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PROPOSED/AMENDED RULE SUMMARY As the GED test transitions from a paper-based test to a computer-based test during CY 2012 and CY 2013, local and state fees that support the GED testing program will change. Local GED testing centers will no longer establish local testing fees as these fees will be established by the GED Testing Service (GEDTS). The fees established to support the state administration will also be changing to coincide with the new method that GEDTS will be charging test-takers—a per subtest fee rather than a complete GED test series fee. 
BACKGROUND: Approximately 8,000 Oregonians completed a GED credential in 2012. The GED credential—whether called a diploma, a certificate or degree—is the most widely accepted and respected high school equivalency credential in the U.S., enabling individuals to secure and maintain employment, to enter post-secondary educational institutions, and to apply for federal financial aid.

OAR 589-007-0500, GED Fees, establishes that individuals taking the paper-based GED tests shall be required to pay a $35 state fee at the time they begin testing. GED test-takers then have three years to complete the five tests that comprise the GED test series or upon implementation of a new test battery before the fee is reassessed. This $35 fee supports the state administration of the GED program and includes the lease of secure GED materials used in administering the GED tests, the staff that support the program, and indirect costs.

Oregon GED testing centers must convert from paper-based GED tests to computer-based GED tests by December 31, 2013 as paper-based GED tests will no longer be supported after that date. As GED testing centers transition to a computer-based delivery format, the process for collecting fees charged by GEDTS and to support state administration will change. GED test-takers will register for testing online and pay for testing using credit, debit and pre-loaded debit cards and vouchers. During 2013, the GEDTS will charge $24 per subtest for the five subtests that comprise the GED test series (Language Arts: Reading, Language Arts: Writing, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies) and for tests that are retaken because they were failed or higher scores were required by post-secondary institutions, the armed services or for employment. State administration will add $7 to each subtest and retaken test. At the time of registration, GEDTS will collect both the GEDTS fee and the state fee and reimburse the state fee to CCWD on a monthly basis.

The current OAR addressing the GED fees charged test-takers speaks only to paper-based tests. Since paper-based GED testing will no longer be available beginning in January of 2014, and several GED testing centers have recently made the conversion to computer-based GED testing, the GED Fees OAR requires updating. Given, these recent changes, it is appropriate that the fees charged by GEDTS and for state administration be addressed both in OAR and policy. The OAR will speak in general terms informing interested individuals that they may obtain a copy of the GED testing fee structure from CCWD, and the policy would delineate the specific fees charged by both GEDTS and for state administration. Maintaining the fee structure in policy rather than in the OAR will allow for update and changes in the fee structure.

The upcoming changes are as follows:                                                              

2012 - 2013   GED testing centers may offer both paper-based GED tests and computer-based GED tests using different pricing structures. Currently, testing centers may charge a fee necessary to recoup their costs for paper-based GED testing but cannot show a profit, while the pricing structure for computer-based GED tests is determined by GEDTS and CCWD on a per subtest basis.

2014   GED Testing Service will charge the amounts determined to support GEDTS plus the amount necessary for state administration. The language arts reading test and the language arts writing test will be combined and GEDTS will charge $30 for each subtest. The state administration fee will be $8 per subtest or $32. Thus a reduction is the state fee will occur in 2014.

2015    GEDTS has recently noted that the fee structure for 2014 will remain at $30 per subtests through 2015. The state administration fee will remain at $32.

2016   It is anticipated that GEDTS will raise their fee in 2016, however, it is estimated that the state administration fee will remain the same as in 2014 or $32.

ISSUES/CONCERNS THAT SURFACED DURING RULE WORK: 
None

CHANGED SINCE LAST BOARD MEETING? (so members can focus on what’s different)

 FORMCHECKBOX 
  N/A; first read—hasn’t been before board

 FORMCHECKBOX 
  No; same as last month

 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Yes – As follows:

Example: In response to public comment, the effective date was pushed back from February 2010 to September 2010. 

FISCAL IMPACT:  

National fees collected by GEDTS will rise at many test centers, however, the state fee will remain virtually the same through 2013.  In 2014, the state fee will decrease to $32.  The state fee can be reduced because of decreased administrative burden to operate the state GED Administration Office.  

STAFF RECOMMENDATION: 

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Adopt administrative rule as prepared this month

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Adopt administrative rule next month 

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 No recommendation at this time (rarely used) 

589-007-0500
GED Fees
The State Board of Education authorizes the Department of Community Colleges and Workforce Development to charge the following fees for the General Education Development (GED) Equivalency Certificate: 

(1) All persons taking the General Education Development (GED) tests shall be required to pay a $35 state fee at the time they begin testing; 

(2) Persons seeking a GED Equivalency Certificate shall be issued that certificate upon verification that the state fee has been paid and that the requirements of OAR 589-007-0400 have been met; 

(3) Duplicate certificates and/or transcripts can be secured upon payment of $5 each; 

(4) The State Board authorizes the Commissioner to waive the $35 fee upon the recommendation of the Chief Examiner of a testing center after a finding that a person is indigent and unable to pay; 

(5) The $35 state fee shall cover the cost of state administration for each test taker during a three-year period or until the transition to a new test battery in which prior tests taken are not included as part of the new battery; any person not completing the test battery within the three-year period or upon implementation of a new test battery shall be required to pay an additional $35 state fee. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 326.051 & 326.550
Stats. Implemented: ORS 192.440 & 326.550
Hist.: 1EB 130, f. 5-5-72, ef. 10-15-72; 1EB 258, f. 1-31-77, ef. 2-1-77; 1EB 6-1984(Temp), f. & ef. 3-7-84; 1EB 10-1984, f. & ef. 4-13-84; EB 12-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-19-91; Renumbered from 581-046-0005; ODE 1-2001, f. 1-25-01, cert. ef. 1-26-01; DCCWD 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 3-21-01, Renumbered from 581-041-0011; DCCWD 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 7-6-09 
Amended OAR 589-007-0600

GED Fees

The State Board of Education authorizes the Department of Community Colleges and Workforce Development to charge state GED fees to support the administration of the GED program.  A copy of both the state and national fees charged for GED testing may be obtained upon request from the Department of Community Colleges and Workforce Development.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 326.051 & 326.550
Stats. Implemented: ORS 192.440 & 326.550
Hist.: 1EB 130, f. 5-5-72, ef. 10-15-72; 1EB 258, f. 1-31-77, ef. 2-1-77; 1EB 6-1984(Temp), f. & ef. 3-7-84; 1EB 10-1984, f. & ef. 4-13-84; EB 12-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-19-91; Renumbered from 581-046-0005; ODE 1-2001, f. 1-25-01, cert. ef. 1-26-01; DCCWD 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 3-21-01, Renumbered from 581-041-0011; DCCWD 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 7-6-09 
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Purpose: 
To convey the fees for GED Testing for CY 2013 through CY 2015

References:
OAR 589-007-0500
Definitions:
GED – General Educational Development

              

GEDTS – GED Testing Service

Policy:   
Fees for GED Testing are comprised of 1) the amount charged by GED Testing Service plus 2) state administration fees.  This policy conveys the fees for GED testing from CY 2013 through 2015. For CY 2013, testing centers may offer both paper-based tests and computer-based tests; however, beginning in 2014, all GED testing will be computer-based except in rare cases with approved GED accommodations.


The State Board of Education authorizes the Department of Community Colleges and Workforce Development to charge the following fees for General Educational Development tests:

Procedure:
During CY 2013, testing centers may provide both paper-based tests and computer-based tests.

A. For paper-based administrations of the GED tests through December 31, 2013:

1. All persons taking the GED tests shall be required to pay a $35 state fee at the time they begin testing;

2. Persons seeking a GED Equivalency Certificate shall be issued that certification upon verification that the state fee has been paid and the requirements of OAR 589-007-044 have been met;

3. The $35 state fee shall cover the cost of state administration for each test-taker during a three-year period or until the transition to a new test series which will occur on January 1, 2014.  In order to establish GED testing fees, official GED testing centers, shall develop budgets displaying revenues and expenditures of operating local GED testing programs. Testing center budgets that show no profit and whose pricing structure is consistent with other testing centers shall be approved.  Fee structures should include the costs of the entire battery and any additional fees that are charged GED candidates such as retake fees, no-show fees, and transfer fees.  These budgets must be approved by the state GED Administration Office.

The state GED Administration Office will charge a fee commensurate with the administrative support necessary to maintain the program.  The fee is $35 and is paid at the time that a test-taker is administered the first GED subtest.
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B. For computer-based administration of the GED subtests through December 31,2013:

GEDTS has established a national fee structure for the computer-based administration of the GED tests.  The fees established by GEDTS for the five subtests and retaken tests are noted below.  The state GED test fee is also included.  Retests occur when a subtest is taken by a GED candidate to earn a passing score or because the subtest was failed.

GED Testing  Fees for CY 2014

	GED Subtests
	GEDTS Fees
	State Administration Fees

	
	
	

	Language Arts: Reading
	$24
	$7

	Language Arts: Writing
	$24
	$7

	Mathematics
	$24
	$7

	Science
	$24
	$7

	Social Studies
	$24
	$7

	Total
	$120
	$35


State fees will be collected by GEDTS at the time a GED candidate registers for the GED tests and are distributed to CCWD on a monthly basis.
C. For computer-based administration of the GED tests beginning January 1, 2014 through December 31, 2014, the following GEDTS and state fees will apply:

GED Testing Fees

	GED Subtests
	GEDTS Fees
	State Administration Fees 

	
	
	

	Language Arts: Reading + Writing
	$30
	$8                      

	Mathematics
	$30
	$8                      

	Science
	$30
	$8                     

	Social Studies
	$30
	$8                      

	Total
	$120
	$32                   


State fees will be collected by GEDTS at the time a GED candidate registers for the GED tests and are distributed to CCWD on a monthly basis for computer-based testing.
Footer
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