
INSTRUCTIONAL HOURS 

Required Instructional Time / OAR 581-022-1620 

Definition of Instructional Time / OAR 581-022-0102(30) 

Credit Options / OAR 581-022-1131 



Why Instructional Hours? 

• Division 22 Standards include 2 rules on instructional time:  
• OAR 581-022-1620 – required instructional time per year, 
• OAR 581-022-1131 – minimum hours per high school credit.  

 
• Over the past year:   

• Complaint filed against Portland Public Schools alleging the district 
was out compliance with the two instructional hours rules;  

• State Board received 13 requests for waivers of the instructional 
hours rules; and  

• 2013-14 Division 22 assurances showed that several schools are not in 
compliance with instructional hours rules.  

 
• Last Spring, ODE staff reported to the State Board that ODE recognized 

that OAR 581-022-1620 and OAR 581-022-1131 are not perfectly aligned 
and ODE would undertake a process to review and revise the two rules 
during the 2014-15 school year.   

 



Timeline 
• June and July 2014 – Research 

• August-October – Meet with Stakeholders to engage in 
policy discussions designed to elicit feedback to guide ODE 
in drafting rule revisions 

• Stakeholder Group 

• SACSE 

• Community Advisory Group 

• American Indian Alaska Native Advisory Panel 

• October 24 – First presentation to the State Board 

• November 21 – Public Hearing 

• December 11 – Second presentation to the State Board 

• January 22 – Proposed adoption vote by State Board  



Proposals to the State Board 

• Require that districts ensure at least 90% of all 
students are scheduled to receive the minimum 
instructional hours; 

• Increase instructional time for students in K-3 grade;  

• Improve Oregon’s definition of instructional time; and   

• Bring OAR 581-022-1620 and OAR 581-022-1131 into 
alignment by eliminating the 130 hours requirement 
for a credit. 



Year Hours Required Definition of Instructional Time 
2015-
16 

Each school district shall ensure that at least 80% of all 
students in the district are scheduled to receive the 
following minimum hours of instructional time per 
school year: 

(a) Grade 12 – 966 hours; 
(b) Grade 9-11 – 990 hours; 
(c) Grades K-8 – 900 hours. 

Removed from definition of instructional time: 

 Parent Teacher conferences 

 Non-academic assemblies 

 Non-academic field trips 

 

Can be counted as instructional time in 2015-16:  

 Professional Development 

 Inclement Weather 

2016-
17 

Each school district shall ensure that at least 85% of all 
students in the district are scheduled to receive the 
following minimum hours of instructional time per 
school year: 

(a) Grade 12 – 966 hours; 
(b) Grade 9-11 – 990 hours; 
(c) Grades K-8 – 900 hours. 
  

Removed from definition of instructional time: 

 Professional Development 

 Inclement Weather 

  

  

2017-
18 

Each school district shall ensure that at least 90% of all 
students in the district are scheduled to receive the 
following minimum hours of instructional time per 
school year: 

(a) Grade 12 – 966 hours; 
(b) Grade 9-11 – 990 hours; 
(c) Grades K-8 – 900 hours.  
  

  



Minimum Required Instructional Hours 
Current Law 

Each school district shall 
annually adopt and 
implement a school calendar 
which provides its students at 
each grade level with the 
following minimum number 
of instructional hours:  
 

Grades 9-12 – 990 hours;  

Grades 4-8 – 900 hours;  

Grades 1-3 – 810 hours;  

Grade K – 405 hours.  

 

Proposal 

Each school district shall ensure 
that at least 90%* of all students 
in the district are scheduled to 
receive the following minimum 
hours of instructional time per 
school year:  
 

 

Grade 12 – 966 hours; 

Grades 9-11 – 990 hours; 

Grades K-8 – 900 hours.  
 

* Phased in over 3 years 

 



Grades 1-3 Instructional Hours 2013-14 
 
Instructional hours data are from the 2013-2014 school year Division 22 forms.  This is 
self-reported data from each school district and is the only year of data available.   

0

10

20

30

40

50

60

70

810-849 850-899 900-949 >950

  

D
is

tr
ic

ts
 

Instructional Hours 



Current Rules – What counts as instructional time? 

The following can be counted as 
instructional time:  

• Classroom instructional time  

• School assemblies 

• Student orientations 

• Testing 

• Parent-teacher conferences 

• Field trips 

• Outdoor school 

• Work-study periods 

• Other activities required of students as 
part of the student's academic 
program 

• Study periods or advisory periods 
where student attendance is required 
and instructional assistance is provided 

The following cannot be counted as 
instructional time:  

• Study periods where student 
attendance is not required or no 
instructional assistance is provided  

• Transportation to and from school 

• Passing time between classes 

• Noninstructional recess   

• Lunch periods  

• Student and staff activities related to 
the opening and closing of the school 
year 

• Grade reporting 

• Program planning 

• Staff meetings 

• Other classroom and building 
management activities 



Current Rules – Approved Reductions 

By action of the local school board, a district may 
reduce the required instructional hours by the 
following: 
 

• Snow Days and Facility Failures –up to 14 hours. 

  

• Professional Development – up to 30 hours.  

 

• Seniors – up to 30 hours.   



Proposed Rule – New definition of Instructional 
Time 

“Instructional Time” means time scheduled for purposes of 
instruction, assessment, and other student learning activities, 
where direct interaction is maintained between a student and a 
licensed or registered teacher or an educational assistant who is 
assigned instruction-related activities and is working under the 
supervision of a licensed or registered teacher as required under 
OAR 581-037-0015.  Time that a student spends passing 
between classes, at recess, in non-academic assemblies, on non-
academic fieldtrips, and participating in optional school 
programs shall not count as instructional time.  

 



Proposed Rule – Tighten up the definition of 
instructional time over a two-year period 

Removed from definition of instructional time in 2015-16: 

• Parent Teacher conferences 

• Non-academic assemblies 

• Non-academic field trips 

 

May no longer be counted as instructional time in 2016-17:  

• Professional Development 

• Inclement Weather 



Grades 9-12 Instructional Hours 2013-14 
 
Instructional hours data are from the 2013-2014 school year Division 22 
forms.  This is self-reported data from each school district and is the only 
year of data available.  



Current Rule – Credit Options 

• Districts must offer students the option of earning each credit 
required for the diploma or modified diploma by successfully 
completing classroom or equivalent work in a course of at least 
130 clock hours.  

 

• Districts may also offer the option of earning credit through 
proficiency under OAR 581-022-1131(4). However, even if the 
District chooses to offer credit pursuant to OAR 581-022-
1131(4), the District must still offer courses of 130 clock hours 
as required by section OAR 581-022-1131(2).  



Proposed Rule – Credit Options 

• Eliminate 130 hours requirement 

 

• Successfully completing classroom or equivalent work that 
meets common curriculum Goals and Academic Content 
Standards required by OAR 581-022-1210 is one way to earn a 
credit   

 

• Maintains all proficiency based options for earning credit 



Concerns Raised By Stakeholders: 

• State accountability versus local control 

• Increase in elementary school hours – cost to districts 

• CTE instruction – does this fit in definition of instructional 
time? 

• Cultural education – does this fit in definition of instructional 
time? 

• Is 90% the appropriate benchmark and should it apply district 
wide or to each school within the district? 

• Should three be a waiver process to have things such as 
Professional Learning Community time counted as instructional 
time?   

• How should we count instructional time for students who are 
receiving instruction through a post secondary institution? 



Concerns Raised By Stakeholders: 

• Impact on parent teacher conferences if no longer counted as 
instructional time 

• Impact on Professional Development if no longer counted as 
instructional time 

• Impact on kids of color – do we have data to fully understand 
how this proposal would impact kids of color?  

• What is the appropriate timeline for implementing this 
proposal? 
• After session? 

• Impact on collective bargaining agreements  

 



Policy Questions 
• Does the State Board agree with the proposal to move from 

districts providing a calendar of 990 hours to districts ensuring at 
least 90% of all students are scheduled to receive the minimum 
instructional hours?   

• Should the State Board increase the instructional hours 
requirement for the early grades (K-3)?  

• Does the State Board agree with the decision to eliminate the 
reductions for parent-teacher conferences, professional 
development, and inclement weather?   

• If the State Board of Education adopts changes to the minimum 
required hours of instructional time rule (OAR 581-022-1620), 
when should these changes be implemented?    

• Does the State Board agree with the proposal to eliminate the 130 
seat hours requirement from OAR 581-022-1131? 



Year Hours Required Definition of Instructional Time ADM – “Tenths Method” 
2015-
16 

Each school district shall ensure that at 
least 80% of all students in the district 
are scheduled to receive the following 
minimum hours of instructional time per 
school year: 

(a) Grade 12 – 966 hours; 
(b) Grade 9-11 – 990 hours; 
(c) Grades K-8 – 900 hours. 

Removed from definition of 

instructional time: 

 Parent Teacher conferences 

 Non-academic assemblies 

 Non-academic field trips 

 

Can be counted as instructional 

time in 2015-16:  

 Professional Development 

 Inclement Weather 

Through the Division 22 

Assurance process, Districts 

will be required to report the 

percentage of fully enrolled 

students in grades 9-12. 

2016-
17 

Each school district shall ensure that at 
least 85% of all students in the district 
are scheduled to receive the following 
minimum hours of instructional time per 
school year: 

(a) Grade 12 – 966 hours; 
(b) Grade 9-11 – 990 hours; 
(c) Grades K-8 – 900 hours. 
  

Removed from definition of 

instructional time: 

 Professional Development 

 Inclement Weather 

  

  

Through the Division 22 

Assurance process, Districts 

will be required to report the 

percentage of fully enrolled 

students in grades 9-12. 

2017-
18 

Each school district shall ensure that at 
least 90% of all students in the district 
are scheduled to receive the following 
minimum hours of instructional time per 
school year: 

(a) Grade 12 – 966 hours; 
(b) Grade 9-11 – 990 hours; 
(c) Grades K-8 – 900 hours.  
  

  Funding based on tenths 

model is fully implemented  


