop with a score of at least 80%; or

(B) Met all conditions of probation after being issued a Behind-the-Wheel Probationary Trainer
Certificate in OAR 581-053-0145 prior to the expiration date of the probationary certificate.

(2)  The Behind-the-Wheel Training Certificate authorizes an individual to:

(@)  Train applicants for a School Bus Driver's Permit or Certificate in accordance with OAR 581-
053-0220, only if the applicant has:

(A) A valid CDL with proper endorsements, or a valid CLP and documentation that the individual
has passed the proper written endorsement exams at DMV; and

(B) A valid medical certificate.

(b)  Train applicants for a Type 20 Certificate in accordance with OAR 581-053-0420, only if the
applicant has a valid driver license or CDL. If the type 20 vehicle is designed to hold mere-than-1515
or more passengers, a CDL or CLP with a medical certificate is required.

(c) Test applicants for a School Bus Driver’s Permit or Certificate who have:
(A)  Met all requirements of subsection (a) of this section;

(B) A School Bus Application Form signed by the a medical examiner, the applicant, and the
behind-the-wheel trainer that conducted the training; and

(C) A completed school bus performance checklist on file that is initialed and signed by the
applicant and the behind-the-wheel trainer that conducted the training.

(d)  Test applicants for a Type 20 Certificate who have:

(A) A valid driver’s license or CDL. If the type 20 vehicle is designed to hold mere-than-1515 or
more passengers, a CDL with a medical certificate is required; and

(B) A completed type 20 performance checklist on file that is initialed and signed by the applicant
and the behind-the-wheel or assistant trainer that conducted the training.

(e)  Teach the material out of the Advanced Reference Point Manual, published by ODE, to school
bus drivers who already possess a valid School Bus Driver's Permit or Certificate and sign-off
mastery of the reference points on the Advanced Reference Point Performance Checklist for the
driver’s file and ODE training credit.

(3)  The Behind-the-Wheel Training Certificate shall become invalid if the certificate holder:
€) Does not have a valid School Bus Certificate; or
(b) Does not recertify when required by OAR 581-053-0100.

4) Behind-the-wheel trainers shall not conduct skills tests for school bus driver applicants they
have trained unless:
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@)

The applicant has taken a CDL skills test at DMV _that resulted in the issuance of a school bus

endorsement; or

(b)

The behind-the-wheel trainer has written permission from ODE.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 327.013 & 820.100-820.120
Stats. Implemented: ORS 327.013, 820.100, 820.105, 820.110 & 820.120

OAR 581-053-0220
School Bus Driver’s Permit and Certificate

@)

@)
@)
(b)

(©

(d)

(€)

(A)

0

(ii)

(iii)
(B)

()
(A)

No person shall transport pupils in a school bus or a vehicle that has a capacity of more than 20
passengers and not subject to regulations promulgated by the Oregon Department of
Transportation or U.S. Department of Transportation, unless such person has a valid School Bus
Driver's Permit or Certificate or is a temporary driver, approved by ODE. No person shall
transport pupils in a school bus of any size or type without first receiving documented instruction
in its safe operation.

ODE shall issue a School Bus Driver's Permit to an applicant who:
Possess a valid CDL with proper endorsements for the vehicle being driven;

Passes a physical examination as required in OAR 581-053-0040 Physical Examinations within
six months prior to application;

Passes a behind-the-wheel test administered by an ODE certified behind-the-wheel trainer within
one year prior to application;

Is not disqualified based on driving or criminal record as required in OAR 581-053-0050 Driving
and Criminal Records;

Submits an application for School Bus Driver's Permit or Certificate signed by the local supervisor
certifying:

The employer will:

Immediately notify ODE if the employer learns of any changes to the applicant's driving and
criminal records that could disqualify them from driving under OAR 581-053-0050 Driving and
Criminal Records;

Be in compliance with 49 CFR Part 382 FMCSA Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and
Testing; and

Ensure the driver complies with all applicable OARs.

The applicant demonstrates the knowledge and ability to perform the duties of a school bus
driver.

Completes approved behind-the-wheel training.

Training shall be for a minimum of 15 hours in actual operation of the vehicle(s) that the applicant
will be expected to drive, except training may be to a minimum of four hours if:
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() _The applicant has regularly driven a school bus for a period of six months within the last three

years;

{(ii) The school bus was of a size and type similar to that which the applicant will be expected to

(B)

)

(h)
@

®)
@)
(b)

(©)

(d)
(e)

(A)
0]

(i)
(iii)
(B)
0]

(ii)

(iii)

drive; and

{h(iil)_The employer has documentation from the applicant’s previous employer regarding previous

experience.

Hours counted in paragraph (A) of this subsection shall be spent with a certified Behind-the-
Wheel Trainer, or a certified Assistant Trainer working under the direction of a Behind-the-Wheel
Trainer, as outlined in OAR 581-053-0130 Assistant Trainer Certificate.

Reads and speak the English language sufficiently to converse with the general public,
understand highway signs and traffic signals in the English language and respond to official
inquires and make entries on reports and records; and

Complies with 49 CFR Part 382, FMCSA Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and Testing.
Has not held a valid School Bus Driver's Permit or Certificate within the last year.

ODE shall issue an original School Bus Driver's Certificate to applicants who:

Possess a valid CDL with proper endorsements for the vehicle being driven;

Pass a physical examination as required in OAR 581-053-0040 within six months prior to
application;

Pass a behind-the-wheel test administered by an ODE certified behind-the-wheel trainer within
one year prior to application;

Are not disqualified based on driving or criminal record as required in OAR 581-053-0050;

Submit an application for School Bus Driver's Permit or Certificate signed by the local supervisor
certifying that:

The employer will:

Immediately notify ODE if the employer learns of any changes to the applicant’s driving and
criminal records that could disqualify them from driving under OAR 581-053-0050;

Be in compliance with FMCSA Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and Testing regulations
at 49 CFR 382; and

Ensure that the driver complies with all applicable OARs.
The applicant:
Demonstrates the knowledge and ability to perform the duties of a school bus driver;

Has completed the Core Course for school bus drivers taught by a certified Core instructor within
the last four years; and

Is trained in first aid;
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(f) Complete approved behind-the-wheel training.

(A) Training shall be for a minimum of 15 hours in actual operation of the vehicle(s) that the applicant
will be expected to drive, except the training shall be for a minimum of four hours if:

() _The applicant has regularly driven a school bus for a period of six months within the last three
years;

{3(ii) The school bus was of a size and type similar to that which the applicant will be expected to
driver; and

{h(iil)_The employer has documentation from the applicant’s previous employer regarding previous
experience.

(B) Hours counted in paragraph (A) of this subsection shall be spent with a certified Behind-the-
Wheel Trainer, or a certified Assistant Trainer working under the direction of a Behind-the-Wheel
Trainer, as outlined in OAR 581-053-0130 Assistant Trainer Certificate;

(g) Read and speak the English language sufficiently to converse with the general public, understand
highway signs and traffic signals in the English language, and respond to official inquiries and
make entries on reports and records; and

(h) Comply with 49 CFR Part 382 FMCSA Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and Testing
regulations.

(i) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, ODE shall issue a School Bus Driver's
Certificate to an applicant who holds a valid School Bus Driver’s Permit issued under section (2)
of this rule, and who submits a School Bus Driver's Permit Conversion Card signed by a local
supervisor certifying that the applicant has:

(A) Completed the Core Course for school bus drivers taught by a certified Core Instructor within the
last four years; and

(B) Is trained in first aid.
(4) ODE shall renew a School Bus Driver's Certificate for an applicant who:

(@) Possesses or has possessed within the last 12 month period a valid School Bus Driver's
Certificate;

(b) Possesses a valid CDL with proper endorsements for the type of vehicle being driven;

(c) Passes a physical examination as required in OAR 581-053-0040 Physical Examinations within
six months prior to application;

(d) Is not disqualified based on driving or criminal record as required in OAR 581-053-0050 Driving
and Criminal Records;

(e) Submits an application for School Bus Driver's Permit or Certificate signed by a local supervisor
certifying:

(A) The employer will:
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(ii)

(i)
(B)
0}

(if)

(iii)
(iv)

v)
U]

©)

@
(b)
()
(d)
(e)

()
(6)
@)

(b)

Immediately notify ODE if the employer learns of any changes to the applicant’s driving and
criminal records that could disqualify them from driving under OAR 581-053-0050;

Be in compliance with 49 CFR Part 382 FMCSA Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and
Testing; and

Ensure that the driver complies with all applicable OARs.
The applicant:
Demonstrates the knowledge and ability to perform the duties of a school bus driver;

Has completed a Core or Core Refresher Course for school bus drivers, taught by a Core or Core
Refresher instructor within the last four years;

Is trained in first aid; and

Has completed training averaging at least eight hours annually, while certified as a school bus
driver during the preceding four-year period. Training must meet the requirements in OAR 581-
053-0225 Approved Training for School Bus Drivers and be received by ODE to qualify.

Complies with 49 CFR Part 382 FMCSA Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and Testing.

Additional tests may be required by ODE if reasonable doubt of driver competency exists or as
required by rule.

ODE may approve a person who does not currently possess a valid School Bus Driver's
Certificate or Permit as a temporary driver. If approved, a driver shall not drive more than 10
days as a temporary driver during the approval period. ODE shall only approve a temporary
driver if the driver:

Submits a Request for Approval of a Temporary Driver form, signed by a supervisor;
Is judged competent by the local supervisor;

Possesses a valid CDL with proper endorsements for the vehicle being driven;
Possesses a valid medical certificate;

Has passed a driving and criminal records check as required in OAR 581-053-0050 Driving and
Criminal Records; and

Meets all other requirements listed on the Request for Approval of a Temporary Driver form.
Expiration:

School Bus Driver’s permits expire 120 days after issuance, or on the date of medical certificate
expiration, whichever occurs first. Permits may not be renewed. The holder of a valid permit may
apply for a School Bus Driver's Certificate, provided that all requirements have been met for such
certificate.

School Bus Drivers’ Certificates shall expire two years from the date of the physical examination
required in OAR 581-053-0040, except:
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Certificates for applicants 55 years of age and older shall expire one year from the date of
physical examination required in OAR 581-053-0040;

Certificates for applicants who are diabetic shall expire one year from the date of the physical
examination required in OAR 581-053-0040; and

Certificates for applicants who have had a physical examination as required in OAR 581-053-
0040 and have been issued a medical certificate with an expiration date that is prior to the
expiration dates outlined in this subsection shall expire on the date the medical certificate
expires.

An approval of a temporary driver expires on July 1, following approval.

Age Restrictions: To obtain an original School Bus Driver's Certificate or Permit, or to renew a
School Bus Driver's Certificate following a person's 70th birthday, an applicant must comply with
all certification requirements and successfully complete an ODE behind-the-wheel test no more
than 30 days before the date of application. The test must be administered by a behind-the-wheel
trainer. A copy of the test shall be attached to the application form.

A driver shall notify ODE, in writing, of any change in the driver's name, address or employer
within 30 days of the change. A duplicate certificate will be issued if necessary.

A School Bus Driver’'s Permit or Certificate shall be invalid anytime that:

A transportation entity or contractor notifies ODE that the driver is no longer active;

The driver is no longer trained in first aid (School Bus Certificate Only);

The driver no longer meets the physical requirements outlined in OAR 581-053-0040; or

The driver does not maintain or falsifies records required of a diabetic driver outlined in OAR 581-
053-0040.

(10) A School Bus Driver's Permit or Certificate shall be valid again if:

@)

(b)

(©)

(d)

The permit or certificate was invalid under subsection (9)(a) of this rule when a transportation
entity or contractor notifies ODE that they are ensuring the driver's compliance with these OARs.

The certificate was invalid under subsection (9)(b) of this rule when the driver is trained in first
aid.

The permit or certificate was invalid under subsection (9)(c) of this rule when the driver meets the
physical requirements outlined in OAR 581-053-0040.

The permit or certificate was invalid under subsection (9)(d) of this rule when the driver is able to
produce two weeks of medical records demonstrating compliance with the physical requirements
for diabetic drivers outlined in 581-053-0040.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 327.013 & 820.100-820.120
Stats. Implemented: ORS 327.013, 820.100, 820.105, 820.110 & 820.120

OAR 581-053-0225
Approved Training for School Bus Drivers
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@ Training taught from material published by the Oregon Department of Education shall count towards a
school bus driver's average training hours when taught by a certified instructor within the scope of their
certificate.

{1)(2) Training taught by a certified first aid instructor that results in the issuance of a first aid card
demonstrating that a driver is trained in first aid. Proper certification of a first aid instructor is determined by the
organization that issues a first aid card to the driver.

{2)(3) Training taught from material not published by ODE shall count towards a school bus driver’s required
training hours if:

(@ The transportation entity has an ODE approval letter on file; and
(b) The training was conducted in accordance with the letter and applicable OARs.

{3)(4) ODE may approve training for inclusion in a school bus driver’s required training hours if the
transportation entity:

@ Submits a letter to ODE requesting approval of the training that includes a list of instructors who will
teach the material. If the instructors are not certified through ODE, then the letter shall include background
information and supporting documentation to establish the instructor as an expert in the field being taught; and

(b) A copy of the presentation material. This may include, but is not limited to, hand outs, outlines, and
multimedia presentations.

{4)(5) If ODE approves training that has been properly submitted as required by section (3) of this rule, then
ODE shall issue a letter that indicates:

@ The amount of time that will be accredited towards a school bus driver's required training hours for
attending the training;

(b) The class and unit that the training will be assigned for record keeping purposes;
(c) The instructor(s) that may teach the material; and
(d) The expiration date for the approval shall be four years after the approval date.

{5)(6) Transportation entities may request a renewal of an expired approval letter or request that additional
instructors be added to an approval letter by submitting:

(a) A letter certifying that the material being taught has not changed since the original approval letter was
issued by ODE

(b) A list of instructors that will teach the material; and
(c) A copy of the original letter issued by ODE.

(d) Letters issued under this section will contain the same information as a letter issued in section (4) of
this rule.

{6)(7) _Approval letters issued before July 1, 2012 that do not have an expiration date shall expire on July 1,
2013 or four years after the issue date of the letter, whichever is later.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 327.013 & 820.100-820.120
Stats. Implemented: ORS 327.013, 820.100, 820.105, 820.110 & 820.120
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OAR 581-053-0230

Rules Pertaining to School Bus Drivers

(1)  The driver shall report as soon as possible to the proper official any deficiency or malfunction
of any equipment or component of the vehicle.

(2)  The driver shall not transport students unless the vehicle is safe to operate.
3) School bus drivers shall observe all local and state traffic laws and ordinances.

4) Drivers shall enforce local school board and Oregon Department of Education rules governing
pupils riding school buses.

(5) Drivers shall observe local school board and Oregon Department of Education rules pertaining
to school bus drivers.

(6)  After stopping at a railway crossing as required by law, the driver shall turn off any noise-
producing device with the exception of two-way radio communication. The driver shall then open the
bus entrance door and driver window, look and listen for an approaching train, then close the door
before proceeding across the tracks.

(7)  The driver shall assist in conducting student instruction and evacuation drills as directed by the
transportation entity.

(8) Drivers shall report to their employer(s) within 15 days:

(@  Any conviction for driving or criminal offenses specified in OAR 581-053-0050.
(b)  Anyinvolvement in an accident.

(c) If their CDL is no longer valid.

(9) A school bus driver shall:

(@) Never drive backwards on the school grounds prior to looking behind the bus, sounding the
horn, and placing a responsible person to guard the rear;

(b) Not leave the bus when pupils are in it until the motor is shut off, the brakes set, a manual
transmission put in gear and the key removed from the ignition;

(c) Not disengage the clutch or have transmission in neutral to allow the bus to coast;
(d) Stop to load or unload pupils only at designated places;
(e) See that all doors on the bus are kept closed while the bus is in motion;

4] Bring the bus to a complete stop before taking on or letting off pupils. Whenever possible the
driver shall stop at a place where the road may be clearly seen for several hundred feet in either
direction;

(9) Not permit anyone to hang on or hitch onto the outside of the bus;

(h) Not use a school bus for any purpose other than transporting pupils to and from schools or
authorized school activities;
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0] Not permit anyone else to operate the bus or controls, except with the permission of
transportation entity or contractor;

0] Not permit animals on the bus except guide dogs and assistance animals from recognized
programs that will be accepted when accompanying blind, deaf, or physically impaired persons as
identified on an IEP. Guide/assistance animals or animals in training as defined in ORS 346.680 are
also accepted when they comply with all the following:

(A)  Are enrolled and identified in an assistance animal training program registered with and
regulated by an appropriate county extension service or designated state agency;

(B) Have a comprehensive immunization record on file with the district;
(C) Are always clearly and distinctively identified as an assistance animal in training;
(D)  Are accompanied by the trainer identified in district records;

(E) Continue to demonstrate their ability to ride safely with students, posing no hazards or
distractions; and

(F)  Comply with any additional requirements and safeguards specified by the transportation entity.
(9] Not permit firearms or other weapons to be carried in the bus;

o Not operate the bus with a trailer attached;

(m)  Not fill the fuel tank while pupils are in the bus or while the motor is running;

(n)  Not transport any person who is not a pupil, a teacher, or an official of the school while
traveling the regular route, unless authorized to do so by a authorized school official. School officials
may authorize other persons to ride in the school buses on special occasions having to do with
school affairs;

(o) Make certain that all aisles and passageways are kept clear;

(p) Not permit signs of any kind to be attached to the bus, except those specifically permitted by
law or regulation;

Q) Report to school officials immediately when buses are overloaded as described in OAR 581-
053-0002 and ORS 820.180(1)(b);

(9] Stop the bus if any difficulty arises or if disorder prevails in the bus making it unsafe to
continue and not proceed until the situation is remedied. Misconduct of pupils shall be reported to the
proper official;

(s) Not use tobacco on the school bus and shall not permit passengers to use tobacco on the bus;

® Not be under the influence of any alcoholic beverage or any drug likely to affect the person's
ability to operate the vehicle safely while on duty; shall not consume an alcoholic beverage,
regardless of its alcoholic content or any drug likely to affect the person's ability to operate the vehicle
safely while on duty or within eight hours before going on duty to operate a pupil transporting vehicle;

(u) Not allow pupils to leave the bus except at their designated stop without the authorization of
school officials;
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(v) Ensure students are seated before putting the bus in motion;

(w) Complete any training required by the Oregon Department of Education, transportation entity
or contractor;

) Make written reports of accidents involving the pupil-transporting vehicle to the Oregon
Department of Education. Reports shall be submitted within 72 hours of the accident. Drivers shall
use forms provided by ODE.

() Make other reports as required by the transportation entity, the Oregon Department of
Education and the Motor Vehicles Division:

2 Use all securement straps and attachments for students with adaptive/assistive devices in a
manner consistent with their design;

(@aa) Not transport pupils seated on three-wheeled mobile seating devices.

(bb) Not use a cell phone, with or without a hands free device, while drivirg-operating a school bus
unless summoning medical or other emergency help if no other person in the vehicle is capable of
summoning help.

(cc) Not eat or drink while drivirg-operating the bus.

(dd) Not transport students in three wheeled devices.

(ee) Not transport compressed oxygen unless:

(A)  The capacity is less than or equal to 22 cubic feet;

(B) The tank is certified and labeled as approved by the Department of Transportation;
(C) The tank valve and regulator are protected from breakage; and

(D) The tank is securely attached to avoid being a hazard for students and away from intense
heat.

(ff) Not transport liquid oxygen unless:
(A)  The capacity is less than or equal to 23 cubic feet;
(B)  The tank is certified and labeled as approved by the Department of Transportation; and

(C) The tank is securely attached to avoid being a hazard for students and away from intense

heat.

A)aa) Ensure that no students are left unattended on the school bus after a route or activity« | Formatted: Justified, Space After: 10 pt,
tri Outline numbered + Level: 2 + Numbering
np. Style: a, b, ¢, ... + Start at: 1 + Alignment: Left

+ Aligned at: 0" + Indent at: 0.25"

(10) Use of Bus Safety Lights:

(@) When pupils must cross the roadway to board, or after leaving the bus, the driver shall actuate
the amber flashing warning lights 100 to 300 feet before the stop. The driver shall stop the bus in the
right hand traffic lane. The red lights shall remain flashing until all pupils have safely crossed the
roadway;
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(b)  When pupils need not cross the roadway to board, or after leaving the bus, the driver shall:

(A)  When practicable, stop completely off the main traveled portion of the roadway. The driver
shall not actuate the bus safety lights;

(B)  Where it is not practicable to stop completely off the main traveled portion of the roadway the
driver shall actuate the amber flashing warning lights 100 to 300 feet before the stop. The driver shall
stop the bus in the right-hand traffic lane. The red lights shall remain flashing until pupils have safely
boarded or left the bus.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 327.013 & 820.100-820.120
Stats. Implemented: ORS 327.013, 820.100, 820.105, 820.110 & 820.120

OAR 581-053-0240
Minimum Standards for School Buses
(D) Air Cleaner:

€) The engine intake air cleaner shall be furnished and properly installed by the chassis manufacturer to
meet engine specifications;

(b) All Type C and Type D buses equipped with diesel engines shall have an air cleaner restriction
indicator properly installed by the chassis manufacturer to meet engine specifications.

2 Air System: All buses equipped with air systems for brakes shall provide and identify an appropriate air
port for plumbing in air powered accessories.

3) Air-Operated Accessories: Air-operated accessories shall be plumbed into the vehicle's air supply
system in compliance with all the following:

(a) Safeguarded by a check valve or equivalent device located between the air supply system and the
accessory to prevent air loss due to accessory failure. This shall include the supply line for a designated
accessory air tank;

(b) Connected to the air supply system in compliance with all applicable Federal Motor Vehicle Safety
Standards;

(c) Connected in the manner prescribed by the vehicle manufacturer.
4) Aisle:
(@ Minimum clearance of all aisles shall be 12 inches.

(b) Minimum clearance of aisles from wheelchair areas to an emergency door shall be at least 30 inches
wide to permit passage of a wheelchair. Special service entrance doors are not considered emergency doors
unless in compliance with all right side emergency door requirements.

5) Axles: The front and rear axles and suspension systems shall have a gross axle weight rating at ground
commensurate with the respective front and rear weight loads of the bus loaded to the rated passenger
capacity.

(6) Back-up camera: A back-up camera may be installed. The camera housing shall not block any signage
or lights that are required. The monitor for the back-up camera system shall not block the view of any window,
gauges, or required indicator lights. The monitor shall only work when the transmission is in reverse.

©) Body Construction:
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(®) Construction shall be of prime commercial quality steel, or other metal, or other material with strength at
least equivalent to all-steel as certified by bus body manufacturer;

(b) Construction shall provide a water-tight and reasonably dustproof unit;

(c) Must meet or exceed applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards for construction, effective
December 2, 1993.

(8) Body Sizes:

@ Body manufacturer shall determine the vehicle's maximum designed and equipped passenger capacity
and post it on the vehicle with the GVWR and vehicle compliance information.

(b) For determining standard requirements on buses with power lifts and wheel chair tie down stations, the
passenger and gross vehicle weight rating classification will be determined as if the vehicle were equipped with
a standard seating arrangement.

9 Brakes:

@ Air brakes are required on all buses having a manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001
pounds or greater;

(b) Buses using air or vacuum in the operation of the brake system shall be equipped with warning signals,
readily audible and visible to the driver, that will give a continuous warning when the air pressure available in
the system for braking is 60 psi (pounds per square inch) or less or the vacuum in the system available for
braking is 8 inches of mercury or less. An illuminated gauge shall be provided that will indicate to the driver, the
air pressure in pounds per square inch available for the operation of the brake.

(A) Vacuum-assist brake systems shall have a reservoir used exclusively for brakes which shall be
adequate to ensure loss in vacuum at full stroke application of not more than 30 percent with engine not
running. Brake system on gas-powered chassis shall include suitable and convenient connections for the
installation of separate vacuum reservoir;

(B) Any brake system dry reservoir shall be so safeguarded by a check valve or equivalent device that in
the event of failure or leakage in its connection to the source of compressed air or vacuum, the stored dry air or
vacuum shall not be depleted by the leakage or failure.

(©) Buses using a hydraulic assist-booster in the operation of brake system shall be equipped with a
warning signal, readily audible and visible to the driver, which will provide continuous warning in the event of a
loss of fluid pressure from primary source or loss of electric source powering the backup system;

(d) The brake lines and booster-assist lines shall be protected from excessive heat and vibrations and be
so installed as to prevent chafing;

(e) All brake systems shall be designed to permit visual inspection of brake lining wear without removal of
any chassis components except for inspection dust covers or wheels;

® Air brake systems shall be equipped with manual drain valves on all air tanks. A provision shall be
made to operate manual drain valve(s) on first (wet) reservoir(s) from the side of the bus unless one of the
following options is provided:

(A) Automatic moisture ejector on the first (wet) reservoir;

(B) An air dryer that has the drying ability to ensure an adequate margin of safety under normal and
adverse operating conditions;
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© Skirt-mounted controls for manual drain valve(s) shall not extend beyond the outer side of bus skirt
panel.

(10)  Bumper (Front):

(@) The bumper on Type A-2, B, C, and D buses shall be equivalent in strength and durability to pressed
steel channel at least 3/16 inches thick and not less than 8 inches wide (high). It shall extend beyond the
forward-most part of the body, grille, hood and fenders and shall extend to the outer edges of the fenders at
the bumper’s top line.

(b) Type A-1 buses may be equipped with an OEM-supplied bumper.

(©) The bumper shall be of sufficient strength to permit pushing or being pushed by another vehicle with
the same GVWR on a smooth surface with a five degree (8.7 percent) grade, without permanent distortion to
the bumper, chassis, or body.

(d) The bumper shall be designed or reinforced so that it will not deform when the bus is lifted by a chain
that is attached to both tow hooks when the bus is empty and positioned on a level, hard surface and both tow
hooks share the load equally.

(e) Deer guards may be added to a front bumper to protect the front grill. Deer guards shall not be in any
portion of the driver's forward view, including use of all mirrors.

(11) Bumper (Rear):

(® Rear bumper for all body on chassis units shall be of pressed steel channel or equivalent material at
least 3/16-inch thick and eight inches wide (high), and of sufficient strength to permit pushing by another
vehicle without distortion;

(b) Bumper for all body on chassis units shall wrap around back corners of bus. It shall extend forward at
least 12 inches, measured from rear-most point of body at floor line;

(c) Bumper shall be attached to chassis frame in such manner that it may be easily removed, shall be so
braced as to develop full strength of bumper section from rear or side impact, and shall be so attached as to
prevent the insertion of small fingers between the body and bumper;

(d) Bumper shall extend beyond rear-most part of body surface at least one inch, measured at floor line;

(e) An energy absorbing rear bumper may be used providing a self-restoring energy absorbing bumper
system so attached as to prevent the hitching of rides and of sufficient strength to permit pushing by another
vehicle without permanent distortion to the bumper, chassis, or body;

) The manufacturer of the energy absorbing system shall provide evidence from an approved test facility
(capable of performing the above FMVSS tests) that their product conforms to the above.

(12) Certification:

(a) The vehicle shall be certified as a “School Bus” as required in the FMVSS certification requirements of
49 CFR part 567.

(b) Manufacturer will, upon request, certify to the Oregon Department of Education that their product meets
minimum standards on items not covered by FMVSS certification requirements of 49 CFR part 567.

(13) Chains, Automatic: Automatic tire chains (traction) may be installed at drive wheels in conformance with
manufacturer specifications and any applicable chassis manufacturer standards. (Note: Air-applied chain
systems must comply with air-operated accessory requirement included in this rule.)
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(14) Child Safety Restraint Systems:

(@) Child safety restraint systems used for transporting infants, toddlers, or others requiring added
support shall conform to specific strength and performance standards or dynamic test standards
identified in 49 CFR 571.213 for protection of a child up to 50 pounds;

(b) Child safety restraint systems shall bear a label specifying compliance with all applicable
Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards at the time of their manufacture;

(c) Child safety restraint systems shall be secured to the school bus seat as per the manufacturer’s
instructions. If used, a child safety restraint anchorage system must meet 49 CFR 571.225 and a seat belt shall
meet section 61 of this rule.

(15) Clutch:
(a) Clutch torque capacity shall be equal to or greater than, the engine torque output;

(b) A starter interlock shall be installed to prevent actuation of the starter if the clutch is not depressed on
all buses manufactured after January 1, 1999.

(16) Color:

(@ Chassis and bumpers shall be black; Wheels may be painted either black or National School Bus
Yellow. Type A-1, A-2, and B buses may have manufacturer standard color wheels.

(b) The school bus body shall be painted a uniform National School Bus Yellow. The body exterior paint
trim, bumper, lamp hoods, and emergency door lettering shall be black. The engine hood may be painted low-
luster yellow. The roof of the bus may be painted white. The white color may extend across the roof down to
the drip rails or within 6 inches above the passenger windows on the sides of the bus except that front and rear
caps shall remain National School Bus Yellow. Retroreflective material may be used as trim on rear bumper;

(17)  Crossing Arm: A crossing arm may be mounted on the front of a school bus in accordance with the
following specifications:

€) Installed on the front bumper as close as practicable to the right (curb) side, opening left to right and
providing an extension of the curbside of bus;

(b) Arm shall be located at least 18 inches but not more than 32 inches above ground level and in the
closed position; arm shall not cover numbers on license plate;

(c) Installed in a manner to limit the outward deployment to 90 degrees from the front bumper;
(d) Arm shall extend 70 inches from the front bumper in its extended position;

(e) Arm shall be activated through the existing bus safety light system assuring the driver is required to
take no additional action to either deploy or retract the arm. No outward movement of the arm may occur
before red flashing sequence begins;

® Override switches are prohibited;

(9) Crossing arm must be safeguarded from damage due to pushing or pulling by hand through the use of
a clutch-like device or equivalent, double spring hinges are not acceptable);

(h) The arm may be equipped with an amber flashing light that functions only when the arm is in the fully
extended position;
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0] Entire unit shall have no sharp edges or other projections that could injure children or others due to
casual contact;

0] Unit shall provide secure mounting opportunities to prevent misalignment or failure due to extreme
weather conditions;

(k) Shall be either air, vacuum, or electrically operated and in conformance to section (69)(g) of this rule;
0] Crossing arm color shall be yellow or yellow and black;
(m)  All components and connections shall be weatherproofed.

(18) Cup holders on vehicles manufactured after July 1, 2013 shall not be allowed. No additional cup
holders shall be installed.

(19) Defrosters:

(@ Defrosting and defogging equipment shall direct a sufficient flow of heated air onto the windshield, the
window to the left of the driver and the glass in the viewing area directly to the right of the driver to reduce the
amount of frost, fog and snow;

(b) The defrosting system shall conform to SAE performance standards J-381 and 382;

(c) The defroster and defogging system shall be capable of furnishing heated outside ambient air, except
that part of the system furnishing additional air to the windshield, entrance door and step well may be of the
recirculation air type;

(d) Auxiliary fans, if used, shall not be considered as a defrosting and defogging system:

(A) Auxiliary fans shall be mounted above the windshield, so as not to interfere with the driver's vision of
the roadway, mirrors or students outside the bus;

(B) The fan blades shall be covered with a protective cage.
(20) Doors:

(@ Service door shall be under the driver's control, designed to afford easy release and to provide a
positive latching device on manual operating doors to prevent accidental opening. When hand lever is used, no
part shall come together so as to shear or crush fingers. Manual door controls shall not require more than 25
pounds of force to operate at any point throughout the range of operation, as tested on a 10% grade, both up
hill and downhill;

(b) Service door shall be located on right side of bus opposite driver and within direct view;

(c) Service door shall have minimum horizontal opening of 24 inches and minimum vertical opening of 68
inches;

(d) Service door shall be a split-type door and shall open outward,;

(e) If service door is power operated, pressure shall be controlled by a regulator valve or switch and
provision shall be made for opening the door manually in the event of driver disability or mechanical failure.
Emergency release valve or switch for power operated doors shall be located in an accessible place, in plain
view, as near the service door as practicable. Valve or switch shall be properly identified and "open" and
"closed" position plainly marked;

® All service door windows shall be approved safety glass. Bottom of lower glass panel shall not be more
than ten inches from top surface of bottom step. Top of upper glass panel shall not be more than six inches
from top of door.
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(9) Vertical closing edges on the service door shall be equipped with flexible material to protect children's
fingers.

(h) There shall be no door to left of driver. (This shall not be interpreted to conflict with emergency doors or
windows.) Type A-1 and A-2 and B buses may be equipped with chassis manufacturers' left side driver's door;

0] All doors shall be equipped with an energy absorbing pad at the top edge of each door opening. Pad
shall be at least 3 inches wide and 1 inch thick and extend the full width of the door opening.

(21) Drive Shaft: Drive shafts over 24 inches in length shall be protected by metal guard or guards around
circumference of drive shaft to reduce the possibility of the shaft whipping through floor or dropping to ground if
broken. Guards shall be mounted around front half of each drive shaft section.

(22)  Electrical System:
(a) Battery(ies):

(A) Battery shall have a minimum cold cranking capacity rating equal to the cranking current required for
30-seconds at 0° Fahrenheit (-17.8c) and a minimum reserve capacity rating of 120-minutes at 25 amp. Higher
capacities may be needed dependent upon optional equipment and local environmental conditions;

(B) The manufacturer shall securely attach the battery(ies) on a slide-out or swing-out tray in a closed,
vented compartment in the body skirt so that the battery(ies) is accessible for convenient servicing from the
outside. Battery compartment(s) door or cover shall be hinged at front or top and secured by adequate and
conveniently operated latch or other type fastener. Type A-1 and A-2 buses may have battery(ies) mounted
under the hood in an accessible location;

© Access to battery shall not be through body floor;

(D) Buses may be equipped with a battery shut-off switch. The switch shall be placed in a battery
compartment or the engine compartment.

(b) Circuits: An appropriate identifying diagram (color and number coded) for electrical circuits shall be
provided to the body manufacturer for distribution to the end user;

(c) Generator or Alternator:

(A) All buses with a GVWR of 14,500 pounds or less shall have a generator or alternator with a minimum
rating of at least 130 amperes (in accordance with Society of Automotive Engineer rating) with minimum
charging of 50 percent of maximum rated output at manufacturer's recommended engine idle speed (12 volt
system), and shall be ventilated and voltage-controlled and, if necessary, current-controlled;

(B) All buses with a GVWR greater than 14,500 pounds shall have a generator or alternator with a
minimum rating of at least 160 amperes (in accordance with Society of Automotive Engineer rating) with
minimum charging of 50 percent of maximum rated output at manufacturer's recommended engine idle speed
(12 volt system), and shall be ventilated and voltage-controlled and, if necessary, current-controlled,;

© Generator or alternator may be direct/gear driven or belt driven. Belt driven generator or alternators
shall be capable of handling the rated capacity of the generator or alternator with no detrimental effect on other
belt driven components;

(d) Wiring, Chassis:

(A) General — all wiring shall conform to current applicable recommended practices of the Society of
Automotive Engineers. All wiring shall use a standard color coding and each chassis shall be delivered with a
wiring diagram that coincides with the wiring of the chassis;
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(B)

Chassis manufacturer shall install a readily accessible terminal strip or plug on the body side of the

cowl, or at accessible location in engine compartment of vehicles designed without a cowl, which shall contain
the following terminals for the body connections:

0]
(i)
(i)
(iv)
)
(vi)
(vii)
(e)
(A
(B)
0]

Main 100 amp body circuit;

Tail lamps;

Right turn signal;

Left turn signal;

Stop lamps;

Back up lamps;

Instrument panel lights (controlled by dimmer switch).

Wiring, Body:

All wiring shall conform to current standards of Society of Automotive Engineers;
Circuits:

Wiring shall be arranged in circuits, as required, with a circuit protection system. A system of color or

number coding shall be used for all buses purchased after September 1, 1993 and an appropriate identifying
diagram shall be provided the end user along with the wiring diagram provided by the chassis manufacturer.
The following interconnecting circuits shall be color coded as noted:

0}
(I
D)
(v)
V)
(V)
(viN)
(Vi
(i)
0
(m
(D)
(v)
V)
(V)

Left rear directional light — yellow;

Right rear directional light — dark green;

Stop lights — red;

Back-up lights — blue;

Tail lights — brown;

Ground — white;

Ignition feed, primary feed — black;

The color of cables shall correspond to SAE J1128.

Wiring shall be arranged in at least seven regular circuits, as follows:
Head, tail, stop (brake) and instrument panel lamps;

Clearance and step well lamps (step well lamp shall be activated when service door is opened);
Dome lamp;

Ignition and emergency door signal,

Turn signal lamps;

School Bus Safety Lights;
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(VIl)  Heaters and defrosters.
(iii) Any of above combination circuits may be subdivided into additional independent circuits;

(iv) Whenever possible, all other electrical functions (such as sanders and electric-type windshield wipers)
shall be provided with independent and properly protected circuits.

© The entire electrical system of the body shall be designed for the same voltage as the chassis on which
the body is mounted,

(D) All wiring shall have an amperage capacity equal to or exceeding the designed load. All wiring splices
are to be done at an accessible location and noted as splices on wiring schematic;

(B) Each body circuit shall be coded by number or letter on a diagram of easily readable size and be
furnished with each bus body or affixed in an area convenient to the electrical accessory control panel;

(F) Body power wire is to be attached to special terminal on the chassis;
(G) All wires passing through metal openings shall be protected by a grommet;

H) Wires not enclosed within body shall be fastened securely at intervals of not more than 18 inches. All
joints shall be soldered or joined by equally effective connectors and shall be moisture and corrosion resistant.

() A 12-volt power port may be installed in the driver’s area;

Q)] There shall be a non-momentary manual noise suppression switch installed in the control panel. The
switch shall be clearly labeled and distinguishable from other switches. This switch shall be an on/off type that
deactivates body equipment that produces noise, including the AM/FM/audio radio, heaters, air conditioners,
fans and defrosters. The switch shall not deactivate safety systems such as windshield wipers or lighting
systems.

(23) Emergency Equipment:

(a) Belt cutter: Each bus equipped with passenger seat belts or webbed restraining devices shall have a
belt cutter mounted in the driver's compartment within reach of a driver sitting in the driver's seat. Belt cutter
shall be of a design offering protected cutting edges to prevent accidental or intentional injury to drivers or
passengers;

(b) Emergency road reflectors:

(A) Each bus shall be equipped with at least three reflex reflective triangle vehicle warning devices that
conform to 49 CFR 581.125;

(B) Reflectors must be in a container securely mounted with nut-and-bolt fasteners enhanced with large flat
(fender) washers or held in place by a nut-and-bolt mounted metal bracket that also protects and secures the
container lid. Both shall be located in an accessible location. Reflectors shall not be mounted in any engine
compartment;

(c) Body fluid cleanup kit: Buses shall have a removable moisture proof and dust proof body fluid cleanup
kit, mounted in an accessible place within the driver's compartment. Contents shall include at least the
following items:

(A) Two pair rubber/latex gloves;

(B) Two four-ounce packages of stabilized chlorine absorbent deodorant (or equivalent) capable of
stabilizing at least 1 liter/36 fl. oz. of body fluids;

© One spatula for pick up of congealed fluid;
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(D) One plastic bag in which to place congealed fluid,;

(E) One red plastic bag with tie, identified for infectious waste and as a bio-hazard,;
(3] One two-ounce bottle of germicidal detergent to apply to a contaminated area;
(G) Four paper towels to wipe up contaminated area;

H) One one-ounce antiseptic alcohol hand rinse (or equivalent);

0] One placard of step by step use instructions;

Q)] Germicidal detergents, stabilized chlorine absorbent deodorant, alcohol hand rinse, or their equivalents
shall provide documentation of EPA approval regarding their microbiological efficacy for at least the following:

() Staphylococcus aureus;

(ii) Pseudomonas aeruginosa;
(i) Salmonella choleraesuis;
(iv) Streptococcus species;

v) Herpes simplex Type Il;

(vi) HIV (Associated with AIDS);
(vii)  Fungi (athlete's foot);

(viii)  Poliovirus; and

(ix) Tuberculosis.

(K) Documentation of efficacy for Hepatitis B may be hospital or test studies. The certified effective shelf
life of these products shall be a minimum of 12 months. Product expiration date shall be clearly displayed on all
time-sensitive products.

(d) Fire extinguishers:

(A) Each bus shall be equipped with at least one pressurized, dry, chemical type fire extinguisher, mounted
in a bracket, located in the driver's compartment, and readily accessible. A pressure gauge shall be mounted
on the extinguisher so as to be readily read without removing the extinguisher from its mounted position;

(B) The fire extinguisher shall be of a type approved by the Underwriters Laboratories, Inc., with a rating of
not less than 2 A-10 BC. The extinguisher shall have a minimum five pound capacity and equipped with a hose
and nozzle;

© The operating mechanism shall be sealed with a type of seal that will not interfere with the use of the
fire extinguisher;

(D) Extinguishers with plastic heads are not permitted.
(e) First aid Kit:

(A) Each bus shall have a readily removable, moisture proof and dustproof first-aid kit container mounted in
an accessible place within driver's compartment;

(B) The first aid kit contains a minimum of 24 units that shall include the following:
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0] One 1" adhesive compress — 16 per unit;

(ii) Two 2" bandage compress — 4 per unit;

(i) Two 3" bandage compress — 2 per unit;

(iv) Two 4" bandage compress — 1 per unit;

(v) Two 3" x 3" plain gauze pads — 4 per unit;

(vi) Two 2" x 6 yards gauze roller bandage — 1 per unit;

(vii)  Three 1/2 square yard gauze;

(viii)  Three 24" x 72" gauze;

(ix) Four triangular bandages;

x) One 1/2 x 5 yard adhesive tape - one per unit;

(xi) One round nose scissors and tweezers. Latex gloves - one pair; and

(xii)  One micro-shield for mouth-to-mouth airway (to lay on top of other contents).
© Specific local requirements may be substituted in lieu of 2 units of 1/2 square yard gauze.

() Any piece of emergency equipment may be mounted in an enclosed compartment, provided the
compartment is labeled in not less than 1 inch letters, identifying each piece of equipment contained therein. If
emergency road reflectors are stored outside the driver's compartment, the location of the triangles shall be
displayed in a readily viewable location by the driver in minimum 1 inch letters.

(24) Emergency Exits:

(® All emergency exits and doors shall comply with the design and performance requirements of 49 CFR
571.217, Bus Emergency Exits and Window Retention and Release applicable to that type of exit.

(b) In addition to the requirements of 49 CFR 571.217, all emergency exits and doors shall meet the
additional requirements:

(A) Doors:

0] Upper portion of emergency door shall be equipped with approved safety glazing, exposed area of not

less than 400 square inches;

(ii) Lower portion of rear emergency door shall be equipped with approved safety glass and shall have an
exposed area of not less than 350 square inches of approved safety glazing;

(i) There shall be no steps leading to emergency door;

(iv) Clearance between outside emergency door handle and emergency door shall not exceed 1/4 inch
when handle is in the closed position. Handle shall not provide a firm handhold for someone trying to “hitch” a
ride. Handles shall be positioned to prevent snagging of clothing or pinching of fingers;

V) Emergency door hinge shall not provide an opening for insertion of fingers when door is closed;

(vi) An adequately padded head bumper shall be placed on the interior directly above any emergency exit
door opening. The pad shall extend the full width of the door opening and shall be at least three inches wide
and one inch thick;
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(vii)  If emergency door is lockable, provision must be made to prevent the bus from starting while the door is
locked. An audible warning which does not affect engine operation shall be provided to alert the driver should
the door be locked while the bus is in operation; and

(viii)  Emergency doors shall be labeled “Emergency Door” in minimum 2 inch letters that contrast with the
background at the top of, or immediately above, the emergency door on both the inside and outside of the bus;

(B) Rear Push-Out Window:
0] Rear push-out window shall be operable from inside or outside the bus;

(ii) Rear push-out window shall have a lifting assistance device that will aid in lifting and holding the rear
emergency window open; and

(iii) If rear push-out window is lockable, provision must be made to prevent the bus from starting while the
exit is locked. An audible warning which does not affect engine operation shall be provided to alert the driver
should the exit be locked while the bus is in operation;

© Swing-Out Windows:

0] Swing-out windows are windows along the side of the bus with a hinge that is opposite of the
emergency release so that it “swings-out” when opened. Swing-out windows may be hinged along any edge of
the window. If the hinge is installed vertically, it shall be installed on the forward side of the window;

(i) Swing-out windows shall not be located above a stop arm;
(iii) Swing-out windows shall provide a minimum clear opening of 18” x 24”; and

(iv) Swing-out windows that are inoperable from the outside shall include the message “Operates From
Inside Only” adjacent to the outside “Emergency Exit” labeling required under 49 CFR 571.217;

(D) Roof Hatches:
() Roof hatch shall be waterproof and provide a minimum clear opening of 16” x 16”;

(ii) When a release mechanism on the roof hatch is open and the vehicle’s ignition is in the “on” position, a
continuous warning shall be audible at the drivers seating position; and

(i) Roof hatch may also serve as a roof ventilator; however, this shall not be used in place of the required
static vent.

() Each bus shall be equipped with:
(A) A rear emergency exit door and one roof hatch; or
(B) A left side emergency exit door, a rear emergency push out window, and one roof hatch.

(d) Buses equipped with a rear emergency exit door and roof hatch (as in paragraph (c)(A) of this section)
require additional emergency exits based on the maximum design passenger capacity listed below:

(A) Buses designed or equipped with a maximum design passenger capacity of 1 to 22 shall also provide:
0] 2 swing-out windows placed at approximately the midpoint of the passenger compartment; or
(ii) Side windows with a 12 inch vertical drop.

(B) Buses designed or equipped with a maximum design passenger capacity of 23 to 45 shall also provide:
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0] Left side emergency door; or
(i) 2 swing-out windows at approximately the midpoint of the passenger compartment.

©) Buses designed or equipped with a maximum design passenger capacity of 46 and above shall also
provide one additional roof hatch and:

0] Left side emergency door; or

(ii) 4 swing-out windows at approximately the midpoint of the passenger compartment, but not immediately
adjacent to each other.

(e) Buses equipped with a left side door and rear push-out window (as in paragraph (c)(B) of this section)
require additional emergency exits based on the maximum design passenger capacity listed below:

(A) Buses designed or equipped with a maximum design passenger capacity of 1 to 22 shall also provide:
0] 2 swing-out windows placed at approximately the midpoint of the passenger compartment; or
(ii) Side windows with a 12 inch vertical drop.

(B) Buses designed or equipped with a maximum design passenger capacity of 23 to 45 shall also provide
two swing out windows.

© Buses designed or equipped with a maximum design passenger capacity of 46 and above shall also
provide one additional roof hatch and:

0] Right side emergency door; or
(ii) Four swing-out windows.

® Any additional emergency exits necessary to comply with the “additional emergency exit area”
requirements of 49 CFR 571.217 shall be made by the vehicle purchaser.

(9) Manufacturer shall identify all emergency exits used for calculations relating to this rule and 49 CFR
571.217 compliance and list the daylight (clear) opening for each exit.

(h) All emergency exits shall be marked on the exterior perimeter with one inch retroreflective yellow
material that meets the retro reflectivity requirements of section (57) of this rule. The color of the retroreflective
material may be white for a roof hatch on a white roof.

(25) Emissions: School buses that operate on diesel fuel shall:

(A) Have engines manufactured on or after January 1, 2007; or < Formatted: Outline numbered + Level: 3 +
Numbering Style: A, B, C, ... + Startat: 1 +
(B) Be retrofitted to _meet the same federal emission standards as a bus equipped with an engine é'?sr},me“t: Left + Aligned at: 0" + Indent at:

manufactured on or after January 1, 2007.

{25)(26) Engine Compartment Fire Suppression System: Automatic fire extinguisher systems may be
installed in the engine compartment on buses. System shall have a visible gauge easily read from the driver's
seat and a manual activation switch clearly identified and located in the driver's compartment. The entire
system must be UL (Underwriters Laboratories) approved and assure protection from passenger compartment.
Extinguisher system manual activation switch/control shall be safeguarded from accidental activation by a pull-
pin or equivalent device. The extinguisher, if mounted in the passenger compartment, shall not be readily
removable for use elsewhere, but dedicated for the engine compartment.

26)(27) Exhaust System:
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(®) Exhaust pipe, muffler, and tailpipe shall be outside bus body compartment and attached to chassis;

(b) Tailpipe shall be constructed of a corrosion-resistant tubing material at least equal in strength and
durability to 16 gauge steel tubing;

(c) Tailpipe shall meet one of the following options:

(A) Tailpipe may exit in the rear of the bus provided it:

0] Does not create a hand hold.

(ii) Does not create a step.

(i) Exhaust is defused away from passenger compartment.

(B) Tailpipe may extend to, but not beyond the body limits on the left side of the bus forward or rearward of
the rear tires outboard of chassis centerline as described in sub-section (c)(C) of this section. If the tailpipe
terminates forward of the rear tires it shall terminate not more than 24 inches or less than 6 inches forward of
rear tires. No tailpipe shall terminate beneath any emergency exit or fuel fill receptacle;

© Tailpipe shall not exit the right side of the vehicle.

(d) Exhaust system shall be properly insulated from fuel tank and connections by securely attached metal
shield at any point where it is 12 inches or less from tank or tank connections;

(e) Muffler shall be constructed of corrosion-resistant material.

27(28) Fenders, Front:

@ Total spread of outer edges of front fenders, measured at fender line, shall exceed total spread of front
tires when front wheels are in straight-ahead position;

(b) When equipped, front fenders shall be properly braced and free from any body attachments.

{28)(29) Floor:

@ Floor in under seat area, including tops of wheel housing, driver's compartment and toe board, shall be
covered with rubber floor covering or equivalent having minimum overall thickness of .125 inch:

(A) Floor covering in aisle shall be of aisle-type fire-resistant rubber or equivalent, wear-resistant and
ribbed or equivalent non-slip material. Minimum overall thickness shall be .1875 inch measured from tops of
ribs;

(B) Floor covering shall be permanently bonded to floor and shall not crack when subjected to sudden
changes in temperature. Bonding or adhesive material shall be waterproof and shall be of type recommended
by manufacturer of floor-covering material. All seams shall be sealed with waterproof sealer.

(b) Edge of floor at step well shall be treated as a step edge and shall be protected as required in section
(67)(f)(C) of this rule;

(c) A vapor and liquid proof inspection plate provided for access to the fuel tank sending may be installed;

(d) A subfloor of 5-ply plywood, at least 5/8 inch nominal thickness or equivalent, shall be installed over the
standard school bus floor. Plywood shall equal or exceed properties of exterior grade C-C plywood as specified
in NIST PS 1. Floor shall be level from front to back and from side to side except for wheel housing, toe board
and driver's seat platform areas;
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(e) Plywood sub-floor may be replaced with an equivalent material provided it has equal or greater
insulation R-value, sound abatement, deterioration-resistant, and moisture-resistant properties.

29)(30) Frame:

(@) Frame shall be of such design and strength characteristics as to correspond at least to standard
practice, for trucks of same general load characteristics which are used for highway service;

(b) Any secondary manufacturer that modifies the original chassis frame shall guarantee the performance
of workmanship and materials resulting from such modification;

(©) Any frame modification shall not be for the purpose of extending the wheelbase;

(d) Holes in top or bottom flanges of frame side rail shall not be permitted except as provided in original
chassis frame. There shall be no welding to frame side rails except by chassis manufacturer;

(e) Frame lengths shall be established in accordance with the design criteria for the complete vehicle.
36)(31) Fuel System:

€) The following fuels may be used:

(A) Diesel, including biodiesel blends,

(B) Gasoline, including ethanol blends,

© Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG),

(D) Compressed Natural Gas (CNG),

(B) Duel fuel systems using any combination of (A) through (D) above, provided that the system:
0] Meets Environmental Protection Agency specifications;

(i) Meets vehicle manufacture specifications; and

(i) Has been approved by the Oregon Department of Education.

F) Other fuels may be approved by the Oregon Department of Education upon request.

(b) Buses with a capacity of 57 or less shall be equipped with one or more fuel tanks that provide a
combined liquid capacity of not less than 30 gallons.

(c) Buses with a capacity of 58 or more shall be equipped with one or more fuel tanks that provide a
combined liquid capacity of not less than 60 gallons.

(d) The actual draw capacity of each fuel tank shall be a minimum of 83 percent of the tank capacity.

(e) No portion of the fuel system, which is located outside of the engine compartment, except the filler tube,
shall extend above the top of the chassis frame rail. Fuel lines shall be mounted to obtain maximum possible
protection from the chassis frame;

(U] Fuel filter with replaceable element shall be installed between fuel tank and engine;

(9) Tank(s) shall be mounted, filled and vented outside of body. The tank(s) location shall not permit fuel
spillage to drip or drain on any portion of the exhaust system.

(h) Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) systems shall comply with National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
58, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code.
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| 8132 G.P.S. Navigation: A G.P.S. navigation unit may be installed. The unit shall not block any
windows, gauges or indicator lights that are required. Portable units shall use an installed 12 volt power port.

‘ {32)(33) Governor:

(@) An electronic engine speed limiter shall be provided and set to limit engine speed, not to exceed the
maximum revolutions per minute, as recommended by the engine manufacturer.

(b) When it is desired to limit road speed, a road-speed governor should be installed,;
‘ {33)(34) Heaters:
@ At least one heater of hot water type shall be required;
(b) If only one heater is used, it shall be of fresh-air or combination fresh-air and recirculation type;
(c) If more than one heater is used, additional heaters may be of recirculation air type;

(d) The heating system shall be capable of maintaining throughout the bus a temperature of not less than
50 degrees Fahrenheit at average minimum January temperature as established by the National Weather
Service, for the area in which the vehicle is to be operated;

(e) All heaters shall bear a name plate which shall indicate the heater rating in accordance with SBMTC
Standard No. 001, said plate to be affixed by the heater manufacturer which shall constitute certification that
the heater performance is as shown on the plate;

() Heater hoses shall be adequately supported to guard against excessive wear due to vibration. The
hoses shall not dangle or rub against the chassis or sharp edges, and shall not interfere with or restrict the
operation of any engine function. Heater hose shall conform to SAE J20c. Heater hoses on the interior of the
bus shall be shielded to prevent scalding of the driver or passengers;

(9) Each hot water heater system installed by a body manufacturer shall include a shutoff valve installed in
the pressure and return lines near the engine in an accessible location. There shall be a water flow regulating
valve or airflow regulating door for the front heater installed for convenient operation by the driver while seated;

(h) Return heater lines on body company installed heaters shall be equipped with bleeder valves in an
accessible location to allow for removal of heater line air;

0] Auxiliary fuel-fired combustion heating systems may be installed, provided that:

(A) The auxiliary heating system shall be marked plainly with certification stating, “Meets FMCSA Bus
Heater Requirements”

(B) The auxiliary heating system shall utilize the same type of fuel as specified for the vehicle engine;

© The auxiliary heating system may be direct, hot air-type or may be connected to the engine coolant
system;

(D) When connected to the engine coolant system, the auxiliary heating system may be used to preheat
the engine coolant or preheat and add supplementary heat to the heating system, or both;

(E) Auxiliary heating systems shall be installed pursuant to the manufacturer’'s recommendations outside of
the passenger compartment;

(3] Exhaust from auxiliary heating system shall not exit the right side of the bus;

(G) Installation of auxiliary heating system shall not compromise the requirements of Title 49 CFR Part
579.301 Fuel System Integrity.
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) Portable heaters shall not be used.

£34)(35) Horn: Bus shall be equipped with horn or horns of standard make, each horn capable of
producing complex sound in bands of audio frequencies between approximately 250 and 2,000 cycles per
second and tested per SAE Standard J-377.

35)(36) Identification:

€) School buses shall bear the words "SCHOOL BUS" in black capital series letters at least eight inches
high and of proportionate width on both front and rear of bus. Lettering shall be placed as high as possible
without impairment of its visibility. The background shall be a maximum of 12 inches by 36 inches and shall be
either:

(A) Retroreflective material that conforms to the retro reflectivity requirements of section (57); or
(B) llluminated.

(b) A warning sign shall be installed on the rear of all school buses calling attention to the school bus stop
law. It shall be located in the most attainable vertical center of the rear emergency door, between the upper
and lower windows. Signs on rear engine transit type buses shall be vertically centered and horizontally
adjacent to the left and right upper brake lights. Sign shall be either:

(A) A decal with white retroreflectorized letters that conform to the retroreflective requirements listed in
section (57) of this rule mounted on a flat black background. The word message shall be centered horizontally
and vertically on the decal. The decal shall have the lettering shown below:

UNLAWFUL TO PASS (3 inches in height)
WHEN (1 inches in height)
RED LIGHTS FLASH (3 inches in height)
or:

(B) An electronic sign that displays warning messages to motorists. The electronic sign:
0] Shall be sealed weather tight construction approximately 23.5 X 8.75 X 1.5 in size.
(ii) Shall be connected to the school bus safety lights;

(iii) Shall alternately flash the word message “CAUTION” and the word message “STOPPING” when the
amber school bus safety lights are active. The letters in the word messages shall be amber with a minimum
height of three inches;

(iv) Shall alternately flash the word message “STOP” and the word message “DO NOT PASS” when the
red school bus lights are active. The letters in the word messages shall be red with a minimum of three inches;

v) May flash or display the word message “CAUTION” or the word message “CAUTION STOPPING”
when the hazard lights are activated. The letters in the word message shall be amber with a minimum height of
three inches;

(vi) May flash or display the word message “CAUTION” when the backup lights are activated. The letters in
the word message shall be amber with a minimum height of three inches;

(vii)  Shall have a minimum viewing angle of 15 degrees on each side of the perpendicular axis;
(viii)  Flashing messages may be controlled by the hazard light and school bus safety light flashers;

(ix) Word and picture messages shall be clearly visible in direct sunlight from a distance of 500 ft along the
axis of the vehicle; and
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x) L.E.D. lights, if used, shall be of sufficient quantity to result in a clear and legible message.

© An electronic sign that displays warning messages to motorists may be placed on the front of the bus
provided that:

0] There is an electronic sign on the back of the bus per section (B) above;
(i) The sign shall only be wired to the amber and red bus safety lights; and
(i) The sign shall be mounted below the windshield, vertically centered.

(c) The name of the school district, private school, or parochial school, and contractor name if applicable,
shall be placed on the left and right sides of the bus. The name shall appear in the area directly below the side
windows and the letters and figures in the name shall not be less than four inches nor more than seven inches
in height and of proportionate width;

(d) School team name or contractor's insignia may be placed above the side windows on the front portion
of the bus body. All such lettering must be approved by the Pupil Transportation Section of the Oregon
Department of Education;

(e) One bus identification number at least four inches in height shall be placed on a flat vertical surface on
each side and on the front and rear of the bus. At least one complete bus identification number shall be visible
from any point 50 feet from the bus. Type A-1 and A-2 bus numbers may be three inches in height.

() Only signs and lettering approved by state law or by the regulations of the Department of Education
shall appear on the inside or outside of a school bus.

(9) Optional identification and lettering may be added to the vehicle as outlined below:
0] Bus identification number on top of the bus. Numbers shall be black and a minimum of 12 inches high;

(i) The location of the battery(ies) identified by the word “BATTERY” or “BATTERIES” in black letters on
the battery compartment door in 2 inch capital series letters;

(i) Manufacture or dealer identification or logos. Placement must be approved by the Pupil Transportation
Section of the Oregon Department of Education;

(iv) Identification of fuel type on or adjacent to the fuel filler opening in 2 inch black capital series letters;

v) Symbols, letters, or numbers not to exceed 64 square inches of total display near the entrance door,
displaying information for identification by the students of the bus or route served;

(vi) Buses designed and used for transporting children with special needs may display universal
handicapped symbols located near service entrance door and at the rear of the vehicle below the window line.
Such emblems shall be white on blue, shall not exceed 12 inches square in size, and may be reflectorized.

36)(37) Inside Height:

(@ Clear inside body height for type A-1 buses shall be a minimum of 62 inches measured at any point on
the longitudinal center line from the front vertical bow to the rear vertical bow.

(b) Clear inside body height for all other buses shall be a minimum of 72 inches measured at any point on
the longitudinal center line from front vertical bow to rear vertical bow.

(©) Height requirements do not apply to air conditioning units installed in the passenger compartment when
installed to manufacture’s specifications.

3H(38) Instruments, Gauges, and Indicators:
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(®) Bus shall be equipped with the following instruments and gauges. (Telltale warning lights in lieu of
gauges are not acceptable except as noted):

(A) Speedometer;
(B) Odometer, which will give accrued mileage including tenths of miles;

© Voltmeter: A graduated charge and discharge ampmeter compatible with generating capacities is
permitted in lieu of or in addition to a voltmeter;

(D) Oil-pressure gauge;

(B) Water temperature gauge;

F Fuel gauge;

(G) High beam headlight indicator light;

H) Air pressure or vacuum gauge according to brake system used: Light indicator or gauge required on
vehicle equipped with hydraulic-over hydraulic brake system;

0} Turn signal indicator light;

(@) Tachometer on type B, C, or D buses. Tachometer is optional on Type A buses;
(K) Glow plug indicator light, where appropriate;

L Fog light indicator, if fog lights are installed,;

(M) Bus safety light pilot lamps / monitors: Each bus shall be equipped with 2 illuminated pilot lamps, one
amber and one red. The placement of these lamps shall be in accordance with other telltale light placement
requirements in 49 CFR 571.101 Controls and Displays. Pilot lamps shall provide an unmistakable indication
that the flasher system is operating and an unmistakable indication if any lamp is not operating or the system is
not otherwise functioning normally.

(b) All instruments shall be easily accessible for maintenance and repair;

(©) Above instruments and gauges shall be mounted on instrument panel in such a manner that each is
clearly visible to and lies within a 140 degree field of vision for a 95th percentile female anthropomorphic
dummy while in normal seated position;

(d) Instrument panel shall have lamps of sufficient candlepower to illuminate all instruments and gauges
and shift selector indicator for automatic transmission.

(e) All control and indicator lights shall be dimmable except telltale lights. Control and indicator lights may
be controlled by one or two dimmer switches.

38)(39) Insulation:

(@ Ceiling and walls shall be insulated with proper material to deaden sound and to reduce vibration to a
minimum.

(b) Thermal insulation that is fire-resistant, non-water absorbing, UL approved, with a minimum R-value of
5.5 shall be installed in the ceiling and walls;

(c) If floor insulation is desired it shall be installed in accordance with the floor section of this rule.

£39)(40) Interior:
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(®) Interior of bus shall be free of all projections, including but not limited to luggage/book racks or
attendant hand holds, that can cause injury in the event of a collision or rollover.

(b) The ceilings and walls shall have an inner lining.

(c) If ceiling is constructed with lap joints, forward panel shall be lapped by rear panel and exposed edges
shall be beaded, hemmed, flanged or otherwise treated to minimize sharp edges;

(d) Buses shall assure noise level taken at the ear of the occupant nearest to the primary vehicle noise
source shall not exceed 85 DBA when tested according to the Noise Test Procedure.

{40)(41) Lamps and Signals:

€) All lamps, signals, and reflectors shall comply with the design and performance requirements of
FMVSS No. 108, Lamps, reflective devices, and associated equipment; Oregon Revised Statutes, Chapter
816, Vehicle Equipment: Lights; and Oregon Administrative rules, Chapter 735, Division 108, Lighting
Equipment applicable to that type of lamp, signal or reflector.

(b) The following lights shall be installed with any additional requirements listed:

(A) Back-up lamps: The bus shall be equipped with 2 white rear back-up lamps that have a minimum
illuminated area of 12 square inches. If back up lamps are placed in the same horizontal line as the tail-stop
lamps and turn signal lamps, they shall be to the inside.

(B) Back-up warning alarm: An automatic audible alarm shall be installed on the rear of the bus that
complies with SAE 994 Back-Up Alarm Standard specifying a minimum of 97+4db(A).

© Bus Safety Lights:

0] Shall have red and amber flashing lights installed in accordance with SAE Standard J887. Each amber
light shall be located near each red signal lamp, at the same level, but closer to the vertical centerline of the
bus.

(ii) The area around each lens of the bus safety lights shall be painted black, extending outward a
minimum of 3 inches where practicable.

(iii) The front bus safety lights shall be visible either directly or indirectly from inside the bus.

(iv) A separate fuse or circuit breaker, adequate to prevent damage to the system in the event of a short
circuit, shall be provided between the power source and flasher system.

) The system shall be wired so that the system is activated by a manually operated spring-loaded switch
that is clearly labeled and distinguishable from other switches.

(vi) A circuit master switch, if installed, shall be part of the activation switch outlined in subparagraph (v) of
this paragraph.

(vii)  Buses equipped with power-controlled entrance doors may have an additional spring loaded switch that
will activate the red school bus safety lights prior to opening the entrance door or keep the red bus safety lights
on after closing the entrance door.

(viii)  The flashing mechanism shall be capable of carrying the full current load of the signal system.

(ix) Each lamp shall have a minimum illumination area of 38 square inches, flash a minimum of 60 times
per minute, and be clearly visible in direct sunlight from a distance of 500ft along the axis of the vehicle.

x) The Bus Safety Light System shall operate as follows:
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0] The bus safety light activation switch shall activate the amber safety lights when the entrance door is
closed or red safety lights when the entrance door is open;

(1)) When amber safety lights are activated, they shall automatically deactivate and the red safety lights
shall automatically activate when the entrance door is opened,;

(D)) Once active, the red safety lights shall automatically deactivate when the entrance door is closed;

(IV)  No bus safety lights shall activate when the entrance door is opened without first pressing the bus
safety light activation switch;

V) The amber bus safety lights and red bus safety lights shall not flash at the same time.

(VI)  There shall be a canceling switch that will deactivate the bus safety lights and activation sequence if
they are accidentally activated or if the driver discovers there is no need to make a stop after activating the
switch.

(D) Clearance lamps;

(B) Headlamps;

(3] Identification Lamps;

(G) Fog lamps may be installed:

0] Fog lamps shall be mounted symmetrically around the front centerline of the bus, below the headlights
not less than 12 inches, no more than 30 inches above the ground;

(ii) Fog lamps shall be wired to a separate switch and pilot light and shall only come on when the low beam
head lights are on.

H) Interior dome lamps: Interior lamps shall be provided which will adequately illuminate interior aisles.
There shall be at least one interior lamp for every two rows of passenger seats. One or two rear dome lamp(s)
shall be wired through a separate switch unless there are less than five rows of seats.

0} Reflectors;
Q)] Side Marker Lamps;

(K) Step well Lamp: A step well lamp shall be provided which will adequately illuminate the entire step well.
The lamp circuit shall be wired through the headlamp or clearance lamp system and shall be activated only
when the door is opened.

L Strobe Lamp: A white flashing strobe lamp may be installed on the longitudinal center of the roof on the
rear third of the bus, but no closer than one foot from the rear of the bus.

0] The lamp shall have a single clear lens emitting light 360 degrees around its vertical axis and may not
extend above the roof more than 6-1/2 inches, or exceed maximum legal vehicle height.

(i) The lamp shall have a separate switch and be wired through the vehicle hazard lamp system. A pilot
lamp to indicate when the light is in operation is required.

(M)  Tail lamps & Stop lamps: Buses shall be equipped with four combination red tail-stop lamps.

0] Two combination lamps with a minimum 38 square inches of illuminated area shall be mounted
immediately inside of, and in line with, the rear turn signal lamps.
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(i) Two combination lamps with a minimum 12 square inches of illuminated area shall be placed on the
rear of the bus between the beltline and the floor line. The horizontal centerline of the lights shall be a
maximum of 12 inches above the floor line.

(i) Stop lamps shall be activated by the service brakes and shall emit a steady light when illuminated.
(N) Turn Signals:

0] Front signals shall either:

0} have a minimum illuminated area of 38 square inches; or

(1)) be manufacturer’s standard front turn signals for Type A.

(i) Rear signals shall have a minimum illuminated area of 38 square inches and be placed as wide apart
as practical with the horizontal centerline a maximum of 12 inches below the rear window.

(iii) Side signals: A turn signal lamp with a minimum of 4 candlepower shall be mounted on each side of the
bus at approximately seat level height, located to the rear of the entrance door on the right side, and to the rear
of the stop arm on the left side. Side turn signals should be in approximately the same location on each side of
the bus. Additional side turn signals may be installed if the horizontal centerline is the same for all side turn
signals, and additional signals are in the same approximate location on each side of the bus.

(iv) All turn signal lamps shall be amber in color.

v) All turn signal lamps shall be independent units and connected to turn signal switch and four-way
hazard warning switch that will cause all turn signals to flash simultaneously.

“4H(42) Metal Treatment:

(a) All metal used in construction of bus body shall be zinc- or aluminum-coated or treated by equivalent
process before bus is constructed. Included are such items as structural members, inside and outside panels
and floor sills; excluded are such items as door handles, grab handles, interior decorative parts and other
interior plated parts;

(b) All metal parts that will be painted shall be (in addition to above requirements) chemically cleaned,
etched, zinc-phosphate coated and zinc-chromate or epoxy primed or conditioned by equivalent process;

(©) In providing for these requirements, particular attention shall be given lapped surfaces, welded
connections of structural members, cut edges, punched or drilled hole areas in sheet metal, closed or box
sections, un-vented or un-drained areas and surfaces subjected to abrasion during vehicle operation;

(d) As evidence that above requirements have been met, samples of materials and sections used in
construction of bus shall be subjected to a cyclic corrosion testing as outlined in SAE J1563.

“42(43) Mirrors:
(a) Exterior Mirror Systems:

(A) Bus shall be equipped with mirror systems complying with 49 CFR Part 571, FMVSS 111 as adopted
by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration for December 3, 1993 implementation, plus all applicable
standards specified in this rule;

(B) Manufacturer shall certify compliance with mirror and direct/indirect visibility standards listed in the
aforementioned FMVSS 111.

(b) Interior Mirror:
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(A) Interior mirror shall be either laminated or tempered. Mirror shall be a minimum of 6" x 30". Mirror shall
have rounded corners and protected edges;

(B) Type A buses shall be equipped with a mirror that is 6” x 16” or providing at least 96 square inches of
flat mirror surface;

© Bus seller shall certify compliance with mirror and direct/indirect visibility standards listed in the
aforementioned FMVSS 111 and provide a copy to used bus purchasers when certification is not available
from manufacturer for all buses manufactured prior to January 1, 1994.

“43)(44) Mounting:

€) Chassis frame shall support rear body cross member. Bus body shall be attached to chassis frame at
each main floor sill, except where chassis components interfere, in such a manner as to prevent shifting or
separation of body from chassis under severe operating conditions;

(b) Body front shall be attached and sealed to chassis in such manner as to prevent entry of water, dust or
fumes through joint between chassis cowl and body;

(©) When floor is provided by bus body manufacturer, adequate insulating padding shall be placed at all
contact points between body and chassis frame. Insulating material shall be approximately 1/4-inch thick and
shall be so attached as to prevent movement under severe operating conditions.

{44)(45) Mud Flaps:

(® Mud flaps or splash aprons are required for rear wheels on all school buses;

(b) Flaps shall be of heavy-duty rubberized material or equivalent and shall extend at least the full width of
tires from a point above the center of the tires to a point not more than ten inches above the surface of the
highway when such vehicle is empty.

{45)(46) Oil Filter: Qil filter of replaceable element or cartridge type shall be provided and shall be
connected by flexible oil lines if it is not built-in or engine mounted design. Oil filter shall have a capacity in
accordance with the engine manufacturer’'s recommendation.

“46)(47) Openings: All openings in floorboard or firewall between chassis and passenger-carrying
compartment, such as for gearshift lever and parking brake lever, shall be sealed. Access plates to cover
openings shall have adequate gaskets and be fastened securely.

“4hH(48) Overall Length: Maximum length for school buses shall be limited to 45 feet.
48)(49) Overall Width: Overall width of bus shall not exceed 8.5 feet. The mirrors may exceed the

maximum allowable width by a distance of not greater than five inches on each side of the vehicle.

49)(50) Overhang: Body shall be so mounted as to comply with requirements described in chassis
weight distribution standard. Body length extending beyond the rear axle shall not exceed three-fourths the
length of the vehicle's wheel base per Oregon Vehicle Code.

50)(51) Passenger Load:

€) Actual gross vehicle weight (GVW) is the sum of the chassis wet weight, plus the body weight, plus the
driver's weight, plus total seated pupil weight:

(A) For purposes of calculation, the driver's weight is 250 pounds;

(B) For purposes of calculation, the pupil weight is 120 pounds per pupil.
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(b) Actual gross vehicle weight (GVW) shall not exceed the chassis manufacturer's gross vehicle weight
rating (GVWR) or gross axle weight rating (GAWR) for the chassis;

(c) Manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating and other chassis information shall be furnished by the
manufacturer, the manufacturer's representative or seller to the Oregon Department of Education on forms
furnished by the department.

6BH(52) Power and Gradeability: Gross vehicle weight (GVW) shall not exceed 165 pounds per net
published horsepower of the engine at the manufacturer's recommended maximum number of revolutions per
minute.

B52)(53) Power Lift: A power lift may be installed

(@)  Vehicle lifts and installations shall comply with the public use lift requirements set forth in 49
CFR 571.403, Platform Lift Systems for Motor Vehicles, and 49 CFR 571.404, Platform Lift
Installations in Motor Vehicles. This rule change applies to buses manufactured after December 27,
2004.

(b) Lifting mechanism shall be located on the right side of the bus and be capable of lifting a
minimum load of 800 pounds;

(c) When the platform is in the fully upright position, it shall be locked in position mechanically by
means other than a support, or lug in the door;

(d) Controls shall be provided that enable the operator to activate the lift mechanism from either
inside or outside of the bus. There shall be a means of preventing the lift platform from falling while in
operation due to a power failure. If equipped with a control switch flex cord, the cord shall be installed
to minimize entanglement with lift mechanism;

(e) Power lifts shall be so equipped that they may be manually raised and lowered in the event of
power failure of the power lift mechanism;

)] Lift travel shall allow the lift platform to rest securely on the ground;

(@)  All edges of the platform shall be designed to restrain wheelchair and operator's feet from
being entangled during the raising and lowering process;

(h)  Lift platform shall have a minimum usable area of 30 inches by 48 inches;

0] Platform shall be fitted on both sides with full width barriers which extend above the floor line of
the lift platform;

0] A restraining device shall be affixed to the outer edge (curb end) of the platform that will
prohibit the wheelchair from rolling off the platform when the lift is in any position other than fully
extended to ground or desired platform level. Minimum height of device/barrier shall be four inches;

(k) A self-adjusting, skid resistant plate shall be installed on the outer edge of the platform to
minimize the incline from the lift platform to the ground level. This plate, if so designed, may also
suffice as the restraining device described in subsection (h) of this section. The lift platform must be
skid resistant;

0] A circuit breaker or fuse shall be installed between power source and lift motor if electrical
power is used;

55



(m) The lift mechanism shall be equipped with adjustable limit switches or bypass valves to
prevent excessive pressure from building in the hydraulic system when the platform reaches the full
up position or full down position;

(n)  Sharp corners or projections of the lift which are likely to cause injury to passengers in the
event of a collision or rollover shall be padded with impact absorbing material;

(o)  There shall be no exposed areas on lift mechanism or adjacent to lift that could cause injury to
children while lift is in motion;

(p) Power unit for lift shall be located so as not to restrict or impair center aisle space or foot and
leg room between seats;

) If body floor section serves as a portion of the lift platform, the adjacent under-floor areas on
three sides shall be closed off with shields when platform is in the lowered position;

(] Platform shall be confined within the perimeter of the school bus body when not extended, in
no way attached to the exterior sides of the bus.

| (53)(54) Racks: The installation of any kind of exterior luggage rack outside the bus is prohibited. This
does not prohibit enclosed luggage compartments.

{54)(55) Radios and Public Address Systems:

(a) Buses shall be equipped with a public address system having interior and exterior speakers and a
switch to separate inside and outside speaker systems.

(b) AM/FM/audio radio may be installed.

(c) Interior speakers mounted in the ceiling panels or side panels shall be either flush mounted or may
protrude not more than 1-1/2 inches if the speaker housing is free of any corners or projections which can
cause injury by striking with the head or in the event of a collision or rollover. Speakers protruding more than 1-
1/2 inches may be mounted in the vertical end panels above the windshield or back windows as long as
speakers are free of corners or projections that could cause injury;

(d) Speakers shall not be placed above any aisle or within four feet of the driver’s seat back in its rearmost
upright position;

{55)(56) Ramps: a ramp may be installed on Type A buses:

(@) Ramp shall utilize a special service entrance located on the right side of the bus that is not less
than 30 inches in width;

(b) Ramp shall be of sufficient strength and rigidity to support wheelchair, occupant and attendant.
It shall be equipped with protective flange on each longitudinal side to keep wheelchair on ramp;

(c) Floor of ramp shall be covered with nonskid material;

(d) Ramp shall be of weight, and equipped with handle(s), to permit one person to put ramp in
place and return it to storage place;

(e) Provisions shall be made to secure ramp to side of bus for use without danger of detachment,
and ramp shall be connected to bus at floor level in such manner as to permit easy access of wheels
on wheelchair to floor of bus;
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) Ramp shall be at least 80 inches in length, and width of the ramp shall be adequate to
accommodate wheelchairs up to 30 inches wide. Ramp shall be of one piece, or two 40-inch sections
hinged to allow for storage;

(9) Dustproof and waterproof enclosed container shall be provided.
(h) Ramp shall not be stored in the passenger compartment.

56)(57) Retarder System: Retarder system, if installed, shall maintain the speed of the fully loaded
school bus at 19.0 MPH on a seven percent grade for 3.6 miles without incurring damage to the retarder or
vehicle.

B5H(58) Retroreflective Material and Placement:

(@ Red: when used or required, red retroreflective material shall meet or exceed ASDM D4956 standards
for type V super high-intensity sheeting and have a coefficient of retro reflection equal to or greater than:

(A) 120 for an observation angle of 0.2 degrees and a light entrance angle of -4 degrees; and
(B) 72 for an observation angle of 0.2 degrees and a light entrance angle of +30 degrees; and
© 28 for an observation angle of 0.5 degrees and a light entrance angle of -4 degrees; and
(D) 13 for an observation angle of 0.5 degrees and a light entrance angle of +30 degrees;

(b) White: when used or required, white retroreflective material shall meet or exceed ASDM D4956
standards for type V super high-intensity sheeting and have a coefficient of retro reflection equal to or greater
than:

(A) 700 for an observation angle of 0.2 degrees and a light entrance angle of -4 degrees; and
(B) 400 for an observation angle of 0.2 degrees and a light entrance angle of +30 degrees; and
© 160 for an observation angle of 0.5 degrees and a light entrance angle of -4 degrees; and
(D) 75 for an observation angle of 0.5 degrees and a light entrance angle of +30 degrees;

(B) Exception: white retroreflective material on the “unlawful to pass” sign shall meet or exceed ASDM
D4956 standards for type | engineering grade sheeting and have a coefficient of retro reflection equal to or
greater than:

0] 70 for an observation angle of 0.2 degrees and a light entrance angle of -4 degrees; and
(ii) 30 for an observation angle of 0.2 degrees and a light entrance angle of +30 degrees; and
(iii) 30 for an observation angle of 0.5 degrees and a light entrance angle of -4 degrees; and
(iv) 15 for an observation angle of 0.5 degrees and a light entrance angle of +30 degrees;

(c) Yellow: when used or required, yellow retroreflective material shall meet or exceed ASDM D4956
standards for type V super high-intensity sheeting and have a coefficient of retro reflection equal to or greater
than:

(A) 470 for an observation angle of 0.2 degrees and a light entrance angle of -4 degrees; and
(B) 270 for an observation angle of 0.2 degrees and a light entrance angle of +30 degrees; and

© 110 for an observation angle of 0.5 degrees and a light entrance angle of -4 degrees; and
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(D) 51 for an observation angle of 0.5 degrees and a light entrance angle of +30 degrees;

(d) All retroreflective material shall maintain at least 50 percent of the coefficient of retro reflection for a
minimum of six years.

(e) Bumpers may be marked diagonally 45 degrees down to centerline of pavement with two-inch wide
strips of black retroreflective material.

® Rub Rails may have retroreflective black material.

(9) The rear of the bus body shall be marked with strips of retroreflective yellow material that is a minimum
of 1 inch and a maximum of 2 inches to outline the perimeter of the back of the bus. The horizontal strips shall
be placed above the rear windows, and immediately above the bumper. Both horizontal strips shall extend to
each rear corner of the bus. The vertical strips shall connect the two horizontal strips.

(h) Each side of the bus shall be marked with yellow retroreflective material that extents for the entire
length of the bus body and is either:

(A) A background for the name of the school district identification required in section (35)(c) of this rule that
is not less than 6 inches and not more than 12 inches in width; or

(B) A two inch wide strip that is between the beltline and the floor line;

0] Further retroreflective placement requirements can be found in: Emergency Exits (section 24 of this
rule), Identification (section 35 of this rule), and Stop Arm (section 69 of this rule)

58)(59) Rub Rails:

€) There shall be one rub rail on each side of bus at, or no more than 8 inches above, the seat cushion
level which shall extend from rear side of entrance door completely around bus body (except for emergency
door and access panel(s)) to point of curvature near outside cowl on left side;

(b) There shall be one rub rail located 10 inches or less above the floor line which shall cover same
longitudinal area as upper rub rail, except at wheel housing, and shall extend only to longitudinal tangent of
right and left rear corners;

(c) All rub rails shall be attached at each body post and all other upright structural members;

(d) All rub rails shall be four inches or more in width, shall be of 16-gauge steel, suitable material of
equivalent strength, and shall be constructed in corrugated or ribbed fashion;

(e) All rub rails shall be applied to the outside body or outside body posts. Pressed-in or snap-on rub rails
do not satisfy this requirement. For buses using rear luggage or engine compartment, rub rails need not extend
around rear corners.

() The bottom edge of the body side skirts shall be stiffened by application of a rub rail, or the edge may
be stiffened by providing a flange or other stiffeners.

{59)(60) Sanders and other traction assisting devices:

(® Sanders may be installed. When installed, sanders shall:

(A) Be of hopper cartridge-valve type;

(B) Have metal hopper with all interior surfaces treated to prevent condensation of moisture;

© Be of at least 100 pound (grit) capacity;
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(D) Have cover on filler opening of hopper, which screws into place, sealing unit airtight;
(E) Have discharge tubes extending to front of each rear wheel under fender;

(3] Have no-clogging discharge tubes with slush-proof, nonfreezing rubber nozzles;

(G) Be operated by electric switch with telltale light mounted on instrument panel;

H) Be exclusively driver-controlled.

(b) Automatic traction chains may be installed.

{60)(61) Seat Belts:

(a) Driver's seat belt: A Type 2 seat belt shall be provided for the driver, a driver's seat with an integrated
Type 2 seat belt may be substituted. Each belt section shall be booted to keep belt and the button or buckle
type latch off floor when not in use. Shoulder belt assemblies on Type B, C, and D buses shall provide for a
height adjustment of at least four inches at its upper point of attachment to the bus. Belt shall be anchored or
guided in a manner at the seat frame to prevent the driver from sliding sideways when belt is in use. Locking
retractors may be either an ELR (Emergency Locking Retractor) or an ALR (Automatic Locking Retractor). All
ALR equipped buses received after July 1, 1989, must include an approved anti-cinching device;

(b) Passenger seat belts:

(A) On buses manufactured prior to October 21, 2011 with a GVWR of more than 10,000 pounds, Type 1
seat belts or Type 2 seat belts may be installed. The attachments, belts and installation shall meet the
requirements of:

0] 49 CFR 571.208 Occupant Crash Protection, 49 CFR 571.209 Seat Belt Assemblies, and 49 CFR
571.210 Seat Belt Assembly Anchorages, as they apply to school buses with a GVWR of 10,000 pounds or
less; or

(ii) The voluntary Type 1 or Type 2 installation requirements outlined in 49 CFR 571.222 School Bus
Passenger Seating and Crash Protection that take effect on October 21, 2011.

(B) On buses manufactured on or after October 21, 2011 with a GVWR of more than 10,000 pounds, Type
2 seat belts may be installed. Standards for voluntary instillation of seat belts are outlined in 49 CFR 571.222
School Bus Passengers Seating and Crash Protection.

©) On buses with a GVWR of 10,000 pounds or less, mandatory seat belt standards are outlined in 49
CFR 571.222 School Bus Passenger Seating and Crash Protection.

B1H(62) Seats and Crash Barriers:

@ Driver's seat shall be so located in relationship to the steering wheel that the driver may assume a
natural position while driving, have a clear view of the road, and sufficient leg room to operate safely and
effectively the brake and clutch pedals and accelerator without cramping or interference. Minimum distance
between steering wheel and back rest of driver's seat shall be 11 inches. Driver's seat shall have a fore-and-aft
adjustment of not less than four inches and shall on Type B, C, and D buses be capable of being raised and
lowered at least three inches and shall be strongly attached to comply with acceptable installation procedures:

(A) For type B, C, and D buses, driver's seat shall be a high back (suspension) seat with a minimum seat
back adjustment of 15 degrees, not requiring the use of tools, and with a head restraint to accommodate a 95th
percentile female anthropomorphic dummy as defined in FMVSS 208. The driver's seat shall be secured with
nuts, bolts, and washers or flanged-headed nuts. Type A buses may use manufacture’s standard driver’s seat.
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(B) Driver's seat positioning and range of adjustment shall be designed to accommodate comfortable
actuation of the foot control pedal by 95 percent of the adult female population.

(b) Passenger Seats: In addition to the requirements of 49 CFR 571.222 School Bus Passenger Seating
and Crash Protection, all passenger seats have the following requirements:

(A) All seats shall have minimum depth of 15 inches;
(B) In determining seating capacity of bus, the minimum allowable rump width shall be 13 inches;

© Seat, seat back cushion and crash barrier shall be covered with a material having a minimum 42-ounce
finished weight, 54-inch width and finished vinyl coating of 1.06 broken twill, or other material with equal tensile
strength, tear strength, seam strength, adhesion strength, resistance to abrasion, resistance to cold, and flex
separation. Material shall meet or exceed the criteria contained in the School Bus Seat Upholstery Fire Block
Test. (see Appendix);

(D) All seats shall be forward facing and shall be securely fastened to that part(s) of bus that support them
with a nut-and-bolt type of fastener. Each seat leg shall be secured to the floor by a minimum of two nut-and-
bolt type fasteners of at least grade 5 SAE strength. Sheet metal screw-type fasteners without a nut are not
acceptable, except in areas where it is not possible to install a nut-and-bolt type fastener. Seats may be track
mounted;

(B) If flexible track mounted seating is installed, the manufacturer shall supply minimum and maximum seat
spacing dimensions on a label permanently affixed to the bus to notify end user of seat installation
requirements.

F No bus shall be equipped with jump seats or portable seats. Flip-up seats at side emergency exit doors
are allowed,;

(G) Seat spacing shall not be less than 24 inches between the front of the back of each seat and the rear of
the back of the seat immediately ahead, measured at al-peints-of-the-seat-width—This-shall-be-measured-at
eushion-height-on-a-plane-paralleHo-the-center-line-of-the-bus:the center of the seat. The seat upholstery may
be placed against the seat cushion padding, but without compressing the padding, before the measurement is
taken.

{62)(63) Shock Absorbers: Bus shall be equipped with front and rear double-acting shock absorbers
compatible with manufacturer's rated axle capacity at each wheel location.

{63)(64) Side skirts shall be 2 inches above the horizontal line between the center of the front spindle to
the center of the rear axle, or lower. Measurement shall apply to an unloaded school bus located on a flat, level
surface.

{64)(65) Special Service Entrance:

(a) Bus bodies may have a special service entrance constructed in the body to accommodate a
power lift;

(b)  The special service entrance shall be at any convenient point on the right of the bus and far
enough to the rear to prevent the door(s) from obstructing the right front regular service door when
open;

(c) The opening may extend below the floor through the bottom of the body skirt. If such an
opening is used, reinforcements shall be installed at the front and rear of the floor opening to support
the floor and give the same strength as other floor openings;
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(d) Entrance shall be of sufficient width and depth to accommodate various mechanical lifts and
related accessories as well as the lifting platform. The minimum clear opening width shall be
adequate to accommodate the minimum platform defined in section (10) of this rule;

(e) Door posts and headers from entrance shall be reinforced sufficiently to provide support and
strength equivalent to the areas of the side of the bus not used for service doors;

)] A drip molding shall be installed above the opening to effectively divert water from entrance;

() A pad shall be placed at the top edge of the special service entrance that is at least three
inches wide and one inch think and shall extend the full width of the door opening.

(h) A single door or double door may be used for special service entrance;

0] A single door shall be hinged to the forward side of the entrance. If double doors are used, the
system shall be designed to prevent the door(s) from being blown open by the aerodynamic forces
created by the forward motion of the bus, and/or shall in corporate a safety mechanism to provides
secondary protection should the primary latching mechanism(s) fail;

) All doors shall open outwardly;
(k) All doors shall be weather sealed;
0] All doors shall have positive non-hitchable fastening devices to hold doors in the open position;

(m) All doors shall be weather sealed and on buses with double doors, they shall be so
constructed that a flange on the forward door overlaps the edge of the rear door when closed;

(n)  When manually operated dual doors are provided the rear door leaf shall have at least a one-
point fastening device to the header. The forward mounted door shall have at least three-point
fastening devices. One shall be to the header, one to the floor line of the body, and the other shall be
into the rear door. These locking devices shall afford maximum safety when the doors are in the
closed position. the door and hinge mechanism shall be of a strength that will provide for the same
type of use as that of a standard entrance door;

(o) If optional power doors are installed the design shall permit manual release of the doors for
opening and closing by the attendant from the platform inside the bus;

(p) Door materials, panels, and structural strength shall be equivalent to the conventional service
and emergency doors. Color, rub rail extensions, lettering and other exterior features shall match
adjacent sections of the body;

(q) Each door shall have windows set in a waterproof manner that are visually similar in size and
location to adjacent non-door windows. Glazing shall be of the same type and tinting (if applicable) as
standard fixed glass in other body locations;

n Door(s) shall be equipped with a device that will activate a green flashing signal located in the
driver's compartment when door(s) is not securely closed and ignition is in "on" position;

(s) A switch shall be installed so that the lifting mechanism will not operate when the lift platform
door(s) is closed;
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) An interior light shall be placed to illuminate the area directly inside the special service door
and be activated when the door is open. Circuit may be wired through step well light circuit.

(u) Buses equipped with special service entrance doors not currently in use for service to students
with disabilities or power lift equipped, must assure that doors are in compliance with all requirements
for right side emergency door, or all of the following:

(A) Be sealed and inoperable;
(B) Have no handles; and

(C) Have the words NOT AN EXIT placed in letters at least two inches high above the door on
both the interior and exterior of the bus.

{65)(66) Springs:

€) Capacity of springs or suspension assemblies shall be commensurate with chassis manufacturer's
gross vehicle weight rating;

(b) If rear springs are used they shall be of progressive type. Front leaf springs shall have a stationary eye
at one end and shall be protected by a wrapped leaf in addition to the main leaf.

{66)(67) Steering Gear:

@ Steering gear shall be approved by manufacturer and designed to assure safe and accurate
performance when vehicle is operated with maximum load and at maximum speed;

(b) Steering mechanism that allows for external adjustment to correct for lost motion shall provide an
accessible adjustment location;

(c) No changes shall be made in steering apparatus which are not approved by manufacturer;

(d) There shall be clearance of at least two inches between steering wheel and cowl, instrument panel,
windshield, or any other surface;

(e) Power steering of the integral type is required;

) The steering system shall be designed to provide for means for lubrication of all wear-points, if wear
points are not permanently lubricated.

{6H(68) Steps:

(a) Service door entrance may be equipped with two-step or three-step step well. Risers in each case shall
be approximately equal and shall not exceed 10 inches in height. When plywood floor is used on steel,
differential may be increased by thickness of plywood used:

(A) First step at service door for type A-1, A-2, B, and C buses shall be not less than 10 inches and not
more than 14 inches from ground, based on standard chassis specifications;

(B) Type D buses shall be equipped with a three-step step well. First step at service door shall not be less
than 12 inches and not more than 16 inches from the ground based on standard chassis specifications.

(b) Steps shall be enclosed to prevent accumulation of ice and snow;

(c) Steps shall not protrude beyond side body line;
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(d) Steps (if any) on Type A-1 and A-2 buses not manufactured originally as school buses may be chassis
manufacturer's standard;

(e) At least one grab handle not less than 20 inches in length shall be provided to assist passengers during
entry or egress in unobstructed locations inside doorway. Grab handle shall be designed, installed and
maintained to minimize the opportunity for entanglement of passenger clothing and belongings.

® Step Treads:

(A) All steps, including floor line platform area, shall be covered with 3/16-inch rubber floor covering or
other materials equal in wear resistance and abrasion resistance to top grade rubber;

(B) The step covering shall be permanently bonded to a durable backing material that is resistant;

(C)  3/16-inch ribbed step tread shall have a 1-1/2-inch white or yellow nosing as integral piece without any
joint;

(D) Rubber portion of step treads shall have the following characteristics:
0] Special compounding for good abrasion resistance and high coefficient of friction;

(ii) Flexibility so that it can be bent around a 1/2-inch mandrel both at 130 degrees F and 20 degrees F
without breaking, cracking or crazing;

(i) Show a durometer hardness 85 to 95.

{68)(69) Steps, Windshield Access: There shall be at least one folding step or recessed foothold and
suitably located handles on each side of the front of the body for easy accessibility for cleaning the windshield
and lamps except when windshield and lamps are easily accessible from the ground. Standard does not apply
to chassis not originally manufactured as school buses.

{69)(70) Stop Signal Arms: Buses shall be equipped with stop signal arms mounted in accordance with
the following requirements:

€) Shall be installed on the left side of the bus; the vertical center of the stop blade shall be at least seven
inches but not more than 14 inches below the window line, on the first body post to the rear of the driver or as
close as practicable;

(b) A wind guard shall be provided. All sheet metal parts shall be 16 gauge metal or heavier;

(c) All parts of the assembly that are not color specific in 49 CFR 571.131 School Pedestrian Safety
Devices shall be painted black;

(d) Shall be equipped with two, four-inch, double faced alternating flashing red lamps to be mounted
centered on the vertical centerline of the stop arm near the perimeter of the sign with a minimum of 12 inches
spacing between lamp centers. Lamps shall be LED or strobe

(e) The stop arm and lamps shall be wired to the circuit of the flashing red warning lamps mounted on the
front and rear of the bus and shall operate simultaneously with the red bus safety lamps. Override switch is
prohibited;

U] Shall be retroreflectorized on both sides meeting the Retroreflective Materials standard (57) of this rule.
(9) Shall be either air, vacuum, or electrically operated:
(A) Air operated stop arms:

0] Air may be supplied from an air accessory tank or from the first (wet) tank;
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(i) If source is from the first (wet) tank a pressure protection valve shall be installed to prevent the tank air
supply from falling below 60 pounds;

(i) Stop arm system must have a pressure regulating valve;

(iv) All fittings shall be brass.

(B) Vacuum operated stop arms:

0] Vacuum shall be supplied from a separate accessory tank. Tank shall be protected by a check valve;
(ii) All fittings shall be brass.

0)(71) Sun Visor: Interior adjustable sun visor, not less than 6 by 30 inches in size, shall be installed
above windshield in position convenient for use by driver. If transparent visor is used, it shall be of such
material so as not to prevent distinguishing between the colors of red and green traffic signals. Type A-1 and
A-2 may be equipped with manufacturer's standard visor. Visor shall have protected edges.

H(72) Throttle: The force required to operate the throttle shall not exceed 16 pounds throughout the
full range of accelerator pedal travel.

#2(73) Tires and Rims:

(a) Tires and rims of proper size and tires with load rating commensurate with chassis manufacturer's
gross vehicle weight rating shall be provided. The use of multi-piece rims and/or tube type tires shall not be
permitted,;

(b) All tires on new buses shall be of same size. Load range of tires shall meet or exceed the gross axle
weight rating as required by 49 CFR 571.120 Tire Selection and Rims for Vehicles Other Than Passenger
Cars, and as indicated on the manufactures data plaque;

(c) If bus is equipped with spare tire and rim assembly, it shall be of the same size and load range as those
mounted on the vehicle;

(d) A spare tire, when carried, shall be suitably mounted in an accessible location outside passenger
compartment. Type A-1, and A-2 buses may have spare tire securely mounted in the rear corner of passenger
compartment;

(e) Recapped tires are prohibited on the front of the bus;
U) Regrooved tires are not permitted on any bus;

(9) Minimum tread depth on tires shall be:

(A) Front axle — 4/32 inch;

(B) Rear axle — 2/32 inch.

(h) Tread depth shall be measured as follows: The minimum depth in any two adjacent major grooves at
three locations spaced approximately equally around the outside of the tire but not on wear indicators.

£3)(74) Tool Compartment: A metal container of adequate strength and capacity for storage of tire
chains, tow chains and such tools as may be necessary, may be provided. Container may be located inside or
outside of passenger compartment. If inside, it shall have a cover and positive type latch to prevent opening in
event of a severe impact or bus rollover, and shall be attached to the floor with a nut and bolt fastener, or may
be securely attached to a seat frame under a seat. If tool compartment is outside, it shall be lockable.

4)(75) Tow Hooks:
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Type C and D buses shall have two front and rear tow hooks that have sufficient strength to pull or be pulled by
another vehicle of the same GVWR. Tow hooks shall be installed in order that no permanent distortion to the
body or chassis will result if the bus must be towed.

£5)(76) Transmission:

(@ Transmission shall have an input torque capacity greater than maximum net torque developed by
engine.

(b) When automatic or semi-automatic transmission is used, it shall provide for not less than three forward
and one reverse speed. The shift selector, if applicable, shall provide a detent between each gear position
when shift selector is not steering column mounted. Type C and D buses shall be equipped with a transmission
temperature gauge.

(c) When manual transmission is used, second gear and higher shall be synchronized. A minimum of three
forward speeds and one reverse shall be provided.

(d) Automatic transmissions incorporating a parking pawl shall have a transmission shifter interlock
controlled by the application of the service brake to prohibit accidental engagement of the transmission. All
non-park pawl transmissions shall incorporate a park brake interlock that requires the service brake to be
applied to allow release of the parking brake.

6)(77) Trash container: When used, the trash container shall be secured by a holding device that is
designed to prevent movement and to allow easy removal and replacement. It shall be installed in an
accessible location in the driver's compartment, not obstruct passenger access to the entrance door and
maintained to minimize the opportunity for entanglement of passenger clothing and belongings.

(77)(78) _ Turning Radius:

@ Chassis with a wheel base of 264 inches or less shall have a right and left turning radius of not more
than 42 1/2 feet, curb to curb measurement;

(b) Chassis with a wheelbase of 265 inches or more shall have a right and left turning radius of not more
than 44 1/2 feet, curb to curb measurement.

8)(79) Under carriage luggage compartments: Luggage compartments may be installed on the outside
of the bus mounted below the floor level or in the rear of the bus. Access to compartments must be from the
outside only. Compartment doors must have a positive retention to hold the doors open. Compartment doors
must be lockable.

79)(80) Undercoating:

@ The entire underside of the bus body, including floor sections, cross members and below floor-line side
panels, shall be coated with rust-proofing material for which the material manufacturer has issued to the bus
manufacturer a notarized certification that the materials meet or exceed all performance requirements of SAE
J1959, Corrosion Preventive Compound, Underbody Vehicle Corrosion Protection;

(b) The undercoating material shall be applied to the material manufacturer’s specifications, including
application method and recommended film thickness, and shall show no evidence of voids in the cured film.

(c) The undercoating material shall not cover any exhaust components of the chassis.

{80)(81) Ventilation:

@ Body shall be equipped with suitable, controlled ventilating system of sufficient capacity to maintain
proper quantity of air under operating conditions without opening of windows except in extremely warm
weather;
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(b) Static-type non-closable exhaust ventilation shall be installed in low-pressure area of roof.

8H(82) Video surveillance cameras may be mounted inside or on either the forward or rear bulkhead, or
to the ceiling in compliance with the following requirements:

(@) Surface mounted camera/camera housing/recording devices shall be mounted as far forward (if forward
mounted) or as far rearward (if rear mounted) as possible and directly above the center of the windshield/rear
window, and shall not:

(A) Extend into the passenger compartment more than 9 inches;

(B) Extend(s) down from the ceiling more than five inches;

© Be more than five inches wide;

(D) Interfere with the rear view mirror or sun visor.

(b) Recording devices or their housings shall not be mounted overhead in the passenger compartment;

() Video cameras/housings (not recorders) may be mounted overhead in the passenger compartment,
provided they are over the seating area, but not over any part of the aisle, all edges must be rounded and/or
protected with enclosure of shatterproof construction;

(d) Flush mounted cameras/housings may be mounted in any position in the front or rear bulkhead or
ceiling provided that any modification to the body, in order to achieve flush mounting does not compromise the
structural integrity of the body panels;

(e) All video related devices mounted to the interior bus body shall be securely fastened in a manner to
prevent separation from the bus body in the event of collision or mishap;

U) Recording devices/housings must allow ready access for camera and video recording medium removal
without the use of tools;

(9) All electrical connections shall be made with UL approved wiring and terminals, and protected by
grommets any place it passes through metal panels. Any electrical load added to the vehicles electrical system
shall be protected with appropriate over current device (fuse).

82)(83) Weight Distribution:

(a) Weight distribution of fully loaded bus on level surface shall be such as to not exceed the
manufacturer's front gross axle weight rating and rear gross axle weight rating;

(b) Weight distribution of fully loaded bus on level surface shall be such that no more than 75 percent of
gross vehicle weight is on rear tires and no more than 35 percent is on front tires. Type B and D buses with
engine inside front of body and entrance door ahead of front wheels shall have no more than 75 percent of
gross vehicle weight on rear tires, no more than 50 percent on front tires. If entrance door is behind front
wheels, no more than 75 percent of gross vehicle weight shall be on rear tires, no more than 40 percent on
front tires. With engine in rear, no more than 75 percent of gross vehicle weight shall be on rear tires, no more
than 40 percent on front tires.

{83)(84) Wheelhousing:
@ The wheelhousing opening shall allow for easy tire removal and service;

(b) Wheelhousing shall be attached to floor sheets in such a manner as to prevent any dust, water or
fumes from entering the body. Wheelhousing shall be constructed of 16-gauge steel, or other material of equal
strength;
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(c) The inside height of the wheelhousing above the floor line shall not exceed 12 inches;

(d) The wheelhousing shall provide clearance for installation and use of tire chains on single and dual (if so
equipped) power-driving wheels;

(e) No part of a raised wheelhousing shall extend into the emergency door opening.
{84)(85) Wheelchair Tie Down and Occupant Restraint System (WTORS):
(& A WTORS that meets 49 CFR 571.222 shall be provided for each fixed wheelchair location.

(b) A WTORS that meets 49 CFR 571.222 shall be provided for each flexible wheelchair location
not occupied by a flexible track mounted school bus seat.

(c) The WTORS, including the anchorage track, floor plates, pockets or other anchorages, shall
be provided by the same manufacturer or shall be certified to be compatible by the manufacturers of
all equipment/systems used.

(d)  Adjustable and accessible positive fastening devices shall be provided, attached to floor or
walls or both, that will securely hold wheelchairs or other type of ambulatory mobility devices in the
event the vehicle is overturned and to prevent the wheels from leaving the floor in case of a sudden
movement. All floor-mounted attachment devices shall be affixed with nut and bolt fasteners, except
in areas where it is not practicable.

(e)  Wheelchairs or other devices designed solely for use by handicapped or convalescent
passengers may be positioned in a direction other than forward-facing only at the specific direction of
the student's IEP when forward-facing positions are available;

)] No fastening device shall be attached to any door;

{85)(86) Wind deflectors may be installed according to manufacturer's standards on the rear roof to
deflect snow, dust and dirt from the rear window.

{86)(87) Windshield and Windows:

(@ All glass in windshield, windows and doors shall be of approved safety glass so mounted that its
identification mark is visible and of a quality to prevent distortion in any direction. All glazing materials shall be
on the approved list of the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles;

(b) Windshield shall be of safety plate glass AS-1 grade as specified by American National Standards
Institute Safety Code Z26.1;

(c) Windshield glass may be heat absorbing and may have a horizontal gradient band starting slightly
above the line of the operator's vision and gradually decreasing in light transmission to 20 percent or less at
the top of the windshield in compliance with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 205;

(d) Glass in all side windows, doors and rear windows shall be AS-2 or better grade, as specified in ANSI
Z26.1, or AS-4 coated abrasion resistant rigid plastic meeting requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety
Standard 205. Rigid plastic cannot be used for windshields or windows immediately to the left or right of the
driver;

(e) Side windows shall conform to the following:

(A) Buses shall provide full drop or split sash windows which provide an unobstructed opening of at least
12 inches and not more than 14 inches in height, obtained by lowering the sash, and at least 22 inches in
width. Type A-1 and A-2 buses may have a full drop or split sash windows which provide an unobstructed
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opening of at least 9 inches and not more than 13 inches in height, obtained by lowering the sash, and at least
22 inches in width, provided the bus has 2 swing-out windows. This requirement does not apply to emergency
exit windows installed in compliance with subsection (22) of this rule

(B) One window on each side of the bus may be less than 22 inches in width. This window need not be
split sash.

© Windows may be tinted.
8H(88) Windshield Washers: Bus shall be equipped with windshield washers.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 327.013 & 820.100-820.120
Stats. Implemented: ORS 327.013, 820.100, 820.105, 820.110 & 820.120

OAR 581-053-0250

Retrofit Standards for Oregon School Buses

In addition to meeting the minimum standards in effect at the time of purchase, all school buses in
use by a pupil transportation entity shall meet the following additional requirements:

(D) Body Fluid Kits: All school buses shall have body fluid kits that meet the requirements in OAR 581-053-
0240

2) Emergency Door and Exit Labeling:

(a) All emergency doors shall have the designation “Emergency Door” in letters at least one inch high, of a
color that contrasts with its background. The designation shall be located at the top of, or directly above, the
emergency door on both the inside and outside surfaces of the bus;

(b) All emergency window exits (swing-out windows and rear push-out windows) shall have the designation
“Emergency Exit” in letters at least one inch high, of a color that contrasts with its background. The designation
shall be located at the top of, or directly above, or at the bottom of the emergency window exit on both the
inside and outside surfaces of the bus.

(3) Emissions: _School buses that operate on diesel fuel and do not meet the emission standards
applicable to an engine manufactured on or after January 1, 2007 shall not:

(a) Be retrofitted to meet these standards on or after January 1, 2017; and < Formatted: Indent: Left: 0", First line: 0",
Outline numbered + Level: 2 + Numbering
(b) Shall not be used on or after January 1, 2025. Styler a, b, ¢, ... + Startat: 1 + Alignment: Left

+ Aligned at: 0" + Indent at: 0.25"

{3)(4) Fog Lights: Regardless of the age of the vehicle, if a front fog light system is installed after January 21,
1997, then the system shall meet the following requirements:

€) Fog lamps shall be mounted symmetrically around the front centerline of the bus, below the headlights
not less than 12 inches no more than 30 inches above the ground,;

(b) Fog lamps shall be wired to a separate switch and shall only come on when the low beam head lights
are on.

(©) A steady burning indicator light shall be wired so it comes on when the fog lamps are turned on and
mounted in a location readily visible to the driver

(d) Fog light systems installed on vehicles prior to January 21, 1997 are exempted from this regulation.

| (4)(5) Identification: The name of the school district, private school, or parochial school shall be placed on all
school buses on both the left and right sides of the bus. The name shall appear in the area directly below the
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side windows and the letters and figures in the name shall not be less than four inches nor more than seven
inches in height and of proportionate width.

{5)(6) Stop Arm: All school buses shall have a stop arm that meets the requirements in OAR 581-053-0240
except that retroreflective material on the stop arm is not mandated on buses manufactured prior to October
21, 2011.

{6)(7) _Wheelchair Restraint Systems: All buses manufactured prior to September 3, 1993 that are equipped to
transport students in a wheel chair shall be retrofitted to meet the following requirements:

(@ Each wheelchair location shall have not less than four wheelchair securement anchorages and shall be
situated so that:

(A) The wheel chair is secured in a forward-facing position; and

(B) The wheelchair can be secured by wheelchair securement devices at two locations in the front and two
locations in the rear.

(b) Each wheelchair location shall have:

(A) Not less than one anchorage for the upper end of the upper torso restraint; and

(B) Not less than two floor anchorages for wheelchair occupant pelvic and upper torso restraint.
(c) Wheelchair securement devices and an occupant restraint may share a common anchorage.

(d) All components must conform to 49 CFR 571.222 School Bus Passenger Seating and Crash Protection
published in volume 58 of the Federal Register, September 3, 1993.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 327.013 & 820.100-820.120
Stats. Implemented: ORS 327.013, 820.100, 820.105, 820.110 & 820.120

OAR 581-053-0440

Minimum Standards for Purpose Built Type 20 Vehicles erFype-20-Vlehiclesconverted-from
School-Bus

Type 20 school activity vehicles shall meet all minimum standards for a type A-1 school bus as listed
in OAR 581-053-0240 and retrofit standards applicable to a type A-1 school bus as listed in OAR 581-
053-0250, with the following modifications. Type 20 vehicles:

Q) Shall be certified as a school bus or multifunctional school activity bus, as required by the
FMVSS.

2) May be painted any color.
(3)  Shall not have a crossing arm.
(4)  Shall not display the words “School Bus”.

(5) Shall not display bus safety lights. If the vehicle has been converted from school bus use to
activity vehicle use, the safety lights shall be inoperable.

(6) Shall not display a school bus stop arm. If the vehicle has been converted from school bus use
to activity vehicle use, the school bus stop arm shall be removed.

@) Bees-Do not require a public address system.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 327.013 & 820.100-820.120
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 327.013, 820.100, 820.105, 820.110 & 820.120

OAR 581-053-0540

Minimum Standards for Type 21 Vehicles

Type 21 school activity vehicles shall meet all minimum standards for a school bus as listed in OAR
581-053-0240 and retrofit standards applicable to school buses as listed in OAR 581-053-0250, with
the following modifications. Type 21 vehicles:

(1) Shall be certified as a school bus or multifunctional school activity bus, as required by the
FMVSS.

2) May be painted any color.

) Shall not display the words “School Bus”.
4) Shall not display bus safety lights.

(5) Shall not display a school bus stop arm.

(6) DBees-Do not require a public address system.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 327.013 & 820.100-820.120

Stats. Implemented: ORS 327.013, 820.100, 820.105, 820.110 & 820.120
OAR 581-053-0630

Rules Pertaining to SPAB Drivers

(1) Safety Instructions:

(a) Prior to departure the driver shall instruct passengers on the operation and location of all
emergency exits;

(b) Driver shall instruct students to:

(A) Keep hand and head inside the vehicle at all times;

(B) Keep aisle clear;

(C) Use caution when opening the overhead compartments;
(D) Use seat belts if equipped; and

(E) Keep emergency exits clear.

(2) Driver’s shall:

(a) Notify ODE within 30 days of a change of name, address or employer. A duplicate certificate will
be issued if necessary;

{a)(b) Not exceed 55 mph as required in ORS 811.111; and

{b)(c) Not use a cellular telephone, with or without a hands free device, while driving a SPAB vehicle
unless summoning medical or other emergency help if no other person in the vehicle is capable
of summoning help.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 327.013 & 820.100-820.120
Stats. Implemented: ORS 327.013, 820.100, 820.105, 820.110 & 820.120
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OAR 581-053-0640
Minimum Standards for Special Pupil Activity Buses
Q) SPAB equipment requirements:

(@) Emergency exits shall be labeled with instructions to meet FMVSS 217.
(b) Shall have roof hatches that meet FMVSS 217.

(c) Shall have reflective “conspicuity marking” on the rear that meets or exceeds the coefficient of
retro reflectivity of ASTM D 4956 for Type 1 Engineering Grade standards.

(d) Rear wheel wells shall not be composed of exposed flammable material or rear wheel wells
shall have pressure and temperature sending units mounted inside rear wheel rims that will activate
an alarm in the drivers compartment when either pressure or temperature are outside normal ranges.

{ej(e) Shall have air brakes.

(2) Emergency Equipment:
(a) Emergency road reflectors:

(A) Each SPAB shall be equipped with at least three DOT triangle reflectorized disabled vehicle
warning devices;

(B) Reflectors must be in a container securely mounted with nut-and-bolt fasteners enhanced with
large flat (fender) washers or held in place by a nut-and-bolt mounted metal bracket that also protects
and secures the container lid or in a location provided by the Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM)
which securely holds the container. Both must be located in an accessible location. Reflectors must
not be mounted in any engine compartment;

(C) If not mounted in plain view of the driver, the location must be clearly designated.
(b) Fire extinguishers:

(A) Each SPAB shall be equipped with at least one pressurized, dry, chemical type fire
extinguisher, mounted in a bracket. A pressure gauge shall be mounted on each extinguisher so as to
be readily read without removing the extinguisher from its mounted position. A SPAB must have
either:

0] One or more fire extinguishers of a type approved by the Underwriters Laboratories, Inc., with
a rating of 5 BC or more; or

(ii) Two or more fire extinguishers, each of which has Underwriters Laboratories, Inc., rating of 4
BC or more.

(B)  Extinguishers with plastic heads are not permitted.
(c) A first aid kit.

) Maintenance and inspections:
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(a) SPABs must be maintained in safe operating condition and must meet or exceed the minimum
standards in effect at the time of purchase for the type of vehicle, plus any subsequent rules
applicable to the vehicle.

(b)  Vehicle maintenance records must be kept for each vehicle used to transport students. These
records shall be available to ODE upon request. Records shall be kept for every service, adjustment
or repair of the following items and shall include date and mileage:

(A)  Chassis lubrication;

(B)  Engine oil and filter changes;

(C) Major engine tune-ups and repairs;

(D)  All adjustment, service and repair of brake system;

(E)  All adjustment, service and repair of steering mechanism and other related parts;
(F)  Tires; and

(G)  Dirive train components.

(c) SPAB carriers shall have all vehicles used in transporting pupils inspected annually, and certify
to ODE that all deficiencies have been corrected before the SPAB is used to transport students.
Copies of the Annual Vehicle Inspection Report must be sent to ODE.

(d) ODE personnel may conduct an inspection of a SPAB at any time or upon request of the
motorcoach carrier. ODE may investigate accidents and examine SPABs involved in accidents as the
Department considers necessary.

(e) Upon inspection of a SPAB by ODE personnel, motor coach carrier shall be notified in writing
of deficiencies. Such deficiencies must be corrected by the motorcoach carrier before the SPAB is
dispatched.

) The motor coach carrier must notify ODE in writing that the deficiency is corrected before
transporting students in a SPAB that has been declared unsafe in subsection (e) of this section.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 327.013 & 820.100-820.120
Stats. Implemented: ORS 327.013, 820.100, 820.105, 820.110 & 820.120
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